Submitted by Due Diligence (Prostate Cancer Survivor)
Dr. Neil Fleshner: โ€œIf we donโ€™t find cancers and we canโ€™t treat them ... how do we move things forward?โ€ - Photo credit: National Post
Dr. Neil Fleshner: โ€œIf we donโ€™t find cancers and we canโ€™t treat them … how do we move things forward?โ€ – Photo credit: National Post

โ€œCall for prostate cancer test cut โ€ฆ the incidence of prostate cancer in Barbados is so high that the Queen Elizabeth Hospital is preparing to submit a recommendation for a 50 per cent cut in the cost of the examination used to detect the disease. According to QEH director Dr Dexter James, the country has the second highest rate of prostate cancer in the world per capita, and, in terms of mortality, the island was ranked number one. Every year, 100 men die from the disease in Barbadosโ€ โ€“ Barbados Today

I have been reading in the media up hey in de Great White North, about US and Canadian studies advising against using the PSA test. This morning, while sitting in the waiting area for a regular follow-up meeting with my oncologist, I read an article in the National Post about a recent study by Dr. Neil Fleshner, one of the leading urologists in Canada, or indeed in the world, which argues that PSA testing should continue – See: Ludicrousโ€™ advice against prostate cancer screening could cause needless deaths: study

By the way, I also had a PSA blood test and the wait time at one of the largest and highly regarded hospitals in Toronto, was about 15 minutes.ย ย  I would like to share this personal experience as a Prostate Cancer Survivor.

About 5 years ago, as part of my regular annual check-up, I had a PSA blood test which indicated that I might have Prostate Cancer.ย  That was followed two weeks later with my having a a biopsy performed on my prostate gland, which disclosed that I had high-grade prostate cancer. I was referred to a leading urologist/oncologist who has extensive expertise in uro-oncology and cancer genetics, who saw me in about two weeks.

Upon his recommendation I was immediately scheduled for surgery,ย  referred to as โ€œradical prostatectomyโ€, to have the cancerous prostate gland removed. I had the surgery performed within another two weeks, and spent about three days in the hospital before returning to home. My cancer was very advanced and required follow-up non-surgical treatment; but here I am still alive and functioning normally.

Without that PSA test that threw up the red flags, I have no doubt that I would not have still been around to enjoy the two weeks I had in Barbados in November.

My message to the BU family members is: If you do not want to be one of 100 men who die from Prostate Cancer in Barbados every year, arrange to have a PSA test NOW. QEH director Dr Dexter James, says Barbados is ranked number one in terms of mortality rate from Prostate Cancer. Being ranked number one is a good thing in many areas like tourism NOT in Prostate Cancer mortality rate.

My humble advice to Minister of Health John Boyce is to immediately approve the 50% reduction in the cost of PSA blood tests recommended by Dr. James period; not just during November.

54 responses to “Barbadian Men MUST Conquer Fear of the Prostate Examination”

1. Thanks for sharing DD.

2. Appreciate your story, very much an eye opener.

3. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Thanks DD

You should be aware that there are those among us who would try to dissuade men from getting the PSA, preferring and recommending the digital exam for personal and pleasurable pursuits.

4. Now Caswell….do leave Pacha alone…..your remarks are below the belt.

5. Thank you DD for this. My husband is a survivor of P. C. & doing well. He had what is called the seeds put into his prostate gland because of his age by the urologist, going in three years now, & doing very well. His last PSA was 00, He is into his 80th birthday next year.He had his PSA done every year & that is how the Drs. picked it up, & I am just Thanking the Lord for intelligent men, who gives us good advice. The only down side to this he had to pay $30:000 . because they do not do that type of treatment at the QEH, which is such a shame, so older people will die. The Dr. who does this do not do it for free.

6. @ DD
    re My message to the BU family members is: If you do not want to be one of 100 men who die from Prostate Cancer in Barbados every year, arrange to have a PSA test NOW.

WHAT HAPPENS IF YOU HAVE A NEGATIVE RESULT, DOES THIS MEAN THAT YOU DO NOT HAVE CANCER?

