Submitted by Andre Jones
Ionics plant was never operated at full capacity according to Auditor General report

Of all the fatted calves in Barbados, the Reverse Osmosis Desalination Facility at Spring Garden owned and operated by Ionics Freshwater Limited is surely the fattest in the herd! This BLP calf delivers BDS$1.9 Million each and every year to its owners in the form of a standby charge billed to the Barbados Water Authority without even a drop of water making its way into the water main system of Barbados. The Auditor General discovered during its recent Special Audit of the Barbados Water Authority that BDS$19Million has already been paid to Ionics as a standby charge and this has nothing to do with the actual price of water produced by the facility and charged to the Barbados Water Authority. There is no doubt Mr. Ralph ‘BIZZY’ Williams and his good friends Hallem Nicholls and Owen Arthur do handsomely well out of this transaction.

This reminds one of the Rime of the Ancient Mariner poem by English poet Samuel Taylor Coleridge written in 1797/98 and published in the first edition of Lyrical Ballads.

See related link: BWAโ€™s Special Audit

Day after day, day after day,

We stuck, nor breathe, nor motion;

As idle a painted ship

Upon a painted ocean

Water, water, every where,

And all the boards did shrink;

Water, water, every where,

Nor any drop to drink.

In 1998, the Barbados Water Authority (then under the control of the BLP Administration) entered into a Build-Own-Operate Agreement with Ionics to build the Reverse Osmosis Desalination Facility at Spring Garden. The Agreement required Ionics to construct, operate, maintain and supply the Barbados Water Authority with 27,000 cubic meters of water capacity per day for a period of fifteen (15) years. Despite the Governments Planning and Priorities Committee requirement to include an option in the agreement for the Barbados Water Authority to purchase the facility at a predetermined price at any given point, the Water Supply Agreement between Ionics and the Barbados Water Authority makes it very very difficult if not virtually impossible for the Barbados Water Authority to ever acquire the facility. The Auditor General also discovered that in addition to the standby charge (free money) of BDS$1.9Million per year Ionics was and probably still is reaping the astronomical rate of return (ROI) of 18% on their investment.

By some estimates the operator Ionics and its shareholders are profiteering to the tune of BDS$10Million each and every year for operating the plant and selling the water to the Barbados Water Authority and if this is correct, one wonders where all those profits finally end up and whether anyone from the previous BLP Administration benefits as well.ย  The attached Report from the Auditor General shines a bit of sunlight onto this nasty, corrupt and clearly one-sided agreement. Is this the kind of privatization the BLP has in mind when they talk about selling Barbados’s interest in state owned enterprises and statutory corporations to private sector?

1. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

The corruption of the Barbados Labour Party just makes me want to vomit.

2. This is a very one sided and misleading post all base on a wide swipe report with no in depth research or analysis.
    I am no fan of Ionics, who operates desalination plants three other Caribbean, but jack must be given his jacket and slimy political garbage that is always wanted to twisted into everything.
    Operating a desalination system is costly though highly efficient. All futuristic cost must be taken into account when commercial RO plants are negotiating long term quantitative sale of their product.
    If the desal company negotiated a minimum requirement that they can break even and give small roi and the weak distribution network is unable to take this minimum who fault is it. Don’t blame Ionics for the distribution flaws of the bwa and the unions.
    If the people that write these post were aware of current affairs, which was not hidden from anyone, then they would not submit such junk but instead with look for things that edify readers of this blog. ,

3. The issue here is whether a 18% ROI is reasonable and why has the BWA not been able to more efficiently distribute its water.

4. if a minimum quantity is negotiated and you dont have the capability to take all, it is quite obvious that you will be paying for something that your are not getting and the company in question getting paid for a product not delivered, that does not mean they have not produce the product.
    BWA distribution is antique and in shambles which needs massive capital funding. In the booming years when a proposal was put forward to upgrade the distribution network with the assistance of private contractors the unions shouted ‘hell no’

5. “The corruption of the Barbados Labour Party just makes me want to vomit.”

Carson you are the vomit of the present administration!

6. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ waterman | November 10, 2012 at 7:00 AM |

On what I gleaned from the report it can be concluded that the major cause of cost and operational inefficiencies is the BWA’s incapacity to store and distribute the treated water. There is nothing wrong with the operator requesting a standby charge if the customer does not meet its demand targets. The capital charge inclusive of the ROI would have been calculated and agreed based on a notional level of output and commensurate demand which the BWA agreed to.

I was of the view that the main reason for the massive increase in water rates was to provide sufficient revenue for the BWA to expand its storage facilities and improve its distribution network. One wonders if Andre Jones would hold the BLP responsible for the under-performance of the BWA since 2008.

BTW, waterman, do you know if the BWA has any options of reducing its electricity bill (one of its largest operational and input costs) or contributing to the reduction at the desalination plant through the generation of its own solar energy to be fed into the national grid? Can the BWA install panels and related solar energy paraphernalia at its stations and other sites owned or leased by the BWA?

7. @waterman

Don’t you think those who negotiated from the government side should have been aware of BWA’s inefficiency? Why would they have agreed to unrealistic distribution capacity?

8. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

The issue here is the taxpayers being carried to the cleaners once again

I take it that that no one cares about the taxpayers?

Another Barbados Labour Party mess.

9. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

I dont care about all standby garbage, my tax money is being wasted and I want it to stop.

Only an ididot would pay for something that he is not getting. I would also risk a bet and not loose it that a lot of those millions of dollars are winding up in the pockets of former Barbados Labour Party ministers up to now.

Would somebody tell me again about “the wonderful job” the corruppt Barbados Labour Party did while in power?

This is a piss poor contract!!!!!

10. Another weak attempt to create a winning narrative just like the Prime Minister in today’s newspaper repeating “that Barbados is not just an economy, but a society.” Yet his government chose economic over the social in many policy areas thus far including energy and the drug service.

11. I am very surprise that one has yet sued the BWA for the poor water quality and quantity that they are receiving yet they want to give the third degree to a company that seized the opportunity in a water industry that need vital redeveloping. That is what the learnted ones should be edifying the blog with, how to redevelop a water industry in Barbados to meet an evolving and expanding Barbados in this 21 century. There are some places in Barbados where the tap water should not be drink and homeowner running to the hardware stores buying filters and installing yet not knowing if they are working. People’s health are at risk only thing that can be is how much ROI Ionic is getting which in fact they right deserve . Bajans need to wake up.

12. here is another case of where the rich gets richer and the poor gets poorer albeit at the hands of a previous govt yet BLP govt is on another hell bent mission to privatise when the small project initiated by them they could not get right on behalf of the working stiff having an unending and unsustainable burden to people and govt .the BLP should be marched out barbados shackled in leg irons never to been seen or heard from again.

13. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Waterman you are just wasting people’s time. the Ionics company or some one from the Barbados Labour Party sent you in here to try to white wash this rediculous situation.

All of you all need locking to f#$K up.

How is it that the Barbados Labour Party was attracted to so many “tiefing” companies?

14. It becomes a useful discussion if those who oppose the desal plant intelligently articulate the issues they have with it. To post vitriolic comments says what?

15. When the BWA was looking at solutions to come back the massive water shortages in the 90s, the desal system was a more sensible option for its unlimited source and it can be expanded. The problem occurred where the BWA put the cart before the horse and did not thoroughly thought through a plan of execution for such water supply but bowed to politicians pressure to reduce the amount of water shortages especially along the west coast, saidly in all that effort to supply the whole west coast it only get as far as Paynes Bay,

16. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

“the Governments Planning and Priorities Committee requirement to include an option in the agreement for the Barbados Water Authority to purchase the facility at a predetermined price at any given point, the Water Supply Agreement between Ionics and the Barbados Water Authority makes it very very difficult if not virtually impossible for the Barbados Water Authority to ever acquire the facility.”

This also is extremely worrying.

The people of Barbados will never own this facility.

Yet this idiotic Barbados Labour Party is hell bent on selling all state assets, and they could not, by design or incompetance, get this one right!

17. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

“The problem occurred where the BWA put the cart before the horse and did not thoroughly thought through a plan of execution for such water supply ”

….and of course Ionics did not point this out, all they saw was huge amounts of unearned revenue winding up in their pockets down the raod, and this thrumped everything.

18. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ David | November 10, 2012 at 7:35 AM |

You do have a point there.
    However, there is no way the plant would have ever gotten off the ground or attract third party financing if the project evaluation was based on the BWA’s operational performance existing at the time the contract was being negotiated.
    It was negotiated on the assumption that the BWA would put in place over time the plans and programmes for improved storage and distribution that were on the table for some time now and which the current DLP administration committed to; hence the massive hike in rates.
    Like everything else about this place the implementation of the BWA plans and programmes are subject to massive bureaucratic inertia, political interference, managerial and technical incompetence. One only has to look at the fiasco surrounding the building of new HQs for the Authority. Just building a stronger case for its full privatization or at least some form of private sector / public sector ownership arrangement where the day-to-day management of the business will be contracted out to private enterprise.

19. @ David

Luckily one of the first things Dr. David Estwick did upon assuming responsibility for the BWA was call in Staples and William from Ionics in 2011 and re-negotiated this perverted contract. The result is that the BWA is NOW buying water from the Springgarden plant at nearly half the price per cubic meter of water. Dr. David Estwick also made them remove the standby (take-or-pay) clause from the new agreement.

20. I firmly believe Barbados need at least two more desal plants if the growing water needs are to be met and for this to happen there must be a transformation of the water industry. At present this saturday morning in some parts of St. Philip and Christ Church have either very low water pressure or no water at all from sometimes as early as 5am. This has been going on for years yet no solution by BWA except encouraging the homeowners to install a water tank, which to my mind and according to the FDA have serious security and health risk.
    I am also a firm believer that to cut operational cost at Ionics and any future desal plant alternative energy should be employ as much as possible can to power the RO systems.

21. @Miller

The flaw in your posit is that the BLP negotiated the contract. There the contract with Ionics should be based on the state of play at the time of signing the contract.

22. @ waterman

Maybe you can edify bajans why Ionic attempted to bill the BWA $2. million dollars in 2010 for a water reconciliation relating to the period 2002/03.

“BWA distribution is antique and in shambles which needs massive capital funding. In the booming years when a proposal was put forward to upgrade the distribution network with the assistance of private contractors the unions shouted โ€˜hell noโ€™”

BIZZY KNOW FULL WELL WHY SIR ROY DON’T LIKE HIM.

23. “A sort of “blue baby syndrome” can also be caused by Methemoglobinemia. It is believed to be caused by high nitrate contamination in ground water resulting in decreased oxygen carrying capacity of hemoglobin in babies leading to death. The groundwater is thought to be contaminated insignificantly by the person by leaching of nitrate generated from fertilizer used in agricultural lands and waste dumps.

the water in the belle catchment aquifer is used to produce nearly 60% of all drinking water in barbados. that groundwater is polluted and has nitrate levels and coliform levels above World Health Organisation standards

24. Can anyone tell me exactly where are all of the very great journalists we have in Barbados on this matter?Seems to me that those who were once the watch dogs of society,are now the guard dogs of the political parties.While we shoot barbs at each other based on political persuasion,the Family Jewels are being decided amongst a selected few.

25. “BIZZY KNOW FULL WELL WHY SIR ROY DONโ€™T LIKE HIM.”

do you really think Bizzy cares if Roy Trotman likes him? i drop the Sir because he is not that… but does he care i did that?

bottom line is these guys only care about lining their pockets.

26. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ David | November 10, 2012 at 8:45 AM |
    Then there would have been no plant.
    David, if that plant was not operational many middle class Bajans especially in the southern St. James area would have been forced to use contaminated water from the Belle facility. Water is too precious and vital a commodity to mess around with and treat like a political football. The reason why this country had an advantage over the others in the region as a place of early settlement was because of its potable underground water.

