Hartley Henry - DLP Political Strategist
Hartley Henry – DLP Political Strategist

Traffic or no traffic, delays in getting to work or not, I welcome the return of our school children “to circulation”.

I know that thousands of them had a good summer. The government sponsored camps, whether we wish to admit it or not, is a ‘God send’ for many. They have served to “liven” the holidays and at the same time keep the brains of our young ones ‘turning’ and fertile. But for me, there is nothing like seeing those immaculately dressed and perfectly groomed young ones alighting buses, using cross walks and generally going about their merry way to and from school.

Barbados is very unique in the Caribbean in this regard. Each secondary school and several primary schools have their distinctive uniforms and dress codes and this add color and splendor to the stepping out occasion, especially at the start of the September term.

Angie and I were among the proud parents of 11 year olds entering the secondary school system for the first time this week. What was most striking from the Tuesday morning orientation, was the resolve of parents to outfit their children, to acceptable standards, irrespective of the cost and sacrifice.

There is an innate pride in Barbadians where, notwithstanding their own socio-economic backgrounds, they wish well for their offspring and, on occasions such as yesterday’s grand stepping out, for no ward of theirs to be inappropriately casted.

This writer is not sure why they put themselves under this pressure, because we knew since early in July where those who had taken the 11-plus examination would have been going and from the previous term, where all others would be returning. But it seems the adrenalin rush at the 11th hour is what makes the occasion exciting.

Those who complained about lack of money in the economy this past weekend, clearly overlooked the issue when they outfitted themselves for all the summer festivities dating back to June, when we had multiple weekends of high priced shows and fetes, on the hill, in the park and stretching the beach. They also did not challenge the heightened cost of costumes for the various festivals nor the hike in food and beverage costs at the various social outings.

What also of the persistent use and abuse of cell phones and the seemingly addicted topping up of phone credit?

I do not know how some parents did it but, judging from what I saw on the streets of Barbados earlier this week, they certainly landed on their feet when it comes to rising to the occasion of outfitting their children for the grand September stepping out occasion.

We are in the midst of an economic downturn but gladly this is not reflected in the manner in which the vast majority of our students were turned out this week. Parents somehow found the money. The various social agencies of government and financial lending institutions may have played a role, but I believe in the final analysis it all has to do with the pride, tenacity and resourcefulness of our Barbadian parents, mothers in particular. They know how to stretch a dollar when they have to.

Our parents understand the social impact of their children being seen and deemed as “poor”. No one wishes to be “poor” in today’s Barbados and that is why we do what we have to do to minimize the distinction. But what of next week and next month and early next year? The September stepping out is one event in itself, but nurturing our children through this testing period of their lives is our charge. We ought not as parents to show interest only in how they look for the first day. We need to remain an integral part of the process throughout the school year.

So how about our resolving to attend more Parent Teacher Association meetings? How about our playing our part in minimizing, if not stamping out, the minibus culture? How about our insisting on the prioritization of home work and the putting away of computer games and reducing the seeming addiction to television during the term? What also about the same personal grooming of our children? We got them all ‘cleaned up and ready’ for September 2nd. But how will they look on November 2nd, and March 2nd and June 2nd of next year?

Though the pressure on parents is reduced at that time, the importance of personal grooming remains the same. I think it was Canadian Anne Murray who sang and wished for everyday to be like Christmas. As a parent and more so as a proud Barbadian, I wish for every day of the school year to be like September 2nd, when parents, teachers and students alike are all focused on playing their part in the attainment of common goals.

This country is investing too much in the education of our children for us as a society to stand only on ceremony. We have to begin or should I say recommence our insistence on the pursuit and attainment of excellence in education.

Minister Ronald Jones can be accused of not saying what he wishes to say in the most controlled and effective manner possible, but none can question his passion for and commitment to the cause. In Ronald Jones you get the image of a minister who genuinely cares and who wants the system to work. Semantics are one thing but substance and focus is another and in this regard, he cannot be faulted.

This country has an excellent opportunity to retain lost glory as far as its leadership in education is concerned. I am a Caribbean man and I would never put down another island, but somehow I believe that Barbados’ place in education is at the forefront. The Rt. Excellent Errol Walton Barrow, Sir Lloyd Erskine Sandiford and others placed us there and it behoves us all to work with Ronald Jones in returning Barbados to the pinnacle of regional education.

