Hal Austin
Hal Austin

Introduction:
Subsidising the private sector has become a public policy addiction, yet vast gaps remain in our understanding of the political economy of our own society. Take for example, the recent row over the abolition of VAT, in which a higher proportion of ordinary people’s take home pay is spent on the regressive tax than that of the well-paid. Yet, for reasons best known to himself, the governor of the central chose to make his views known while out of the island, and, having done so, declined to enter any serious debate about the sales tax. This contempt for Barbadians is part of the pattern that has seen a massive delegation of politicians, civil servants and business people travelling to China – a country that ten years ago they knew only as the home of Suzie Wong and Kung Fu – In search of the mythical pot of gold at the end of the Oriental rainbow. However, back home, the nation has ground to a halt; people have taken strong positions and every other idea has been blocked out. Of course, there is very little new to say in terms of new ideas, but there is still a lot to fight for, most important of which is the future of our island home.

Strategic Policy-making:
Ideally, government could have avoided going cap in hand to the Chinese, or tolerating a silly alternative by going to the United Arab Emirates as if a Middle Eastern state would look more kindly on Barbados than the Chinese. A more strategic policy, and one better in the long-term, would be to launch massive urban renewal programme covering the two sq. mile area bordered by Bay Street, Jemmott’s Lane, Bay Street and Fairchild Street.

With modern architecturally designed three and four storey buildings, with one-, two- and three-bedroom apartments, with court yards and parking facilities, with retail shops, offices, restaurants, a park and bars at street-level, the development would be the biggest and most enterprising capital project since the Deep Water Harbour in the late 1950s. It would be incremental in its execution, going from street to street, with an end date of up to ten years. Such a development would be a win-win for the nation, the policymakers and the families and businesses living within the area. The success of the scheme could also see it expanded to New Orleans, Baxters Road and Tudor Street, Carrington’s Village, Bay Land, the Ivy, and other urban centres. Such a development would be an enormous legacy and a vast improvement in the quality of life and lifestyles of ordinary Barbadians.

Planning Process:
It must be carefully planned since urban renewal must be a key part of a wider government public policy programme, which includes planning, job creation and support for small and medium enterprises. Of all things, it must be participatory, involving all stakeholders, from local residents and businesses, to the police, planning official, utilities, road traffic, education and health authorities, and of all, the opposition political parties; and any existing neighbourhood Watch or residents’ association. It must involve relevant professionals, from architects, civil and structural engineers, builders and property developers and the entertainment industry. All these and more must buy in to the development and claim ownership, so rushing to leave a legacy should not be as important a driving force as getting it right. At its most efficient, urban renewal must also include the heritage sector in order to preserve what is relevant about local history before it falls under the tracks of the bulldozers. However, there is need to emphasis once more that planning is a political process, not administrative, and should be carried out under the watchful eye of elected politicians. There should be new legislation removing primary responsibility for planning decisions from civil servants to the politician. Under the new system, the minister whose portfolio covers planning should be chairman of the national planning authority, with representatives including the opposition party and the constituency councils. There should also be a number of ex officio members, including the chief town and country planning officer, who should act as secretary to the committee, along with representatives from the utilities, medical profession, police, education authorities and traffic sector. Meetings should be open to the public and held every six weeks to a month at a pre-announced time and place. Appeals from the planning committee should in the first instance be to the high court and, failing that, the Appeal Court and, on matters of law only and not policy, to the Caribbean Court of Justice.

Funding:
Funding such a huge project will cost hundreds of millions, but there are a number of ways of executing such a project. So the first approach to funding should be to created an open-ended Infrastructure Development Fund, with an initial capital target of about Bds$1bn, permitting both retail and institutional investments. Before that, however, there should be a comprehensive development plan, which should be opened to the public for viewing and comment, there is no rational reason why the development should be carried out from start to finish as a one-off.

A more progressive approach would be to execute the plan incrementally with the compulsory purchase of the existing properties on a single street, or part of a street, provide temporary housing for all those families forced to move, giving the authorities time to build show apartments. As the completed properties come on the market, the former residents should be given first refusal on new apartments at market rates, before others are considered. Would-be buyers, including those from overseas, should be able to secure an apartment off plan by making a reasonable deposit, part of which should be non-returnable. The authority would then be able to raise any funding shortfall in the open market, either through a banking syndicate, a combination of banks and shadow banks, and retail investors.

