Many are familiar with the big three credit rating agencies – Standards & Poor’s, Moody’s and Fitch – however for those who follow the global finance markets Weiss Rating Agency has developed a reputation for issuing accurate ratings. How credit rating agencies contributed to the global financial debacle is well documented – see Dr. Justin Robinson’s BU presentation. In comparison it is interesting to observe the track record which Weiss has developed.
Today (16 July 2011) Weiss made the financial news when it downgraded United States Debt to C-Minus, a bold move when the politics of global financial markets is considered. Regrettably this is not news to be found in the local media. The downgrade by Weiss given its spiffy track record; they have had twice the number of US Banks under watch than the Feds. While several banks have gone under that were not* on the Feds Watch List, not one has gone belly up that Weiss had neglected to signal caution, bear in mind our dollar is pegged to the US dollar. What should add to the concern for Barbados is the protracted debate by the US legislature concerning budget cuts and raising the debt ceiling.
Here is what Weiss had to say in its press release earlier today, the government of Barbados and Governor of the Central Bank particularly should take careful note:
Weiss Ratings Downgrades United States Debt to C-Minus
JUPITER, Florida (July 15, 2011) — Weiss Ratings, an independent rating agency of U.S. financial institutions and sovereign debts, has downgraded the debt of the United States government from C to C-minus.
The C-minus rating for the U.S. reflects a continued deterioration in the eaknesses cited in the Weiss Ratings release of April 28, 2011, including heavy debt burdens, shaky international stability, and poor economic health.
Weiss Ratings senior financial analyst Gavin Magor commented: “Our downgrade today is not contingent on the outcome of the debt ceiling debate in Washington. It is driven exclusively by the numbers, which indicate that, in addition to a decline in the long-standing weaknesses we noted three months ago, the U.S. has already lost the golden halo that helped guarantee liquidity and acceptance of its government securities in global markets.”
On the Weiss Ratings scale, which ranges from A (excellent) to E (very weak), a C-minus rating is the approximate equivalent of a triple-B-minus on the scales used by other credit rating agencies, or approximately one notch above speculative grade (junk).
For the Weiss Sovereign Debt Ratings on all 49 countries covered, click here. For more information on the Weiss Ratings approach, refer to our white paper, “Introducing The Weiss Sovereign Debt Ratings.”
About Weiss Ratings
Weiss Ratings, the nation’s leading independent provider of financial strength ratings on banks, credit unions, insurance companies as well as sovereign debt ratings on 49 countries, accepts no payments for its ratings from rated entities. By adhering to its independent business model, Weiss outperformed Standard and Poor’s, Moody’s, A.M. Best and Duff & Phelps (now Fitch) in warning of future life and health insurance company failures according to a 1994 study by the U.S. Government Accountability Office (GAO), while also outperforming its competitors in identifying the safest insurers, according to its follow-up study using the GAO’s research methodology. Similarly, Weiss was the only one to identify, in advance, nearly all major banks that failed or required a federal bailout in the 2008-2009 debt crisis.
BU thanks Moneybrain for the assist.
So what should small people like me with little saving do?
David yuh got me head spining wid all this doom and gloom man! i think i gunna read Jokes Corner from now on!
It is what it is.
which party peg the Barbados to the US dollar?
is the Barbados dollar really worth fifty cents US?
are they any good reasons why the Barbados dollar shouldn’t be devalued?
Now let us not forget the EURO!
Things heating up!
Note the timing is being questioned by some.
Ratings agencies rattle cages in U.S., Europe
Related News
S&P warns of downgrade if no debt deal reached
Fri, Jul 15 2011
Euro zone makes fresh bid to tackle Greek crisis
Thu, Jul 14 2011
Europe at impasse on Greece, IMF backs investor role
Wed, Jul 13 2011
Moody’s puts U.S. ratings on review for downgrade
Wed, Jul 13 2011
Instant view: Moody’s puts US rating on review for downgrade
Wed, Jul 13 2011
Analysis & Opinion
Central bankers too set on 2 pct inflation target
The horrifying AAA debt-issuance chart
By Walter Brandimarte
NEW YORK | Sun Jul 17, 2011 11:58am EDT
(Reuters) – The credit ratings agencies are again angering governments, but this time they are taking on the big fish of the world economy.
From Washington to Brussels, Moody’s, Standard & Poor’s and Fitch have added to the intense pressure on governments trying to deal with crushing sovereign debt.
Their warnings about the precarious finances of the world’s top economies have also roiled investors more accustomed to seeing emerging market countries take the brunt of criticism.
http://www.reuters.com/article/2011/07/17/us-usa-debt-ratingsagencies-idUSTRE76G1H220110717
eCapture
Only Solutions:
http://www.BulkEmailAddresses.net
300% more effective!
Give me a break. Where were the ratings agencies in 2005, on the cusp of the gobal recession, which was clear to see for anyone with a modicum of financial understanding (as was by a few on these blogs). They were still spouting ‘stable outlooks’.
Which rating agency was deeply involved in developing AND rating the packaged sub-par mortgages that catalysed the crisis in the US?
All they are doing now is trying to justify their existence and demonstrate that they know what they are doing, just stating what we all know i.e. that the world is on the brink of a severe crisis, worse than the first instalment.
As I said though, never mind, the currently being engineered WWIII (aka Middle East instalment) will move focus from the issue.
Reuters Reuters Top News
FLASH: Fitch will place Greek sovereign (issuer) rating into restricted default – statement