Dover Stinky Skip

BU acknowledges the effort by the Nation newspaper Editor highlighting the garbage disposal problem in Barbados. An overflowing skip dubbed โ€˜Dover Stinky Skipโ€™ located at Dover, Christ Church – a key tourism location – was featured on todays front page. How the minister responsible, Denis Lowe, continues to head the Sanitation Service Authority (SSA) boggles the minds of sensible Barbadians. There is an obvious breakdown in the waste collection (and disposal) system in Barbados and the buck stops with minister Lowe.

Some interesting information was shared with the public today. We learned that the National Conservation Commission (NCC), a state entity under the ministry of the environment is paying Hinds Transport for the rental of the skip featured on todays front page. Why has garbage collection in Dover/St. Lawrence Gap been outsourced to a private entity? Isn’t the SSA operating under the same ministry? Why does the ministry of the environment headed by minister Denis Lowe continue to outsource collection to the private sector if the SSA is mandated to deliver the same service? Is this a similar arrangement the SSA has with the Williams Group to provide services at Mount Stinkeroo?

Is the NCC the same statutory corporation that sent home staff claiming it not longer had the resources to keep them employed?

Sandals Barbados donates fence to Dover Sports Club

What is interesting is that the member of parliament for the St. Lawrence area John Boyce is also the minister of health. BU understands he is also a member of Dover Club, although nowadays he prefers to spend his free time at the Barbados Golf Club, hopefully on his time. Wasnโ€™t minister Boyce along with minister Lashley spotted in the same area last week dutifully attending a grip and grin session with personnel from Sandals who handed over a fence to the Dover Club? Did they not spot or sniff the skip that is strategically located nearby? Isn’t it ironic the Dover Stinky Skip was located in close proximity to the new fence donated by Sandals to the Dover Club?

Something stinks alright and it is not the Dover Stinky Skip!

221 responses to “Lowe Garbage Waste”

1. Tell the Minister that he born and find us and that long after he is gone some of us will still be here. This is our country and we won’t leave and he can’t make us leave.

All we want is to have garbage picked up twice a day in the city and the heavily used commercial and tourist areas and once a week at our homes. We are willing at sort at source if his Ministry will provide leadership and public education. We pay nuff, nuff taxes. We are ENTITLED to regular garbage pickups.

And tell him as well to stop his childish threats of resignation.

2. ayyy .. it was another long but yet shortened year in the minds of some…. a year in which the BLP operatives measured the nations economy with a yardstick of doom and gloom. for them nothing absolutely nothing good happen in barbados, even though their final chapter wanting to see a tidal wave of economic doom and gloom to sweep and bury the country into the sea never occurred they continue to travel and preach on that pathway,, ; while silent dancers tapped their feet with optimistic fervor and danced to a beat seeing the glass full instead of half empty.With the New Year fast approaching one can easily predict that the BLP yardfowls and operatives would finish the old year with the same old rhetoric of doom and gloom albeit approaching the new year with more of the same .
    this tiny island has met and had to traveled along a path so steep and treacherous that had it not for those who have had this country best interest at heart the dire predictions of fear and gloom would have delivered the final blow,
    hopefully as barbados enters the new year, the faithful many would take lessons learned from the past and move Barbados forward with spirit of optimism and a belief that beneath all the disappointments a stronger and more self- sufficient barbados will emerge,
    to the Doom and Gloom flag wavers ac wish you an inner peace, a peace that passeth all understanding..

Happy New Years barbados and to all in the BU household, God bless,

3. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

Dear AC

To two out of the four of you I first must say a prosperous New Year.

Given what you have written is in the “neophyte mode” of “ALL Hail Fumble” I know which of you is writing.

Then, to compound it all, you wished us all “the peace that passeth all understanding…”

I do not feel that this is what you really intended to say.

If so then I would advise all readers here to be even more afraid of you than i am.

One should consider this a threat of “serious bodily harm” and ask the same officers that Michael Lashley got to Arrest Omar to come for you forthwith since “that peace” you refer to is death.

Oh BlogMaster David, you have promised a few of us who have been begging for relief that if there are any violent threats that the author of such threats be banned until next year which is in a few hours.

Finally AC, I would genuinely wish two out of the four of you “piece uh understanding” in 2015 which may be some sort of “poetic irony” coming from Piece uh de Rock.

