Yellow Fever mosquito

Minister John Boyce has broken his silence to confirm that Barbados has recorded 49 confirmed cases of chikungunya and 200 suspected cases. To be fair to  minister Boyce he is quoted as saying “the figures could be higher because a number of Barbadians might have resorted to treating themselves at home, rather than going to see a doctor.” BU wants to challenge the 200 suspected cases number by suggesting it is more like in the thousands. On the weekend health inspectors confirmed there is a probability 60% of Barbadians will contract chikungunya.

What is chikungunya?

Click here to view a Digital Press Kit on chikungunya from the CDC News Room. Chikungunya (pronunciation: \chik-en-gun-ye) virus is transmitted to people by mosquitoes. The most common symptoms of chikungunya virus infection are fever and joint pain. Other symptoms may include headache, muscle pain, joint swelling, or rash. Outbreaks have occurred in countriesin Africa, Asia, Europe, and the Indian and Pacific Oceans. In late 2013, chikungunya virus was found for the first time in the Americas on islands in the Caribbean. There is a risk that the virus will be imported to new areas by infected travelers. There is no vaccine to prevent or medicine to treat chikungunya virus infection. Travelers can protect themselves by preventing mosquito bites. When traveling to countries with chikungunya virus, use insect repellent, wear long sleeves and pants, and stay in places with air conditioning or that use window and door screens – CDC

Chikungunya continues to weak havoc across the Caribbean feeding on an environment where regional governments are cash strapped and unable to wrestle it to the ground. At a time when our ailing economies need to produce more, it is forced to produce less because of significant sick leave by employees.

We understand the Ministry of the Environment in Barbados is undermanned as a result of the recent retrenchment exercise. Many National Conservation Commission (NCC) workers who were charged to assist with ‘beautifying’ Barbados have had to resort to demonstrating outside government offices to demand outstanding severance payment. To make matters worse, the Sanitation Service Authority (SSA) is struggling with equipment and unable to efficiently collect garbage from our streets.

There has been no call yet by the government, through minister Denis Lowe, to declare a 2 day national clean up to mobilize and sensitize Barbadians to the need to clean our streets and neighbourhoods to eliminate mosquitoes breeding sites.

And we wait for nature to punish us with the big E.

106 responses to “Chikungunya (Chik V) Bulldozing its Way Across the Caribbean”

1. GEORGIE PORGIE

As someone who has studied the lexicon for most of his life. I am well aware of the fact that the force of a word depends on its application rather than its meaning as you seem to suggest. And just to let you know Porgie: I am cognizant of the utilization of Verbosity, Tautology and Malapropism. Moreover, during the years, I have been accused of the ridiculous misused of words by individuals much like you yourself, who is obviously limited in his vocabulary.

2. GEORGIE PORGIE

I am puzzled and preplexed as to why some would characterized you as an intelligent man?
    You do not have what it takes to be called an intelligent man because you lack the true Equanimity, intelligence is grounded upon. Intelligence isn’t grounded upon how much one memorized, but upon how one applies what one knows to the practical reality.

3. Poor Dompey.

You are trying too hard to impress the BU family with your English and possibly your reading/education.

Apart from your improper use of figures of speech and poor syntax, you remind me of a 19th century writer. In those days, he used to serialize his books in weeklies and newspapers. As he was paid by the word, he tended to be very verbose. You are not being paid anything and you are no Charles Dickens.

4. Dompey is emblematic of a large cross section of the Barbados population who have “qualified” as they say for a degree from the local diploma mill. Full of self-importance, pomp and big words, and as you can see from this Dompey the Clown character unable to grasp the concept of practical application. It is the very anomaly that prevent the WAY-over-their-heads Barbados government from realizing the sky is falling while they keep blaming chicken little for their troubles. Notwithstanding the Norm Crosby of Barbados blogs silliness, the IMF is looming in the shadows:
    http://www.bloomberg.com/news/2014-10-14/barbados-seen-needing-imf-help-amid-no-growth-high-debt.html

5. Pat, whatever…. why don’t leave alone and go an play with yourself. Your opinion only matters if I value your opinion and guess what? I don’t know you from Adam, so the rock from whence came return because I could give two shites about your opinion, whoever you maybe.

