Adrian Loveridge – Hotel Owner

Fair competition is a wonderful thing and personally I don’t think it’s anything to fear. Hopefully soon the necessary operating licences will be granted and the prospects of seeing some reduction in the cost of intra Caribbean travel will become a reality. And how exciting to see the international aviation registration of 8P emblazoned on a Barbados based aircraft and the generation of new on-island employment in this sector.

Even before REDJet takes commercially to the air, the limited competitors have already been galvanised into action. The Trinidadian carrier, Caribbean Airlines, taking half page newspaper ‘ads’ pointing out a choice of seat classes, complimentary drinks, meal or snack, in-flight entertainment and the fact that you can earn miles, amongst other possible differences or benefits.

Ultimately, the consumer will have a choice, as to whether they prefer more affordable travel or the once almost standard perks. There is no doubt that high airfares (and taxes), have had a detrimental effect on our regional visitor arrival numbers. The introduction of WestJet and JetBlue has driven increased travel out of North America, without seemingly damaging the long established legacy carriers. In fact American Airlines have just added a new Dallas/Fort Worth non-stop service.

Travellers, especially during the current challenging economic times are becoming more price conscious. One example recently when some guests who live in Ontario, but crossed the border to fly with JetBlue out of Buffalo, because the airfare was considerable lower than either WestJet or Air Canada from Toronto.

There were at the time, some critics concerning the GOL/Varig flight from Sao Paulo, but in my humble opinion, it was the very best option available in every respect, choice of city, airline and type of aircraft. We need to explore the potential of new markets and anyone thinking that you can achieve this with full flights from inception, does not belong in the real world. I still feel the ultimate success of the Brazilian flight will depend on a holistic approach, where we identify niche markets, involve our island neighbours and very importantly, cultivate trade linkages. If I have one objective observation, it is a disappointment that we have not seen any trade delegations.

While Barbados must be viewed as a tiny market, I am sure there are opportunities, especially in the agro processing area. A significant contribution from air freight charges could play a very important part in both the long term sustainability of this flight and increase in frequency.

Now, if I had a 2011 ‘wish list’ for new flight routes, it would look like this:

1) Ottawa; 2) Winnipeg; 3) Halifax; 4) Berlin; 5) Moscow; 6) Zurich; 7) Panama; 8) Costa Rica

Two of these may look a little out-of-reach, but in Great Circle distances Berlin is only nine hours away and Moscow less than twelve. All three Canadian cities could be seasonal and operated either by WestJet or AirCanada.

To end the column let me pay a tribute to all those involved in tourism who will sacrifice quality time with their families to ensure that our cherished visitors enjoy the best Christmas ever.

1. Barbadians need to be told what is the commitment to marketing support for airlines flying into Barbados. Who determines which airlines gets what? How transparent is the process?

2. @Adrian, not to side track your tread but I always wanted to ask you.

Don’t you think it is better to market the caribean as a one destination.
    Instead of each island trying on their own?

3. Adrian Loveridge Avatar

readydone,

Yes! and No!
    I am all for marketing the Caribbean as one destination proving it is done professionally and there is total accountability.
    The funds should NOT come from yet another tax but from a proportion of the departure tax already collected by Governments.
    There should be specific objectives and every
    campaign/initiative should be analysed for its cost effectiveness.
    The CTO has (seemingly for ever) has been trying to put something together, but its always been a struggle to get regional agreement and more importantly, implementation.
    I am far from convinced that ‘we’ are spending
    what are often very large budgets in the best way.
    The Barbados Jazz Festival seems to be an example, if the figures quoted are accurate.
    BDS$500,000 to attract ‘about 400 visitors’ or an unbelievable $1,250 per PERSON.
    We have so many creative people out there (within the Caribbean), yet we continue to think that only a New York or Kansas based
    advertising agency can do the job.
    It frequently takes them weeks to correct blatant errors and omissions.

4. Adrian Loveridge Avatar

Sorry, should read PROVIDING!

5. Adrian since BTA wish to start naming figures. Don’t you think they should start to release all so we can see ROI for all there sponsorships.