Let every day of this new school year be like September 2nd. When it comes to Barbados shining again as a leader in education, I say ‘yes we can’.

Hartley Henry is a Regional Political Strategist. He can be reached at hartleyhenry@gmail.com

64 responses to “Let’s Get High On Education…Year Round”

1. We want to dispel a lie which is being given legs in some quarters that BU publishes the Henry article before the Advocate. The Henry article from our observation is published on Thursdays in the Barbados Advocate. BU in turn publishes the Henry article late on Thursdays, Fridays sometimes as late as Saturday. A couple of times we did not receive it and we never published it. For those who ask why we ask why not? BU welcomes submissions from ALL. Those who would label BU for publishing Henry’s articles are silent when we published Sylvan Greenidge’s submissions. Unfortunately the BLP people have not accepted the offer from BU with the same enthusiasm.

Secondly BU has been working our sources and we will have something to write about the Henry Martindale affair on the Weekend and some people will not be portrayed in a good light.

2. So this is what it has come to them David? BU will become an internet rag for smearing private citizens?

3. Having had the whole opinion poll thing blow up in his face, Hartley is trying desperately to turn the page back to the relatively safe topic of education and day care camps.

Let’s not forget he’s trying to get away from the controversy he created by threatening a newspaper editor to get the news published “his way”

David, how much worse could it be for Martindale, you have already facilitated her name being dragged through the mud on this blog. Hartley carried out his threat with your help. Are you going to tell us that she should have kept quiet about the threat?

stupse!

4. I’m looking forward reading it David.

@ Ebenezer // September 4, 2009 at 9:15 PM

This is not a perfect world, but as with freedom of speech you are welcome to your views.

5. Ryan braithwaite won the final of the IAAF sponsored golden league in brussels today.Congratulation and keep up the good work Ryan.

6. They are obviously scared David.

I am indeed looking forward to the week-end.

Happy writing.

7. Hartley Henry wrote “The Rt. Excellent Errol Walton Barrow, Sir Lloyd Erskine Sandiford and others placed us there…”

When you say “and others…” you mean the Right Honorable former Minister of Education Mia Mottley also?

So why don’t you come straight out and say so?

8. We spend too much money on 40% or more students who merely mark time because they can’t leave school legally before 16.

A nation’s education system should produce the citizens with the skills it needs for economic development.

Therefore, there should be a school for athletes; one for industrial arts; one for artisans; one for creative arts, etc. Maybe about six or so school specialising in non-traditional areas.

Why do we waste this money and then wait until these children leave school and then over burden the polytechnic and the skills training programme trying to train these children after the fact.

Provide wider options and choices; of course it does not mean that these schools will not have standards of English and mathematics, it just means that changing the environment may well encourage students to better apply themselves because they would now have direction to their lives and more likely come out of school with qualifications.

9. I hope that your personal life is 100% squeaky clean.

10. Brilliant proposal ROK.
    This has been proposed to government before…. but will get nowhere -due to the ‘quality’ of civil servants that we enjoy…..and the persons of low intestinal fortitude and matching intellect who get to be ministers.

11. I would hazard a guess that the most intractable obstacle to ROK’s proposals are the parents themselves. Even if their child is “failing” in the traditional curriculum they still want the child “learning” Maths, History, Literature, Biology etc. Haven’t we heard some exclaim “Yuh want muh chile to learn auto mechanics? Whuh he ain’t dumpsy!”

12. My venerable, local, weekly edition of the British version of The Nation, this week, carries a letter by a lady bemoaning the way Bajan parliamentarians speak. Here’re some examples which she quotes:

“It galls me to hear senior officials referring to the ‘Ministry of Helf’; to hear that “with” is “wif” or “wid”, and “within” is “widdin”, and so on! We are sloppy in everything we do ….”

Might not be a bad starting point?!! I’m not Bajan anymore and thus may not have the right to pontificate but, I strongly suspect such people would n’t even make it onto the committee of the local, dart team, here in Britain! Wunna mus decide wunna own standards, bo!!

13. @Anonymous
    “I would hazard a guess that the most intractable obstacle to ROK’s proposals are the parents themselves.”