4. I listened to the man Lowe.What he doesn’t seem to understand is that bajans do not need excuses.We need a more efficient SSA and it’s nothing to do with the employees.We know its all to do with the incompetent misfit that’s responsible for policy directions.\,the fella wid black lips,the fella who in 2008 got on TV and announce to all and sundry that “We have a special team in place so the when a pipe burses(you believe he got any PHD?)when a pipe burses we will have it fixed rightaway.And dear fellow bloggers what happened to that empty promise from a stinking Dem……..neffin came of it as neffin will come of what the black lip man said today either.Next ass we will hear from is the Primate inter Parris about the clico debacle.

5. @ piece uh de rock..ac is really flabbergasted at the numerous ac’s you have conjured up in your little brain, ac believe a deep and thorough analytic study of your brain is necessary with due haste in order to weed and filter out what might be consider a regression of the mind complicated by stupor affliction which causes the brain to move perpendicular and at faster than normal function.according to scientific research such an impediment can be induced by past negative experiences and if not treated forthwith can place the inflicted into a state of permanent dellusion.

6. The following are some of the downgrades Barbados received due to the inability of this DLP administration in addressing the island’s economic problems and their handling of the debt and fiscal deficit:

October 13, 2009: Moody’s Investors Service has downgraded Barbados’ government bond ratings. The Baa2 foreign currency government bond rating and the A3 local currency government bond rating were downgraded to Baa3 and Baa2, respectively.

October 25, 2010: Standard & Poorโ€™s Rating Services lowered Barbadosโ€™ foreign currency rating down to BBB-minus from BBB. At the same time, the local currency rating fell from A-2 to A-3.
    The rating agency also complained about the Governmentโ€™s delay in dealing with the nationโ€™s economic problems.

June 13, 2011: Moody’s Investors Service has downgraded the Government of Barbados’ domestic currency rating to Baa3 from Baa2. The Baa3 foreign currency bond rating has been affirmed. The outlook on both ratings has been revised to negative.

July 17, 2012: Standard & Poor’s Ratings Services has downgraded Barbadosโ€™ credit rating from investment grade to junk bond status. S&P lowered its long-term foreign- and local-currency sovereign credit ratings on Barbados to ‘BB+’ from ‘BBB-‘. At the same time, Standard & Poor’s lowered the short-term ratings to ‘B’ from ‘A-3’.

July 18, 2013: Standard & Poor’s Ratings Services revised its outlook on its long-term rating on Barbados to negative from stable. At the same time, we affirmed our ‘BB+’ long-term and ‘B’ short-term sovereign credit ratings on Barbados.

November 21, 2013: Standard & Poorโ€™s Rating Services has lowered its long-term credit rating on Barbados from โ€˜BB+โ€™ to โ€˜BB-โ€˜, in response to a persistent current account deficit and a high fiscal deficit, while the outlook was negative. This was the second downgrade within 4 months.

December 19, 2013: Caribbean Information and Credit Rating Services Limited (CariCRIS), which is based in Trinidad and Tobago, said on Tuesday that it dropped by two notches the islandโ€™s rating on the Government debt issue of Bds$600 million to CariA- from CariA+ and a CariA on the local currency down from CariAA-.

June 02, 2014: Moody’s Investors Service has today downgraded Barbados’ government bond rating to B3 from Ba3. The outlook remains negative.

December 19, 2014: Standard & Poor’s Rating Services lowered its long-term sovereign credit ratings on Barbados to ‘B’ from ‘BB-‘.

The AC consortium…….. I have an equation for you:

Downgrades + the international rating agencies usually state at the end of every downgrade, “The outlook remains NEGATIVE” + an inept MoF and a silent prime minister + when Barbadians look ahead to realize “wuh shiite… we got 3 more years wid these jokers” = “doom and gloom”.

7. arterexes..have u noticed that the only friends the blp operatives have and belive there every word is the two giant rating agencies, don’t you notice that the trio of blp S&P and MOODYS have the same theme in common.. DOOM AND GLOOM.
    Don’t you also notice that there is a spirit of bajanism that stands head and shoulders above the grumpy trio . having a theme that says that barbados this little rock have proven that it can push against its weight and would continue to do so

8. @ Artaxerxes

Thanks for outlining the facts.