ARE RUBINS AND ROBBINS TELLING LIES WHEN THEY REPORT THAT A VERY LARGE PERCENTAGE OF MEN OVER 80 WITH PROSTATE CANCER DO NOT DIE FROM CANCER?

ARE PSA TESTS A PREVENTION AGAINST ADENOCARCINOMA OF THE PROSTATE?

DO TELL US the ANSWERS TO THESE QUEsTIONS SIR?

LET US CONTINUE “Thanking the Lord for intelligent men, who gives us good advice.

7. @ DD
    DOES A POSITIVE PSA MEAN THAT YOU HAVE CANCER?

8. GIVE IT A BREAK GP
    It is an indication that there is reasonable cause for a more thorough check on your prostrate health…. FULL STOP.
    It the absence of such indication, some persons who could otherwise have been intercepted early will find out too late…
    …on the other hand, some of us may say “Frig that … I am already past my three score and ten….”

Admittedly, there will be some cases where the PSA results may lead to some life trauma, and expenses which will turn out to be unjustified… but that is no different to the lotta doctors bout here who have “interests” in certain medical Labs …and who exhaustively prescribe certain expensive tests in order to ‘rule out’ certain conditions…. ๐Ÿ™‚

9. Since I turned 60 years old once a year I pay $30cad for a PSA test.

Once a year for less than 2 seconds my doctor sticks a finger up butt to check my prostate.

My doctor has stated that based on the above I do not have prostate cancer.

I am comfortable with the state of my health.

10. RE Bush Tea | December 13, 2014 at 11:52 AM |
    GIVE IT A BREAK GP

WAIT I DONT HAVE THE RIGHT TO ASK QUESTIONS OR COMMENT ON BU NOW——–AND IN AN AREA THAT I HAVE SPENT 40 OF MY 62 YEARS? IN TRAINING PRACTICING AND TEACHING?

HANTS POINTS OUT THAT ……..Once a year for less than 2 seconds my doctor sticks a finger up butt to check my prostate.
    THIS IS THE OLD AND STILL THE TESTED WAY

11. Now that,s what i am talking about information that is relevant and beneficial something that is lacking here on Bu.more often than not the same ole tired political game plan that hinders and retards and obfuscate srelying on empty poitical bull shit of which all are guilty..kudos to uDD for making self an example

12. @ ac

Now that,s what i am talking about information that is relevant and beneficial.

AC you could have stop there for with the only exception on your posts on Casino gambling which would bring major foreign exchange into the country all else have been DLP biased.

I believe you are paid to monitor and input by that political party.

Again for your reference I am neither DLP or BLP and have never voted even though I have donated to both at least once before.

So I cannot be described as any political yard fowl or have any axe to grind, but view issues in an open minded manner.

It would be nice if you could refrain from party bias or D vs B and provide useful input or opinion that is open minded.

13. @ GP
    WAIT I DONT HAVE THE RIGHT TO ASK QUESTIONS OR COMMENT ON BU NOW….?
    Of course you do……and Bushie has the right to put the whacker in you early – before the weeds get too tall and we need a lawnmower…

Everybody and their cousins done know that when you ask those rhetorical questions, to which you ALREADY have the answers …AND the PowerPoints,…. um is only licks coming next to the BU students in your classroom….

Well Bushie done wid that shiite…

Attack is the best form of defense according to Colonel Buggy and Bushie crank up the whacker fuh yuh…..

…so what you going do now…? bring on the PowerPoint…?? ๐Ÿ™‚
    LOL ha ha ha muh belly…. or is um muh prostrate…. ???

14. YEARS AGO I PRESENTED DETAILED POWERPOINTS ON ALL THE DISEASES OF THE PROSTATE ON BU –INCLUDING THE INS AND OUTS OF THE PSA

I DONT THINK I NEED TO DO THAT AGAIN
    IT WAS DONE VERY WELL THEN

15. HANTS
    THERE SHOULD ALSO BE ONE ON CANCER OF THE PROSTATE TOO. DONT KNOW IF DAVID CAN FIND IT

16. Prostate tests and colonoscopies are two good ways to beat cancer if caught early, the only draw back about the tests for people like AC and Dompey is that have to wear a sign this end up

17. @GP

Unable to locate the other link GP. Was it specifically about prostate cancer?

