Adrian Loveridge

Just weeks after writing this column about the need to explore further smart partnerships, British Airways have announced they are working with two rail companies, Heathrow Express and First Great Western to offer seamless connections for travellers living in the West of England and Wales on a single fly/rail ticket. While the Heathrow arrangement will not directly benefit Barbados, the concept offers enormous potential with Gatwick, Manchester, Birmingham and the Scottish cities of Edinburgh and Glasgow.

Frankly I am surprised that British Airways have pipped Virgin Atlantic to the post on this initiative, especially because Virgin Trains are significant rail operators in their own right. From a recent media release ‘The combined booking takes away the stress and fear of missing a flight, if a train is delayed or a connection missed, by giving customers the peace of mind they’ll be on the next available flight – and even get overnight accommodation if the next service isn’t on the same day’.

It has become increasingly more important, if we are going to regain market share that we assess the whole holiday product components, rather than just focus on the ultimate destination itself. Both from a consumer cost basis, but also to ensure it is the most pleasurable hassle free experience.

The Smith Commission recommendation takes Scotland a step closer to determining whether their airports will either eliminate the Advanced Passenger Duty (APD) altogether, or dramatically reduce it. There can be little doubt that the overwhelming conclusion amongst the business community is that elimination would substantially boost the Scottish economy and give Glasgow, Prestwick and Edinburgh airports a distinct cost advantage over airlines flying from those in England. In doing this Scotland would follow the lead of most European countries which have already abolished APD leaving UK passengers paying the highest departure tax in the world.

My guess is, that if in fact Westminster Parliament lifts any final impediments, that low cost carriers like Norwegian Air, who are already generating more competition and opening up cheaper flights across the Atlantic, will be tempted to move, at least in part, to Scotland. If this happens then clearly legacy airlines, especially those operating long haul routes that do not offer services from Scotland will be at a distinct financial disadvantage.

Then, let’s look at the geography and consider just two Northern English cities. Newcastle is closer to Edinburgh and Carlisle closer to Glasgow than either city is to Manchester airport. A shorter road or train journey plus the probability of less traffic congestion and the likelihood of cheaper airport parking. Then factor in the APD savings on a family of four. Which option are most people going to consider?

Our next big challenge is to persuade one of the existing carriers to operate a scheduled service from Prestwick or Glasgow, but if this is not feasible, there are charter alternative options. Clearly, the CEO of British Airways parent company, Willie Walsh, foresees this as a clear and possible danger, having been quoted as stating ‘Scotland’s plan to scrap air passenger taxes would create a domino effect of people avoiding English airports to seek cheaper flights north of the border’.

22 responses to “Scrapping for Tourist Marketshare”

1. Interesting strategy. One would think it makes sense to fix intraregional transport to facilitate regional travel which is cost prohibitive.

With visitor arrivals from the Caribbean declining, the Barbados Tourism Marketing Inc. (BTMI) is looking to South America to drive up its figures.

This was revealed by the recently appointed chief executive officer William “Billy” Griffith, who was speaking to the Daily Nation after attending a service at St Paul’s Anglican Church, to mark the beginning of Tourism Week yesterday.

In addition, Griffith said tourism officials were very optimistic about this year’s winter tourist season.

His comments came after Acting Prime Minister and Minister of Tourism Richard Sealy revealed that the island’s tourism officials were still experiencing challenges with the Caribbean market, even though the other major markets had seen improvements.

Please read the full story in today’s Daily Nation, or in the eNATION edition

– See more at: http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/60444/btmi-looks-south-america#sthash.rK42cP3V.dpuf

2. Extracted from Facebook:

Can’t sleep before I rant…Today the Quantum of the Seas brought 3,809 guests and 1,500 crew to our shores. Then there was the Thompson Dream, dwarfed by the Quantum and I cannot quote how many guests they had, but these people have cash to spend. I am appalled at the number of people who went into a CLOSED Bridgetown and returned to the ship by 11:30 am. A handful of stores opened at noon and they must be more interested in Christmas shoppers because cruise passengers head into town early in the morning and return to the ship between 11:00 am and 2:00 pm depending on how many activities they did or did not find. Well guess we are going to have to blame Obama or Chris for this one when they complain that they had no sales…

Every tourist who graces our shores should go home with taxi or bus fare in their pockets because they found so many things to buy in Bim that they did the puppy.

3. Adrian Loveridge Avatar
    Adrian Loveridge

Was the Pelican Craft Centre open yesterday and were there any attempts to drive cruise passengers in that direction. ie: a flyer with a discount coupon?

4. @Adrian

Not aware Io

5. I am waiting to see how many of you will find a way to blame de guvment fuh this.

Can anyone explain why some store OWNERS would not seize this opportunity?

