This slideshow requires JavaScript.

A BU family member visiting from the cold North sent us a note with the following observations:

I have read about the growing problem of garbage that is a blemish on the Gem of the Caribbean, and yesterday experienced it first hand.

As is my usual custom, after clearing Immigration and Customs at GAIA following 5-6 hours on Air Canada flight 966 from, I picked up the hire car and my first stop was, as usual, at the rum shop, PUGS, at the roundabout by the SOL Gas Station by GAIA.

• PUGS, which could use a cleaning and a paint job.
  • Pile of trash awaiting pick up at PUGS
  • Pile of trash awaiting pick up on the roadside by the crosswalk from the airport parking lot to the busย  stop.

Is that what is meant by Welcome to Barbados

I think that if I was a first time visitor and this was my first impression, or one who has no particular affection for the people on this lump of coral, I would have been inclined to return to GAIA and get on Air Canada flight 967.

Something has to be done about the trash NOW.

By the way, the sign on the tourist welcome office in the arrivals area just before leaving the building still says Barbados Tourism Authority!

107 responses to “Keep Barbados Clean for Godsakes!”

1. John Hanson 1781-1782 Avatar
    John Hanson 1781-1782

THE MORE THEY GET PAID ,THE LESS WORK THEY DO ., COME LATE AND LEAVE A MESS BEHIND, TRUCK DOWN MUCH OF THE TIME , TRUCK TO SMALL , AND MANY TRIPS UP AND DOWN,

2. It has been reported in the press that St.Lawrence Gap us in for a major cleanup in the coming days, let us hope we see a strategy of working with other spots in the tourist’s eye.

3. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ David | November 9, 2014 at 7:06 AM |

Is it true that a major part of the upcoming Food & Wine Festival is earmarked for the Oistins Bay Garden?
    Don’t these people know about health and safety standards? How can they think about putting on such a so-called internationally appealing food display event in an environment overflowing with filth, grime and sewage?

Could you please appeal to the powers-that-be to at least clean up the place before staging the event?

4. @Miller

After Crop Over Oistins Bay Gardens is our #1 attraction (all year round).

5. Yesterday I witnessed what smelled like and looked like household refuse being covered with topsoil at a quarry in Carrington St Philip around 1030am on November 8th,2014 which was transported there by a large truck. This ongoing practice was drawn to the attention of the Future Centre Trust by a concerned citizen. The Carrington Quarry is less than 1 mile away from the Hampton Pumping Station.

We made contact with the Chief Health Inspector and currently awaiting feedback on if permission was granted for sorted household waste from a “Transfer Station” to be dumped so close to our water supply in such a deep quarry at Carrington.

Lets not make this a political issue!

6. 1st impressions are lasting impressions. If we cannot get this basic service under control, I suspect that we will struggle to get the other relevant services under control. Once this becomes the norm (which seems very likely as this drags on) we can talk till the cows come home, nothing will change, it will get worse and more unfornunate, it will become acceptable.

Watch out Barbados.

7. @Speighstown Rat, I agree. The Future Centre Trust for many years have coordinated Clean Up Barbados and it never got the attention of any government to become a national initiative. Every at Crop Over persons are encourage to litter while playing mass then it falls on the SSA to clean up. Ignorance and Incompetence is pervasive in BIM.

8. The issue of littering, overgrown bush, lack of public awareness did not sneaked up on us overnight. This is a classic case of reactive vs proactive. It is not too late, let us cancel one minister’s trip overseas for the next two months and reallocate the monies to CBC and GIS to launch a massive PR/Education campaign in the schools, workplaces, tow halls, talk shows etc. we can do this!

9. my experience in barbados, workmen do the job but never clean up always leaving a mess for someone else,this must stop. everyone is responsible, the eyesores will become pocket sores

10. Just asking aka waiting Avatar
    Just asking aka waiting

Couldn’t agree more that Barbados needs a big clean up we know GOB is cash strapped and lack refuse collecting vehicles. How about neighborhoods coming together and cleaning up their surroundings until the collection trucks arrive. Being poor doesn’t mean you should be unhygienic and untidy.

You drive through so many districts where the residents can get together and place trash lying around in big bags or covered cans. The areas can also be swept by the residents it could be done on a rotating basis and it wouldn’t call for a lot of money. The effort could be done in coordination with SSA. The boys on the block are a particularly set of nasty youngsters. They smoke their dope drink their beverages eat their itals and discard everything right where they stand.

The paros and vagrants are now fully out of control they have the city in a stinking mess rummaging the garbage and leaving their stinking bundles all over the place.. Something needs to be done. Get the vagrants into the half way houses that are there for them and bring some legislation to get them off the streets before they ruin the tourist economy. We as a people cannot sit idly by, complain and watch Barbados overrun by filth.

