Jamaican Harvey Anderson is thankful to his โ€˜Good Samaritanโ€™ Philippa Pearson.
Jamaican Harvey Anderson is thankful to his โ€˜Good Samaritanโ€™ Philippa Pearson/Kaieteur Newspaper.

The immigration matter has gone off the boil in recent days. Barbadians maybe waiting on Prime Minister David Thompson to provide an update on the effectiveness of the controversial amnesty scheduled to expire end of year.

One of the most disappointing aspects of the immigration debate sparked by the amnesty has been the vitriolic commentary delivered by Caribbean citizens who should know better. Among those we have academic Professor Norman Girvan who in an interview with a Jamaica radio station used the word โ€˜Gestapoโ€™ to describe the action of the Barbados government when rounding up illegal immigrants. On the same program Videographer Annalee Davis agreed with the provocative term spewed by Girvan. Soon to follow was former Secretary General of the Commonwealth Shridath Ramphalย  who went one step further by referring to the Barbados government actions towards illegal Caricom immigrants as using intimations of ethnic cleansing. He subsequently retreated when he explained he made the statement based on a Nation newspaper report. If we wanted to we could cite several other examples from Prime Minister Ralph Gonzales of St. Vincent, David Commisiong who has been exposed using a fork tongue, Head of the Caribbean Development Bank Compton Bourne a Guyanese tossed his two cents into the pot at the risk of compromising his position which convention regards to be independent, we had many other examples.

After all the rhetoric it was finally agreed that complaints by Guyanese are to be documented by those in charge to allow for formal investigations to take place. Prime Minister David Thompson was quick to point out the actions of unprofessional immigration officers should not be tagged asย  government policy. Time will tell the outcome of the investigations after we learned a report was submitted last week by Guyanaโ€™s Minister of Foreign Affairs which outlined four complaints to the Barbados government.

At the root of the argument against the new Barbados immigration approach has been the alleged inhumane treatment of Guyanese by Barbados immigration officials when they have been rounded-up. So far we have had an earful from illegal immigrants shouting abuse at our officials, we hope ongoing investigations will put this matter to rest.

BU does not excuse any maltreatment of illegal immigrants by immigration officials. What BU condemns is the holier than thou attitude which President Jagdeo of Guyana and his cronies have directed at Barbados. It is well documented how the Guyanese government has treated with illegal Brazilians and Chinese, some may even refer to how it treats its own citizens three who were arrested for peacefully demonstrating a few days ago. Today a story appeared in the Kaieteur Newspaper which aptly explains the dishonesty by the Jagdeo government.

Here is a snippet:

Despite his traumatic ordeal, a 27-year-old Jamaican is expressing his gratitude to a Guyanese family who provided him with food and shelter when he needed it most. Harvey Anderson was taken in by a North Ruimveldt family after he was found wandering in the Stabroek Market area, following his release from the custody of local drug agents. Anderson had been holidaying in Guyana for a month and when he was about to board a flight back to his homeland on Wednesday morning, he was taken off the flight by anti narcotics officers who claimed that they suspected that he had ingested cocaine.

Jamaican Harvey Anderson is thankful to his โ€˜Good Samaritanโ€™ Philippa Pearson. โ€œThey bring me to a hospital and they did two X-ray on me, and they say Iโ€™m discharged. They bring me back to the office, they donโ€™t have no where to put me,โ€ Anderson told this newspaper.

Anderson, who is visiting Guyana for the first time, said that he told the drug agents that he only had one friend in Guyana and could not make contact with him at the immediate moment.

The story above exposes the propaganda by the Jagdeo government for all who want to know. For some strange reason the media in Barbados, Rickey Singh, so-called academics et al have been strangely silent on the dishonesty being spewed by Jagdeo and crew.

1. Patriotic Bajan Avatar
    Patriotic Bajan

Sheer Hypocrisy
    When we were trying to point out that the best time to find persons hiding from the law was during the time they are sleeping. That was called Gestapo like actions by Guyanese, but that happens in Guyana too. In reading the story in the Kaiteur newspaper I came across this article
    Police raid West La Penitence house for suspects in Health Ministry fire
    Westford the homeowner told this newspaper that the police came to his home around 1:00hrs Saturday. The man said that he was awakened by the sound of his neighborโ€™s fence collapsing along with his dogs barking. He said that he hid behind his window and saw two men who were wearing camouflage clothing and black masks.
    The man said that he came downstairs.
    โ€œAfter I come downstairs and open meh backdoor, they shouted that they were policemen so I went and open my gate because the dogs were giving them hell.โ€
    He said that after he opened the gate, six other heavily armed men in civilian clothing came rushing in and asked about his son.