We live and operate in a ‘global village’ not just on a little rock.

The small mindedness will no longer work and is a continued recipe for disaster.

Unfortunately this island is up for sale and will be taken apart by the vultures.

9. Please be reminded, the lack of investor confidence and inability of government to secure loan funding are indicative of the tact that investors and the international financial institutions obviously believe the two rating agencies as well.

10. @Artaerexes, ”we got 3 more years wid these jokersโ€ = โ€œdoom and gloomโ€.”

No, things will come to a head well before then. After trying to add more taxes, which wont work, to pay for what they owe, the Government will not be able to pay social security etc at a point.

That is when all heck will break loose and I am very worried. I think it will be sooner than later.

Figure this:

• gas supply issue on the coasts (West AND South),
    • garbage collection a mess to the point that it is unhygienic
    • income tax refunds Government has not paid
    • workers severance that has not been paid, nor temporary workers wages
    • Clico issue unresolved
    • hospital a complete mess, suppliers unpaid and operations severely affected generally
    • future of tertiary education up in the air
    • add to that the downgrades and that it seems investors are wary for other reasons

Things are a complete mess and the Government is incompetent.

However, as I said, the breaking point will be jobs and social security benefits, or lack of. Less spending money because of more taxes, will redeuce spending by those who do have a job, thus the economy will continue to fall and the Government will collect less taxes because of falling jobs, hence, less money collected. The government will at some point be unable to pay social security benefits.

THAT is when the xxxx will visibly hit the fan.

And that Government cannot yet pay income tax refunds, suggest that we are not far off of that point.

Serious indeed.

11. The thing is, up until now, the tactic has been one of denial, statements contrary to reality ‘ things good’ and finger pointing ‘others fault’.

That tactic is exhibited on this blog by staunch supports and it is exhibited by statements from officials.

However, that tactic will be useful to quell those who cannot, at some future point, get social security benefits.

Why do you think an official made a statements on those benefits already? Is it because they anticipate this and want to ‘make excuses’ when they cant pay ‘too much to pay’?

Well, news for them, when it comes to food and survival, people ignore excuses, cant eat excuses.

Denial and pushing the agenda only works to a point. After that……

I am VERY worried.

12. errata ”However, that tactic will NOT be useful to quell those who cannot, at some future point, get social security benefits.”

13. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Crusoe

What happens after the implosion?

Do we just go into a free fall and languish there until 2018?

Does it the become evident that the unemployment level of 23% and rising brings with it additional social malaise and crime?

What happens to the price of goods locally?

Will the cvntry have enough foreign exchange to import critical goods?

Many will call you a harbinger of doom and gloom but it would be important to paint what failed state status will look like for Bulbados

Which brings me to my last question rather rhetorical query

Given that we would have come to the end of tenure for these clowns, how will the other set of clowns who even now show little governance skills and ingenuity and competence as an opposition, do they have what it takes to save the day?

14. pieceuhderockyeahright January 1, 2015 at 6:06 AM #

@ Crusoe

What happens after the implosion?

That is what I am worried about. ‘Implosion’ is a pleasant word for what I think may happen.

Do we just go into a free fall and languish there until 2018?

Not at all, re that ‘implosion’. I think it is more serious than that. Pray to the Almighty that I am wrong.

Does it the become evident that the unemployment level of 23% and rising brings with it additional social malaise and crime?

Exactly.

What happens to the price of goods locally?

Up, but I am not worried about that, strange that it may seem. (Worse devil).

Will the cvntry have enough foreign exchange to import critical goods?

A good point, social stability is key to tourism and investment.

Many will call you a harbinger of doom and gloom but it would be important to paint what failed state status will look like for Bulbados

Agree. We need a plan of recovery.

Which brings me to my last question rather rhetorical query

Given that we would have come to the end of tenure for these clowns, how will the other set of clowns who even now show little governance skills and ingenuity and competence as an opposition, do they have what it takes to save the day?

Hah. Very good. To the point. Has been crossing my mind of late. Seriously I think we need an alternate group to come forward. Again, I said seriously. Pie in the sky? No. We NEED an alternate group.

Happy New Year.

15. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

I have prayed for My Lord to imbue me with a vision and strength that, irrespective of the enemy within and the one that we are led by, the DLP and the BLP, to guide my oft times acerbic tongue and fingers so that for each word of doom I write I will write two of hope and action.

Let us forget for a while the Cvnts Lowe and others in the pack of inept leaders.

@ the Future Centre Trust and other so called national Environmental NGOs

Develop a Proposal for our local Global Environmental Fund and the plethora of GEF initiatives which will focus on developing a “Separation at Source” pilot

Summary of Concept.

Four Bins constructed of recycled materials (sub project A) placed at designated and approved locations

Research if bins can be extruded locally I.e. Cost, time and benefits e.g. Reclamation of material going into landfill as opposed to partnering with EU company and getting bins imported under some EU collaboration

See if proposal for a grant might secure a few trucks of requisite strength and longevity

Add some technology to monitor how its retrenched workers are driving the vehicles secured under the grant, where they are going with our nation’s trucks. This is not the SSA or the union, so it is not hampered by their disruptive regulations

outputs: X jobs in collections, extrusions, distribution, ensuing collections etc.

Proposal to include and highlight the efficiencies of its reclamation metrics

As a so called educated people I am sure that we in Bulbados don’t have to wait on Nitwits to compose a document nor manage such a pilot.

It is obvious that we have been electing idiots to manage our affairs for some time now and it is obvious from this blog what that has done for us.

Don’t let us do in 2015 what we did so eloquently in 2014 – talk Shyte, let do something.

But then again I am suggesting the Future Centre trust as a legitimate NGO whose chair is Vivianne Gittens – FAIL

ANY OTHER DOERS?

16. old onions bags Avatar

Firstly, Happy and Prosperous New Year to all !

snip> Soild waste give Govt a Black eye

yatinkiteasy August 11, 2014 at 12:28 PM #

For a company that has signed a US$300 million deal to finance, install and run a Plasma Waste to energy Plant, there is little and very sketchy information publicly available about Cahill .Apparently started in 2012, they commissioned, in 2013 a Real Estate company in the UK to find a government for them who would buy into their project. And we are the lucky ones , who by March 2014, had signed up with this start up company, who have never done a similar project before. We also do not know who their directors are, or their financial strength, source of funds, or how they expect to make money from this investment.
    Just look at their pathetic website and draw your own conclusionsโ€ฆ

http://www.cahill-energy.com

Did Lowe even bother to give an update on the cahill project?

$400 Million was committed to Four Seasons and now $600Bds Mill to another pie in the sky fiasco? Did I hear HOPE?…stupesss

They laughing at us !

17. @Onions

For clarification the 600 million to build the proposed WTE plant is to be funded by Cahill by way of private investors.

18. 2015 has opened the SPIRIT of bajanism has taken centre stage and is alive and WELL and kicking ass

””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””’

to QUOTE OSA THE BLP is hopelessly LOSS!
    ………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….
    GOD BLESS BARBADOS

19. old onions bags Avatar

……. simularly was said of Four Seasons. In the end $400 million of our taxpayers’ money found its way up Jacob’s horse nostril. It’s always some phantom investor(s) to start the ball rolling then reality kicks in….we bite (txprs) the bullet.

20. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Gabriel

You made an interesting point earlier that went missing in you paragraph’s formatting.

1987 and Sir Errol Barrow’s enforced training of the incompetents that are seeking and now guide us.

To get into secondary school you have to take, and pass the CXCs.

To get into certain primary schools and schools for gifted children you have to sit, and pass, and excel their tests.

Do you not feel that any aspiring politician should not be required to sit and pass a specific curriculums?

How do I a DJ on CBC on a Sunday morning (and a poor one at that) show the enquiring electorate that I do know what a budget is and understand how estimates are developed?

How do I, ignoramus Ronald “de children are is learning” Jones, show the electorate that I have an understanding of what to do to run this cvntry ‘s parliamentary affairs, far less an understanding of the English language and the pedagogy of teaching reading writing and cognition BEFORE wunna ignoramuses vote for me and 29 udders (not to be mistaken with others)

Would suggest that the political science department at our respective UWI campuses and satellite community colleges launch a mandatory one year course for potential representatives to enroll in and must pass BEFORE we let them get at state coffers?

