Submitted by The Mahogany Coconut Think Tank/Watchdog Group
Vivian Anne Gittens: Publisher of the Nation Newspaper

The publishing by the Nation Newspaper of Barbados, of two minors engaging in sexual activity, is a violent violation of the Convention of Rights of Children (CRC) as outlined by UNICEF of which the country of Barbados is a signatory. It is clearly pointed out within the CRC, that children have rights and privileges of adults. They are not the property of their parents or their schools but are equal to adults.

The photo carried on the back page of the Sunday Sun, was a very voracious grab at sensationalism and the public is correct in its outrage. Whether we condone under aged children having sex is irrelevant and the nation must know that in a small country such as Barbados, the children’s identities cannot be hidden.

The Mahogany Coconut Group calls on the greedy predators at the Nation Newspaper to desist from exploiting our Caribbean children with immediate effect .

We are convinced that this act of professional vulgarity will place the Barbadian journalist community in the trash heap of the profession. The Nation newspaper should be ashamed to exploit the images of Caribbean children. Its greed makes a mockery of its editorials calling for national morality. Once again we ask the simple question: Who will guard the guardians?

The top brass at the nation should be aware of the specific guidelines related to children in the document: Child Rights and The Media-Putting Children in the Right- Guidelines for Journalists and Media Professions by the International Federation of Journalists.

We quote from this document:

“Journalists need to be aware of the consequences of their reporting.

The co-operation of media organizations and journalists and their

Orientation towards safeguarding the rights and the dignity of children and

young adults is extremely important for all who strive for wider recognition

of children’s rights. Sensational coverage may distort and exploit a serious

problem, doing more harm than good. Some editors claim that

sensationalism permits serious social issues to capture the attention of

readers and viewers. However, such coverage rarely analyses the social and

economic causes of abuse of children: the dislocation of communities and

families, homelessness, corrupt employers, pimps, the drug culture or why

parents in poverty sell a child to support the rest of the family. The positive

story of children, their lives and their rights is not being told in full. To

examine how this can be changed requires examination of the professional

conditions in which media work, a review of the principles or guidelines

journalists and programme makers should follow, and the obstacles that

stand in the way of good journalism.”

166 responses to “Nation Newspaper Exploits Children in Need of Help”

1. Does anybody know whether it is a criminal offense to make, possess or distribute child pornography?

And if I have last Saturday’s image or the Facebook video of the children apparently having sex, can I take that image or video with me on my phone or laptop into the U.K., U.S. or Canada without fear of prosecution?

While I am those countries can I distribute the video or still image to my relatives and friends in those countries?

Thanks,

2. Will the post writer please explain precisely in what way the rights of the children were abused, ignored or exploited?

Thanks for the link which is very good.

3. Stephen Hawkings Avatar
    Stephen Hawkings

Start a thread for the buffoon in todays paper that says basically that the real issue is the parents letting children take cell phones to school and the should “obey the rules” so these things don’t happen.

Really bright fellow!

4. The top brass at the Nation are not interested in anything other than money. Some time ago a woman was robbed at her shop, CBC showed the news and did not show the woman’s face, (she respectfully requested this) but the next day the Nation had her face plastered with her photo. I do not purchase any of the Nation’s news paper. The Nation is a nuisance paper and all good, decent citizens of this country should STOP buying it. The article in the Saturday Sun was despicable to say the least.

5. The top brass at the Nation are not interested in anything other than money. Some time ago a woman was robbed at her shop, CBC showed the news and did not show the woman’s face, (she respectfully requested this) but the next day the Nation had her face plastered with her photo. I do not purchase any of the Nation’s news paper. The Nation is a nuisance paper and all good, decent citizens of this country should STOP buying it. The article in the Saturday Nation was despicable to say the least.

6. Enforcing the ban on cell phones is only a peripheral issue, and does nothing to address the root cause i.e. parental delinquency.

