Submitted Mark Mackie
BSS
Barbados Statistical Service (BSS)

Where are our Population and Housing Census Data?

First off the 2010 Population and Housing Census exercise was never drafted in the correct way in regards to planning.  The entire exercise was ill conceived and as a result cannot bear any fruit or in this case proper Data.  Where committees should have been set up to handle different aspects of the exercise only one person ruled supreme. Believe it or not, some of the same mistakes that were made in the 2000 Housing and Population Census came back to haunt the department for the 2010 exercise.

In addition to this some of the qualified personnel who might have moved on to greener pastures were never invited to be part of this. There was never a training manual and and as such the enumerators did not have anything to go by. For that matter not even the trainers had anything to go by. As such it can be seen as every module was done in an Ad Hoc way. The entire system seem to be ‘play by ear or we will cross that bridge when we get to it’.

The entire exercise was placed in the incompetent hands of Mr David who for the most part could not care less if the exercise was successful or not. He refused to take advice and as such decided he was going to be the chief cook and bottle washer in essence he was and still is a micro manager. He was in charge of choosing who should be part of the exercise and who should not be. He took up the role of ordering supplies down to toilet paper. He was the accountant and as such was responsible for accounts payable and receivables. He decided who would earn what at the end and who should not earn.

The definition of what a micro manger is clearly fits him. My question to him is how are you processing information from enumerators who you were aware was “cooking” the information and still included and paid those persons. Are the Government and People of Barbados  aware of how many households that were not interviewed but data are in the system for them? What about the supervisors that up to months after the census was over could still be found with documents at their homes to be handed in but yet the enumerators paid.

Of all the Censuses the department have undertaken over the years this one is and will be for years to come very questionable in regards to reliability and soundness of the data. Never has there been so much data editing and still nothing to show. Is the Prime Minister aware of the fact that the planning stages of  these censuses usually begin 5 years prior to the start which is 2 years away and we haven’t even gotten results in any form or fashion for the last one.

The past and current Directors are not without fault either because staff members were protesting the way everything were being done. The feed back was always the same which was ‘he knows what he is doing’ meaning Mr David who at one time had about three titles. These being Senior Statistician, Census Coordinator and Deputy Director. Is it not a small wonder why he can’t get anything done. As for the current Director, his approach to seeing this come to an end is that of a hands off one. He is such a great boss that he even allowed Mr. David to go overseas on several occasions with Canada being the most recent while the Government and People of Barbados are made to wait even longer. It seems as though the horse is out of the stable so it makes no sense trying to contain it now.

After several promises, Monday June 17, was suppose to be the release date but we all knew that would have been a joke and as such treated that date like all others. Incidentally, the Census Coordinator has finally started to try to shift blame for the short coming of the exercise by accusing other persons but himself. What I suggest is that the Government and people of Barbados await the 2020 Population and Housing Census with the hope that the integrity of the data will be there once again. What ever results that come out of this exercise can be thrown out with the bath water.

40 responses to “Dottin Gone, What About the Director and Deputy Director of the Barbados Statistical Department?”

1. @David:Things are so serious these days here is something lighter for the BU crew, especially those in tourism. I keep telling the tourism planners to mske use of Rihanna’s populatiry; I see Couples Hotels are using her. Use her especially to entice the younger people.:
    recognising that we have different talents, I encourage all of us to use those talents to benefit the brothers and sisters in need of a helping hand or voice. Let us help our country since that has a greater sense of permanence than affiliation to a political party. .

2. Rihanna’s new MAC line has landed

Rihanna’s new MAC line has landed
    by lisaparavisini

Bold, punchy and summer-ready, Ri’s latest make-up offering is hot property—or so starlounge.co.uk tells us. O frabjous day! Callooh! Callay!

Calling all make-up junkies!

Rihanna has teamed up with MAC Cosmetics for a second time to create a new batch of beauty products for her exclusive line, RiRi ♥ M∙A∙C.

Not only is she bringing back the hotly anticipated lipstick RiRi Woo (which sold out in a whizz-quick 3 hours first time around) but the Barbadian beauty has created four new girly goodies to add to the summer collection.

Two new glossy lipsticks are at the ready to enrich your lips – RiRi Boy, a luscious lavender shade, and Heaux, a matte berry-coloured creation – as well as rose gold liquid bronzer Lustre Drops in Barbados Girl and powder blush duo Hibiscus Kiss.