18. David | December 13, 2014 at 3:54 PM |
    . Was it specifically about prostate cancer?
    YES IT WAS

19. You can shoot the GP messenger but he is not the only messenger –
    Barbados Today โ€“ Local โ€œDoctors concerned prostate screening may do more harm than goodโ€

โ€œFour medical practitioners have raised concerns about the method of prostate screening used in Barbados, saying it may do more harm than good. In a joint letter today to Barbados TODAY, family physicians Dr Peter Adams, Dr Colin Alert, Dr Joseph Herbert and Dr Malcolm Howitt questioned why officials were promoting the prostate specific antigen test (PSA) without full discussion on its benefits and harms.โ€
    http://www.barbadostoday.bb/2014/11/25/men-at-risk/

20. Berkley University of California โ€“ http://www.berkeleywellness.com/self-care/preventive-care/article/detecting-prostate-cancer

โ€œThe problem is that PSA testing is not very good at saving lives. Of the two best, largest trialsโ€”both published in the New England Journal of Medicine in 2009โ€”one found that screening had no effect on mortality, and the other found little effect. Both studies, however, found definite harms from screening (see below). Thatโ€™s why the U.S. Preventive Services Task Force (a panel of experts who periodically evaluate available scientific evidence for screening tests and issue recommendations based on their evaluations) now recommends against routine PSA testing for healthy men, although you and your doctor still may decide to proceed with screening after careful discussion.โ€

21. @Nostradamus

Interesting link to add to the pile of information we have here on BU.

On 14 December 2014 at 12:33, Barbados Underground wrote: > >

22. @ Nostradamus
    Skippa, you must know that these studies are merely vehicles used by various academics to justify their grants…

Wuh boss, Bushie could get you a study that clearly demonstrates that drinking water is counterproductive to excellent health, and that furthermore, it has zero impact on reducing mortality…

…talking bout mortality though… ๐Ÿ™‚
    Bushie particularly likes the part where they say that “The problem is that PSA testing is not very good at saving lives. Of the two best, largest trialsโ€”both published in the New England Journal of Medicine in 2009โ€”one found that screening had no effect on mortality”

LOL Ha-ha-ha …oh-shiirted….Bushie belly!…hold muh!!!

Now how the hell could a PSA test “have an effect on mortality”?
    PSA or no PSA we are ALL going to die…. 100% change…
    Shiite man….the ONLY entity that can have ANY impact on mortality is BBE….

The PSA is a screening test, useful for those of us who feel the need to know our health status, and providing intelligent information for further action…or inaction….as we see fit.

No damn studies or trials needed for that…..

23. Prostate cancer – Some facts on this mean, malignant malady

6 In approximately 70% of cases, carcinoma of the prostate arises in the peripheral zone of the gland, classically in a posterior location, often rendering it palpable on rectal examination

THIS IS WHY THE RECTAL EXAMINATION IS IMPORTANT
    THE LOCATION AND CONSISTENCY OF A PROSTATE MASS CAN BE ASSESSED BY THE EXPERIENCED EXAMINER

7 Carcinoma of the prostate is the most common form of cancer in men and the second leading cause of cancer death. It is estimated that more than 300,000 new cases are detected every year, of which approximately 41,000 prove to be lethal.In addition to these lethal neoplasms, there is an even more frequent anatomic form of prostatic cancer in which a microscopic focus of cancer is discovered as an incidental finding, either at postmortem examination or in a surgical specimen removed for other reasons (e.g. nodular hyperplasia). Approximately 90% of these lesions do not cause trouble in the lifetime of the host

10 Cancer of the prostate is a disease of men over the age of 50. Only 1% of prostate cancers are diagnosed before 50 years of age. The incidence of latent prostate cancer is even higher. It increases from 20 % men in their fifties to approximately 70 % in men between the ages of 70 and 80 years.

