Yellow Fever mosquito

Minister John Boyce has broken his silence to confirm that Barbados has recorded 49 confirmed cases of chikungunya and 200 suspected cases. To be fair to  minister Boyce he is quoted as saying “the figures could be higher because a number of Barbadians might have resorted to treating themselves at home, rather than going to see a doctor.” BU wants to challenge the 200 suspected cases number by suggesting it is more like in the thousands. On the weekend health inspectors confirmed there is a probability 60% of Barbadians will contract chikungunya.

What is chikungunya?

Click here to view a Digital Press Kit on chikungunya from the CDC News Room. Chikungunya (pronunciation: \chik-en-gun-ye) virus is transmitted to people by mosquitoes. The most common symptoms of chikungunya virus infection are fever and joint pain. Other symptoms may include headache, muscle pain, joint swelling, or rash. Outbreaks have occurred in countriesin Africa, Asia, Europe, and the Indian and Pacific Oceans. In late 2013, chikungunya virus was found for the first time in the Americas on islands in the Caribbean. There is a risk that the virus will be imported to new areas by infected travelers. There is no vaccine to prevent or medicine to treat chikungunya virus infection. Travelers can protect themselves by preventing mosquito bites. When traveling to countries with chikungunya virus, use insect repellent, wear long sleeves and pants, and stay in places with air conditioning or that use window and door screens – CDC

Chikungunya continues to weak havoc across the Caribbean feeding on an environment where regional governments are cash strapped and unable to wrestle it to the ground. At a time when our ailing economies need to produce more, it is forced to produce less because of significant sick leave by employees.

We understand the Ministry of the Environment in Barbados is undermanned as a result of the recent retrenchment exercise. Many National Conservation Commission (NCC) workers who were charged to assist with ‘beautifying’ Barbados have had to resort to demonstrating outside government offices to demand outstanding severance payment. To make matters worse, the Sanitation Service Authority (SSA) is struggling with equipment and unable to efficiently collect garbage from our streets.

There has been no call yet by the government, through minister Denis Lowe, to declare a 2 day national clean up to mobilize and sensitize Barbadians to the need to clean our streets and neighbourhoods to eliminate mosquitoes breeding sites.

And we wait for nature to punish us with the big E.

106 responses to “Chikungunya (Chik V) Bulldozing its Way Across the Caribbean”

1. Sometimes people overestimate the influence of the CDC. We must remember hospitals are generally private owned. Therefore the CDC can only make recommendations. Hospitals, as businesses, can generally do what they like.

2. @Pacha

What is your point? Don’t get the relevance. The reference to the CDC is to provide a definition of chickungunya.

3. […] Chikungunya (Chik V) Bulldozing its Way Across the Caribbean […]

4. “Treating themselves at home rather than seeing a doctor”

And a doctor can do what? Well, he can take blood for testing I guess.

5. And the blood will be tested where? Trinidad says it can’t deal with testing for other islands. Barbados does not have a lab that can test for this. Ross I agree what can the doctor do? Tell you to take pannadol and rest.

6. “Barbados doesn’t have a lab that can test for this”

Well, in that case Island, where the fck has mine gone? (LOL)

7. millertheanunnaki Avatar

“There has been no call yet by the government, through minister Denis Lowe, to declare a 2 day national clean up to mobilize and sensitize Barbadians to the need to clean our streets and neighbourhoods to eliminate mosquitoes breeding sites.

And we wait for nature to punish us with the big E.”

So sweet, my friend! Just a matter of time before nature takes her revenge.
    Yes continue to blame the little mosquito who has been around for thousands if not millions of years.
    Why not take a long hard look at our dirty filthy habits that provide the perfect environment for mosquitoes and other vectors for viruses to multiply and do their job.
    Barbadians have been warned over and over about the unhygienic state of their country and of the possible consequences for not taking care of the environment both built and natural.

