Transport Board Needs to Get its Act Together

Submitted by Nopolean Bonaparte
Michael Lashley, Minister of Transport

Have you tried catching a Transport Board bus lately? It is bare horrors. Should you be so unlucky as to have to rely on one of these buses as a means of getting to and fro, you would understand what commuters are experiencing daily. These buses are never on time whether you are in the terminal or en route there. Punctuality was lacking before to say the least, but nowadays it has reached a new low. We are talking about an hour or more in some rural communities like Sugar Hill, half an hour and beyond for the suburban.

What makes matters worse, is to see drivers engaged in games of dominoes at times with as many as six buses lying there just parked. It is alleged that the Minister had once made a surprise visit on hearing of these reports and saw for himself the goings on. We hearing that there are not enough buses as many are down and in need of repairs, however, one becomes more perplexed seeing buses traveling empty at peak hours and knowing that some communities cannot get one.

Could it be a scheduling problem then, whereas a time study is needed encompassing peak hours of traffic and the re-engaging of the ‘spy’ inspector, who used to be the Board’s man on the ground?  Most definitely it would be a better use of monies than paying chauffeurs to be driving up and down empty buses. The obvious fallout of all this, commuters have no choice but to travel unsafely on uninsured minibuses. Could this be an intentional ploy, as it is alleged some bus drivers have interest in minibuses?  More than the mortar in the pestle and definitely worthy of an investigation, after all, it is we the taxpayers monies being duped.

What about the call to privatize buses? By all means if such will bring about a turnaround with the situation. Tax paying commuters deserve more, not withstanding our ever increasing deficit. A private concern would not entertain all this nonsense knowing all is mostly being festered by a few fractured and dishonest chauffeurs.

161 thoughts on “Transport Board Needs to Get its Act Together

1. millertheanunnaki | November 25, 2013 at 4:15 PM |
    @Bush Tea | November 25, 2013 at 2:14 PM |

your argument is a non sequitur
    our educational system was ok before the women started to run things
    our civil service was ok before the women started to run things

things now are just as they were meant to be at this time the devil as taken over
    THE DEVIL HATES MEN AND HE HAS GOT IT UNDER HIS CONTROL

HE HAS FEMALES & SHEMALES IN LEADERSHIP FROM THE TOP TO THE BOTTOM, FROM THE PRIMARY SCHOOL CLASSROOM AND EVEN THE CHURCH FILLED WID WOMEN
    DE WOMEN FRIGGING UP THIER MARRIAGES AND THEIR FRIENDS MARRIAGES

I TAUGHT AT A MED SCHOOL LED BY WOMEN AND A PANTY WAIST DEAN
    THE WOMEN DIDNT HAVE A CLUE EXCEPT THE CLOTHES AND CLOTHES OF STAFF, AND COLLECTING TALES AND GOSSIP
    AND THEY ARE WONDERING WHY THEY CANT GET STUDENTS

2. @ Miller
    …don’t let your bias go and expose your sex now ya know….. 🙂

You don’t get it do you?
    Refer to Dr The Honourable…..

Let us follow your logic of the vital role of women in solving our obvious dilemma…..
    Have you noted the direct correlation between the emergence of females into leadership positions and the descent into chaos?

NO coincidence friend.
    BY DESIGN…Women have vital, critical and impactful roles to play in the success of ANY kid of society…..BUT NOT IN LEADERSHIP… ..any such feminine role is purely a backup / make-do arrangement…when unavoidable.
    Generally women tend to be FAR to emotional and ‘left -brained’ to be EFFECTIVE leaders…..but THAT makes them into SUPER mothers, nurturers and supporters…

Unfortunately, if the damn men turn out to be a bunch of balls-less brass bowls – and greedy, crooked sissies…it leaves the poor women with little choice but to do their best at leadership….
    BUT the results are predictable…. CHAOS.
    …and you can bet that as soon as the shit hits the fan those same women will run screaming for cover….

As Einstein said….”you cannot expect to solve a problem by applying the same thinking that caused it in the first place…”

Which brings us to the question asked ….
    “Acknowledge God and then what……?…”

Well duh!!!
    First thing is – if we acknowledge the existence of a master engineer, we would then logically acknowledge that Their design instructions are FAR more likely to produce the results we want than those of the likes of Miller and ac….

When we buy an IPad – do we follow instructions from any and every Tom Dick and CCC seeking to cover their petty political tails….or do we go by the instructions from Apple?