Do you suggest that we get an independent entity to correct said papers after the vagabonds, sorry potential representatives, take said exam so that the don’t bribe the first and second markers in the local Uwi departments?

Enquiring minds would like to know

21. Well said Onions.

What private investors what?!?

If we continue to allow these jokers to trick us with these scams time after time, then as George Bush said – “fool me once shame on you, fool me 20 times shame on me for being such a brass bowl” (….or something like that)

Every crooked shiite is to be “funded by private investors”.
    This gives them license to do as they like and steal all the money….
    THEN we hear how much stress it will cause UNLESS taxpayers /NIS bail these “private investors” out….

Not just Four Seasons

How about The SUGAR PLANTATIONS?
    How about BADMC
    How about CLICO?
    How about BAICO?

steupssss

22. like most ac have a repulsion for private investors but like the police there are a necessary evil and unavoidable , but what matters most is a plan of action fully designed and equipped to unravel and weed out the fraudster investor whose makes a living pimping off the taxpayers money, there are many such investors right in barbados who like the cunning fox has used a nefarious model to entice politicians with slimy talking points while having nothing of substance to offer the barbados economy,

23. @ Crusoe January 1, 2015 at 5:41 AM #

If one is forced to look at Barbadosโ€™ situation from your perspective, we must be fearful indeed, since the facts you have highlighted are very true.

The DLP spent the most of their 14 years in opposition arguing against the economic policies of the then BLP administration. Their team shadowing the ministry of finance would have studied these policies and the effects they had on the economy. Their arguments were articulated by Dr. David Estwick in his usual robust style, which won the hearts of many Barbadians, who thought he had the wherewithal to be a minister of finance. As such, no one can convince me they did not know the status of the Barbadian economy.

However, we must face the reality that this DLP administration has not demonstrated they have the ability to properly address the economic issues facing Barbados as a result of this protracted economic crisis. In my opinion, after winning the 2008 general elections, they did not anticipate the severity and length of the recession.

This is evident by the policies they chose to embark upon, as outlined in their 2008 election manifesto. In trying to keep within the view of some of the populace that the DLP is the party of the poor, and in an effort to gain more support, the DLP chose to pursue ill-advised social programmes, which would have been better if implemented in the post recession period. These included the much touted constituency councils [which has not really served any meaningful purpose], children travelling free on buses, and free houses.

The DEMS also adopted a โ€œwait and see approachโ€ as another strategy for dealing with the recession. Their obvious lack of understanding of the recession and the islandโ€™s economic situation become more blatant during Thompsonโ€™s illness and sometime after his death. During this period Barbados went into limbo, since nothing was done to address the economy.

It appeared as though the effects of the economic crisis and inability to cope with these effects, made the DEMS believed they were in a hostage crisis. And as is done in any hostage situation, this administration decided it would be better to talk their way out of the situation rather than use โ€œassaultโ€ tactics after the situation got the better of them.

Thatโ€™s when their spokesmen, mainly Donville Inniss, Chris Sinckler, Ronald Jones and Dennis Kellman, would label all critics as being unpatriotic or members of the BLP, and lashed out at the rating agencies, economists, press and private sector, while asking people to bring solutions instead of criticizing them [and against the background of they not wanting to hear from anyone].

24. 2015 and the whining continues by the BLP operatives without hardened and concrete solutions,,
    how can that help the back backbenchers of the BLP party inquiring minds want to know/
    Again crucial evedience being formulated with sufficient proof that the BLP has lost it,s WAY ,
    How can a chorus of criticism beset with “no solution” be a win for the BLP only God knows,

25. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ ac January 1, 2015 at 10:38 AM

Are you, ac the firm of shape-shifters, now prepared to listen to OSA?
    Will you do what he recommended way back in the good old privatization/outsourcing days when you had a say at the negotiating table?
    Would you continue to “denude” the man in Fumble-like fashion? Or are you going to fit him out in the finest of regalia as ‘sellโ€“off’ Saviour and King of โ€˜economicsโ€™ kings ร  la DLP haute couture?