6. Anthony,

YES!
    It isn’t their money, it is ours they are spending and I personally think we have a right to know.
    I think the public understands that they are not always going to get the anticipated ROI, but every ‘investment’ should be judged on its potential merits and results.
    If I was a marketing director in the private sector, my job would depend on performance.

7. We are in dire need of an inter island ferry service. Bedy Travel sank before it got started. We need Caribbean businesses investing in a service like this. Magnates like Cow and Bizzy Williams and some other local businessmen can do this. Ferries are easily available on the market. SOMEONE PLEASE HEAR MY CALL!

8. well you see they went a bought their own little plane so they no longer at the mercy of liat so it not a priority for them. though show them a good business model, how it going to work and make money and they might take it up.

9. The problem with the much touted regional ferry like the late PM’s plan to ferry fruit from Dominica was still born. The problem as always the inability of stakeholder to cut through the labyrinth of regulations headed by each sovereign island in the Caribbean.

10. A question for the BTA. What is the qualification for being posted overseas?

Who have been the appointees since this government has come to office?

11. Is Redjet $10 fairs for real, or is it a promotional teaser? Because if it is for real I don’t think it can be sustainable for the long-run.@Islandgal, Yes we need to start a Ferry Service. I have some money if you intersted we could start one ourselves.How much a ferry cost?

12. a decent size one would run you 10+ million easily. as for $10 fares. it bare basement pricing where everything is charge for. Handluggage is charge, luggage charge, backpack charge etc. Anyway the deal is 10 plus local tax at airport so easily another 150-200 added to 10 without any talk of the extra charges.

13. @ Zion1971

Yuh got bout a million Bds? I will put that and find 4 others to put the same. We could start with these

http://www.commercial-boats-for-sale.com/commercial_boat_97148.aspx

http://www.maritimesales.com/PM11.htm

14. @ Anthony. Thanks for the Info Brother. The $ 10 million price is way out my budget. I was looking something for much less. If I cound get some venture capital or private placement financing that would be good.

15. I dident look at the 10 million boat, but I think the ferry should be able to carry at least 4 container trucks so that we can get some goods traveling inter island as well.

What are the “labyrinth of regulations headed by each sovereign island in the Caribbean” don’t cruise ships already transport people form far lands to the different islands? And they are cargo ships that go in between each island.

Why not rent a cruise ship and partner with some airlines and hotels so someone can, let’s say, stay at 10 hotels each in a different island for one low rate. I sure that would make money for every one involved.

16. @readydone

What happens when a truck with St. Lucian license plates gets to Barbados and vice versa? Extrapolate region wide.

17. @Islandgal. I have about US300,000 to invest.At the exchange rate that is less than a million.

18. Say what you like, Jamaica keeps winning these industry plaudits.

Jamaica Voted Best Caribbean Destination in 2010 Travel Weekly Readers Choice Awards

NEW YORK – Jamaica has again reaffirmed its position as a top travel destination, having been voted the “Best Caribbean Destination” by readers of the leading U.S. travel industry magazine Travel Weekly in its eighth annual Readers Choice Awards. The award was announced on Thursday, December 16 at a gala dinner at New York City’s Plaza Hotel.

Jamaica edged its regional counterparts Aruba, Barbados, Dominican Republic, St. Lucia as well as the U.S. Virgin Islands to win the award for the second consecutive year.

“Jamaica is delighted to once again receive this top honor by readers of Travel Weekly. This award is testimony to our ongoing efforts to enhance the quality of Jamaica’s tourism industry, with continuous product development and expansion of our attraction offerings,” remarked Jamaica’s Director of Tourism John Lynch. “We look forward to continuing to boost our appeal to travelers by offering the region’s best and most comprehensive tourism product.”

Jamaica’s variety of accommodations, along with its more than 150 attractions continue to broaden the island’s appeal. This combined with convenient nonstop airlift makes Jamaica easily accessible from a number of major markets across the United States.

Travel Weekly’s Readers Choice Awards
    “This award, voted by our trusted readers, represents the views of travel industry insiders,” said Arnie Weissmann, Travel Weekly’s Vice President and Editor in Chief. “Travel Weekly’s readership understands what it takes to impress even the most discerning traveler.

