XCOR Aerospace is teaming up with the southern Caribbean island of Curacao to develop a space port for future suborbital tourist and scientific flights. The agreement is with the territorial government of Curacao and a group of Dutch investors with the hopes of offering flights in 2014. The joint venture is known as Space Experience Curacao, or SXC. The group will lease one of XCOR’s Lynx spacecraft. The Lynx is a small two-seat spacecraft (pictured above) designed to launch to more than 100 kilometers (about 328,000 feet) – Click image to read about it

19 responses to “Space Travel Caribbean Style – Thinking Out Of The Box!”

1. What are the Dutch eating or drinking that we need to get some pronto?

2. must be some good liquor cause putting a space port on low area island is madness. space port require a good set of land unless your going the virgin route even then would need facilities to produce the liquid or solid fuel needed to push the rocket into to orbit those being high dangerous. just seem like a idea in folly to me. better idea would be to use guyana , surinam or french guyana ( which most eurpoean countries currently use) . can easily use hydro for extra power if needed. lots of land to build a huge airport and support facilities if needed.

3. @anthony

you need to give the planners some credit man 🙂

Caribbean Spaceport: Your Tropical Gateway to Space
    Suborbital Personal Spaceflight will become one of the most exciting action-packed holiday adventures of the coming 10 years with a predicted market in 2021 of 1 billion dollars per year.

With its excellent tourism facilities and high-end aerospace infrastructure already in place, the beautiful Netherlands Antilles island Curacao offers the perfect location to serve this promising emerging Personal Spaceflight market as well as Scientific and Educational Spaceflight missions. Reciprocally, the development and operations of a spaceport on Curacao bring great benefits to the local economy of the island and will attract larger numbers of tourist visits per year.

Caribbean Spaceport is working closely with governmental and business institutions toward the goal of developing a fully operational spaceport by the year 2013.

4. Adrian Loveridge Avatar
    Adrian Loveridge

Xcor Airlines, do you think they could be competition for LIAT?

5. Funny Adrian…lol.

Notice the latest tourist numbers show a 4.1% increase, cruise ship is down marginally which is fine given the lower spend compared to stopovers/long stay.

What we need to find out is the average spend, this is the indicator which tells it all.

6. I really don’t see it working david. though i wish them the best as the flight test for vehicle don’t start till 2011 at best.

7. Adrian most of these statistics don’t mean a lot. What matters is that in Canada where I live, we the public are watching the rise of the Canadian dollar and if the banking maguffes are right, the canadian dollar will be worth $2.20 Barbados early next year.

Even poor Hants might be able to afford a little vacation in Barbados,buy some stuff for my homies and still put in a cross border trip to shop in New york state or Pensylvania.

problem is the US dollar dropping and their unemployment rising so Amurcan tourisses might stan home.

8. STOP DREAMING !!!!

9. Pretty Blue Eyes Avatar
    Pretty Blue Eyes

this is pure madness

10. Another BEDY Ferry pie in the sky. Who is going to buy the first ticket?
    But no more mad than the gas pipe line from T&T to Barbados,which Barbados is still persuing ,although we have heard that T&T gas reserves is running out.

11. If I had the financial resources I would buy a ticket. I am not an adventerous person but I have always nursed a fantasy of going into space. Imagine travelling at the speed of light into the infinity.

12. Another BEDY Ferry pie in the sky. Who is going to buy the first ticket?
    But no more mad than the gas pipe line from T&T to Barbados,which Barbados is still persuing ,although we have heard that T&T gas reserves is running out.

Wunna tink Trinis foolish? They probably expecting that when their gas runs out we Bajans might be finding some of our own gas in our vast but underexplored deepwater, off shore fields, so they can than grabble up we Bajan gas and send it back in de self same pipeline to TT fuh dem to use. By that time they will own just about all uh Buhbadus, so dey might be figuring dey gine own our Bajan gas too. 🙂

13. Can’t wait to see the developments on this one.

14. David you do realise this just a one passenger vehicle as such the amount of people willing to pay for might be significant less than virgin galactic which hold 6. As the virgin hold 6 and this only hold one it think the former might be quite a bit more profitable if they had gone with that route instead.

15. @anthony

In the absence of the cost benefit what can one say?

lol

16. what happen to Hopi and Sapadillo missing reading their comments

@Zoe .

Space the final frontier.! hopefully it might give you a birds eye view of heaven

17. According to this article
    http://www.france24.com/en/20100927-virgin-launch-space-tourism-18-months

Billionaire entrepreneur Richard Branson’s Virgin Galactic is on track to offer commercial space travel within 18 months and that Virgin Galactic aims to become the world’s first commercial company to promote space tourism and already collected 45 million dollars in deposits from more than 330 people who have reserved seats aboard the six-person craft.

Space tourism competition??? I’m sure the rich will pay for this! Virgin charges US$200,000 per flight.

Virgin’s website http://www.virgingalactic.com/

18. Virgin Galactic Spaceship Completes First Solo Flight

http://www.pcmag.com/article2/0,2817,2370561,00.asp