26. It does not take a magician to observe how youngsters copy the style and class of the true heroes in Barbados.In our younger days every youngster was a Frankie Worrell (walking to the crease like royalty,unhurried and nuff nuff style,then playing back gracefully and driving powerfully off the back foot)or a Gary Sobers,walking royally,collar up,taking his mark and the next thing you know is the ball hit and crash into the wall by the Kensington stand and coming back meeting the fielder).I am sure in Guyana Trinidad Antigua and Jamaica or wherever cricket is played there is a hero whom the youngsters would seek to emulate.So also with politics.In Barbados there are still many Errol Barrow models and the man with the greatest flair to date is the giant JMGM ‘Tom’ Adams,hugely blessed by nature and nurture and admired even by his envious detractors,a man who made every bajan proud to be a bajan.One of his greatest admirers who copied his style to a “T” was David Thompson,even copying his style of writing.
    My point is who is copying Freundel or who sees him as a mentor or model to emulate other than those creative artistes of Laff it Off who see him as
    heaven sent for their yearly presentation.
    As the solicitor (substitute FJS)said in House for Mr Biswas,’if uh get 2 dog case or 2 cuss case a week uh awright yuh know’.

27. Yes, 2015 and the whining continues by the DLP operatives who are finding it extremely difficult to find hardened and concrete solutions.

Essentially, the majority of the Barbadian populace has come to realize the DLP, the political party in which they have shown confidence and vested the power to effectively and efficiently manage this country, has failed miserably in trying to achieve these objectives.

Obviously, Barbadians have become disillusioned and have ultimately lost confidence in those they elected. This is exactly what is happening in this society, and the DLP needs to come to the realization that the electorate has grown tired of the blame game and identifying those who are critical of them are BLP operatives.

28. I would hate to accuse the man wrongfully, and if I do, I offer my apology in advance.
    Sometime in October or November, Minister Lowe was quoted (or misquoted) on CBC as promising the nation that he was going to have a number of NEW trucks in Barbados by early December. But I may be just a typical Bajan,with a very short memory.

But why is the Minister beating his chest and bragging about getting some 25/27 garbage trucks back in operation, when the underpinning emphasis at this time is speedy collection of the backlog of garbage islandwide.
    Today is the Ist of January 2015, I will be generous and give the SSA 15 days before we hear once again, “We have no trucks.”
    Perhaps the Minister was also misquoted at his yesterday’s news conference,as saying when “………………………….when the cows come home.”
    Perhaps that should have been interpreted as when “COW comes home.”

29. And just one year later…………….
    http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/14775/fleet-trucks-ssa

30. Essentially, the majority of the Barbadian populace has come to realize the DLP, the political party in which they have shown confidence and vested the power to effectively and efficiently manage this country, has failed miserably in trying to achieve these objectives.
    ………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….however . the new leadership of the BLP has a record which is not impeccable in her stewardship and her service to ministerial duties over the years, so do not be fooled into thinking that her record and service to country in respect to her failures would not be scrutinized as a testament and respect of her worthiness.
    Point being unless the BLP operatives have something of substance much bigger and better than present govt solutions , a another stamp of rejection would be handed to the BLP mark my word,
    It is always easy to carry that big stick and be critical to the cows come home ,,however the WORD SoLUTION closes the deal.

31. miller i have no personal beef with OSA.. but overall my belief is that he should have done a lot more to diversify and restructure this economy, first and foremost,
    At present i believe that many of the challenges being faced by the country were not sufficiently tackled or managed under his administration in effort to ward off many of the problems the country is now facing
    like the sewer problems which leads to flooded streets . the disrepair of sanitation trucks, and many of the QEH problems. yes u can say i blame the BLP for these problems but however the BLP was handed a lotterry ticket and they cashed in giving them plenty of time and money to resolved these issues .
    instead what has resulted is a country short changed , short on cash and a govt leaning heavily on its populace NOT FAIR and NOT right .but seems like the only alternative so far…so yes my beef goes back to the BLP lack of efficiency and precise leadership which left this country standing on a precipice
    Yes there a lot of good things that can be said about him,,however one cannot side step policies which OSA had a hand in implementing some of which now is hurting the country,

32. No one is claiming the Opposition or its leader has an impeccable record, the argument is that both are better, even if imperfect, alternatives to what is clearly the worst government in our history. Little to nothing is working for this government and they, from the PM down, continue to engage in smoke and mirrors. Case in point, Lowe in today’s paper trying to convince the public of the potential re-employment of retrenched NCC workers. The government can’t pay severance, can’t pay income tax returns, can’t pay the promised UWI bursaries but can afford to re-employ workers? I don’t know if to laugh or cry.