Conclusion:
If John Maynard Keynes was right about the socio-cultural instincts of European Protestants to accumulate, then it suggests that Barbadians, and indeed the wider Caribbean people of African descent, might have failed this test. It is, too, the myth on which Max Weber based his most popular study, The Protestant Ethic and the Spirit of Capitalism. Whatever the theory, however, the reality of policymaking is that the way it impacts on people is of central importance. Policymaking is a combination of theory and practice, of carefully analysing programmes and being receptive to the way they are received by stakeholders.

Urban renewal, a sub-theme, is also hybrid in that it combines the redesign of old districts, using a number of models or grids, along with wider government programmes, such as monetary policy. Given this, in place of vision, successive governments, through a lack of vision, have consistently preferred to turn vast tracks of the island, in particular the West Coast, in to holiday homes for the super-rich from North America and Europe, in the vain expectation that the owners of those homes would bring jobs and foreign exchange to the country. It is a lost cause. The low quality jobs they bring in general, such as security guards and domestics, although much appreciated, are far beneath what a nation that prides itself on the quality of its educational system should expect. One reason for this flawed belief is that we do not have any proper analysis of tax data to provide the evidence to suggest that the tax authorities in Barbados have a proper handle on the management of public taxation. If they do, and the failure to collect huge sums of money in outstanding VAT suggests otherwise, then there is a failure to extract from this data a narrative story of the state of the nation’s fiscal position. For example, without having to identify individuals, there is a wealth of sociological data that can be got from the data: a demographic breakdown in those on pay-as-you-earn and those on self-employed, professional and other form of tax payment, by age, gender and, maybe even qualifications. The data would also be able to tell us who are the highest paid people in the nation by profession, allowing people to form opinions about which are the occupational groups that add value to the nation. An urban renewal programme would create jobs for plumbers, electricians, bricklayers, masons, carpenters, plumbers, architects, civil and structural engineers, surveyors, security guards, labourers, drivers, furnisher providers, insurance brokers, lawyers, industrial nurses, administrative staff and loads more specialists. These in turn will receive salaries and go shopping for everything from food, clothes, paying their mortgages, etc, shops and stores will then see their turnovers increase, and, in turn, employ additional staff; government would then get income and VAT taxes and national insurance contributions; claimants would also come off the dole. This is the fiscal multiplier at its most basic. It is also the win-win situation steering the government in the face, one that is transparently enormous and which is mesmerising policymakers. With good strategic planning, it would be good to get all stakeholders to buy in to, government has had a number of angles on which it could pursue a widespread urban development plan which it has missed

140 responses to “Notes From a Native Son: It is Not Late for the Government to Return to the Drawing Board”

1. And the question remains. After this pie-in-the sky utopia is built with likely foreign sourced funding, how will it ever generate any foreign exchange that this country sorely needs!

Barbados does not need more structures it needs more creative minds and working hands to create internationally viable products and services. The writers idea is akin to building first-class cabins on a sinking ship.

I propose we spend scarce resources funding more entrepreneur identifying initiatives and avenues for the commercialising their ideas locally, regionally and internationally. It cannot be that difficult if the BIDC and other development agencies were serious about entrepreneurship and fx creation to adopt a “Dragon’s Den” approach and identify 50 locals with good service or business ideas or even fledling businesses then pair them with adequate funding and requisite expertise needed to commercialise their ideas, with the condition that a material aspect of the business must remain in Barbados.

As a simple example, we had a proven model that was never fully appreciated. Richard Stoute was way ahead of his time in launching a format that identifies the best singing talent on the island (well before American Idol) and for a long time it did, and we see the results to this day when we can see singers who have made a name for themself locally and regionally. Imagine if HE could have made the final connection i.e. a recording contract etc. to further catapult talent into a ready market! Where is the NCF and Ministry of Culture here? My point exactly

We need doers Mr Austin, not dreamers

Gone back to bed because we still ain’t ready for the real world yet!

2. What is lacking here, is the inability of a government to think outside of the box.
    There are too many people occupying positions in government with little or no training for that position. This same can be said for many policy makers, most of whom are looking to those same for guidance.