Second thing is that when we follow the makers instructions, we get a warrantee and often, access to a help line…..
    …um is the same thing skippa….

The VERY FIRST step in reversing the chaos is in discarding the FLAWED (CHURCH LED) thinking that got us down this path in the first place…..
    Ie…that God is irrelevant – and that we somehow can figure out our OWN way through this mess called life….

Yea Right!!! ….. 🙂 that makes about as much sense as ac does…

3. The government run TB is destined to fail, I,ve been noticing for a while that TB drivers drive behind the PSV’s and even stop when they stop even if no-one is getting out of the bus. The result is the PSV is almost always full while the TB is seen to carry “some” school children and persons with pension cards. Could it be the TB drivers are getting a drawback from the PSV owners, but then many of the new TB drivers WERE PSV drivers.

4. The government run TB started to fail from the point it began in January 1969
    ‘I lived then oat the top of the 15 route when Birch ran the Progressive Bus Co. When there was a problem with a bus prior toJanuary 1969 the driver would ask us to get out and push, or he would whatever tinkering he knew in an attempt to get the bus going and get it to Culloden Rd
    After January 1969 when anything went to some of the very same buses, the drivers stopped the bus wheres is and said CALL THE YARD.

5. @ Bush Tea | November 25, 2013 at 5:04 PM |
    “Let us follow your logic of the vital role of women in solving our obvious dilemma…..
    Have you noted the direct correlation between the emergence of females into leadership positions and the descent into chaos?”

Don’t be an ass, Bushie! Why kind of black ‘cracker’ of the misogynistic type are you?
    Are Islamic societies where men pretend to be in charge not in chaos also?
    Look at Syria, Saudi Arabia and the rest of the Middle East and parts of Africa where men appear to be in charge and see the state of social dislocation reminiscent of the “Hobbesian” natural order of mankind (state of nature).

Are women in leadership roles in the Central African region where another bout of “fratricidal” genocide is about to take place reminiscent of the Rwanda tribal cleansing?

It is the BLACK WOMAN who has been the backbone of the Black Bajan society. If not for the Black woman’s strength, struggles, sacrifices, trials and tribulations and creative imagination to survive the Black man would not have been able to endure the period of slavery that was physically emasculating and psychologically destroying, The Black man in Barbados would be Nobody; even lower down the totem pole than the Black American male today.

Maybe if you had been raised by your Grandmother you would know what we are talking about.

6. @Miller
    Keep your panties on Bozie….ya going let everyone know that your third foot exists only in your vivid imagination…?
    BTW
    You are right about the role of the strong black woman. It is also why we are where we are…LOST!

…also CORRECT about Bushie…..raised by a HONEST, COMMITTED, DECENT, and VERY STRONG BLACK MAN….and equally impressive Wife and partner.

….Lucky son of a Bushman 🙂

7. hush do bushie ,, u know nutting about woman., remember EVE, one of the smartest females to grace the face of the earth i bet u want to know what she did, She single handily got Adam to relinquish the power God gave him and the rest is history.

8. @ ac | November 25, 2013 at 9:26 PM |

That one too hard for the Bushman. A real conundrum.
    We wonder who he is going to blame for that one. The Bushman would most likely argue that ‘the Snaky Devil made Eve do it to the poor man Adam to whom God gave two heads instead of Eve’s one and two tongues and six lips.

9. Georgie Porgie | November 25, 2013 at 6:33 PM |
    The government run TB started to fail from the point it began in January 1969.
    ……………………………………………………………………….
    Have you got your dates mixed sir? The Transport Board started on August 24, 1955. Birch’s Progressive Buses were taken over by the Transport Board in 1955, later handed back to him, and finally taken over in 1966.
    But lets face it ,after the initial takeover by the Transport Board, .people up and down the country were complaining ,about what they thought was the bad service provided by the Private concessionaires,believing that the state run service would be better. When the Transport Board finally took over those routes from the last remaining concessionaire, the Rocklyn and Elite bus Companies, the first thing they did, was to scrap that early morning service ,provided by these concesionaires, transporting hawkers, and the pottery sellers to Bridgetown. As you are aware, the bus service these days to Sugar Hill and Chalky Mount, is not as regular as it was when Sunny Coward had those routes.
    I’ve always maintained that when the Transport Board took over those buses in 1955 , some of those old concessionaires should have been offered the positions as areas managers.

