BU has no issue with government departments demanding the public it serves uphold certain standards when visiting to do business. Barbadians are reminded frequently via radio ads and other media placements about the dress code enforced at the National Insurance Board.

BU was made aware recently of an incident where a young lady went to the Registry to get a death certificate because of her father’s recent passing but was harassed and victimized by a male security guard and refused entry to the department.  The guard we understand was rude, chauvinistic and incompetent.  His actions were those of – and we quote – an untrained, unprofessional, perverted neanderthal who should be made to issue an apology and given a refresher course in the rules and regulations governing his work.

The reason he forbid the lady from completing her transaction at the registry: her dress was too revealing.  Specifically he told her that the split in the dress revealed too much of her legs.  Have we reached a stage in Barbados which would allow a security guard to assault the rights of a fellow citizen in such a manner?

The irony of the situation for BU is while the Registry has enhanced it reputation for misplacing files by accident or design, while a senior lawyer has been known to moon a Madame Justice within its precinct and avoid disciplinary action, while hours are wasted daily by citizens and court officers alike because of  innumerable inefficiencies – we have government security guards diligently enforcing an irrelevant dress code to satisfy some accountability handed down. This is the very Registry which received a bomb threat when Plantation Deeds visited a couple years ago to request certain information.

Here is an image of the young lady who was tuned back by the ignorant and rude male security guard.

Dress_Code
Why was this lady denied access to the Court Registry to procure a death certificate because of her dress?

159 responses to “Judicial Centre Efficiently Enforcing Dress Code BUT What About Delivering Justice”

1. @ PDYR

WRONG that never be any of the ac/s for we are all black…..baaaaaaaaaaaaa

2. @t George’s Dragon April 26, 2015 at 12:24 AM “The Church didn’t even consider marriage to be worthy of a church ceremony until the Medieval period, so 1000 years after Jesus’ death. Until then it was not a sacrament in the same way that Baptism, Confirmation or Eucharist was. Prior to the church getting involved, people could consent to be married anywhen and anywhere.”

My church still teaches that people marry each other, but that some choose to come to the Church for a blessing of their union.

And to the state to register their union.

But the marriage itself is the commitment of the two people to each other.

Therefore neither the church nor the state is necessary for a marriage to begin and to thrive.

Or to end.

3. what a FART hole .i meaning to who ever wrote the above comment,,,

4. I was thinking again about this “armed hole” thing. Maybe the security officials in Barbados hate “armed hole” dresses so much because they are afraid that the Bajan lasses have security hazard (like a boozooka or bomb maybe?) hidden up their [non]sleeve(s)

ROFLMFAO!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

This security thing is quite mysterious:

At airports they make you take off your clothes (shoes belts etc.)
    At the Registry they make you put on more clothes
    At foreign Embassies they compel you to expose your legs, that is to pull your pants up to the knee,
    At the Registry they demand that you cover your knees

How is a poor Simple Simon supposed to figure out which is which?

HELP!!!!!!!!!!!!

5. Brown Sugah

What a crock of crap!!! My sister once said to me that if you give a man a book and a pen…God forbid you add a bunch of keys to the mix then you will have a full fledged idiot who thinks he has the power to direct the world….. a loaded gun in a 5 year old’s hands.

I happen to know this young lady and she is always well put together. Does this make my opinion biased? Maybe. However it does not change the fact that in this attire of a well fitted respectful looking dress that she is not screaming full professionalism and zero threat to any establishment.

If this law or rule was written in the year 1812 does it make it applicable to every situation regardless of whether or not it makes sense?!! So glad I went to school at Cormere where a breech of common sense was a breech of the school rules. He should be fined for igrancyness alone!!! We have to stop this madness by setting a standard of how we expect to be treated in a society that boasts a 90 plus literacy rate….makes me shame the amount of time and money that we waste…. two steps forward and five backward! Make some noise people and be the change that you want to see….can’t done so!!!

6. @Brown Sugah April 29, 2015 at 12:16 PM “If this law or rule was written in the year 1812.”

The thing is these foolish rules were invented very, very recently.

My sister who is in her late 60’s recently went to NIS and was told by the young security guard that she could not go upstairs in an “armed hole” dress. She was puzzled since she had lived abroad for a good many years and had never heard about the “armed hole” rule when she worked in Barbados (and paid into the NIS) when the current NIS staff and security guards were toddlers still peeing their mother’s beds..

She went upstairs in the “armed hole” dress.

However on returning home she found her old, old Barbados ID card, and what do you know? On her old ID card issued in the late 60’s or early 70’s she was wearing an “armed hole” dress.

So these foolish rules, a modern “PERVERSION OF COMMON SENSE” were made up, very recently by some idiot with too much time on his or her hands, and not nearly enough education or common sense, and the rules have NO BASIS IN LAW NOR IN CUSTOM, and so should be ignored by every sensible Bajan woman

Now looka what wunna gone and mek me do quote the PM (favourably).

7. what is being” well put together” have to do with the rule,, some people drive luxury cars ,.some drive a median size cars ,but they must all adhere to the rules that provide safety and protection.
    so what does safety and protection and dress code has to do with going to govt office ,the point being that is easier for security to recognize or give details of a garment that is in code than several different pieces of style and detail in case of an emergency . it is all about simplifying details that make it easier to remember.

8. Colonel Buggy Avatar
    Colonel Buggy

Perhaps we should do like old China and make every citizen wear boiler suits and Corblimey caps.

9. Colonel not a bad idea ..just in case heads has to be cracked all would be fully prepared