Who or what is Cahill Energy? Barbadians taxpayers want to know!

The following was submitted as a comment to the blog Cahill Energy: The Race to Waste Energy. BU along with other Barbadians taxpayers intend to exact our right to know by calling for transparency in all public sector transactions. We have an ineffective Auditor General, a defunct Public Accounts Committee therefore it is up to conscientious Barbadians to use other means available to demand what it right. The irony is that this government promised a new way of governance, more transparent by proclaiming integrity and freedom of information legislation, six years later we continue to wait โ€“ David (BU)

The website for this company [Cahhill Energy] can be found by following the LINK. The website does not give confidence in that it was constructed only recently in 2013 and appears to be currently under construction. No financial information or company profile is given on the website. A search was conducted on the company using the following link to the Guernsey companies registry:

https//www.greg.gg/webCompSearchDetails.aspx?id=iqwS70SvL4U=&r=0&crn=&cn=cahill&rad=StartsWith&ck=False
It showed that Blenheim Management Services is the owner of Cahill Energy see the link below:

http://www.greg.gg/webCompSearchDetails.aspx?id=sr8ft/nf5JY=&r=0&crn=&cn=blenheim%20Management%20Services&rad=StartsWith&ck=False

Blenheim has directors:

• Alasdair Andrew Milroy
  • Linda Theresa Le Roux

From this search I was able to down load a number of company documents being the Memorandum of Incorporation which lists Lambeth Nominees Limited as the majority shareholder or beneficial owner of Blenheim.

https://www.greg.gg/webCompSearchDetails.aspx?id=Ez5boXIz64w=&r=0&crn=&cn=Lambeth%20Nominees%20Limited&rad=StartsWith&ck=False

The Directors of this company are listed as:

โ€ข Michael Underdown
โ€ข Peter Craggs Howe
โ€ข Linda Theresa Le Roux
โ€ข Judith Mary Lovell
โ€ข John Adam Robilliard
โ€ข Martyn Paul Gordon
These names will have to be screened to check that there is no negative media such as sanctions, money laundering, fraud, embezzlement, Politically Exposed Person, Bribery and corruption claims against them.

A major red flag is that the company Cahill Energy Limited is registered in Guernsey one of the offshore jurisdictions offers little transparency. In addition the complex ownership structure should be questioned to find out why there are so many layers.

We will need to verify where the physical place of business is located and verify that there is an operation there.

Full transparency is required in a deal of this nature.

We need to know:

1. Who the beneficial owners and ultimate beneficial owners (the people) are behind this company so that all potential conflicts of interest can be assessed and ruled out etc.
  2. We must confirm that the beneficial owners/entities involved are not sanctioned individuals and are not Politically Exposed Persons who generally have a vulnerability to bribery and corruption.
  3. Ensure that there are no criminal connections.
  4. They must be able to demonstrate that they have examined and evidenced the management experience/track record of the directors and senior management of this company.
  5. What is their record of success in this sector? Where is the evidence?
  6. Evidence of (concrete) projects that have been successfully completed
  7. Most importantly where is the $240M coming from have we gained adequate assurance and examined the documentary evidence that the source of these funds is legitimate?
  8. Are we comfortable that there is no reputational/legal risk for Barbados from the acceptance of these funds and what did we do to gain this assurance?
  9. Who are the directors? Have they been screened as well as the beneficial owners for sanctions and illicit criminal connections?
  10. Have we visited Cahill Energyโ€™s premises in Guernsey to ensure that it is really a physical office and not just a front?

AlterNRG owns 100% of Westinghouse Plasma Corporation, a world leader in plasma gasification technology, which is expected to supply the plasma gasification technology

http://www.alternrg.com/wp-content/uploads/2014/03/March-17-2014-Cahill-Energy-to-Invest-240-Million-in-Barbados-Clean-Energy-Plant.pdf
http://www.westinghouse-plasma.com/executive_team/

It would be interesting to find out if AlterNRG has actually done business with Cahill Energy before and who AlterNRG is and the same for Westinghouse Plasma Corporation. 7th Heaven Properties appointed to source site for Caribbean Clean Energy Plant. Who are they who are their beneficial owners?

