Hartley Henry – Principal Political Advisor to the Hon. Prime Minister

Finally, Owen Arthur has regained political relevance…or so he thinks! This column, and that which preceded it in another daily publication, argued from day one that Owen Arthur could not “sit still” as a non-ranked member of the Parliament of Barbados. In a moment of anguish and personal humiliation, he gave up the leadership of the Barbados Labour Party back in January, 2008 and has regretted that hasty move ever since.

It is amazing the number of persons who cringed at his Hollywood-style performance in Roebuck Street last Monday, when, with a straight face and a desperate attempt at calling down tears, he said he never yearned to be back at the helm and never saw that day coming. What a laugh! If he continues like this, he is going to put Mac Fingall and Alf Padmore out of work! The only Owen Arthur Hollywood Moment more comical than him trying to remove his fingerprints from the scene of Monday’s crime was the 2007 sitcom in which he invited the media to watch him “fork” his garden. A garden, I am reliably informed, that he has not visited since that particular photo shoot. Sorry, I’m wrong! The garden scene equals, in absurdity, the removal of his shoes on the approach of a photographer at the Cable and Wireless Cricket Ground back in the late 1990s. These Arthur Hollywood Moments are legendary and will make for good comic strips two generations from now.

But last Monday’s palace coup was, as I wrote last week, the brainchild of a handful of businessmen, and one solitary woman, who felt that their deep pockets could influence the leadership and makeup of future governments in Barbados. More money will be spent by the Barbados Labour Party in the remaining life of this government, and in the next general election campaign, than in any corresponding period in the history of elective government in this country. Candidates of the BLP will match and even outspend the Constituency Councils. In the weeks and months ahead, voters must not ask for help with utility and grocery bills, they must demand of their Labour Party candidates, appliances, vehicles and trips overseas. The campaign budget I am hearing about has made provision for expenditures of this nature and voters must ensure they cash in on the bonanza. Arthur, as leader of the BLP, will singlehandedly resuscitate the Barbados economy; given the infusion of the millions of sponsorship dollars that party will be receiving from those who have set about to install a government of their design and choosing.

Big Business may have triggered the removal of Mia Mottley. Big Business may also have caused the return to relevance of Owen Arthur, but Big Business cannot influence the timing and circumstance of the calling of the next general elections…and that is the proverbial fly in the ointment for Owen Arthur.

He has started his Second Coming, by making two fundamental errors. First, he timed his comeback on the premise of three assumptions over which he has no control. Second, in a desperate bid to calm and settle the party on Monday evening, he pledged to leave the slate of candidates, installed by Motley, 100 per cent intact.  That was a fundamental error! Half of those candidates are a complete waste of time, politically. They have not captured the imagination of voters and most of them do not have the capacity so to do, simply because they are not people-oriented. Most of them view politics as a second career option, having failed miserably in their current day time jobs.

Arthur should have cleaned slate and started fresh, but, that’s what the politics of opportunism is all about. He had to do what he felt he had to do to get Mottley off his back.

The timing of last Monday’s palace coup was predicated on three fundamental assumptions that will be examined in a moment.  But, first, let’s put things in context. Once the pledge of sustained financial support was given, the architects of Mottley’s removal went to work. They were not concerned about how it looked or how it would have impacted or portrayed their former leader. As far as they were concerned, the command had been given and they had to get to work. Motley’s goose was cooked a clear five months ago following a meeting at a particular Graeme Hall location. The only question left unanswered from that deliberation, was precisely when the plan would be put into action.

In determining the precise moment, the crafters considered several variables and made three significant assumptions based on anticipation. First, they anticipated that David Thompson would not lead the Democratic Labour Party into the next election and that he would be replaced at the helm, sooner, rather than later. Note, while the whole country is praying for one thing, these operatives are basing their strategy on another. Second, they anticipated that the selection or election of a new leader of the DLP would be contentious and divisive, leaving the party in tatters. Third, they anticipated the calling of a snap election. I’ve been hearing a date as early as January or February next year.

None of these three scenarios fall within the purview of the leadership of the Barbados Labour Party to trigger or determine. Yet, in their typical arrogance, they proceeded to implement a plan, based on the coming to pass of these assertions.