Do you know the life of the contract and if there are provisions for renegotiation?
    The major existing input cost is not the raw material but the electricity. What can we do about that?

27. @ Banana Milk

You should also expound on the effects of chlorine and while you at it check on mercury as well from the bad disposal of batteries and paint containers

28. @Miller

Are you admitting the BLP signed off on the agreement with Ionics knowing it was ‘loaded’ ie an inefficient BWA infrastructure BUT overrided by the need to improve supply on the West Coast?

Was Bizzy prodded to exploit this opportunity?

29. Another glaring example of why Owen Arthur’s privatisation hoax should be rejected.

In 2012 Owen Arthur now targets the Transport Board for privatisation…..but in 2007 when his Minister responsible for the Transport Board announced increased bus fares…Owen shot him down by saying “no way the transport board provides quality service for the people of Barbados”

So even then, Owen never considered the transport board inefficient !

He is a true SNAKE OIL salesman.

30. @Waterman
    R u for real, why is ionic receiving almsot 2million dollars of the taxpaypers money each year. U really think we cant think. This appers to a hint of massive corruption and the Auditor General should tell us more. The Agreement signed must be made known to the Barbadain public. Is it the same Hallan Nicholls that is always putting forward these development ideas. Lord have mercy

31. Nearly five years in government and this incompetent bunch would not govern.

If the DLP thought that the contract with Ionics was bad, go to Parliament and change it, for god sake, what manner of men are you? Why bellyache that the BLP did this or did not do that?

You DLP sound just like a class of four year olds, please sir, it was not me, she did it. I am so tired of the Dems.

Andre, now that you are at it, tell us about the nastiness behind the contract for the new headquarters at Pine Hill and the exorbitant rents being paid out for Lodge Hill! Let’s see if you are all that concerned or just another CCC operating out of George Street. After all, it is all taxpayers monies and you should be concerned about that too.

Let’s hear your take on the Hal Gollop letter revealed at Rices a few weeks ago!
    Let us know how a marked man who makes concrete slabs can be awarded a contract for 12 million to build three tanks at this time.
    Were there other tenders?
    Why are only three contractors getting all the government contracts?

We would like you Andre to write an expose on the above. I will wait!

32. It is clear that bizzy et al like the governemnt to subsidise their operations. They like to enter into safe investements no wonder why they were wanted governemt to subsidise Red Jet.

33. @prodigal

do u underwstnd contract law? R u aware that there would be financail consequences? R U aware that there would have to be negotiations. You seem not be able to understand issues of this nature, only criticize the government.

34. Bdos Underground Talkshop Avatar
    Bdos Underground Talkshop

Does the sustainability of the BWA and the continued provision of clean water in the required volumes to the residents of Barbados have to be a political argument?

35. @Prodigal Son

Dr. David Estwick sucessfully re-negotiated the contract last year, much to the objection of Ionics and the result is BWA is buying water from the Spring Garden plant at half the price.

Don’t mind waterman, he is either Bizzy or David Staples so he have to defend their actions when their snouts were buried deep in the trough. This company Ionics now trying to do another project with BWA to finance mains from the belle to st.philip but Estwick mekking sure no more free money ain’t giving away at BWA like sweetheart deal down @ springgarden.

36. @ Prodigal son ;
    If you have such information about the ” Hal Gollop letter revealed at Rices a few weeks ago ” why dont you publish it or get BU to publish it so that the public may see the TRUE contents of the opinion? In that regard you would do better than Owen Arthur and Kerrie Symmonds who did just as you are now doing ie refer to it and make the listeners present at that meeting believe there was something sinister about it and then refuse to read the document . You obviously are ANOTHER nasty commentator who delights in filth .

37. So after all this back and forth, examples of both governments having “questionable” decisions, how do we the country or the people
    A) increase accountability
    B) increase transparency
    C) ensure the BEST and most EFFICIENT options are chosen and
    D) that persons responsible for corruption are rooted out/punished..

