Sir David Simmons

In recent days the length of time persons have to remain in prison on remand has been the subject of hot debate. Last week retired jurist Sir Frederick ‘Sleepy’ Smith contributing to a radio call-in show called on the powers that be to do something to ameliorate the situation; ideally a society concerned with justice should want this problem to be nonexistent.

BU agrees with Sir Fred. The timing of the current debate is interesting. It makes one wonder if Sir Fred is using the debate to cast a shadow on the performance of the outgoing Chief Justice (CJ) David Simmons. The Barbados Bar Association (BBA) through its president Leslie Haynes QC has been very generous in its praise of the retiring CJ. Similar praise has been showered by the Barbados Fourth Estate if we are to judge from the articles in the press and commentary by talk show hosts et al. Interestingly Leslie Haynes in responding to Sir Fred’s concern has pointed to the backlog of cases in the magistrates courts as part of the problem. Sir David’s expected response to the spotlight on the Barbados Judiciary was to point blame elsewhere. If we accept Leslie Haynes’s reason for part of the problem of people being on long remand, it begs the question – doesn’t the Magistrate’s Courts fall under Sir David’s purview?

The announcement recently that the CJ was not going to have a two year extension to his contract renewed has provoked discussion galore in Barbados, renewal had always been automatic in the past. To others in the know the force out of the CJ would not have come as a surprise. The quick transition by Sir David from politician to CJ has always been of concern to many Barbadians.  Any threat to the perceived independence of the judiciary is likely to have that affect on Barbadians. There is a view that David Simmons, as attorney-general, did everything he could to score political points with the electorate by a number of means. One of these was that he shifted what is now the Greenland Landfill from its logical and originally planned location, in Saint Thomas and his constituency, to the environmentally friendly area of the Scotland District that it has no right being in. However, there was one other that did not succeed and provides us with a true measure of his dedication to achieving political objectives. It concerns the death penalty.

Fully knowing that 98% of the Barbados electorate was in favour of the death penalty (and 98% of the BBA was against it) David Simmons MP at the time launched himself on the platform that he was going to ensure that executions were carried out. Whether you are for or against the death penalty, there has to be a distaste for anyone who would seek to advance their political position and aspirations by using the emotive issue of the death penalty. Most Barbadians have forgotten but the dashed expectations which were fuelled by politician David Simmons still resonate.

Relying on our sources in the legal fraternity the CJ is a competent, but average, jurist and, in days of old might have been considered a master politician. In this day and age, many will regard his main legacy as the advancement of incompetents within the judiciary of Barbados.

As Attorney General, he appointed on the court of appeal someone with a record as registrar which was not flattering, the mess in that department continues to this day. Court files disappearing or being misfiled is not an uncommon event. Who is that registrar? Marie MacCormack, better known today as Lady Simmons.

Should we describe Marie MacCormack’s appointment to the bench as being nepotistic? What about those appointments which many in the legal fraternity label as incompetent – Frank King and Chris Blackman come to mind. Those appointments have been followed by Madame Justices Cornelius and Kentish. All of these appointments have occurred under the watch of Sir David Simmons.

It would be true to say that David Simmons’ tenure as Chief Justice was enhanced by appointments over which he had no input, lawyers and jurists like Errol Chase, Colin Williams and Frederick Waterman were on hand to make Sir David’s court look competent and carry along those regarded as incompetents he had appointed, but only after massive amounts of money had been spent in litigation and appealing the decisions of the lesser lights that he had appointed to the lower courts and magistrates courts. It would be satisfying if our Fourth Estate would do some investigative work, never mind the threat of the ‘lodge’. BU know how things get done in Barbados and despite the political rhetoric of Prime Minister David Thompson nothing significant has changed under his government in the way business is conducted

The legal buzz suggests that it came as no surprise when Sir David appointed his wife to the Court of Appeal to join some our more competent jurists – that way, as judges customarily sit in a panel of three, her lack of any credential other than a law degree would be overruled by far wiser heads. It is suspected that this is why David Simmons finally appointed his friend, Frank King, to the Court of Appeal – so that his title of Most Appealed Judge for every year he was on the bench, would go away due to the fact that others would write the judgments with which he merely had to concur.

Alluded to, Sir David Simmons ought to have expected he would have remained as CJ for another two years given. However, many senior members of the Bar made it clear to the Prime Minister and to the Governor General that he had to go at once, otherwise they would invoke the constitution and have him fired. That is actually what happened, although the Barbados Fourth Estate would never dream of reporting it…..and the legal profession would rather Bajans never knew of the crisis, since it might erode confidence in them.

