Alzheimer's_Disease
Click to watch the video (1.36 min)
Scientists at the University of Oxford conducted a trial on 168 people and found that taking high doses of three vitamin B supplements every day reduced brain shrinkage associated with dementia by up to 53 per centfull article

This is good news for the aged population in Barbados. Memory loss and dementia are ailments which have been the scourge of the elderly for years. The elderly is a vulnerable group as it is but for it to be compounded with Alzheimer’s disease and dementia is a travesty. Often times our elderly have worked their whole lives only to have some depraved person take advantage of them in their retirement years.

Regrettably we live in a world where the elderly once seen as the fountain of wisdom and knowledge in the village is now seen as a group to be taken advantage of by many. How many old people we have heard being left in the Queen Elizabeth Hospital by their family  while they sponge off the assets of the old person?

BU cautions the study is still at a nascent stage but so far so good. Let us keep our fingers crossed for the elderly among us!

15 responses to “Vitamin B Maybe The Weapon Against Alzheimer's Disease”

1. I sending out for a lot of vitamin B right away.

2. My understanding is that Vitamin B’s also work on the nerve systems, thus in today’s stressful lifestyle, one should take such B supplements (a good B Complex) in any case.

Some do not believe in added Vitamins, but I do think that a high quality multivitamin and if necessary added B and C are necessary, due to the rigours of today’s lifestyle.

Although we do not walk and work for miles and miles, hence we do not need the same calories, we need certain vitamins to address specific stresses and issues, such as work stress, pushing deadlines all the time, etc.

3. @Crusoe

You have been stroking the ball nicely this morning. Yes indeed!

We need Doc GP to give us his expert intervention which is valued on these matters.

4. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

I think Doc GP needs massive doses of Vitamin B and whatever else he can get his hands on.

5. I will ask the drunking womanizing taxi man that Eustine married to for some. OK? Or should I ask the man who Eustine used to horn he wid?

6. Who pulled my soon to be husband’s robe.

7. JC
    I want you to pull my robe but you must not laff LOL Murdah. I hear cooking a green pea soup girl. LOL

8. On this subject BU is pleased some effort is being made to improve the wellness of our elderly. In fact although it is probably not a legal right to protect the elderly it should be a moral one so to do.

9. This is a problem of NUTRITION or lack thereof in the elderly

10. @GP….. hope yuh got yuh supply, nuff tooo.

11. Wait, Carson and GP sparring? I thought wunna woulda had enough of the ladies boxing at the Wildey Gymnasium, the international competition currently being hosted?

Maybe GP and fly in special and there will be an exhibition (of boxing) between Carson and GP.

You going referee David?

But, Bonny probably want to be referee, unless she sees her role at the rope-side screaming for her fellow and wiping tears when he get lick down?

Lol

12. Doc GP has submitted an interesting presentation on the subject matter, very interesting indeed.

Follow the LINK!

13. Doc GP is of the view “readers must relate B vitamin  intake  and roles to principles of nutrition for the aged in first presentation”.

Please follow the LINK.

14. As you can see the B vitamins are all really co enzymes. Without them many important Biochemical reactions in the body WILL not occur.

B vitamins are important throughout life. Folate is particulary important in pregnancies.

Some B vitamins are very important in the health of the nervous system.

As folk age they tend not to eat well for several reasons.
    In addition the medication they take for thier illness (es) might interfere with the activity of thier major organ systems.

Few doctors are trained in Gerontology.

The percentage of the population that is very elderly has been increasing in the last few decades.

All of these are factors that must be taken in consideration to plan adequate nutrition for the elderly using our indigenous foodstuffs as much as possible.

15. @Georgie Porgie | September 15, 2010 at 9:57 AM |
    I will ask the drunking womanizing taxi man that Eustine married to for some. OK? Or should I ask the man who Eustine used to horn he wid?
    ……………………………………………………………………………….
    Doc man, yuh real caustic today doh! Not to say that he doan need some brassing up every now and again, but ah mus say ah feel fuh he dis time! 🙂