Submitted by Ellis Chase
Pat Hoyos and Peter Boos labelled 'Barbados Elites'

Is it the Administration or the People Who Cannot Make Tough Choices?

Since the change in administration in 2008 and the ongoing global economic challenges, the need for restructuring the economy and the failure of the government to make tough choices has been a constant mantra in Bim. This mantra has been constant on this blog, in the media especially by the elite commentators such as Pat Hoyos and Peter Boos, Professional Economists and Members of the Opposition. The debate in Bim has been hijacked by this group which in my opinion is defined by a couple of features:

1. A focus on conspicuous consumption and a high carbon lifestyle, which they want to maintain at any cost;
  2. A disdain for the working class, trades unions and public officers;
  3. A โ€œTea Partyโ€ like ideological opposition to any taxes;
  4. A disdain for agriculture and manufacturing.

Let us look back at the 2008 budget as I develop my argument. If my memory is correct in 2008, the media and our elites framed the budget as the budget of free bus fares for school children, summer camps and tax increases to kill Bajans and destroy the economy. Now if one were to take an objective look at the budget, the proposed revenue raising measures amounted to ($104ml), proposed incentives and grants were ($82ml). Of the revenue measures the cell phone tax ($13,9ml), gambling tax ($4.4ml) and the tax on gambling winnings ($8.7ml), were definitely never implemented.

Our elite commentators such as the upper middle class crew on this blog and Pat Hoyos, Peter Boos etc. in the tired main stream media focused on free bus fares and summer camps because of their disdain for the working class, which tends to include public officers and union membership.

Now if they were serious about reform and say moving to a more energy efficient and green economy, free bus fares for school children could have been seen as the state providing an incentive for all parents in Bim to make greater use of public transport in getting their kids to and from school. This would help with the traffic problems and reduce fuel usage. But the elite, middle class and aspiring middle class children in Bim catch the bus. Hell no! And how dare you increase the cost of licensing and registering our fuel guzzling big rides in the same budget where you give freeness to the lower classes.

Are our elites serious about restructuring the economy, making tough personal choices and changing habits? In terms of their travel habits clearly no, and donโ€™ t tell me this is about the efficiency of the Transport Board. Actually, I think if certain kinds of people start taking the bus, the service will change. The the elite, middle class and aspiring middle class in Bim are firmly wedded to their high carbon lifestyle, and they and their children are not catching bus in Bim, they will do so when in London, NY etc.. This is class warfare my friends!

I now take the liberty of listing the measures in the 2008 budget related to alternative energy. Now I am no expert on alternative energy and whether or not these were the right incentives. But my point is, did these measures even make it on stage in terms of the issues raised by our elite commentators in the after budget debate, if only to critique their inadequacy.

Now if people were serious about reform, passing on fuel costs, increase vehicle costs and the various incentives below could be seen as a carrot and sticks across to build a greener, more fuel efficient economy. The elites are uninterested in the carrots, and opposed to the sticks because they are defined by:

• A focus on conspicuous consumption and a high carbon lifestyle, which they want to maintain at any cost;
  • A โ€œTea Partyโ€ like ideological opposition to any taxes;

Despite their mantra of fiscal sustainability and no handouts, the state must subsidize their fuel consumption.

Are our elites serious about restructuring the economy and making tough choices? In terms of their energy and fuel consumption, clearly no. What the elites want are big, public sector funded projects from which they can reap largesse. Adjust their lifestyles, hell no! The elite, middle class and aspiring middle class in Bim are firmly wedded to their high carbon lifestyle, and they will destroy anyone who seeks to mess with it. They are the ones who are unwilling to make a number of the tough choices needed to restructure the economy. Donโ€™t let them confuse you! In my next post I want to focus on agriculture and the 2008 budget.

Alternative Energy Measures in the 2008 Budget

• The price of petroleum products and LPG will be adjusted monthly by the Ministry of Trade on the advice of the Division of Energy based on the prices paid for these products by the importers and in accordance with the formula that has been approved by the Cabinet.
  • Currently, there exists in the Income Tax Act provision for the cost of energy audits up to $2,000.00 to be deducted as part of the general Income Tax Allowance for Home Improvement of $10,000 in any one year. I propose now to create a separate allowance called the Energy Conservation and Renewable Energy Deduction of a maximum of $5,000.00 per year over each of five (5) years to cover the costs of an energy audit and fifty per cent of the cost of retrofitting a residence or installing a system to produce electricity from a source other than fossil fuels. This applies also to businesses whether incorporated or unincorporated.
  • Cabinet has also approved Government approaching the Inter American Development Bank (IDB) for assistance in preparing the appropriate legislation that would require the Barbados Light and Power Co. Ltd. purchase all electricity produced from renewable energy sources and offered for sale to Barbados Light and Power by independent power producers at rates set by the Fair Trading Commission.
  • Under Part II B item 87 of the Customs Tariff, various items of wind turbines, photovoltaic components and systems, biofuel systems, hydropower systems, solar thermal systems, wave or tidal power systems, fuel cell systems and geothermal heat pump systems are exempted from import duty (20%) and environmental levy, on the basis of ministerial approval. The need for ministerial approval in each and every instance will no longer apply and these items will automatically enjoy the concession from the Customs.

