[vodpod id=Groupvideo.4340544&w=450&h=350&fv=%26rel%3D0%26border%3D0%26]

Thanks to BU family member Bentley for the source material

A common response to a sickness today is to feed the body with some form of antibiotic. Back in the old days people were expected to fight off what ailed them with healthy bodies and the immunity therein. In the unlikely event the sickness overwhelmed them, they would resort to natural or herbal remedies, commonly referred to as bush remedies.

According to recent research, the prevalent use of antibiotics in agriculture and livestock  is gaining attention from the White House. The frequent feeding of livestock with antibiotics has seen rise to animals which have become drug-resistant. The problem is escalated when the drug-resistant infections are passed on to humans.

A telling feedback from the researchers:

Researchers say the overuse of antibiotics in humans and animals has led to a plague of drug-resistant infections that killed more than 65,000 people in the U.S. last year — more than prostate and breast cancer combined. And in a nation that used about 35 million pounds of antibiotics last year, 70 percent of the drugs went to pigs, chickens and cows. Worldwide, it’s 50 percent.

“This is a living breathing problem, it’s the big bad wolf and it’s knocking at our door,” said Dr. Vance Fowler, an infectious disease specialist at Duke University. “It’s here. It’s arrived.”

It is no secret Barbados currently manages a huge import bill, the USA supplies a significant percentage of  our imports. In the same way the economists tell Barbadians that we import inflation because of our dependence on imports, what would the medical fraternity say? Barbados is jokingly referred to as the amputation capital of the world. The high level of non communicable diseases is one of the highest in the region. Can Barbadians be satisfied that our health inspectors in the relevant departments are applying standards to safeguard our health?  BU would like to hear Minister Donville Inniss issue a statement on this matter.

Here is another snippet from the research which we hope scares the BU family the way it did the BU household.

America’s farmers give their pigs, cows and chickens about 8 percent more antibiotics each year, usually to heal lung, skin or blood infections. However, 13 percent of the antibiotics administered on farms last year were fed to healthy animals to make them grow faster. Antibiotics also save as much as 30 percent in feed costs among young swine, although the savings fade as pigs get older, according to a new USDA study.

However, these animals can develop germs that are immune to the antibiotics. The germs then rub into scratches on farmworkers’ arms, causing oozing infections. They blow into neighboring communities in dust clouds, run off into lakes and rivers during heavy rains, and are sliced into roasts, chops and hocks and sent to our dinner tables.

“Antibiotic-resistant microorganisms generated in the guts of pigs in the Iowa countryside don’t stay on the farm,” said Union of Concerned Scientists Food and Environment director Margaret Mellon.

We are what we eat!

61 responses to “We Are What We Eat, Antibiotics And All”

1. The vegetarian squad is out of the box early this year.

Barbadian farmers, especially poultry producers, have constantly insisted that they do not use steroids or antibiotics, in their marketing campaigns.

Should we continue to accept their word as gospel?

2. Our high level of imports probably makes what local producers do redundant.

3. Maybe, but Barbadians consume poultry more than any other form of meat and the local poultry producers, with the assistance of the Government, have that market locked.

If we are going to be suspicious about the quality of imported meat, we should seek to have a local benchmark that can stand up to scrutiny.

4. Why am I being moderated?

5. @Cow pork

Not sure why WordPress is moderating you (not BU). Your name or IP, keep commenting let us see what happens after a day or two.

6. There is no getting away fom it.In an effort to be more productive things become more detrimential to the human body after consumption of these meats.The ole time method was better.Gravol salts and that was it!For preservation it was corning pork an ting.I was a serious pork mout but i dun wid dat!

7. In Barbados, they do use antibiotics and growth hormones in the raising of chickens. The chemicals are added to the feed the producers use. It is added at the manufacturing level. Farmers also add other antibiotics to the water they feed them. How else can one produce a chicken for market in 6 weeks? Sometimes they grow so fast the feet cant hold up the body and so they break.

