Economist Ryan Straughn

Arising from the blogย  The Slide of the Barbados Economy: Pictures Are Worth a Thousand Numbers which utilized several graphs created by Economist Ryan Straughn, BU reached out to him via Facebook to get feedback on the several comments posted. Although he is not a fan of BU, to his credit, he offered the following perspective which provides food for thought.

I just spent the last 20 minutes wading through the post you sent. From what I gather from the contributions there seems to be a notion that either the data is corrupt or worse that I am corrupt. I can appreciate that a significant number of persons in Barbados genuinely don’t understand how the macroeconomy works in total and particularly how the public finances are affected or how it affects the system.

I must confess that I seldom read your blog because in my view it’s not a place for person truly seeking information and better understanding. I’m just a messenger but the message is in those charts for those who wishes to pay attention.

What is most unfortunate is that there is a 1-to-1 correspondence change in fiscal management and the change in government in 2008. I’m no psychologist but given that the electorate voted significantly for change there is a reluctance on their respective parts to accept responsibility for their own actions. Hence the questioning of data and of anyone that forces them to reflect on the choices they made. Further, this inhibits rational thinking and fosters inaction and all the while things are getting progressively worse because of it.

I saw a reference about bringing things to book and I smile every time I hear someone make reference to that. All public debt is recorded but what is admittedly messy is how it is classified. A few statutory corporations are able to service debt from their revenue and as such don’t require a transfer from central government to do such. It has been a longstanding debate amongst economic practitioners about how to classify public sector debt and particular that which central government is responsible for. Now government has a fiduciary responsibility for all public institutions and as such could be held responsible for all liabilities. My view is that once any institution is servicing debt on it own then that liability should be classified separately from central government. The long and short of it is that all debt however classified is recorded and provisions are made for its service. Therefore the notion of “bringing things to book” may score points amongst those who genuinely don’t understand how debt service works. As I said before, not enough people take the time to understand these things.

I’ll end by saying something as I said it to other economists very recently.

There are times when you cannot keep your job and put alternative explanations for data on the table“.

163 responses to “Economist Ryan Straughn Sees the Need for More Barbadians to Understand How the Macroeconomy Works”

1. Noooo! I am saying debate is good, even the ‘independent’ view is biased.

2. PM Stuart has got to be the coolest cat in town! Nothing requires an urgent response. For him there is nothing new under the sun so be cool all will be well.

It should be clear that a social and economic “hurricane” is heading our way. Money is already moving offshore. The word among those in financial circles is that devaluation will occur before the middle of next year.

3. @enuff

In the context of the discussion we are separating biase as defined by politically partisan.

4. Who in their right minds votes for the nonsense ac posts on BU?

ac, do like me, you do NOT have to comment on every thread……….especially when you know nothing of the subject being discussed. Do that for your own sake, I beg you.

5. BU addicts like u prodigal not only vote but looks forward to what ac says. BTW are u in your right mind after all it is obvius that u read ac comments.nincoompoop

6. Ryan straughan comes up with agraph with plenty highs and lows in reference to the expenditure of the barbados economy .The graphs does not expose the nature of How Where and how the money is spent but the BLP yardfowls jump on the paling like chicken wid their heads cut off “crying the sky is falling. now comes/ along the wayward chilld gladitor of the BLP one prodigal tell ac what ! and when to say. Negro u be the last as.. hole on this planet to tell ac what to do. now go get a f…king life

7. Surprise, surprise ac, I dont, I read the comments of people rebuffing you!

8. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

FROM FACEBOOK:

“On my mind is football. The political kind. Check this: A few weeks ago the kick up was that 40 postmen were sent home. The BLP had all their yard fowls out kicking wildly and furiously. Come September 30 2013, 212 employees of LIME will go home- not a word from BLP. I wonder what football has to do with their silence?

The government extends the unemployment benefits for all recipients who wish to be retrained or skilled in other areas. So take for instance the post men. I was reading recently that by 2020 the job of mail deliverer will be one that will no longer exist in developed countries. So if I were in that job, I would be earnestly looking for a skill. Technology like Skype, cellphones, email etc have reduced the capacity of mail substantially and continue to do so. The older people who buy postcards and write letters are dying. The companies that mail bills are seeking every day to encourage you to pay online.”