It appears to me that the Guyanese law enforcement is more brutal than Barbados, but we are being demonized
    I want the immigration to step up the deportations when the amnesty is up. Let them talk no problem

2. The government owned Stabroek newspaper continues to spew the propaganda:

Doinโ€™ dem Bajan back

By Stabroek staff | June 30, 2009 in Guyana Review

There is probably some measure of validity to  the point made by President Bharrat Jagdeo that the  current travails of Guyanese residing illegally in Barbados may well have a great deal to do with a measure of earned eye pass arising from the fact that many of us are inclined to run down our own country to โ€˜outsiders.โ€™ That, however, is very much a parochial point, which, we assume, was not intended to become part of the Presidentโ€™s substantive approach to tackling the issue, that issue being the customary coarse treatment of Guyanese travelling to and living in Barbados by our Caricom brothers and sisters and now, the ignominy of wholesale eviction from their island.

And while no one wants to see this issue blown of proportion, surely, we have now arrived at a place where we need to draw a line in the sand and let the Bajans know just how affronted we feel about the quality of their hospitality.

If the demand by the Thompson Administration that Guyanese living in Barbados seek to regularize themselves or leave has been sufficiently sudden to cause us to ponder the motive, we are, also, entitled to the view that the Barbados Prime Ministerโ€™s assurances given to President Jagdeo that, in the course of that โ€˜regularizationโ€™ and โ€˜evictionโ€™ exercise, the treatment of Guyanese would be attended by a degree of dignity and decorum was, arguably, a deliberate attempt to pull the wool over the Presidentโ€™s eyes. There have simply been too many reports of late night and early morning knocks on doors and instances of the kind of treatment that is not acceptable among people claiming to be โ€œa Caribbean communityโ€ for Prime Minister Thompson not to have had at least some inkling as to how that โ€˜regularization and evictionโ€™ process was playing out on the ground.

What the Barbadian authorities clearly recongise and what they have exploited for many, many years is their awareness that Guyana has, all along, been playing this particular game with a horribly weak hand. There are Guyanese living in Barbados, illegally, considerably large numbers of Guyanese; they are there because they believe that Mr Thompsonโ€™s country can do better by them than can their own. The point about this is not whether their belief is true or otherwise but that the belief exists anyway and that Guyanese are neither afraid nor ashamed to express that belief. When, for reasons justified or otherwise, people find cause to run down their own country and to seek to live elsewhere and when so many of those who remain here accept as an axiom that their relatives and friends living outside Guyana are decidedly better off, external perceptions of our country can hardly be expected to be anything but dismal. The whole sorry tale goes back to the days of food shortages and the attendant queues for basic items and the ridiculous currency exchange rates and suitcase trading and still, well nigh two decades later, the longing to leave persists. It is these phenomena that have provided the Bajans with the leverage to impose their humiliating airport interrogations, to send some of us packing on the next flight heading our way and to leave those lucky enough to slip through the airport net to take their chances in what for many has been a discomfiting environment.

But that is not the whole story.  Perhaps the more pertinent part of the story has to do with the fact that some, many of our countrymen and women perceive the situation in Guyana as being suh baad that they are prepared to tek deh chances -  unacceptable chances, at that- in order to live elsewhere; inevitably, they point fingers at those who have, over the years, had responsibility for the political management of our country; and those who have governed must contemplate their own failure to make things right, to create  the conditions โ€“ social, economic, political et al โ€“ that would have caused at least some of those Guyanese who have located themselves in Barbados and elsewhere and who, in many instances, have had to endure those humiliating experiences and  unpalatable conditions, to want to  remain at home. So that while President Jagdeo is perfectly at liberty to make the point about the role that we ourselves have played in the creation of negative external perceptions of Guyana by running down our country, there is really no less validity to the view that it is the political running down โ€“ the political malnourishment, if you will โ€“ of our country that has, perhaps more than anything else, contributed to the continually swelling ranks of the Guyanese diaspora.

Whatever our political leaders have done, think they have done, say they have done or say they will do, the fact of the matter is that large numbers of our people still take considerable risks and endure circumstances that are sometimes difficult in the extreme to get out. That is unquestionably a failure that can be placed nowhere else but at the feet of those who have governed our country; and the Bajans understand these things.

If the truth be told the treatment of our people in Barbados has much to do with the fact that some, not all but some of them, are seen as economic and/or political refugees and that is why the Barbadians are inclined to make the altogether demeaning remark that our people place a strain on the social services. Place a strain on social services my grandfatherโ€™s glass eye! If there is one thing that can be said about Guyanese it is that wherever we go we are almost always prepared to work hard to earn our livelihoods.