8. Pat
    That is so true. I remember the 4H gave my son about 4 chicks to raise as a project. First mistake I made was to let him bring them home. Second mistake, it was more work than I had bargained for . Yes, only 4 chicks was a real headache for me. The mess, the flies, the mess, the flies. Oh christ man. And in 6 weeks time they were as big as a turkey when they were slaughtered. Notice I didn’t say when I slaughtered them. Not my thing at all. But they were so big the wire in the cub/pen was cutting through their feet. Then there was the mess, flies n blood. Lord, I almost went crazy.
    They wanted to give him another 4 and all I had to do was give him ‘my LOOK’.
    Never again Pat. Neverrrrrrrrrr

Pick sense
    Ya mean na kind a pork you doan eat now a’tall? Lorddddd, what a boring life. You khan be serious. you serious?You pardner does eat jumbo-sausages doe, ef i may ask.

9. @ Pat // January 4, 2010 at 4:52 PM, ”
    …How else can one produce a chicken for market in 6 weeks?”

If I recall people use to raise chickens and have them ready for consumption in 6-8 weeks. I cant rememba if it were the chickens referred to as broilers (sp).

No chemicals as far as I know unless de scratch grain and ends of food was riddled with antibiotics unknown to us then.

But then again, we would not have known wuh de scratch grain had in when we bought it. Many thought everything we put in our mouths was naturally grown

10. Sir Bentwood Dick Avatar
    Sir Bentwood Dick

On occasion I eat poultry, fish.

But I only eat ‘proper’ pork. That is one to savour and take one’s time over.

11. Sir Bentwood
    Hearty, warm, rich blessings to your good self in the new year. Not to mention prosperity and ENERGYYYYY.

If no one else, you would know how to devour a proppa piece a poke, sorry pork and how to savour de taste.
    Mwahhhhhhhhh, bon apetite.

12. Sir Bentwood Dick Avatar
    Sir Bentwood Dick

Miss Peppa,

Blessings to you in the New Year also, young lady.

13. What a great thread to start a new decade…

For most who are oblivious to what this decade holds – FOOD* will be one of the greatest challenges man will ever have to face in all of human history…

With global population studies reporting that with the current 6.794 billion people on earth – estimate by 2020 would see a spike to around 8 billion souls hunting food, water and other physiological amenities for livelihood and sustainability.

We predict that before the end of this decade – the age old prophecy of the 3rd SEAL of Revelation 6:6 will become an unfolding reality in the Western developed world – virtually untouched for over 200 years…

But that time is surely coming!!!

French journalist and film maker Marie-Monique Robin documented a film – “The World According to Monsanto”

This is a documentary that you won’t see on American television.

If this doesn’t alarm – then nothing will!

http://wideeyecinema.com/?p=105

14. @Cow Pork
    Does anyone know how steroids are administered. Could it be that this is part of the inoculation of the newly hatched chicks? Does a chicken that will take 4 – 6 weeks to grow, need more than one good dose of steroids?

15. We bother about the steroids in the chicken but what about the dangerous chemicals farmers use indiscriminately in their spraying? A lot of these chemical are imported and there is a sign in bold print “for export only “. Most of what we now eat is slow poisioning our system.

16. @Scout
    There was a story of a woman diagnosed with a non communicable disease who ended up crying because as she said, she made sure that she did everything right; ate the right foods, exercise, etc.

There is really no way to escape this dreadfulness that is upon us.

17. Does anyone know why children in Barbados, especially girls are developing earlier and earlier. I am convinced from personal experience, that it is connected to the amount of chicken that they eat.
    When my daughter was about 4yrs old, she started having a slight body odour, something that I remember only occurring in puberty. We took her to the doctor and the first thing he asked, does she eat a lot of chicken?

He suggested that we stop feeding her chicken until she got older.

Mr. Rok, I have heard rumours that the hatching eggs are injected. Pat comment about the feed is true. A farmer can call the factory and request a special batch of feed.

18. Most of our chicken is locally grown. Find a small farmer who raises 100 or 200 chickens at a time. As a chicken farmer I KNOW that adequate room and access to water causes chickens to grow much faster. Anybody that buy imported pork want licks. The level of antibiotics and steroids that you complain about is only applicable when animals are raised in huge amounts. The potential for disease and therefore financial loss is much higher and antibiotics are administered as a matter of routine and not as a response to illness.