It goes even further than that. A party would deem it as political expediency to offer each child the same opportunity lest they lose the next election.

Here is where we separate leadership ability from management capacity. I think we should strive to give people equitable opportunities rather than the same opportunity because it has shown that the same opportunity has disadvantaged many.

14. We are easily making mock sport at how we want to move forward with education. The reactive moves we observe being made will not cut it.

First of all we need an open discourse to happen supported with statistics where possible. Whenever we discuss education it is swimming in emotionalism and factors to do with class. Our ability to sustain a successful economy is linked to building a relevant educational framework, relevance is defined by our national strategic plan.

15. What’s the point of submitting an intelligent post to this blog when further bloggers don’t appreciate it – or, perhaps don’t have the wherewithal to appreciate it!!

16. Bimbro u r a traitor 199 times over. I now see what that 199 was about. At first I thought it reflected the cheapness of Limeys who would like to pay 1.99 for everything worth more.

17. All this is a load of BS.

Go and get all your education and then a politician come and fire you! Yeah right! Whats the point?

And eberyday you read of a lot of idiots running dis dat and de other.

18. ROK, I’ll b the first to celebrate when I c u write something intelligent, meanwhile, get stuffed!!

19. BU David, I notice you removed the “Living in Barbados” blog from your sidebar. Why? LIB speak tuh much truth that doesn’t fit in with your concept of “freedom of speech”?

20. It’s all well and good to say that we should separate children into their areas of strength but, before this can be done, proper testing must be carried out to ensure that the students are allocated to programs correctly.

If this isn’t done then it makes it even worse because we would go from removing square pegs from circle holes and trying to put them in triangular ones instead.

21. @ Anonymous September 5, 2009, at 1:31pm

I understand your frustration but “education” is for life. Perhaps I could mention Damon Buffini, I do not know if you have ever heard of him.

His father was African American his mother is English he grew up in a Council House in the UK. He said: “The thing for young black people was an understanding of the power of education and long term application.

“What we’ve got to get away from is this instant gratification culture where if you don’t make it in six months then it’s a waste of time”.

May I add, “he attended St John’s College Cambridge and Harvard Business School US.

He has a personal fortune of £200 Million and heads one of Europe’s biggest private equity firms: Permira.

Do you think it could have been easy for him? “education” is for yourself, in the long term, it is not only about money, but what it brings to your thinking process.

22. @Tourism Monkey
    “before this can be done, proper testing must be carried out to ensure that the students are allocated to programs correctly.”

What testing is done in our system now? What are the results of the testing? What is done with those who fail the test?

When all these children leave school without qualifications, what did the testing do for them? How are they better off?

On the other side of the coin, I know a few doctors who did not want to be doctors and who still have absolutely no interest in medicine. Some lawyers too, regret entering the profession.

It should be left to the child and the parents to decide because they alone should have their fate in their hands. More than likely they will live with the decision and will be determined to make it work; as apposed to the present system where frustration sets in and the child becomes doomed to failure.

Then we wait until the horse is out of the stables to get the horse back in. What sense is that? Why all this thinking about testing? Under what I am proposing it would be a matter of choice. No need for testing, nobody should force a child to go where it does not want to go. Nobody playing god.

23. @Tourism

I bet you those schools would be over-subscribed before the doors opened. Every last one.

Today, people are recognising that it’s not even so much about opportunity but the choice of a profession or career that will be beneficial when they leave school; even if the child changes its mind and switches to another profession later. The point is that you would have armed the children with skills that would reduces the instances of idle time as well as minimise the crime rate.

24. Hartley Henry wrote “Angie and I were among the proud parents of 11 year olds entering the secondary school system for the first time this week. ”

So wha’ happen, the little one git into HC or QC?

Tha’ts why you pompasetting on we so?

25. @ ROK
    “I bet you those schools would be over-subscribed before the doors opened. Every last one.”
    Not only that ROK, but the traditional academic leaning that drives our education system is much overvalued and clearly outdated.

The three most outstanding youth products from our society are arguably Rihanna, Oba, and now Ryan. NONE of these were products of our expensive ‘youth talent development’ system.

On the other hand, 70 % of the output from that system are defined by the very system as ‘failures’…. in need of make-up training after 12-16 years in an expensive education system.

