Sir Dennis Byron, President of the CCJ

The Caribbean Court of Justice (CCJ) decision between Shanique Myrie and Barbados (Jamaica the Intervener) continues to resonate across the region – editorials, talk shows and on the streets. What is evident is that members of Caricom need to better manage how we promote freedom of movement given our obligation under the Revised Treaty of Chaguaramus (RTC).

There is the view that significant weight was given by the CCJ to the 2007 Conference Decision by Heads of Caricom [item 45].  In simple terms: can we say that the decision handed down last week is what Heads of Caricom intended in 2007 i.e. “definite entry of six months …”. The fact that Barbados argued against the efficacy of the 2007 decision without a single intervention from another Caricom member was taken as acquiescence by the CCJ. Barbados therefore has to abide by the decision until such time a similar case in re-argued before a CCJ with justices of a different interpretation or lobby to have Heads modify the decision at the next Heads of Caricom meeting.

Loud by its silence has been the reaction of Barbados to the decision. The DNA of the Barbados government is to be slow in deliberation. One wonders though if the Prime Minister sees a need to demonstrate a departure from the norm given the psychological punch Barbadians have taken since the decision was delivered.  Is there a role for the leader of the country in the prevailing circumstances?

There is general acceptance that Immigration, Customs and Police officials in Barbados need to be more efficient in the execution of their duties. The Myrie matter hopefully has embarrassed the country enough to drive needed change at our borders.

The bigger issue arising from the CCJ decision is the protocol which ALL Caricom States must establish to allow Caricom nationals to cross borders UNLESS “… the right of entry of a national of another Member State in the interests of public morals, national security and safety, and national health, the visiting national must present a genuine, present and sufficiently serious threat affecting one of the fundamental interests of society. The threat posed should, at the very least, be one to do something prohibited by national law. The national must pose a threat to do something prohibited by national law. The Court held that the principle of proportionality was also relevant to the application of Community law [Item 14 CCJ Summary].

This is the CCJ’s interpretation of the RTC when combined with the 2007 Conference Decision. There is a view however that the CCJ’s decision is coloured by the aspirational language in the RTC at the expense of the letter of the treaty.  Of course it can all be clarified at the next Heads of Caricom Conference. There are lessons coming out of the EU experience which exposes the weakness of a free market. There are the borders of member countries whose economies are stronger which will be bombarded. There is currently discussion in the UK about floating a referendum to decide on the whether to leave the EU. Until then its borders continue to be peppered by the Easter Europeans.

There is something wrong with the Caricom free market model when there is mass movement from the largest members to the smallest. On this point it is is noteworthy that Antigua entered a ‘reservation’ at the 2007 Heads of Conference meeting which excludes it from allowing ‘unfettered’ access to it’s shores.

Now that we have this decision how will Jamaica treat with the Haitians? How will Barbados respond to the CCJ decision? Hopefully it will not ignore the CCJ Order like it has the Supreme Court in the Al Barrack matter.

218 responses to “The Myrie Order”

1. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

yagga

You would always say that because you BLP people operates on emotions and not facts.

2. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

They should ask “what next”.

As events unfold we begin to see how “brilliant” BLP administration was.

3. Standing up to the traitors AKA WAITING Avatar
    Standing up to the traitors AKA WAITING

Keep them honest CCC you disappear for a minute and the BLP yard fowls talk all over their face posting lies and distortions. Now you are back socking it to them and they have no answers. Wait miller tek in sick? Get well miller your boy Carson is backing taking on the whole army of BU – BLP yard fowls and beating them silly.

4. And don.t forget Alexander a nother cost to taxpayers all left behind by the BLP and the master tactician. What a legacy left behind of ” DOOM AND GLOOM”

5. BU was vilified in the pre 2008 period when we relentlessly attacked the BLP government on the immigration issue. All and sundry attacked, the BU household was accused of being xenophobic, racist and the like. Here is the bottom line. It does not help with political yardfowlism. It will not help our cause. We have to do like Bahamas for example and declare and chart a vision for Babrados. At this time all we have a is a bunch of politicians who are working for salaries. Many of them and their cohorts lack the intellectual capacity and a willingness to serve. We need to leverage our educational capital.