6. De Value

Guess what De Values: I am quite sure my childhood hero Dr. Don Blackman, was the master of Malapropism as well lol. Oh please! Aren’t you supposed to be stupid some way else?

7. I don’t know you from Adam, so the rock from whence came return because I could give two shites about your opinion, whoever you maybe.
    …………………………………………………………………
    When put under pressure the true you came out. No one can accuse you of gleaming the above from the internet.

8. GOOD PUN BOY BLUE

HE CERTAINLY DIDNT “GLEAM” THAT STUFF ONLINE LOL

9. Boy Blue, I am not being egotistical here, but who here is capable of articulating on a wide range of topics than me myself? I am well read brother and that’s a fact.

Blue Boy, I taught Georgie Porgie this week that a bat is Bird and then he tried to feed some bullshite interpretation from some unqualified nincompoop.

Pat as well as De Value, I am willing to debate the both of you on any topic of your choice and it has little to do with verbosity and more to with the range of intellect.

10. DELUSIONS OF GRANDEUR IS THE DIAGNOSIS HERE FRIENDS

11. There is a Bajan saying, Big Money DOAN shout. Whereas the Dompster here aka Fenty aka The PMs grandiloquent Doppleganger must cram his OBVIOUS intellectual abilities down everyone’s throat. He is an embodiment of the problem: serious financial and devastating health issues facing the dot in the ocean and he is proclaiming himself the sharpest knife in the drawer. Dompey for PM !! At least then we’ll never hear from him.

12. D Value

Georgie Porgie is intellectually disable as shown by his cognitive insufficiency, but he knows that it isn’t within his best interest to challenge me with his antiquated medical theories. You better ask PG about me, if you know what is best for you brother.

13. where did this discussion go ,once again no wonder bim is in shiite

14. In a situation like this who to blame, those who insist on degrading the debate or those who respond.

15. Dompey there is a really nice lady down Black rock in Barbados who could be helpful to you although you would provide a unique challenge.

Earlier this week Caswell was on the property where she works,

Her name rings a Bell.

16. Thanks David for reminding us to scroll past this subliterate megalomaniac.

17. Oh dear…the intelligentsia is ganging up on Dompey. You know something – Dompey is brighter than any of you. For Christ’s sake let the fella play his word games and then address the substance. If you don’t want to do that, let him talk to himself and amuse his fan club.

18. ROSS

It has taken me long to figure out that they’re those persons out there who would exploit any and every weakness you allow, just to aggrandized their failing sense of importance. And I cannot help but to attributed this fatal flaw in our thinking to our human nature/ human behaviour. Throughout the the pages of the of the Western Intellectual Tradition, we have observed philosophers in the Ancient, Medieval and Contemporaray periods: employing this same tactic to undermine the intellectual stance of one another.
    Now, Georgie Porgie is viewed here on BU of somewhat of an cultivator of the the human intelligence. (lol) But I have realized from observing this man for an extent period of time, that his efforts to educate the uneducated here on BU ,only serves as barometer to fuels his pathetic adulation of self. These are the people we ought and must be mindful here on BU because their serve no better purpose than to poison the collegiate spirit that ought to be present in the contemporary social discourse.

19. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

The problem with our health service providers (and most government services), is lack of enforcement of the law. We have seen where reluctance on the part of enforcement agencies has given rise to a contemptuous attitude and expressions of insolence that makes some segments of our society believe they are above or exempted from the law. It is obvious that when laws are not enforce problems are given a green light to rise. The flip side to this and It is begs to differ, that where laws are enforced, influences, particularly of the political and affluent nature, are allowed to disrupt the flow of the judicial process, resulting in manipulation of the prosecuting process or the protocols in the prosecuting process, are interrupted by deliberate sabotage and delays. This lends itself to a high degree of agency frustration, set backs and what I am calling “complacency inertia”. The enforcement agency thus is place in a position of compromise because the message is clear: Do not touch the untouchables. This is and has always been Barbados’ fundamental and biggest problem.

