Submitted by Terence Blackett

debtMany of us deduce that smart, intellectual folks run our world, our country and our economic affairs. Our politicians are not “gods” as some would have us believe – though many claim “divine” authority on all matters pertaining to logic, the “real politique” and the fashioning (or lack thereof) of laws which are meant for our public good.

Economic hardship in the United States money markets is reducing profitability for those who own US dollars, contributing to dollar devaluation. Many are asking – “will China dump the rest of its estimated $876 billion hoard of U.S. Treasuries and crash the Treasury market — and by doing so, kill the U.S. dollar, drive interest rates sky high and leave the U.S. economy a smoking ruin?” (Mike Larson – Money & Markets Sept. 2009).

The answer – probably not! It isn’t in their economic interest at this time. But the colossal US debt, quantitative easing (PRINTING MONEY out of thin air) and the dwindling loss in stock values are creating a lethal cocktail of financial woes for investors, borrowers and the ordinary saver.

So how does US debt and currency evaluation affect the Barbados dollar? Answer – severely. Here’s why…

Barbados’ debt in the last 2 years of a new DLP government has seen the public debt grow from 74.1% of GDP at the end of 1999/2000 to 94.6% at the end of 2007/08 and increase of 20.5% in the last decade – and our new government is struggling to keep up balance of payment commitments, pay its bills and hold to statutory obligations.

During the aftermath of 9-11, the former Barbados Labour Party’s fiscal policy response was to embark on a major public works investment programme propped up by unsustainable public sector worker wage increases which resulted in a dramatic spike in the public sector deficit – seeing a 6 times increase from a mere 2% at the turn of 2000/01 to a stark 13% around the end of 2002/03.

And how was our existing debt financed?

By more borrowing which created more burdensome DEBT!

The public debt-to-GDP ratio jumped from 74% at around 2000/01 to 87% around the end of 2002/03. The economy saw a bounce in 2004 due in part to foreign exchange earnings from tourism, and other structural policies but that trend was not consistent right up until 2007/08 where the BLP government managed to narrow the deficit to 6% of GDP by the end of 20006/07. But elections were looming precariously.

There is a number of questions to be answered by the former BLP government for those “Off-Budget Activities” vis-à-vis, “Public Enterprise Initiatives” which went belly–up creating further strain on the current fiscal deficit. A further case needs to be answered for all those politicians who became “millionaires” while in political office at the expense of the public purse and those hovering on or below the poverty line.

Additionally, there is the well known factor of the cost over-runs and the gargantuan investment in the building infrastructure for the hosting of the Cricket World Cup (CWC) held in 2007 – notwithstanding, an ABC Highway project that has been a failure of “Midas” proportions with cost over-runs which has added significantly to our current deficit and “Debt Mountain”. With our current debt levels, every person in Barbados’ take would be just under US$20,000.

To add insult to injury, Bajan consumers are racking up a staggering $100 million a year in personal consumer credit in the form of easy access credit cards, loans and other lines of personal credit from banks whose balance sheets are suspect at best and dodgy at worst.

Research shows that commercial bank credit to private individuals (consumer debt) grew over a period from 1966 to 1994 at a rate of $23.7 million in 1966 to $102.6 million in 1994, an increase of 433%. The numbers have continued to spike year on year as the growing credit/DEBT* bubble grows exponentially with no curbs in sight.

So as our new government reaches its 2nd year in political office, the public sector debt-to-GDP ratio had risen to an alarmingly astronomical 94.6%. A mathematical spreadsheet of current public sector debt is apocalyptic in scale to say the least with domestic debt weighing in at a whopping 75%, accounting for the growing mountain of public debt we are all saddled with.

80% of domestic debt held by our current government is long-term. One could argue the mitigating circumstances with short-term debt v long term debt but that is not the loci of our discussion at this time. Let David Thompson and the other monetary “gods” haggle and weigh over that bit of fiscal policy.

International financial creditors account for almost 60% of Barbados’ publicly serviced external debt. However, a global monetary contraction in the market due to the economic crisis the world is facing has meant a slowing in the flow of funds from private creditors (i.e., HEDGE FUNDS) but in particular investors from the international capital US/EU markets, has exacerbated the debt problem.

