Submitted by Charles S. Cadogan

I am having a problem understanding Barbados being INDEPENDENT.  And the reason is because of the word INDEPENDENCE meaning freedom from rule by another.  So If we have been given our INDEPENDENCE from the British, why then would the British have anyone in Barbados representing anything?  Please correct me if I am wrong.  Knowledge is a good thing to have, and I am seeking all that I am able to find.

So maybe Barbados has another form of INDEPENDENCE which doesn’t include **LIBERTY**? The word LIBERTY means free conditions.  If the Governor is appointed by the Queen to be some kind of a mediator within the Parliament of Barbados then we do not have **LIBERTY** which is very **IMPORTANT**. What am I missing here with this situation that I am having a problem understanding?  Can someone be as so kind as to explain this to me please if it’s not asking too much?

If these two words **INDEPENDENCE and LIBERTY** aren’t going hand in hand then we don’t have  **TOTAL CONTROL**.  Am I correct in making an assumption that everyone in Barbados fully understands really what position that we are in?

Barbados or should I say the shot callers of Barbados have quite a lot to explain, we are going towards making things better.  If you continue to just accept what’s told to you without question then nothing is going to change.  It’s like you have given your horse to someone to ride in a race, your horse wins, the rider gets the money but all you got was knowing of the victory.  I feel that all Barbadians in the 21st Century should be doing much better with all that’s going on within the country.

I am not a trouble maker and I not even trying to be a trouble maker.  I have always found it very hard to just go along to get along.  Why should I just accept what others say without questioning? I think that we are in a period that any question could be asked and demand honest and sensible answers.  I remember hearing this many times  while growing up – ” You can fool some of the people some of the times, but you can’t fool all of the people all of the time” I am going to leave you with that to think about.

I am not calling anyone a fool so please don’t get that twisted.  Some of the things that others do, do so feeling that some others might be fools.  Now that is a big difference.

1. what is your point?

2. Incoherent rambling.

3. In my opinion the caribbean should have gained independence en-block as apposed to this fragmented situation that currently exists. We are now paying for it with scarce resources and duplication of efforts which is hampering the development of the region. Regional integration will come at a huge price; politically and financially.

4. @ Snipes | December 20, 2010 at 9:49 PM |

Remember we tried it in the fifties, The Federation of the West Indies, my father worked for the Federal Government in Trinidad. It seems that these politicians are not too bright and too much water separates us. It is too late to try this form of government, we have too much arrogance and too much dislike for each other. The only way might be only when we are all at the bottom of the barrel eating and smelling the same shoite and can’t do any better.

5. I think folks are just comfortable having that connection to the Queen and England. Your question makes sense but many don’t see it as a big deal. It is reflected in the region’s continued love of the Privy Council in England as the final court of appeal. Joining forces as an economic block is probably the best move our region can make for long term viability and growth, yet we continue to fight against it. These are all questions to ponder, especially in relation to Independence.

6. The link/bond is so strong given our colonial history that it will take some catalytic event to bring on a catharsis needed to emancipate our minds from the shackles which continue to oppress.

7. Caribbean people will have no choice but to unite. As Bob Marley reminds is African brethren in his song “Africa Unite”.Look around you every country is forming blocks of economic Union which will eventually morphed into political unions.The problem why a lot of Caribbean people are isolationists and myopic in their view are that we don’t know each other enough.Most of us our first encounter with other Caribbean nationalities are at UWI or when we migrate up North. 95% of us in the region have never travel to another sister’s Island.It is this self-impose exile on our little rocks that foster a warp sense of nationalism and petty jealousies.

That is why we need an affordable mode of transporation in the region for Island hopping. We definately need a ferry service and a cheaper air travel arrangements.

8. Who does the British have in Barbados representing anything? Who is responsible for the increase in VAT?

9. Can anyone shed light on this? I recall (dimly) that there was a name change for our local police force in 1966 – and that it was from ‘Royal Barbados Police Force ‘ to ‘Barbados Police Force’ in acknowledgement of our independence. Or was it the other way around?
    Anyway having a ‘Royal BPF’ in 2010 seems totally incongurous to me . But then again we cling steadfastly to the anachronistic knighthood as our highest (local) honour. Some independence!!

10. The knighthood we award in Bim is our very own KNIGHT of ST ANDREW- KA, not the British KNIGHT COMMANDER OF ST MICHAEL AND ST GEORGE -KCMG

11. @ Not Saved | December 20, 2010 at 9:38 PM |
    Incoherent rambling.
    =========
    EXACTLY! EXACTLY!
    This writer is terrene-oid or terrence-esque.
    There is a need for would be writers on BU to evince STRUCTURE– SEQUENCE- & SUBSTANCE in what they seek to share………as well as SOURCES!

@ BU DAVID
    Do you think that the opinions shared on BU have any effect whatsoever on the powers that be in BIM? I ask this because the utterances of the Minister of Health strikes me as arrogant and pregnant with ignorance.

Whereas we do generally have a better Health Service than that in the USA, why should there STILL be the large amount of garbage by the Fairchild Market? Is this not a simple Public Health matter that can have serious consequences (I note that the presence of faeces was noted).

What is wrong with the people of Barbados demanding better and more services? It is sad that he can not think of the very obvious ways that ceretain improvements can be acquired without cost to local tax payers. But I am not paid to divulge this information and I will not.

Why is he arrogantly pouting that HE (as if he is God Almighty) has set up a Board at QEH that is doing nonsense? Is he courting a strike? Or is he relying on the good graces of BAMP not to run him ragged?