11. The problem with wunna people is that wunna REFUSE to accept the wisdom of the old folk and feel that wunna know better. Even though wunna doing bare shiite, wunna still won’t listen…

Wunna see cleanliness?
    THAT THING is next to Godliness.

when therefore you see nastiness, it is a SURE sign of the underlying UNGODLINESS or spiritual filth that abounds.

Nasty minded, stinking, dishonest, bribe-taking brass bowls tend to allow their surroundings to become nasty….
    A physical clean-up is a waste of time since the place will be nasty again in a week.
    WHAT WE NEED IS A SPIRITUAL CLEANUP….
    …but wunna playing wunna aint know that….

12. Bush Tea | November 9, 2014 at 9:39 AM |

A physical clean-up is a waste of time since the place will be nasty again in a week.
    WHAT WE NEED IS A SPIRITUAL CLEANUPโ€ฆ.
    ………………………………………………………………………………………………………..

and professor brass bowl .how do u go about implementing , that divine bowl of rubbish?

;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;
    however i will agree that more education concerning the enviroment needs to be taught in and out of the school system.. also worthy to note that compounding this growing problem are the many of immigrants who have made barbados their home and i suspect that some of them have brought their nasty habits along
    ac implore govt to use all the laws on the books which are helpful in addressing this out of control problem. no sense having laws if they are not being implemented , ( mankind does not lite a candle and hide it under a bushel looking for a needle in darkness,)

13. @ Kammie Holder
    Re the new garbage dump near Carrington factory.
    My understanding is that the residents of Sunbury Tenantry, St. Philip have been bothered by the smell and sometimes smoke emanating off of the garbage that the SSA has recently resumed dumping in what I believe was a previously closed dump at Carrington. The smells and smoke have caused an increase in respiratory problems for some residents of the area I am told.

According to an acquaintance who lives in Sunbury Tenantry, the dumping was resumed at the Carrington dump with no advanced notice to the residents in the area , and they have been trying to have this issue addressed by the authorities and their MP with absolutely no effect. In their complaint to the authorities, they have also made the point that this garbage dump as well as being in close proximity and upwind of their homes, is also in close proximity to Hampton pumping station and could possibly pollute the water supply, but so far my understanding is that the attitude of the authorities to their protests and complaints is along the lines of – you can like it or lump it, but we gine do what we gine do.

Notice the residents on whom the odoriferous smells have been inflicted are residents of Sunbury Tenantry, if they were residents of someplace like say someplace named “Sunbury Heights” you can decide for yourself if the SSA would ever have thought it suitable to reopen this old dump in the first place.

14. So wunna want tuh charge solid waste tax and den don’t want tuh collect de garbage dat people generate. How long wunna really expect me to keep garbage next to my palatial abode before I start looking for somewhere to discreetly discard it.

If after jucking out people eyes, wunna still ain’t got de wherewithal to provide de waste management wunna supposed to, then unlessing I get a refund I don’t give to rats or mosquitos bout how untidy round de airport look.

Go and check de big lotta garbage dat pile up all over Barbados in neighbourhoods wheh de tourisses don’t frequent. We cud den talk bout de simple things like sorting garbage at source and placing skips in neighbourhoods.

Go on, go and get permission from the middlemen.

15. Beautiful Barbados — DUMP of the Caribbean.

And the politicians, BTA, Hotel owners etc. wonder why the tourists are fleeing Barbados.

16. In the case of PUG’s given its ‘in your face’ location entering GAIA COMMONSENSE suggest there should be collaboration between authorities and PUG’s to present a warm environment in the area. It is a prime area for god sakes.

17. Why is the SSA like other state entities unable to maintain the fleet?

18. The issue in St. Phillip:

Yesterday, I witnessed with a concerned citizen what smelled like and looked like household refuse being covered with topsoil at a quarry in Carrington St Philip around 10:30am on November 8th,2014 which was transported there by a large truck. This ongoing practice was drawn to the attention of the Future Centre Trust by a concerned citizen. This quarry at Carrington is less than 1 mile away from the Hampton Pumping Station a source of potable water for thousands.

We made contact with the Chief Health Inspector who promised to contact the health inspector responsible. Thus, we are currently awaiting feedback on if permission was granted for sorted household waste from a "Transfer Station" to be dumped so close to our water supply in such a deep quarry at Carrington.

Thomas Sankara's photo.

19. Mash up and buy back mentality. Easy come easy goes. Money trees growing down in the treasury’s backyard. Who knows?

One thing for sure if It was not so easy to get new vehicles, taxpayers would not be held to ransom every couple of years.

20. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ ac | November 9, 2014 at 10:08 AM |
    โ€œ.. also worthy to note that compounding this growing problem are the many of immigrants who have made barbados their home and i suspect that some of them have brought their nasty habits along..โ€

So you are reverting to the old jingoistic technique of immigrant bashing blaming them for all the evils and bad things taking place in your country? Who now is causing Barbados to become a nasty filthy dump? The Guyanese or the people from the Low islands?

Oh no, it canโ€™t be the fault of a bloated corrupt useless incompetent classless administration!
    Oh no, it still canโ€™t be the fault of an asinine โ€œeducatedโ€ native population growing so obese and lazy from fast food diet and throw away container mentality!
    Oh no, it certainly canโ€™t be that class of vehicles owners who take great pride in moving the household garbage and waste (including dead animals) to their private dumps called the gullies, watercourses and cane fields?

Yes, ac, go ahead and blame the immigrants. Blame the immigrants for the mismanagement of the economy, the fiscal and the drug trade. Not stinking black Bajans.

21. I have notified the Nation Newspaper and posted on facebook as its 24 hours since I reported to the Chief Health Inspector and we are still awaitimg a response.

Its also my understanding that the ower of the quarry charges up to $30 per truckload. The question begs, what are the category of materials allowed to be dumped at the Carrimgton Quarry?

22. @John Hanson 1781-1782 | November 9, 2014 at 6:31 AM |
    THE MORE THEY GET PAID ,THE LESS WORK THEY DO ., COME LATE AND LEAVE A MESS BEHIND, TRUCK DOWN MUCH OF THE TIME , TRUCK TO SMALL , AND MANY TRIPS UP AND DOWN,

Their trucks may be down or not enough , hardly their fault, but from my personal observation and experience the SSA employees who work on the trucks are probably the hardest working members of the public service.

Lay the blame where it should go and that is at the very top – Minister responsible for Environment.

23. Bajan have become NASTY STINKING people! They prefer to throw garbage in the gullies, on empty lots and where no one can see. Many do not clean up around their homes on a regular basis. Look at the bush along the roadsides. Nasty minded arse lickers like AC wanting to lay blame on the ferinners she should look at the bush around her house and her neighbourhood. Tell me if yuh got ferrriners living in yuh neighbourhood. YUH STINKING NASTY MINDED YARDFOWL!

24. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Nostradamus | November 9, 2014 at 12:16 PM |
    โ€œโ€ฆthe SSA employees who work on the trucks are probably the hardest working members of the public service..โ€

You got that right!
    Can you imagine this group of workers have not had an increase in pay for many years and still having to carry the burden and make sacrifices but still willing to do their national duty without due recognition?

How many SSA workers get any national awards or similar recognition such as employee of the year in the public service?
    As far as I am concerned many of them should be given the golden star award for outstanding service to the nation; not to some lying poxy ugly politician or kissing-ass bureaucrat or fraudulent business person.

25. Man who is listening, who cares . Let pass on to the next topic. Q in the Community or the Hon. Steven D. Blackett, M.P. Minister of Social Care, Constituency Empowerment and Community Development latest baby, DANCE FEST.

26. Barbados dirty? Man I watch the Remembrance day parade at Heroes Square on CBC this morning. Not a speck of dirt or grime by the Cenotaph, the cobblestone courtyard or the public buildings. Everywhere was ship shape , Bristol fashion and recently painted.
    Our members of parliament in attendance ,and other VIP’s looked resplendent in their finest suits and dresses. One of the greatest fashion shows on our calender. Even the Mercedes “limos’ which , brought the nattily cladded Prime Minister and the Chief Justice were shining like Buckey dog stones. I am sure that the many tourists who were present at this mornings parade after watching we Bajans at our best, will overlook a few barrels of crap under every street light,nook and cranny ,and if they are cruise ship passengers here for just the day, write it off to a Bajan Off Day.

27. this one for all wanna old people

28. @Miller
    How many SSA workers get any national awards or similar recognition such as employee of the year in the public service?
    As far as I am concerned many of them should be given the golden star award for outstanding service to the nation; not to some lying poxy ugly politician or kissing-ass bureaucrat or fraudulent business person.
    …………………………………………………………………………………………….
    Do you expect otherwise? We are forever bragging about how King Sugar built this country. And singing about These Fields and Hills Beyond recall, the same fields and hills that our forefathers and , mothers, some pregnant at the time, broke their backs and waters, to make this country what it was , up to a decade ago. And we have never seen it fit to accord a national award to any of those herculean agricultural workers, other than making sport at them every year, these days , at the so-called Crop Over festival as King and Queen of a now dead industry. Reminds me of the award of Member and Officer of The British Empire.
    So do not expect that the crowd which you saw this morning in Heroes Square, demanding salutes from the army and sitting in VIP seating,will want to rub shoulders at Government House with an SSA worker, not even Harry ,a truck driver now retired, who spent a short time at the school in Waterfords.