Justice of Appeal Frederick Waterman is acting CJ and the government is advised to confirm him for the two years remaining of his eligibility. It would suggest continuity within our judiciary which is important. It is noteworthy had former Prime Minister Owen Arthur not given into political skulduggery by appointing David Simmons as Chief Justice in the first place, the choice would have been down to Chase, Waterman or Williams to replace Sir Denys. Better late than never some will say! The big advantage to appointing Waterman as CJ is that it will give the government breathing space to appoint a worth CJ and hopefully distant itself from the questionable decision to have appointed outgoing CJ David Simmons.

Back to Sir Fred’s claim which clearly conflicts with the accolades being showers on Sir David by the Barbados Bar Association and the Fourth Estate. Bear in mind the magistrates courts fall under the purview of the Chief Justice.

In the magistrates courts where remands that could easily be said to breach of that most basic of democratic human rights, habeas corpus , are prevalent and worse. We see magistrates who we forget are mere mortals, having so much power over our lives – and we see some magistrates who ought to be appointed to the High Court continuing to be magistrates, simply because they are not a part of the private fan club or fraternity? Our undervalued magistrates, of which there are not many, have during the tenure of David Simmons as both attorney-general and as chief, had to watch their less than competent colleagues elevated. Note this has happened under the tenure of the outgoing CJ.

The long periods of time we have held people on remand in our prison is a clear violation of all that is decent. The damage to reputations before such persons have been found guilty represents a miscarriage of justice. To hear that we have people who have been on remand at the pleasure of Her Majesty for up to six year is reprehensible. Note the outgoing CJ is being showered with accolades by the Barbados Bar Association whose members should know better. Note the Barbados Fourth Estate continues to be true to its ‘not rock the boat policy’ by lavishing praise on the outgoing CJ as well. Where can the people turn for leadership, Thompson?

Prime Minister David Thompson we are watching you. In your recent mouthings on the subject of appointing a CJ you said the right things but so far into your administration we have noticed how you have been quietly distributing the fatted calf within the legal fraternity.

BU cannot imagine former Prime Ministers Barrow, Adams or St John doing anything to the detriment of the courts. Some in the legal fraternity argue that two Prime Ministers of more recent vintage have caused justice in Barbados to suffer greatly. Thompson’s commitment to building out a society and all that goes with it makes the transparency that should go with the appointment of the next CJ very important.

If Waterman is appointed the next Chief Justice, who will replace him after two years? Unfortunately those competent in the opinion of BU are all past the age of retirement.

106 responses to “Chief Justice David Simmons Failing Report Card”

1. If at some time in the future I for what ever reason was offered a Sirship I would turn it down. I could not possibly find myself in such lowly company…!

Why not turn to Caricom or indeed Cariforum to find a CJ? Good God, our DP is a Guyanese..! (Our PM is an Englishman even)

2. Another appointee would have been Elliot Belgrave.

3. @David. Excellent. If Sleepy reads it, he will probably lead the cheering section. After all, it was Sleepy who said that in his opnion, it looked like judges in Barbados thought they had a constitutional right to be stupid. I wonder if this included magistrates.

But seriously, six years on remand is DISGRACEFUL. It is the wrong side of a DECADE!!!! Anything over three months is not good. Are these figures for real?

4. Question Isn’t there a statue of limitation
    on how long a person can be held with out a trial?

@BAFPFP
    miss you my valentine!

5. mash up & buy back Avatar
    mash up & buy back

David,david,david – Wuhloss!

You got me here brekkin down wid de laughter.

This article is like a breath of fresh air.Imagine the hypocisy of people like the ‘foul mouthed slave driver’ leslie haynes,and bobby clarke,andrew pilgrim and the rest arguing for this as BU puts it:’average at best’ politician turn CJ, to stay on to wreck more havoc for 2 more years.

The blp government,that is owen and david simmons – appointed some of the most inexperienced,incompetent persons as high court judges.

Persons like christopher blackman, elneth kentish,jackie cornelius who is the wife of DLP to BLP party hopper ralph thorne,who himself incidentally under owen arthur and simmons got to be Q.C. have now been elevated to judgeship for his inclusion I suppose.

The appointment of his wife marie mccormack was another disgusting display of cronyism.

Shame on them.

6. The David Simmonds I know was Joke of a politician. So sad was he that he had to run to St.Thomas (BLP country) to get elected and stay elected.

7. Wow, its really easy to criticize other people and tear down their reputations – especially when you can do it anonymously. Is this what the blogs are for?

8. No one is afraid of these people. David Simmonds the politician was a joke. Everyone knows that a Dog name Bob can get elected on a BLP ticket in St. Thomas.