From my vantage point, there is so much that we can do that costs very little to improve Health in Barbados.

Does the Government really think that building a polyclinic in St John at Gall Hill or Colleton is a Health priority?

12. @GP

Can’t tell you if he will heed comments posted on BU but here is what we know, they all read.

13. OK David
    But how do you know that? Just asking
    We seem to have a clique of regular contributors here, and some who pop in once or now and then.
    Do you think that there is a wide readership in the population and leadership?

14. @GP

Can’t answer your question directly but from where we sit the blogs are widely read. Like the talk shows you shouldn’t judge popularity on those who called, many more listen.

15. @Jack Spratt: Well aware of this my friend but what does it matter if (OUR VERY OWN) Knight is of St. Andrew or St. James or Christ Church? He/She is still a ‘Knight’ and safely entombed in the Colonial mindset. Trinidad and Jamaica have shown more independent thinking than Barbados in fashioning their honours system. In this respect our thinking has been completely ‘inside the box’ and we still come across as ‘Little England’.

16. Thanks David
    I am not so interested in the popularity of BU but more so on its effectiveness. Is the message disseminated causing meaningful change should be our concern< I think.

We could be popular and wishy washy (or because we are wishy washy), and we can be hated, but read and feared as a purveyor of pertinent truth that might foster real social change.

17. @GP

We have to keep at it, building alliances, ensuring our content is of value etc. The Bajan blogosphere and other social media is a work in progress.

18. Ok SIR,
    KEEP ON KEEPING ON
    AND BEST WISHES FOR THE SEASON & 2011 TO YOU AND YOURS.

19. @ David
    I also want to wish you and yours and the rest of BU family a very merry Christmas and all the best in 2011.

I agree that the blogosphere is a work in progress and that we need to keep at it. You also say ..”ensuring our content is of value”.
    I suspect that this might be a bit of a challenge to you sometimes, because not all contributions are of value or acceptable standard(whatever acceptable may be,and whoever may decide the criteria). I can see that sometimes this could be in contradiction with your well-guarded right of “freedom of speech”. However, to make a difference I think that the contibutions will have to be of a certain standard and value.

20. @Independent

All the best to you also.

Feel free to share your thoughts if you have any on how we can ensure we work to build a blogosphere of value.

21. Well David not that I want to put the ball back ik your court, but it is your blog. If it were my blog I would have to be clear on :
    1. What do I want to achieve
    2. How do I set out to achieve my goal(s)
    I would further want to make a distinction between contributors who submit articles, analyses, etc.(contributors) and people who respond to these contributions
    I think Georgie Porgie mentioned “structure, sequence and substance” . That to me makes a lot of sense when you look at the contributors. When it comes to the different responses I think you could leave that open to allow for freedom of speech.

22. @Independent

You are saying if there is a Bajan who wants to contribute to BU but lacks the skill to structure the submission at an A-class standard we should bar that person?

23. No, that’s NOT what I’m saying. But I do think that the person should have SOMETHING to say and not mere ramblings.
    Would you for example be interested in whether “my ham came out of the oven too early and then the sorrel is too sweet and I don’t know if my car is clean enough.”………..Just trying to make absolutely no sense.
    This is not twitter, is it? Some contributors, as far as I am concerned, just love to hear their own voice. Just like some people who call the call-in programs on a daily basis but is their contribution meaningful? Mind you, I am not talking about grammar here.
    The thread about BLP for example is very important, it doesn’t matter whether all the responses make sense or not. There is substance, that is what is important. Jokes or lighthearted comments are fine too.
    By the way, BU is open to non Bajans as well, right?

24. @Independent

The problem we anticipate, deliberated at length by the BU household, as soon as we start to lay down ground rules the tenor of interactions will change.

25. You might be right. So David, just keep on continuing the good work!

26. @David
    On a completely different topic: You remember the political polls from a few months back? Do you see any merit in polling the desirability of the BU family in having Mrs Mara Thompson as the St. John respresentative? Forgive me if this was done; I was out of the loop for a little while and just came back.
    I just heard from reliable sources that she is to be the DLP candidate in St John.

27. @Independent

It was discussed on many of the political blogs. BU supports Mara running but recollection is we are divided on the issue.

28. BU is doing fine IMHO
    The variety of opinions and personalities makes this blog interesting.

It is very “Bajan” and I liken it to the sidelines at a cricket match or a gathering at John Moores rum shop.

Merry christmas and a happy new year to the entire BU family.

29. I really am no fan of Lawyers… truth is I believe my sentiment wrt these jack asses to be popular and deserved… Now the fact that the countries of the English speaking Caribbean have chosen to side with a queen on some many fronts cannot come as a surprise when so much of our political/national agenda is shaped by such gifted people…?

30. David I in front a fire place right now and tomorrow I plan to mek snow angels. I having a white Christmas this year… not bad fah a devout athiest like me nah …!

31. But have you noticed that many of those who want to get rid of things British, like the Royal in RBPF, the name QEH, Princess Margaret School, and all of those regal road names in Bank Hall and Bridgetown, are the same very people who would throttle you if it was suggested that while we are shedding things British to throw in Harrison (college) Coleridge and Parry, Codrington and not to mention (Lord) Combernere.

32. @BAFBFP

Enjoy yourself and if you must venture outdoors be sure to get into the long johns.

All the best to you and yours.

33. Thnx David

And the same to you and yours … I faget to mention that I plan to visit a piano bar or two, let’s face when one door closes another opens… maybe .. ja ja