Hal Austin
Hal Austin

Introduction:
The announcement by the government of mass redundancies has created a scenario in which the trade union goliaths have abandoned ship. First to go is Sir Roy Trotman, a man who no doubt has overstayed his welcome and whose members should have shipped him out ages ago; now Dennis Clarke, of the National Union of Public Workers, has announced his retirement.

The announcement of a possible replace by Sir Roy Trotman, general secretary of the Barbados Workersโ€™ Union, could not come at a more opportune moment.
Unfortunately for him, it will mean that after a lifetime of dedicated service to his members, the historical moment he has chosen will leave him with a distasteful legacy of failure. He goes at a time when many of his members face terrible hardship as they are in line to lose their jobs, both in the public and private sectors. And he has been forced to admit that the union has not got the funds to provide for his members if they fall on hard times, or if he called a strike in reaction to the governmentโ€™s austerity jobs cut.

In many ways, this is his own fault and should be a wake-up call to the entire nation. For decades he has headed a union that had as its only weapon an adversarial confrontation with employers, the outdated idea of the two sides of industry, capital and labour. What Sir Roy and his key advisers have failed to understand is that industrial relations have moved on from the confrontational post-war years, which ran up to the end of the 1970s. Workplace relations have moved on with employers now offering employees a menu of benefits that have in the main to marginalise trade unionism. At some point Sir Roy and his team must explain to members why they have been paying their union dues for years, sometimes decades, and now that they need to draw on that dedication the general secretary is warning there is nothing in the pot. They will need to explain to members what kind of hedging they have been making of the unions funds, including preparation for an exceptional occurrence. They will have to explain to distressed members why the union is about to fail them when they call on the one service which drove them to join up โ€“ collective bargaining.

In Britain, arguably the most militant of countries, militant trade unionists were a bit late waking up to smell the coffee, but in the main they have. Employers now routinely offer occupational pensions; in the good old days these were defined benefit pensions with a 40/60 benefit (still prevalent in the public sector); now most people get defined contribution (money purchase) pensions, in which the burden passes from the employer to the employee. But they are better than nothing.

Analysis:
Had Barbadian trade unionism moved with the times they would have been in the vanguard of social and economic change in Barbados. In the main they had an open goal, since the lawyer/politicians are not generally as bright as they think they are, and the business community is cash greedy, they do not care as much as they should for their workers. The BWU has given its members a credit union, but this is only part of the deal that any innovative and forward-looking trade union should be offering its current and retired members and their families. A programme of training, from simple literacy and numeracy to information technology and other cutting edge skills should be offered to members and their children. They should be offered reasonably priced medical and dental schemes, protection cover, a wills and estate planning service, legal advice, basic insurance cover such as motor insurance, travel and home cover. They did not because they were caught in a time warp, just offering members more of the same.

By any reckoning, the BWU Labour College at Mangrove in St Philip should be the leading regional institution of its type, challenging the best in the US and Europe; as it is it is a poor relation. Part of the problem is that Trotman, along with the entire government and civil service, were raised in a post-independence age in which it was thought normal to be working for the state. Entrepreneurialism, a spirit of inventiveness, is outside their mindset; they feel as if the state has an obligation to provide for all their needs. So those who are not hooked on statism, who believe that there is nothing socially wrong with people providing for themselves, those who believe that welfare is a social safety net and not a pay cheque for easy living, find they are in the firing line for personal abuse. And, to make matters worse, there are a number of academics who provide the intellectual cover for this lazy thinking which encourages people in their mental inertia. We are all familiar with the familiar arguments: foreign reserves, loan guarantees, government contracts, fraudulent use of VAT and national insurance contributions, free university education – it is a chorus of excuses that run right through the very heart of the Barbadian story.

Long-term Savings:
I am sure, whichever government we had in power, had the BWU gone to it with credible proposals for compulsory long-term savings they would have been treated with the courtesy and seriousness that they deserve. With transparent annual statements, such a development would have proved, over the first five to ten years, an enormously popular vehicle for wealth creation. It would have also created a vitally important non-bank stream of funding government, small and medium enterprises and for households. But the idea never crossed their bureaucratic radar. With a well organised investment strategy, such a scheme would offer a multi-asset approach from the savings accumulation stage, comprising equities, bonds, cash, with a default fund, through the asset build-up to the at-retirement and retirement stages. With an automatic five-year review in the accumulation stage, with a biennial review if requested in the pre-retirement stage, and annual reviews in the five years leading up to retirement. The unions should also be leading the debate about the ownership of annuities and the almost dishonest way in which insurance companies abuse annuitants (Clico comes to mind). For that the unions will have to hire actuarial expertise so that they can independently analyse the assumptions on which the firmโ€™s actuarial pooling decisions are made.