We’re almost certain Rihanna’s new offerings will sell out in super quick time if the last launch was anything to go by, so prepare to pretty up like the popstar herself, pronto, by getting your hands on her limited edition exclusively online at http://www.maccosmetics.co.uk.
    lisaparavisini | June 20, 2013 at 7:30 am | Tags: MAC contract, makeup, Rihanna | Categories: News | URL: http://wp.me/psnTa-fC0

Bold, punchy and summer-ready, Ri’s latest make-up offering is hot property—or so starlounge.co.uk tells us. O frabjous day! Callooh! Callay!

Calling all make-up junkies!

Rihanna has teamed up with MAC Cosmetics for a second time to create a new batch of beauty products for her exclusive line, RiRi ♥ M∙A∙C.

Not only is she bringing back the hotly anticipated lipstick RiRi Woo (which sold out in a whizz-quick 3 hours first time around) but the Barbadian beauty has created four new girly goodies to add to the summer collection.

Two new glossy lipsticks are at the ready to enrich your lips – RiRi Boy, a luscious lavender shade, and Heaux, a matte berry-coloured creation – as well as rose gold liquid bronzer Lustre Drops in Barbados Girl and powder blush duo Hibiscus Kiss.

We’re almost certain Rihanna’s new offerings will sell out in super quick time if the last launch was anything to go by, so prepare to pretty up like the popstar herself, pronto, by getting your hands on her limited edition exclusively online at http://www.maccosmetics.co.uk.
    lisaparavisini | June 20, 2013 at 7:30 am | Tags: MAC contract, makeup, Rihanna | Categories: News | URL: http://wp.me/psnTa-fC0

3. @David
    Sorry about the double thing here. Iwas not sure tha copy from the original posting had been inserted so i did it a second time. the comments support what I have been trying Adrian and other people from the tourism section. Rihanna is hot property and should be used in every way to promote the island. I am sure that if Hoteliers, and other business people use her it will increasee the visitors to the island. She is a comet, burning bright at the moment, but comets lose their lustre at some time. Discuss with her managers in the ways she can be utilixed. Sieze the moment

4. Who are the Directors at the Statistical Service?

5. I was just reading an old post about Immigration and the attitudes of officers and civil servants on the hold….
    With the exit of the CoP and the nudging by commentators for the exit of others we the members of the Immigration Department plead with the prime minister to take a good and deep look into the goings on at this department.
    Tell us why should the Chief Immigration Officer, who has so many vacation days available and is about loose some, only allow to take a mere 24 days.
    Tell us why the career officers are not allowed to make decisions and everything, everything have to go through her, even the most mundane things, and thus having a great back log of files, to wit, she then blames the officers of being tardy.
    Don’t these actions, which really are only two of the many problems facing the officers at this department. No clear guidelines and being second guessed at every turn. The moral there is below the pits. Send Erine Griffith on leave.

6. What about the management of housing? At the end of the PAC will they be asked to resign?

7. PS Ronald Bascombe will likely be the fallguy.

8. Perhaps we should compile a list of those we would like to see with crack heads.
    Whoever is in charge of the Barbados Ambulance Service, should be dottined immediately.

9. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Colonel Buggy | June 21, 2013 at 11:01 PM
    “Whoever is in charge of the Barbados Ambulance Service, should be dottined immediately.”

“Dottined”! You have coined a word there, Colonel. You better lay claim to your intellectual property rights to its sole use unless with your specific approval. We now have our own Bajan ‘Spooner’ aka Colonel Buggy.

After all, if people could claim to have ‘copyrighted’ the word “Baje”
    there certainly can’t be any objection to you doing the same to your baby “dottined”

From henceforth the term to “dottin” a person is to remove by political machinations a top official from office in a banana republic who is alleged to have become ‘dotish’ on the job.

10. Miller

I promise that I will never say this to the likes of you again .. with respect, Shut ta fuXk up, aight .!

11. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ BAFBFP | June 22, 2013 at 1:47 AM |

Why? What has the miller written to upset the big bad BAF Almighty? I am not a sheep you, know! Please don’t send down one of your thunderbolts.
    You think you are the only one with the licence to talk shite or has the title “shit talker” copyrighted?

Carl Moore said he would like to see more humour on the blog to lighten up things a bit. What’s wrong with that, sourpuss? Where is your previous sense of humour; loss to the recession?

Dennis Johnson would not be impressed with you, Baffy boy!

12. @ Miller
    …go and take your tablets do….it is past eight o’clock.

@ Colonel
    Excellent word, and even better proposal.
    It is SOOOOOOO simple.
    If you are in charge of a failing enterprise you should be Dottined.