We need to screen them for conflicts and inappropriate connections with Cahill Energy as they both seem to endorse each other.

Does the company really have a physical presence in London?

7th Heaven properties

51 Clarendon Walk

Notting Hill

London

W11 1SN

Do see the directors of 7th Heaven Real Estate at the below who were contracted by Cahill to find a Caribbean island to invest US$300M

http://www.7thheavenproperties.com/contacts.html

124 responses to “Cahill Energy Transparency and Taxpayers RIGHT to Know”

1. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

I am suspicious about every transaction involving large sums that this Government undertakes with good reason. They were in discussion and had zeroed in on someone to take over Almond. All of a sudden they discovered that Sandals was involved in bribery in Turks and Caicos and was forced to pay an out of court settlement to avoid prosecution, and Sandals became the preferred partner. They seem to be seeking out companies with questionable business dealings.

I don’t know this company but because of Government’s behaviour, I would have to get a lot more information before I trust this deal.

2. That location in Notting Hill is very residential and affluent. Ask Hal.

3. The days of blindly accepting the word of a government and politicians long gone. BU is still waiting on Minister Lowe to fully explain his association witb Peter Allard while he was an Opposition Senator. We will highlight this matter some more in light of information coming to hand. It seems there is a move afoot to take out BU by people known to HIM [Allard/Lowe].

4. @ David
    “It seems there is a move afoot to take out BU by people known to HIM [Allard/Lowe].”

Please explain.

5. Will as as the best time allows.

6. Well done somebody….doubtless H Austin can check the Notting Hill address.

7. Agreed Ross…………Hal needs to also check and see if Cahill is also involved in setting up waste to energy plants at the Hospitals in London which has now erupted into a big dirty scandal..

David…..they themselves might very well be brought down long before BU.

8. Jammoon in Full Moon Avatar
    Jammoon in Full Moon

wunna can get no where with this trace, wunna feel darce and bjerk gonna leave an audit trail back to the beneficial owners? Um gine stop at a Trust somewhere like Island of Man or Liechtenstein guys.

9. Since the new buzz word on the ground in Barbados is Waste to Energy, I hope this is not part of Ronald Jones’ new epiphany to have 60,000 new babies born in Barbados………..just saying, we all know he is dumb enough…lol

10. Cimpliance Officer UK Avatar
    Cimpliance Officer UK

We shall see where the paper trail ends.

11. David “It seems there is a move afoot to take out BU.”

Surely you expected this.

A lot is exposed on BU.

12. One thing is abundantly clear.

This is that MIA was absolutely right to raise questions. There may be easy answers. There may not. But the questions roared and roared for answers either way.

13. Google Earth is your friend! No trace of Clarendon Walk. Lots of other Clarendons but no Walk.

14. If these Ministers as well as the opposition would use their critical thinking skills they would recognize that BU is a far better option than what Mia was proposing e.g. marches that so could easily get out of control with the jackass’ threat of cracking heads and shooting people…of course they will show absolutely no appreciation that the most people will do is read the information on their computers and try to understand the dynamics and destructive ways of the politics that are currently being practiced by both DLP/BLP and in understanding will be able to engage the government with this new knowledge in an effort to bring about badly needed change.

Of course they prefer things to remain the same not thinking that what they have done in previous decades is now returning to bite them in the backside.

15. St George's Dragon Avatar

“A major red flag is that the company Cahill Energy Limited is registered in Guernsey one of the offshore jurisdictions [which] offers little transparency.”
    Let he who is without sin, cast the first stone.
    Barbados does exactly the same with its offshore company business. In fact, if you look up companies in the CAIPO database you will see far less information than the equivalent Guernsey website provides. No directors’ names, no ownership information, no details of what it does……

16. Who owns Blackmans Plantation and are they politically connected?

17. GEORGE TOWN, Grand Cayman โ€” Contractor General Dirk Harrison is warning governments of the Caribbean, and in particular Jamaica, that failure to effectively squeeze corruption will lead to their ultimate demise.

Speaking at a lunch plenary entitled, ‘A Corruption-free Government for Jamaica: A How-to-Manual from the Contractor General’s Office, with Implications for the Region’, organised and hosted by the University College of the Cayman Islands in this British territory last Friday, Harrison said that levels of corruption in Jamaica and the wider Caribbean had reached frightening proportions and the possibility existed that countries could experience a bursting at the seams, if they do not act decisively against it.