The BWU will also need expertise on the re-insurance fees paid by local insurance companies and what they charge the annuitants. How about medical underwriting and the enhance annuity market? There is also the question of mortgages, again one in which the union should be leading the debate. Why should the lenders dictate rates and the length of mortgages? How about 40 year, intergenerational, offset mortgages? How an investment arm of the union, competing on a level playing field with some of the foreign-owned banks and insurance companies? The only barrier to stop them is the lack of vision. No one is saying that Sir Roy should have all the ideas,, but that he should have surrounded himself with bright young men and women to provide the ideas, an in-house think-tank. That was what I thought the St Philip college under Greaves was intended to be. Most of these services could have been jointly provided by the trade unions, either through the confederation or separately, and will go a long way toward empowering ordinary Barbadians, something the loudmouths and politicians do not contribute to. There is a very high price to pay for ignorance.

In a world that has moved on, in which labour reforms is a key part of the new working environment, Sir Roy sat on his pile like the grand old Duke of York. He marched them out for sick building syndrome, he marched them back in again; he marched them out when their colleagues got sacked, then he marched them back again; then when he had his fill of aggressive trade union militancy, he went begging the owner of the family-owned Chefette to sell shares to the public.

As someone who should have been the statesman of Barbadian trade unionism, Sir Roy should have been the great conductor, directing his juniors and making sure the noise coming from organised labour is in harmony. What the nation needs is a new form of dialogue, right across the range of social policy initiatives, and Sir Roy should have been one of the principal architects of that conversation.

For reasons best known to himself, Sir Roy has failed to fully understand that unit labour costs in Barbados are too high, this is impacting on the nationโ€™s competitiveness and, therefore, its economic growth. In simple terms, as a nation we must take an urgent step back (a lower standard of living) in order to make two or more forward (economic growth and prosperity). Even in his simplicity, Sir Roy in his heart of hearts must realise this; so, if nothing else, he is guilty of leading his members astray by encouraging them to think that they could get annual pay rises for no extra work. Only under-investment, due in large part to the withdrawal of funding from the foreign-owned banks, outstrips the impediments to growth in Barbados. Even here Sir Roy could have made a contribution by pressuring the government to establish a credit union/trade union/ post office/mutual retail balance sheet bank to outmanoeuvre the foreign-owned financial behemoths.

Conclusion:
This is not a personal attack on Sir Roy; however, the person at the helm must take the blame if the ship runs aground. Whatever Sir Royโ€™s professional and operational shortcomings, his real dis-service to the Barbadian people is in his obstruction to proper labour reform in order to mend the deep structural problems such as improving competitiveness which are inhibiting the nationโ€™s economic growth. His juvenile tantrums, such as throwing his toys out of the pram when he was not selected for an International Labour Organisation soiree, can be put down to the over-sized ego of someone who believes his own publicity.

The reality is that the Barbadian labour market is not functioning well, some may say not functioning at all, and this is largely to do with the lack of proper national debate and of the over-dependence on weak politicians. Public sector labour/management relations have long been in need of reform in order to improve productivity and grow the economy and just for good administrative governance. But aggressive and confrontational industrial relations โ€“ remember the Alexandra School debacle in which Ms Redman, the union leader came over like a possessed Amazon? โ€“ can often get in the way of progressive decentralising decision-making.

Why should some jobsworth in Bay Street tell experienced head teachers how to run their schools? Why is it that a head, acting as in loco parentis, should speak out on the safety of the children in his care only to be told by some semi-robotic civil servant not to speak to the press?

It is this old paradigm that is badly in need of restructuring, removing some of the luddites, such as Sir Roy, and bringing in new faces with fresh ideas and a new form of dynamism. The other stumbling block is the corporatist nonsense of the Social Partnership, which many people who ought to know better believe is a positive step for Barbados, it has even been called the key to the Barbados model. This excuse for poor government should have been removed long time ago and the elected governments should have forced to get on with the job of governing. They did not because they did not know how. In the end, after years of service, Sir Royโ€™s lasting legacy will be one of failure, of sitting on top of a simmering volcano when it was about to erupt. He was a poor replacement for men of the calibre of Walcott and Blunt, his boisterous, confrontational, almost juvenile management style was out of place in contemporary trade unionism.