10. Whatever happened to those buses made by Acme back in the 1960s? Have they developed the models, or just abandoned them?

11. @ Vincent Haynes
    ….presumably they will be as clear as apples…
    You presume WRONGLY friend.
    One does not throw pearls to swine….
    Diamonds have to be earnestly searched after…
    Few things that are valuable are free….

12. Who is the Arbiter?
    Who do you think Vincent?
    When Lowdown decided to build his goat farm:
    ….did HE not establish the ground rules?
    …did HE not determine what the goals and objectives would be..?
    …did HE not lay out the definition of success…..and failure?
    …who but he has the right to arbitrate on ‘right. And ‘wrong’?

Can a couple of goats decide on THEIR own version of right? How valid would such a decision be…?
    If Lowdown is focused on goat-milk, but a certain billy goat named Miller is focused on being the village ram….why should miller not be converted to steaks? ….is it not LOWDOWN’s call….whether miller likes it or not….or even if miller acknowledges Lowdown’s position or not?

Well the BIG BOSS ENGINEERS who conceptualized and created this big farm called “life on earth” are OBVIOUSLY the final and ONLY REAL arbiters….
    Every thing else …and everyone else is goat ….

13. @ ac re Eve…
    She single handily got Adam to relinquish the power God gave him and the rest is history.
    …so EVE single handedly led the fall of mankind and created the gulf that have existed between man and God ever since…?
    …probably nagged Adam’s poor ass until he relented….
    ….so this is what you and Miller wants now for Barbados…?

Bushie REALLY don’t know what to say to you ac.

You are so clueless that you are presenting arguments in support of Bushie’s position while seeking to show that Bushie knows nothing about Women….?
    Why not try something original…..like…
    HUSH….!

14. Bush Tea….So let me get this strait….BBE is the Arbiter,He has issued instructions that only he understands and so you have led the discussion back to the beginning…..a full circle…..hmmmmm……and this makes sense….ok

15. Who said it would make sense to you Vincent?

…Wuh you probably don’t even understand integral calculus or the Gauss Seidel methods ….and no one really understands the nature of life and death…..
    …and you feel that Bushie should explain BBE’s intent and methodologies in conceptualizing and creating life on Earth…. In two posts on a blog? 🙂
    …you is a HC man right?!?

16. “Well the BIG BOSS ENGINEERS who conceptualized and created this big farm called “life on earth” are OBVIOUSLY the final and ONLY REAL arbiters….”

Bushie your BBE happens to be a woman and your goat is cooked you ole fart!

17. Vincent Haynes | November 26, 2013 at 10:59 AM |
    Bush Tea……Chuckle….As a known Cawmerian I will ignore your attempted insult…

MR HAYNES WILL YOU PLEASE BEHAVE YOURSELF PLEASE!

18. LOL @ Vincent
    Skippa, you just passed the acid test…. Don’t mind GP 🙂

However…. wrt…
    “.we do agree that we have not a clue as to why and what we are here for….”
    Who “WE” you talking ’bout bossman?
    …got to be the ROYAL “we” ….cause you CANT mean Bushie….
    Bushmen know EXACTLY why and what we are here for….

19. Bush Tea…..We is me and you and the rest of humanbeings on this planet….unless BBE gave you the means to interpret his instructions….well if that is so Cawmere has scored again….sorry GP Cawmere has struck again…

20. The Transport Board Buses
    do not drive behind the PSVs

The PSVs drive in front of the Buses
    These PSVs need regulating and should not be allowed
    to drive under 15 minutes in front of a TB bus.

They timed the bus and moved just in front of the Bus.
    This happens in B’town, Sp’town, Oistins and on all the routes
    The Bus cannot pass because we know how the PSVs block
    other drivers’ path.
    I can speak of this because I am observant and I wondered why one would see a bus and then a van in front . I investigated it as amusement to me and something to do

21. Transport is a high demand service
    Bajan workers are lazy
    Mr. Williams said it
    Everything in Barbados is shoddy
    Standards gone in every sphere
    Declining standards everywhere
    Nobody including Government seems to care
    There is something seriously wrong
    with the mentality of workers
    They do not seem to be ‘intelligent”