33. @enuff

It may all be about surviving until next year. After seven years what these guys don’t understand is that sensible people should be understanding what the strategy is based on results and continuous flow of communication. At Donville’s do today they will have a lot to say, just not in public, to hell with the constituents they should feel obligated to serve.

34. The new year has started with the same bullshit rhetoric from minister Inniss

http://www.barbadostoday.bb/2015/01/01/all-hands-on-deck-4/

and

Minister Lowe

http://www.barbadostoday.bb/2015/01/01/new-year-hope/

35. @ Artaxerxes January 1, 2015 at 10:06 AM #

I have to chalk this is post to one of your best posts to date. Excellent analysis.

After reading the absolute arrogance coming from the black lips of the Lowe man, I am convinced more than ever that we are doomed. How could one man be so wrong and so arrogant? If we had a strong leader, the low man could not spout that absolute disdain at the Barbadian public.

Is this what we have to endure until 2018? I have to believe that the great God I serve will deliver Barbados out of the hands of these morons!

36. @Prodigal Son

Deliver Barbados to the BLP?

Has MAM demonstrated she has the capacity to keep her flock herded?

37. @ David January 1, 2015 at 2:37 PM #

The new year has started with the same bullshit rhetoric from minister Inniss…………

I am convinced that it would make more sense for these inept incompetent people to keep their mouths shut. Be like the sleeping “giant”.

38. David,

At this point, anybody will be better than these jokers. The BLP has always demonstrated that they can lead and manage Barbados. We cannot say that of the DLP post EWB.

39. David,

MAM will do what she has to do. She has a power driven man in the mole of Donville Innis that needs to be “herded” in!

40. The fact remains that the DLPโ€™s 14 years as the opposition should have presented them with the opportunity to conduct studies of the Barbadian economy, the economic policies pursued by the then BLP administration and the effects such policies had on the economy. Also, since mid 2007, the worldwide economic indicators predicted an economic recession was imminent.

The DEMS took the reins of government in January 2008 and again in February 2013. Itโ€™s now January 2015, and between 1994 and 2015 gives the DLP a total of 21 years to effectively develop and implement economic strategies to best deal with this protracted economic recession that has been plaguing Barbados since 2008. However, the DLP has been unable to provide any sustainable program to efficiently manage the economy; a fact substantiated by Dr. Worrellโ€™s announcement that both Medium Term Strategies failed to achieve the desired objectives and the continual downgrades by the regional and international rating agencies.

It is quite easy for the DEMS to blame Arthur for all โ€œthe challenges being faced by the countryโ€. However, they must admit the IMF and rating agencies gave Arthurโ€™s policies passing grades, with them also indicating he was able to weather the economic storms during 2001 and 2003.

But we must ask ourselves if this incompetent lot has the ability to overcome these challenges. So for, they have demonstrated they cannot. They have continued to โ€œput together a little somethingโ€ to appease the IMF, Moodyโ€™s, etc., and present it to Barbadians in the form of a budget or a ministerial statement. Bajans are well aware that the policies articulated in the budget are either slowly implemented or not implemented at all, and the ministerial statements have no real meaning because they usually contain many unsubstantiated generalized statements.

But the irony of it all isโ€ฆ.. after each budget or ministerial statement, we can expect a downgrade.

And the DEMSโ€™ buzz word is โ€œsolutionsโ€, by which they are essentially telling us in the face of criticism we should bring solutions or shut up.

41. No money for Income Tax refunds.
    Answer: Wunna a bunch of doom & gloom merchants.
    No money for severance pay (NCC)
    Answer: wait wunna feel we got money to waste carry your doom & gloom rass.
    Garbage pile up on the island.
    Answer: wunna doom & gloom persons could leff de island.
    Rating agencies downgrade Barbados again.
    Answer: wunna doom& gloom persons think we give a shite, “dat don’t count ”
    Wait we still in kindergarten?

42. I too have my doubts about the Mottley style.Besides her debating skill and apparent quick grasp of data,her current performance leaves a lot to be desired.Compare the 13 of them with the 3 of the 86-91 parliament.Arthur,Simmons and Forde had the Sandy government on the run at every meeting of the house and with solid stuff.Mia doesn’t look into the camera.Why?Always looking left and right but not at the people or to the people.Body language bad bad.Sumtin wong.