124 responses to “Notes From a Native Son: The End of the Journey for the Obstructionists Who have Stood in the Way of Progress”

1. As much as I am not fond of unionism what protection does the worker have if not to band together???

2. Hal

This is a very good article. You seem to have your finger on the pulse of the local trade union movement. But the weak pulse would suggest that the movement is dying mainly because it has been used as a plaything for mostly incompetent leaders. Most of them just want to hide away from work at the unions’ headquarters and on the many overseas junkets where they drink rum and boast about the number of women that they sired.

Your progressive ideas would sound like Greek to them.

3. Lawson

You are right, workers must band together but unfortunately, they have been banding together under leaders who continually deceive them and sell them out to the employers for a mess of pottage. Usually, we hear tales of union leaders accessing the services of employers without paying. Ask any of the former Almond staff who were the union leaders who entertained their mistresses for free at Almond. The same applied at Sandy Lane and even Chefette.

Some of them sold out to the Government for duty free cars and then neglect to pay the income tax and they are guaranteed that there would be no enforcement to collect the $24,000 per annum tax liability for the last four years. As a result, they can’t put any real pressure on Government. Or you could be promoted to act in a managerial post that is way beyond your level of competence and qualification, knowing full well that if you rock the boat you would have to revert to your clerical officer salary grade.

4. This is bullshit. For there has been a constructive determination by a perverse capitalism to reverse rights gained by workers, for decades. These so-called elites in the ‘leadership’ of the unions in Barbados far from recognizing the attempts to destroy workers and their organizations, joined with capitalists to assist in destroying the rank and file. In the case of Barbados it was the 20 year old so-called tripartite arrangement. With power hunger Napoleons like Leroy Trotman marching up and down with capitalists to destabilize an elected government in the hope he would somehow become PM. All at a time, when there has been a precipitous decline in union membership throughout the world. This generalized hollowing out of the middle class could only happen by unions assisting capitalists in achieving higher and higher levels of ‘productivity’ while workers were, for the last 30 years or more, receiving less and less of the so-called productivity gains. Gains largely achieved by technological innovation. And real wages, in the US for instance, are at 1978 levels. So to pretend that there was some misguidance is a fallacy. This was a generalized CONSTRUCT way above the pay grade of the short man from the BWU.

5. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2014 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad Avatar
    PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2014 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad

If the UNION was worth a shit , they would be more noise , but how things are silent says a lot , People who sell out cant not make noise for blackmail paper work will show up like a bad check,

Union heads if dealing with crooks liar and scumbags also then at time turn in to one big sell out,
    Rights are given by God and agreements are given by man dealing with the work place, Agreement is dealing with numbers dealing with pay and time, If unless taxes and prices goes up there nothing to talk about,Just work and be paid, If they have Union dues cut them and the Union staff for thing seem to be hard ,
    But no need to worry 12 to 18 months before election they willl say things are better and they will be rehired in time for them to vote again . Who dont get work will get paid for their vote as before,

6. @ Hal :”For reasons best known to himself, Sir Roy has failed to fully understand that unit labour costs in Barbados are too high, this is impacting on the nationโ€™s competitiveness and, therefore, its economic growth. In simple terms, as a nation we must take an urgent step back (a lower standard of living) in order to make two or more forward (economic growth and prosperity). ”
    While there are several positions in your piece with some merit, I am confused that you have joined the band of mis-informed persons who are talking about the “unit labour costs” in Barbados being too high. There are thousands of workers in Barbados , who are not earning $300 per week , which is $USD150. The unit cost of labour may be a direct result of the high cost of production which has a lot to do with the fact that we have to import everything and not necessarily high wages or anything to do with low levels of productivity. The position you have taken on this particular point is therefore unfortunately anti-worker and it gives support to those in Barbados, who want to pay workers and continue to pay workers inferior wages.
    Far from being militant, as one who was mentored by Sir Roy in my senior years throughout high school, and as one who can attest to his brilliance as a teacher, I have found his stewardship of the BWU to be far from militant. Indeed if I had to be critical of his stewardship, I would say the complete opposite: It lacked the traditional trade union militancy that is still needed in Barbados.
    You are speaking of a Barbados, where Black Barbadian women in 2014 , are still doing manual labour on plantations, in the same manner and methods that were used during the 50’s! You are speaking of a Barbados where one man owns almost all the arable land;you are speaking of a Barbados that still has pit toilets; you are speaking of a Barbados where some workers cannot afford to send school their children recession or no recession Finally you are speaking of a Barbados where it is nothing short of a miracle that workers can still feed households, exceeding 5 people, on a budget built around under $300 BDS/$USD150 per week , with a cost of living that is essentially mercenary .
    Certainly be critical of Sir Roy but don’t for one moment assume that the workers in Barbados are over paid and excessively indulgent or lazy as you and Ralph Johnson believe.
    Barbados is uncompetitive because the leaders of industry and commerce have failed to be innovative and proactive to market changes and have remained in a retail mentality and are essentially averse to risk. It has precious little to do with Sir Roy, the trade unions or the workers.
    If , as you suggested the workers took a step backwards to a lower standard of living , many will end up living in gullies and on the streets. You obviously have bought into the myth being propagated by the employer class that the playing field is level. I respectfully beg to differ.