In response to the size of the chicken I really don’t know about the steroid thing in Barbados because most processors and purchasers prefer smaller chickens. Think about it, Kentucky and the food places purchase their chicken by the kilo so the bigger the chicken the more they pay. They however sell their chicken by the piece so a 21 piece box has a set price regardless of how big the pieces are or how much Kentucky paid. Smaller chickens mean more profit to the purchasers. I think that the yellow fatty hue of American chicken is due to steroid use but Barbadian chicken is not like that.

19. Saying nuttin
    ALL chickens unless they are yard fowl chicken, are injected at birth with steroids. So when you purchase day old chickens from the farm and raise them at home they may not have as much steroids in them as the regular farm chicken but they Do have so degree of steroids already in them.

20. Growing broilers in Barbados.

To prevent Coccidiosis, antibiotics are put in their drinking water until two weeks before they are slaughtered.

There used to be antibiotics in the broiler starter which they are fed for the first 4 to 5 weeks.

Broiler finisher has no antibiotics and is fed for the 2 to 3 weeks before slaughter.

I have always wondered if this protocol is followed by the big farms.
    There is the temptation to continue antibiotics until the chickens are slaughtered to ensure protection from disease.

@ Saying Nuttin

1 sq. ft per bird and water,light and feed 24 hours a day used to be the standard in the late 70s.

Back then I used to grow in a cycle of about 3500 for 8 weeks and 1 week to clean and prepare the pen.

21. @ Saying Nuttin

Why do you think that the yellow fatty hue of American chicken is due to steroid use? Could it not just be fat?.

@ The Scout

Do chickens raised in the yard as in the old days have steroids in them?
    What are steroids?
    Why are chickens injected at birth with steroids?

Re So when you purchase day old chickens from the farm and raise them at home they may not have as much steroids in them as the regular farm chicken but they Do have so degree of steroids already in them.

So what is the point you are making Sir?

@ Hants
    Re To prevent Coccidiosis, antibiotics are put in their drinking water until two weeks before they are slaughtered.

Why would you give antibiotics to prevent Coccidiosis?

22. re coccidiosis

see http://www1.agric.gov.ab.ca/$department/deptdocs.nsf/all/agdex4616

“* Anticoccidial drugs mixed in the feed are used to limit high levels of infection.”

23. Cow Pork
    Does anyone know why children in Barbados, especially girls are developing earlier and earlier. I am convinced from personal experience, that it is connected to the amount of chicken that they eat.

If they eat increased amounts of fat they will store much of it, they will burn some as fuel, and they will convert some to the steroid cholesterol from whichthe se hormones are made. Increasing levels of sex hormones should cause them to develop earlier. No?

Maybe there are growth hormones in something she is eating besides the chicken also?

24. Anonymous
    re coccidiosis

Are they saying that “Anticoccidial drugs” are antibiotics?

25. Georgie Porgie
    The yardfowls I used to eat as a little fellow, were allowed to develop naturally. These new birds are “forcedriped”, that’s why they are causing the problems with human growth.

26. @ Georgie Porgie

Chicken Farmers in the 70s bought what we were told was antibiotics but could have been another drug.

We just followed the instructions on the bottles and poured them into the water.

There was also “antibiotics” in the broiler starter pellets.

We grew the chickens on a layer of dry bagasse which stayed in the pen for the duration of the life of the chickens. This is why an outbreak of coccidiosis was our biggest fear.

The least risk is to limit eating chicken to twice a week or grow and eat (free range) yard fowls.

27. Now as I understand it coccidiosis is a parasitic infection of the birds. The parasite is a protazoa i.e. a very simple micro organism. So wouldn’t any chemical agent which reduce or kill coccidia be termed “antibiotic”?It is understood that coccidial infection is different from bacterial and viral infections. On reviewing product literature for anticoccidial drugs, these are termed antibiotic.

e.g http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/935023

28. Annonymous
    Google again

Coccidiosis is NOT a parasitic infection, nor is it a protozoal infection; it is a FUNGAL infection. Just as viruses dont respond to antibiotics fungi, and treated with antfungal agents.