6. Attractions closed on Sundays and Bank holidays are a charming feature of Barbados life! The store/attraction owners need a rest day as well you know.

7. In his guest column in the Sunday Sun, December 7, 2014, Kemal Persaud was reported to have stated that the government (presumably of Barbados) has a right to TAX (our capitals) its citizens.

Nothing could be further from the truth.

There are three fundamental errors of fact and judgement that Persaud has been reported as making in such a wronged and vexxed assertion.

And there are:

1) that the government does TAX its citizens. This is wholly NOT so. The government of Barbados evilly wrongly demonically TAXES the remunerations of not just citizens, but also those of businesses and other relevant entities

2) that the government has a RIGHT to TAX its citizens. Such is absolute riotous rubbish. For, there is no properly written and understood law of the government of Barbados that could be read by any reasonably objectively person as conferring such a right. Indeed, TAXATION is absolute THEFT and ROBBERY by the government of the relevant persons, businesses and other entities. It is therefore an illegal and unlawful imposition and intervention into the contractual, property and remuneration arrangements of many others by such a totalitarian and dictatorial government; and

3) that the government has a right to TAX ITS CITIZENS (sic). What egregious nonsense. No citizen is a citizen of the government of Barbados. A citizen is a citizen of Barbados, and not even a subject of this country.

We have decided to comment on such a perversion, lest readers of the particular offensive assertion – in their own viewing, reading and accepting of it, be falsely and grossly misled in their own thinking.

8. High paying jobs = potential tourists.

Ottawa investing millions in Pratt and Whitney, maintaining and creating 1,500 jobs

https://barbadosunderground.wordpress.com/2014/12/08/scrapping-for-tourist-marketshare/

9. Seems the BHTA is working dilligently.

Friisdahl, the President and Chief Executive Officer – Air Canada Leisure, will speak on the topic ‘A Special Relationship: Celebrating the 65-year collaboration between Barbados, Air Canada and Air Canada Vacations’. – See more at:

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/60420/air-canada-president-bhta-meeting#sthash.uwK7keNC.dpuf

10. Adrian, noticed you got a response from Senator Watson. Only one or two shops opened at Pelican Village. If we cant get the little decisions made…

11. The Minister of Tourism was quoted in the news today that the single pleasure he has derived from the Sandals deal has been the 600 hundred Barbadians being trained. One would have thought any pleasure would be derived from when Sandals gets up and running and we see the numbers of tourists hitting the ground. This is the objective of giving the concessions to Sandals no?

12. Adrian Loveridge Avatar
    Adrian Loveridge

Yes, I have written about Pelican Village for the next Tourism Matters column. What I found strange about the MOT ‘s quote in Barbados Today is that he indicates ALL markets have recovered except the Caribbean. While the Barbabados Statistical Service remain tardy about revealing the figures (nothing for October or November still yet) based on published figures this is not substantiated. Plus ‘we’ are comparing the two lowest long stay visitor arrival years (2012 and 2013) with current performance. An awful lot still to be done and it might help to change the contact phone numbers of the BTA/BTMI which still show the OLD telephone numbers, which ring and ring unanswered. At least put an intercept to advise new numbers.

13. @ David

“The Minister of Tourism was quoted in the news today that the single pleasure he has derived from the Sandals deal has been the 600 hundred Barbadians being trained.”

If the Minister wanted the pleasure of seeing several hundred well trained Barbadians, all he hd to do was to drive out to St. Philip and visit The Crane (or a number of other well managed properties).

14. We have just had one of the major events on the tourism calendar. Run Barbados.
    Rumour has it that the results and competitor times have still to be published.
    https://www.facebook.com/RunBarbadosSeries

This is run by…………………Barbados Tourism Marketing, Inc.

15. This event at Bushy park is going to be awesome. I hope it was well marketed in the USA and Europe.

http://autoweek.com/article/nascar-sprint-cup/drivers-around-world-prepare-weekends-race-champions

16. We have the seating capacity with the &&& Air Canada we need to put asses on the seats. If we are to judge from arrivals on the weekend we have some work to do.

17. ONE OF BARBADOS’ most controversial tourism projects ever, Four Season, at Paradise in Black Rock, St Michael, is reportedly attracting the attention of some serious Russian financial muscle.

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/60590/roman-bid#sthash.s8GAwWgS.dpuf

18. Wait..first it did ….a Jamaican Sandal, next up it did a billionaire Arab and now we hearing a Russian mogul who interested in the beautiful Paradise Beach resort? Who next…let them all come Hants…..we welcome all…

Ps. You know the ole fisherman chant..”let them gather, soon they….

19. I home nuff tourists went to see this.

http://www.raceofchampions.com/