7. @ William Skinner

William, although I appreciate your concerns, I believe it is a theoretical misunderstanding.
    Let us start with the numbers: there are about 115000 workers, or econo0mically active people in Barbados. If we were to consider that the direct public pay roll is about 30000, and a further 20000 indirectly depend on government contracts (COW Williams, Rayside, etc), then it is fair to say that 50 per cent of the workers in Barbados are dependant on the public purse. I shall come back to this.
    But let us deal with the low hanging fruit: those young men and women working at petrol(gas) station filling up car tanks, even accepting the dignity of work, this is a criminal waste of young peopleโ€™s talents which the government is incapable of dealing with.
    You talk about productivity gains; the reality is that almost without exception every government office is full of paper files, with departments not cooperating with each other.
    A decent investment in technology across all government departments will reduce the duplication of inputting information which will pay for the cost of the technology within five to ten years โ€“ two parliaments.
    The young people displaced by this technology can be retrained in upgraded skills to offer new and more dynamic competitive advantages, thereby benefiting the nation.
    At the heart of the new competitiveness must be a knowledge-based economy, based on a strategy of education from the cradle to the grave.
    By the way, according to the CIA, per capita income is $25000. I believe this is in US, but stand to be corrected.
    The other major problem in Barbados is taxation, the top earners in the private sector are not paying their taxes; the super-millionaires on the West Coast are cruising on local taxpayers. They are not paying their fair share.
    We need a decent property tax, an inheritance (or death) tax, a ban on companies owning residential homes, a new Company Act with reformed taxation powers.
    There is nothing anti-worker about this William, it is about the proper use of local skills, in particular young men and women, the future of our nation.
    There is a difference between this and providing jobs for life for trade union officials.
    Let me stop there.
    By the way, Leroy Harewood did the diploma in industrial relations and trade union studies at Middlesex Polytechnic (now University). He would agree with my analysis

8. BU’s position is consistent on this matter. Union bosses must NOT accept ‘offerings’ from anyone. To receive a Knighthood or duty free car concessions in small incestuous countries like Barbados is asking for trouble.

9. GDP per capita does not tell the whole story. The stats below are more pertinent.

There were roughly 4,400 workers who earned less than BDS$200 per week.
    There were 32,800 workers who earned between BDS$200 and BDS$499 a week.
    About 19,100 workers who earned from BDS$500 to BDS$999,
    3,700 workers who earned between BDS$1000 and BDS$1300, and
    4,100 who earned more than BDS$1300 a week.

10. BU’s position is inconsequential because it hasn’t any real and meaningful influence upon the collective conscience of the masses.

11. So why do you troll BU you Jackass? Why is Bizzy attacking BU on the most popular talk show you JACK ASS. You may have the final word JACKASS.

On 24 January 2014 10:49, Barbados Underground

12. @ Hal,
    Your response both in tone and content is much more palatable than your original piece. However, the failure of the BLP/DLP collective to reform the educational system and restructure the economy cannot be blamed on the trade unions. They failed to change the historical role of the public service as an army of occupation. On the private sector side, I maintain that the traditional corporate (white) sector has escaped honest intellectual scrutiny for their role in refusing to adapt. Hence to beat up the trade unionists while failing to be equally severe on the private sector, is certainly not a position with which I can concur. I also assure you that whatever positions Comrade Harewood would have taken on issues had very little to do with having attended Middlesex Polytechnic/ University but I take the comment in the spirit it was given. Thanks for your response.