########################################################################

Flight risk Added by Barbados Today on October 9, 2013. Saved under Regional Tags: Human trafficking accused remanded

NASSAU – A 23-year-old Jamaican woman charged with trafficking in persons for the purpose of prostitution in The Bahamas was denied bail yesterday because she was deemed a flight risk.

Apolonia McClean-Smith was arraigned before Acting Chief Magistrate Joyann Ferguson-Pratt. It is alleged that she fraudulently facilitated the arrival of one Jamaican woman into New Providence between May 1 and May 22.

McClean-Smith was also charged with unlawfully withholding the woman’s Jamaican passport and other travel documents between June 1 and July 1.

She was also charged with transporting the woman through The Bahamas for the purposes of prostitution between May 27 and July 1 in contravention of the *Trafficking In Persons Act*.

McClean-Smith, a mother of two, pleaded not guilty to all of the charges.

Director of Public Prosecutions (DPP) Vinette Graham-Allen asked for bail to be denied as McClean, who married a Bahamian man in May 2011 and has a spousal permit, remains a Jamaican national with a Jamaican passport.

Graham-Allen also argued that McClean had no permanent address in The Bahamas and was unemployed.

McClean’s attorney Tonique Lewis strongly denied that her client was a flight risk, saying there was no evidence she would not appear at her trial if granted bail.

Lewis told the court that McClean’s and her two children,s passports had been confiscated.

But Graham-Allen said the accused could interfere with witnesses in the matter and she said there were many means of leaving the country.

The accused burst into tears as she was denied bail and remanded to *Her Majesty’s Prisons*.*(Nassau Guardian) * You may also like: [image: Chevaneese Sashagaye Hall (centre) being taken to court yesterday.]Jamaican charged with prostituting women Man charged with raping mother 300 plus murder accused on bail Bail revoked for customs clerk

6. Carson C. Cadogan | October 10, 2013 at 9:00 AM |

Anyone on this blog realize the revised treaty was never ratified in any Caricom territory?

What is this saying?

Carson…..would the Caricom heads have needed an executive body of Caricom or court to ratify the agreement, have they gotten that far yet?

7. I told them from the beginning that the World Heritage scam was not devised in anyway to benefit Bajans, but did they listen?? There is so much more to hear……….just get your popcorn ready.

8. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Well Well

It is sad to say that our politicians go all over the World and sign off on what ever piece of paper is put in front of them.

It seems to be, “de others signing so we got to sign too, we don’t want to look foolish”.

And most if not all of the treaties are never brought to our Parliament to debated. If this was done some of the pitfalls in these treaties would be spotted and corrective actions could be taken to mitigate them.

9. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Well Well

I am not saying that it is going to happen but that World Heritage thing could come back somewhere down the road to bite us in the ass.

And the shameful thing is that we feel so proud about signing these things.

TROJAN HORSES.

That revised treaty was signed only in 2007 and look at the scandal that it is causing already!!

10. Carson…they have to start making the lawyers work for their pay, so many lawyers and not one able to interpret a simply worded treaty, it is shameful….That has been my opinion all along, during the 6-7 years the treaty has been in existence, those who questioned some of the language in Barbados and around the Caribbean had ample time to address the issues before the Myrie incident or any other incident involving Caricom nationals for that matter.

11. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Well Well

I agree with you again one hundred percent.

12. Idiot government
    cut police monetary benefits
    crime increase
    guns /shootings
    bad message sent by government
    criminals watching
    operate to suit
    idiot government
    folly
    stupiddy
    asinine

13. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

BTW

Bajanflick don’t work anymore?

I am trying to upload a picture but getting all sorts of nonsense popping up.

14. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

yagga

Can you remember when Owen told the Police that they are not special?

15. Maxine McClean went public
    denied the Myrie accusations early in the piece
    hen had to save face–
    ERROR !!!

16. Do you people understand that the CCJ threw out Myrie’s claim about being discriminated against etc? This was about Barbados decision to toss out Myrie despite untruth to the Immigration Officer. no wonder we have lost our way.