Irene Sandiford-Garner

9. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926-2013 AND SEE MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS Avatar
    PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926-2013 AND SEE MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS

Economist Ryan Straughn @ Someone tell this man to redo his numbers base on the 2 POST. Lets see his NUMBER with the Massive Fraud of Violet Beckles added ,

There have to be a reason and FACTS TO THIS MESS. THIS PONZI WILL FOR EVER TAKE MONEY AND EVEN MORE TAXES BEFORE A WAR STARTS ,,, REDO YOUR NUMBER WITH TRUTH. TELL THE PEOPLE THE TRUTH , LONG TALK SEEM TO BE GETTING LONGER .

10. U such a mudder fu..king jerk and bad as..s liar to boot. how de f u respond if u dont read ac comments i have to hold my nose to respond to u . dumb a..ss sound.like the jerk straughan who sayus he does not read BU but can comment on whether the information on BU is good or u BLP yardfowls got one thing in common bunch of lowdown hypocrites. fuc..k now u got to take my abuse cause if you respond that would make u one bold faced liar .however i know u going to vote. HA! HA! making u a two faced liar.

11. Clarrion to the bandit chaser,

Here is why no one has said a word which by the way is a lie:

No one at LIME ever promised that not a single worker would be laid off. Your party has created a climate where businesses are struggling to operate and you have a nerve to equate job losses with football?

Not a LIME worker is sorry, they are getting handsome severance packages, some have been rehired with the new company and the rest who want to study are being offered BDS$10,000 to retrain themselves.

Not like the workers you stupid Dems were sending home even without the pay they earned! Stupid is as stupid does!

Wat we run ISG off BU……

12. Clarrion,

See if you can find a posting on Facebook to cut and paste to BU where the s
    Senator speaks on Tourism…a position to which she has been appointed and is being paid by the taxpayers.

See if there is anything on:

The status of the voucher system
    The status of the BTA and when or if it will still be split in two
    The current state of our arrangement with GOL……how much are we paying and how many passengers are coming monthly
    The status of our debt to advertising agencies and why we do not have any advertising in the markets
    The status of the White paper laid in the House years ago
    The status of the 10 point plan laid out by the MT some weeks ago

We would appreciate any postings at all, if any!!!!!!!!!

13. If it is true that the majority of Barbadians support the DLP historically then I have a problem with saying that Barbadians are sensible people.

Barbadians should support the party that does the best for Barbadians. The Democratic Labour Party is a waste of time and the only thing that they achieved when in Power from the 1971 is to set Barbados back -“de-progress” Barbados , “depress Barbados” and down-grade Barbados and Barbados’s economy.

After all of this people still vote for them. What does that they say about you people. Richie Haynes ditched the DLP and many more ditched the DLP. What is ist about the DLP that people still vote for them. They like people whoo punish them. Black people are conditioned to ‘love ‘ people who treat them BAD !!! –and that is very evident.
    When is the DLP going to do something ‘good’ ?

The DLP has not performed since 1961 /1971
    and people still vote for them. Must be ignorant and foolish sheeple.None more so than the ignorant foolish bewitched people in ST. JOHN !!!! – I IS NOT A BLP operative. I is just a Barbadian wanting the best for Barbados. I is -JUST ASKING –

14. Who is Straughn representing?
    A- the economic society?
    B- the BLP?
    C- himself?
    D- the profession?
    ———————–

The man is a qualified professional who has the right to an opinion and to take a position. If that position does not agree with the DLP government , should the man be denied his right ?

JUST ASKING

Talk yuh talk Ryan !
    You dont have to an operative for any party to talk. It is your RIGHT~~

15. Talk yuh talk Ryan !
    You don’t have to be an operative for any party to talk. It is your RIGHT~~

16. since 2008 the IMF was heading for barbados according to the DLP yardfowls since then an election has come and gone giving the DLP another four years and the IMF has not YET arrive,However since they can’t get the IMF to show up (maybe it is taking too long) they have hired the one armed bandit STRAUGHAN to do what they hope the IMF would do. so he comes along with a graph stretching the entire continent of Africa to strike fear in the hearts of the public who he believes are illiterate jerks, btw wuh happen to mascoll the one who always said that there was no recession. even when all the leading economist worldwide was of a differing opinion. the BLP plan of shock and awe has not work before and it is not going to work now, What the people need are answers not poopycock rubbish prodigal this one fuh you..