I know of a Guyanese building contractor, who, having traveled to Barbados and having been subjected to the customary shabby immigration treatment reserved for arriving Guyanese, curtly told the offending Immigration Officer that he was there to build houses for Barbadians because they did not have the skills   to build those houses for themselves. That may have been an exaggeration but the truth is that the success of the Bajan construction industry is due in large measure to that countryโ€™s importation of Guyanese expertise.  In other ways too the Bajans are indebted to us. Just last year, the former Barbados Prime Minister Mia Mottley acknowledged to an audience here in Georgetown that the Barbados business sector was, to a considerable extent, built on the pioneering entrepreneurship of Guyanese migrants.

Some weeks ago I wrote in another medium about a group of foreigners who were bargaining energetically with a Bourda Market vendor over the purchase of a consignment of tomatoes which, at the time, were being offered on the local market at about thirty US US$0.30 per pound. I remember that the vendor, feeling perhaps that a point was being reached where she felt that the visitors were getting the better of the exchange declared โ€œall yuh Bajans never had it suh good, eh!โ€

There are other episodes in our history too, ones that are best addressed by our historians, that have to do with Guyanaโ€™s  accommodation of Barbadians and other Caribbean people, who, whatever strain they may or may not have placed on our own social services in those days, were, in the customary Guyanese fashion, treated like our own.

The problem of poor treatment of Guyanese in Barbados is nothing new neither is it a matter of the strict and professional enforcement of an immigration policy. It is a planned and sustained regimen of harassment and humiliation that takes no account of the feelings of our people. It is a way of thumbing their noses at who they perceive us to be.

I have always felt that there is a soft underbelly to our own foreign policy that has to do with who we really are as a people. It is a โ€˜softnessโ€™ that restrains our response. I have never believed for a single moment that, as some Barbadians have sought to suggest, the treatment of Guyanese at the Grantley Adams Airport has to do solely with the โ€œattitudeโ€ of the immigration officials. I believe that the treatment is really a matter of policy, which, understandably, no Barbadian official is ever likely to concede and that it has to do with, among other things, a sense of local insecurity driven by anxieties over perceptions of what sustained waves of Guyanese immigrants might mean for native Barbadians. The โ€˜softnessโ€™ of our foreign policy on this matter may also have to do with our official  feelings of guilt, given the popular argument that the whole affair stems from our inability to create conditions that will keep our people at home. After all, the Guyanese victims of the Bajan immigration crackdown and their government, the Guyana Government, that is, are by no means soul mates. Witness, for example, the fact that some of the unfortunates have expressed a preference for continuing to duck and dive in Barbados rather than return home. In those circumstances it becomes pretty awkward to jump to the defence of people who appear to want neither your pity nor your help. This is part of the weak hand   with which the authorities here are playing.

There is a school of thought that says that even allowing for the likelihood that the authorities in Bridgetown may have become afflicted with a bad case of immigration anxiety  that may have to do with concerns over the current global economic and financial crisis, the way in which the whole affair has been handled causes us to believe less rather than more in the tenets of the Caribbean  Community and to embrace more closely the oft expressed view that it requires much more than geographic proximity and a measure of shared history to create a genuine community of people. The sad part of this is that the treatment of Guyanese in Barbados has inclined a larger number of people than we think to the view that notions like free movement of skills, hassle free travel     and a regional single market and economy are really no more than pipe dreams and that it really is true, after all, that as far as what we call the Caribbean Community is concerned, the national will to survive supercedes the regional will to succeed.

But we cannot afford to allow ourselves to โ€œbuy intoโ€ that notion nor can we โ€“ however much we are often sorely tempted โ€“ yield to the advocacy of a growing number of Guyanese at home that, in whatever ways we can, we simply find ways of reciprocating the โ€˜hospitalityโ€™ to which our nationals are subjected in Barbados, in other words that we do dem back. After all, so the argument goes, President Jagdeo -as appears to be the case with Prime Minister Thompson โ€“ can always, conveniently, not be aware of the manner in which the immigration officers at the Cheddi Jagan International Airport, Timehri go about โ€˜the application of our immigration policy;โ€™ and any inadvertent mistreatment of Barbadians traveling to Georgetown can always be followed quickly by what the diplomats customarily describe as โ€œprofound expressions of regret.โ€

Some of us would say, of course, that that would be the wrong thing to do, that it would harm  regional integration which is, now more than ever before, widely considered to be a critical catalyst for the economic advancement of Caricom member countries; and at any rate we as Guyanese have simply not been able to muster the requisite  nationalistic outrage, the sheer bloody-mindedness  to do the Bajans back.