The thinkers determined that the image of Mottley could not be altered and repaired in the anticipated time frame and thus, she had to be thrown overboard. Pure and simple! Furthermore, they concluded that the funding needed to conduct a realistic 21st century campaign would only be forthcoming if a business-friendly person like Owen Arthur, was at the helm. Interestingly, in the BLP, Mottley is not perceived to be as business-friendly as her background would suggest.

Note carefully, that the mass of voters of Barbados do not feature anywhere in the foregoing equation. There is the assumption that melodic tunes, catchy slogans and an abundance of money is all it will take to swing a sufficient percentage of voters to vote for the Barbados Labour Party and return its leaders to office. Monday’s Palace Coup was not called for by or initiated on behalf of the poor people of Ashton Hall, Eden Lodge, Belleplaine or Bathsheba. It was not as a result of any branch of the BLP calling for decisive action against Mia Mottley. None of the elders of the BLP featured in this cold blooded political execution. This was a plot hatched around a table by a small group of individuals. The execution was perfect, but the timing was flawed.

Owen Arthur will not influence or determine the timing of the calling of the next general elections. He cannot now and will not in the future influence the leadership structure of the Democratic Labour Party. Before the next election is called, Arthur will, however, have to answer a set of questions. He will have to explain the appropriation or lack thereof of hundreds of millions of dollars during the 14 year rule of the Barbados Labour Party. Once at the top, there is nowhere to run and nowhere to hide!

Monday’s Palace Coup was merely the beginning of a very exciting season of politics. There will be several other epic moments in the political life of this country before the next elections are called. Upon that solitary promise, Mr. Arthur can rest assured.

Hartley Henry is a Regional Political Strategist. He can be reached at hartleyhenry@gmail.com

58 responses to “Arthur's RE-EMERGENCE – Perfect Execution, Flawed Timing”

1. To Owen Arthur: “You cannot become a messiah because it is not easy; the moment you think of becoming a messiah, crucifixion comes to the eye.” Osho

To Mia Mottley:‎ “If you understand the struggle, the fight for being superior, you drop out of the fight – you simply say: “I am myself, neither superior nor inferior.” If you just stand by the side and watch the whole show, you have entered into the second world – the world of intelligence and consciousness.” Osho

2. DLP supporters, don’t glory in the mishaps of the BLP, a similar thing happened in 2006 with Mascoll and Thompson and we all know the results. DLP supporters are behaving as though their hands are clean. Bajans dfon’t have short memories anymore.

3. ‘Most of them view politics as a second career option, having failed miserably in their current day time jobs.’

So I guess Dennis Lowe, Kenny Best, Stephen Lashley, Patrick Todd, Haynesley Benn, John Boyce, Ronald Jones, Steve Blackett, Colin Spencer etc were ALL successful in their day time jobs last election; while Santia Bradshaw, Wilfred Abrahams, Indar Weir are all failures.

The man writes rubbish every week.

4. Hartley Henry; This article has perhaps been the best analysis of the current situation I have seen so far. But having said so i wonder if you are really forthcoming on the question of David Thompson’s possible imminent departure from the DLP leadership. Can a man in his avowed condition continue to lead the DLP? Of course you have shown how, based on the sympathy-sensitivity spin, that he can continue to be PM from his sick bed without being able to attend Parliament or give even minimal public input on important matters, but can he continue to lead the DLP in that condition? If he can’t would the process of appointing a new de facto leader be seamless? Are his handlers willing to give out truthful periodic advisories on his health? How long can you continue to gag the public from commenting on a situation that is untenable and as time goes on will only suggest louder and louder that it bespeaks some element of power hungriness or fear that a vacuum really exists in the DLP as far as an adequate successor is concerned?

5. HH, last week you swore it was greed. Today you have become clairvoyant – “More money will be spent by the Barbados Labour Party ……. and in the next general election campaign, than in any corresponding period in the history of elective government in this country. Candidates of the BLP will match and even outspend the Constituency Councils.” It appears that OA has you puzzled. You are now guessing about what could have gone on at a meeting at some location. As a strategist your ears were not as close to the ground as they should have been for you would have seen the coup you speak of coming and you would have acted accordingly. You would have done something. Perhaps you were spending more time manipulating the public’s sympathy.