Hard ears you would not hear, hard ears you will feel.
    ‘What you sow in the wind you will reap in the whirlwind’.

8. John Hanson 1781-1782 Avatar
    John Hanson 1781-1782

Chicken with GUNS shooting back , Chicken-GUN -YA
    just wait until PIG – GUN- YA
    well so far the DLP -GUN -ya
    The BLP -GUN – YA all long time from 1997 till now lololl
    VAT TAX GUN-YA all the time
    CBC is not GUN -YA – tell you nothing

9. The BBC today carried an item which considered the inherent danger of bat meat consumption in Guinea and which started this Ebola epidemic.It suggests this is a remote area of Guinea where traditionally the inhabitants eat a lot of wild meat as a source of protein and despite being warned against the practice,continue to consume diseased bats and other wild meat including rodents.
    Btw heard the multi millionaire Dr Denis Lowe speaking of ‘Vauclewis’ today.

10. Bubble in a CANYON- Avatar
    Bubble in a CANYON-

cICKUNGARGAQ or whatever . I rebuke you

11. And we wait for nature to punish us with the big E.”
    ……………………………………………………………………………..
    And so will rest the final chapter in the planned destruction of Barbados by Freundal Stuart and Company.

12. Symptoms sound real close to Ebola. Who going to tell the difference if you can’t do a blood test ? Could be a disaster waiting in de wings when the first person walk in a hospital with Ebola and get treated for ChickV.

13. “Well, in that case Island, where the fck has mine gone? (LOL)”

Gone somewhere in cyberspace.

14. Not even Dompey could have made this up!!!

Is this the perfect storm?

15. […] David Minister John Boyce has broken his silence to confirm that Barbados has recorded 49 confirmed cases […]

16. Konkieman is making a very serious point. The symptoms (as also with dengue and human parvo) are very similar – including, as in the second US nurse case, the low grade fever at the onset. Indeed, I have heard of several chick cases where the patient didn’t even know he had a fever. The problem of early diagnosis becomes more difficult if the patient is already arthritic.

17. Doesn’t Chick V come with aching joints and rash? Not sure if these characteristics are associated with the big E.

18. The biggest irony, the ministry of health seriously affected by sick leave as a result of Chick V.

19. On a related note minister Lowe is in the news promising new Waste legislation to support stiffer fines on those who litter by releasing Waste Police. Can’t wait!

20. Rash yes (as I understand), and muscle (rather than joint) pain – really I suppose not unlike flu. But the early symptoms appear to be very similar and then the problem is – what on earth do we do with all those people suffering from low grade fever? OK blood tests – but how long before the results are known?

21. Pachamama

Your point regarding the CDC is haft true as far as I am concern. Yes, you’re correct in stating that the CDC can do so much because a lot the Hospitals in America are privately owned. However, with ever privately run organizations America, there Federal as well as State guidlines that has to be followed. As I have stated here previously: I worked in the Emergency Department of a major hospital (ER) for five years and recall with a sense of horror, the rigirous process the Federal organization (JACO) the Joint Commission: Accreditation Health care, Certification put us through annual. Pachamama, you should google if you’re interesting in what this organization does as far as private, state and federal hospitals goes. I saw the Commission in action for the five years long I was employed by Mount Sini Hospital.

22. @ Domps
    I saw the Commission in action for the five years long I was employed by Mount Sini Hospital.
    🙂
    …and you were able to gather all this during your “rigirous” janitorial duties…?

23. I copy and paste from above. If I read this as a potential tourist to Barbados it is saying DONT COME HERE. What the hell…wear long sleeves and pants.

” There is no vaccine to prevent or medicine to treat chikungunya virus infection. Travelers can protect themselves by preventing mosquito bites. When traveling to countries with chikungunya virus, use insect repellent, wear long sleeves and pants, and stay in places with air conditioning or that use window and door screens – CDC

24. @ Dompey
    Nobody can tell us about the joint-commission. Hospitals all over are on their peas and cues when inspections are to be done. For a week or two everthing must be perfect – clenliness, engineering, food service etc. This is a licensing requirement.

