Adrian Loveridge - Hotelier
Adrian Loveridge – Hotelier

It was quite a revelation to read through the five newspaper pages of ‘indebted’ individuals and entities listed by National Insurance Board (NIB) from a tourism perspective. Especially, when you realise that many of them have either in the past and/or currently benefited from substantial taxpayer subsidies, grants or soft loans. It seems almost incredulous that, at least in some cases, if any due diligence has been practised between the various Government agencies involved before the monies were advanced.

Take the (TIRF) Tourism Industry Relief Fund as an example. I understand that this was purely intended to assist qualifying tourism businesses to maintain employment. I never saw it as a source of ‘free’ funds to assist in the avoidance of statutory obligations. Yet, well over a Million Dollars in TIRF monies was paid over to one of the hotels listed by the NIB. Others, were allowed to access to preferential interest rates through the Enterprise Growth Fund and perhaps most alarming of all, several are currently benefitting from taxpayer subsidised BTA promotions like the Barbados Island Inclusive promotion.

For the many enterprises like ours who have frequently struggled to pay our bills on time, it makes a mockery of those trying to do the right thing. Almost anyone in business could contest that at some stage they have experienced some financial problems or challenges, and this is clearly understandable. But as the Barbados Social Security clearly states, the list applies to those ‘who have not made satisfactory arrangements to liquidate the outstanding debt (or) have not adhered to arrangements made’. Again, if this disparity is allowed to continue,’we’ are just allowing the goalposts to be moved one more time and disadvantaging others who are fighting to keep trading legitimately.

It also calls into question, why is there not more communication between the various Government agencies in terms of compliance. Why is it possible to access public funds without and NIS clearance certificate but it is a prerequisite to acquire a licence to operate a hotel or restaurant.

It’s official, according to their website, from 15January 2014, American Airlines will no longer operate a direct flight from New York to Barbados. For travellers still wishing to fly with AA, including their 66 million frequent flyer members, it will now only be possible via Miami. In a southbound direction either leaving JFK at 5.45am to arrive in Barbados at 2.40pm, or 12.45pm arriving at 10.55pm. Northbound, departing 8.10am to reach JFK at 4.25pm. So a minimum journey time of seven hours.

Low cost airline JetBlue still offers a non-stop option, but clearly having no significant competition, it is bound to drive fares up making us as a destination of choice even less competitive. Currently, the cheapest New York return fare in January with JetBlue bookable in the USA including taxes is US$443.10. The timing of this route cessation is also a puzzle, at the peak travel time (winter high season) and while awaiting the final anticipated approval for a merger with US Airways. It is also difficult to comprehend why we were not able to sustain one tiny B737 flight daily from one of the largest urban conglomerations in North America, the 23 million populace of the Tri-State area. In global terms JFK airport ranks 19 in the world with passenger traffic reaching almost 20 million each year.

How much longer can we go on accepting failure.

123 responses to “Tourism Performance Slipping”

1. what galls me is that Adrien going to pick the one yard stick “CONCESSION” to beat the barbados govt over the head,, ..This guy is beyond disingeniuos WHAT befuddles me is how he can fool those who belives his efforts are genuine .

2. I do not have a problem with Government giving Butch Stewart concessions to get a dead economy jump started.

But I DO have a problem the (in effect) bailout of the former owners of Almond, by Government.

Any private owner must sell a chattel at market value, why the exception?

THAT is what MUST be answered.

3. The Clico policyholder must be livid. Bailout for the large corporation that owned Almond, but nuttin, nuttin, fuh de policholders of Clico.

Nor the actual existing liability re Al Barak.

Things that make you go ….hmmmmmm.

4. David

Thank you so much for the link to Brian Samuel’s detailed and articulate account of the saga of La Source. Indeed, a sorry story, which is about to be repeated in Barbados; without the leadership of Leon Taylor and Mr Samuel.

It should be required reading for every hotelier, indeed every business person and politician, in Barbados, including/especially Sealy, Sinkler and Stuart.

I said in an earlier post, Barbados needed Butch more than Butch needed Barbados. Imagine Butch and his team of lawyers, accountants and advisors, fresh from the experience of successfully extracting concessions from Grenada, negotiating concessions with Sealy, Sinkler and Stuart. We can be certain that he managed to extract at least as much in concessions, and probably more, from Barbados as he did from Grenada

Regrettably, there probably will not be a Mr. Samuel to write the full story of Sandals takeover of Casuarina and ABV, and we certainly cannot expect Sealy or Sinkler or Stuart or anyone else in Barbados Government to disclose the concessions being extended to Butch to bring his marketing and promotional might to Bim.