17. ac | September 22, 2013 at 6:25 PM

since 2008 the IMF was heading for barbados according to the BLP yardfowls since then an election has come and gone giving the DLP another four years and the IMF has not YET arrive,However since they canโ€™t get the IMF to show up (maybe it is taking too long) they have hired the one armed bandit STRAUGHAN to do what they hope the IMF would do. so he comes along with a graph stretching the entire continent of Africa to strike fear in the hearts of the public who he believes are illiterate jerks, btw wuh happen to mascoll the one who always said that there was no recession. even when all the leading economist worldwide was of a differing opinion. the BLP plan of shock and awe has not work before and it is not going to work now, What the people need are answers not poopycock rubbish prodigal this one fuh you..

18. @ ac
    Woman why don’t you get a grip?
    Have you no shame?
    ..can’t you see that Prodigal is pulling your string…?

No wonder your man headed off to Arizona….

19. @ Inkwell

“The sad thing is that the Government is still persisting in its policy of trying to extract blood from stone (taxes and fees)”

I have been commenting on this “shortcoming” of successive governments on other threads, ad infinitum.

De ole man does ramble alot and so i have great respect for people who can say what needs to be said in a few words.

I too am not an economist but, like Bush Tea, i think that i can reason a little

I would like someone to give me some raw statistics where the revenues of this country from industries other than sugar cane and tourism, were increasing under the previous BLP administration.

If these two staples of the Barbadian economy were going to nose dive as they did, “due to global recession”, irrespective of which government was/is in power, i would ask any one of these economists, inclusive of Seethru, the greatest economist of all, to show me where, during their administration, there was a steady growth of these industries.

Someone needs to direct this ole man how, in the shrinking of 2 mainstays of the economy, with an existing expenditure of x, BOT, BOLTS to services and Bajan BOTSIES to feed, clothe and house, how the other clowns, the BLP, (“these clowns” refers to the DLP, lest you get confused) were going to service these debt payments??

Surely the statistics at 2008 would show how other prospects were en train, or on the horizon, re increases in economic activity and investments etc.

If such was/is the case surely records could be produced by the various “pretenders to the throne” (including the most recent pretender David Commissiong) to show how this was being done?

20. @ AC

It is becoming more evident from your threads that you are somewhat bitter from recent “happenings”

Your decidedly disjointed writings have become more so and the BU community while understandably, not concerned, have remarked on the increased lack of connectivity, (increase) spelling errors, (increased) dysfunctional grammar and cuss word usage to all and sundry as in “hell hath no fury like a woman scorned”

Were it not for the fact that i am betrothed and, am in BU cyberspace, besotted by another, Islandgirl 246 (who others vie for – the Bushie etc of the mottley crew, note the lower case adjectival term not to be confused with the noun and surname) I would “rise” to the occasion, but unfortunately, I love another and cannot give you solace.

Take time to read what you write and, with time, (while i seriously doubt it) the single supporter who ascribes you “very poor” ratings might even increase that marking system.

In fact, i must admit that i recently have been cursorily examining your submissions and automatically ticking you poor, WITHOUT really reading them.

Now, before you start your customary diatribes, i would caution you, as i have done with Cocky Locky, that cussing an octogenarian is not too good since, when i pass i may remember your unkindness and “DREAM U” and push you off your bed or do other things to you while you sleep.

@David[BU] i couldn’t help myself LOL

Baffy, call de police, de ole man making seemingly, untoward suggestions to a female blogger

ISG246, and latterly Smooth Chocolate, forgive me dis indiscretion

Bush Tea dont be caught lingering out by my cybergirlfriend(s)

21. @PDYR

I rather NOT!

22. “We were on a โ€˜spend trendโ€™ now since the 1990โ€ฒs and what happened after 2008 is to a large extent the price of fuel which went from $40 a barrel to $ 100 and a change in the methodology of accounting. The Idiocy of government has been a continuum.”