The government’s pledge is to reduce the current debt to 60% of GDP by 2012 but this falls on deaf ears as this fiscal objective faces serious obstacles in the present global economic climate.

The government is still dead set on expansion in terms of infrastructural development, (i.e. flyovers and the rest of it) to meet its development objectives. However, given the anticipated levels of cost to be incurred, we will fall far short of any commensurate increases in revenue, especially since higher revenue growth was predicated on continued strong economic growth particularly in the tourist sector.

The financial outlook is clearly heading in one predetermined direction. We hate to admit the obvious – but currency devaluation is no longer a matter of how but when…

113 responses to “The Barbados DEBT* Bubble: Is The Devaluation Of The Dollar Imminent? – Part I”

1. @Johnnie too Bad
    “ROK, don’t make me laugh, when did we have independence to give up. For the record, you cannot give up what you never had.”

Good point… but I would hasten to qualify that the path an independent nation should have taken, we did not take; as a matter of fact we went deeper into the hole.

2. @RH
    “Be more productive and efficient in what, ROKie??”

ROTFL… Good point. If you reason it to its logical conclusion we would simply suck salt. Makes no sense risking a devaluation. It would simply be too costly.

3. @ CARY A BONE: BRING A BONE

“SO we are slaves then ROK ?”

You said it.

4. ROK,thats true but you understand where I coming from. I accept the generality of your claims but disagree on that point.
    However what is to be done when one finds oneself between the poverbial rock and hard place.
    It is all about lack of vision and foresight within the emerging political elite on this little rock.

5. Johnnie, incentives have been a spur to growth for a very long time!

6. @BU Family…

If I might please share…

One of the very strange things I have found about Barbados (as a Stranger in a Strange Land) is why, exactly, Barbados would “peg” its dollar to the US dollar at BDS$ 1.98 to USD $1.00.

It would seem to make more sense to tie the rate with the BDS dollar being slightly above a multiple of the USA dollar. For example, at BDS $2.02 to USD $1.00.

The reason is fairly simple…

Those who come to Barbados from Away often carry USA dollars. The local vendors are happy to trade at USD $1 to BDS $2. But this puts them at a (slight) disadvantage.

If instead the rate was what I suggested above (rather than what it is), it would be to the local vendor’s (slight) advantage.

Please note that some of the more astute vendors here in Barbados know that USD $1 is not equal to BDS $2.

But not most, or even many….

7. ROK, whether devaluation or cuts ordered by the IMF, we will see the end to many jobs, can our fragile economy deal with that?
    That is to say nothing of the climate change industry that will finally kill off European tourism to these parts.
    I understand there is a bill about to hit parliaments in the EU that will add hundreds of dollars to long haul flights such as destination Barbados. This in itself will further reduce tourism activity and therefore hurt our opportunity for securing foreign exchange. Seems like we need some creative leadership at this time in our development.

8. Bimbro, wake up how can a man be earning $5million a year as a salary and then collect $40 million in bonus. Is there not a new departure here? Such developments are not incentives man, that is daylight robbery.
    Bimbro while you are at it, is there any truth that your government is putting a green tax on airline tickets in an attempt to stop people flying to places like the Caribbean. Check this out for me Bimbro.

9. John, there’s absolutely nothing new about paying a low basic salary followed by bonuses dependent upon performance. If uv done very well then, why should n’t u be rewarded accordingly!!

John, yes, such a tax has been proposed and, I believe, will be being introdeced sometime soon. However, ud need to do a search for the full details. Try The Voice newpaper, part of the Jamaican Gleaner group!

10. Bimbro, that is more pain to come for this country, boy returnee or not we need some of your money. I know this climate change thing is a scam to stop poor people from getting rich or wanting the things that the super rich like you Bimbro have.
    I see that scam before. Pity my government ain’t quick off the mark.