Its tough though; tough to persuade our people to continue to believe in notions like a community of Caribbean people and hassle free travel and a single economic space, notions with which we are being continually bombarded by our politicians, when the evidence on the ground suggests that nothing may be further from the truth. Its tough too to believe that even as the Bajans are asserting an immigration policy that appears to single out Guyanese people for โ€˜special treatment,โ€™ we in Guyana continue to contemplate a regional food policy from which Barbados โ€“ one of the more vulnerable countries in the region to any global food crisis โ€“ is likely to benefit; and if, as we expect, indeed we hope, Prime Minister Thompson and his delegation find their way to Georgetown for the July Caricom  Heads Of Government meeting, we are gully entitled to expect that our own leaders will give them what the English term  โ€˜an earfulโ€™ about just how we feel about the  treatment of Guyanese in Barbados by our erstwhile โ€œCaricom brothers and sisters.โ€™  We should not spare their feelings.

Arnon Adams

3. What pisses me off is the taxpayers of Barbados erected an imposing building on University Hill and named it after Shridath Ramphal. Go figure. Loud stewpz.

4. @David in all fairness that article was at the height of the debate but as we know things have settled down about a month back,but it appears all Governments apart of CSME are quietly but closely implementing full Freedom of movement.

http://www.isria.com/pages/26_July_2009_44.php

“Representatives from selected regional Immigration and Customs departments, as well as representatives from the regional airline and tourism industry came together on Friday, 26 June 2009, in Bridgetown Barbados, to receive and discuss the report on the introduction of the CARICOM Travel Card better known as CARIPASS. CARIPASS will be the Regionโ€™s electronic, self-processing travel card scheduled to be launched in 2009.

This Meeting was hosted by the CARICOM Implementation Agency for Crime and Security (IMPACS). The Agencyโ€™s Executive Director, Ms. Lynne Anne Williams, was on hand to welcome the stakeholders and deliver the opening remarks, citing the importance of the card not only to regional security but to the ongoing process of creating the CARICOM Single Market and Economy (CSME) and moving one step closer to realizing the concept of a Single Domestic Space.

Mr. Earl Harris, Deputy Director, Projects of CARICOM IMPACS, outlined the background and scope of the system which would facilitate expedited processing through immigration, especially for eligible frequent flyers in the Region. The CARIPASS will, in the first instance, be implemented in ten CARICOM Member States, namely, Antigua and Barbuda, Barbados, Dominica, Grenada, Guyana, Jamaica, Saint Lucia, St. Kitts and Nevis, St. Vincent and the Grenadines and Trinidad and Tobago. The system will eventually be available for use in all CARICOM Member States.

The CARICOM Implementation Agency for Crime and Security, better known as CARICOM IMPACS, develops, implements, manages and monitors strategies and projects within CARICOMโ€™s Crime and Security Agenda. It was deemed the lead agency for the development of the CARICOM Travel Card (CARIPASS) by CARICOM Heads of Government in July 2007 at their Twenty Eighth Regular Session.”

5. Let me BOLDLY state here and now, THERE WILL BE NO FREE MOVEMENT OF MIGRANTS INTO BARBADOS. If I have to fight it alone whether it be BLP or DLP, I will be a martyr for my family and for my nation. I rather die defending my family and nayion, than to be a coward and suffer the embarrassment of being a nobody in my own country. That is what will happen if we don’t stop playing politics with this countries future.

6. What else must Jagdeo do to his people in his maltreatment of guyanese, that will cause Caricom leaders to tell him “enough is enough.” Most indo-guyanese, even though many of them are smelling hell, will NEVER support a afro-guyanese party, that’s why they will fight to keep out an afro-government. Whatever country they are in, their dislike for afro/blacks will be the same, it was something they were borne into and they cannot/will not change. It is just a matter of time before they try to establish control of Barbados too. OVER MY DEAD BODY

7. Prime Minister Thompson, it is time to round up all immigrants and DEPORT them NOW. I don’t care how its done, just do it. Tell Jagdeo and others of his ilk to take care of their countries and leave Barbados to bajans.

8. Correction
    Round up all ILLEGAL immigrants and DEPORT THEM NOW!!!

9. […] reactions to the government's clampdown on illegal immigrants goes “off the boil”, Barbados Underground “condemns…the holier than thou attitude which President Jagdeo of Guyana and his […]

10. One of the major problems affecting the psyche of the average bajan is the weight that they give to the verbal diarrhea spewed forth from the bowels of so-called academics and poLIEticians. When such characters speak, just let it blow in the wind. The average bajan can stop this encroachment by not accommodating these interlopers. Continue to accept them and you’re courting apartheid.

While it is totally acceptable for the Guyanese authorities to arrest that Jamaican on a suspicion, it is Gestapo-like and inhumane for Bajan immigration authorities to knowingly arrest and deport illegal Guyanese. This thinking is beyond hypocrisy. It wreaks of arrogance and entitlement.

Bajans had better heed the threats in “doin’ dem Bajans back” by Arnon Adams. Maybe he also sent that letter to the US authorities who also deport them? He’s ready to draw a line in the sand and let the Bajans know how affronted he is by their hospitality. Why draw a line in the sand when you can do much better by rejecting that “hospitality” and leaving.