…actually this is the most basic business rule for success.

If we applied this rule from now and say we dottined 4 brass bowls (and we can close our eyes and do this accurately)
    The IMMEDIATE RESULT is that the other FRIGHTENED BRASS BOWLS would suddenly start looking within their organizations for the CAUSES of their failures and have THEM dottined BEFORE The Gystone Mayers (another old cohort of Caswell) of this world have them dottined.

Suddenly, things will START TO WORK…..

13. Georgie Porgie Avatar

Bush Tea
    Set up a department of dottining and give me the job as dottiner for 1 year

14. LOL @ GP
    You won’t need a whole year…. 🙂

15. Georgie Porgie Avatar

BUSHIE
    YOU AINT EASY
    I WILL BE FINISHED LONG BEFORE THAT
    BUT I NEED AN EXTRA BERRY MAN

16. …..and don’t you think that Bushie would be forced to dottin you after the eight weeks it would take you…?

17. Director of Barbados Statistical Service = Aubrey “Passive” Browne
    Deputy Director = Trevor “The Bully” David
    Wannabe Director and Deputy Director = Denise “In your business” Haddock

18. Coming soon……”How Trevor David sabotaged the 2013 Population and Housing Census.

19. My Question to the Government and People of Barbados is….’Is there going to be an inquiry concerning the gross inefficiencies and lack of leadership and planning surrounding the 2013 Hosing and Population Census?’

20. My Cambridge might or might not be good at what he does but Mr. David there is no amount of press releases from the damage control engine that’s going to save you. We are tired of you anyway.

21. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ David [BU]

Looka whu you gone en do?

Evey place I look whistleblowers.

NHC, Statistical Services, Coastal Unit, immigration Department man we in Barbadus really living in a real cess pool.

Erine Griffith at Immigration should really go home but that would mean that the Minister for Home Affairs would have to have balls. You may want to start a thread on that one, there are a lot of skeletons there that need airing.

I wish that Barbados could make whistle blowing a paid activity like Amercuh en I wid want tuh be de president uh de Barbadus Whstleblower Association and I doan w ant Caswell pun my association causing he gine want tuh be president too en dere can only be one uh we.

I did gine mek Baffy Vice President en ting but he cuss my hero the Anunnaki en I be. Wid he especially causing he bring de Lodge name to disrepute

22. @Mark Mackie

Are you able to say if the other stats prepared by the BSS are being compromised?

23. What I can tell you is that some are questionable and the Central Bank might have been on to something with the controversy they had with the BSS but they backed off. One must wonder why.

24. @Mark Mackie

You need (if you are able) to substantiate such a serious position.

25. Currently the department is a haven for misfits and used as a dumping ground by Personnel Administration Division. If you knew how many Alcoholics, gamblers and mentally deranged person that are constantly being dumped there then you why understand why the data is so questionable. Currently there is a Mr Richard Cox there that is so intoxicated during the day from as early as 8.45. The thing is, the Director and Deputy Director and all staff for that matter are aware but do nothing. Maybe it’s because his father is a Permanent Secretary that we are made to baby sit him. This speaks to the integrity of the place because Mr Cox gets a sterling report from Mr Estwick and signed off by Mr Browne even though the lad is at his desk less than 2 hours in any one day. Don’t worry though cause he can be found over by Super Centre Warrens or One Accord Plaza having a few bottles of Heineken beer. I average about a dozen or so a day based upon the six or more trips he makes plus the fact that he hits them two at a time. I wish my parents were big up too so I could do as I like as well. Would you believe he works in the Accounts Section/Personnel. Go figure!

26. @Mark Mackie

Are you saying Cox is the PS with responsibility for the BSS? If not who?

27. Cox is not the PS for the BSS but his son works there who goes by the name of Richard Cox. The department is forced to baby sit him because of his mental issue and alcohol problem.

28. The Dummy @ Dumo Avatar
    The Dummy @ Dumo

Maybe you could pay a tribute to Sir Richard on his passing. There are lot of good things to about the man and his national contributions.