Sorry, Bush Tea, I was not one of the two readers who gave you five stars for that post because it does not stand up to scrutiny. The Central Bank report, Table 4,”Summary of Government Expenses” (not Straughn’s graph) details where it got revenue and how it spent it during the period 2004 to 2012. Show me where in these figures the price of fuel was responsible “to a large extent” for the post 2008 Government spending.

If you want to tell me that “Transfers and subsidies to public institutions are to Transport Board, BWA, Sanitation etc, show me where they were previously accounted for and reported. And do not come telling me that they were not accounted for and reported. And you must also explain the $1 billion in grants to individuals which started in 2008. Is this where to increase in cost of oil is reflected? I don’t think so. I am not an expert. I am simply seeking an explanation, which as a taxpayer who is now being asked to suck salt, I think I am entitled.

Your claim also that “we were on a โ€˜spend trendโ€™ now since the 1990โ€ฒs” does not stand up to scrutiny. From 1955 to 2008 with a few exceptions, each year’s current expenditure was restricted to a level within Government’s revenue, including the current expenditure related to BOLTs, but since 2008 that has not been the case. Massive spending over revenue has occurred consistently and if you continue to impugn the integrity of the professionals at the Central Bank by suggesting that they “gerrymandered” official bank statistics, you may have a libel suit on your hands, in addition to the egg now on your face.

Don’t let me have to put you in the same category as ac.

23. The following document published in 2008 PUBLIC DEBT SUSTAINABILITY IN THE CARIBBEAN by the United Nations gives a deep analysis of debt in Barbados and a few other countries.
    http://www.eclac.org/publicaciones/xml/1/34431/L.175.pdf

24. LOL @ David
    That document fell off a truck or some schoolchildren left it your gate this morning…? ๐Ÿ™‚

Interesting that such excellent analysis is done and generally then only held by the same foolish politicians who don’t read it; won’t understand it even if they did; and would ignore it even then.

Tell Inkwell that according to that ECLAC research, in 2006 Barbados had a debt to GDP ratio of 88% where the MAXIMUM sustainable limit was known to be 40%.

Ask him if that is not a “spent trend” then what is…?

Ask him… if a trend is set of paying for all kinds of freeness, and then the PRICE OF OIL rises from $36 per barrel to $98 per barrel – WITH OBVIOUS INCREASES IN PRACTICALLY ALL AREAS OF FREENESS….. if he would not EXPECT to see a 200% rise in EXPENDITURE just to keep the same level of freeness.

Finally, ask INKWELL if the system of accounting was then CHANGED in 2008 if he would expect to be able to follow simplistic trends by just looking at the numbers detailed?

That report actually sets performance TARGETS for sustainability and does it in a scientific way.
    WHY WERE THESE GUIDELINES IGNORED BY OUR BRILLIANT ECONOMISTS?

Why have not successive OPPOSITION parties sought to have the targets followed?

Why are our UWI gurus not harping on this research and educating the public on what is needed for our sustainability?

…..even for brass bowls, this is a new nadir…..

25. Bush Tea………..you said it yourself and answered your own question quite early in the analysis:

“Interesting that such excellent analysis is done and generally then only held by the same foolish politicians who donโ€™t read it; wonโ€™t understand it even if they did; and would ignore it even then.”

The only thing i am surprised about is that the usual suspects, ac, ccc and ross can’t find the words to jump on you yet, having said that, the IMF/WORLD BANK/CHARLIE SKEETE/ STANDARD AND POORS. MOODY’S etc, etc, DID also have this information at their disposal and DID warn both BLP and DLP governments since around 2006, i knew about all this stuff and spoke to a few people in Bim and was promptly cussed.

26. Bush Tea several documents can be found with a google search. It is no secret that International financial institutions have been warning Barbadians and ou governments about our increasing debt burden and weak governence practices as it relates to insurance, credit unions for example. The question therefore is why would the DLP since 2008 exacerbate the trend in contracting and unfavorable global economic conditions.

27. The question therefore is why would the DLP since 2008 exacerbate the trend in contracting and unfavorable global economic conditions.David,

You shouldn’t embarrass BT by asking questions he finds it inconvenient to answer.