What an affront to my dearly departed father [who now rest with the ancestors] who built our house & home with his bare hands. Each one with a specialty contributed to the construction within our little village and today all those brick houses are still standing. We the Bajans built our community where each one helped the other. Where were your “skilled” Guyanese?

And if the author and that “former Prime Minister of Barbados Mia Mottley” truly believe that the Barbados business sector was built [to a considerable extent] on the pioneering entrepreneurship of the Guyanese migrants, why don’t you two get together and do the same thing for Guyana and build her up? After all you have what it takes to make Guyana 10x better than Barbados. You have the natural and manual resources. Why dump your garbage on 166 sq miles while you have 83,000 just sitting there?

This letter is overtly threatening. Stay vigilant and don’t concede one sq mile to these parasites. BAJANS OWE YOU NOTHING!

11. Patriotic Bajan Avatar
    Patriotic Bajan

What skilled Guyanese labour?
    You know how many Barbadians are now crying by the bad work put down by Guyanese on their wall structures. Most of them donโ€™t have a clue about masonry. Some are good with lumber because that is what they are accustomed to.
    The Barbadian craftsmen built some of the strongest structures in this land. We are not indebted to no Guyanese.

12. It appears that the management of this blog has fully bought into the DLP’s plan to keep this immigration issue a main talking point on this blog while the real issues that are causing Barbadians the most hurt and suffering stays in the back ground.

So serious was this immigration policy that out of a population of 30,000 โ€œillegalโ€ Guyanees, supposedly living here according to the DLP only 4 or 99, depending on whether you are using the Thompsonโ€™s figures or Jagdeoโ€™s, were deported. Thompson has so much hatred for Guyanees that if you go to Martins Bay we will see a Green Heart two-storey beach house being built on the property owned by MAFA investments Inc.

Fellow bloggers will recall the conveyance posed on this blog some months ago that showed the purchase of 9,235 square ft of land at Martins Bay by MAFA investment Inc for the sum of $925,000.00 cash. The name MAFA represents the first two letters in the names of the wives of Leroy Parris of Clico and David Thompson – our transparent and accountable Prime Minister. MA stands for Mara- Thompsonโ€™s wife. FA represents Fay โ€“ Parrisโ€™ wife.

Barbadians will be happy to read that the two-storey beach house being constructed by Parris and Thompson is being built by eleven GUYANEES, not Bajans. I have gone to the sight and have taken pictures of the men at work. So while Barbadians are being led to believe that this Government has their interest at heart and would send every foreign national out of this country to protect their jobs, their actions show the complete opposite.

Well, I will not be fooled so easily. There are many burning issues in Barbados for me to focus on other than some silly immigration policy. Hartley has already admitted to Bharrat Jagdeo that he instructed the Thompson administration to use the immigration issue as a decoy from the many unpopular decisions being taking by the Government and the rapidly declining state of our economy.

The truth of the matter is that the standard of living of Barbadians has deteriorated drastically since January 2008. This holds fast to the accepted view that whenever the DLP is in office, our economy contracts sharply and Barbadians suffer.

David let me list some of the issues that I feel should be engaging attention of Barbadians.

1.Unemployment continues to rise and is now at least 15% and will rise even further with the increasing lay-offs.
    2.Our foreign reserves are depleting rapidly.
    3.Insurance companies have been given a deadline to repatriate 50% of their foreign holdings – an obvious sign that our foreign reserves are in serious trouble. The last time a similar demand was made was during the crisis of the early 1990s.
    4.The Salvation Army has reported an upsurge in the number of persons turning to them for food.
    5.Government is struggling month after month to pay public servants and is delaying payments for food and services.
    6.The poor and vulnerable groups in our society had the welfare vote cut by $7 million but Clico gets in excess of $20 million and will get a further injection as Government will have to borrow over $100 million to compulsory acquire Sam Lords Castle.
    7.The government has borrowed over $1 billion dollars in just 18 months seriously endangering the countryโ€™s credit rating.
    8.The countryโ€™s tourism arrivals and receipts have declined significantly.
    9.Direct foreign investments have dried up.
    10.Investor confidence is at an all time low.
    11.The Government is now paying an extremely high interest rate on new loans due to the countryโ€™s large debt problem.

These are the issues that should be attracting the attention of every Barbadian at this time, they livelihood depends on it. Businesses are under severe pressure to stay open and our middle-class is now facing serious financial and social challenges.

I agree with Ms. Mottley. It is time that this Government stops playing politics with this country and get on with the business of managing this economy. I have already recommended to the Opposition that they should talk less and listen more and let this government continue on their collision course.