Challenge the image that is being portrayed of CJ Simmonds tenure with counter facts if you can, or don’t and continue asking silly questions. chuspe.

9. The David Simmonds I know was Joke of a politician. So sad was he that he had to run to St.Thomas (BLP country) to get elected and stay elected.
    ……………………………………………………
    Adrian. I will not stand idly and allow you of all people to tear down a highly qualified person based on one’s political agenda. Sir David has served the legal fraternity well and the country in particular.
    Sir Frederick surely didn’t imply that it was Sir David inability to serve as CJ and solve the perennial problem of the Judiciary System which as you and all of us know, is due to the tardiness of the police in getting the files for the prosecution, the lawyers who find themselves being at two courts at the same time, thus the reason for adjournment, and finally the Marshal’s of the court unable to locate witnesses and the list goes on.
    The lucky side of the accused is getting a lesser sentence. For example the crime committed has a maximum sentence of 10 years, he will only spend the six years that he was on remand.

Forget the tone of Mash Up and Buy Back since what we might do is mash up the former CJ based on reckless rhetoric and buy back a new CJ from the legal clan who sings in the same choir, with an old engine that wasn’t overhauled and dash some paint on the body without any body work being done.

By the way MU&BB. Being Sir David’s wife has nothing to do with her legal ability.
    Peace!!!!!!!

10. Man TellMeWhy, you back with the same tired ineffective approach to arguing a point?

The article that starts this thread is about David Simmonds the CJ. I do not know much about David Simmonds the CJ, beyond the fact that he was a politician turn CJ, which even you must question the legitimacy of.

I know David Simmonds the politician. I saw his name on a Ballot in St.Thomas on two or three occasions.

There are two David Simmonds. DS the CJ and before that, DS the politician and parliamentary representative for St.Thomas. Now you can question David of BU and others about DS the CJ and I invite you to do so, as there is much for me to learn about him in that role. You can duke it out with me on DS the politician, for on that subject I am well informed and experienced. Like others in St.Thomas My Father may have been expected to deliver all the votes in his house for him in exchange for a FEE free conveyance of property transaction.

11. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar

I am intrigued by the tone of this offering and choose not to comment on it, except to say that after 35 years I have a more than fair idea of what is a competent jurist. Thus, I would dearly love to know who precisely in the profession would have classed Sir David as merely “a competent but average jurist”.

Believe me, he is in the top ten in the region; probably the top five in that department!

12. Believe me, he is in the top ten in the region; probably the top five in that department!

I suppose his politcal background would have helped him in this rating ?????

13. No, WIV, simply his brain!

14. The present public policy making approaches that many of our citizens have been advocating in respect of finding some solutions to many of Barbados’ political material and financial problems are surely approaches that are doing our country more harm than good in the short and in the long term.

And, so rather than attempting to, say, use this suggestion of Dr. Estwick – that there be a wages freeze for public servants, to help critically look at these approaches and attempt to understand that there are clear relationships between them and their associated effeciencies, or lack of effeciencies, and Barbados’s oligarchic corporatist political system, and between them and their associated effeciencies, or lack of effeciencies, and the overall pace of development of Barbados, and to therefore conclude, one way or another, that Barbados has to, or NOT, change, for the better, substantially the essential political and decisional making structures of the country and in order to essentially quicken and widen and deepen the extent of Barbados’ overall development, or otherwise to essentially remain at the same pace and extent of overall development, many social commentators are stuck in a rut looking primarily at the circumstances that will help them determine whether or NOT this suggestion seems desirable, workable or valid, or if the timing and place where it was uttered were appropriate.

As already known by many persons there are the rational-legal decision making model, the liberal decision making model, the charismatic decision making model, the autocratic decision making model, the incremental decision making model and a couple others more within traditional Western political science. Such decision making models, or approaches, do of course point to the involvement of outputs within the wider public policy/making environment.

Anyhow, what is of greater importance to us, though, is that Dr. Estwick’s proposal highlights the incompleteness and weaknesses ( which are understandable – there are limitations to all theoritical models – problems of validity, application to different places, etc) of those particular approaches to decision making at the so-called highest levels in Barbados and as they conflict with one another and as it relates to the kind of constitutional political system that needed to be evolved in Barbados and that will make sure that Barbados develops in the best possible ways and at the best possible pace and scale.

Moreover, it is clear that these elitist top-down Euro-centric models have failed to take into consideration that national decision making and public policy in a country like Barbados is potentially totally incomplete, inefficient and illegitimate, without – where neccessary – the clear involvement of the people in those national decisions and policies that will affect them, and, in the case of Dr. Estwick’s suggestion, have starkly failed to take into consideration the gulf that exist between the supposedly powerful and the supposedly powerless in society – which are some very fundamental problems that these models have failed to help resolve, or simply overlook.