22. Man Vincent, don’t watch GP yuh!
    That fellow know a lot of things…..
    .. but if Bushie was to tell you that BBE not only provided the bushman with the “KEY” to interpret his instructions….. But that …this KEY is freely available to WHOSOEVER seriously wants to have it, it will launch a big able BASSA BASSA between Bushie and GP….and then a fellow name Zoe will jump in with LONNNGGGG expositions of biblical proportions…. 🙂
    …you see, dem fellows feel that if you REAL BRIGHT and study READ hard then you MAY get to understand these complex and frustrating issues….. If Bushie recalls correctly, the word they use is “exegesis” (a Crumpton street word that mean “break down to suit yourself”)….
    So rather than follow them bright fellows, Bushie just asked; sought; and knocked….
    And it was given; found; and the door was opened….
    ..just so…..
    LOL – as you done know, Cawmere men ain’t bout this lotta study thing…..what exegesis what?! LOL

23. @ YAGGA
    Everything in Barbados is shoddy
    Standards gone in every sphere
    Declining standards everywhere
    Nobody including Government seems to care
    There is something seriously wrong
    with the mentality of workers
    They do not seem to be ‘intelligent”
    …and what do you expect from brass bowls?
    glowing excellence?
    Steupssss

24. Bush Tea…Chuckle….I agree that we do not want those heavy rollers in a little Cawmere discussion session known as debating points….GP have a good rest….Just heard on 12.30 news that the infallible Pontiff has declared that he not the font of all knowledge….lol…Vatican may yet survive.

25. Kinda late but i got to lay it out to bushie .you can.t even visulalize far less understand that Eve with less authority and Knoweldge than ADAM had the vision and forsight to topple the GREAT ADAM a man whom GOD had bestowed All that is GREAT”Wisdom! knoweldge and power. in as much that God was so impressed with her tenacity that he tranferred those blessings to EVE of which woman are the benefactors. Bushiie Keep quiet Eve broke the mold and GOD reconstruct it in our favour.nuting You can do about it .

26. Hal Austin | November 26, 2013 at 7:44 AM |
    Whatever happened to those buses made by Acme back in the 1960s? Have they developed the models, or just abandoned them?
    …………………………………
    All of our buses now come from South America. As far as I can see, there is not a single ACME bus in the fleet, except for a few Hino’s (midis) . Simpson Motors is the local agent for these Mercedes Benz buses from Brazil. Get the picture?

27. What is there to understand all events in the bible were and still is subjected to one,s intrepretation.the only difference is that what one was originally taught have been rehearsed and repeated so often that a single mindset has englufed the mind and has placed a firewall between ones abilty to Perform the very task which our god given brains was designed to do.

28. AC
    IF I SAY THAT YOU ARE A BIG ASS HOW WOULD YOU INTERPRET THAT? IS THAT SUBJECT TO ONE’S INTERPRETATION?
    IF I SAY THAT THE DLP DOES NOT HAVE A CLUE ABOUT GOVERNING THE COUNTRY IS THAT SUBJECT TO ONE’S INTERPRETATION?

29. GP i would SAY it takes a BIGGER ASS like yourself to know a BIG ass. .U are a disgrace to the ver GOD that u SERVE .Your use of profanity is an indication.

30. AS for the GOvt .what is Your Problemm. Your GOD has told YOU YOUR KINGDOM IS NOT OF THIS WORLD..TAKE NO THOUGHT FOR TOMMOROW . BE YE NOT OF THIS WORLD. DO YOU NOT BELIVE SUCH THINGS? HAV A NIC NITE

31. SO THEN WHAT I SAID WAS VERY CLEAR AND NOT SUBJECT TO ONE’S INTERPRETATION?
    IN LIKE MANNER THE TEXT OF GENESIS IS NOT SUBJECT TO EVERYONE’S INTERPRETATION. IT IS CRYSTAL CLEAR.

32. GP I GUESS U DO NOT BELIEVE OR ADHERE TO WHAT YOUR GOD SPECIFICALLY TOLD U ABOUT THIS WORLD AS A MATTER OF FACT IT WAS A WARNING COUPLED WITH A PROPHESY.

33. GP I GUESS U DO NOT BELIEVE OR ADHERE TO WHAT YOUR GOD SPECIFICALLY TOLD U ABOUT THIS WORLD AS A MATTER OF FACT IT WAS A WARNING COUPLED WITH A PROPHESY(SUBJECT TO MY INTREPRETATION) ONCE AGAIN YOU HAVE FAILED YOUR GOD AS TO MATTERS IN RESPONSE TO THIS GOVT< BRAYING LIKE A JACKASS<

Leave a comment, join the discussion.