Microcarcinoma in practically every male individual over 80 yearsAdenocarcinoma of the prostate is common. It is the most common non-skin malignancy in elderly men. It is rare before the age of 50, but autopsy studies have found prostatic adenocarcinoma in over half of men more than 80 years old.

13 Black men have the highest incidence and mortality from prostate cancer in any defined demographic group. Indeed, the incidence of prostate cancer in these men is about 50% higher. The mortality rate in these men is 100% higher than in Caucasian men.

15 there has been an increasing awareness of the possibility of a link between diet and prostate cancer. Dietary fat, especially animal fat, has been associated with an increased risk of prostate cancer and an increased incidence of mortality.
    INCREASED USE OF DIETARY ANIMAL FAT IN OUR BLACK MEN IN BARBADOS MAY BE THE REASON FOR THE RELATIVELY RECENT RISE IN INCIDENCE

21 Many prostate carcinomas are small and clinically insignificant. However, some are not, and men with a higher likelihood of developing a prostate cancer (in the U.S.) include those of older age, black race, and family history. Those with an affected first-degree relative have double the risk.

22& 23 androgens are involved with the development of prostate cancer.
    Finasteride deprives the prostate of dihydrotestosterone, which is the main intra-prostatic androgen. Therefore, finasteride may reduce the risk of prostate cancer
    SAW PALMETTO BERRY IS KNOWN TO HAVE THE SAME MECHANISM OF ACTION OF FINASTERIDE. FOR THIS REASON IT MIGHT BE A USEFUL PREVENTATIVE

30 Prostate glands containing adenocarcinoma are not necessarily enlarged. Adenocarcinoma may also coexist with hyperplasia. However, prostatic hyperplasia is not a premalignant lesion.

24. Cancer of the prostate usually presents with clinical symptoms of prostatism.
    โ€ข Advanced prostatic adenocarcinomas typically cause urinary obstruction.
    โ€ข It may also present in advanced cases with signs and symptoms of metastasis (e.g. back pain due to vertebral metastasis).
    โ€ข [ They may also present as incidental findings during microscopic examination of the tissue surgically removed for non-malignant disease, particularly BPHโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆ..OR sometimes โ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆ.
    โ€ข Tumors of the prostate are detected during autopsy on patients that showed no clinical evidence of prostatic cancer.]
    โ€ข The diagnosis of prostate cancer hinges on three primary factors: digital rectal exam, or DRE, PSA testing, and ultrasound-guided biopsy.
    โ€ข DRE and PSA testing are to be used for screening, and ultrasound-guided for confirmation.
    โ€ข DRE is still important, even with the availability of PSA testing.
    โ€ข DIGITAL EXAMINATION
    โ€ข โ€ฆ. a hard painless mass in the gland is found during rectal examination.
    โ€ข These tumors are easier to feel than to see; they are firmer than hyperplastic nodules and poorly circumscribed.

โ€ข Carcinoma of the Prostate.
    โ€ข The chief obstacle to early diagnosis is the absence of symptoms.
    โ€ข Another difficulty is that when the carcinoma commences deep in the lateral lobes, or in the middle lobe, it cannot be felt per rectum.
    โ€ข In the average case, however, the carcinoma commences in the posterior part of the gland near the surface, and can be recognized as a rounded area of induration beneath the capsule, viz.
    โ€ข contrasting with that of the normal prostate.
    โ€ข Prostate cancers may be detected by digital examination, by
    โ€ข ultrasonography (transrectal ultrasound), or
    โ€ข by screening with a blood test for prostate specific antigen (PSA).
    โ€ข Men who have findings suspicious for carcinoma on digital rectal examination and a PSA of 50% likelihood of having a prostate cancer.
    โ€ข None of these methods can reliably detect all prostate cancers, particularly the small cancers.

25. Based on all we have been taught on BU and elsewhere the rectal exam is the best decision to make by men but there is a reluctance. BU believes the association is made by many men with homosexuality.

26. dAVID
    i have found my ppt on prostate carcinoma from my Curacao teaching days, and will have it sent later. I will also try to relay a ppt on th PSA,

27. @GP

Noted but the big issue is how do we get men to conquer the fear.

28. @ David wrote “how do we get men to conquer the fear”

Easy.

