Senator Francis Chandler

Senators Francis Chandler and Sir Geoffrey Cave  have been quoted in the media expressing concern that officers of government should by their decisions and policy exercise financial restraint. Senator Chandler suggested as an example ministers of government from a small developing country like Barbados should not be travelling first class on trips overseas. She also observed that many public officers seem to be engaged in unnecessary travel. The discussions was spurred in the Upper House against the need for government to be fiscally prudent as it struggles to manage a huge deficit on current account.

There is merit in what the Senators have been reported to have said. Common practice in the private sector is for all employees to share in the pain during times of a financial challenge. So that a wage freeze, no bonus payments, layoffs, redundancies, cancellation of perks are all options which are considered and often times implemented based on the severity of the hardship. It seems highly disingenuous of government to ask Barbadians to exercise financial discipline and the government has not demonstrated by the actions of officers of central government that they are prepared to do the same. Even if materially it may seem insignificant in the context of managing the national budget, the action would be seen as a government which is prepared to show empathy for the people it serves.

The discussion is all the more relevant based on a BU source that there is at least one government department the employees have not been paid since January this year. This state of affairs seems all the more immoral when judged against the harsh economic times which are prevailing. They are mortgages to be paid, children to be supported and all the other responsibilities of a family which require money to sustain. We have withheld the name of the department to protect the employees from the possibility of victimization.

BU acknowledges that we are confronting economic challenges and the government maybe doing all that it can to manage the national budget. The government is on record stating its commitment to maintaining employment in the public sector. If that promise is to be believed then stories that public officers are not being paid brings a different perspective to the issue.

What would help to deal with the pain of public officers not being paid is a government which is prepared to demonstrate by its actions they empathize. Let them start by implementing Senator Chandler’s suggestion of giving up first class seats on their many sojourns overseas. Perhaps donating 5% of their salary to charities on the island ?

Wishful thinking we know!

1. The goody senators are just echoing the same thing I’ve been saying since this recession started. In a lead up to the last budget, I said, if this government is serious about getting out of this recession, and taxing barbadians more as a means of so doing, they must set the example. All these first class flights regularly and with an entourage must stop. They should accept a 15% reduction in their salary and ask the opposition to follow suite or at lease 10%. It is only when things like this is done, will the average bajan realise that they are serious, instead, we see the same ols same old PLUS quite recently TWO ministers of the Environment and Drainage ( a ministry that didn’t need to be separated from MPT in the first case.). Can this government be serious, when in a recession, we are now carrying the BIGGEST cabinet ever in the history of this country? Can this government be serious, when our PRIME MINISTER is breezing with only the portfolio of Defense and Security, an office which the Late P.M only relinquished shortly before his death? This country is BEGGING for LEADERSHIP, must we believe that we have come out of a recession, just because a minister said so a few weeks ago just after the Governor of the Central Bank was saying something differntly? The Governor only changed his mind after he was allegedly scolded by the minister, Even the Minister of Labour had warned us a hard days to come this year as we try to steady the ship, then all of a sudden the waters calmed and we were sailing freely. Does anyone in this government think that ALL barbadians are stupid? I know there are the political yardfowls that would argue differently but their thinking powers are clouded with political cataracts. Oh how the blind are led down the paths of destruction. I pity the FOOLS

2. I congratulate Senator Chandler and Sir Geoffrey Cave on their recommendation to the government. Their words bear a very heavy message to the government. Please take heed, you are taking Barbados down the wrong path.

3. Just like The Scout above I too have been pointing out about allthe unnecessary wastage of taxpayers money with all this 1st class airline travel with the large entourages that go along with it, as well all the 5-star hotel accommodation for the large groups going on these “spending sprees” (that’s all they are really…..shopping sprees!)

While on the topic of wastage………..what about all those vehicles at various government departments that could be put back into operation with the replacing/repairing of minor mechanical parts/faults? Why do we in a little 21×14 piece of rock have to buy all these Audis, Mercedes and other very expensive vehicles for our government to be chauffeured around in. What’s wrong with a nice Toyota (the Dipper used one for years as PM of B’dos) or even a Suzuki ( I am currently using a 13 yr. old Swift and have found it quite reliable and economical to operate! 🙂

So yes, there is quite a lot this lot in government can do (if they are willing) to show that they realise that we are going through some very trying times and that it should not be only us the taxpayers that should be made to carry the burden on our shoulders. Why should one of our government ministers be drinking champagne at the Garrison at our expense when most of us cannot even afford to drink some mauby and just have to make do with plain water? Go figure! We have encouraged it! We have stood by and allowed our governments to push crap in our faces and tell us it is ice cream! They do it because we ALLOW them to get away with it all the time!!