So, the good news is that Butch is going fill some airplane seats and he is going to create (no – recreate) some jobs – probably at lower pay rates than people were being paid by Almond.

But, what of the jobs that will be lost at his established competitors when they fail because they will not be able to compete in an already challenging market because the playing field is tipped in favour of Sandals/Beaches.

Mr. Samuel talks of the difficulties in negotiating relaxed repayment terms from the commercial bank when times get tough. The commercial banks in Barbados are already carrying the highest level of non-performing loans in history; so, like La Source’s commercial bank in Grenada, they will not be prepared to stretch out payment terms. Indeed, with Sandals now on the scene, they will (correctly) be even more concerned with their book of business with the tourism industry and will be less accommodating to requests from Sandals‘ competitors for leniency in loan servicing.

DD hopes that Sealy, Sinkler and Stuart understood the side effects of their actions and concessions when invited the elephant into the room.

Butch will fill some airplane seats; but his advertising will not help the others in hotel business. in Barbados

DD has previously commented on the absence of advertising in Toronto newspapers by the Barbados tourism players. With the elephant almost certainly about to start an ad blitz for Sandals Barbados (ex-Casuarina Ex-Couples) in the Toronto newspapers, the mice had better start their own advertising.

DD will keep you posted.

5. DD thanks but no thanks on keeping us posted we who can think for ourselves have no time to read the long roll of revisionist shoite you write.

6. @DD

BU is on record supporting Butch Stewart’s Sandals taking over the project. He is the only hotelier who spends big money on the brand. This position does not mean that we should not ask questions about the deal with N&M as well as with Sandals. We are the taxpayers and it is our damn money. It is what transparency is all abut.

7. Adrian Loveridge Avatar

I also view the Sandals and Beaches ‘deal’ as probably the current best option, considering the current dismal state of the industry. But if HUGE concessions have been promised, let EVERYONE understand there will be consequences, both with existing tourism partners and any new potential investors.

8. YOU KNOW DAVID You never ceases to amaze me… I remember in the Article about Grenada when a comment of how much concessions were being giving to BUTCH ,your response was “If the people of Grenada are Happy what is everyones problem DID you know whether the grenadines knew or not . But in your effort to prove a point You babbled off a comment to support your perceptionthat the grenadines knew of the i’s dot and t’s crossed However the opposite applies here , in that as YOU say “” The taxpayers have to right to knowwhich i agree ..David being consistent is a the essence of truthfullness even when wrong avoiding having to compromise or calculate your every move. The barbadian govt at every turn had to do most of its business in a way not to be outgunned and outmanuouvered by those who have a vested interest in seeing the country failed, and as a result certain measures had to been taken to protect the interest of the country which has forced govt to withold vital information from the people, There are many onearmed bandits among the populace who wish Barbados no good.and be cause of them We all suffer, the People knows this and so does Govt., .

9. @ac

You need to learn to read. What Grenada agreed to has nothing to do with Barbados number one and two it has nothing to do with Barbadians’ right to know the details of the deal with N&M and Sandals. You may have the last word.

10. @Adrian

Agree and we have to acknowledge that Grenada is a bankrupt country which has defaulted on its debt, an unpardonable sin. We can only hope and pray thoe negotiating Barbados ‘ position were not driven by a similar position read we are broke just like Grenada.

11. While our tourism is slipping, my understanding is that other countries in the region, is improving by leaps and bounds. In St. Lucia we are seeing tourists twice as many as in Barbados, in Guyana hotels are sringing up everywhere and tourists are coming by the plane loads. the one that takes the cake is Antigua, a new truly international airport, almost twice the size of GAIA, Many wide bodied aircrafts on the termac and a bustling airport which will have aircraft tunnels from the plane to the building plus a new multi-story carpark. No wonder no jumbo comes to Barbados anymore, ouyr tourists market has been swallowed up by our neighbours, all we are good for is to accept those neighbours who come here to dance in our strip clubs. We are in serious serious trouble.

12. OK lets begin, seat belts, helmets,no smoking,aids,
    before all these i think barbados did much better .not so??????????