13. The mistake you William and other make is to think we accomplish things in a vacuum. A relevant trade union moment adds to the leadership in the country. It adds to the ethos which helps to create momentum in others facets of society.

On 24 January 2014 10:52, Barbados Underground

14. kickbacks and back- door deals with management have been modus operandi of the Union in our recent times.

15. BU will continue to be attacked because Bajans were socialised to “don’t speak unless spoken to”.

Be thankful yuh got a job an ent pickin pond grass.

And if BU is ever “shut down”. CBU will start up.

16. @ David
    I never meant what I said above in a disrespectful way. And I am quite sorry you had to resort that kind of a characterization to express your displeasure.

17. @ David

We wholly support you in your attempts to bring an abiding critical coherence to the contributions of all. It is past time to turn BU into a more relevant organ. An organ that must make the likes of stinking Bizzy Williams shudder. Anytime people like him could be getting any sleep at night, we are not doing our job well. If we are not doing that ordained task we cannot truly say we are speaking for the voiceless as citizens and citizen journalist in the great muckraking tradition.

18. Shiite man Hal….this is your best ever article
    You should be paying David something for the use of BU to refine your analytical and writing skills…..
    ….Bushie is also impressed with your mature responses – especially when attacked…… Not bad fella….

@ William
    The question of a person being overpaid cannot be resolved by looking at the amount he is paid….it is obviously more related to the ratio of what that person PRODUCES compared to what they are paid for that production.
    A fellow working for $300 per week and doing work valued (by comparison with what is otherwise available in the market) of $200 per week, is 150% overpaid.
    Likewise a fella earning $20,000 per month – whose contributions to the organization is worth $150,000 per month – is grossly underpaid.

The mistake we continue to make in Barbados in this area is to talk about wage levels, salary increases, cost of living, and employment levels, WITHOUT reference to PRODUCTIVITY.

19. @ Bush Tea,
    Point Taken. I would hope that those who preach productivity would also preach worker participation in profits. Too often we hear about the need to produce but seldom hear about profit sharing etc.

20. LOL @ Bizzy – blue vex with David…..Ha Ha LOL
    Man David you got the man almost crying…..
    Bizzy say the we need to enforce the law and shut down BU
    (….wunna check that the Caddle woman agree wid he….?)

Wunna feel that Bizzy know about the law against bribing government officials?

Wunna feel that he know about the laws that deal with acquiring Plantations properties bout here……where proper DEEDS need to be held?

Nothing funnier that a self-righteous joker who thinks that he is beyond criticism….

He ain’t the only one …or even the worse. (Bizzy ain’t a bad fella) ….a lotta dem fellas feeling the heat of the glare of public scrutiny from BU..
    ….a pity that the LAW ENFORCEMENT AGENCIES of this place were as probing and frank as BU…..

GREAT JOB DAVID….

21. @ William Skinner

Of course you are right. There is a limit to what can be said, but we want a supervisory board in which workers and all stakeholders are represented;new forms of corporation tax; profit sharing and shareownership.
    Yes. All those things and more.

22. @ William
    In Bushie’s humble opinion, the MAJOR failing of unionism globally has been their failure to move into the boardrooms as representatives of the workers and to insist on share ownership programs as a MATTER OF RIGHT ……so that workers routinely acquired ownership.
    …moving to PRO-ACTIVELY influence conditions in the workers interest instead of the asinine reactive, confrontational approach that they continue to flaunt….

…but then again….such an approach would essentially lead to all organizations becoming co-operatives after some years of operations..
    ….and wunna know how Bushie feel about cooperatives…. ๐Ÿ™‚

23. @ David:
    “The mistake you William and other make is to think we accomplish things in a vacuum. A relevant trade union moment adds to the leadership in the country. It adds to the ethos which helps to create momentum in others facets of society.”
    Obviously you did not read my contribution correctly. I am 100 % pro worker. And all of my postings on this blog will indicate this. I make and will continue to make many mistakes but I will never make the mistake of becoming anti-worker.
    I totally agree with you that nothing is accomplished in a vacuum. That is why I have maintained that our current socio -economic problems cannot be solved by attempting to restructure the economy without radically reforming the educational system.
    Try reading my contributions again and you would easily discover that you and I are saying the same thing , as far as the current discourse is concerned.
    @ Hants,
    Thanks for pointing out that GDP statistics do not always tell the whole story. The fact remains that a considerable number of workers are underpaid and exploited. As Pachamama has pointed out real wages have been decreasing since the mid 70’s. Anybody who examines the cost of living index in Barbados and the wages will quickly realise that Barbadian workers are underpaid. When we take into consideration the profit margins of the companies involved in the importation of food and so on, the truth is quickly revealed.