4. Excuse me for going off topic:

this is just a slight plight to Mr Victor Fernandes that consideration be made into the removal the lone gospel station in Barbados from the 97.5 frequency.

Barbados prides itself on being a relatively morally grounded state. This did not come solely by chance as some may believe. It has been the prays, and wisdom of those who went before us, who have positioned Barbados to be the envy of the region, and the world for that matter.

Can anyone of us really explain how a 4×4 country could be so prominent on the world stage without divine intervention.

We in Barbados can not boast of large deposits of oil, gold, bauxite, nor diamonds.

But most certainly we can boast of our people. Many of people have been bless of God, and we owe a tremendous lot to God.

Though we do not realize it the laws which govern our society are based almost solely on the teaching of the Christian faith. One only need to look at societies in the eastern sections of the world to see that those who follow other gods are always in turmoil and at war.

I therefore will plea with Mr. Fernandes to reconsider the removal of Gospel 97.5 station which is loved by both Christians, and non-Christian alike.

No longer will Barbadians be able to wake to the word, and music of God. No longer will our young children be able to call in on afternoons and express themselves in song, poetry, and general chat, as the door to their beloved station is being closed on them.

Are we in Barbados willing to forsake God? Do we believe that the society will be better for it? Do we believe that if we follow the almighty dollar and become rich we and those we love will be able to move freely in a deviant society?

Do we believe that in forgetting God and deviance propagates itself throughout our society that the tourist will come to these shores to be manhandled? Will offshore companies continue to come?

Mr.Fernandes, you believe in providing humanitarian service, encouraging high ethical standards in all vocations, and help build goodwill and peace in the world, as a Rotarian. Please do so through the good work your radio station Gospel 97.5 has been doing in changing and maintaining lives in Barbados.

I thank you Sir.

p.s:

To Christians and those who enjoy the programming on 97.5, please buy a fifty cent stamp and send a short note to Mr. Fernandes at Starcom urging him to maintain his good work.

5. Mr Fernandes is aiming to have all Call-In programmes, and their repeats, on his radio stations, in this way he would not have to hire so many journalists or announcers, and have already started to lay off some.
    Low budget radio programming is here.

6. We should also realise that our elected members of parliament are too busy preparing and looking towards the next election to waste time on the populace.
    Come 2012 ,unlike the Middle East,we yet again will be ousting one set of elected dictators for another lot.

7. Senators Chandler and Cave are fighting a losing battle, imho.

No sitting Minister from either party will willingly give up the significant perks that Ministers get from Overseas travel. I wonder how many people know that Ministers are allowed one trip per year to a meeting of their choice to anywhere in the World, accompanied by their spouse with all expenses paid by Government and they usually vie with one another on who went to the most exotic and far away place. I wonder how many people know that some ministers can attend overseas meetings (with all expenses paid) with scant justification. e.g. I recall that a former Prime Minister (not Owen Arthur), who was noted for being a most upright man, attended a very technical Scientific Meeting outside of his area of expertise held in Jamaica in the early 1990’s. It should be noted that he had very deep connections in Jamaica and that he was under serious local and international pressure at the time and that the meeting could have been viewed as giving him a short respite from the lashes at home. However, It should be noted that he did not absent himself from meetings like other Ministers I have direct knowledge of, but attended them all, taking notes, etc. However, I understand that he did’nt unpick his teeth for the duration of the meeting. No other Prime Minister attended the meeting, not even from the host country. It was a total waste of Prime Ministerial time and the Government’s money.

Reducing Overseas travel of normal Public Officers is a different thing. I suspect that the votes for that have already been cut to the bone.

What the senators should do is to lobby for Government to use the Internet tools that are widely available nowadays (such as the “go to meeting” software and hardware) to eliminate some of the wastage in overseas travel for Ministers as well as other Public Servants. Significant savings could be obtained in this way but there will of course be significant push back against such a proposal as well.