It appears that you are now lost about what OA will come with. You are out to sea.

6. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Hartley

“but Big Business cannot influence the timing and circumstance of the calling of the next general elections…and that is the proverbial fly in the ointment for Owen Arthur”

Don’t be sure! They have the ability to destabilise the economy if they so desire. Look what happen in the early ’90’s.

This one percent of the population mean that they must always be in control. I would advise the DLP to watch themselves carefully.

Remember Harley the last time the one percent were able to influence many members of the DLP to turn traitor. They will try again believe me.

7. I remember DT telling MM on numerous occasions that he should not be her worrying factor that she needed to check with the short man from St. Peter. I don’t think she took his advice.

OA then got up and vociferously and vehemently denied these allegation yet the rest is history …………………….

8. If HH is now a Mia Mottley supporter then I would have to assume that the BLP is on the right track.

Almost three years and we are still hearing that Owen and the BLP have to explain the (mis)appropriation of funds over the 14yrs they held the government.

How much longer before you and your bosses act on the mountain of evidence supposedly in your possession and pass it on to the DPP for his consideration?

9. Asman although I agree with your post above. I wonder if anyone had to be locked up what we would say.

ITAL is needed more than ever.

However, when th

10. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Hartley

This is the right time for the Democratic Labour Party Government to bring criminal charges against many members of the former Barbados Labour Party government and their operatives for their corruption in the last administration.

11. I AINT EVEN READING THIS CRAP

12. I WOULD LIKE TO KNOW WHA’ OWEN ARTHUR DO HARTLEY HENRY ?

13. The BLP RAN THIS COUNTRY WELL
    BRINGING BARBADOS FROM THE DEPTHS OF DESPAIR IN 1994.

JOBS NO1 WAS JOBS
    and unemployment was brought down to 6 % BY THE BLP even with imported labour.

IS BARBADOS BETTER OFF NOW THAN PRE 2008 ?

HAS THE COST OF LIVING GONE UP OR DOWN.

HAVE THE FOREIGN RESERVES GONE UP OR DOWN ?
    None of wunna DLP sympathisers /Owen Bashers cannot be comfortable answering these questions so go ahead and attack me -the person me
    KISSMYA’I LOVE OWEN SEYMOUR ARTHUR’ MCCLEAN

14. How come Owen led this country so well and he took all the all the blame for everything that happen for the 14 years that he was PM. He did not know what was going on in with his ministers, if he had move them around we might not have so much alleged corruption .

15. We must remember, the BLP didn’t vote for itself, many voters supported the OA party, that’s why they were the governmentfor 14 yrs, therefore to suggest that for 14 yrs they did nothing, also means that for 14 yrs bajans were silly. Barbados has been blessed with good governance irrespective of whether it’s B or D and they both have had their shortcomings at some stage. What the DLP needs to do now, if they want to remain in government is to capitalise on the disorder in the BLP camp and come out to the public as a unified party, as it stands we believe that if the present P.M vacates his office shortly, ALL HELL BREK DOWN in the DLP’s camp. Please prove me wrong

16. Somehow, I have that gut feeling that there is more in the mortor than the pestle, in the break from Mia. I recall OA telling her, she needs to clean up her act ( or words to that effect). The one thing the BLP got going for them is that whatever happened, it might never be brought to the public.

17. Why all the fuss about the removal of Mia, If Owen saw an opportunity and took it, what is wrong? Why do we expect change without some blood on the floor?
    Mia would have to be blind, deaf, dumb and totally out of her mind not to know what was cooking in the parliamentary party. Clearly as an effective leader she was deeply lacking in doing her homework. Take your eye off the ball and the game is lost. Sorry sister better luck next time.
    As to Owen, do we realise how much of a magnet power is to unscrupulous folks? Good luck to the man. In these days of austerity, everybody got their troubles, so to the DLP I say hunker down and get a move on with sorting out the Bajan economy. HH please stop the distractions and let the ministers get on with running the country.
    There is an old saying, when thieves fall out…. In my case I prefer all is fair in love and war, and certainly in politics, there is only a bottomless pit. Anything goes. So there will be no tears shed by me. Please let’s change the subject.
    HD