13. june boy | October 20, 2013 at 11:03 AM |
    While our tourism is slipping, my understanding is that other countries in the region, is improving by leaps and bounds. In St. Lucia we are seeing tourists twice as many as in Barbados,
    ………………………………………………………………………………………………..
    june boy you are a graduate of the Adrian Loveridge school of mud maths. You are wrong. Loveridge is permanently wrong only a few of us show the fortitude to correct him. The blog owner has no problems with Loveridge’s outright lies and blatant untruths.
    Here are the latest Caribbean Tourism Org arrival statistics for 2013
    Jan to Aug Barbados 353, 000
    Jan to Aug St.Lucia 221,000

Go double check if you doubt me.
    Where are the twice as many tourists? What is truth is St. Lucia’s murder rate is way higher than Barbados. In some years to use you words ‘twice as many.’

14. june boy>the one that takes the cake is Antigua, a new truly international airport, almost twice the size of GAIA,
    ——————————————————–
    june boy you naughty humbug you are wrong again:
    Barbados runway 11000
    Antigua runway 9000
    The Concorde would be hard pressed to land in Antigua, do you know Barbados was the only destination in the Caribbean with a scheduled Concorde service? Do you know Barbados airport was one of very few in the Caribbean the Concorde could touch down?

15. One can tell the political warriors by their manipulation of statistics. We have a few warriors on this thread. Loveridge isn’t one of them.

16. Ruffin
    I dare anyone who has been to Antigua recently to say what is happening there isn’t true. That country has seen much progress over the last two years and their tourism is going great. The airport that they are now rebuilding will be bigger than Barbados’ plus they will have aircraft tunnels from the plane to the immigration Dept.plus a multi-story carpark. Ruffin concodre stoop flying so stop mentioning that it couldn’t go into Antigua. Deal with the NOW, not even Virgin ‘ jumbo comes here anymore, but it goes into Antigua twice weekly. Deal with that.

17. Ruffin
    For your information , there were only four places in the world with a scheduled concorde service namely Britain, France, U.S.A ( JFK) and Barbados. Ruffin you are still liuving in the past, those days are over, we do have the length runway but not many widebodied planes come here anymore. It makes no sense flying a massive plane into Barbados half full.Spend some time at the airport and see the size of the planes coming here, in fact come dec. AA will stop flying into Barbados from JFK

18. Big idiot june boy I’m a researcher you are a blp yard fowl I deal in facts you deal in lies.

VC bird Airport, Antigua. Avoid this airport, especially on transfer flights. You have to go through a highly disorganized and lengthy security screening even though you are already cleared from another airport and arrive behind security screening. Half the equipment wasn’t working, we had to wait long lengths of time to get through and pushed back while other flights were given priority to go through what few security screening lines there were. If you want your vacation ruined this is the best place to start.

Arrived at Antigua Airport from London to an utter shambles. Due to the way international flights are scheduled, the airport becomes overrun for a few hours each afternoon. It cannot cope with the number of passengers with half a dozen or more jets arriving from the UK and North America in the space of a few hours. We queued for 2 hours to get through customs and immigration, and then waited again for a taxi to our hotel. The airport is run down and badly in need of some re-decoration at the very least, and ideally some staff customer training.

Recently returned from Antigua. The airport is a disgrace but worse still are some of the staff employed. They do not know the meaning of ‘customer relations’ or how to work at any speed to get the queues moving. Entering the country was bad enough but on leaving I was stupid enough to ask a civil question as my hand luggage was going through the scanner to be shouted at more than once to “shut up, shut up, get your sunglasses and bracelet off, shut up”. What a total disgrace!

Antigua’s airport however is the 7th ring of hell. Departing Antigua you speak to 8 different people.

19. @ Ruffin
    Perhaps next time you should go through disguised as a Bulgarian.

20. Boy blue or as Allan Stanford!?! chuckle!

21. @Ruffin,
    Just in case there is any doubt, BU bloggers can visit this website.

http://www.onecaribbean.org/wp-content/uploads/AUG27Lattab13.pdf

However to be fair to other posters, they use percentages instead of actual numbers of visitors

Barbados gets 100,000 one year.then 90,000 the next that is a 10% decline.
    St.Lucia gets 40,000 one year and 44,000 the next that is a 10% increase.

10% increase looks a lot better than 10% decline. That is why it is important to do your own fact checking and analysis.

22. David i have read understood and digest using all of the idotic terms that you suggested ..However my analysis of what you said in refe, to the grenada Article ,remains the same.

23. Ruffin
    Research the new airport being built at truly international standards. I don’t think it would be built just for the whims and fancies of an Antigua government.. Barbados can sit back and glory about a past while others prepare for a future. You can keep researching I will keep seeing things as they happen.