Read full story here.: http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/news/Corruption-warning_16327703

18. St George's Dragon Avatar

@ Bookworm
    No Clarendon Walk? It seems to run between Lancaster Road and the north end of Clarendon Road (or this may be Upper Clarendon Walk). You can find it on http://www.streetmap.co.uk
    Google Earth seems to show it lined with Local Authority housing, so if it is it, its a strange place for a property company.

19. A visit to the website of Alter NRG Corporation (www.alternrg.com), of Calgary, Alberta, suggests it is a legitimate business, with an experienced Board of Directors and Management Team.

Its Westinghouse Plasma gasification technology appears to have been commercially proven.

While making annual losses to date, the company is adequately capitalized with CAD$140 million of Shareholderโ€™ Capital.

From commencement of its operations in 2006 Alter NRGโ€™s total sales to 2013 are less than CAD$50 million.

As I understand the story, GOB has contracted with Cahill to build and operate the WTE plant for US$240 million, using Westinghouse Plasma gasification technology from Alter NRG.

The questions DD has are

Who the h..l is Cahillโ€
    Given that Alter NRG sales in seven years are less than CAD$50 million; where does the US$240 million โ€œinvestmentโ€ number come from?

Also, is it possible that in saying that โ€œCahill Energy is a legitimate company, and a subsidiary of a company with as much as 15 years experience in business, including work in the area of energyโ€, is Minister Sinckler confusing Alter NRG Corp with Cahill Energy?

20. @BLP Supporter
    โ€œWho owns Blackmans Plantation and are they politically connected?โ€
    I canโ€™t say with 100% certainty but I believe that Blackmanโ€™s Plantation belonged to Mr. David Patterson ( now deceased about 1 year or so ago) and his family. When I drove by there a while back they had real estate โ€œfor saleโ€ signs posted. Itโ€™s possible there are new owners, I wouldnโ€™t know.

To the second part of your question I asked someone who was acquainted with Mr. Patterson and they said that to their knowledge he was never politically connected. Are you suggesting that it is now owned by someone who is politically connected?

21. David

In your opening remarks you said:

โ€œBU along with other Barbadians taxpayers intend to exact our right to know by calling for transparency in all public sector transactions. We have an ineffective Auditor General, a defunct Public Accounts Committee ……โ€ฆ”

The Auditor General is ineffective because his hands are tied; and he cannot be expected to shed transparency on this Cahill public sector transaction. Indeed, the AG probably first heard about Cahill in the press releases published by the newspapers, the same as we did.

To date the Auditor General has not posted his report for the fiscal year ended March 31, 2013, to its website.

The Auditor Generalโ€™s Report for Fiscal 2012, provided to the Speaker of the House on January 31, 2013 is at.

http://www.bao.gov.bb/themes/marinelli/files/Auditor%20General%20Report%202012.pdf

Introductory Comments, which could be described as disclaimers, include the following,,

โ€œThe Office continues to have staffing shortages, Interviews were carried out during the year, but these are not expected to result in any increases since there is not a large available pool of auditors in the Country to draw upon. …….. I am again recommending that the authority to recruit staff should be delegated to the Office to expedite the process.โ€

General Issues. include the following.

โ€œIt has been five (5) years since Government has switched to from the cash to accrual basis for accounting, however, there continue to be considerable shortcomings in the accounts presented which have so far resulted in the Audit Office being unable to verify that the financial statements are presented fairly and in accordance with International Public Sector Accounting standards. There were numerous omissions from the financial statements presented, and these included over $150 million which was owed to the University of the West Indies, Cave Hill Campus.โ€

โ€œThere is a need for an urgent examination of the system of accounting currently practices by Government since, in many instances, there is no adherence to the International Public Sector Accounting Standards to which the Government has subscribed.โ€

โ€œThe Public Accounts Committee is a Committee of Parliament established primarily to review the financial statements of state enterprises and all reports of the Auditor General that are tabled in Parliament.โ€

โ€œThe role of the Public Accounts Committee is critical in the accountability cycle of Government. The committee can call on accounting officers and other public officials to explain issues reported in the audit reports and, if warranted, make recommendations to Parliament for corrective action. The Committee has, however, not reviewed any of the reports of the Auditor General for the past five (5) years,โ€

SO, the AG canโ€™t get adequate staffing and canโ€™t verify financial statements due to accounting shortcomings, and the PAC has not reviewed any of AGโ€™s reports for for 5 years.