7. Agree with @robert ross | November 3, 2013 at 1:43 AM. Perchance, like me, Ross also found the headline to this story amusing. “Nation Newspaper Exploits Children in Need of Help”. Doesn’t sound to me as though they needed any help. I didn’t see the video (I find such things distasteful, but that is just my personal feeling) but they seem to have been doing just fine.

@David. I am going to agree with you November 3, 2013 at 4:34 AM, but to a limited extent only. The problem seems to me to be rooted in causes that are global and societal, rather than simple parental delinquency. Rather, it is a case of “monkey see, monkey do”. And in the age of the Internet, “monkey” has no problem seeing, parental bans notwithstanding. Frankly, it is no longer possible for any parent to control what information their child is exposed to. Yesterday, I watched online an interview with one of the top Internet people who was talking about how there is a watch in development which, when he flicked his wrist, would open into an i-phone/i-pad with wifi access anywhere.

But for a news organisation to disseminate images of children engaged in sexual activity is, to my mind, a criminal act.

8. ac not going to jump on the badwagon of crticising the Nation got no time fuh that wasting time and energy on that stinking rag. however i will advice those who are outraged that it is their civil duty out of respect for children worldwide to write letters ,send emails, fax, telephone the many international agecies to look into this matteras the article states there are guidlines and rules which the nation disregard in respect to children rights. Children are people too.

9. The one and only way that the Nation would understand and respect the rights of all people is when citizens take action by legitimate and legal means at no cost to the taxpayers.all it calls for is citiizens actions providing the necessary info to UNICEF and other agencies who have a vested interest in protecting the right of children sitting back and critcising the nation does nothing until a similar article is publish. these agencies take action and the Nation would be taking to task for any violations

10. Amused

I quite agree with your analysis of the ‘uncontrolability’ factor. Even parents who actually bother have it all up hill. ‘Discipline’ I don’t think is an answer. Maybe ‘love and care’ – in so many cases a hopeless dream though.
    But if you are suggesting that the Nation committed a criminal act – what is it?
    The very fact that the country is talking about this can only work good in the long run surely. Next – drive the spear at those mothers who trade out their daughters for sex in one way or another – something the courts are presently confronting through the medium of rape charges.
    Meanwhile, leave the kids involved in this alone now. We all make very silly mistakes no matter how old we are and I guess they have made theirs even though what they spoke of was life and fun and adolescent silliness. So in this very inapt way I send my blessing to them.

11. BU’s position for all to be clear is the graphic language used to describe the act portrayed in the video. The Nation has a right to report news and this is not the issue. The last time we check to read a newspaper did not require a (R) or (PG) rating.

12. David

I quite agree. The colour of someone’s knickers is neither here nor there. Mind ( and not having seen the video either) the picture itself left EVERYTHING to the imagination. So is the response to this a statement as much about us as it is about anyone else?

13. @Ross

It is clearly a mirror image. Since we dismantled the village structure (which was not perfect by any means) we have struggled to replace it.

14. @ac
    You are quite right. The Mahogany Coconut Group will continue to expose the hypocrisy in ALL Caribbean Nation countries where the print and other media are blatantly exploiting children for their own selfish ends. The Nation new exactly what it was doing and their sole intention was to sell newspapers.without regard for the children. Furthermore The Mahogany Coconut Group(MCG) opposes sending a child to what is essentially a prison for wayward youth called Dodds, just because the child had sex,. The MCG has already called for the child to be returned to her parents or placed in proper foster care.

15. Newspaper Don,t require a (R)or PG rating………….David wuh foolishness that u write .the journalistic rules and guidlines are formed and base on ethical standards even more strignent than a PG or R rating. .and u call ac culeless. not going say uh wrong cause u never wrong

16. What has been the increase in readership for the Nation newspaper since this salacious article by the obvious pervert Sanka Price aka “at Any Price”??

Did the Editor in Chief, himself a man of impeccable sexual encounters, a la darkside, come out to make an apology for any imputed, inappropriate erotica that abounds in At Any Sanka Price writings?