18. Rose is typical of a lot people out there
    Ignorant till some left!
    Do you undestand what the man means when he Owen talks about taking responsibility ? You are not simplistic now are you
    Those who say the BLP DID NOTHING FOR THE COUNTEY ARE STUPID and typical of those who dont care how much you do for them say that you do nothing for them.
    yo can do 99 rights and one little wrong and they say that you have done nothing for them

I have heard men say that —Bajan women are like that

19. Much to my angst, Owen Arthur has given the next election to the DLP on a platter. Mia be strong and watch, there is no fool like an old fool.

20. @ CCC
    You said, quote:- “This is the right time for the Democratic Labour Party Government to bring criminal charges against many members of the former Barbados Labour Party government and their operatives for their corruption in the last administration.”
    So, CCC! Are these BLP members to be charged “willy nilly” because you and HH say so?? Get a life CCC and stop writing such unintelligent bovine excrement! This is still (last time I checked) a country that holds to due process of law by providing solid EVIDENCE that someone has broken the LAW. EVIDENCE, CCC, is the key word. Bring the EVIDENCE or shut to so and so up! You “YARDFOUL”!! In this country people are still innocent until PROVEN guilty!!

21. I totally agree with de hood.

22. Kissmya, I am glad that a lot of people in this country think like me. What is the little wrong Owen do? If he was in England,United States or Canada he would not have last so long, he is an adulter.God said you shall not commit adultery. Owen is liar, he said he did not have any chidren ,where all these unlawful chidren come from? he can’t tell Mia nothing about her lifestyle.Wait for the bomb that MIA have for all of you.

23. I support De Hood 100% in the submission posted above

The DLP won the last election by fooling people with lies and innuendo. This is the kind of backward politics practised by the DLP in this present dispensation. I dont think it happened deliberately under Sandi even though he said at Eastmond corner on the eve of an election that the economy was performing bettter that Garfield Sobers. One week later we knew otherwise.

This telling of lies and innuendo is old school politics and I was disturbingly surprised that the electorate allowed themselves to be fooled by crap from the DLP.

After the nonsense that the DLP did after the Skipper took flight especially the period 1991-94. I did not expect the DLP to form the Government in under 30 years. *The DLP has returned to Government too soon.*
    It has been shown that inspite of the slogan that they were ready, they are definitely NOT READY ! They won the Government through lies and innuendo and some of their syncophants continue these lies and innuendo and they continue to play this card much to their detriment. They are people who were 14 years old in 2008 and in 2012 , these people will eligible to vote. I dont think they want to hear crap.

One thing that bothered me about the lies and accusations is that during the 14 year period of the BLP Government, none of this crap came to the house of assembly.

24. 2013 NEXT ELECTION! VOTE DLP!

25. If Owen did wrong , he is the only Prime Minister/politicain that did wrong in the whole world. Owen should be an angel and without sin to be a Prime Minister.

This kind of fundamentalist thinking can only be coming the young and ignorant-the computer babies who do not know their history or understand life.

You want a perfect man–go and find one.

Everybody that does his/her job well are saints and angels and without sin and this helps them to do a good job. They are not fallible: they have no sin. The TV Evangelists: no sin; the doctor who saves lives in a hospital: no sin; the University lecturer who teach our children to go out and work to their full potential: no sin;
    DLP politicians past and present : no sin inspite of Mark Stokes, Carsicot, Caribbean Airways and National Housing ‘Joy Edwards’ Housing scandal and Philip Greaves and the treatment of Gertrude Eastmond.
    NO SIN
    OWEN SEYMOUR IS A SINNER SO HE CANT BE PRIME MINISTER Well ! Well! Well !

26. That Kissmya** f**l wrote “after the Skipper took flight”

J responds:

ROFLMFAO.

The Skipper did not “take flight”.

The Skipper died.

He as as dead, dead, dead.

And planted too according to our friend Georgie Porgie.