Now that health regulators are enforcing the laws and people will be prosecuted (HOPEFULLY) watch the clean- back- yards and old- plots- clearing that will take place with haste in Barbados in the coming weeks. ENFORCEMENT OF THE LAW WITH APPROPRIATE PENALTIES AND PUNISHMENTS ARE GOOD “KEEP IN CHECK” TOOLS FOR SOCIETAL MAINTENANCE. My only concern is: will it be only specific target groups like the poor or will everyone found guilty come under the hammer of public health prosecution.

If we can keep the influences of politicians and those who manipulate the law from doing so,we would see significant changes in services, planning, coordinating and eventually – in proper maintenance of peoples surroundings to combat mosquito breeding. To the Chief Environmental Officer, I say its about friggin time.

20. @SSS

Enforcement is good but we need to educate to change attitudes and build awareness about the environment.

21. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

Who needs training? The enforcement officers, John Public, the political system…WHO???

22. @SSS

To achieve a goal activities must be identified and executed. It us not rocket science. The issue is that we get side tracked from the first principles.

23. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

What activities are you talking about? The plans for execution of the governing systems in Barbados have already been rolled out. Its call regulations and legislation. The problem is that the executors are not executing and when the executors execute the system manipulates the execution in the name of “gee e break” I know he. Barbados is playing catch up but the problem is that they do not have anyone in the race.

24. @SSS

A key player in the execution, the civil service, not functioning efficiently. Another key player in the execution, the Courts. Lastly the political class is not adding value to the execution, in fact it has become a distraction. In the prevailing environment the private sector i.e. those with money will be the ones to force change but it will be in their interest of course. We are in a sorry place. Note no mention of a supine media class.

25. David

No one issue is set in stone. We often degress in areas which are not directly connected but are still relavant to support our point of contention. Now with the issue of Ebola: we can degress into moral, political and socioeconomic areas of discussion because they’re relavant points to be made in these areas to support a well balanced discussion. No issue of dissusion is set in cement and if it is, then you ought to give clear guidelines for operating within the scope of a given issue. One thing you have failed to realize David, and than is, we are human beings who are governed by emotions rather than reason and common-sense, especially when we’re engaged in such a heated discussion.

26. And David, even if you outline a set of prerequistes for operating within a specific framework of discussion, the human emotion would get the best of us. Now, we don’t want to going to the areas of Jurisprudence and Behavious Science, which deals with the principles of Rewards and Punishment; in essence consequences for self-defeating behavious.

27. Sorry, I meant Behavioral Science and I also mispelled the words Relevant and digress intentional to show how easily it is for some to digress from a topic of discussion and focus on human weaknesses of others. PG!

28. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

@Dompey

Ahhhh can you translate please. Not trying to be funny but I really did not understand what you are trying to say.

That is the main problem that is dragging Barbados into miry clay for which they cannot seem to pull themselves out and stand firm on a solid rock to stay. With our current compromise system, the mosquito problem will always spiral out of control. And the only time we tend to act is at the point of a crisis. It took Chikungunya to force us to prosecutions. Why at the point of break do we tend to be so reactive. Why at the point of the crisis do we see implementation as a necessity. Does this action by the public health not speaks to a system that does not work? What do inspectors do that the mosquito index is so high in Barbados.

29. @SSS

Does this action by the public health not speaks to a system that does not work? What do inspectors do that the mosquito index is so high in Barbados.

The last part of your comment is pregnant with questions. Why have we not seen a correlation in the number of individuals and businesses being prosecuted by the MoH. Instead we got an earful from the army of health inspectors on Corey Layne’s program blaming Barbadians for breeding mosquitoes.

30. Yes, Mr Minister of the Environment etc etc, let prosecute all of those found to be harbouring breeding sites for mosquitoes on their properties . Like pools of water on the property and open top garbage bins.
    https://www.flickr.com/photos/83717797@N04/15565280232/

31. Now that we know that people with chronic illnesses like asthma can die if the contract chik v let us hope Bajans will be pro active and clean de nasty stinkin island.