24. One of the main strengths in the arsenal of a union is its ability, at the legal and appropriate time to withhold service. The assumption is always that the service is needed. Our tourism market which employs close to 50% of the workforce either directly or indirectly is in decline. It is not generating the revenues needed to pay the taxes that support the civil service or keep people employed. Until we get a vibrant competitive tourism product there is going to be continued reduction in work forces, both private and public. If we need to replace tourism with another product we had better get a plan together because the transition is going to take many years during which time labour unions are going to become even more redundant. .

25. when one look at the overall picture and factor into the diffucult balancing act that trade unions have to perform ,on one hand trying not to aleinate outside investors with hard demands and on the other trying to suffice The employees interest.i belive that the unions have so far reached a sufficient and agrreable level of threshold withiout having to give up too much and anything beyond what they have done for both sides can create chaos.

26. BOTH Dennis Clak and Leboy Chutman destroyed Confidence in the Trade Unions

27. @Bush Tea

About Bizzy, it gives great pleasure to see the rats squirmming.

About Caddle, she means well but is idealistic and naive about some things.

Let us all remember Williams Industries is a sponsor of the program which explains DJs pullback.

28. @ David
    We anxiously await the point at which you arrive that finally says to you that corporations can never deliver the outcomes you seek. For they were never created to. We have to find an alternative, worker owned enterprises, where there is difference between worker and management, where all work is shared, where, where there is no unemployment, where the environment is protected, where power is shared equitably and so on. We already have many examples of these types of enterprises. We have already mentioned Mondragon, in Span, a workers’ cooperative, an employ or of 85K people, started by a few monks, and now a significant play in the global space. The growth of the co-ops in Barbados may serve as a guide in many areas.

29. no difference

30. I do believe that Trade Union heads should not accept gifts and titles, telling them not to use overseas junkets to whore around is a bit much in their minds…but……PM Stuart could have also showed some class and refuse the pimp title, he does not need it, so what is the CCJ there for, what will he do on the privy council when he does so very little in Bim….

AC……….good to see you

31. @ Pacha
    Even the intelligent corporations have come to see the weakness of that construct.
    However, having built their whole meaning in life around being “wealthier than others”, they can conceptualize no other kind of reality….

Bizzy is a classic example of this weakness….

You would think that (of all the white people in Barbados) HE, a successful educated NON RACIST citizen, would be comfortable to enter a national debate at the level of BU to intelligently engage ordinary folks in the various topics being discussed here…
    …but if you listen to any of these businessmen talk, they are able ONLY to conceptualize ideas for MAKING MONEY… ( good day Moneybrain and Lawson ๐Ÿ™‚ ), but are completely lost when it comes to concepts of fairness, justice, righteousness and cooperation.

Needless to say, Bushie’s top boy LOWDOWN is not included among that lot…..

32. RE You would think that (of all the white people in Barbados) HE, a successful educated NON RACIST citizen, would be comfortable to enter a national debate at the level of BU to intelligently engage ordinary folks in the various topics being discussed hereโ€ฆ

HONESTLY, WHO EXCEPT THOSE WITH LOTS OF TIME TO WASTE WOULD COME ON BU TO ENTER A “DEBATE”.?

WHO EXCEPT THOSE WITH LOTS OF TIME TO WASTE WOULD COME ON BU TO READ OR RESPOND TO THE CONSISTENT LOAD OF BOVINE EXCREMENT DEPOSITED HERE DAILY.

I COME HERE ONLY WHEN I AM VERY BORED

33. In saying that..why don’t Bizzy shut down the whole damn internet so he can isolate Bajans and really make some paper (money)…….David Rockefeller suggested that, Bizzy and Cow will not even be a fart in Rockefeller’s fish tank, they are too small, no one knows them outside the Caribbean, you don’t even hear about Rockefeller anymore, everyone took his bullshit talk about internet = terrorism quite personally….Rockefeller was chased out of Chile because no one is scared of his ass and he got paper (money) to burn , so when you are trying isolate and keep people ignorant out of greed, be very careful…… Madoff had $US 65 Billion, he is now in a federal prison camp, special treatment, and Bizzy and Cow still can’t be a fart in his prison cell, cause they could never make that kind of paper.