We will remain one step behind most countries, because we think we are better, better educated and knowledgeable in everything,because of our delusional belief.

We have a body of people who believe no one has or can possess ideas better than them; a mindset that it cannot be right except he/she thought about it first.

We live in hope that one day it will change. It will change by repeating, ‘One Day.’

3. @Hal Austin
    “If John Maynard Keynes was right about the socio-cultural instincts of
    European Protestants to accumulate, then it suggests that Barbadians, and indeed the wider Caribbean people of African descent, might have failed this test. It is, too, the myth on which Max Weber based his most popular study, The Protestant Ethic and the Spirit of Capitalism. Whatever the theory, however, the reality of policymaking is that the way it impacts on people is of central importance. Policymaking is a combination of theory and practice, of carefully analysing programmes and being receptive to the way they are received by stakeholders.”

All this highfalutin stuff to say what? Sounds like utopsia to me.

4. Pie in the sky! Everybody gets a subsidy at the expense of the taxpayer. Considerations: Ease import duties on goods, food stuffs, and autos, replace VAT with a sales tax except on groceries. Stricter enforcement for non payment of road tax, and use it to actually fix the roads. Foreclose on real property not owner occupied for taxes that are delinquent. End the hotel subsidies. Make grants available to attract tourism with meaningful objectives, and results. Making the economy viable again will attract capital, and business to the island ( encourage it, don’t fight it to protect locals who have put a strangle hold on to protect there interests).

5. “Making the economy viable again ”
    That is the key. Unfortunately, in recent times we have not been managed d by those who have the skills to make that objective possible. I am afraid that even if all of your objectives are realised, the money would be squandered away through lack of vision. Good post.

6. Barbados is an import country, consumption, consumption, consumption.

7. Manufacturers seeking to do business with China

3/7/2014

Though a number of local manufacturers have been feeling the pinch from the country’s economic situation, many continue to seek avenues to expand their business overseas.

Three such manufacturing companies are Roberts Manufacturing Company Limited, Armstrong Agencies Limited and Jays Enterprises Inc. These companies and others from the private and public sector will participate in the Seminar for Economic and Trade Officials of Barbados from March 5 to 25 in Beijing, China.

Speaking about the seminar, Chief Executive Officer of the Barbados Investment and Develop-ment Corporation, Dr. Leroy McClean, said: “It is a remarkable opportunity for participants to capture first-hand insights on doing business with China and we eagerly look forward to gaining a better understanding of China’s commercial and economic development and to uncovering opportunities for increased co-operation.”

Managing Director with Roberts Manufacturing Company Limited, David Foster, told The Barbados Advocate that through the three-week session, his company hopes to establish links for possible partnership with manufacturers in China.

“I think there are fantastic opportunities for us to get to understand their culture and to get to understand the export regulations and standards that they have, so if we need to get into their market or if we need to try to find a partner there to produce, we would have a far better understanding of what the requirements are.”

Echoing similar sentiments, Calvin Brathwaite of Jays Enterprises Inc. added his company will also be looking at equipment and also packaging material.

Meanwhile, Marketing Director of Armstrong Agencies Limited, Andy Armstrong, indicated that his company hopes to gain a better understanding of what the labelling requirements are and much more through the trip.

“We know we have to translate the label at least to Mandarin and English, but even understanding who can do that for us was a problem and we were not fully sure how they classify everything because they may classify some products a little differently and their regulations, like the federal level and the provincial level as well, so we need to understand that.”

He further stated that his business will be sharing the knowledge obtained through the seminar with other manufacturers locally.

“We definitely will be sharing it with other manufacturers because you may have a situation where they are interested, but they don’t want a full container of your product. So if we could send a container of assorted Barbadian products and get it going that way that would be good.” (MG)

8. Maybe this is my individual perspective but Barbados products seems quite inferior on the international store shelves.

Perhaps, something needs to be done with the way in which we manufacture and prepare our commodities for export.

Jamaica has done a great job in promoting its products internationally and I do not know why Jamaican commodities appeals more to the international consumer than let’ s Antigua or Barbados for that matter.