17. TREATY=2007
    DLP = 2008–present
    poo poo
    who is to blame
    DLP–to court
    out of court settlement please
    idiot government

———————————-
    Yaaaaaaaaaaagga —scores again

18. So David ya mean you REALLY did not get it when Bushie told you that de dog done dead….?

When Arthur was bragging about passing laws that removed any special privileges that Bajans held in Barbados over outsiders and talking about attracting “high worth” people here in our quest for first world status – wunna didn’t see any problem….??

When these DLP jokers took over and continued talking the same shiite (written by the same dotish civil servants)…. did Bushie not raise an alarm…? … Look back on BU….

Now that the shit has hit the fan um going be cat piss and pepper bout here…
    Lowest Common Denominator.

19. @Bushie

You predicted this one. We do not know what we want. These backward politicians have been exposed.

20. I4 years of decit has been exposed………sumbody bring back the cat-o-nine-tail………..i heard a talking headless morom sayin it is all right to open the floodgates and let them all in if they need work.. i think some people live in a dream world …this is not the united staes of america with plenty landmass and resources ….ths little 166 can barely inch out another space already we like sardines pack in a friggin can….

21. We don.t know what we want. David here u go again with that stupid “WE” u really belive that comment if so why u think the people are going over this ruling with a fine tooth comb. .the fact is that people know exactly what they wabt …however they are Torn between trustworthniess and selfinterst

22. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926TO 2013 AND SEE THE MASSIVE FRAUD, LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS Avatar
    PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926TO 2013 AND SEE THE MASSIVE FRAUD, LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS

interpretation MUST BE LOOKED AT IN FAVOR OF THE Person AND NOT THE STATE. Human Rights BEFORE STATE RIGHTS. WHAT IS NOT COVERED IS Your Right , and not the STATE RIGHT , REMEMBER THE STATE CAN NOT MOVE ONLY THE People move,as in Travel Right of.

23. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926TO 2013 AND SEE THE MASSIVE FRAUD, LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS Avatar
    PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926TO 2013 AND SEE THE MASSIVE FRAUD, LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS

BARBADOS PASSPORT READS INSIDE
    These are to request and require in the name of the Governor -General of Barbados all those whom it may concern to allow the bearer to pass freely without let of hindrance and to afford him or her every assistance and protection of when he or she may stand in need.

This is My BARBADOS PASSPORT READS ,,, WHAT DOES YOURS READ
    IF THAT IS NOT LAW THEN WHAT IS WHEN YOU TRAVEL

ST.Vincent and the Grenadines READS
    It is hereby requested by the Government of St.Vincent and the Grenadines from all of whom it may concern to permit the bearer of this passport to pass freely , without hindrance or delay and , in case of need , to give him all lawful and protection .
    Minister of Foreign Affairs.

What does yours read , and if they for get , read it to them when you reach and stand FIRM.

24. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

This Myrie ruling affects all of Caricom states not only Barbados.

Every Caricom state is in a quandary now.

25. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

It would seem as though these Caricom leaders led by our very own had a little too much White Rum to drink that day when they signed the Revised Treaty.

Or they never expected that someone would reach up onto the shelf where the Revised treaty was catching dust, blow off the dust and start reading the damn thing and realized that the jokers somehow did not understand what the Hell they had sign and decide to make a test case out of it.

Within Caricom free travel is an Ideal. But now we find out that this Revised Treaty makes it a fact of life and none of us can do anything about it now.

Just imagine this Revised treaty was sign back in 2007 and we are now finding this out.

26. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Also note that persons can not be refused entry, unless a clear and solid reason is GIVEN IN WRITING.

If the refused person is not happy with the reason given they can take the Government of Barbados to Court.

It would appear as if the Jamaicans knew this but the Barbados Authorities didn’t.

You know it is said that if you want to hide something from BLACK people, write it down because they don’t like to read.

This Revised Treaty seems to bear that out. This treaty was formulated since 2007 and no one, with the possible exception of the Jamaican,bothered to read it until it was too late.

27. @ Carson
    Hush. You are a liar. How could PM Arthur who was and is a staunch supporter of integration and, as your party so often reminded us, wanted all the Guyanese to move here not know what he was signing? Stupse. The problem as I said earlier is that the DLP Ministers do not read that is why their policies, Budgets and Estimates are always deficient. They prefer to talk about airport in St. Lucy, bark and growl and talk bout bowl of soup.