Oh yes, I forgot…within 100 days we will enact freeedom of information, prevention of corruption and integrity legislation. And while at it overhaul the bloated statuatory corporations, streamline the operations of the BWA via increased rates, reduce unnecessary expenditure, push for enhanced delivery of services at all points and bring all wrongdoers under the blp to justice. .

Mek muh suck muh teet while observing

38. @Banana Milk

How may we – the taxpayers – see the two agreements ie the before and renegotiated by Estwick.

39. @ Mystery
    Not if the likes of your are putting forward such inane arguments. This is 2012 with a TB in further debt and an older fleet though bus fares have been increased. No one is negating the vital service provided by the TB that is why it should be an attractive institution for private sector involvement. The problem is that the TB needs up front investment in a new fleet and other supporting infrastructure.
    Here’s where it should start–hybrid buses (solar to power a/c, electric and CNG), naming of ALL bust stops, solar powered display schedules at most if not all stops, live schedules online, smart cards and bus lanes wherever possible leading into B’town.

40. @david

ask waterman to produce it on BU.

41. early in 2008 ain’t Ionics sent in an invoice for $2 million for water reconciliation from 2002/2003. interesting, very interesting. please someone tell me if Ionics didn’t need money in 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007 for water alleged to be supplied in 2002/2003 why did they need that much so urgently in early 2008.

let me think, what happened early in 2008??????????????

42. Disgraceful and the taxpayers drinking blood while ionics drink wine. atthe hands of a BLP government who was to look out for the interest of the public miller and onions please shed a tear and give us no more OSA cause he left a shi..t load of mess for the govt to clean up BARRACK! CLICO! Alexander and lots of interest payments balloned by bad deals and out of control borrowing nobody deserve such punishment

43. @Banana Milk

if what u saying is true, then we must congratulate Dr. Estwick. He is a man after my own heart.

@Waterman

What say ye on what Banana Millk say? I wil check my sources.

@Prodigal
    comment on what banana milk say. I await your views on this matter.
    See if caswell cn get copies of booth agreements, it would ibe in the government’s interest to have this leaked to the press.

44. @Banana Milk

Thanks, the taxpayers, most of them, are the ones kept in the dark or the last to know the important stuff.

One day coming soon…

45. “Dr. David Estwick sucessfully re-negotiated the contract last year, much to the objection of Ionics and the result is BWA is buying water from the Spring Garden plant at half the price.”

This statement does not make much sense.

46. @ Observing
    …time to stop referring to the DLP promises of FOI etc in 100 days now…. It only make us look like bigger fools for being comforted by such promises..

So where do we go from here you ask…?

The following is clear;
    We have a completely broken society, dominated by selfish and wicked crooks….mainly, but not only, lawyers and politicians.

The Law courts are are a colossal scam, run by second rate jokers – mostly women.

The Police force is a laughable farce and the Defence force is a mere sham

The Church is the biggest joke of all. they stand up for nothing, set no example, influences no one, and even their plant look run down. Good only for ceremonies.

The Education system is second only to the church in uselessness. Huge sums spend for 50 years now, and we need Trinis, Canadians and other foreigners to run (and own) our businesses, banks and even our hospital.

Now Observing, do you dispute any of the above?….all of which has been established over and over on BU?

Can you add 1 plus 1?
    Did you get 10? (Base 2 ๐Ÿ™‚ )

QED. …..it is all downhill from here.

47. @to the point

Why should a document of this nature which explains the people’s business have to be ‘leaked’?

PM Stuart is on record noting his abhorrence for leaks anyway. Seems a bit of an anomaly when one thinks this government was voted into office on a message of change and transparency.

48. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

“let me think, what happened early in 2008??????????????”

elections!

49. @ david
    The Special BWA Audit is no longer available at the Office of Auditor General website.

50. @ Enuff

I seems your head hard so let me explain. After David Estwick intervened and re-negotiated a new contract for Ionics for the Spring Garden plant, the BWA is now buying water from Ionics for approximately half the price is was buying water for in the initial (first) agreement.

David Estwick ain’t have to care about anyone in politics in Barbados or in business, he had alot of blasted money before entering so at least his heart in in the right place.