Jamaica Blue Mountain Curry is in great demand intentionally and this is probably contributory to the large Jamaican population throughout the world that demands it.

9. Well said by bajeabroad
    Only a well structured and highly focused MERITOCRACY, ..(.and one that is able to refine its processes to the point of producing world class competitiveness)…has ANY chance of seeing a turn-around for Barbados.

AND THAT WILL NEVER HAPPEN.

Brass bowl mendicants whose idea of “success” is to identify the currently wealthy and attach themselves like parasites looking for crumbs will never be achieve that required kind of success.

Theoretical economic models such as those referred by Hal are merely intellectual concepts applicable only for useless academics to occupy their time while getting meaningless doctorates….

10. When all is said and done, the truth remains that when we had small indigenous businesses striving such as :village shops, productive small farmers etc; the entire community/economy was improved. While I appreciate all the models being presented, I am of the opinion that governments failed to properly develop small businesses. One only has to look at the public markets and the confusion with vendors and so on. In order to radically increase foreign exchange earnings, we need to first change our culture and perhaps take a leaf from Japan after the second word war.Countries with scarce resources must first develop their people and hence expenditure on education should reflect national economic goals. In order to create a successful export economy, the education system must of necessity shift to such area as: organic farming. modern fishing methods, creative product linkages such as ensuring that 90 percent of menu used in hotels etc are local and creative industries must be export geared via rapid production of music , videos etc.

11. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ obzonky | March 7, 2014 at 6:19 AM |

Mark “Fecundity in Verbal Faeces” Fenty says:
    “Jamaica Blue Mountain Curry is in great demand intentionally and this is probably contributory to the large Jamaican population throughout the world that demands it.”

Can anyone acquainted with Jamaica tell us what is “Jamaica Blue Mountain Curry” and can we buy any in Bim?

Maybe it is a special ingredient in the hex Butch has put on the MoT & MoF or a powder called the ‘Myrie Effect’ worth US$ 71,000 per oz.

12. “Theoretical economic models such as those referred by Hal are merely intellectual concepts applicable only for useless academics to occupy their time while getting meaningless doctorates….”

When economic theory is presented in this forum by us “useless academics”, our contributions always receive these types of responses. Conversely, in the absent of advancing any “intellectual concept”, we are told our “meaningless doctorates” were funded by tax-payers, and our first and foremost priority should be the offering of suggestions to help the society.

Damned if you do… damned if you don’t.

13. Oh dear…is he back to that again? I thought he wanted new ideas. Bajeabroad scored at the first kick.

14. Mark had curry on the brain…

15. Wish that RICHARD STOUTE can build more original music into his Teen TALENT, returned to a live Band for accompanying singers and definitely move to the next level. There is no comparison to American Idol though. Idol is more than a competition. Stoutey needs to move to the next level and business people in Barbados need to help in getting there in an entrepreneurial way.

———————–====================================================
    Yaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaagga -opines

16. London School of Economics

Department of Geography and Environment public discussion
    Transforming a City: from London’s East End to the West End

Date: Tuesday 11 March 2014
    Time: 6.30-8pm
    Speaker: Alison Nimmo

In the past 10 years London has seen the resurgence of Regent Street to one of the globe’s most iconic streets and the regeneration of London’s East End catalysed by London 2012. Hear from Alison Nimmo who helped to win and deliver the Olympic Park and is now chief executive of the Crown Estate, a business that is using its expertise and extraordinary assets to transform the heart of London’s West End.

Alison Nimmo joined The Crown Estate as chief executive in Janua

17. Yes but Miller and Well Well – where IS Mark? I miss him. He is a poet. It’s called satire. He’s actually smarter than any of us.

BTW Well Well…since you didn’t tell me about BajanBlogSpot (or whatever) I looked it up myself. Fascinating stuff. But I wish he wouldn’t knock BAF – because we all know that BAF is a story-teller too, a true artist, for whom anything dastardly is as far removed as repentance – besides, I love him.

18. Georgie Porgie Avatar

where IS Mark?
    HOPE DAVID BLOCKED HIM AND THE ASS DOES NOT EVER RETURN— WORSE THAN AC AND CCC COMBINED— A PERFECT ILLITERATE IRRITANT!

19. GP

Lol…..as I say, he’s smarter than any of us.