11. Bimbro, I am sending out an SOS, we need your help. Between the broke Americans and the stingy Brits, looking like Bim will be catching its right royal before long. How do they expect the people in Bim to love.
    Anyhow I have dealt with the country’s problems for the day. I need to go get dress for dinner, I believe the wife will be serving salmon steaks grilled for dinner. The stock market has been good to me today, so a glass of Moet won’t go down badly at all.One needs one’s sustinence.

12. @Bimbo: “John, there’s absolutely nothing new about paying a low basic salary…

@”Johnnie Too Bad” had mentioned “$5 million a year” as a basic salary (currency undefined)…

@Bimbo: “…followed by bonuses dependent upon performance.

@”Johnnie Too Bad” had mentioned “and then collect $40 million in bonus.

To which Bimbo argued was perfectly reasonable and acceptable.

@Bimbo…

Can I please teleport to the planet you’re living on?

Can we all?

Please….

13. BRAIN POWER (of which you lack)

I can see that you have come in here as a red herring. You have made a number of statements in the vain of “According to BFP…….” which are absolute rubbish. Nowhere on BFP does it say that the police are coming for ROK or that “ROK is in trouble that is why he has been quiet lately, sweating and cant sleep at nights.”

I think it is fairly obvious what your game is BP and my suggestion to you is that if ROK’s posts bore you, don’t read them.

14. OWEN come back quick
    OWEN the country sick
    OWEN you save us before
    OWEN we can tek it nuh more

Ghetto people are singing the above refrain

Those of you who cussing Owen should remember that Owen made computers more affordable so that you ungrateful SOBs could come on a Blog and tell lies on he and claim that allyuh help get rid of the BLP. Allyuh should be SHAME !

I have said already that I love OWEN ARTHUR – HE IS A GOOD MAN and the best Prime Minister since Errol Barrow.

I am sorry that the short man is not Prime Minister. It hurts !

I will be forever grateful to Owen Arthur for rescuing Barbados from the deep depths of despair.

I feel proud when I pass through town and see independence Square and the wharf, the work that has been done there to improve the area. Everytime I pass there I remember the good work of Dame Billie and SIR OWEN SEYMOUR ARTHUR.

15. Kiss Mia,

Thanks for that. Now move on. He’s gone! The voters of this country bade him a massive farewell more than a year ago! Good riddance in my view.

16. KissMya

OWEN gone fa good,
    OWEN rob who he could,
    OWEN rest in peace,
    OWEN ya had a good feast.

Now, go and sin no more.

17. Why are we saying that Trinidad is doing so well?
    The Finance Minister just produced the Budget with an $8.4Billion deficit.
    Economists in Trinidad are wondering how it got so?
    They are arguing that with dwindling natural gas reserves, Trinidad could be in some serious trouble.

18. Johnnie, I’m flattered that u think I’m so wealthy but I assure u my modest resources would make very litte difference to Bim’s economic situ! Enjoy your dinner, J!!

Chris, ur forgetting that we’re talking about the banking profession where the usual norms of pay don’t apply. Don’t u wish ud tried it? I do!!

KISSMYA, whilst neither agreeing nor disagreeing with u (I have n’t lived in Bim during his administrations) if Arthur was so perfect why then do u think the people got rid of him?!!

Watch out! The Trinis will be heading to Bim seeking work, next!! lol!!

19. @Bimbo: “…ur forgetting that we’re talking about the banking profession where the usual norms of pay don’t apply.

Really Bimbo?

So, as a deduction, is it reasonable for those borrowing from the Banks to similarly throw out all the rules?

Or is only the Bankers who get to play such games, while the rest of us pay?

Please advise.

20. Chris, investment banking and playing the stock markets is an entirely different world with correspondingly, unimaginable rates of pay for the successful! It’s a rarefied environment of which the likes of u and I have little comprehension and thus, r unable to comment reliably!!

21. Chris, u remember who used to be a banker? Yes, our boy, Arthur, who some would claim, brought untold riches to Bim. Thus, u might be able to get some idea of the justification for their huge financial rewards!!