That Kissmya** f**l wrote “I did not expect the DLP to form the Government in under 30 years”

J responds: Then you know little about life or politics, or human behaviour. You are not much of a politician. Maybe you have spent soo much time in Owen Arthur’s shadow that you have forgotten the light.

Understand that people change their minds. No political party in Barbados will ever get 30 years (unless you mean 30 years in jail)

27. You are so typical !
    You take sections of what I say and run with them while ignoring other things that I have said

You are one piece of ‘UWI’ work

28. Barbados Prime Minister, The Honourable David Thompson is DEAD. He died around 2.10 am today at his marital home in St. Philip with his wife and three children at his side. All political divide should put all politics aside and pray for his family, his friends and the people of Barbados on this sad passing. May he rest in Peace.

29. The Lord GIVES and He takes away; Blessed be the name of the Lord. May the soul of David Thompson rest in peace. To his mourning family, relatives and friends, I offer my deepest condolences.

30. Well Peter Wickham and Hartley Henry can continue acting as though the DLP isnt in a real troublesome predicament. I assure you that the BLP will recoup and the DLP will be dead. Mia just hug Owen in public and make sure you state your conditions for him to make sure you do not keep teh party divided and cause him to lose.
    I think Mia had more clout now more than ever. Mia is teh determining factor to this entire election whenever it is called. owen and all teh other BLP members know that.

31. We should pray that David Thompson rest in peace and that his family and friends be comforted by the Almighty in this time of sorrow. Looking ahead,now is the time for Freundel Stuart to put his stamp on the leadership of the DLP and to prove that he is worthy of being Prime Minister, he should move swiftly to ensure that the ‘transparency’legislation is passed by parliament before the next election.But let us not hold our breath ! That is asking too much of a lawyer who has said that there is no problem with lawyers and the legal profession in Barbados ! What a cruel joke !

32. I Say,
    I think the BLP are in more trouble at this time.

33. Uh Want To Know Avatar

New P.M Stuart is being urged to carry on Mr.Thompson’s “legacy”. It’s early days yet but I am curious:
    (1) Will Mr.Stuart retain Hartley as his Political Advisor?
    (2) Who will the DEM’s run in the bye election? Will Mr.Stuart vacate his marginal Beckles Road seat and go for safety in St.John, or will Mr.Sinckler be called on to do likewise by vacating his Deacon’s seat?
    (2) Which one of Stuart and Sinckler is considered the REAL long term prospect for DLP P.M.?
    (3) Is Hartley being considered for the St.John seat?
    (3) What strategy will the BLP employ in contesting the difficult St.John seat, amidst lingering sympathy for Mr.Thompson, and who will be their candidate?

34. seem HH has quit as political advisor according to tuseday nation.

35. I am an armchair politician as many of us are in this society, but as I heard The Hon. Mia Mottley break her silence with regard to this debacle, I felt a considerable sense of pride as she delivered her speech.

A friend called me and told me when she heard it that it was so full of conviction, it brought tears to her eyes.
    The first image that came to my mind was that of Hilary Rodham Clinton as she stood in the face of seeming defeat and humiliation and acceded the battle to Mr Obama in the run up to the American election.

The greatness of a leader is not only his/her ability to decipher the opportune time to fight a battle and win because the “weather” is in his favour, but also how he/she handles his/herself in the midst of seeming defeat. Ms Mottley has shown in the midst of her war, she has the temerity to stand and having done all, to stand.

Many of us want to lead, but don’t have the intestinal fortitude to stand up in the face of defeat.

So on the behalf of many armchair politicians, let me commend you Ms Mottley on the grace and strength you showed in this fight and even as you go through your valley and the sun dims above you, know that the mountain peaks are still there, only that a temporary shadow has been cast above them.

Know also that in the valley is where character is perfected to prepare you to climb the mountain.

You have already shown you have the courage and grace to climb it, so be blessed even in the valley.