20. GP
    Yuh rough man
    Yuh rough
    uuhhgggg !
    felt that
    WOW !
    worse than AC and CCC
    Its like WOW ! Then !!

Cheeeze !!!

21. TAXATION is one of the major reasons why the political economy and services industry sectors of Barbados and by extension the social sectors of this country will continue to dedevelop and stagnate at a very rapid rate.

No country will prosper in the long run when the major social political legal institution continues to STEAL and ROB the relevant people, businesses, and any other entities of countless portions of their incomes, payments and transfers. None whatsoever!!

That is why a certain future coalitional government of Barbados and of which the PDC will be part shall ABOLISH TAXATION in this country to, among other things, bring a greater sense of decency, dignity, probity and equity to the running of the affairs of the government and of the country itself.

Also, the massive contradictory forces involving TAXATION in Barbados are helping to bring about this long term degradation destruction in the whole affairs of this country.

For example, the government’s prevention of the use of greater amounts of money (TAXATION reported by some persons to be about 35 – 40 per cent of remunerations) in many ways by individuals, businesses and other entities in this country, whilst at the same time its persisting with its outrageous dependence on the use by those same entities of this money for purposes of evil wicked TAXATION.

Another massive contradiction: the government’s evilly wickedly TAXING almost all the total yearly remunerations of the relevant persons, businesses and other entities in this country, whilst at the same time its hardly receiving remunerations on a yearly basis.

Moreover, these kinds of massive contradictions lay the political financial basis for the perpetuation of the concept of government debt (some actual and some fictional), when the government itself – only being able to secure (not having itself) the means to give some of its employees payments and some of the businesses doing businesses for it incomes, is then seen by many persons here in Barbados to be going and getting credit transfers from financial institutions to give some others (in the context of certain political policy constraints), or alternatively it having to miserably haphazardly reduce the size and scope of government’s provinces ( in the government’s long failed fiscal monetary model).

Therefore, contrary to what Dr. Clyde Mascoll thinks, that it is the government’s excess of current expenditures over current incomes (absolutely foolish concepts devoid of meaning/ and its therefore running up of so-called substantial current account deficits) that is causing this mythical fiscal crisis, it is TAXATION that is the primary systemic cause of these so-called fiscal deficits.

Furthermore, this evil wicked TAXATION system help create the conditions for increases in the debt loads (actual or fictional) of many thousands of individuals, businesses and other entities in this country, when such individuals, businesses and other entities – not having enough remunerations to use up in the course of their expenditure arrangements (planned or actual), eventually have to go and get credit transfers from other individuals, businesses and entities (financial institutions too) in order to meet their such daily weekly monthly expenditures, or alternatively have to suffer significant declines in their social business and other standards.

22. Where exactly is the FX going to come from to pay for all the things that we will need to import for such a development? We broke in that department.

23. @ Hal

The same renewal programmes you tout are dependent on foreign investment and purchases–Battersea Power Station anyone?

24. What Mark Fenty was what poet what?!?

He used to sound real obzonky to Bushie…. 🙂

25. @ GP yeah You GP for a christian or whatever you profess to be..your are one slimy character dude……..your God needs to teach your dumb a.ss a lesson in self righteousness like the one he delivered to sodom and gomorrah…

26. @ac

You and Mark would make even God sin.

27. ac

LOL. You do have a point.

28. @ Bush Tea: “Theoretical economic models such as those referred by Hal are merely intellectual concepts applicable only for useless academics to occupy their time while getting meaningless doctorates….” Wow that is a bit harsh. In a boxing contest it is illegal to hit a man below the belt!
    @ Artaxerxes: you should not take your anger out against Bush Tea. The question you should ask yourself is this: why is your profession held in such low esteem by those learned folk who contribute to this blog forum?
    @ Hal Austin: you are without doubt a great scholar. My grandparents were simple people who had a very large family. They owned a small slither of land. Grandfather worked hard on the land; Grandmother would go into town six days a week taking her produce with her via the bus: she was a market vendor. They were entrepreneurs, independent and ambitious. Their children contributed to the business seamlessly whilst growing up. All went on to become successful.
    I too am sceptical about the role of Economists. My grandparents and the many like them were the individuals who created a prosperous and an economic viable Barbados. They were not learned people. Their ambition in life was to be independent.
    The way forward for Barbados is to develop the characters of yesterday. To encourage and to educate the masses to develop themselves not just in the field of academia, but to learn how to become successful entrepreneurs: that is the ability to stand on one’s own feet.
    Your economic model is ambitious however it is a top down model where the ordinary man and woman are viewed on the bottom step of the ladder. I firmly believe in the reverse. Barbados should revoke and dispose of her negative and destructive two party systems and look seriously into developing a one party system. This system would not be based on communism, fascism or dictatorship. It should be a system that listens to all, equitable, meritocratic, and rich in wisdom.