There is a difference.
    And by the way Annony I spent most of yesterday putting together ppts for teaching purposes on PROTOZOA OTHER PARASITES and also FUNGI.

Hants pointed out
    “We grew the chickens on a layer of dry bagasse which stayed in the pen for the duration of the life of the chickens. This is why an outbreak of coccidiosis was our biggest fear.” ABSOLUTELY the spores of the fungus woyuld develop well in the environment of the bagasse , and the nutrients therein.

Hants
    Re
    The least risk is to limit eating chicken to twice a week or grow and eat (free range) yard fowls.

What is the scientific warrant for this advice Sir?

29. The Scout
    Re Georgie Porgie
    The yardfowls I used to eat as a little fellow, were allowed to develop naturally. These new birds are “forcedriped”, that’s why they are causing the problems with human growth.

The yardfowls I used to eat as a little fellow, were also allowed to develop naturally.

How do you know that it is the chicken that is causing “the” problem with human growth? How would this be so? Do you have any studies to prove this?

Perhaps Annonymous will Google you an answer on this.

But do the chickens have livers that function? And would any small amonts of steroid given at birth be still in thier bodies and not be destroyed by cooking to affect human growth?

What is the nature of the substance called GROWTH HORMONE? How is it classified?

May human growth be simply caused mainly by exercising less and eating more?

Does any of the above make sense?

30. Am I correct in concluding that you all are suggesting that I should now avoid eating chicken after having been told for donkey years that white meat is better than dark … I mean red meat?

If they eat increased amounts of fat they will store much of it, they will burn some as fuel, and they will convert some to the steroid cholesterol from whichthe se hormones are made. Increasing levels of sex hormones should cause them to develop earlier. No?

@Doctor GP,
    I went to school long but not regularly, so forgive my ignorance.

Too be clear, are you saying that high cholesterol levels could be a factor in the early development of girls?

If so, why are Bajan boys not similarly affected if they eat the same foods, even the ones who are not very active?

Haunts,

By the time they get to a size that ”full yuh eye”, there are so hard it takes hours to cook them and green paw paws scarce and gas ain’t cheap no more.

31. GP
    have you read the link authored by the Ministry of Agriculture of the Alberta Government?

from wikipedia:

Coccidia are microscopic, spore-forming, single-celled parasites belonging to the apicomplexan class Conoidasida.[1] Coccidian parasites infect the intestinal tracts of animals[2], and are the largest group of apicomplexan protozoa.

Eimeria is a genus of Apicomplexan parasites that includes various species responsible for the poultry disease coccidiosis. Medications are available for the parasite; however, drug resistance is common as well as possible drug residues in the meat once the animal is butchered.

Research published by the NIH of the USA refer to studies regarding the effectiveness of antibiotics on coccidiosis.

see: http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/1161694?ordinalpos=1&itool=EntrezSystem2.PEntrez.Pubmed.Pubmed_ResultsPanel.Pubmed_SingleItemSupl.Pubmed_Discovery_RA&linkpos=1&log$=relatedarticles&logdbfrom=pubmed

See “Infectious diseases of poultry” http://www.nt.gov.au/d/Content/File/p/Anim_Dis/668.pdf

which lists coccidiosis under protozoan diseases.

“Coccidiosis (“Cocci”) is one of the most common diseases of poultry. It is caused by a number of species of
    protozoa, called coccidia.”

It is noted that in animals, coccidiosis is regarded as a fungal infection.

32. General Lee
    Continue eating your chicken man. LOL. Just remove all the visible fat that you see.

It is indeed true that “If they eat increased amounts of fat they will store much of it, they will burn some as fuel, and they will convert some to the steroid cholesterol from which the sex hormones are made. Increasing levels of sex hormones should cause them to develop earlier.”