The rate at which which this Government is losing popularity amongst Barbadians has convinced me that they will be the shortest Government ever in the history of this country.

13. Patriotic Bajan // July 27, 2009 at 11:16 am

What skilled Guyanese labour?
    You know how many Barbadians are now crying by the bad work put down by Guyanese on their wall structures. Most of them donโ€™t have a clue about masonry. Some are good with lumber because that is what they are accustomed to.
    The Barbadian craftsmen built some of the strongest structures in this land. We are not indebted to no Guyanese.
    ————————————————-

I made this point on several occassions when addressing the importation of Guyanese construction workers into Barbados. One of the arguments made in support of their presence in our construction industry is their so called skills. I wonder how could this be if Guyana is not known to have a structural envoirnment built with cement and concrete. I ask for evidence of this skill on display and none was given. I would have to believe that mason work is easily learnt and does not require aprenticeship or course certification such as offered at the SJPP.
    I am also concern about buildings constructed by and large with Guyanese labour during this last building boom. I made the point that when cheap labour is used in the construction industry, structurual problems manifest themselves later. We should start a registry of all such building built with imported cheap labour including those done by chinese. The devastation cause by the last major earthquake in China was in part attributed to shody materials and poor workmanship.

14. RR I have read David’s reasons for continuing the Immigration debate, and it transcends party politics. It is similar to my position on it which I have been preaching about since 2000. It is a matter of protecting ones culture and one borders. It may seem to the blinded party hack that David or I support the DLP on Immigration. We are not so gullible. At the end of the day both Thompson and Mottley are members of the political class. A class of people whose best demonstrated practice is indulgence of self interestedness. But the facts to-date are, that of the two poltical parties, the BLP has without a doubt told Barbadians to go to hell (Guyana) when we voice our concerns about the number of non-nationals in Barbados. Do YOU REMEMBER THAT? IF YOU DON’T ASK MIA, and if she can’t recall let me know and I will produce a recording. The DLP remained lukwarn on this issue only recording intent to establish a “Manage Migration policy” if elected. This is a clear differentiating distinction between the two partys. Though not enough, we embrace the DLP policy.
    I will not now or ever buy into the partisan political rhetoric that your parttime leader continues to spout. The BLP does not have answers to the global economic downturn that is effecting Barbados like all other countries, and no matter how much she trys to persuade people that the DLP does not know what they are doing without telling us what they can do and hoping that we “assume” they can protect jobs, and insulate Barbados from all that is occuring ouside our shores but within the interconnected global economy isn’t going to work.
    THERE ARE NO SAFE SHORES FOR ANYONE TO PARK THEIR CASH OR SAVINGS OR TO USE TO INSULATE (GROW) THEMSELVES FROM IN THE HOPE TO RIDE OUT THIS ECONOMIC STORM. We know the truth.

If your report that Guyanese labour is being used to build a structure that is personaly tied to the PM is accurate, it only demonstrates as vivid proof that the the political class is and has always been about themselves, and that we should continue to trade them against each other with in that class. Right now Mia’s list of negatives far out numbers those of Thompson, and if I can persuade Owen to correct his position on illegal immigration and to see the benefits to Barbados and Barbadians for a manage Migration policy, then I would happily trade him up against both thompy and Mia. It matters little about the party. This is why we need to change our governance structure not only to have a bajan born head of state, but in tandem and with that change, the opportunity to POPULARLY ELECT THE PERSON TO LEAD BARBADOS IN AN EXECUTIVE POSITION.

15. Seems like there’s yet another Tunnel Visioner here, who see the issue of Immigration being divorced from Economics. Why shouldn’t the immigration issue be kept on the front burner as well? The twain cannot be separated.

16. I am aghast that our Prime Minister David Thompson has the audacity to talk about a manage migration policy and that jobs in Barbados should go to Barbadians first,but yet as Royal Rumbles indicated,he has non-national Guyanese working on a housing complex that he is associated with.I do not know if that is the same housing project that I heard he is building in St Philip with non-national Guyanese working on it.
    If that is so,it says a lot about the non national gawk we have as a Prime Minister.

Prime Minister David Thompson is not showing decisive,strong leadership qaulitiies that this country is desperately in need of at this precarious time.

If the allegation of non-nationals Guyanese working on any projects associated with Prime Minister David Thompson is true,Barbadians should rise up in their thousands and demand the removal of that clown leader from the post of Prime Minister.

This issue of the Prime Minister talking about protecting Barbadian jobs and he is is employing non-nationals to do work for him is an affront and a very serious issue that must be expose.

The credibility of the Prime Minister is at stake and if these allegations are substantiated,I believe he should be sent packing from the post of Prime Minister.

Prime Minister David Thompson,you are a total letdown and in my opinion a national disgrace.