By the way, we were in a quandary before the CCJ ruling on Myrie lmao.

28. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

enuff

So why wasn’t the revised treaty ratified by our Parliament?

29. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Interesting.

Suriname president fires minister of finance

By Ivan Cairo
    Caribbean News Now contributor

PARAMARIBO, Suriname – President Desi Bouterse has dismissed Suriname’s Finance Minister Adelien Wijnerman, the Office of the President announced in a press statement on Wednesday. The minister has been requested to offer her resignation due to the slow pace at which contractors and other service providers to the government are being paid for their services, the statement signed by Cliff Limburg, the spokesman of the president, said.

30. Agreed in July 2007 and parliament was dissolved in December 2007.You know very well what followed including “ever so welcome wait for a call”,. Myrie was ‘fingered’in 2011.

31. David of BU
    Glad you have highlighted that piece of information about the happenings in The Bahamas regarding the behavior and actions of Shanique Myrie like Jamaicans .
    We in Barbados really do not understand or wish to understand the ramifications of that CCJ decision on Barbados.
    Now that our Constitution has been usurped, it is going to be as Bush Tea said it is going to be cat piss & pepper in Barbados.
    The miscreants ,pimps, misfits and all other types of nuisance Caribbean people will now be invading Barbados.
    Thanks to Owen Seymour Arthur – Shanique Myrie is his legacy

32. Carson C. Cadogan | October 10, 2013 at 3:39 PM |

Interesting.

Suriname president fires minister of finance
    ………………………………………………………………………….
    Surprising extract.

Carson, alias Arthur yuh like yuh kno’ something.. Are you telling us that our Finance Minister might find himself in the same position? Budget errors are costlier plus Barbados’ refusal to repay VAT and pay the numerous service providers is worst than Suriname’s MoF.

33. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

so you are trying to say that between July 2007 and Dec. 2007 that it could not have been brought to our Parliament?

34. Negroman | October 10, 2013 at 4:21 PM |
    The miscreants ,pimps, misfits and all other types of nuisance Caribbean people will now be invading Barbados.
    ………………………………………………………………………………..
    What about citizenship once you are loaded with money? Will Owen be the caused? Don’t you feel it is about time to stop the historical blaming game and deal with the present day facts.

35. Did somebody say that bajans have the highest literacy rate and it took a liitle poor body to educate bajans on how to interpret the LAW.//////////0w iuqqqqqq

36. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Negroman

I get cursed all the time on this blog for not siding with DAVID, Miller(uncle Tom), ADRIAN LOVERIDGE and other BLP people and attacking Barbados in favour of ST. Lucia, Trinidad, Dominican Republic, the Moon and the Stars.

But I know that Bajans are the smartest people in the World, at least some of them.

I remember old Bajans saying, “Drunk or sober mind your business”, if the Leader of the Barbados Labour Party had done that do you think that we would be in this mess now?

37. @Negroman

As you know the BU family waged almost a ‘one man’ fight against unfettered immigration in 2007-2008.

38. A few days after the CCJ Myrie decision listen to what Trinidad gone and do…lol

http://bajan.files.wordpress.com/2013/10/untitled.mp3

39. Noo Carson, I am saying it should have before 2012 and in any case whether it was brought before parliament or not the Dems should have been aware when Myrie made her initial complaint.
    As as expected, only the negatives will be focused on. I honestly believe the issue of integration is too high for the likes of Negroman. Have you commented on the sale of citizenship or a St.Lucian being an MP and Deputy Speaker of our parliament and calling born and bred Bajans that are far more educated political rejects? To date we still don’t know who signed the $3.3m cheque. Piss in muh pocket do.

40. Enuff said:

Have you commented on the sale of citizenship or a St.Lucian being an MP and Deputy Speaker of our parliament and calling born and bred Bajans that are far more educated political rejects?

Say it ain’t so.

41. As usual Caricom member countries continue to cherry pick the topics they want to be seen as integrated on…………..

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-2451891/14-Caribbean-nations-sue-Britain-Holland-France-slavery-reparations.html

42. lawson | October 10, 2013 at 8:58 PM |
    The problem with Barbados is no-one has the stomach to do what it takes to get a handle on this situation. Singapore has a population of over 4.5 million and gun violence is near non existent, the reason for that is severe consequences.
    ………………………………………………………………
    Gonsalves is not entitled to any reparations…………He received his back in 1834, when former slave owners were compensated by the British Government.