Hence, that is why – in response to resolving this massive problem of the gap between the supposed powerful and the supposed powerless – and the undesirable consequences of it – the People’s Democratic Congress has long been saying that at any time we become at the helm of the government of this country – CONSTITUENTS will decide and debate and pass the majority of the laws of this country – NOT just a coterie of parliamentarians, judges, or an exclusive cabal of elites influencing such – which are then essentially the laws of the government and NOT the people. Such a PDC people’s centred decision public policy making objective will be seeking to reasonably quicken the pace and rationally deepen the extent of Barbados’ constitutional political development, and thereby helping Barbados become a world class society.

Too, it is clear that the Parliamentary Representative for St. Philip West’s suggestion – which has come from a person that can be decribed as having a clear authoritarian personality – will NOT just die but it will be killed, given the political controversy and fall out surrounding it ( we wonder if it had been first uttered by other types of personalities what it would have been like now ) in this a very fluid political environment; given the different positions and situations of many different people in relationship to the state and performance of the so-called economy; and given that there are other liberal, rational legal, charismatic, incrementalist personalities that are conflictiously or congruently involved or NOT in the national decision making processes – best reified in the Social Partnership – NOT just the Cabinet of Barbados.

And, finally for now, the Minister of Economic Affairs suggestion unearths, for us, clear evidence that the autocratic decision making processes involved in the TAXATION system and the TAXATION SYSTEM itself are in and of themselves helping to create big fundamental problems for Barbados and the government – some of which indicate that these processes and the TAXATION process itself are manifestly archaic and counter-productive as a means of the state arriving at STOLEN incomes to spend, and that as such are continuing to lead to such dangerously high fiscal and debt levels of government, that many of the social services and gains ( which are falsely said to be the ideological and financial basis of the TAXATION SYSTEM – how massively ironic though )that we in Barbados have come to experience will become in shambles in the long term and that the challenges the country faces will become deteriorated, if serious measures are NOT taken to deal with the present material and financial models of decision making and the horrific impacts of their public plicy outputs on the further development of the country.

Thus, we see another version of a wicked autocratic decision making model ( the AUTOCRATIC TAXATION SYSTEMIC MODEL) that is in serious and sharp contradiction to the desires of the majority of the people of Barbados to have a sustainable model of political material and financial development and to have a greater say in that type of development.

So, Down with the damned DLP and the Blasted BLP!!

15. Inspite of who may have said that David Simmonds is a competent but average jurist. Jeff Cumberbatch has elevated David Simmonds to be a leading jurist in the caribbean. A caribbean that is created its final court of appeals known as the CCJ. A CCJ that several countries seem reluctant to sign onto. Why? some arguments out there demostrate a distrust of caribbean jurist, as a possible cause. Is there no grounds for such concerns? If BU’s statements are not challenged and Jeff contends that David Simmonds is a leading caribbean jurist, what am I think? Staying with the privy council even as they would rather we go away?

16. Well if thompson can gi he mudda a national honour -for what nobody knows, then the blp can gi Sir David anything. Compare thompson budda contribution or lack of contribution to Barbados to that of Sir David.

17. Why? some arguments out there demostrate a distrust of caribbean jurist, as a possible cause. Is there no grounds for such concerns?
    ………………………………………………………
    It is simple AH. The Caribbean will never be one point blank. We behave like children who must look into one another plate to see who have the more meat and pie.
    The CCJ will falter just like the Federation years ago. We as a people always feel that we must be the leader and cannot be led.
    Unfortunately, Barbados always be in the forefront in integration, yet the other countries boast of having the headquarters. Take for instant LIAT and the CCJ.

We just can’t wuk together.

18. Royalrumble; as a yardfowl you should know this. Which came first? the chicken or the egg? Let me answer for you, because it is clear that you have never questioned why you are a yardfowl. The BLP give to David Simmonds before Thompson gave to his mother, and while I don’t understand her honour either and can’t recall what it is and for what, I can as do all of Barbados recall the circumstances surrounding David Simmonds appointment. lol!

Could you ask Jeff Cumberbatch the question I asked of him? Maybe he will respond to you. Here it is again.

Is David Simmonds high standing as a caribbean jurist (according to Jeff) reflected in the low signature to the CCJ by Anglo- caribbean countries?