126 responses to “Are The Elites In Barbados Serious About Restructuring The Economy?”

1. David
    Is this you the blog master?
    You have now step out of the box and is spot on with your analysis. All the persons who oppose free bus fares are upper-class, middle or aspiring middle class.
    I have to argue everyday with persons who say that the free bus fares is the reason for our economic troubles but they drive around with two cars in the family and renting the biggest houses in the terraces

2. hogwash, david. your line of argument seems somewhat bandy. conspicuoous consumption is not the purview of the rich or well-to-do alone but more often than not those who can least afford. how can you justify freenesses on the one hand and blame the recession on the other.

3. No this was not written by any member of the BU household.

4. This is an important aspect of the debate we are having. The chnage must come from all of us in the society. The government has certainly taken some steps towards promoting the use of alternative energy, are our elites really on board with this.

I hope people on this blog don’t see this as shifting blame from the government, but rather another important piece of the debate we are having.

5. @balance

Your political prism is blinding you.

6. I think you are missing the point though balance. Will our existing elite really embrace change of this type.

This is a chance in my view for new entrepreneurs to come to the fore and drive the green economy.

The administration has taken huge amounts of criticism on a number of fronts, they can hardly be blamed for doing nothing or not being proactive on the alternative energy front.

I have made the investment in a solar system myself, admittedly more for the political statement than any economic reason.

7. I really hope that this provocative post does not descend into a partisan debate.

Are the opinion shapers in Bim serious about personal adjustments as part of transforming the economy?

I really agree with the brother that if a certain kind of person starting taking the bus the service would change fo true.

8. @Businessman

BU agrees that the value system of the middle-class in Barbados finds it offensive to have to shoulder some of the burden which must be the case at this time.

It is interesting to have read in the Press today that economists at the Central Bank of Barbados are concerned with the level of forex outflow to fund oil imports.

The solution according to them [economists] is for government to be more aggressive in finding alternative energy solutions. Can you believe it?

Yet we have people (middlecalss) caught up in the fact that the government has employed a mechanism which makes oil expensive.

There is no acceptance at all that as a country we need to not only to find alternative energy solution but to reduce consumption.

9. THE VILLAGES AT COVERLEY GIVES BACK

Incentive 1:

** Five months maintenance fee rebate for homeowners who introduce a new purchaser. This is equivalent to BDS$100 plus VAT per month.

Incentive 2:

** BDS$1,000 refund on airfare and/or hotel accommodation to an overseas purchaser. Anyone living overseas and purchasing a new home at The Villages at Coverley is entitled to BDS$1,000 refund on any travel and/or hotel accommodation paid during the purchasing process.

Seems Barbados does not have enough people in need of an affordable home and the developers think we can help the foreigners too.

10. The person that wrote the article has struck a raw nerve of the forces that control Barbados who are all retailers and users of foreign exchange and no producers and earners of foreign exchange. Countries all over the world are experiencing problems having subsidies on oil based products and people here want the government to subsidize diesel, gasoline, LPG, everything and not asking where the money is going to come from.
    Nigeria a country that is a big oil producer has now stopped subsidizing these products and the people started to protest. This country can afford that not Barbados.

11. Would it not be an achievement which coincides with our investment in education for the country and its citizens to embrace at every level the need to change consumption behaviour as it related to petroleum products?

12. David I do not expect a lot of discussion under this post.

The article in barbados today made for interesting reading.

I think as the post here says, people are not about making personal adjustments, what they want are some big public sector funded projects so we can say we aree doing something about alternative energy.

Mind you, I think a major demonstration project from the government would be useful, they have already provided enough incentives for people to get on board.

If my memory is correct the budget in 2007 also had some energy initiatives.

yu know david these measures have been in place since 2008, oil price has been consistently high but our people are bawling to bring back the fuel subsidy. yet they are the ones who accuse government of inertia and being unwilling to make tough decisions and adjustments.

13. but maybe some folks can shed some light on why there has been so little adjustment.

I hope folks read the article in barbados today on oil imports. despite oil now being 25% of our import bill up from 7% I think and such a long global recession and we still have decent reserves.

Maybe we are not doing as bad as we think at some levels.

14. Should the middleclass feel obligated to sacrifice swimming, dancing, piano and all the other lessons?

If things tight shouldn’t we feel obligated to make a personal sacrifice?