So, while Bizzy and Cow continue to haunt Barbados with their greed, and believe because of political extortion and bribery they are the true Prime Minister’s of Barbados, because the sleazy local politicians give them free rein to believe that bullshit. it would pay them very well to remember that there is no paper in hell. Bizzy is really too busy.

34. And that means YOU GP is bored most of the TIME……

35. “While there are several positions in your piece with some merit, I am confused that you have joined the band of mis-informed persons who are talking about the โ€œunit labour costsโ€ in Barbados being too high. William there are several points in your submission as well but in my view low earnings does not negate the argument that unit labour costs are too high havingemerged out of an economic theory promulgated in the sixties which equated wages with the cost of living and not production..Unfortunately, the economic theory became flawed when the cost of living continued like a runaway horse gallopingout of control to outpace wages/salaries.; increases of which were intended to offset the cost of of goods and services as a result of the high duties/taxes imposed to cover the costs of the frenesses which were introduced then and which overtime have become for us a way of life.

36. @ balance
    There is a lot of merit in what you said about many economic theories being flawed. Unfortunately, we are still proceeding with many of these flawed theories.

37. I did not hear Bizzy’s attack on BU as I turned off my radio to conserve my electricity.

David Ellis has an agenda…….as soon as the pressure is beginning to build up on this inept government, he comes up with a program to divert the attention on government. He had more or less disposed of Ms Caddle to silence her “outspoken..ness”, until “Wesley” called and made demands. So she was brought back and given a topic in which she could be controlled.

To prove my point on Ellis’ agenda, he brought on a lawyer on the prior Wednesdays who killed the programme. Again I turned my radio off. What lawyer can spare five hours to be in VOB’s studio hosting a programme for four hours? She cannot be busy.

On to Bizzy……….he is now the man who has a lot of sway with some of these inept ministers. He got on TV and cried that he got projects that he cannot get approved……right after the sobbing he got a meeting with two ministers and right after that….he began singing the government’s praises and is condemning everybody who dare to speak out against this wicked wutless government deeming people as preaching doom and gloom. Yet he is proud to have been the man to bring his good friend Butch Stewart to Barbados to juck out the taxpayers’ eyes and who has now joined the band wagon of getting all for nothing.

Now this morning the same Bizzy is quoted as saying that hotels need to buy local but forgets that his friend Butch Stewart has held this jackass government over the barrel and got every conceivable concession as per the revelations of the deal and is buying nothing in Barbados and as Adrian Loveridge said the monies are not coming into Barbados even though he booked in Barbados. Give me a break.

So Bizzy really has issues with BU? Wow we need to be afraid. BU is our only forum to say what we want as the newspapers would not publish letters for fear of libel. What these people want from us, to be dumb? Why is it only Bizzy and his ilk who can have a say in our country? Get lost, man. You can control this stupid bunch we call a government but not all of us!

This DLP under the dead king promised that small contractors would get 40% of government contracts. All we see is top white men getting all the contracts…….What irony! The DLP has fooled Barbadians for years that the BLP is the party for the white and the merchants….now who is, pray tell me!

38. Hal said:

โ€œBut let us deal with the low hanging fruit: those young men and women working at petrol(gas) station filling up car tanks, even accepting the dignity of work, this is a criminal waste of young peopleโ€™s talents which the government is incapable of dealing with.โ€จYou talk about productivity gains; the reality is that almost without exception every government office is full of paper files, with departments not cooperating with each other.โ€จA decent investment in technology across all government departments will reduce the duplication of inputting information which will pay for the cost of the technology within five to ten years โ€“ two parliaments.โ€จThe young people displaced by this technology can be retrained in upgraded skills to offer new and more dynamic competitive advantages, thereby benefiting the nation.โ€

In North America, and I assume in most of the rest of the world, those gas pumping jobs no longer exist due to use of self-serve pumps.

DD has not visited Barbados for close to a year; so does not know if Sol has introduced the self-serve pumps in Barbados, but assumes they have not.

So, DDโ€™s question is โ€œWhy are there still young (and not-so-young) men and women working at petrol(gas) stations filling up car tanks?

As Sir Kyffin apparently knows something about making money, I can not understand why he has not introduced the more efficient self-serve technology to his near monopoly SOL empire, to reduce the cost of operating – in Barbados at least.

Could it be that he agreed to a quid pro quo with Government not to introduce the self-serve pump technology in โ€œthe national interestโ€ to continue to keep those gas pumpers employed by Sol and off the roll of the unemployed in Barbados.