29. Due Diligence Avatar

@ David | March 7, 2014 at 5:32 AM |
    Manufacturers seeking to do business with China

3/7/2014

Though a number of local manufacturers have been feeling the pinch from the country’s economic situation, many continue to seek avenues to expand their business overseas.

Three such manufacturing companies are Roberts Manufacturing Company Limited, Armstrong Agencies Limited and Jays Enterprises Inc. These companies and others from the private and public sector will participate in the Seminar for Economic and Trade Officials of Barbados from March 5 to 25 in Beijing, China.

Do you think that Roberts, Armstrong and Jays have gone to China to export made-in-Barbados goods, or to export Barbados manufacturing jobs to China?

30. Due Diligence Avatar

Hal

I enjoy reading you submissions, and largely agree with most of what you say, including “This contempt for Barbadians is part of the pattern that has seen a massive delegation of politicians, civil servants and business people travelling to China …. In search of the mythical pot of gold at the end of the Oriental rainbow.

Far be it from this unsophisticated observer to question the Senior Editor at Financial Times, but I have to say that this blog seems wishful thinking and naive, or premature at best.

I was about to post my thoughts about you massive urban development programme, but Bush Tea said it better with “Theoretical economic models such as those referred by Hal are merely intellectual concepts applicable only for useless academics to occupy their time while getting meaningless doctorates….

Under Funding, you suggest an open-ended Infrastructure Development Fund.

But, the government has no money, and what investor in the real world would put any money in a Fund backed by a junk rated government, with no seed money.

You say “Would-be buyers, including those from overseas, should be able to secure an apartment off plan by making a reasonable deposit, part of which should be non-returnable. The authority would then be able to raise any funding shortfall in the open market, either through a banking syndicate, a combination of banks and shadow banks, and retail investors.”

That sounds like Harlequin’s Merricks Resort. Would-be buyers made their reasonable deposits; which it turns out were totally non-returnable.

Same thing with the Pure Beach Resort, which promoters have been flogging around the world since 2008, but would-be buyers who have made deposits they too will find were non-returnable. See their brochure in the Korean language at: http://issuu.com/pure_beach_resort_and_spa/docs/purekoreanbrochure-summary_final

PS

Just read your excellent October 20, 2011 article “Four Seasons project hangs over short-term economic policy like a dark cloud” at: http://www.caribbean360.com/opinion/511539.txt#axzz2vIL21WFh.

Here we are 2 1/2 later, and the latest White Knight, Colony Capital, has packed its bags (full of money) “in frustration” with the junk rated government and returned to the US; and Four Seasons is no closer to restarting than on October 20, 2011; and is still “hanging over the short-term economic policy development of Barbados like a dark cloud.”

31. Hal wid all dem great ideas u ought to start another party in bubadus sumbody might take uh seriously.. Btw i own some property on bay st.. and it is not fuh sale

32. Look Hal, get it right. Urban decay, destruction of our heritage, throwing away our UNESCO Heritage Status? We like it so. Why bother when for a fraction of the cost, we can carve up St George’s valley? Steupse!

33. Ross……………..I too am unaware of the blogwatch it think it’s called, heard Island and another commenter speaking about it, apparently the dude singles out a few BU people to rant and rave about, looks like he has the hots for David, Baf and the Bushman…lol

34. I am sure Mark Fenty whoever he happens to be, appreciates the comments and has taken note of the insults.

35. Obzocky …and I quote you “Why are you spreading misinformation about a topic that you obviously have little or no knowledge of?”