Senator Sandiford-Garner said it best a couple weeks ago in Senate debate.

15. that article was more an attack on Pat Hoyos and Peter Boos more then another else.

i was going to make some points but then i may be called an elite. what is the point.

i have never read so much well constructed shite yet.

16. @David (not BU)

Your last comment is most disingenuous.

Even if you suspect an agenda why should it stop you from submitting a comment?

The thrust of the article is very relevant.

17. but David, how do you make the point that one should make sacrifices when our leader can’t do the same? everyone know the wastage that goes on in gov’t but persons don’t want to deal with that but will as others to sacrifice while they living high off the hog?

does that sound logical to you?

18. If one accepts your point is it illogical for individuals to do what is logically given the obvious indicators about them?

19. what is the point? i don’t mean for it to be disingenuous but there is an agenda and i could see from what i would have to say that i would be labeled too.

20. @David (not BU)

Do we need to examine our energy consumption behaviour or not?

As individuals do we need to make adjustments in personal lifestyles or not?

21. my point would be lead for the front.

stop asking person to make sacrifices and make your own and i’m talking about gov’t.

i have said this before on this blog. i don’t have a child to use the free bus fare service. i don’t have one in day care but i’m footing the bill for it. Fine but then you have something like the PM’s trip that was over $200k+. why should i sacrifice when person living high on the hog?

22. Do we need to examine our energy consumption behaviour or not?

As individuals do we need to make adjustments in personal lifestyles or not?

YES and YES

but see my last post.

23. @David (Not BU)

Let us assume for the argument you are correct and government is a piss poor example, does it absolve individual responsibility? In fact why can’t the change be led by individuals?

24. because let face it, we are individuals.

i would make all the sacrifices i have to but lets be real about it, how do you think it would make me feel to know i cut corners where i can and gov’t doing as they like?

it is really sad but it is also a reality that we must face.

i think if gov’t came out and ask Barbados to help them, most Bajans would but gov’t has to lead from the front. once gov’t take the lead Bajan would see how bad it reallly is and they would fall in line.

i believe we are in unknown waters (hopeful not Trini waters) and we can make it out but gov’t has to lead the charge.

and for the yardies, gov’t mean DLP and BLP.

25. David (not BU)
    I am the first person from reading your post who would accuse you as being one of the selfish elites of this country. You keep complaining about you footing the bill for free bus fares and day care for the children but the parents of those children support your businesses with your high rip off prices and all you do is live like parasites off of the masses.

Every time an issue is raised on this blog about light skin people, you people jump up to rail road the discussion into accusations of personally attacking them. Why can Peter Boos and Pat Hoyas not be attacked for being so antigovernment when it comes to poor people benefiting.

26. It is accepted economic strategy that in harsh economic times a responsible government should create a safety net for the poor.

27. here comes the ignorance.

so you want me, the selfish elite to foot the bill for poor people while gov’t lives high off the hog at the sametime? well i going and up my prices in my businesess tomorrow self.

so you tell me now Clone, where does it end?

28. It is accepted economic strategy that in harsh economic times a responsible government should create a safety net for the poor.

and i see nothing wrong with that but you can’t pull both ends of the rope and don’t think it will break. gov’t has to protect the poor but they also in doing that have to cut back themselves.

29. @DFavid (not Bu)

Can you define ‘cutback’?

Do you accept that there is a consequence to government ‘cutting back’?

Do you think it is as straight forward as ‘slash, dangit?

30. If we continue to consume at per-recession levels it will ultimately hit us in our import cover.

It is a thin line we walk and despite the pontifications by economists et al there is no blue print for managing in the situation we (the world) now find ourselves.

The great Singapore which many have been holding up as a beacon is experience severe contraction in growth. We read this week that the world’s leading countries will have to manage 7 trillion in debt coming due in 2012…

31. David(not BU)
    You can up your prices tomorrow but the time is coming when that will not affect the poor people because they are getting smarter. They put together money and give their better off family to shop for them in the USA. They put up the money and pack five and six barrels with all the necessities and ship them home. Pay 40$ at the port and them have you crying that business slow like what happen at Christmas.

32. well David maybe it is not as straight forward. so we carry on spinning our wheels in mud because to do what has to be done has consequence to government.

more than attack the problems we attack the elites who own the business that will increase their rip off prices to maintain they elites lifestyles and when the shit hits the fan, the same elites will ship out to some far away place they call home way from home and live like kings.

when are people to start dealing with the problems of this country and stop talking about them?

33. Crude for February delivery rose 26 cents to $103.22 a barrel in New York trading. That’s the highest level since last May.

hello!!!!!