The last time i checked not even Playboy of Hustler used the language and imagery of thrusting behind her in their renown magazine.

Now don’t misunderstand me, while I am not speaking of the appropriateness of venue and sexual encounter for the two students, and don’t condone the behaviour, in the classroom, i do have some concerns over the content of At Any Price’s article.

Many a hottie got her come-uppance in many a seemingly, secluded area at the old alma mater while being watched by the voyeurs amongst us who never having experienced “it” talked about “it” with our peers.

That age-old pass-time will not change but voyeurism where peeping toms would recite what they saw graphically is not the same as Sanka Price’s rendition across the landscape of the Nation’s back page.

At Any Price needs to apologise to the public for his raw, thoughless commentary ON THE FRONT PAGE OF THE NATION!!

But that would mean that Vivianne Gittens would have to have morals enough to insist that AT ANY PRICE publicly retract his attempt to turn the Nation into its counterpart Trinidadian sex magazine

Which brings me back to Newspaper circulation statistics, it is easier for the Nation to sell Anal sex, Bareback, BDSM, ,Group sex, Facial Footjob, Foot fetishism, Hardcore, Rape Sexual violence Sexual fantasy Sexual intercourse,Tribadism, you get the drift of my “cut and paste”, than a wholesome article where Hoad et al, allude to the act as opposed to relishing in the perpetually available Cybersex record as At Any Price did.

Roy Morris is Editor in Chief, but is only on duty on Monday through Friday.

Sanka is he own boss pun a weekend and this underscores why he wa able to put this whole page of lewdness up.

Given his lewdness and autonomy, it is easy to see that it could have been him who wrote the article against Roy previously on this blog, or was it ….. Harris?

17. @ Mahogany Coconut Group

Do you know how many of us ole fogeys would be in Dodds for clipping off a piece uh “***” when we was at school?

I remember well the girls that got hot nigger pepper put in them *** fuh *** with boys.

It is indeed a disgrace that this girl has been incarcerated for her active gonads.

As a boy growing up there was a fine line between a young man with alot of spunk and jism and the village ram and neither of them was incarcarated for his xyy chromosomes.

What seems to be happening as of late is that we have alot of hypocrites who, in an effort to seem as the conscience of the Nation (no pun intended) have gotten on to a sanctimonious band wagon and strike up the “shall we gather by the river” sankey hymn (not to be confused with Sanka him at the nation)

I will bet you that if this was a Mottley being caught in the act of sexing in a school bathroom at Queen’s College that not even Elsie Payne would with her righteous indignation ask for said child to be withdrawn from the school, furthermore sent to Dodds.

Which of the noble legal fraternity have rushed to defend the poor defenseless girl who has active hormones?

No siree she aint no Mottley nor David Symonds progeny who being caught with drugs in the USA get a barage of lawyers and have immunity extended to the sons and daughters of privilege

18. @pieceuhderockyeahright!!!

Well put ! .By the way we put her in Dodds for having sex while those who get pregnant can return to school. MCG says: Release the child from prison NOW (National Organisation of Women)

19. She is not in prison, she is at Summerville the reason being he wanders.

20. Mahogany Coconut Group wrote “The MCG has already called for the child to be returned to her parents or placed in proper foster care.”

1. The child’s parents asked that she be sent to Summervale for her own protection.

2. “Proper foster care” Are you willing and able to be proper foster parents to this child or any child? If you can be excellent foster parents, then step forward and do so. If not shut to fcuk up. You have no idea how difficult it is taking care of a sexualized child who is of minimal intelligence.

21. @Piece od de rock “Do you know how many of us ole fogeys would be in Dodds for clipping off a piece uh “***” when we was at school?”

Many of us, perhaps most of us did NOT have sex while we were school children. Many of us, perhaps most of us waited until we were responsible working adults before we began our sex lives. It is still possible tot each our children to do the same.

I know.

Been there.

Done that.