17. I presume the Guyanese working on Thompson’s beach house are all legal!

18. COMMET RECEIVED VIA EMAIL

Criminal attacks on society is hall mark of PPP efforts to destroy dissent , human rights struggles and rally PPP supporters  to distance themselves struggles to free Guyana from PPP tyranny and dictatorship.

Once again the modus operandi of the PPP is becoming more transparent and quite evident. They will employ any means to keep Guyana polarized and ensure that Indians do not join in with the cries for justice and human rights.

Increasing criminal acts are again being unleashed on the Guyana society as the PPP seeks to lay blame once again on the Afro community and the PNC. This strategy is used to galvanise their supporters to rally around them to protect the Indian government from black people whom they claim want power through the back door.

Bandits hit police headquarters

July 27, 2009 | By KNews | Filed Under News

– cash, uniforms, boots stolen

While significant attention is being paid to the fire at the Ministry of Health headquarters on Brickdam, police now have to shift some of their focus to determine who carried out a daring break-in at Police Headquarters, Eve Leary sometime between Saturday night and Sunday morning.

Early yesterday morning it was discovered that thieves had broken into the Police Finance office, in the heart of Eve Leary, and made off with a significant amount of cash and cheques.

As if that was not enough, thieves also struck at the Quartermaster Stores which is also situated in the Eve Leary compound, escaping with uniforms, boots and about 100 police jerseys.

A massive probe has been launched and this newspaper understands that the break-ins are a major embarrassment for the force.

According to reports, the thieves forced their way into the Police Finance Office, which is located near the heavily guarded Tactical Services Unit Barracks.

They managed to break open two cashier cages where cash, made up of uncollected salaries and pensions, were stored.

They were however unsuccessful in their attempts to break into the third cashier cage.

This newspaper understands that staff at the finance office had worked at the facility up to Saturday preparing budget.

The break in at the Quartermaster Stores was even more perplexing, since there were also signs of forced entry.

Both discoveries were made yesterday morning.

The source said that the thieves probably used the time of the night when ranks from the Tactical Services Unit were busy at a barbeque at the Police Sports Complex pavilion.

Several persons were questioned and the source said that a number of ranks who were supposed to be on guard duty will initially face disciplinary actions with the possibility of criminal charges later.

19. Listened to Norman Faria on the talk show this morning. He got a failing grade in every respect. Peter Wickham actually disagreed with him!

20. “The government owned Stabroek newspaper continues to spew the propaganda”

——————————

David, I think your mistaken. I am pretty sure that the government of Guyana does not own Stabroek News. The government owned newspaper is named “the Guyana Chronicle”.

21. We stand corrected. So far our research suggests its owned by Gordon Butch Stewart but await further confirmation.

22. It was founded by this guy named David Decaires but he died last year. I imagine that his estate owns the majority of the shares in the company. I am not sure who are the other shareholders.

23. The Stabroeknews is run by Anand Persaud who is an Indianist and whose views are influenced by that fact. It is owned by Portuguese some of whom share the anti black prejudice of the small group of Indian racist running the country.

There is no independent newspapers in Guyana. They are all under Indian control, and slanted in that direction. We are going to begin demanding that our relatives and friends boycott the Stabroeknews. Our boycott of the Chronicle makes it useless even as toilet paper.

24. Adrian Hinds I will not be drawn into any silly debate on immigration policy targeting Guyanees or any other Caribbean nationals.

I have already said my bit on the stupid matter. I know that it is a DLP ploy to skirt the real issues in the country.

For 15 years Owen Arthur and his bright and able Deputy, Mia Mottley led this country with distinction. Nationals from across the region journeyed in and out of this country, about their business, yet our people lived well. Unemployment was at 6%, over $2.7 billion in foreign reserves, investor confidence high, building boom in full gear and business flourished.

Seventeen months later under a government of change, accountability, transparency and integrity, our credit rating is shameful, the only thing transparent is Thompson’s love for Parris, hence the Government’s intention to put money in the pocket of Clico through the purchase of Sam Lords Castle, even if it means crashing the economy. Every DLP politicians has been bought with policyholderโ€™s money from Clico and that has silenced them from speaking out against them level of corruption taking place between Thompson and Parris and Clico’s money. Why have none of you questioned the purchasing of a property at Martins Bay by Thompson and Parris for $925,000.00, cash.

Hinds, you and any of the other bloggers can go to Martins Bay and see the Guyanees working on the beach house. I went there and took some pictures of the house and spoke with the workmen (Guyanees). What nonsense I reading Hinds about protecting borders and a lot of crap. Ask yourself, why is it that months after the announcement of the new immigration policy only FOUR Guyanees were deported? Where are the other 20,996.00 of the 30,000.00? Where can there be hiding in this 266 sq miles?