29. LOL isla gal don,t blow a gasket u hear .QEH can,t afford annuda free patient

30. This is truly a sad state of affairs, reading all that’s being said about the ONCE GEM OF THE CARIBBEAN, now being a DUMP.

I can recall when I was growing up in Barbados, the PRIDE folks took in keeping their surroundings clean. I think at this point in time that many folks has forgotten what PRIDE is. And how to be RESPONSIBLE for SELF.

I no longer live in Barbados, but through the online paper Barbados Today and this site. I get to see, and learn what’s going on in Barbados.

I have suggested to many of my friends and customers to visit Barbados throughout the years. But quite a few are becoming disillusion with the NEW BARBADOS, and the environment.

What I would like to say in regards to the Government, the words wouldn’t be at all pleasant. As far as they are concern THE PEOPLE AREN’T THAT IMPORTANT,ONLY A PAY CHECK FOR THEM.

You can continue to complain about what they should do. But YOU should make it a point to do something about it if it’s that IMPORTANT. Because this is the only way that things will change for the better.

Barbados DEPENDS on TOURIST, for revenue. Which as the old saying is putting all your eggs in one basket. So if you’re NOT taking care of Barbados the way in-which you should. Then you are going to loose revenue, which will make things a lot harder for the taxpayers. Because for sure the Government which YOU have elected isn’t going to loose anything in this situation.

So wake up and do whatever needs to be done i resolving this problem which you should NEVER have in the first place.

Also all things starts within the household. So the suggestion of teaching the young people in school isn’t going to work. Simply because they will continue to practice what they see happen at home.

I have faith in each and everyone that YOU CAN DO BETTER TO CHANGE THIS SITUATION; New buildings with sorry surroundings creates BAD HEALTH SITUATIONS.

31. One of the biggest issues that should concern Barbadians is the lack of involvement (co-option) of the Future Trust in the decision making by the relevant ministry. Whether they like it or not the Future Trust is the leading NGO championing matters of the environment and should be part of the process. They should not be shouting from the outside like the ‘others’.

32. @ MR.C
    I can recall when I was growing up in Barbados, the PRIDE folks took in keeping their surroundings clean. I think at this point in time that many folks has forgotten what PRIDE is. And how to be RESPONSIBLE for SELF.
    …………………………………………………………………………………….
    Be careful, MR.C , many of us in Barbados ,and on this blog ,have an aversion to any reference of things past. That kind of past thinking ,it seems , by the “older folk” is what is holding up this country from progressing.

33. We should not get too carried away with this just because the current Government people are all certified JAs.
    Truth is that from back in the old days we have always had a poor record of dealing with waste.
    Some of us recall the open “stuff heaps” that were located in the various communities where everyone brought their refuse each day…
    it was not a pretty sight….
    nor were the open back trucks spilling garbage along the highway on the way to the dump…
    Some of us recall the story of Mount Stinkeroo; of Greenland and of the Pulverization fiasco….

The real issue now is how come – after spending so much on education, training, trucks, land fills, pulverization plants (which Miller would know well of ๐Ÿ™‚ ) and now recycling plants – we seem to be back at square one?

The issue is NOT about reclaiming any “good old days”, – it is about making expected and needed progress.

34. David | November 9, 2014 at 3:11 PM
    Some years ago, the Future Centre Trust had a team who was seen daily cleaning the highways and byways of this country. I believe that it was abandoned because of a lack of financial and moral support from Government and the Private Sector. But before it was abandoned, I recall one of the volunteer crew members, an ex British Army and BDF senior NCO, had put forward the idea, that during the course of retrieving, garbage , especially bulk garbage thrown indiscriminately by the wayside, that he would sift through the garbage and look for clues to link back to the owner, and then seek to prosecute the person responsible, whether it was the owner or the trucker contracted to cart the stuff away. This was flatly turned down. And look what we have today.

35. @Colonel Buggy

The taciturn and much traveled minister of the environment Denis ‘travelto Samoa’ Lowe promised recently that ‘Waste Legislation’ will be debated shortly and will see Waste Police unleashed on Barbados. The idea of checking garbage to ascertain offenders may yet come.