22. The second part of TB’s provocative submission will be posted on this coming Sunday.

23. @DAVID (BU)…
    I have been getting calls from BRITISH BAJANS all morning regarding this articles… This is weird man, I did not think that BU was so widely read by so many people… My wife who is personal friend a certain (high level) politician in Barbados got an email asking her what her husband is trying to do…So it looks like I am in the “DOG-HOUSE” with certain folks in my country…

Anyway thanks to the BU, DAVID & CREW… If the Nation or Advocate will not deal with the hard issues – we SHALL!!!

Now boys & gals:-

@KIKI
    “Technically HFT is market information
    not inside information and not illegal”…

What planet are you on?

HFT is a legitimized SCAM!!!

When WELLS FARGO was selling Subprime mortgages – that was also not illegal as well I imagine?

Did not Credit Defaults Swaps and the packaging of DEBT and sold on as genuine investments bring the world markets to the precipice of financial Armageddon???

Unless you have some other reason to explain our current dilemma?

@ROK
    “The worst case scenario is that Bajans will be headed towards becoming an extinct species…”

Your arguments are stark ROK but my belief as I am sure you can appreciate is that if the ZIMBABWEAN people survived Robert Mugabe – so can we regardless of what our politicians do… We survived slavery and its aftermath – so all things are possible!!!

@CHRISTOPHER HALSALL
    “Please forgive me for this, but we’re f**ked.”

I DON’T AGREE!!!

Government in Barbados has been riddled with too much corruption for too many years and change is a MUST!!!

DAVID* has been calling for ITAL policies, transparency in public accounts and fiscal responsibility from our leaders for the longest time.

If we keep doing things the same old way but expecting different results – then we are screwed!!!

However, it can be turned around given that with a highly intelligent workforce, a stable democratic society where billionaires and multimillionaires use Barbados as a financial “hub” due in part to the abovementioned is reason enough to believe that we must structure our economy in the way Japan did following the post-war years.

@BIMBRO
    “Terence, crashing is simply another intrinsic part of the system. Your personal responsibility is to yourself, family and stocks”…

Your arguments are extremely valid…

I can’t argue with you…

However, I have lived long enough to understand that in a world of hyper-reality with globalized tranches of interconnectedness – if I fart* on Wall Street, the stench blows down Main Street… (forgive the graphic nature of my innuendo)…

If David Thompson or his press secretary is reading – they know they have to make the tough calls even if the policies are unpopular but will smash our “MASSIVE DEFICIT” and free us from the stranglehold of “MOUNTAINOUS DEBT”!!!

24. Hi Terence, thank you for agreeing with me. I can see that you’re a sensible fellow who knows a genius when u encounter one. However, I still would appreciate a reply to my question – r u quite certain this Weiss fellow is n’t another Madoff? It’s my patriotic duty, even though I don’t get paid nor appreciation, to protect Bajans from each other!! 🙂

25. @Terence M. Blackett: “I DON’T AGREE!!!

“Government in Barbados has been riddled with too much corruption for too many years and change is a MUST!!!

But, with respect Terence, “change” is usually resisted by most. It is resisted particularly vigorously by those who are currently living well in the existing system, no matter how unfair the system is to the many.

For your consideration….

26. @BIMBRO
    ” Hi Terence, thank you for agreeing with me. I can see that you’re a sensible fellow who knows a genius…”

Before I comment on your comments –

What’s up with all the protests, police, Muslims & Right-Wing Nazi Skin heads in the streets of London as we speak creating anarchy by the new Mosque being built in Harrow…

I know it’s Sept. 11th but this is ridiculous!!!

Just an hour ago – a cover up on the POTOMAC RIVER close to the WHITE HOUSE and what some are calling a foiled attempt at God knows what – but apparently no shots were fired, Secret Service knew nothing (allegedly) and the Coast Guard intercepted some boat…

Man, what a world!!!

To answer you query BRUV* – I don’t have any proof to validate or contradict your questions regarding Dr.Weiss…

I act on advice – it’s that simple!

I buy or sell based on recommendations…

As you are aware, advice is not cheap…

But like everything BRUV, you get what you pay for…

Folks believed in Sir Alan Stanford… Just like Bernie MADOFF – who made off with billions of other people’s money…

Life is about chances…

27. @Christopher Halsall
    “It is resisted particularly vigorously by those who are currently living well in the existing system, no matter how unfair the system is to the many.”