29. Who is the PS that the BSS reports to?

30. So what will we be discussing today that makes for a juicy story? A blogger wrote above about some places being a cess pool well BSS has it’s own set of dirt. Let me see…..(1) Paula Watson in everyone’s business but can’t manage the inheritance and now back to the bus. (2) Denise Haddock in everyone’s business but can’t keep Hazel Blenman in check so got to share him with the women both on and off the job. (3) Carla Parris sharing Shawn Skinner with Nicola Leslie and Melissa Nicholls with a few are women known and unknown in the office and outside. That boy can get around. (4) Shawn looking to defraud the government by undervaluing the importation of cars. They might have gotten him this time with the Subaru Legacy to bad the other people involved in his scam might get away clear. (4) Michelle Braithwaite getting beat up and put out of the man house. (5) Juliette Husbands driving around a Black Rav 4 Reg SA 2244 which suppose to be that of a returning national but she owns it and trying to beat the system. I wonder if Customs looking into that. (6) Is Mr. Chase still tiling when he suppose to be at work? (7) I wonder if Adrian Nurse will find more time to be at work after his sick leaves ends. (8) who else………? To continued!!!!!!!

P.S. I’ll close Mark Mackie Face Book Page now. Thanks!

31. That was very touching yesterday but at least I now have your undivided attention. I guess this time David is interested in what’s developing cause on Friday he was not. J, I really felt your tears but honestly that’s all collateral damage. Either behave all of yourselves or else you’ll feel my wrath and as Arnold said “I’ll be back”. Until!!!!!

32. BU has received messages to censor this blog. We have decided to leave the comments in the public’s interest. All affected by this particular blog are invited to post their view on BU.

33. @David
    BU has received messages to censor this blog. We have decided to leave the comments in the public’s interest.
    What/which public? One of those posts seem to be of pubic interest.

34. Common sense is not common Avatar
    Common sense is not common

This site is getting to be very tasteless and bogged down with trite remarks masquerading as blog articles.For example,that junk posted as an article on reggie hunte.

This site has provided some very good articles in the past but within recent times every sam pooch and his duppy’s silly remark or confused rambling is posted as an article.

I really don’t want to see this site go the way of BFP.

Personally I am sick of adrain loveridge,Hal austin old onion,and other blp propogandist lowering the standard of this blog.
    I have been a strong supporter of adrian in the past but I read nothing he says now,he is very,very,very negative and sees the glass only half full.Simarly hal writes and criticises things here that he has little facts on.
    Looking Glass,Yardbroom,Rosemary Parkinson and the like come to mind.Very Uplifting.

I treat this blog site as a very serious place for the dissemination of information the traditional media would not touch and therefore I am appealing for less of the pro -blp propoganda all day every day- some articles yes,but this is getting a bit much and causing this blog to lose credibility.

35. @Sargeant

If we have civil servants demonstrating a high level of inefficiency and lack of business decorum as described at the BSS don’t you think that it is in he public interest read taxpayers to know bout it?

@Common Sense

We all have our favorites, read yours and let others enjoy same. The birth of BU was in response to the need to give all a voice.

36. Another few weeks in reference to the comments made in the Sun on Saturday on the release of the Census Report. That’s getting kinda old. What more resources are needed? Does Ryan Straughn have any idea what he is talking about when he suggest more resources. Resources was never the problem cause they were always there. The problem was more related to the mismanagement of the resources.

37. An entire unit was commissioned to work specifically on the 2010 Population and Housing Census but was poorly managed. Those are just the facts so don’t try to brush them off as another malicious attempt to pull down the department. Why is this kind of incompetence being handled with kiddy gloves? At least there is proof that it doesn’t stop at this department alone.

38. @Mark Mackie

Be specific about how the resources were/are mismanaged.

39. Sometime ago I promised a list and now the time has come to publish it. Before I do it should be noted the reason for this list. It represents the shareholders of the inefficiencies surrounding the 2010 Population and Housing Census.

Director: Aubrey Browne
    Deputy Director/Census Coordinator: Trevor David
    IT Officer: Dondre Trotman
    IT Officer Census: MaryAnn Bynoe
    Position unknown : Ryan Nurse
    Position unknown : Christopher

These persons need to be investigated before a commission of inquiry and maybe then the truth should come out. Maybe they could explain the huge numbers of persons that were not interviewed or the amount that would have been deleted because of tainted information. If the government can’t find it possible to call for an enquiry maybe the opposition leader can. There is so much dirt to be uncovered surrounding this.

40. We question government decision to lay off workers and the unions are quick to jump in the fray but lay offs are still the way to go in some departments. The Barbados Statistical Department is one such. I say this because of the level of movies and television series that are constantly being watch on a daily basis within that department. Mention should also be made of the games that are being played on the computers during working hours. This level of time wasting travels from the staff at the bottom all the way to the senior statisticians. After this posting they will all be quick to erase the movies, television series and games from their computers. Don’t worry I have pictures on my phone as proof and am willing to come forward if summoned.