To paraphrase Hal:

A decent investment in technology across all the Sol service stations in Barbados would eliminate these useless and demeaning jobs, and would pay for the cost of the technology within five to ten years โ€“ two parliaments – or sooner

The young people displaced by this technology can be retrained in upgraded skills to offer new and more dynamic competitive advantages, thereby benefiting the nation.โ€

39. Arguably the barbadian workfoce is grossly underpaid..but looking at both sides/in a realistic way it alsodepends on how much leverage each side has to offer at the bargaining table one cannot assumed that from a business point of view that an investor going to make it easy for the unions in negotiations especially knowing that the other side is not readily equipped and it make take a considerable sum in training to bring them up to speed..

40. I remembered working for an Indian store on Roebuck Street called Speed – Way back in the 80’s and was paid $80 a week.

41. @ Well Well
    “So, while Bizzy and Cow continue to haunt Barbados with their “GREED” and believe because of political “EXTORTION”ion and bribery they are the true Prime Ministerโ€™s of Barbados, because the sleazy local politicians give them free rein to believe that bullshit. it would pay them very well to remember that there is no paper in hell…”

ERROL WALTON BARROW wanted to kick these and other “BASTARDS” out of the country!

BIZZY & CO; needs to watch their backs – KARMA is a B***H and she takes no prisoners!

Thank you for calling out these slimy bastards!

42. I worked at Hill Supermarket also on Roebuck Street and was even paid less.

43. It was when I started working at Home Center Limited, that I felt like I was making a few dollars. I brought home a little over a Hundred dollars a week and that was good money when you’re young man living under your madda’s roof. This was back in the 80’s of course…!!!!

44. Many kudos must go out to Sir Roy and his team at the BWU as well as all the workers at the BWA for coming up with their own strategies to keep their jobs.

I am thrilled that none of them paid any attention to that vampire Mia Mottley – who was unashamedly asking them to hit the streets and protest .

45. Who Min Suckooo think she’s trying to fool ? BAJANS? During thew laqst elections the DLP was telling us, there will be no layoffs in the civil service. they also said the economy was not as bad as the BLP was saying. That is the reason why they, even though they were seeing the damgers on the horizon, were not bold enough to change the constitution, with the 2/3 majority they had. Now they are blaming the BLP for this government option to cut civil servants’ salary/wages. Do they really expect the BLP to agree with them when they had the operutnity to do it on their own, and secondly when they misuse and squandered money by feeding the yardfowls off the fatted calf.The DLP has gotten us in this mess, YES, the BLP squandered in the time of plenty, but the DLP has squandered more in the time of NEED. Who is the bigger CULPRIC?

46. So AC, you’re quite right….. Barbadians are seriously underpaid….

47. but how/much influence the Unions Have can be tabulated on how much in terms of skill and knoweldge the worker has.and be negotiable. i meaning if one hires a person to milk cows and the person does not have the experience then is it O.k to pay him full scale ? .However the problem does arise with the unscrpulous employer who belives he has a god given right to over work the employee while he (employer) reaps the benefits without in as much seeing the workers in put as being beneifical to the business

48. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Fractured BLP | January 24, 2014 at 3:38 PM |
    โ€œMany kudos must go out to Sir Roy and his team at the BWU as well as all the workers at the BWA for coming up with their own strategies to keep their jobs.โ€

Keep what jobs what? Aren’t these the same jobs the DLP prior to the last elections swore on the political Bible to protect from the โ€˜privateeringโ€™ dealings of the BLP?
    What you should be overly concerned about is how the MoF will explain to the IMF the DLP administrationโ€™s reneging of the commitments made in December 2013.
    You silly fool you really believe the unions could find overtime savings sufficient to save 300 jobs? What are they planning to do? Sabotage all the mains to make them leak to create overtime but paid at pro bono rates?
    If not BWA which statutory corporations will have to carry the extra burden of severing 300 jobs saved at the BWA?

Blasted ass you are, Fractured fool! Why donโ€™t you sing from the same dirty hymn sheet as the MoF if your credibility is not to be treated like the waste at the Sewage plant?

49. Miller you old hag

All you are haraping on is this alleged deal between the IMF and the govt of Barbados

Since you are some convinced that such a deal exist then publish the contents of it for us on BU to see

Or else return to your nightmare on Elm Street

Yuh Soccouyant

50. Excellent post june boy, these idiots refused to take advice from expert economists far less us on BU and now complaining and blaming everybody except themselves.