The remaining 30 % are mostly educated to be clerks and high order paper pushers.
    We import our managers, our engineers, our entrepreneurs (like 3S) and even coaches for our cricket.

Our ‘National Bank’ belongs to another country (and have been clearly better managed since our managers were kicked out…) and even on this blog we had a Jamaican idiot from England who almost took over the whole show….

What Education system what?!!

Any meaningful education system should be identifying the various talents of our children and then building on that talent to produce the best possible adult and citizen.

Sports, Arts, Music, Science, Technology, fashion….. all these are avenues for development – while we brag about reading and ‘rithmetic.

In any case, any time that you see that an organization REFUSES to publish information on performance, you can be assured that they are not hiding good news…..

Education is currently the biggest scam in Barbados….. fortunately for the Government, most of us are products of the same system so we are not likely to even realize how much we are being shafted…

Unfortunately for them, the Bushman was ‘educated’ in the bush so I see things a bit differently.

26. Bush Tea wrote on September 6 at 12:23 a.m. “and even on this blog we had a Jamaican idiot from England…”

I second that.

27. YB, I agree with ur general thesis however, a number of factors determine whether or not ull b successful in life, of which education is only one, albeit a very important one!! Another being good manners and answering a question when somebody asks u one – it goes a long way! I’m sure u know to what I’m referring!!

28. Bimbro
    This is not my Blog and I have no intention of subjecting others to my life story; however much you might wish it. It is NOT going to happen.

This is a public forum and people are under no obligation to respond to a “variety” of questions unrelated to the thread.

Good manners are often “quid pro quo”.

That is my “last” word to you on the subject.

29. YB, how did u arrive at the conclusion I was interested in ur life story. Perhaps, u forget that U mentioned ud been in Germany at an important time in history – how else could I have known? I simply requested u recount one or two events pertaining to the time u spent there. Anyhow, I withdraw my request which is clearly beyond you to c the purpose of asking. In any event, the ancient dictum still holds true that ‘manners maketh man’!!

30. I doan kno bout nabody else, but i did hate school wid a passion. Cry mornin, noon n’ night.
    Plus, i did fairly duncy too.
    Dah mite be why.
    (chuckleeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee)

31. Yardbroom // September 5, 2009 at 4:27 PM

I read the story about that brilliant man in either the Telegraph or the BBC on line last year. Very driven I would say. Still young and handsome too.

With regard to Barbados, people have to understand that these specialized schools also teach the reading, writing and arithmetic. I would like to see a School for the Arts to include performing as well as visual arts. Here, students who apply are tested and have to have a leaning toward, or a skill in one of the arts to be accepted.

We have had students from Canterbury High for the Arts on TV and in Movies. Others have gone on to be good musicians, painters and writers, etc.

32. @Pat

That is the point. Increase the achievers and encourage them to achieve rather than send so many back in the low income communities without even hope. This is a recipe for sustained criminal activity.

People are not going to die because they are unemployed. They must live and will do whatever they think is necessary to survive. Hence the high incidence of sexually transmitted diseases, drug abuse, theft and violence.

33. Let us keep talking about education folks, by coincidence September 8, 2009 will be celebrated Literacy Day!

34. No David.

We don’t want to talk about education.

Education wuh?

We want to talk about other “connections”

We want to hear about your “connections”

And Hartley Henry’s “connections”

And Wishing in Vain’s “connections”

Now that we know about political and media “connections” you’ve roused our appetite for other “connections” We want to hear about blog master’s “connections” and about the “connections” of regional political strategists.

We want to know who has an outside woman

We want to know about who has an outside man.

We want to know who has both an outside woman and an outside man (at the same time)

We want to know who has a girlfriend in St. Lucia

And who has a boyfriend ova and away and we want to know who is de body who has an outside woman and an outsdie man (at the same time)

35. J, Grow up and get a life you silly idiot.

Because David has taken a stand against your brand of political sickness you choose to accuse him to be a party member, how sad is that for you.

So when he writes against the actions of the DLP would it be fitting to call him a BLP supporter??

You are really a sad person really you are.