However, I agree with BU that Government should show in a very tangible manner that they are participating in the effort to surmount this economic crisis by themselves taking really significant and obvious cuts in their perks. The travelling and entertainment cuts for Ministers don’t cut it since most Ministers have the benefit of the use of Government provided vehicles at all times and can arrange for significant entertainment outside their personal entitlement on their Ministry’s behalf?

8. Minister Denis Kellman made the point recently in a debate in the house that Barbados has become a throw away society. Once upon a time to repair a fridge or TV was the practice, now we toss it and buy a new one. The flip side is to be always keeping up with the Jones by changing to keep apace with technology.

Let us look at our members of parliament. Often times on the campaign trail before winning a seat in parliament they are driving a Toyota, as soon as they are elected we see BMWs, Merks, all kinds of SUVs etc.

9. Just so others can know I have my letter to be posted to Mr. Fernandes, and should have it on his desk first thing next week. I will continue to urge others to do the same.

Please join me in getting these letters out to Mr. Fernandes. Persons have petitioned for the showing of the Black-Swan movie. Let us do the same for an even better cause.

Every letter mailed counts. Gospel 97.5 is too important to the Barbadian landscape. How are we going to receive proper programming when this station is amalgamated with VOB?

Is VOB going to cut Pastor Ferdinand Nicholls during the day. Is it going to cut Senator Reverend Dr. David Durrant with his program during the day? Is it going to cut all those ministers who are on the radio at night with so much listenership that when they entertain calls the phone lines are jammed even late at night at Starcom Gospel.

If advertisers really understood the power of 97.5 Gospel they would spend more of their hard earned advertising dollars at Gospel 97.5 where listenership is always high as it always carry wholesome programming for an audience which is unable easily listen to the many other radio stations.

Cuts to the gospel programming will be the order of the day. I therefore urge others to spend 50 cents for a stamp to help save not only Gospel 97.5, but to save the nation Barbados.

10. It is all about dollars and cents at River Road.

Listened to Program Manager Ronnie Clarke struggling to explain the decision.

The argument will be we are living in a secular and multicultural society.

Bear in mind Clarke is a professed Christian.

11. David wrote,”as soon as they are elected we see BMWs, Merks, all kinds of SUVs etc.” and I would add (*with tinted windows).

That is so they won’t feel the pain when they hit a pothole in the road and that they can drive by their friends at the bus stop (man i en see you. dese blasted tinted windows doan leh yuh see nuttin”.)

As for VOB indulging in slash an burn, Trinis callin shots.

12. Random Thoughts Avatar
    Random Thoughts

Quoting David “at least one government department the employees have not been paid since January this year… We have withheld the name of the department to protect the employees from the possibility of victimization.”

But David if a group of employees have not been paid for 3 1/2 months then they are ALREADY BEING VICTIMIZED.

Poor people don’t have anything except their wages and their lives, take the wages and all that has to be done now is take the worker’s lives

13. Anonymous
    Maybe you have a burning topic you would like to discuss but don’t try to change the matter we are now dealing with. My suggestion, post your own article to be diacussed. Maybe I’m wrong, you’re delibertely trying to switch topic because you know why.

14. And dem coming to work still? That can only happen here, you know elsewhere there would be mass demonstrations.

15. Random Thoughts Avatar
    Random Thoughts

We should not be paying for Mnister’s spouses to acompany them on overseas trips. Any Minister who can’t keep for the week he/she is overseas is not good enough or disiplined enogugh to be my Minister. If the Minister needs/wants his/her spouse’s company while on a trip overseas then let the couple pay for it out of their own pockets.

My employer has never paid for a spouse or other family member to accompany me on an overseas trip (however I am welcome to take them along if I pay for it out of my own pocket)

16. @Checkitout

Thanks for pointing out that it was not Owen Arthur who took a junket and for taking the pains to hide the identity of the PM who did. As I write anyone with an IQ over 50 could easily put the pieces together.

However I don’t live in Barbados and obviously you know a lot more than I do about the operations of the Civil Service so while we are decrying those first class trips that Ministers and their spouses took, could you inform us if a particular Travel Agency was the Travel Agent of choice? I heard that during the former Govt’s term in office some Civil Servants were directed to book all travel through a certain Travel Agency.

If one wants to be charitable they can term all those trips as a Gov’t “make work” project i.e. The Gov’t pays the Travel Agency which books the trips; The Agency pays its employees with part of the funds it receives from the Gov’t; the employees buy consumer goods, food, pay mortgages, rent and pay for other goods and services….. so the money circulates in the country…

The question remains which Travel Agency did the “Gravy Train” roll into?