36. When one puts aside the divding lines of politics one can truly assess what occurred in the BLP camp. I cannot verify Mr Henry’s claim but I cannot ignore it. I however would suggest that the timing of the ouster coincided with the knowledge that our esteemed PM was on his last legs. This makes the actions by the BLP even more distasteful because instead of putting aside the political divide, the aim was to capitalise on an unfortunate situation. Arthur shares a great deal of popularity however the claim about his stewardship in the last 14 years being good is a misrepresentation. The return to growth of the Barbados economy was the result of hard decisions taken by E Sandiford in 1991, Arthur enjoyed the honeymoon that followed. When the time came for the last government to work hard to keep the economy growing, the statistics speak for themselves. Let us not forget the Arthur-Jamaica experience. Let us not be blinded by our own political support lines. I agree with Mr Henry’s assertion that the ousting of Ms Mottley was based on three flawed assumptions and I will hasten to add that what the BLP did was save Mia’s political career, because if the BLP loses the next election under Arthur, his political future will be doomed and Mia will return as the victor, a bride adorned for a matrimonial encounter.

37. HH did the right thing to resign. The former PM is no longer around so his role and responsibilities to the deceased is now null and void.

It’s up to the current PM to select his own Consultant. Let’s wait and see if he re-hires HH.

38. The timing of HH’s departure, in the early days of mourning for the former PM, needs to be examined.
    Would he have left at this time voluntarily? Or was he pushed? Why could’nt he make the disclosure after the PM is buried? Why make it now? Are there some possible lessons here for the Chairman of CBC? Should we be expecting his resignation soon? Is there any connection between the HH disclosure and the fact that Chris Sinckler has not been further elevated? is the new PM making deliberate changes in the former PM’s pecking order?
    Did HH deliberately open the door for these types of questions at this time and not later by his disclosure of his departure now?

39. @ checkit-out | October 26, 2010 at 2:48 PM |
    “…is the new PM making deliberate changes in the former PM’s pecking order?”

Why would the new PM want to make changes to the former PM’s reshuffling and the dust has not even begin to settle?

40. Eye-Spy;

HH and Mr. Parris were the ones that I was referring to in my post above as “the pecking order”, not members of parliament. The term is almost certainly a misnomer. I apologize.

I really don’t know why the new PM would want to change some of his advisers from those that performed, presumably creditably, under the former PM. Perhaps, just the perception of a need to put his personal stamp on developments going forward and thereby delineate himself from other Cabinet Ministers in the future campaigns for the next elections in about 2 years.

But, HH is departing from the post of Political Consultant to the Prime Minister (not David Thompson but the Prime Minister) paid for out of taxpayer funds and not those of the DLP or even the late David Thompson’s personal funds. If he were in the good books of the new PM an easy case could have been made out to retain him if he and the new PM were compatible. HH has told us that he and the former PM were very good personal friends and it therefore seems to me that his leaving at this time suggests that he does not have as powerful friends in Cabinet as he had before. That brought to mind another very good friend of the former PM, Mr. Parris, Chairman of CBC. Is CLICO likely to be a liability to the new Stuart administration? Will Parris have more support there than HH? or should we expect his departure soon?

Perhaps we could add Darcy Boyce to the above names in the days and weeks to come as the economy takes centre stage, except that Darcy Boyce is a professional in the area of finance and provides a scarce expertise that must be of great value to Chris Sinckler.

41. @EyeSpy and checkit-out…

Let me please ask you both a serious question:

Do you understand what the term “Explosive decompression” means?

Deep sea terrestrial divers (and astronauts (and cosmonauts)) know very seriously what this term means.

I find, listening to you both, that perhaps some here on earth (with their air pressure normally very close to that experienced close to sea level) need to know how to deal with explosive decompression….

42. Chris Halsall;
    I think I know what explosive decompression means, especially as it might relate to an astronaut. But you will have to explain what it means in the current context.
    Do you mean that the HH disclosure is an example of ex.d? or that it might provoke ex.d in some of the denizens of this board? or that by merely discussing the topic, which you might consider to be taboo at this time, despite HH opening the avenue for it to be discussed, it will provoke ex.d on this board.
    In any case, I apologize sincerely if I erred in discussing the topic.

43. @checkit-out: “But you will have to explain what it means in the current context.

Let’s say you are suddenly subjected to a vacuum. Or let’s say you suddenly find yourself 30 meters underwater without an air supply. (Both situations can be subjected to ordinary humans “here and now”.)