In the 21st century it is still possible to exercise sexual restraint.

An no the children nowadays are not different from how children have always been.

Human biology has changed little in the past 5,000 years or so.

We fool ourselves and our children when we lead them to believe otherwise.

Oh things nowadays are so different, that they have to have sex in their mid teens. Foolish talk.

Sex is for working adults.

22. IS THERE ANY TRUTH IN THE REPORT IM RECIEVING THAT A.G. WILLIAMS, FORMER HEAD OF HARRISON COLLEGE FROM 1965 DIED YESTERDAY

23. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Simple Simon | November 3, 2013 at 3:06 PM |
    “Sex is for working adults.”

What about the unemployed and the retired (‘ole fogeys’ like PUDRYR).
    Not even a little piece of the “de” action would you allow those without a pay cheque to participate in Nature’s third force of life- ESAF leaving out the S&P)?
    Sex, SS, is for those who are willing and able.
    Check your Bonobo cousins and you will see who does what to whom when and where with the ‘Why” being for you to find out since you know so much about biology 5,000 years ago.

24. I thought sex confronted children between the ages of 10-13. Simple Simon, you and I are doubtless middle aged or older and what we then – that is before the sexual revolution of the 60’s caught up with us – experienced and at what age has really little bearing upon the responses of juveniles then and since, surely? Some will, some won’t. You didn’t. I didn’t. But that was and is a fact not a strategy. Of course, some also did, didn’t they? There is nothing “foolish” in recognizing that fact and it really isn’t something you can predetermine and certainly not on the basis of ‘I didn’t – therefore you can’t’.

25. Yes ! mahogany. i have fired off a few mails to the relevant sources with the intention of never having to see sensationalism and what can be called gutter journalism overrides the respect and dignity of children. the call for action against this newspaper is of uttermost importance as the damaged done to these children lives by such smut journalism can effect them for he rest of their lives of which the nation should be held responsible

26. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ ac | November 3, 2013 at 4:06 PM | the call for action against this “newspaper is of uttermost importance as the damaged done to these children lives by such smut journalism can effect them for he rest of their lives of which the nation should be held responsible.”

What about the bold-faced dirty lie told by the PM to the schoolboy? Don’t you think that also could have a long lasting effect on the said child to the extent that he too could become a liar seeing it as the only path to success or even prevent him from having a healthy and trusting respect for those in authority seeing all of them as blatant liars just like your boss man?
    He might even go to university at Cave Hill to be bitterly disappointed in the words of a “trusting PM”. Or even witness cases of voter fraud and nonchalantly says ‘if the PM can see such things and fail to do something about why can’t he as Citizen Joe Bloggs’.

Now take out your pen and paper and send a letter to the relevant office to complain about your lying deceitful boss man! What do you say, girl, you two-faced lying hypocrite?

27. Wait. Tell me Tank did not die. The man was one of my mentors through life.

28. David. You have one point, that is the descriptive language used in the article. However, the Nation or any newspaper have the ultimate rights to show actual picture blocking the face to hide identity or by using a comical characters. That is the newspapers right to inform. What we should look at is the behaviour of parents allowing children to take school high end phones when a simple phone could be used for them to contact kids. I will continue later.

29. And Tell me What what is is you have written which is at variance to what BU commented?

30. What i have written .i have written suffice it to say it takes it to a higher source than BU.The fact is that when childen engaged in sexual acts through ignorance or becauseof lack of knoweldge.it does not go well for adults who should know better to magnify the acts through sensational articles or video without taking in account the rights of the child and also without first asking permission from those whom the article or video might effect. the Nation owe these children a full page apology.

31. Yes Tank the legend is dead.

32. […] Nation Newspaper Exploits Children in Need of Help (bajan.wordpress.com) […]

33. @ David
    Pray tell me which is the more deplorable : The publication of the pornographic material involving the two youngsters or the publication of the story on the suffering prostitutes ? The Nation newspaper is nothing but a rag ..