17. Sargeant;

I don’t have a clue if there was or wasn’t a Travel Agency of choice in the last BLP administration. I was long retired and not in a position to know such things. However, I would not be surprised if there was indeed a travel agency of choice then or even one or a few right now. It is the nature of the beast. Indeed, the documents on contracts entered into by the current Ministry of Housing that were disclosed by Mia Mottley suggests that there is at least one contractor of choice whose favoured status continues with just a little upgrading from administration to administration. This kind of behaviour pervades all administrations. Enacting the promised FOIA might help in curbing it.

Glad to see that you have an IQ of over 50. The former PM mentioned in my post above was just an example. I mentioned Owen Arthur’s name as several people might have wrongly identified him as the person I was referring to, given that he had a Jamaican wife. At least the PM in my example did not malinger on the mission but diligently went to the meetings everyday, doing a full days work. There are / were several other Ministers in both administrations who treat these meetings purely as junkets.

18. Sargeant; I forgot to mention above that I was not “decrying” Ministers taking their spouses on exotic trips paid for from the government’s purse. I was merely passing on a fact that I thought only a few people might be aware of and that could inform the debate on this matter.

If you or anyone else wants to decry it. Feel free.

19. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

OFF TOPIC

I see that this weekend the Barbados Labour Party is having another FORUM OF LIES or as they sometimes call them A Branch Meeting at EllersLIE.

Now isn’t that something. LIARS holding a Branch meeting at EllersLIE. So the public is in for a treat of bare LIES.

What a fitting place.

I can not wait for reports. I see also that the Leader of a faction of the Barbados Labour Party will be there.

20. This government seems to think or that they know that they may only be a one term government so they are out to get whatever they can and go wherever they can at the taxpayers expense.

I was so surprised when I saw very soon after Stephen Lashley was appointed that he could find it necessary in a period of deep recession to go off to India to the Commonwealth games after all the bad reports we were hearing. What was the purpose? Dont tell me that it was in the Minister of sports diary. What did he achieve from going, air miles for future use?

Last year, I was going to the UK for my company and they sent me economy as those who have to earn money know that we have to be prudent, up front in first class was the non elected Minister of Foreign Affairs met in the arrival hall at Gatwick by the pompous High Commissioner. He is driven around in a 7 series BMW with a number plate BDS1. At least, the ministers should come down a class, say club class.

But the Dems have this thing that this is their time. Remember the king only travelled by private jet, CLICO’s and then when CLICO went bust, he turned to SOL’s jet.

Has the auditor general ever revealed how much the taxpayers paid for this private jet travel for David Thompson. I noticed that when the BLP was the government, every month you had a report on a government department from him but not a word recently. I read that he said his department was short staffed, all of a sudden.

Is he being silenced into hiding the DLP’s faults?

21. Truthman Burton Avatar

A “FITTING PLACE”Carson? You great big ignoramus IDIOT! All you have done is to cast wicked aspersions and tried to damage the stellar reputation of an excellent school.

Go tell David Ellis, and company , even the goodly Lady Professor at UWI, that they attended an institution where the “LIE” was the object of everything.

FOOLISH , IGNORAMUS CARSON! Who the hell are you really?

22. Truthman Burton,
    anthony has asked fellow bloggers to ignore CCC. I know it is hard but try to do so.

Dont give him the satisfaction of responding to his postings, in doing so you will have to sink to his level as you call him names.

Ignore him, please. It is hard but try!

23. Truthman Burton Avatar

Agreed Prodigal. I will never respond to him again. Possibly after he has had a brain transplant that would enable him to participate in this forum with something sensible and worthy.

24. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

PRODIGAL SON

“anthony has asked fellow bloggers to ignore CCC”

Not “fellow bloggers”, fellow BARBADOS LABOUR PARTY bloggers. Please mention the difference.

25. Why would like to see inside of Maxene McLean’s pass port(s) or Billie Miller before her …! As for the Permanent Secretary Ms Teresa Marshall. My God my understanding is that even party members were concerned with Billies traveling …! The Senetor spoke about the returns to be had by this travel; even if it were not possible to measure the returns you just know that there is very little if any …!

BTW … Independent (as in Independent Senator) means White doesn’t it ..?