19. No, I will respond to you, Adrian@10:50am. Whatever gave you the impression that I would not?

NO, the low accession rate to the CCJ is owed partly to politics and partly to a reluctance in this region to accept that we are equal to, and in many cases surpass, those from the first world countries in most fields of intellectual endeavour. Many years ago it was said, “Can any good thing come out of Nazareth”?

We say now, “Can anything great come out of my gap… parish… country… region”? And we answer, because of our own insecurities and inferiority, “NO”!

That explains the general regional reaction to the CCJ. We are scared of what (and how gifted) we are.

20. I am enjoying this. No doubt Jeff, poor fellow, would like to have it confirmed that Sir David is in the top 10/5 of Caribbean jurists. Naturally!!! If Sir David is elevated to this position (a position that, let me assure you, exists only in Jeff’s hopeful imagination) then there is hope for Jeff himself that he too has a chance of aspiring to be CJ.

So, I repeat the old adage: “Those of us who can, do. Those of us who can’t, teach.”

21. No, Amused, I fear that I am not bright enough, not even in my hopeful imagination!

You forgot the third part of the adage. “…and those who can’t teach, teach at University!

22. @Amused
    So, I repeat the old adage: “Those of us who can, do. Those of us who can’t, teach.”
    ————————————————–
    When the above is applied to Lawyers and the Judiciary in Barbados it is meaningless nonsense.

I know that I am one Bajan who will take matters into his own hands should any lawyer in Barbados attempt to cheat me out of what is mine. Right now there is a returned national related to me who have drawn up their will passing ownership of their home to me. The lawyer has sworn them to secretcy insisting that not even I be told. I can gauratee you that any attempt to cheat me out of that heritence will be met with vengence my way. Nothing will be off the table.

Why do I have such hate, and distrust for all practicing lawyers in Barbados?

The prime Minister and most Barbadians have a dim view of Lawyers in Barbados. I prefer an academic be given the CJ position.

@Jeff Cumberbatch:
    I think there is a element of trust to add to its unfavourable standing amonst some countries.

23. The method chosen to select judges for the CCJ is in sharp contrast to the mechanism
    used for the selection of judges for the European Court of Justice (ECJ). The Treaties provide
    that the judges must be chosen ‘from persons whose independence is beyond doubt and who
    possess the qualifications required for the appointment to the highest judicial offices in their
    respective countries or are jurisconsults of recognized competence, in practice the ECJ has been
    made up of a mixture of professors of law, judges, lawyers in private practice, and government
    legal advisors. (Lasok, p. 289) Although Article 165 of the European Economic Community
    (EEC) [the former name of the European Union (EU)] does not specify the nationality of judges
    on the ECJ, the practice has been to select one judge from each member state of the EU. This is
    an important democratic practice because it means that a member of the EU would have no
    reason not to respect the judgment of the ECJ since its own judge participated and influenced the
    final judgment.

Borrowed from : A CRITIQUE OF THE
    CARIBBEAN COURT OF JUSTICE
    With special reference to the
    European Court of Justice
    by: Victor Jordan, ABD(Econ.), JD

24. I don’t want to completely change the focus of this blog thread. I am still waiting for those who think that BU’s comments of David Simmonds tenure as CJ are incorrect, wrong, negative, etc, to counter them.

25. Interesting TMW would suggest all manner of reason why we have delays in our court system BUT forget BU’s reference to President of the Barbados Association of Lawyers Leslie Haynes position quoted in the press. He stated a big part of the problem can be found in the magistrates court. Who has responsibility for the magistrates courts?

Whenever one has to evaluate performance in Barbados we get emotional and defensive, the teachers come to mind. The bottomline is this Jeff, despite all of Sir David’s brilliance our Barbadian citizens have to wait too long to have cases heard and a lot of the blame must be heaped on Sir David.

The fact that he accepted the position as CJ fresh from being a politician is a matter of record. If Jeff were placed in a similar position with concern about his legacy he would have probably refused the offer.

26. We may have a legitimate grouse in criticizing Arthur for his appointment of Simmons as CJ but we should give Jack “e jacket” and not lay the blame solely on Simmons for the delays in bringing accused persons to trial in a speedy manner, some blame should be placed on the trial lawyers who also engage in delaying tactics which are in their clients’ interest i.e witnesses may forget pertinent details after a few years or be otherwise unavailable e.g loss to immigration or death. Sleepy, is of course correct in his statement about the right to speedy trial but is he part of the solution or was he part of the problem? I note that many of the politicians are lawyers and perhaps they have a vested interest in maintaining the status quo or they just don’t see it as an issue.

The problem used to exist in Canada until the Canadian Supreme Court ruled in favour of a defendant who ruled that his case was unnecessarily delayed.