34. Nothing wrong with the Nation reporting the news but it must be done in a way to ensure ethics and sensibilities are respected. To do otherwise one is left to question the motive of the Editors and by extension the Publisher.

35. @miller etc. “What about the unemployed and the retired (‘ole fogeys’ like PUDRYR)”

If you are too old to raise a child to adulthood, no sex for you.

If you don’t have work, you should spend all of your time looking for work, so no sex for you.

36. And to miller etc.

We are not bonobos.

Bonobos parents don’t have to house or clothe their bonobo children, they don’t have to buy diapers, or pay for day care, they don’t have to immunize their bonobo babies, or send them to school, or pay thousands in air fare to see them graduate form university.

If I was a bonobo I’d have sex morning, noon and night, with my father, my mother, my cousin, my neighbour, my brother, my sister and complete bonobo strangers.

But I am not a bonobo, and neither are you, and neither is anybody on this blog.

Human sexuality also comes with great responsibilities.

37. Well what is left to be seen is how the Nation put a closure to this article whether it be by force apology or by the nation fully acknowledging wrong and exercising journalistic ethics by publishing an apology .the latter seems most unlikely given their rabid taste for slime and smut.journalism

38. By the time I was in third form at HC I could write a description that painted a picture of an event.

It is sad and pathetic that a National newspaper had to publish a pornographic image instead of reporting the event in simple English.

I am not a lawyer and cannot comment on the legality of the publication but we all make mistakes and those two children did not deserve to have their apparent act of copulation published in a newspaper.

39. Tank the legend was 86.He and Bobo his trusty canine were buddies.May he rest in peace.

40. it was Otto, man

41. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ David | November 3, 2013 at 5:59 PM |
    “Yes Tank the legend is dead.”

A legend indeed! The first local to be Head of that ‘august’ but socially conflicted institution which on the one hand represented Barbados’s ‘dirty’ past but was still capable of producing the cream of the crop and what the country can be in terms of excellence.

There are many interesting stories to share around about the legendary Tank. A member of the Williams Clan originally from the British Isles (most likely Wales expelled as rebels and ‘barbadoesed’) but a true Bajan who gave much to his country without demanding any excess unlike many today who see public service especially those in Parliament and serving as Ministers of the Crown (instead of the clergy) as avenues to get rich instead of serving others as the Christian ethos requires: To whom much is given (intellectually) much is expected (socially) is no longer a principle recognized as a pathway to spiritual commitment and enlightenment.

May he rest in peace and the Light perpetual shine on him.

42. There was an interesting sermon at St. Paul Church this morning; BU should post it

43. Hants | November 3, 2013 at 7:50 PM |
    By the time I was in third form at HC I could write a description that painted a picture of an event.

WHO TAUGHT YOU ………JV EARLE OR MRS B E SHARPE? OR BOTH?

44. Tank Williams. May he rest in peace. He went to school with my father and they were good friends. He was an inspiration to me all through my life. Will miss him. Another great Bajan leader gone over to the other side.

45. @Yesterday

How can BU access it?

46. @robert ross November 3, 2013 at 3:39 PM..”I thought sex confronted children between the ages of 10-13″

No it does not unless the child falls into the hands of a paedophile. I hope that you are not the sort of person grooming a 10 year old for sex.

47. @pieceuhderockyeahright!!! November 3, 2013 at 11:30 AM…”I remember well the girls that got hot nigger pepper put in them *** fuh *** with boys.”

You do understand don’t you that the vagina is a sensitive as the eye. Anybody who put pepper into a child’s vagina has committed a serious assault against that child and should be locked up.

And why would anybody do that? Were they punishing the girl for being female, for having sex with you? WHY?

But sooner or later you and your wicked generation will get your first strokes, and coming to take “care” of some of you will be women who spent their childhood having pepper being rubbed into their vaginas…and now that you can’t raise your hand to defend yourself, and now that you have no language…pepper in ya eye.

Vengence is ours.