Given the short staffing and accounting shortcomings, the AG cannot reasonably be expected to shed transparency on Cahill.

22. Due Diligence………so exactly what is being achieved by the government if the Auditor General cannot do his/her job?

What if a company that is currently being investigated has been violating international laws for years, exactly who will bell the cat, have they all become so impotent on the island, through corrupt politics that everything is now grinding to a complete halt?

23. Well Well

What is being achieved by the government if the Auditor General cannot do his/her job?

Government is able to keep its little spending secrets to itself.

24. look like BU investigative reporting has hit a road block…….so far no mud has been dug up,, seems like what sinckler said about cahill in the debate has so far been true,,,, seems like nothing has been hidden…., but keep trying,,,,,,,,hint if BU do some more digging they might be amazed to find out that this group is also linked with another reputable and well known investor in the field of technology…….

25. ac wrote “seems like what sinckler said about cahill in the debate has so far been true,,,, seems like nothing has been hiddenโ€ฆ”

nothing from nothing leaves nothing.

That is the point.

BU is simply saying ….”show me the money”

The red flag was raised because the company with the technology to do the project is AlterNRG which owns 100% of Westinghouse Plasma Corporation, a world leader in plasma gasification technology, which is expected to supply the plasma gasification technology.

Therefore the public ( BU ) needs to know what role Cahill is playing and how much they will be paid.

The problem for all governments these days is that information about a lot of overseas companies can be found by the internet and the public will exercise the freedom to get information.

Governments can make it easy by being transparent when spending taxpayers money.

Simple ain’t it.

26. If the Government ministers are smart they would use BU to “gather intelligence”.

BU is a great place to find information.

You just have to know how to use said information.

27. Yeah, you would think right….AC investigations take time, in the real world one minute you see these new fangled companies as the saviors and the next they are in Interpol’s and FBI’s handcuffs, it pays to be cautious with taxpayer’s money..

28. Hants | March 25, 2014 at 5:32 PM

|If the Government ministers are smart they would use BU to โ€œgather intelligenceโ€.

…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………

you joking right

29. Georgie Porgie .. I think I know wah “ad” and “bc” stan’ fah .. but you could help me with “ac” …?

30. Hants
    ” Government ministers should use BU to gather intelligence”

I do not know what to make of your comment but to concluded that you’re lost in the backwashed of disillusionment. Now, I not saying that there isn’t knowledge to be gain from visiting the blog but the same tautological arguments can be found elsewhere. And Yes, by Caribbean standard it is probably one of the better blog around but its lack of diverse opinion in my estimation, limits its potential for moving to the next level.

31. @Hants

Why do you bother to reason with a yardfowl?

Check this link out:

http://www.blenheimgroup.com/112-Our-People.php

32. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

One Million Dollars!!

Take a look at http://edition.cnn.com/2014/03/18/opinion/ted-prize-gooch-anonymous-companies/index.html?iid=article_sidebar

Imagine this practice, one that is rife in progressive countries, where whistleblowers and other persons who are anti corruption, get rewarded, imagine if we had a similar bounty for exposing the iniquity that our government leaders practice every day?

These shyster politricians (and their band of Permanent Secretaries) who come on our tv (with a ingrunt yellow flower with a 1/2″ stem that some idiot tries to push through a 1/8″ pin hole) need to be rudely awakened

Could you imagine if we had a similar reward system where the clerks at the banks where Stinkliar, Boyce and the rest of these crooks, banking the tax payers money, tek a scan of the incriminating evidence and wait about a month later and email it to Barbados Underground!!

Could you imagine the eye opening that AC and all of the DLP neophytes would experience when they see, in broad daylight, the crookedness that dem heroes perpetrating wid poor tax payers money?