The CDC or federal government can use the vast resources payable to hospitals by medicare to ‘influence’ hospital behaviour. My point is about the commercialization of healthcare. That there maybe, like in Dallas, a diversion of interests.

25. “There is no vaccine to prevent or medicine to treat chikungunya virus infection.”

Solution. Eradicate as many mosquitoes as possible and limit their breeding sites.

Anybody remember when Public Health Inspectors walked around your house and in your yard looking for stagnant water and mekkin yuh turn over pots?

26. @Hants

So true and this is the silver lining. All the players, government agencies, individuals, NGOs need to get on board with keeping our islands clean.

27. “All the players” should realise that they and their loved ones are at risk.

They need to deal with the source of the problem by an aggressive effort to eradicate mosquitoes.

28. St George's Dragon Avatar

We have been trying to eradicate Dengue by fogging and getting rid of their breeding grounds for years. Isn’t it time to realise that it doesn’t work? Let’s try something new like they are in Brazil:
    http://www.bbc.com/news/world-latin-america-29356232

29. Nigeria has been fighting the #Ebolaoutbreak with NANOSILVER to the disgust of the #FDA.

Research shows the benefits of colloidal silver & now an radical emphasis on nano-silver as a way of beating even Yellow Fever.

Where in laboratory tests common antibiotics like penicillin, tetracycline & triclosan failed to kill strains of methicillin-resistant Staphylococcus aureus (MRSA) and vancomycin-resistant enterococci (VRE) merely having 5 parts per million (5ppm) of Colloidal Silver in the bloodstream can kill major viruses, fungi and bacterium.

Natural remedies like common Garlic, Capsicum (Cayenne Peppers), Golden Rod, Dogwood Bark, Irvingia Gabonensis Bark & Cinchona Officinalis Bark all work wonders for Yellow Fever.

30. Barbados has the opportunity to properly prepare for Ebola, in the event that it reaches our shores. The preventive measures can be found on the African continent and not at the CDC as most would suspect. Let’s face is, Africa has been fighting Ebola for the last 32 years. Let’s see what their have done during the years to addressed the many breakouts?

31. St George's Dragon Avatar

@ Dompey
    “Let’s see what their (sic) have done during the years to addressed (sic) the many breakouts?”
    On the basis of what has been reported the answer looks like not very much.
    That’s not meant to be critical of the African health services as I know from having been there that they have very few resources. The 1st world does not appear to have particularly redeemed itself in this outbreak but if you think the answer lies in preventative measures from Africa , I think you are mistaken.

32. Captain Silver

What do you know about MRSA? Right now I am working with a patient who has active MRSA and Universal Precautions seems to be working quite well brother. What a lot people do not understand is the fact that MRSA lives in the hospitals, Nursing-homes etc. And where is it inactive in patients who maybe living at home with a chronic condition. It often regains its contagiousness as some as the patient is admitted to the hospital or nursing home setting. I have made reference to MRSA in effort to emphasis the fact that as with EBola, the proper Universal Precautions are necessary when a healthcare professional is faced with the possible of having to deal with conditions such Ebola and MRSA, both of which are very contagious.

33. St. George’s Dragon

I was told by a co-worker of mine just this week, that the way in which most healthcare professionals in Africa avoid Ebola infection after caring for an Ebola patient, was to derobed and immediately bath in a specific solution. I cannot remember off hand which of the solutions my co-worker was referring to but, perhaps, someone out there have heard and can shine a better spot light on what I am trying to established here?

34. Can you try to establish the use of proper tenses in your sentences?

35. St George's Dragon Avatar

Bleach is the recommended agent. It kills everything. Check the Ebola guidelines from MSF etc. It’s not particularly African though.