43. Carson C. Cadogan | October 10, 2013 at 9:32 AM |
    Before I forget, the Garrison area is now a United Nations World Heritage site.

Does anyone realize that if there is any threat to that Heritage site that the United Nations can send in Troops to Barbados to protect it and there is nothing that we can do to prevent it?
    ………………………………………………………………………….
    I would not worry too much about this, the UN is a toothless bull dog.

44. MYRIE IS A WHORE WHO WAS COMING TO BARBADOS TO FUPE IT UP .
    NOT FOLLOWING CORRECT PROCEDURES CAUSED MYRIE TO CAPITALIZE ON THE SITUATION AND JUST LIKE A WHORE SHE CASHED IN.

I HAVE NO RESPECT FOR THE BITCH/WHORE/SLUT –WHO IS GOING TO GET WHAT COMING TO HER–BLEACHED OUT PUFFY FACE FAT GUTS SLUT !

I LIKE TRINIDAD BAD–SEND THEIR RASSES BACK TO JAMAICA–ALL 20 OF THEM
    LET ME SEE WHO GOING TO CCJ NOW

TRINDAD IMMIGRATION DON’T PLAY–BUT THEY SHOULD KNOW THAT THIS IS GOING TO CAUSE A TRADE WAR NOW–TRINI PRODUCTS IN JAMAICA WILL BE A NO NO

WHY THESE JAMAICANS AND GUYANESE DONT STAND HOME . WHY THEY WANT TO FULL UP THE SMALL ISLAND THEM.

THEY DOES CALL THE ISLANDS DOTTIES BECAUSE THERE ARE JUST DOTS ON THE MAP

MYRIE IS A WHORE AND SHE DOES GET ME VEX WHEN I SEE HER NATURE FILLED PUFFY ASS FACE PLAYING THAT SHE INNOCENT. –AND SHE ONLY GET A FINGER UP HER TWAT ??? SHE LUCKY–SHE WAS UP AL NIGHT TO GET LUCKY

45. “This was about Barbados decision to toss out Myrie despite untruth to the Immigration Officer. ”

is that correct? The facts tend to suggest that Ms Myrie was initially allowed entry. If indeed she did tell an untruth to the Immigration officer, why did the Immigration officer allow her entry in the first place?

46. “or a St.Lucian being an MP and Deputy Speaker of our parliament”

Sir Arnott Cato was a Vincentian who was the President of the Senate of Barbados .

47. @balance

Please read the judgement.

48. Please read the judgement.
    That is not necessary but if you want to publish it or the excerpt, I would be very much obliged to you. I recognize that the crux of he CCJ’s decision is that the lie allegedly told by Ms Myrie was not of such that could cause harm to Barbados under the three specific tests outlined in the RTOC and should not have been the basis for denial of entry; but moving away from the decision I would wish to know If indeed she did tell an untruth to the Immigration officer, why did the Immigration officer allow her entry in the first place and who revoked the permission to enter for only the Minister of Immigration can so do?

49. Funny though Richard Hoad may be in some of his articles, i always, and was told to do by some of his bajan white ilk to take him with a pinch of salt. Today’s article in his name really shows up the jackass in him and the fact the only thing he is trying to protect by spouting nonsense is the local bajan ‘white’ culture and the slipping grip they have on the majority black population. It would definitely pay him to read the CCJ judgment and refrain from telling lies on the young woman……the two officers admitted they had no information or valid reasons to suspect or search Ms. Myrie for drugs, in other words, Hoad is lying on this young woman………….i wonder how he feels about the white Bulgarian (tourists) thieves who cleaned out the ATMs on the island, hope he knows that Bulgarian is an eastern European country steeped in poverty, they are Romas, roaming gypsies….. hope Hoad does not claim very soon to be black or that his ancestors were black slaves.

50. WELL .it seems the “real war” begins as trinidad stands defiant as a protest to CCJ ruling and acceptance……shal we say that “darkness has come to light..