43. @David /BU
    Barbados in waiting 6+ yrs for the DLP to demonstrate what they can’t do and you are asking if MAM has the capacity to keep the BLP MP herded ,
    MAM was part of a Government before, yes, she made mistakes and will again, for we all do, but this DLP Government PM and Ministers have this country so BAD, that a BLP Government lead by a first time elected MP ,can and will do better than these bunch of mindless people in the DLP, as it stand right now the DLP MP are in election mode .

44. @ Artaxerxes January 1, 2015 at 3:16 PM #

The fact remains that the DLPโ€™s 14 years as the opposition should have presented them with the opportunity to conduct studies of the Barbadian economy, the economic policies pursued by the then BLP administration and the effects such policies had on the economy. Also, since mid 2007, the worldwide economic indicators predicted an economic recession was imminent………………………….

David Thompson and his advisors had a plan to win an election but never had a plan to govern. Their manifesto told you all you needed to know. Therein lies Barbados’ problem.

They fumbled their way from day one…….a botched big swearing in ceremony at Kensington Oval to fool the people that they are for them.

When David Thompson took sick, traitor Darcy Boyce was apparently in charge of the economy and he did not seem to know this. Who can forget that press conference he did?…….wow……….the economy was left in limbo and we are paying the price today.

The consortium of ac’s can deny this however they wish to but we know that the first budget that Darcy Boyce did put this country in a tail spin and it has spiraled out of controlled to this day with the Stinkliar driving the final nails into it.

Does the Stnkliar know how silly he sounds criticizing Standards & Poors? Does Stinkliar realise that he is NOT an economist and does not understand finance?

45. @watchman

If it is one thing the BU household has become convinced is that the solution to moving Barbados forward must be found in fresh voices stepping forward.

46. @David /Bu
    When you ready , I an on your side ,

47. @ Prodigal Son January 1, 2015 at 3:41 PM #

โ€œDavid Thompson and his advisors had a plan to win an election but never had a plan to govern. Their manifesto told you all you needed to know. Therein lies Barbadosโ€™ problem.โ€

Spot on target, Prodigal

<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

@David January 1, 2015 at 3:46 PM #

โ€œIf it is one thing the BU household has become convinced is that the solution to moving Barbados forward must be found in fresh voices stepping forward.โ€

I agree you 100%, David

48. one thing for sure many would not be begrudging the opposition . given the many comments via complaints and against ministers, they have unsuspectingly boxed themselves into a corner with the bigger challenge of having to tell the public what methods or formula they have to fix this economy..
    Yes guys unlike last election the economy is going to be the dice being rolled and unless the BLP has a pair of double sixes in their hands to exposed the game will be over ,
    Npw MIA has so far shown that her stytle is one of politic rheortic, not going to cut especially when she has on occasion led a vendetta to recall PM and MOF resulting with a vote of no confidence, on her part
    Yes the DLP might be hindered by the slow movement of the economy ,,,,but in politics there is no assurance , who would have thought that oil would be in an all time low and venezula and russia even trinidad would be singing the blues,

49. old onions bags Avatar

You know how many Bajans wake up this morning like me, thinking about what these jokers have planned for our sorry arses? We been told to look out for more hardship and austere measures that are sure to inflict more torment and pain to many more families around this land. Some who like me, are not at all happy to start another year if it is anything like 2014. New year’s day is supposed to be one when people awaken with some kinda hope of a better tommorrow….How many out there can really say they feel some measure of hope while in the hands of these ?

Is like we had 6 yrs of this shoite and can make sure plans for the same in the nxt coming 4 right?..till D jail term ends right?…Meanwhile we must all just wrap we selves in D flag and watch annuda $776,864 cheque being endored to which ever entitled bovine see fit ?

Alrite man, ..well sure piss to thee too, ..and I hope the worse back to wanna a thousand fold.

50. @Prodigal Son January 1, 2015 at 3:41 PM “David Thompson and his advisors had a plan to win an election but never had a plan to govern.”

Which is exactly why I did not vote for the DLP in 2008 nor 2013….although I have frequently voted for the DLP in the past and live in hope that I can vote for them again.