36. George, she made no referenced to Bleach.

37. Now, has the CDC overlooked the possible that Perpiration associated with the Ebola’s high fever could be the inherent caused of infection among the American healthcare professionals? When a patient it admitted to a hospital for an extended period of time, it is general practice to position that patients from side to side to avoid skin breakdown. During this process the gloves could come into contact with the perpiration associated with Ebola’s high fever; which by the way is a bodily liquid. And the healthcare professional thinking that he or she hasn’t being in contact with the blood, vomit, feaces, and mucous associated with Ebola, touchest his or her face after disposing of the gloves and is infected with the Ebola virus.

38. In Universal Precautions: which is the essential method of avoid infection, the caregiver is taught the essential techniques of taking off his or her gloves and clothing without touching the skin and the immediate hand-washing techniques which is the last process in avoiding infection. The objective of Universal Precautions, that is if virus isn’t airborne, is to dispose of the clothing without making any contact with one’s body/skin.

39. Dompey | October 16, 2014 at 9:36 PM |
    St. George’s Dragon

I was told by a co-worker of mine just this week, that the way in which most healthcare professionals in Africa avoid Ebola infection after caring for an Ebola patient, was to derobed and immediately bath in a specific solution.
    ……………………………………………………………………………………………..
    I do believe that for many years, Baygon operations at Lowlands in Christ Church had a similar operating procedure for its production staff. Not sure if its successor is as keen.

40. Georgie Porgie

I’ll try my best to Porgie. But as you well know: I have been a victim of a educational system which hasn’t taught me the essentials of proper grammarcality.

41. Porgie, and why do you feel it necessary to adhere to a strict literary convention in an informal setting? Good night brother. I could see where this discussion is heading already, for the usual dick measuring contest.

42. GEORGIE PORGIE

I thought I impart little of what I have gathered from treasurechess of the white man’s way of doing things Porgie. It may not have been confabulating in the best manner, but I am cognizant of the fact that a general understanding could have been ascertain via the context in which the discourse was focused. But, nonetheless, I appreciate your endeavor to call to attention my shortcoming with respect to my articulation above. Your efforts only serve as a call for reflection and introspection, and shall give currency to improve the literary skills of a man who isn’t so egotistical and self-righteous, that he is incapable listening to constructive criticism. Thanks brother. And as the old adage goes: ” It is one thing to believe that your way is the right way, and quite another, to believe that your way is the only way.”

43. The American Nurses Association has demanded clear guidelines and proper training for healthcare professionals from the CDC. Immediate screening and isolation of patients with Ebola, even if it means to established specific hospitals for this purpose. And the questioning of people who are entering America from West Africa.

But what is more shocking, is the fact the I just heard on CNN: that there is female on cruise ship docked in the Caribbean who reported that she had been in contacted with Duncan. She doesn’t have Ebola but has been in isolation on this ship for 17 days and the Obama Administration is still contemplating whether or not to allow her entry back in America. This is a fact David…..and I am not joking on this one because it is a potential tthreat to the Caribbean region.

44. @Dompey

Do you have the comprehension to post Ebola stuff under the Ebola blog?

45. David…something seems to be wrong with the link.

Dompey

You are now an institution despite the best efforts of some. Go for it.

46. David

You’re correct David and I sincerely apologize for my shortsightedness. I should have posted on the Ebola blog but when emotions and impetuosicity governs one’s thinking, the tools of common-sense and reason are thrown out the door.

47. Good morning Ross. Good to hear from you buddy.

48. Dompey | October 16, 2014 at 10:56 PM |

I’ll try my best to Porgie. But as you well know: I have been a victim of a educational system which hasn’t taught me the essentials of proper grammarcality.

YOU ARE A NASTY LIAR
    PROPER GRAMMAR IS TAUGHT IN ALL BAJAN PRIMARY SCHOOLS

WHAT ON EARTH IS “GRAMMARCALITY”?

YOU ALSO MAKE MRS MALAPROP LOOK LIKE A GENIUS