YES CHRIS – this is particularly true of those within our political system but today’s ruling on Korean PM who will now spend life in prison should be writing on the wall for those who choose to abuse and misuse privilege for their own ends…

Chris, all we want from David Thompson & crew is integrity, transparency and accountability as he oversees our resources and rules in the public good…

Surely, that’s not too much to ask!!!!

28. @ Terence M. Blackett // September 11, 2009 at 1:17 PM

………”Chris, all we want from David Thompson & crew is integrity, transparency and accountability as he oversees our resources and rules in the public good…

Surely, that’s not too much to ask!!!!”

Mr. Blackett,

I concur completely with you on this statement. This is all we ask from any politician!

29. Hi Terence, I did n’t c the whole thing – just caught a brief glimpse on the 6 o’clock news! Man, as far as I’m concerned they can liquidate all the ******* muslims! Can’t stand them and neither they us but, some west indians, desperate to be loved, adopt their cause. I doan know wha d British goverment let suh many uh d ******* into dis country fuh, at all, dats why sometimes, I almos wish d NF could come to power!!

Steupse!!

Thanks for the advice about Weiss. I might take a chance with them. These Jewish lads have got all the right contacts in the right places!!

30. @Mr. Blackett…

Actually, in addition to ITLA, a workable Freedom of Information Act would be nice…

Was this all not promised by Mr. Thompson? Was this not why he and his party won the last election?

I have *so* many questions to ask under the FOIA….

31. Sigh…

In the geek: s/ITLA/ITAL/;

32. Bonny Peppa

Bonny , I have said I like you
    Bonny, you know its true
    Bonny ,you seem to have some skill
    But Bonny, Owen is the best still

SIR OWEN SEYMOUR ARTHUR
    is the man to take the ship of state to safer waters.

EVERYBODY HAS FAULTS. Show me a man without faults, show me a man who has never made a mistake

How do you measure a man ?
    Who has the greater skill to lead our country out of this DLP created , manufactured, and bungled economic mess ? WHO ?

33. KissMya,
    You’re a poet,
    And you know it.

Now ansa me dis honestly.
    Would you blame Barack Obama for the mess America finds itself in? Or is Bush to blame moreso than him?

I rest my case.

Going to get a rest before I hit the dance floor later. Two step, three step, four.

Tamorr.

34. If there was really such a thing as “Freedom of Information” the chaos that took place in NY on this say eight years ago would not have been attempted…

Ain’t that the truth Hopi..!

35. @ robin hood

Terence M. Blackett said “Chris, all we want from David Thompson & crew is integrity, transparency and accountability as he oversees our resources and rules in the public good…Surely, that’s not too much to ask!!!!”
    ..from any politician!

Robin Hood concurs knowing that the primary reason why so many service providers (particularly lawyers) get involved in politics is to make money when in Government… You know this, Halsall knows this, Blackette and the rest of BU knows this.. shite the whole world knows this. This fact forms the back bone of the political process that we loosely refer to as democracy. To bring legal niceties and checks and balances into the process will destroy the democratic ideal.. NOBODY WILL RUN FOR OFFICE! We will have no governments and the world will fall into turmoil!

DO YOU WANT THIS FOR OUR CHILDREN..? (Adrian Hinds this is called shouting on the internet..Haha)

36. Governor Marion Williams is on her way out to the good life in Geneva. Can we expect any significant shift in Cantral Bank management with the arrival of Delisle Worrell?

37. BAFBFP // September 11, 2009 at 10:47 PM

If there was really such a thing as “Freedom of Information” the chaos that took place in NY on this say eight years ago would not have been attempted…

Ain’t that the truth Hopi..!

It also might have caused an even greater catastrophe, A!! All depends on how sensibly it was managed!

38. @DAVID
    “Governor Marion Williams is on her way out to the good life in Geneva. Can we expect any significant shift in Central Bank management with the arrival of Delisle Worrell?”