The MOH has a responsibility to protect the citizens but there is nothing preventing us from helping ourselves.

32. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

House holders can only be blamed if the system is not doing the thing that would make householders keep their surroundings cleans. I bet you that many districts in Barbados would tell you that the hardly ever see an inspector or that the last time they saw one was umteen years ago. Both householders and the public health are not playing their part

33. @SSS I lived in many an overseas country for many years, and have never seen a Public Health Inspector visiting my home or neighbourhood. We as a people in the year 2014 must begin to adopt an attitude of self-discipline,and not wait for officials , to prod us into doing things that are beneficial to ourselves and the community. We are forever waiting at the crossroads for someone to hold our hands and guide us across.
    Why can’t we adopt the same attitude which we had acquired when working for the great house, for our own good. Are we still on the path to First World Status by the early 2020’s ? (if man is still alive.)

34. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

Colonel Buggy

Point taken, but unfortunately not accepted. You see comparing Barbados to your overseas base country is chalk and cheese. I also live in an overseas country one in Europe The municipality to which I reside have all the systems for the protection of the public’s health in place. The people that live within my district has a high level of compliance and discipline because all a sundry knows that the penalties for non compliance are stiff. Public health inspectors here are highly qualified and apply scientific techniques to the monitoring of their respective districts. Each district area have an information booth set up strategically that shows you the mapping of the area and where potential problems can occur, the faces of the public health inspectors and the contact info should an environmental problem develop.

My state is regard as the so called first world develop state. Barbados is a third world developing island with a people who have a propensity on reliance and high degree of indiscipline, backwardness, indifference and ignorance. Now when you have that combination you therefore need to police activities more and enforce rules more. Barbadians should play their part in the maintenance of their surroundings and some do but they are a high number of others who don’t and those are the ones that are problematic and who know policing and the law.

35. @SSS
    I also live in an overseas country one in Europe The municipality to which I reside have all the systems for the protection of the public’s health in place.
    …………………………………………………………………………….
    Good point. Our leaders and planners have traveled all over the globe,especially to health and environmental conferences , and must have seen these systems in place. So too have many of our people, also people like you and I , who have lived in the so-called First World Countries. Why are we not demanding better from our leaders, instead of being bogged down asking for petty things which are due to us anyway?
    One thing that I can say for the Health Inspectors ,and Head Teachers, of yesterday, many of the senior health inspectors, were regularly invited to lecture at some schools, at least in the rural areas.

36. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

Colonel Buggy

One has to ask how serious is environmental maintenance when you look at the approaches to Barbados and its actions towards environmental protection. I would say not so serious. My point is this: Every year in the wet season you can expect that mosquitoes will proliferate. I would assume that the public health inspectorate on the island have all these areas already map out and all that is left is the implementation of control and eliminate systems What I do not understand and maybe its best that I say, would like to know, is their approach. Is the approach to dealing with proactive or reactive? Are the agencies responsible for the environment operating at an intersectoral level or independent of each other. What technologies are used to ascertain a better understanding of the foci and what are the resolves

I would think that if inspectors are out regularly in their various districts that you would not have had this problem of householder negligence in mosquito prevention. But yet there is this problem. It means therefore that inspectors are either not doing their jobs effectively or the respect that inspectors should get from the community is scant.

Here where I live in Europe, when an inspector comes, for example announce, the householder must be present. If the householders is found in breach of compliance (depending on serious is the breach) they are instantly fined on the spot. Following that is a letter of explanation, a warning, information pamphlets, a picture of the breach and in some instances a request for you or any member of your household to undertake training. When unannounced, it is mainly a called out to a problem that can impact the environment negatively. In that response the inspector is accompanied by the police and an official photographer or he himself takes the photos. If the problem is a house and the householder is not there, the police obtains the name of the person, seeks to contact them immediately to come to the house. Where the person cannot be found or contacted the police has the power of the law to enter and ascertain the nature of the environmental problem. If the problem is significant the public health inspector has the power to quarantine that house until further notice. The public health inspectorate in this municipality have significant powers to which the community understands and thus seek to follow what is required.