28. There is no doubt that there is ballooning debt . inkwell u seem determined to conclude that this massive debt was excaberated and accumulated by present govt without factoring in cause . the BLP yarfowls are truly in indeed “Masters of PERCEPTION. however the populace would not be fooled.

29. RU4REAL Inkwell?
    Bushie embarrassed to answer?
    Wuh that question is rhetorical… Because they are a bunch of brass bowls.

As Bushie has tried to explain OVER AND OVER to inkwell, BOTH the BLP AND the DLP have shown themselves to be just like most of the rest of us Bajans….Bowls of Brass!!

Those jokers came in and found the BLP bribing Bajan voters with GIMME dis and GIMME dat.
    Free school books
    Free health care
    Free education
    Free tax credits
    Free welfare

So they came and back raised the freeness with
    Free Bus fares
    Free houses
    Free every shiite….

…meanwhile the world experiences a 300% increase in FUEL….a basic input into EVERYTHING.

The result is obvious…especially where we have a bunch of mendicants like Commisiong and his ilk who actually BELIEVE that such freeness is some kind of constitutional RIGHT!!!!
    WTF(rance)…….

This whole shiite started when Henry Forde REFUSED to take his rightful place and deferred to a man who admitted that he could not otherwise maintain gainful employment….and has continued with Thompson who sold his soul to CLICO in pursuit of his life dream and now Stuart who is as much a ‘leader’ as Inkwell is competent to challenge Bushie…..

Bunch of Brass Bowls…leading brass bowls …..

30. @Bush Tea

To bring you last comment to point, it begs the question why we have not seen a relevant response to the hike in oil price. Yes the RE strategy is being rolled out but this is medium term. Can we do more to attack food and oil import bill? The answer is probably no.

31. @ David
    This is what Bushie has been trying to say…
    Your FUEL cost ALONE goes up by $400M in two years (This is $400M MORE for the SAME DAMN FUEL YOU PURCHASED BEFORE)…not to mention that EVERY SHIITE else has ALSO gone up in price – from food to toilet paper….

…and these nincompoops respond with a budget that AVOIDS touching Gas prices, Car imports, energy consumption….

Avoids discussing the need for INCREASED PRODUCTIVITY

Avoids discussing COLLECTIVE belt-tightening

…. they just institute some reactive cuts…..BADLY!!

And the BLP is NO BETTER.
    NO counter plan
    No critical analysis
    No Damn VISION.

Brass bowls….!

32. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Bush Tea

Reasoned statements such as yours make illiterate people like me smile as to how you are able to put all the economic bibber gibber in lay and talk

I unfortunately am a very crude fellow, devoid of such upbringing and only by association with the madam given any leeway or welcome.

The labia of a young girl.

Perfect symmetry on either side are quite easily likened to the mirrored incompetency of the BLP AND THE DLP on either side of the divide, c*nt lips that every five years bring new labial folds of equal symmetry to us c*nt hairs that so diligently surround these female rabbits

For the most part labias are romped upon by “appendages” real or artificial (I did not say mottley) and, in the case on we the Bajan people, we are being f*c*ed royally and continue like obedient labias to open ourselves for such carnal usage every 5 years

Cannon to the right of them, cannon to the left of them…….

33. Bush Tea,

My only point of disagreement with you is your contention that previous administrations managed the country’s finances in the same way as the current administrations. The facts say otherwise. You can have the last word.

34. Good that we are seeing a convergence of opinion Inky…. ๐Ÿ™‚

The only difference in the methodologies between B & D has been the availability of money to waste.
    One wasted it in the time of plenty
    The next one – in the time of famine….

What do they have in common…?
    BRASS.

35. AC my friend i would not dignify your reference to me as a yardfowl with a response but i would remind you that the Book of the Apocrypha cautions that ‘Salt and Sand and a mass of Iron is easier to bear than a woman without understanding’. Fool, Fool that thou art; i graciously besought of you to tell me one favourable policy implemented by this administration to improve the country during their term of office and you respond with things they did not do. Your answer indeed speaks volumes of your understanding. We all know that they promised much and delivered little.