36. We have no money to buy and maintain trucks , but we have plans to build a $Nuff Millions multi storied administrative block.
    Have we forgotton the $44+millions complex at Greenland, sitting down there like a virgin on Bush Hill.
    [IMG]http://i.imgur.com/3mWv6sM.jpg[/IMG]

37. [IMG]http://i.imgur.com/3mWv6sM.jpg[/IMG]

38. This insert image thing does not seem to be working for me. Last try
    https://www.flickr.com/photos/83717797@N04/15302417819/player/

39. @Colonel Buggy

We see the faculty at Green Land, looks like if it is kept in good condition.

You need to post the Url only on BU.

On Sunday, 9 November 2014, Barbados Underground wrote:

40. I dont see litter. I see garbage put out to be picked up. The bags are not torn, garbage is not strewn about. Stop knocking the island.

It seems to me that this is a regular quantitiy of garbage. In Barbados where I stay, garbage is picked up twice a week. Here in the great white North, garbage is picked up once every two weeks. If you want to see and smell garbage come to Ottawa in the summer. Flies and maggots by the millions. If you put your garbage out at night as recommended, next morning you have to clean it up and re-bag after the neighborhood cats and dogs have had their picks. If you put it out in the morning, before you turn your back the crows are tearing open the bags. All yuh got it good.

People who do not want to see garbage put out for collection should pay for an instantaneous service. Phone and pay. I think this is a storm in a teacup. I am sure none of you would cherish keeping garbage in your garage or backyard for two weeks.

Re Pugs needing a paint job, suppose business so slow funds are not available? Or the owner is so accustomed to the state of the shop he cant see anything wrong? cheupse.

41. In defense of the submission, it is not unusual to pass PUG’s and see garbage bags all over the place, the cats and the dogs having hd a fill. Better can be done to make PUG’s an attractive area give its location and popularity.

42. are-we-there-yet Avatar

Colonel Buggy

I think this is the url you wanted

http://i.imgur.com/3mWv6sM.jpg

Flickr images aren’t accessible to others unless you use the special URL from your flickr account.

43. Hi PUG’s if you are reading BU here is what Braddie’s Bar look like.

Any of the beverage suppliers will sponsor a paint job, for free!

44. wunna BLP maggots and nose pickers keep “dumping alll over the country, very patriotic, btw wuh pat say uh never hear Hants talk about , Hants is that true that Canada is a breeding ground for maggots and crows i always believe that only bears and barbadians live there,shame on u hants for living in such a filthy unsanitized enviroment and always peeping into others people back yard looking fuh trouble,

45. If it were left to BU all the property between the two airport roundabouts and a few to the East where a pile of garbage collects from a few houses down a ‘line’ would be compulsorily acquired and the stretch beatified.

46. Pat | November 9, 2014 at 5:02 PM |
    I dont see litter. I see garbage put out to be picked up. The bags are not torn, garbage is not strewn about. Stop knocking the island.
    …………………………………………………………………………………
    Pat do not let a few pictures influence you. There are some alleys in Bridgetown that if I dropped my wallet, I would be hesitant to pick it up.
    I have hundreds of photos taken of strewn and smelly garbage all over the island, but prefer only to publish a few of them on BU.
    ……………………………………………………..
    Re Pugs needing a paint job, suppose business so slow funds are not available? Or the owner is so accustomed to the state of the shop he cant see anything wrong? cheupse.
    ……………………………………………………………………………..
    This also apply to many government buildings, but the Government has the option of abandoning the building, and either building, a new one , or renting office space from Bizzy and others,at the expense of the already over burdened taxpayer.

47. If you put your garbage out at night as recommended, next morning you have to clean it up and re-bag after the neighborhood cats and dogs have had their picks. If you put it out in the morning, before you turn your back the crows are tearing open the bags.
    ++++++++++
    Hi Pat
    Glad to hear that there are no raccoons in Ottawa

48. Smooth Chocolate Avatar
    Smooth Chocolate

keeping ur surroundings clean in spite of the lack of garbage pick up should not be too difficult. i know because i see the difference everyday. where i live every house/apartment has a garbage container, some have covers, people keep the discarded food etc in the freezer for as long as possible hoping to be home when the truck comes, which lately has been coming on Sundays, down from Tuesdays and Thursdays. when i pass thru the heavily populated areas, i rarely see garbage containers, rather i see bags just thrown along the way, or the garbage containers are over flowing. the dogs and fowls make a mess of the garbage, so it presents a rather unsightly mess, another thing too, is that every single dog in my area is on a leash, so at least we are protected from them attacking the garbage. i think those areas where the garbage is all over the place, the neighbours could burn what could be burnt carefully, when most people are away from home, just to minimize the litter