This is sound Biochemistry & Physiology Sir?
    I did NOT say that high cholesterol levels could be a factor in the early development of girls. I said that increased amounts of fat leads to synthesis of the steroid cholesterol from which the sex hormones are made. And this is sound Biochemistry & Physiology Sir This is well known Sir.

You ask, and wisely so “If so, why are Bajan boys not similarly affected if they eat the same foods, even the ones who are not very active?”

Who says that they are not affected. Don’t we have a lot of fatter boys? And don’t we have a lot of very aggressive boys? Might the increase in aggression not be secondary to increased testosterone levels as a consequence of increased fat intake leading to synthesis of the steroid cholesterol from which the sex hormones are made?

33. Thank you for the clarification Doctor,
    I am now motivated to research this topic a bit more.

34. Some would say that we have a lot more “not so aggressive” boys and a lot “more aggressive” females too.
    Something is happening in Barbados that needs investigating/researching.

35. General
    We might expect to have more agreesive females as well if they also have higher testosterone levels.

Remember that testosterone is formed in females from cholesterols as well, and THEN the tesotosterone is converted to estrogens.

Perhaps the extra agreesion in the females is due to a “back up” of higher testosterone levels awaiting conversion to estrogens………or not being converted to estrogens as fast as it should be …… or that only a very small portion of the testosterone is being converted.

The metabolic pathway has been displayed on BU in a thread on cholesterol about three months or so ago, Sir.

36. Keep on Googling Annony

37. The following presentation titled “Our Beloved Liver” was submitted by Dr. P, Unfortunately one image was received corrupted.

38. A couple questions for Doc P:

Isn’t a harsh description to classify wine as a poisonous chemical?

The liver seems to be crying out for protection from aerosol sprays and mention is made of the bug, mildew, paint sprays etc. Does this include the popular deodorizers?

39. “Continue eating your chicken man. LOL. Just remove all the visible fat that you see.”

Well! Well! Well! What good advice! New Zealand has strict restrictions on hormone residue. Thailand also has strict laws on hormone residue in chickens. Do we?

Why would these countries go to the length of enacting such laws if there was no danger?
    http://www.scoop.co.nz/stories/BU0110/S00140.htm – New Zealand

Response to a question as to why some chicken breast are bigger than others:

“I don’t know exactly what the reasons are of smaller or bigger chicken breasts. Different breeds? Different ages? Different feeding?
    Growth hormones are not good for human health. If the chicken breasts contain hormones residues it is better not to eat them. Do you know Thailand has regulations about hormone residues?”
    http://en.allexperts.com/q/Food-Science-1425/poultry-steroids-1.htm

Note also that when we are not certain of chemicals/drugs used in foods, many things can go wrong. For example, if our chickens and beef contain hormones could the meats adversely affect our health? Is this one example of what could happen. See:
    http://www.medicalnewstoday.com/articles/32311.php

Apart from the use of drugs and chemicals, has anybody researched the effects of stressed out animals on human health? One cannot deny that the broilers we are raising are stressed by the system of rearing.
    http://www.perc.ca/PEN/1995-09/s-goldberg.html

40. Some research on the effects of stressed meat on human health:
    http://www.scn.org/~bk269/fear.html

41. @ Georgie Porgie

my statement “least risk is to limit eating chicken to twice a week ” has no scientific warrant.

That is my reasoning that moderate consumption reduces perceived risks.

I am just an average fellow who wasted a space at Kolij in the 60s.

We are fortunate that fellows like you chose a path to higher learning.

42. Hi David
    Thanks for posting those nice cartoons on the liver as sent to me by a BU well wisher.

To answer your question wine is alcoholic and is thus a poison if used in excess.
    At the same time, for years the scientists have been saying that two drinks daily (they don’t say how much is a drink) protects the heart..

The popular deodorizers are also included in the xenobiotics that we should avoid.

The liver is a great organ, and definitely wonderfully made and most definitely did not evolve. God in his mercy and foreknowledge designed it so that humans who abuse and destroy their livers, can survive often when over 90 % of it is destroyed by scarring called cirrhosis.