I won’t argue whether Simmons is legally competent or not but I don’t think that the Administration of justice is served if you are elevated to a position where you may have to rule on decisions that you were once party to. Some time away from the political battlefield would have been useful.

http://www.hrcr.org/safrica/access_courts/Canada/r_askov.html

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/R._v._Askov

27. @Jeff. Well done! Good answer. Leaves me nowhere to go. Really well done!!!

HOWEVER, where did you get the rubbish about David Simmons being one of the top jurists in the Caribbean? I hope you are making sport with us. He is a competent lawyer – and that is it. We all know that QC has nothing to do with competence, but with politics. How else do you think Mia would be a QC?

But, let us not lose the thread here. BU has voiced a tremendous concern. We have had Attorney General David Simmons translated to Chief Justice Sir David Simmons without so much as a slight break, over the vastly superior claims and competence of Chase, Williams and Waterman.

If this crass piece of political favouritism is not immediately discontinued, next time Owen is in power and wants to buy someone off or put them out to grass, we face the spectre of Chief Justice Dame Mia Amore Mottley – then we truly are up s*** creek without a paddle.

BU also voices scepticism at the comments of BBA head, Leslie “Bunny” Haynes. Now, Bunny is an average to good lawyer and a master politician – like Sir David. Birds of a feather.

28. @Sargeant

You mentioned lawyers using delaying tactics is part of the problem. Who is responsible for overseeing the court system? Who should be concerned about implementing measures to eliminate time wasting tactics by lawyers? In fact the outgoing CJ did acknowledge sometime back that he was aware of the inefficiency caused by lawyers and he would place penalize. Nothing as far as BU is aware ever happened just like nothing never happened when Simmons the politician said he would move Mount Stinkeroo or restart hanging.

Bottomeline lawyers in Barbados continue to do the dog at the people expense. Frankly BU is disgusted we would get people who would defend a system stacked against the people. Have we forgotten how long it took the court to deal with the Jippy Doyle matter? Then again he had SIR Richard QC representing.

BU challenge anybody to give a name of a lawyer censured by Sir David for delaying the court.

29. @David. Well said. Amen!

30. Not getting too deep into this … to high for me. I can’t touch the hem of guys like Cumberbatch and thing.

As a simple simon, I was pleased to see the qualifications David Thompson set for a successor to the current CJ. Bravo!!

Off the cuff though his remark was, it showed a remarkable streak in Thompson which has been absent in our Barbadian political leadership since 1986.

31. Who cares whether David Simmonds was competent?
    He is done like diner.Lets move on.

The PM has stated he will appoint a CJ that meets standards acceptable to the people of Barbados.We shall see.

What we really need to discuss is the state of a legal system where the average person CAN BE abused by Lawyers whether it is a civil or criminal matter.

There are cases where delaying a civil matter results in Lawyers using clients money as a source of Investment capital.

There is something wrong with a system that puts Clients money at risk of fraudulent Lawyers.
    The tactic of delaying settlements “till duh dead”.

Would any of you honest and upright Lawyers care to comment?

32. @David

We are on the same page ….. I think. The problem is greater than mismanagement of criminal cases, I think that many Bajans can speak about encounters with lawyers that leave them perplexed and confused. Just a few days ago the Nation had a story about a woman who had a dispute with a lawyer who increased his fee every time she raised an objection to his bill, Now tell me in what other profession can someone think they can get away with that behaviour without being censured. I live in the frozen North and know at least two individuals in Barbados with deceased parents whose estates have been tied up for over a decade because as they claim the executors are in “cahoots” with the lawyers and won’t settle the estates. The executors continue to collect rent from various properties and they never see a statement or a sou. Recently the Nation also had a story about a complaint from a man who claimed that family land was now owned by Silent George and he didn’t know how the transaction came about.

The problem with Bajans is we like to complain. We complain on the call in shows; we complain at parties; we complain at the beach; whenever we get together we complain, we complain. Of course the politicians listen to us and tell us one thing for public consumption but behind our backs its business as usual.

Its time for Bajans to say a la the Howard Beale character in the movie “Network”…. “I’m mad as hell and I’m not going to take this anymore”

33. @Sargeant

Wait I am saying somthing similar in another tread.

http://bajan.wordpress.com/2010/02/08/the-rights-of-all-in-the-anglican-church-to-stated-burial-rites/#comment-139348

I have realise for a long time Lawyers law is not the same for the rest of us, therefore I will use my law if I ever have to deal with any of them regarding any realestate transaction. I am monitoring the Lawyer in my case for any complaints from others. If any are found I will not wait for my turn to come. I will confront the bastard, thats for sure.