LOLLL you think that people bout hey foolish nuh? Yuh come here yakking about Jamaica Blue Mountain Curry that NO ONE has EVER heard of! You come here lecturing me about doing my research before writing and yet YOU writing nuff NONSENSE that NEVER existed. ROFLMAO

36. Islandgal

Why are you so antagonistic toward me sista ? I Hardly know you kid. Now what have I done to be the recipient of your animosity daughter? Just cool it sista because everything is cooked and curry.

37. @Hal

As you are well aware efficient execution must start with a well thought out strategy. What is ours?

38. Paradox

Your second and third paragraphs are spot on and have many applications.

39. The way forward for Barbados is to develop the characters of yesterday. To encourage and to educate the masses to develop themselves not just in the field of academia, but to learn how to become successful entrepreneurs: that is the ability to stand on one’s own feet.
    Your economic model is ambitious however it is a top down model where the ordinary man and woman are viewed on the bottom step of the ladder. I firmly believe in the reverse. Barbados should revoke and dispose of her negative and destructive two party systems and look seriously into developing a one party system. This system would not be based on communism, fascism or dictatorship. It should be a system that listens to all, equitable, meritocratic, and rich in wisdom

Excellent post. wish I could put it like you.

40. Well Well…he also seems to have a sneaky regard for you too. You’d betta warn Lawson – or do you want me to do it for friendship sake?

H Austin

What do you say IS the “spirit of Protestantism” and how does it differ from other “spirits”?

41. Teachers beware, it is official that plans have already been put in place to lay-off over 800 teachers across the educational system. Those who have prepared the blue print of the plan at Culloden Road are just waiting for the go ahead from officialdom to activate the plan. Those of you in secondary schools doing SBAs, , cautious is the word.

42. Bush Tea, Miller, Islandgal and Georgia Porgie, why don’t y’all tek de man name outa wunna mout. I am talken bout de boy Fenty.

43. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2014 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad Avatar
    PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2014 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad

It is Not Late for the Government to Return to the Drawing Board??
    The government went to the drawing board in 1985,Hal.

When they took over a Beatrice Henry Estate when she was 92 or so , The plans they did was to re- survey the island and plans for the ABC highway,Then they rewrote the books at the land registry to suit them and reduce the amount of land in the deeds, NEXT ,
    They kept the tax bills the same as they move people to the land rent to land tax rolls who never owned nor bought land. NEXT
    They now were getting Beatrice in a TAX Bill form , NEXT
    Land and survey then publish Maps of Barbados from 1986 after Beatrice died in December 13th 1985 at 93.
    After Probate the Estate then when to Violet Beckles and Sir Ham/COW did the rest. Now people in their own minds looking at Violet like she MADD. Saying and seeing things that is no longer on paper NOR maps for they were removed ,
    Yes, we have the proof of these things ,What ever land they took for the ABC with out payment now became CROWN LAND ask you crook AG from Sir Forde till today. .and the markings for the land , on the land and in he BOOKS removed and re – written to MATCH THE FRAUD OF THE DAY. We will stop for now.

So Hal, BLP and DLP did enough planing already and that is why the Massive land fraud is costing the people so much lay offs NOW.That is nothing more than buying votes with made up work that was never there in the first place.

There is no cure for Nature, Barbados old looking world is what Tourist come to see and to get away from there build up stone and wall,
    What happens next need to by the people them self and not government , Soon we will have to go to U-Tube so see what bajan is .
    Government need just deal with some things and not all , The People will decide who the Caribbean to look like . Soon all over will look like Warrans, and COW and others looking t BUILD it up , Need to leave the coast lines alone.

Hall you talking about messing up the island and having TOWN and Country and the Minister fight over the 10% that they want in their pockets or even more,,
    THE LAND IS THE KEY , ALL THINGS ARE BEING UN- EARTH NOW.
    COLD CASE CSI.

44. TAXATION is one of the most evil and destructive systems currently carried out by the government of Barbados.

Such wickedness and destruction can be drawn from the following scenario – which – even though through time, with there having been modifications to the ideological social political culture surrounding the actuality to which the scenario points the average mind – to make the actuality appear less than what it really is – the essence of the actuality even today in Barbados – has been captured enough by the scenario painted below to illustrate what TAXATION – not withstanding these modifications (mainly ruses though) – has been and remains – SHEER THEFT and ROBBERY by the government of the respective portions of the remunerations of the relevant individuals, businesses and other entities in this country.