To be voted a winner in any category is confirmation that American travel agents and their customers view your travel product as one of the best in the industry.”

Readers of Travel Weekly, the leading U.S. business-to-business travel industry publication reaching some 150,000 readers in the industry each week, were invited to nominate the most outstanding travel product and service in the past 12 months. Votes were cast over the summer in 59 categories through an open ballot process. The leading vote-recipients were identified as finalists, and voting on finalists took place this fall.

19. @ Zion1971 | December 20, 2010 at 7:49 PM |
    “Islandgal. I have about US300,000 to invest.At the exchange rate that is less than a million.”

Zionman I could put the difference to mek a million and split de profits 50-50 de bajan way. LOLLLLLLL

20. @ Islandgal. you joking right? Anyway I am going to do some serious research in this ferry business. I would operate first between Bim, Trinidad, St. Vincent, Grenada and St. Lucia.

21. @ David. The two things that JA have over other destinations are: Airlift and Attractions. Our 2×2 island cannot compete on attractions with jamaica because of there size. And they are also getting ready to introduce casion gaming by next year to compete with the Bahamas. Even with the recession, JA has been posting growth in the tourism sector. Yes, they can afford to offer deep discounts becaus of their weak currency and cheap labour market. But the puzzling thing for me is that– not withstanding the fact that 70% of the hotels are all-inclusive–you would think that their infamous crime rate alone would deter arrivals but instead the opposite is true. I think thay are a genius at advertising. Maybe we could learn from them.

22. @zion1971

Agreed with much of your comment. Often times our authorities are dismissive of the Jamaican approach because they deem it a different product. Perhaps a case of throwing out the baby with the bath water?

23. @David. Exactly.

24. Zionman I was just joking but you sound real serious man. Contact me via David and we can brainstorm. We only need two ferries to start with.

25. Jamaica is the land of Rastas and reggae how does on compete with that?
    You don’t, you can only look to promote your “own thing” but it works for jamaica because that is the genuine culture of the island. Unfortunately we don’t have such a identifiable, embedded culture of our own, so that needs to be worked with.

@David, work with a single trucking company and give them license plates like the ones that are used to transport new cars from the port to show rooms. I sure a insurance package could be tailored made for them, similar to a what a yatch would require. Or one truck could be registered for many islands. Using one trucking company would make it easy to regulate and they would be guaranteed a profit so the high operating cost would be covered.

Or

SIMPLE Let cruise ships do inter-island travel For locals!!!!!

26. readydone,

Several of us have called for the Caribbean to enter the cruise ship business over the years. We had a wonderful opportunity when the European Vision was anchored in Carlisle Bay for months. It was eventually sold for about 200 million EURO’s, which made the cost per cabin substantially cheaper than the cost of building a new hotel room.
    I see Sandals as the obvious brand initially. Many of their current clients will be looking for new experiences as they age and its the perfect match for cruise and stay packages.
    Its LONG overdue that more Caribbean nationals were employed on the existing ships and that they source more regionally made products and consumables.

27. Adrian someone like me with a business plan may not be able to get the backing required (in Barbados) so I like that I can put some of my ideas out there.

“Cruise and stay” is a great way to get more business for everyone, I hope you don’t only target the “very high” end of the market, when I say very high I mean the people that don’t mind paying us$5 for a banks, I want you to target more normal people that would spend their money at local establishments too.

I say we depending on the government to much for this.

Is their a law stopping regular cruise ships from taking islanders between the islands? Or has no one seen this are a credible income stream as yet?

28. readydone,

There is certainly no law against it and my wife and I took a seven day , seven island cruise a couple of years ago from Barbados. It costs about a US$100 a day with all food incl.
    I had to visit a number of islands to promote our re-DISCOVER the Caribbean Show and it was the cheapest option.
    The only aggravating thing was needing to purchase a seperate driving licence permit in nearly every territory.
    There are so many regional Government made obstacles put in the way of trying to do business in the Caribbean, it makes the concept of a free market a bit of a joke.