34. @Hants

The fact that the CJ is moving on should not delay the conversation we are having. We have a Fourth Estate and a Barbados Association of Lawyers who have applauded the performance of the outgoing CJ. In reality to BU and people underground (on the ground) not one damn thing has changed significantly under his tenure unless we count the edifice on Whitepark Road.

35. “Relying on our sources in the legal fraternity the CJ is a competent, but average, jurist and, in days of old might have been considered a master politician. In this day and age, many will regard his main legacy as the advancement of incompetents within the judiciary of Barbados.”

Interesting article.

I realize that there is nothing that I can add that Jeff hasn’t already said.
    Many of the most respected attorneys and judges in the Caribbean were taught by Sir David Simmons and they all look up to him (if I am not mistaken Jeff was taught by him as well).

There is no doubt about it, the man is probably one of the most respected legal minds in the Caribbean.

Maybe if he was never a BLP politician BU’s “sources in the legal fraternity” would have spoken better of him.

David said:

“In fact the outgoing CJ did acknowledge sometime back that he was aware of the inefficiency caused by lawyers and he would place penalize. Nothing as far as BU is aware ever happened just like nothing never happened when Simmons the politician said he would move Mount Stinkeroo or restart hanging”

The new Civil procedure rules have come into effect under Sir David’s tenure. These rules are supposed help solve of the inefficiencies of the legal system.

I don’t expect that the new civil procedure rules will solve all of the problems relating to the inefficiency of the court system.

When it comes down to it, the main problem is a lack of resources. That is the bottom line. More Supreme Court judges are needed so that the back log of cases can be addressed.

36. That kool aid is flowing.

We have a lil island with four people and actually believe that it can function like those with 50.

Those of us who believe that the next CJ will not be politically affiliated need to shed the ostrich’s trait.

Ideology is one thing, but reality is another.

37. How does it benefit this Prime Minister to select a politically affiliated person as the next Chief Justice? We all know of the anti Owen camp that existed in the BLP and the need for him to have feathered some beds to get some political cover. Such does not exist with Thompson. I do expect Thompson’s appointment to be a watershed in CJ selection in Barbados.

What of the last Governor of the Central bank? Was she a B or D? Did it matter to Thompson when he announced her next appointment as Ambassador to Geneva????

I honestly don’t care what are the eventual successor’s political affiliation as long as it not a member of the legal profession I will be happy. We cannot award this group. It has too many dishonest members and not enough of the honest ones speaking up about their colleague’s behavior. Their silence makes them complicit.

38. Moses was a sincere man of God, but he made one big mistake that cost him his entry into the promise land. So too shall it be to David Simmonds. His political affiliation, the manner in which he was selected to the CJ position, was wrong then and cannot be now put right.

I expect to hear a call to change the process by which appointments are made to the CCJ, for as it stands now one of the five or ten top jurist in the Anglophone Caribbean according the Jeff Cumberbatch, will have some difficulty proving his independence beyond doubt, a current requirement to be selected for a judgeship at the CCJ.

39. Many of the most respected attorneys and judges in the Caribbean were taught by Sir David Simmons and they all look up to him (if I am not mistaken Jeff was taught by him as well).
    ————————————————
    well well, It is all political and a lack of confidence that the anglophone caribbean has not fully embrace the CCJ, so says Jeff Cumberbatch. Could of fool me. Many of these “respected” attorneys don’t have the respect of the caribbean people. That is real real respect, they have not earned it and never seem to care to.

40. The former deputy governor then CEO of BTII is now a Senator and Minister by the way. So what’s your point.

Who knows what the former Central Bank was or cares? I am all for competence not party.

41. It is wishful thinking to expect our legal fraternity to step forward and speak frankly. They have a good thing going. Why betray allegiances to any fraternity or code?

Back to Sir David. Again BU ask why is it some like Brutus would think we want to trash his reputation when all we are concerned about is whether we have made any significant progress during the tenure of Sir David. Did we hear Sir David say there is a crying need to improve the magistracy? He stated all magistrates are on the same level and there is no hierarchical structure to effectively manage the lower court. Why was Sir David not able to fix this problem during his long tenure? Bear in mind he was CJ during what was considered time of plenty. Equally a government and Prime Minister to which he has a strong bond was in power. He and Arthur were members of the three blind mice.

While we are at it can the silent lawyers enlighten the BU family regarding the establishment of the domestic arm of the court? So far Anon Legal has been able to come up with some new civil procedure rules. Is there more?

42. The former deputy governor then CEO of BTII is now a Senator and Minister by the way. So what’s your point.

Why assume it did not matter to Thompson but it did to Owen?