A couple of nice looking female doctors should open a Prostate Cancer Testing clinic in Barbados.

29. John Hanson 1781-1782- I SERVE 1788- 1792 BARBADOES. Avatar
    John Hanson 1781-1782- I SERVE 1788- 1792 BARBADOES.

Can some one or some thing , Give AC a test please, start with the hole above her neck.

30. @ David
    Bushie is relieved to hear GP endorse the DRE yuh…. for a moment there the bushman was worried that he would follow Dr Alert and call for an end to this procedure…..

Of course when the bushman was younger (and not in need these kind of tests) the DRE was dreaded, however with the advent of old age (and coincidentally, a plethora of young, cute female doctors), Bushie has completely revised that dread…. Indeed, the biggest bone of contention between Bushie and the personal doctor is her reluctance to make the DRE a monthly routine for the bushman… ๐Ÿ™‚
    ….LOL… one can never be too careful with this Prostrate Cancer shiite hear… ๐Ÿ™‚

However, if Old Onions and old Ross insist on turning up at Dr A’s office demanding that they be given DRE’s……wuh um is no wonder that the Doc would come out against the procedure…… Ha ha ha ….wuh laasss!

31. [caption id="attachment_44468" align="aligncenter" width="500"]Prostate Cancer Presentation Prostate Cancer Presentation by Dr. GP[/caption]

32. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Hants

Your quote “A couple of nice looking female doctors should open a Prostate Cancer Testing clinic in Barbados…”

As male chauvinist pig as a few women here on this blog might think that to be when de ole man first started the yearly testing thing, in whatever part of the world is was, that was precisely the sexist policy that I employed

If i was going to have a finger up my *** I was looking for a fine female to do it

We men are such fools, never mind the male doctor might be equally or better experienced to detect/diagnose the cancer, it was the psychology of not having a man’s finger up your donkey that was the driver.

33. PSA — DRE

Whatever.

The posit of the post was to encourage BU readers to get tested.

If test indicates further testing is appropriate go to next level of testing – biopsy.

If biopsy confirms presence of cancer get treated – to reduce your chance of being among the 100 who will die from Proate Cancer in 2015 .

34. Certainly PREVENTION IS THE MOST IMPORTANT THING

1 REDUCE ANIMAL FAT IN THE DIET
    2 USE TOMATOES FOR THE LYCOPENE CONTENT
    3 REDUCE PROSTATE GROWTH BY USING SAW PALMETTO BERRY
    4 GET EDUCATED ABOUT SYMPTOMS OF PROSTATISM AND THE INFORMATION GIVEN BY PROFESSIONALS WHO KNOW WHAT THEY ARE TALKING ABOUT

35. @GP

Remind us what are the symptoms that may exist that self awareness may pick up.

36. dAVID

FREQUENCY
    URGENCY
    NOCTURIA—INCREASED GETTING UP AT NIGHT
    ARE PROBABLY THE EASY ONES FOR THE LAYMEN TO NOTE

I THINK THERE IS AN EMPHASIS ON TESTING – DRE AND PSA BUT RECOGNIZING LUTS SHOULD BE WHAT WE SHOULD BE TELLING OUR FOLK HERE THERE AND EVERYWHERE

IF WE ARE SEEKING HELP WHEN LUTS APPEARS WE SHOULD BE WELL AHEAD OF THE GAME

LUTS IS INSIDIOUS/GRADUAL
    WE DONT THINK MUCH OF IT WHEN IT STARTSI THINK WE MUST SPREAD AN AWARENESS OF THIS

PLUS REDUCED CONSUMPTION OF ANIMAL FAT– PERHAPS THE MAIN REASON FOR OUR CURRENT PROSTATE AND DIABETES PROBLEM

hERE IS A FAIRLY COMPREHENSIVE ACCOUNT OF LUTS WHICH MAY BE ASSOCIATED WITH PROSTATE DISEASE WHICH MAY BEGIN AS EARLY AS ONE’S FORTIES

Lower urinary tract symptoms (LUTS) are storage, voiding and postmicturition symptoms affecting the lower urinary tract.