36. “ONE WASTED IT IN TIME OF PLENTY”

BUSHIE while i might not agree with all of your views, your comments generally come over as wellreasoned, thoughtproviking and most importantly genuine.
    Perhaps you can help me in identifying the time of this time of plenty and what informed the coining of the phrase.

37. See u balance u are not being dishonest ur question ” what has the DLP done that has been favourable to the country” nothing about implementation of any new policies. ac answered accordingly U guys really tek people for jerks. Now let me ask u what vision did the BLP have in the forteen years for implementing policiies that would have sustain and maintain the growth of this country in hard economic times

38. @ balance
    Many of us may have missed it by virtue of the fact that we actually LIVED through the period…..but Bushie would argue that the period in history from about 1990 to about 2006 will likely be recorded in history as the period of the greatest accumulation of global wealth in the entire history of mankind.

Even in Bushie’s early childhood, it would have been TOTALLY in-comprehensive to even contemplate the level of affluence that we now see and take for granted in Barbados (and across much of our world).

Practically everyone who wants one – owns a car
    Practically everyone who wants to have travelled
    Every Tom Dick and Harriette carries mobile communication capabilities…..it is breath – taking for a bushman who did not have two red cents to rub together back even in the seventies….

As a country we could build billion dollar projects, import unlimited automobiles, and buy any amount of fossil fuels and even basic food…

…and all this with hardly any serious WORK…!!!

Shiite man! If THAT was not a “time of plenty” what possibly could be…? ๐Ÿ™‚

39. ac……you need a little break, your last comment was even more confusing than usual, i heard that your party is now on pins on needles, things are unraveling too fast and furious, but you cannot let that damage your mental faculties, we would not want to hear you have been institutionalized.

40. “Many of us may have missed it by virtue of the fact that we actually LIVED through the periodโ€ฆ..but Bushie would argue that the period in history from about 1990 to about 2006 will likely be recorded in history as the period of the greatest accumulation of global wealth in the entire history of mankind”

Your comment seems to suggest you are speaking from a Global perspective and by extension we would have benefitted from the crumbs which fell from the table of the Global boom.

The question is whether the benefits were translated to the improvement in the standard of living in the country.

I suppose we might have to agree to disagree but methinks yes.

Certainly for me I thought it nothing short of an economic miracle that so soon after the devastating economic crisis of 1991; from 1995 onwards to 2008 there was more disposable income in my pocket. Something akin to the period 69-73 and 82 to 86 even though the impact of the oil crisis in the early 70’s and the standby arrangement with the IMP in 81 was not as harsh.

What has made the difference in seeing light at the end of the tunnel in those time as opposed to now was decisive leadership.

41. balance maybe u had ajob and was one of them who feast off the fatted lamb.hence the disposable income, so why are you crying! why aren’t u prepared to share some of your fortunes from the good old days to help, your countrymen. why are you so hell bent on asking the govt to continue a lifestyle of freenes to those like your self who have benefited from the good ole days .. i know your granma would be ashamed of you.

42. Come on balance.
    What made the difference was that those recessions ended, and crumbs from the global tables started falling again.
    What leadership what?
    What creative initiatives did we launch?
    What long term strategic moves did we make?

Man all we did was borrow and spend….something at which any brass bowl can excel.
    Now there is no more money left; no easy loans to be had; and no more crumbs falling…..and our behinds are totally exposed…..

And our collective “leadership” is shown for what it REALLY is…

43. Noticed in today’s Nation that the leader par excellence informed Torontonians that he expects that the Government will be able to meet the objectives of the budget without laying off any staff. That is very good news. However, it raises serious questions of brassbowlery on the part of the senior public servants and the MoF and perhaps even the Gov CB who were all singing an entirely different tune just a month or so ago.

Wonder if he were in any another country where his unspoken words surely suggested the grossest incompetence of his officers across the board, if he would not have found the resignation letters of a few Ministers, the GCB, several PSes, nuff Analysts and the whole Budget Department of the Ministry of Finance on his desk on his return.

Did he really understand the full import (to any thinking individual) of what he was saying? But you know all of dem will laugh it off and blithely present new data where activities based on non-personnel expenditure grinds to a total halt in the next few weeks and the IMF comes calling a few months earlier than expected.