Do you hold your breath?

Or do you blow?

(Believe it or not, this is a serious question… And believe it or not, there is only one correct answer… Blow, baby blow…. You’ve got about 12 seconds to live after that. Make the most of it….)

44. The new P.M would definately change the cabinet the late P.M set a few months ago. Remember the late P.M had rid himself of almost all his portfolios, which if P.M Stuart allow to remain would leave him doing very little. Also I expect him to ask Clyde Mascoll to rerurn as his economic adviser, that means sacking Darcy Boyce. I also feel that he will remove Sinckler from being so close to him and return him to be Min of Foreign Affairs. These are the changes I can see happening very soon, there might be some more, like David Estwick and Haynesley Benn

45. @checkit-out

HH explained himself on the evening news.

His contract expired.

He was the political adviser to the late PM Thompson and not the government.

He doesn’t have the stomach for local politics now but may return in the future.

He intends to do regional.

46. But Chris; The current political and economic situations are not exactly on all fours with the scenario you paint above. Re. the politics, the late PM was battling an incurable cancer for about 7 months. Even the BU family had a reasonable idea that it was incurable at least 5 months ago. So it was not a sudden unexpected situation. What practically screams that the situation was not unexpected is the fact that it took a meeting of only 30 minutes to decide on the new Prime Minister and prepare the necessary instruments. That speed suggests that there would have been one or more previous meetings for that purpose and the 30 minute meeting was essentially just a formality. The Stuart people had an adequate time to prepare for the event and probably knew roughly when it was likely to come. On the other hand the HH people would have been out manouvered. Hence the reaction by HH himself that was reported in today’s Nation.

If you are suggesting that the former PM’s death would have created a vacuum leaving those swimming in that vacuum in an ex.D situation. That clearly is not so. The succession was practically seamless. The actions of the new PM cannot be faulted at the present time in this period of national mourning. There are almost no signs that there will be an implosion in the DLP as a result of the PM’s death as the handling of it by the New PM and his advisors has been superb so far.

If you are suggesting that the economic situation is the likely trigger for ex.D, that situation is one that has progressively deteriorated over the last 2 years or so, thus again, the current situation (the new S&P rating. etc.,) should not have been unexpected. The measures to be decided on and presented in the coming budget by Chris Sinckler are likely to be quite painful. Perhaps it is the likely rigour and effects of these measures themselves (and what we are likely to learn about Government’s revised Plan for the CLICO bailout) that can be reasonably likened to explosive decompression.

I think the Stuart Administration has done a very good job so far. Of course it is early days yet and strange things can still happen especially if the apparent rumblings coming from St Lucy are allowed to fester.

47. David; re. your last post above.
    You said “He was the political adviser to the late PM Thompson and not the government.”

Therein lies the rub as I tried to explain earlier. Was HH the political adviser to David Thompson, PM? or was HH the political adviser to the PM who at that time happened to be David Thompson. If he was the adviser to David Thompson without any explicit connection to the office of PM I would expect that he would have been paid by David Thompson himself or at least by the DLP for David Thompson. Since it appears that he was paid from the public purse it cannot be David Thompson per.se. who was his boss but the holder of the Prime Minister post. Thus when David Thomson died it would have been quite appropriate, imho, for the new PM to extend his contract if both parties so wished. Evidently one or both parties did not so wish.

Did he say when his contract expired? Was it during the late PM’s illness? Did he lose his stomach for Barbados’ politics at that time or did that only happen recently?

48. Stuart administration done what good job ?
    everything is pon pause.

Hartley Henry had to go

Deputy Prime Minister is Kellman
    Candidate For St. John is Mara Thompson
    no candidate for BLP
    Snap Elections in six weeks
    Chief Justice in place in 4 weeks
    Significant changes in Public Sector
    Integrity legislation will cause a decided ripple and waves rocking the boat and capsizing it

49. @checkit-out

Based on the news report the contract expired a few months ago.

The news reports made mention that he was advisor to Thompson, if this was the case your point is valid.

50. Can someone please ask Hartley Henry to return Dominica’s diplomatic passport? Enough damage has been done.