You

36. Yardbroom, thank u for telling us about Damon Buffini and it’s a little comforting to know ur not invariably opposed to giving us information on here which may contribute to the gross amount of our knowledge and experience even though you had some objection to further doing so, when I asked u to!! I’ll do a search for him on the net! You see, that’s part of the reason we all come here, if u did n’t realise and, I’m convinced David would n’t have any objection to that!!

37. Wishing In Vain wrote on// September 7, 2009 at 8:29 AM

“Because David has taken a stand against your brand of political sickness you choose to accuse him to be a party member”

Please point out to the BU family exactly where I accused David of being a party member you damn liar.

38. Dear Wishing In Vain:

Wha’ happen?

You don’t want us to talk about your St. Lucian outside woman?

39. Dave, it’s perhaps, to my shame that I did n’t take too much notice of it the first time round – perhaps, because I don’t live in Bim – but, on reading BFP’s article this morning I feel obliged to ask, ‘why WOULD u allow ROK to continue posting on your site after making threats to another poster! It’s not what I understand your site to stand for!!

40. @Bimbro

There is a well worn saying you give someone an inch and they take a mile. Despite your tangential prattles on most of the blogs we have allowed you the freedom. We are not in the mood for your stuff.

41. Bimbro

Before you start you should check the facts. The man called me an “amateur pornographer” which is defamatory and I told him that I will find out who he is and get him for that. Now exactly what did you think I meant? Did you think that I threatened his life?

If you defame me and I tell you I will get you for it, is that a threat? A threat to do what kill the person and then can’t get no damages? I look like an idiot to you right? I need the man alive to get justice, not dead. So what threat is that?

Furthermore, you read the man after that? He sounds like somebody who got threatened? He came up with this threat thing thinking that he could scare big men… Play he saying he going to IMF but as a Jamaican he should know “Is Manley Fault”.

My problem with you is that you asked that question already and I told you that he started it and you apologised. Now you come back with the same thing again. Why don’t you go to the thread and read?

Now they have done it again by saying that I protecting a criminal ring. In case you did not understand, that too is serious defamation. I get defamed twice and you asking David why I still posting. Your concern is for those white people at BFP right? and you would like to join the multitude to do evil. I am the victim here in case you don’t understand, Bimbro, I am the victim big time and it not sitting down just so at all.

Bimbro, I will never respond to anything you say again. I leave Negroman to deal with the likes of you because right now, you are proving to be a white vexation to my black spirit. You too damned quick to believe and swallow the lies of the other side; even when the truth right there in front of you.

42. Thank you for that reply Dave, however, I see a world of difference between my ‘tangential prattles’, as u describe them and making serious threats to a person. Also, I don’t see my question as ‘stuff’! It seems a perfectly reasonable one to me, to ask. Anyhow, it’s interesting to know your opinion.

43. ROK, I notice that uv addressed a reply to me. Sorry, but I’ve read so much tripe from your pen in the past (or, should I say glanced at) that it’s unlikey I’ll break my rule of not reading your posts. Anyhow, if I do, I’ll let u know what I think!

44. yes, you would not read my post because you don’t like the truth. You prefer to believe lies.

45. Bimbro // September 5, 2009 at 9:28 AM

Here’re some examples which she quotes:
    …I’m not Bajan anymore and thus may not have the right to pontificate…
    —————————————————————————————————-
    Please pass on to her, once a bajan by birth ALWAYZ a bajan; if a paper citizen of Barbados, she is absolutely correct – NOT a bajan. Hahaha

46. Ok, ok, I gun stress myself by reading some mo uh d drivel u does write! Listen, I in nuh lawyer! I jes concern bout people mekking threats to each other especially on a blog as it does n’t conform to the principle of encouraging free, benign, untramalled-speech, to which I subscribe. I’m not familiar with any disagreement uv had wid anybody an neither am I particularly interested. I do however, stand for the principle of people being able to express their opinion without being threatened by bullies, like you!! Bim is supposed to be a democracy and stand for certain high principles and I’ll do whatever I can to ensure that remains the case.

47. Sapidillio, I’m not too sure wuh u referring to but, it song a bit funny!!

Lord!!

Listen, mek me read d ‘sagacious’ words uh wha d man has tuh say!! I in get roung day yet!!