We must understand that a hepatitis (the inflammatory response mounted by the liver when it is insulted chemically or otherwise) heals by scarring called cirrhosis This is relevant to the thread on breathanalyzers.

Some men say that they can hold their “likkers”, because they do not get drunk after many drinks. Well this is because their livers have been induced to work faster to destroy the alcohol entering their livers from the stomach via the hepatic portal vein. If they don’t get pancreatitis and diabetes as is common in those countries where wine is abused they surely will get cirrhosis of the liver— regardless to how much pudding and souse they eat while having their Mount Gay or Cockspur. Those who eat well and don’t have a vitamin B1 deficiency wont get certain problems as well- but they will sill destroy their livers.

The guys that get drunk easily (even from a sip of communion wine on an empty stomach) will more likely die from a head injury having staggered and fallen. This is because their livers don’t metabolize the alcohol quickly. Consequently, the alcohol will get up to their brains and dull many of their senses.

I say this to you David, because you are likely to understand this. Protein hormones are DESTROYED on cooking! Heat denatures and coagulates all proteins including protein hormones!

Why do you think that NO protein hormone including insulin is given orally?

43. Hants
    It seems that we were contemporaries at HC. I went 62-70, and like you wasted some space there.

I do agre with you that generally moderate consumption reduces perceived risks. But I see chicken as good protein, once the fat filled skin is removed.

44. Perhaps a simple question: With advances in sciences and research why is it not yet possible to speak to issues of diet i.e.what is good food intake for the body, in absolutes. Should we in 2010 be debating if chicken or pork is good for the body?

45. David

Did we have this problem in the 50’s and 60’s when folk ate less ork and chicken (and probably less altogether) and exercised more by walking and riding etc.

There is nothing wrong with pork or chicken man.

When I check the deaths in the Nation, I see a lot of Bajans living longer and longer.

46. @GP

Did not realise that insulin was given orally.

47. @GP
    “When I check the deaths in the Nation, I see a lot of Bajans living longer and longer.”

Is this not because of increased access to medical attention? Simple things such as better hygiene and clean drinking water?

A gentleman was telling me that a source of drinking water for him and his family was that duck pond at Kendal with all the ducks and swans in it as we would have seen it a few years ago. I think it is dried up now for the most part.

48. @David
    “Should we in 2010 be debating if chicken or pork is good for the body?”

Good question and I think it is because the public is not given properly research information on these things. They are left hanging and prey to speculation. Believe me, they know good enough what they are doing, but it is all for the love of money. Keep guessing!

Furthermore, it should never be a debate. The facts can be had.

49. I write again in perfect English…..Why do you think that NO protein hormone including insulin is given orally?

In English this means that INSULIN IS NOT it is NEVER GIVEN ORALLY AS IT, LIKE OTHER PROTEIN HORMONES ARE DESTROYED BT PROTEOLYTIC ENZYMES IN THE STOMACH.

Is this not because of increased access to medical attention? Simple things such as better hygiene and clean drinking water?

NO! VACCINES AND ANTIBIOTICS BOTH OF WHICH CAME INTO VOGUE CERCA 1950 HAS DRASTICALLY DECREASED THE MORTALITY RATES DUE TO INFECTIOUS DISEASES IN MOST PARTS OF THE WORLD AND IN ALL PARTS OF THE DEVELOPING WORLD.

50. ROK: “Is this not because of increased access to medical attention? Simple things such as better hygiene and clean drinking water?”

GP’s Response: “NO! VACCINES AND ANTIBIOTICS BOTH OF WHICH CAME INTO VOGUE CERCA 1950 HAS DRASTICALLY DECREASED THE MORTALITY RATES DUE TO INFECTIOUS DISEASES IN MOST PARTS OF THE WORLD AND IN ALL PARTS OF THE DEVELOPING WORLD.”

Vaccines are not delivered by medical personnel, neither antibiotics. Certainly better hygiene and clean drinking does not help.

Conclusion: no need to look after your hygiene and you can drink all the dirty water you want… but get antibiotics and vaccinations from the manufacturers or see if you can purchase them in town somewhere… but do not seek medical services.