I would seek to encourage all you bajans being fooped daily by the DLP (soon to be the BLP another group who will also give us a f**ping) to use your phone cameras and other contraptions and scan their criminal activity, wait a while until the document has been circulated around the registry/office/ministry/bank or wherever you have found the criminal activity and then send it for review and hopefully publication where “We the peeple and sheeple” can be informed

33. @pieceuhderockyeahright

One just has to read the last 3 or 4 years Auditor General reports to establish how financial rules are flaunted. Under both political parties we have allowed the same BS to continue.

34. Hants | March 25, 2014 at 5:28 PM

BU is simply saying โ€ฆ.โ€show me the moneyโ€

these are the facts……..carhill energy an investment firm with subsidiaries and venture captalist in north america ,,,,, builds a WTE plant,,,,,,,for barbados,,, simply put they own the plant until….the monies are paid in full ,,,they are vaild questions to be ask but going after the carhill energy group a reputable company leads no where,,,,,,one of most important question which should be asked by the opposition….has yet to be asked…..

35. There is no question that we are LUCKY to have an Auditor General like Mr Trotman…..clearly a man with balls.
    This just shows the futility of good honest men trying – Vi et armis – to achieve GOOD OUTCOMES In a world that is run by idiots, brass bowls and crooks (in that order of predominance)

….yuh GOTTA have a whacker like Bushie’s….. ๐Ÿ™‚

What this SHOULD show wunna is that the kind of discussions preferred by Zoe, GP and Bushie are the only REAL meaningful means of making the most of the limited time that we have left on this stressful, wicked and unstable world…..

Wunna NEED to understand that the battle is NOT against flesh and blood ….but against high level SPIRITUAL FORCES and against institutionalized wickedness in HIGH places….

….all like David so will only get himself frustrated…. Trying to redeem these crooks is like trying to drain the Atlantic….and as wunna can see with ac and dompey, there is NO WAY to help the clueless…..

Tek Bushie foolish advice and smell the roses hear…!? …the boiling point is near…..

36. “What this SHOULD show wunna is that the kind of discussions preferred by Zoe, GP and Bushie are the only REAL meaningful means of making the most of the limited time that we have left on this stressful, wicked and unstable worldโ€ฆ..”

Bushie sweetie I can help you leave this world with a 2×4 cross yuh head. When yuh gone send back a message to BU to tell us how yuh doing.

37. Islandgal….You like you getting old yuh… ๐Ÿ™‚
    …yuh mean you can’t think of any more exciting ways to hasten Bushie’s departure from this wicked world.. than that 2X4?

Bushie will drop some hints when you pass by next weekend for the bush bath….

38. This project is not about either the BLP or DLP. Neither is it about seeking to chance investors as the government is saying in parliament.

This is about transparency and explaining the pricing disparity in the Alter NRG Chinese15MW plant costing US$15M and the Alter NRG Barbados 35MW plant cost US$240M.

How difficult is this for the GOB to explain to the people.

39. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Kammie Holder | March 25, 2014 at 8:38 PM |

Let us assume the 35MW plant cost US$50 million compared to the Chinese negotiated 15 MW for $15 million model, the pricing disparity between the $50 M and $240 M still cannot be explained in any transparent way.
    The only โ€˜plausibleโ€™ explanation is that the larger the price quoted the bigger would be the consultancy fees and kickbacks based on the percentage applied.

Until the technocrats can explain the vast difference in cost between the Chinese model and the Barbados pig-in-the bag (whether labour cost or shipping cost) we can only speculate this is just one big scam involving the 5&10 Lowedown and Quisling Boyce who was also involved in the Dodds prison deal and know the runnings); with Sinckler looking on for his cut.

When is the so-called Mr. Integrity PM going to put a stop to such bold-faced get-rich schemes to bilk the taxpayers?

40. @ Miller
    …don’t play that you don’t know the other reason for the inflated quote….
    …so that it can be argued by luminaries like Inkwell that the project “…came in under budget” at $440M and that half of the $10M “savings” were returned to Government.
    …who was to know that the damn Chinese would go and buy a plant for $15M and frig up the scheme….? LOL Ha Ha
    ….somebody must be pissing themselves as we speak….

41. Concerned Bajan Avatar

Where is the opposition voice in all this and is it that the 3S and Dodds got them silent? Every bajan must be concerned about this project cost and how environmental oversight will be provided.