43. Enuff I know you have some difficulties being consistent. You suggest by way of Enuff // February 15, 2010 at 9:40 PM

that the next CJ appointment is bound to be made with political conciderations in mind. I responded by asking you and others to explain to me what benefit would Thompson garner by making a politcally affiliated choice! I then went on to demostrate that Thompson is capable of making appointments not base on such conciderations.

44. AH,

You clearly did not get the gist of my post.

45. Can we say with any certainty that David Simmonds appointment as CJ was done on the strength of his qualifications alone? It is to my mind so sad that a man, who, according Jeff Cumberbatch and Anon Legal is such a gifted jurist, cannot “beyond a shadow of doubt” point to his gift as the sole reason for his appoinment. Sad I tell you.

@David:
    I have taken note that for all that you have said about David Simmonds tenure that so far two persons have risen to object, on two points only.

1: that he is much more than a competent jurist.

2: That he did in fact accomplish something, one thing, were you said there was none.

I believe it cannot be this bleak for one of the top 5 or 10 jurist in the caribbean. I hope that what Amused threw out at Jeff Cumberbatch earlier does not apply to David Simmonds

“Those of us who can, do. Those of us who can’t, teach.”

What is great mind if it cannot move and cause things occur?

46. @Jeff

Why are you worried about the tone of the BU blog about Simmonds?
    It does not compare to the tone of Sir Hilary’s letter sent to the media on Sunday which emasculated Professor Howard.
    Anyway consider this is a rhetorical comment, BU appreciate your position.

47. @David
    Prehaps you should start a new article so we could discuss the weaknesses in the legal system in Barbados.

Lawyers using clients money as a source of Investment capital.

The tactic of delaying settlements “till duh dead”.

Should be make for an interesting discussion.

48. jeff cumberbatch Avatar

@ David @12:23 am

I did not say that I was worried by the tone, I said “intrigued”; in that the writer managed to use his view of Sir David’s appointment to attack his undoubted intellect (have anyone read his judgments), the appointments that were made to the Bench as his (check how judges are appointed) and somehow to hold him responsible for the failings of the magistracy. Worried, no. Intrigued, yes.

49. Hants // February 15, 2010 at 3:07 PM. I do not agree with the “let it go” attitude you have expressed – the ‘mistake’ could reoccur – keep the spectre of Mia Mottley CJ firmly in your mind. HOWEVER, and this is probably a first, I agree with your other comments.

Anonlegal // February 15, 2010 at 9:25 PM. Are you actually a lawyer? I think not, because if you were, you would know that the new Civil Procedure Rules, which are the Woolfe Reforms from the courts of England and Wales, DO NOT WORK!!! So, I think the date of the reforms was 1997 or 1998, and over 10 years after they were introduced in England and Wales and having had the benefit of seeing them NOT work, that geunius of a jurist who, according to you is among the top 5 in the Caribbean (and the real top people must be squirming – except Sir Fred who must be longing to know who you are so he can tell you how full of what you are) is introducing a system of which he has ample proof does NOT work – and you are right, this unworkable system that will drive the delivery of justice even further back than he has already driven, it is the PERFECT monument to Sir David Simmons. And if you find a way to bronze Sir David and Lady Simmons, Justices Kentish, Cornelius, Blackman and Justices of Appeal King and Elliot Belgrave – and many others – and place them on plinths outside the new court house, then the birds of Barbados will have the opportunity to speak to their contribution to our justice system on behalf of the humans of Barbados.

50. I am not a lawyer, but have read and heard many things in the past.

Firstly, what I have heared would confirm Sir David’s unquestioned ability and committment.

Secondly, based on that I would suggest that, contrary to most, Owen Arthur did not appoint Sir David based on political considerations, but on merit and in the best interest of the country.

Thirdly, some of the names mentioned as potential replacements above, are past the point of ridiculous, capability wise.

Aside from a couple currently there, there is no one else.

With brilliant minds such as Jeff Cumberbatch, it i snot their lack of intellectual capacity, but the fact that they have not spent any time on the bench, that would be concerning. Therefore, maybe now is the time, when replaceing the current CJ and other openings to offer them time on the Supreme Court, so that in the future, when they have had some bench experience, the choices are that much greater.

The choice of replacement will not be easy. It may be that the PM has made a mistake in not extending the tenure, except the couple who are there and capable of being there may hold things for the short time that they remain.

My belief is that Sir Fred’s comments were not appropriate at this time, he should have said something before, even communicated with the outgoing CJ with suggestions.

It is fine to talk and criticise, but maybe the public will now, over the next two or three years, get some lessons in choosing whom to attack and the grounds.