LUTS can significantly reduce men’s quality of life and may point to serious pathology of the urogenital tract.

Prevailing guidelines suggest that the pathogenesis of LUTS is multifactorial and can include one or several diagnoses, commonly benign prostatic obstruction, nocturnal polynocturia and detrusor muscle instability.

LUTS are common and not necessarily a reason for suspecting prostate cancer. Patients tend to fall into three categories:

Mild symptoms: mainly require reassurance and exclusion of cancer or risk of future complications.
    Troublesome symptoms, suitable for medical treatment.
    Those requiring surgical treatment.

Lower urinary tract symptoms (LUTS) are a common problem, especially for older men. It has been reported that 90% of men aged 50 to 80 years suffer from potentially troublesome LUTS.

The prevalence of storage symptoms increases from 3% in men aged 40 to 44 years to 42% in those aged 75 years or older.[
    One study found that the prevalence of nocturia in men aged over 85 was about 69% compared to 49% in women.

Around one third of men will develop urinary tract (outflow) symptoms, of which the principal underlying cause is benign prostatic hyperplasia (BPH).
    Once symptoms arise, their progress is variable and unpredictable with about one third of patients improving, one third remaining stable and one third deteriorating.

Risk factors associated with LUTS include:

Increased serum dihydrotestosterone levels.
    Obesity.
    Elevated fasting glucose.
    Diabetes.
    Fat and red meat intake.
    Inflammation, which increases the risk.

Vegetables, exercise and non-steroidal anti-inflammatory drugs (NSAIDs) appear to decrease the risk. Moderate alcohol intake appears to decrease the risk of BPH but increases the risk of developing LUTS.

Presentation

Filling symptoms: urinary frequency, urgency, dysuria, nocturia.
    Voiding symptoms (previously ‘obstructive’): poor stream, hesitancy, terminal dribbling, incomplete voiding, overflow incontinence (occurs in chronic retention).

LUTS include frequency, urgency, hesitancy, dysuria, haematuria, reduced flow, dribbling, nocturia, incontinence and pelvic pain.
    Some patients develop acute retention.
    Others develop chronic retention with overflow incontinence and, on rare occasions, renal failure.
    Tumours localised to the prostate are unlikely to cause bladder outflow obstruction and any LUTS developing in early prostate cancer are usually due to coincidental BPH.

37. Interesting, BU posted this topic in FB Senate which is comprised of older men whether mode, median or average and not a man unpicked his teeth. There is a fear driving this issue which we have to wrestle to the ground.

38. 40 YEARS AGO when I was a student we did not have the large number of patients with prostate disease as we apparently have now. Also most patients presented with obstruction and had to be catheterized or get a suprapubic stab to empty their distended bladders.(put a hole in the abdomen above the pelvis to put a catheter in the bladder distended above the pelvis.)

The texts books then did not have the beautiful detailed info that is found online today.
    Most of the patients with prostatism then had BPH , only a few had cancer.I GUESS WE WERE NOT EATING AS MUCHANIMAL FAT THEN

39. david
    In that day nearly all the men presented with ACUTE RETENTION! IT IS ONE OF THE MOST PAINFUL THINGS A MAN CAN EXPERIENCE (ALONG WITH TORSION OF THE TESTIS)

OLD MEN SHOULD NOT FEAR IF THEY START PREVENTION FROM OUR EARLY FORTIES——OR BEFORE.

PROBLEM IS VERY FEW MEN ARE REALLY ILL BEFORE AGE 50!
    After that>>>>>>>>>>>WE TEND TO GO DOWN HILL RAPIDLY—SOME MORE SO THAN EVER.

40. @GP

Perhaps there is a discussion to be had about the meat portions?

41. I DO NOT KNOW DAVID
    BUT THE OLDER FOLK DIDNT DO TOO BADLY

I DO NOT KNOW WHAT IS REALLY HAPPENING IN BIM
    THE FAST FOOD EPIDEMIC WAS NOT THERE IN MY TIME

ALTHOUGH I KNOW MEAT EATING BEGUN ITS INCREASE CERCA 66 WITH THE ADVENT OF CHEAP CHICKEN BACKS IN THE EMERGING SUPERMARKETS

WE ALL KNOW THAT WE ATE FAR LESS MEAT AND FAR LESS FREQUENTLY BEFORE 66

THE ASIANS WHO EAT LESS MEAT HAVE LESS CANCER OF ANYTHING——UNTIL THEY COME TO THE WEST!