42. Even AC, a firm government supporter, concedes that there are “valid” questions to be asked and does not question the centrality of ‘transparency’.

Dompey is strangely silent on the substance of our concerns.

Ergo………….

Meanwhile, and again, though H Austin has not contributed yet to this post, and though in a position to do so more meaningfully than most I imagine, it is to be hoped that he will do some leg work in Notting Hill. Then, when he next comes, we can shower him with pones.

43. Smoking Gun Private Investigation Agency Avatar
    Smoking Gun Private Investigation Agency

Who owns Blackman Plantation and do their have any politicians friends associated with this project? Who is Walter Zephirin of 7th Heaven local contacts other than Monica & David Patterson? If we find those we will be able to look at accounts clandestinely of associates.

44. Smoking Gun Private Investigation Agency Avatar

We will ensure any wrong doings uncovered will be sent to the relevant international agencies including the US Justice Department.

45. Smoking Gun Private Investigation Agency Avatar

Ex-Guatemalan President Admits Taking $2.5 Million In Bribes
    WEDNESDAY, 19 MARCH 2014 11:22

Guatemalan ex-president Alfonso Portillo admitted Tuesday in US District Court in Manhattan that he accepted a bribe of US$ 2.5 million from Taiwan in exchange for his diplomatic recognition of the Asian country.

Alfonso Portillo in 2001
    Portillo, 62, served in office from 2000 to 2004 and was extradited to the United States last May after Guatemalan courts exonerated him from charges of illicit enrichment.

โ€œI knew that what I was doing was wrong and I apologize from my crimes, assume responsibility for them and accept the consequences of my actions,โ€ he said in court. His sentencing is scheduled for June 23.

Reuters reports that US prosecutors first accused Portillo in 2010 of laundering tens of millions of dollars, which he embezzled from the government and funneled through American banks, including the bribe money from the Taiwanese embassy.

Portillo said that he received five US $500,000 checks from Taiwan from 1999, just before he became president, until 2002. He transferred the money to American bank accounts in Washington and Miami to hide the source.

Only 22 countries maintain diplomatic relationships with Taiwan including Paraguay, Panama, Nicaragua, Belize and the Vatican.

The much larger Peopleโ€™s Republic of China says that Taiwan, officially known as the Republic of China, does not have a right to international recognition, as it is a part of the Peopleโ€™s Republic. Both have been governed separately since the Communists won the civil war in mainland China in 1949 and the losing Nationalists fled to Taiwan.

Under the plea agreement, Portillo faces four to six years in prison under federal guidelines. He has already served more than four years, his lawyer David Rosenfield said in court, adding that he hopes that time will count against his sentence.

https://reportingproject.net/occrp/index.php/en/ccwatch/cc-watch-briefs/2379-ex-guatemalan-president-admits-taking-25-million-in-bribes-from-taiwan

46. MIA during the estimate debate tried her darnedest to debunk and tarnish the reputation of the Cahill group of international investor only to end up looking like a fool ,it seems like BU is also heading in that department by risking their reputation to entertain BLP yardfowls,,,, many legitimate questions could have been and should have been asked by the leader on behalf of the people ,,however Mia chose the path of gutter and scorched earth entertainment leaving her party faithful (now) feverishly looking to BU on their behalf having to asked questions and wanting to know more .. what a waste of valuable air time by MIA and a sure disappointment to her party followers,

47. ac

I am NOT a BLP yardfowl. The questions are real. The answers…..well, we’ll see.

Meanwhile, I’m sure H Austin is trecking down Lancaster Gate at this moment carrying a stale pone, doing his duty and humming the National Anthem.

48. ac

Your comments suggest that there is a connection between Guernsey based Cahill Energy (http://www.cahill-energy.com), the entity purported to have signed a historic agreement with the Barbados government on March 15th, 2014 to build and operate a leading edge clean energy plant, and Cahill Group of Companies (http://www.gjcahill.com) which is based in Canada.

Would you please help us connect the dots between the two?

49. AC……..direct me to the European or North American database that says this company Cahill Energy is reputable, don’t want you to be disappointed if their heads are seen modeling handcuffs.