We wish the Mme. Williams well…Interesting relocation strategy don’t you think? This is a real fodder for the conspiracy theorists like myself and others to have a field day with…

One thing “fuh” sure – “Banking secrecy laws in that part of the world is going to have a short shelf life if world markets do not recover by 2012…

As for Messrs. Worrell – nothing much will change. The CB will continue to buy up our “TOXIC DEBT” while the proviso in the short term for the possibility of cranking up the ‘ole printing press to “manufacture” some “Grantley Adams” out of thin air in the form of quantitative easing…

Serious stuff folks!!!

39. “Governor Marion Williams is on her way out to the good life in Geneva.”

The Governor has always been in the good life. Do you people really think these prestige academics have a whole lot to do?

The new CBG will not be as easy on the eyes, and will score a flat zero charismatic appeal.

Bimbs my Bro though we agree on little, I am not sure that I follow..!

40. Terence M. Blackett
    “cranking up the ‘ole printing press to “manufacture”

But the US to whose currency our Grantley’s are tied have been doing this year in year out for decades…!

41. @ BAFBFP
    “But the US to whose currency our Grantley’s are tied have been doing this year in year out for decades…!”

YEA – True… But could this be the reason why the dollar is losing ground and the traction is now centered on GOLD & SILVER???

A weak dollar certainly does us no good that side of the pond – maybe for us “shopaholicks” in Europe who want to fly to NY just to buy a few pairs of bloody designer jeans…

42. Here is the Fed Money Supply Chart.

43. BAF, what I’m saying is that the release of certain confidential-type information, possibly of significance to the national economy and security of the country could be very damaging, if it got into the wrong hands!

44. @DAVID

WOW!!!

A jump in Aug.2008 from $800 billion to almost $1.8 trillion almost overnight….

Having given the patient such a massive infusion – what do you think will be the longterm repercussions to his health after he has arisen from his coma?

This is Mike Larson’s take:

“Every week, we get more Treasury sales …Every quarter, we get bigger debt auctions …And every month, we get worse budget news, presaging an even bigger flood of debt down the road.Case in point: The Treasury Department just said that its latest quarterly refunding auctions of longer-term debt will total $75 billion. The department will auction $37 billion in 3-year notes on August 11, $23 billion in 10-year notes on August 12 and $15 billion in 30-year bonds on August 13.”

Mike further cites:

“That’s not all … Treasury now expects the U.S. national debt to bump up against the so-called debt “ceiling” of $12.1 trillion in the final quarter of 2009. Now as we all know, that ceiling is a joke. Whenever we hit it, Congress just increases it! But the symbolism here shouldn’t be lost on any of us. We are continuing to borrow and spend, borrow and spend, with no short-term or long-term plan on how to get all that debt under control. The Problem With More Debt …You Have to Pay It Back!” (Money & Markets, 7th August 2009).

45. Haw haw, the original value of the US dollar (according to Bretton Wood) was 32 onces of gold now look at the graph!

What do you think happens to the value of the currency that is already in circulation?

“The Problem With More Debt …You Have to Pay It Back!”You Have to Pay It Back!” That most definitely is not true if you have biggest dick on show..!

Bimbs
    “the release of certain confidential-type information, possibly of significance to the national economy and security of the country could be very damaging, if it got into the wrong hands!”

I humbly proffer that these things were in the wrong hands to begin with. Ha..!

46. PS Sentiments like the above got me banned from BFP but I glad tah kno’ dat I ain’ de onliest one. LMAO

47. that should be $32 per ounce of gold

48. We think times now are rough, we ain’t see nothing yet!

The mighty US$ is on the way out, a ‘new’ world currency will soon be announced; all part and parcel of the new ‘World Order’ agenda.

A bit of literal ‘Hell’ is about to cascade on ALL countries, very soon, devastating times are around the corner for ALL of us.

Be warned, the season for the End-Times, is upon us all.

Repent, accept, and receive Jesus Christ as your personal Saviour and Lord!

This is no joke!

49. Cheeze on bread Simple Enough, it is Saturday night man, you can’t save the dreadful sermon for Sunday?

50. Can we get an ‘Amen’ up inside here. Preach it brother Simple.

J,
    Ya heathen.
    (teeeeeeeeeheeeeeeeeeeeeeeee)