He says, I prefer to believe lies! Funnily enough, I probably read more of what HE had to say, on BFP this morning, than anybody else’s comments, from this site! So, any ‘lies’ would most likely be his! Also, is he saying that he did n’t threaten the man ’cause his threats are plainly there for all to see!

Anyway, let me read what else he’s had to say, trying though it is!!

48. Alright, I beginning to read dis tripe now:!!

“The man called me an “amateur pornographer” which is defamatory and I told him that I will find out who he is and get him for that.”

First, yes, I DO regard that as a threat or, certainly, in the nature of one!! And think most people would agree with me!

“If you defame me and I tell you I will get you for it, is that a threat? A threat to do what kill the person and then can’t get no damages? I look like an idiot to you right? I need the man alive to get justice, not dead. So what threat is that?”

I don’t know if ur familiar with the expression but, this sounds to me like ‘back-peddling’! U know uv committed an offense and now ur trying to sqirm ur way out of it! Why not just be a man and apologise!

“Furthermore, you read the man after that? He sounds like somebody who got threatened? He came up with this threat thing thinking that he could scare big men… Play he saying he going to IMF but as a Jamaican he should know “Is Manley Fault”.

No, I have n’t read any of this. I assume ur referring to LIB but, I’m not even sure. I gave up reading his posts long before I abandoned reading yours! However, a threat is still a threat even though the person to whom it’s directed might be a **nt!!

“My problem with you is that you asked that question already and I told you that he started it and you apologised. Now you come back with the same thing again. Why don’t you go to the thread and read?”

Listen, u must know they’re 101 threads hay! I don’t read them all or get involved in all of them and don’t have your memory for which thread is which an who said what to whom an wha question(s) I ask a year ago from wha I din ask!! Lord!! I got udda tings to worry bout bo!! However, tuh put it in Bajan fuh yuh, ‘a threat is a threat is a threat is a threat’!! U onstan dat now?!!

“Now they have done it again by saying that I protecting a criminal ring. In case you did not understand, that too is serious defamation. I get defamed twice and you asking David why I still posting. Your concern is for those white people at BFP right? and you would like to join the multitude to do evil. I am the victim here in case you don’t understand, Bimbro, I am the victim big time and it not sitting down just so at all.”

Listen, I’m not 100% certain of the colour of the folks at BFP! R u?!! I doubt it! Anyhow, like u, I suspect that some of them r white. They certainly seem to me to have a leaning towards what one might term ‘white interest stories’ or ‘white-sympathetic stories’. However, I’m not convinced that that matters too much on this occasion and, of course, if somebody defames you in a serious way, you must challenge them but, I’m only concerned about anybody making threats and, as far as I can see, you did so and that was wrong of you! As for how much anybody else is wrong I shall leave for others to decide as I’m not in possession of all the facts!

“Bimbro, I will never respond to anything you say again. I leave Negroman to deal with the likes of you because right now, you are proving to be a white vexation to my black spirit. You too damned quick to believe and swallow the lies of the other side; even when the truth right there in front of you.”

ROK, the fact of your not reading any further of my posts is of no concern to me, at all, in fact, it’s even complimentary to me in a way, as I ceased reading yours a long time ago. Clearly, u found mine interesting enough to continue reading them for so long! The only ‘lie’, as u term it, which I’ve ‘swallowed’ as far as I’m concerned is your threat, which unless my eyes deceived me, I read this morning on BFP’s site, and on this one, some time ago! So, I don’t know what ‘lies’ ur referring to. As I said, anything else, suspicious though it sounds, I make no comment on, as I’m not aware of all the facts an I in nuh lawyer or nuh policeman. I leave that to the professionals or anybody else who’s sufficiently interested and is able to do something about it, in the proper manner!

Right, well I hope u onstan all uh dat, now!! The only thing which slightly, disturbs me about this story is the ‘defeaning-silence’ of d rest of Barbadians on this issue, or maybe they have commented. I must track back and see!!

49. Bimbro, the person said according to what you wrote, “I’m not Bajan anymore.” My comment I beleive is self explanatory. So much of that.

Let us get serious and focus on the topic at hand.

50. Sap, if that’s the case why then r some of us ‘Returnees’!! I in nuh ‘Returnee’ an, it was on dat basis dat I described myself as ‘not a Bajan’! I hope u now understand!! U can’t be both at the same time!!

Nice day!!