34. Bajans in the diaspora are “cuttin corners” so why can’t wunna do the same?

35. David(not BU)
    You can up your prices tomorrow but the time is coming when that will not affect the poor people because they are getting smarter. They put together money and give their better off family to shop for them in the USA. They put up the money and pack five and six barrels with all the necessities and ship them home. Pay 40$ at the port and them have you crying that business slow like what happen at Christmas.

so wait? none of these poor people don’t work for me? because if my sales go down i going to start sending them home and how they going to put together the money for their families to shop for them?

once again Clone you not facing the problems, you looking for ways around it that will come back bite the same people you want to help in the ass.

tell me something Clone, you are one of the persons who see nothing wrong with the people selling on the highway?

36. let me be clear if i have not. i think we all should be cutting where we can BUT how does it help us when we have a gov’t that is not willing to do the same?

37. Could it be that David (not BU) is playing devil’s advocate? If not he’s playing fuh cup.

38. @David (not BU)

The middle class talk about cuts as if we can make cuts so easily as to avoid social cost. Let us face it to borrow Arthur’s favourite line, everyone wants to go to heaven but don’t want to die.

Let us cut education to who can afford it?

Let us cut healthcare to whp can afford it?

Let us impose punitive taxes on crap consumer items like cigarettes and the like.

Yes the government can do more but as individuals and public sector we can lead from the front.

Guess what, both governments engage in padding the public service to the tune of about 35% of public sector expenditure.

We need to ALL put shoulder to the plough by changing mindsets built on expansionary lifestyles.

39. lol

i don’t know how to play fuh cup. remember now, i’m an elite.

40. David (not BU)

I am in your debt, sir …!

Now where can I go to find out Government’s expenditure (tax payers spend) on overseas travel year by year?

41. @Balance

I am surprised at your reaction.

Do u know why plantation slavery came to an end? Bacause the system could not continue as it was at the time. with the planation owners enjoying the sweets and the slaves swaeting and toiling and why do u think that they develop the technique of ewducing output and pretending to be ill often and revolting? Because they were bent on destroying an unjust system even though the ruling class has the legitimate power, it had to give way eventaully.

Your reaction is similar to the planter class who believed that they should continue to dominate and the boos and hoyos are of your ilk, the lower class must accept the crumbs from the table. Hope u apply for one those town houses the hoyos man is building.

42. where was Boos and Hoyos when the used car dealers were wiped out because the new car dealers wanted to dominate the market?

43. TO THOSE WHO HAVE BEEN ASKING FOR BONNY PEPPA

LONG LIVE DESMOND BOURNE !

44. well dem got money already .so you think dem care bout we?
    i mean really in this little Barbados.a pin drop in the ocean.
    of course influential rich men want to keep getting richer..
    big fish in small pond.Canadians and Americans would not even.give them the time of day .big men in tiny island think themselves big shots complex
    all i can say is we need a leader that is willing to have a have a all out war with the likes of these people.
    step up.
    small minded idiots.born rich and have no idea what it is like to be poor in Barbados.
    bullets and bombs must ignite.
    it coming. but dem will be on a plane.
    spoil boys with no real relevance.
    born with silver spoon in dem mout.

45. Well according to this thread the burden of adjusting to a new energy reality and transforming the economy rests on the government over and above establishing a policy framework and providing incentives.

Well, well.

And of course peter Boos and pat hoyos are above criticism.

46. David

Seriously. Is Porter correct? Is Bonny the same as Desmond Bourne? Sounds plausible to me other than the fact that Bonny liked Toony Marshall and Stasis Stuart and Desmond Bourne would have had little or no time for such people …!

47. Somebody in Barbados was big enough to have the funds to employ Rihanna Fenty’s services for an Old Years night private function in Sandy Lane … Now that must have been some party …!

48. David (not Bu) I think you are missing or ignoring the point being made by Chase. The elites, and the elite journalists have been conspicious by their silence on the matter of alternative energy.

This is very odd given that the oil import bill is a heavy burden, the oil price is high an likely to remain so and there have been extensively policies focusing on energy consumption and alternative energy in the last four years. These guys have been very vocal on just about everything, but this criticalk area which will require adjustments in consumption habit, travel habits and general lifestyles, there silence has been loud.

The more I think of it, the mantra of these guys is please find a way to bring back the good old days. I think those days are gone and what we need are some new opinion makers.

You know these guys are good at what they do and their role and comments are critical. But maybe we need some new additional voices championing the new economy. Historically change has never really come from the old guard.

49. Oh dear is it true dat my BONNY is / was a man? David tell muh dat ent true nuh? ๐Ÿ™

50. David Ellis just played a masterstroke when he said to his national audience that a couple small groups in Barbados are being allowed to set the agenda, the politicians and businessmen. BU can add a few Barbadian Elites.