42. GP

Thanks

Excellent input

I was experiencing some of the LUTS and was being treated for enlarged prostate with FLOMAX before having the biopsy.

Earlier detection might have resulted in less radical treatment, radical prostatectomy.

BUT, better late than never.

43. @GEORGIE PORGIE,

PRIOR TO 66, WE WORKED PHYSICALLY HARDER, WALKED EVERYWHERE, ATE MEAT SATURDAYS AND SUNDAYS ONLY, ATE A LOT OF FISH AND UNPOLLUTED GROUND PROVISIONS.

AS WE “PROGRESSED?” PORK,CHICKEN,BEEF,. MEAT 7 DAYS A WEEK.

BAJANS NEED TO CHANGE THEIR BAD EATING HABITS.

44. @ Hants
    PRIOR TO 66, WE WORKED PHYSICALLY HARDER, WALKED EVERYWHERE, ATE MEAT SATURDAYS AND SUNDAYS ONLY, ATE A LOT OF FISH…
    Boss man… you had meat Saturdays AND Sundays too….? AND lotta fish?
    …shiite den Hants, you like you was born with a silva spoon in yuh mout yuh…. ๐Ÿ™‚

45. Yes Bushie, the “silver spoon” was family who were fishermen and we raised fowls and ducks andhad nice neighbors who raised pigs,sheep and goats.

I taught to fish when I was about 5 or 6 years old. Pure sliver Bushie.

46. thanks DD
    There is a lot of important information about symptoms and signs of LUTS and the drugs used to treat this in the link
    https://barbadosunderground.wordpress.com/2009/12/29/diseases-of-the-prostate-gland-benign-prostatic-hypertrophy-or-hyperplasia/

observers should spend time studying this and also the pictures, as these show the problems faced very well

note that FLOMAX ImproveS urinary flow ,is Quick to work and has no adverse effect upon sexual drive
    it also Lowers concomitant blood pressure

but has as Disadvantages the fact that it is
    Short acting
    Usually only delays the need for surgery, no evidence for preventing the progression of BPH
    Only effective on moderately enlarged prostates

5 ฮฑ-reductase inhibitors like finasteride (PROSCAR) selectively block androgen action in tissues whose function is dependent on continuing production of DHT, resulting in the inhibition of DHT II receptor complex formation.
    They block the conversion of testosterone to DHT within the prostate cells (and hair follicles). This causes a profound decrease in the concentration of DHT in plasma. As DHT levels drop, this in turn results in a consistent decrease in prostate size by 20%

SAW PALMETTO BERRY IS SAID TO HAVE THE SAME MECHANISM OF ACTION AS PROSCAR

WE SHOULD ALL BE ON IT MEN!
    WITH NUFF TOMATOES
    AND LESS MEAT
    BUT MORE SEX!

47. I FORGOT TO POINT OUT FLOMAX DOES NOT CAUSE A DECREASE IN PROSTATE SIZE

SAW PALMETTO OR PROSCAR WILL

NONE OF THESE CAN CURE PROSTATE CANCER OR DIMINISH THE SIZE OF THE PROSTATE WITH CANCER

48. John Hanson 1781-1782- I SERVE 1788- 1792 BARBADOES. Avatar
    John Hanson 1781-1782- I SERVE 1788- 1792 BARBADOES.

John Wayne died with over 40 pounds of meat still in side , rotting away at his gut,
    If your gut is high up its meat ,
    if your gut hangs over your waist then its sugar, FIT IT

75%of your intake each day need to be water , not food, when you feeling hungry drink clean water Brita, and not Barbados Pipe Water unfiltered, Check the bottom of your electric pot and see the white stones.

We need to listen to our ass and not assholes,
    water , Water , WATER