Is it the same for Barbados? I doubt very much. I wonder how well trained are our public health inspectors

37. In the news today we hear funeral director St.Hill is before the court charge with breeding mosquitoes on his property.

38. @SSS

The public health officials refrain is that they are understaffed and with a change culture many residents are often not home when they visit. They lament even on Saturday unoccupied homes present a problem.

39. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

The constitution was changed to allow the DLP man for the job of Governor General to get that post. We also had the former BLP administration changing the laws in a fork night to accommodate another matter, which at the present moment has slipped my mind; but I know they manipulated for change. Here we have a significant problem affecting the entire island and the bellow is that no one is home! We under-staff!!! David if we change to suit whims and fancies we can amend to save the country from an environmental danger. Significant pressure can place on householders to comply and where compliance is marred by situations of poverty or can’t do better the recourse by individuals would be to contact the public health for help. I do not understand it; I don’t want to understand it because the thinking in Barbados is nothing short of “CAVE MAN”

Also this cry of under-staff is a bare joke. When they had full staff the problems were all the same. When they had full staff there was still cries from many in the district that they never saw they assigned public health inspector. My take on this matter is that the approach to dealing with this scourge is “nay nay” on the part of the public health. I do not buy one bit into their excuses. Too much stories of incompetency by this department.

As we say, the shit had to hit the fan for them to start prosecuting. If they were doing their jobs all along, prosecuting included, I can guarantee you the problem would not have been so significant. The lot of them are poorly trained and do not possess the wherewithal to effectively deal with this problem.

40. There was a time when Public Health Inspectors did their job effectively.

The walked around your house and in your yard inspecting and reminding you not to leave containers up turned etc.

The effect was that every Bajan knew how to prevent mosquito larvae from hatching.

WHA HAPPEN ?

41. While may be the fault of the MOH for the mosquito problem, every Bajan should make sure that they look after their own yard.

Given that people with pre existing health problems have died after contracting Chik V, it is important to “cover your own brass”.

So my fellow asthmatics be careful.

42. Hants | October 20, 2014 at 11:19 AM |
    There was a time when Public Health Inspectors did their job effectively.

Public Health Inspectors of old were amazing—-I guess like all Bajans of yesterday.

I had the joy of listening to Sir Maurice Byer- the Father of our Public Health System – talk about the early days and of the ingenuity and innovation of those whom he had trained.

Public Health Inspectors in the 70;s had maps of their areas which detailed where they were shops, public baths, stand pipes, and homes with WC’s or pit toilets. They also had/have the power to close a shop or restaurant etc.and to prosecute delinquents

In those days they never had to use this power, however, because householders and busyness persons were compliant.

I dont know what has happened since

43. @Hants

Like SSS is saying enforcement is part of grooving the right behaviour.

44. @GEORGIE PORGIE,

Clearly the MOH has not built on the Public Health foundation created in the 60s and 70s.

45. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

@Hants and GEORGIE PORGIE

I was not around during those times so I would not know if public health inspectors of yesteryear where incline and committed. But what I know is that we have a society in BIM that believes pompersetting, talking big, showing off the big ride or new ride, and trying their up-most to pull down the “try-er” is the way to go. Yet very little production.

I know for a fact many government departments seem to have a problem with anyone who avails themselves professionally and apply science to expedite means for making a task easier and comprehensible. These people are given the cold shoulder and told point blank…”Look dah ain’t fuh bout here.” And the none producer is hardly dealt with or corrected. The in fighting is far greater than the outside fight and so approaches to combat problems are marred in controversy. The public health inspectorate. now. are a fitting example of a department locked in nothingness.

46. Methods have to be modified to address a changing Barbadian society.

47. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

Do you see any modification to address. Is it not clear that we prefer to react rather than proact. We are crisis oriented and nothing that impacts Barbados seem to not change that mindset…..

48. The public service culture which is largely anchored in sloth is now biting us in the rear end in a world that requires pace. New attitudes are being forms because of exposure to foreign TV, Internet, travel, oversees study etc. We have done nothing to adjust. We have done nothing to align to on the ground realities.