A set of business partners (five) do business in and from a building on High Street, Bridgetown.

They are in the business, et al, of passing on shoes and slippers to the recipients of them on the latter’s passing on of money to them.

At the end of a particular business day (Monday of this week), at 8 pm in the night, a group of three armed, masked off, able bodied criminal thugs, waited on them as they were exiting the building with the day’s takings of $5000, and STEALS ROBS them of $2000 of that income.

They did not know the criminals.

They called in the police to investigate the incident.

Four days passed, and on Friday yesterday the robbers agreed among themselves that yesterday they would have wanted shoes and slippers for their children – each robber has one teenaged child – so three children – and for two other able bodied youths in their early 20s – thus, 2 pairs of shoes and 2 pairs of slippers for each of them.

The same business being the only footwear business in Bridgetown was targetted – this time – by the robbers to get the 10 pairs of shoes and the 10 pairs of slippers – which to get, they would have had to give BDS $ 1100 out of the proceeds of the heist, to the same business that they had five days ago evilly ROBBED.

So they gave the money to the persons who – at various times within yesterday – a business day’s span – succeeded in giving back to the business BDS $1100 out of what the ROBBERS had ROBBED the business partners of.

The major despicable horrendous thing about this scenario – apart from the imagery of the consent of the persons of the partnership business having been awfully cruelly violated and their personal property rights having been wretchedly inhumanly violated – and which point to things that actually take place under this demonic TAXATION system – is the imagery that those ROBBERS did give absolutely nothing – not a single COMMODITY – to get the money they ROBBED the partnership business of. This latter point also directs the careful reader of this post to what actually takes place when the government of this country illegally criminally forces the relevant individuals, businesses and other entities to hand over many portions of their remunerations to the government.

What an abomination TAXATION is!!

45. @ balance
    Truth is that we really have an unofficial one party state right now. BLP/DLP is really one party. Look at how easy Hammie Lashley walked between them. Look at Dr. Clyde Mascoll. One day he is opposition leader(DLP); the next he is the government’s spokesman on finance(BLP). He leads the DLP in one election to become Prime Minister; the next time he is a co-leader of the BLP. Oh yes, we have a real one party state. Just imagine if Dr. Mascoll had gotten 9 more seats, he would have been Prime Minister leading a DLP government ! WOW.

46. We humbly disagree with William Skinner. Things are far worse. Barbados is more than a one party state, it it a fascist state. Politics only explain one manifestation of fascism. When we add the economic formation to the mix we are indeed well into the classical definition of fascism, crypto-fascism, as seen in the political science literature. Of course the education system, the other socialization systems, the church, the generalized fear to confront White people and other so-called elites locate Barbados as a fascist state.

47. Pretending to be a democracy, of course!

48. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2014 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad Avatar
    PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2014 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad

Pachamama | March 8, 2014 at 11:33 AM |

We can show you , how Right you are.,,We leaving some for later,
    Look to see what crooks are thinking and then step on them .

49. Ross…….I don’t know that but he is welcome.

Pacha………there is a serious problem in Barbados and not to be left out, the Caribbean, as it pertains to them seeing that their societies are black societies and not white societies. First you have to convince the leaders, then educate the really small children to roll back the damage, educate younger folk up to 39, the older folks, 40-100 are already fcuked up in the head, only a miracle can change that mentality….it’s a sticky subject.

50. What political illiteracy, calling the DLP/BLP fascists. They may be shortsighted, incompetent, lacking in vision and all that, but Fascist?
    Living in Europe, where Fascism has never died, it is different mater.
    Fascism targets people because of their ethnicity, race, religion, sexual preference, nationality – none of which applies to the DLP/BLP.
    And there is no political theory that suggests otherwise, not even in the unsophisticated intellectual environment of Barbados/Caribbean.
    We have had fascism – and still do – in our region, but look at the Dominican Republic, and they way they treat the Haitians, and any of the Central and South American nations, especially Paraguay, Chile and Nicaragua, all noted for their military regimes and all with officers trained in US military colleges.