29. There is no problem with the law the problem would be the cruise ships. they currently sell a package deal with certain amount of nites for x dollar now by taking room away from that how do you proportion getting x back to cruise ship and would the cruise ship not want to just have x. Also given how they tour. they just go on one set itinerary unless some natural occurrence get in the way. so it won’t be it just moving from your destination to the next you have to proceeded along to route to get back to your origin. So normal cruise ship are not really going to want to take this option up. Now if the region put together and lease or buy a cruise ship then have working on a reverse schedule every week or bi weekly that may work but the cruise ship would in itself just be acting like a ferry. so get back to the orginal part we need a dedicate ferry service.

30. I actually meant for example; if i know the next stop for the ship is St.Vincent I can, with out prior planing,go down to the port, and board a cruise ship and get off in St. Vincent with out hassles.

Some thing Like a ZR.

31. well you can go down just buy a ticket thought they charge you the whole amount for the cruise and your money would be burned from the time you leave the boat in st. vincent. so yes you can do it but currently but there no efficient way to do it money wise.

32. Adrian why didn’t you get an international driver license? that would have stopped all the hassle.

33. I don’t know about you guys but I would pay $us30 to get on a cruise ship and stand on the deck for 3hours to vincy even If I got to fly back home.

34. @ Anthony
    I have driven in Martinique and Florida with my Barbados License, Barbados does not recognize International Drivers Licenses. You have to apply for a local permit even if you have an international one.

35. thats very weird. they are signatories on the UN legislation so it should be legal.

36. There maybe some misunderstanding about what is a hovercraft and a hydrofoil.

37. 1) type in “cruise ship for sale”
    2) open the page
    3) select ship
    4) buy

On the site I’m looking at, I see a small ship (52 pax) for 2.5 million euro, or medium sized guys for 500 pax at 8.5M to 20M. Take your pick.

38. Hey, if you gather a few regional investors for a deposit, and work out your financials and management structure, drop me a line. I’ll write the business plan and apply for an EU Grant.

39. How ya would charge for something like this? The only way I can see is one flat rate for each leg of the trip. determined by actual operating cost of that leg. That way the islands close to each other would benefit each other most, and every body ent going to want to go to one island.

And we would get the gas from t&t we might even get a deal if we give them a cut of the profits!

But for something like this to work, you would got to find a way to stop over staying because nuff people ent going to want to go home.(I think that is the only problem holding this back) Maybe you could charge for the return trip one time. And make it So that the immigration officers can put you back on the boat with out to much hassel. I think you would have to have good security on the boat it self and a black list, for those that caught illegally over staying, twice.

40. Adrian Loveridge Avatar

Ready Done,

Do you remember EasyCruise operated in the Caribbean for a while and I believe this concept could work again. A combined rate for overnight accommodation and transportation
    to another island with freight potential.
    When EasyCruise pulled out of the Caribbean, I sent an email to Sir Stelios to ask why?
    He was gracious enought to respond personally, within minutes, stating that the operating and port taxes were too high in the region.
    I have sent an old EasyCruise ‘ad’ to BU and hopefully it will be posted and it will remind people.

41. Here I was thinking that you would sail back and fourth from Hati to Guyana and let people get on and off as they please.

42. well for ferry service that possible for cruise lines unlikely. there no reason why it wouldn’t succeed. just too much red tape in the region.

43. A few points;

Given all the negative stuff that comes out of Jamaica, they do very well in attracting visitors to the island.

One reason for this is their marketing strategy. They use TV advertising in the US market very well and utilize the internet liberally.

Barbados tends to rely on a dying breed, travel agents.

Barbados tourism leaders live Ralph Taylor who have been around a long time are stuck on travel agents and seem to have not discovered TV or the internet yet!

Somebody needs to wake these people up and/or get some new blood in key areas!

The problem with Caribbean owned and operated travel transportation is that caribbean government participation would be critical and these governments have a short=termed view of injecting these businesses with political people, as a result they’re doomed to failure.

The travel industry is very competitive and in the caribbean work habits, government involvement, productivity and preparation (education, experience etc) would make this a no-win proposition.

More to come!!

Travellers are not using travel agents to plan vacation travel. They see an ad on TV that is enticing and they get on the internet and do research.