Will someone tell him to go back to sleep. T’were better for the country.

44. @Bush Tea “Thompson who sold his soul to CLICO in pursuit of his life dream”

What shall it profit a man, if he shall gain the whole world, and lose his own soul?
    Mark 8:36

45. @lighthouse

The leaders need to speak to their charges and guide them how to cut personal expenditure. Such programmes should be abundant on television nowadays.

You said a mouthful!

@checkit-out

The cuts have started, 50 Rayside people gone home from the private sector and acting allowance gone. BU has stated we understand that cuts have to come, the government is broke. What is missing is the lack of proper communication coming from government as to its plan. it spells of dishonesty and chicanery.

46. Balance and Bushtea;
    A most edifying debate on the origins of our current economic situation. Extremely good points on both sides.

But, Fuh my one-one on the question of leadership in the times of plenty and now, I would have to agree with balance. Bushtea tell us in which country in the west, before the American led assault on world financing, was there enlightened non brassbowl leadership. Tell us which country in the west restructured its economy during their years of relative plenty and held strain to save up and tighten up on its citizenship when the false horizons were suggesting that there would be a steady state of the then current good conditions? Which country eschewed satisfying the now obvious ridiculous wants of its citizens for wider access to the goods of conspicuous consumption?

On your analysis the leaders of all our western countries were brassbowls. Should they have acted as if they were in China or India and seek only to provide plentiously for their established rich classes? Why do you think that Barbados should have been different?

Re. the current lot. Their sin was that they came in when the rot was already obvious and spreading and they did absolutely nothing to stop it and rebound. Those are the true brassbowls imho.

47. Wait ..this is some kind of tag team thing now…?
    Bushie barely survived an assault from Inkwell, narrowly edged pass open warfare from balance and now the big gun ‘Checkit-out’ come in for the pin? ๐Ÿ™‚
    ….careful yuh ….Bushie had a good deep sleep last night… LOL

Checkit, it is NOT a defence – when Bushie argues that our leaders are, and have been for some time, brass bowls – to counter that ALL the other leaders from the western world are, and also were ……

If you agree with balance that it was astute leadership that saved us in previous difficult situations, please help him to recall some of the brilliant strategies and creative solutions that they would have employed to do so….

Bushie agrees that this lot’s sin was to come in at a VERY bad time with NO IDEA of how to respond effectively.
    Their brass bowlery was in allowing themselves to be put on such a position.

BTW…can you honestly outline any strategy that would be guaranteed to address the challenges that governments (globally) currently face?
    THE REALITY is that our world is TERMINALLY ILL and is currently confined to its death bed.
    Even GP can’t help…. LOL

48. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ checkit-out | September 24, 2013 at 6:57 AM |
    “Re. the current lot. Their sin was that they came in when the rot was already obvious and spreading and they did absolutely nothing to stop it and rebound. Those are the true brassbowls imho.”

Well argued, checkit-out!
    Now let’s see how Bush Tea either circumvents the issue by not responding or inveigles his way out of the brass bowl he finds himself entrapped. LOL!!

What can also be said is that the current lot of the brass bowls marked โ€œDโ€ seem to be much more incompetent than those brass bowls marked โ€œBโ€.

Just look at the recent announcement of the Minister of Finance and the Guv of the CBB linking up to be on a road show in London and USA to attract FDI to Bim. Isnโ€™t the Minister of International Business more crucially important in this area of his expertise?
    One wonders if Minister Inniss has washed his hands of any thing relating to foreign investment or finance.

What is the position with the US$500 million bond flotation to shore up the foreign reserves and reschedule debt? What about the financing of the myriad projects announced in the budgets of last year and this year?

49. BUSHIE another statement which boggles my mind is the one which laments the purported NON-RESTRUCTURING OF THE ECONOMY IN TIMES OF PLENTY.
    My first question would be – What is meant by re-structuring of the economy especially one like ours as we all agree dependent on the crumbs which fall from the global table ?
    How will we embark on this prpolicy of restructuring?

50. It’s very trouble-free to find out any topic on net as compared to books, as I
    found this piece of writing at this web page.