I have already said on this blog that when Bush wanted to get the American people and the rest of the world on his side of the Iraq war he said that there were weapons of mass destruction in Iraq. What is the truth today? The day is coming when Barbadians will ask Thompson where are the 30,000 illegal Guyanees that he said were causing such destruction to the Barbados economy. I hope Barbadians will not be as polite to him as they were when they discovered his first lie on the INF Secret Deal. Thompson is a pathological liar and the sooner the country accepts that the better we will all be.

25. Do not take it lightly that Thompson has asked Insurance companies to repatriate 50% of their foreign holdings. Our economy is about to implode.

So while some of you on this blog are talking up a storm about Guyanees, and who owns what newspaper in Guyana, our country and economy are on the verge of collapse. In addition to the $150 US million Thompson just borrowed from Trinidad he is going to Parliament tomorrow to get approval to borrow a further $165 US million from BNB. Thatโ€™s not all he has issued a directive to seek and additional loan from IADB. All these loans are coming at extremely high interest rates because of our poor debt position. Who will pay back these loans? Is this the same Party that said that under the previous administration Barbados was in a debt trap? Where is the voice of David Estwick now that it matters most?

So many questions but no answers.

26. One Caribbean Media (OCM) owns the majority shares or a large percentage of Starbroek New.

Hence the linking you see with the Nation newspaper and the trinidad express on this guyanese immigration debate and the conspiracy of silence about this racist,corrupt Jagdeo administration behaviour towards black guyanese.

27. Royal rumble

You and the BLP doomsday prophets will like this economy to collapse huh?

As for 4 persons deported,I noticed you have selectively chosen 4 guyanese DEPORTED but not mention the hundreds SENT BACK and not deported since january.

The BLP has no credibility with the citizens of this country.

So keep,keeping on.

28. Royalrumble you are opening my eyes i was a die hard DPL but you got me thinking.

29. We NEED a blog with photos or somewhere that people can post photos, i want to see the photos of those guyanese working on that house, put them up and post the link.

Everyone has a phone that has a camera, come on ppl take some photos, a picture is worth a million words.

One picture can tell an entire story I WANT TO SEE PHOTOS and less talk.

30. Marston Taylor Avatar

The way Reddy in Barbados aka Norman Faria attacks Stabroeknews , its obvious that it is not (his) government owned.But the way Stabroek News attacked Barbados immediately prior to the recent Heads of Government conference in Georgetown has suggested to me that Jagdeo had cut some deal with them, like throwing some Government advertising an promotions at them, if they, like good little watch dogs, bark and bite at Barbados.

31. mash up & buy back Avatar
    mash up & buy back

Marston

How do you connect the dots to the way guyanese roxanne gibbs managing editor of the Nation attacked barbados before the caricom conference and carried all of starbroek negative lies and made up stories about this country?

32. I want to report an incident that occurred at the Hilton Hotel recently involving the Argentine Food & Beverage manager Fernando Goldberg.

There was an incident at the hotel on Saturday 25,July 2009 whereby the Food & Beverage manger Fernando Goldberg assaulted a waiter by giving him a kick.Yes I say a kick.It was reported to hotel management yesterday Monday 27,2009 and action has been taken against the individual.

The Barbados Workers Union was notified and I must say Levere Richards acted decisively in demanding that Fernando Goldberg be suspended immediately or strike action be taken against the hotel.The General Manager Marilyn Soper was hesistant and tried to use delaying tactics,but Levere Richards was adamant that Mr Fernando Goldberg be removed from the hotel immediately.

That incident is only one in a series of abusive events that Mr Fernando Goldberg was associated with.

There were two incidents recently that Mr Fernado Goldberg maligned the staff of the Hilton Hotel.
    In one incident a bar supervisor was dismissed for an alleged dishonest act.The staff had no problem with action taken against the individual,but was extremely upset that Fernado Goldberg told almost every staff member at the hotel that the particular individual is a thief and that is why he was dismissed.We found his action to be totally out of place.He was subsequently warned by management.
    There was also another incident that occurred on Mother’s Day this year where a substantial amount of money from the Mother’s Day Luncheon went missing.This same Fernando Goldberg called all the members of the Lighthouse restaurant thieves and even threatened some of them.That incident had some of the staff members of that restaurant so traumatized that a supervisor in the restaurant with a heart condition took ill and had to go on sick leave.

This Food & Beverage manager Fernando Goldberg has terrorized the staff at the Hilton Hotel for the year or so he was Food & Beverage Manger.He has exhibited his racist behavior on many occasions through what he says & his actions.

I hope that BU,& the local press of Barbados investigate the happenings at the Barbados Hilton.

I am an ex Hilton employee and what I posted is this truth.I would appreciate if this incident could be investigated & highlighted.

33. Negroman, let me say that I am 100% in support of your call that the incident at the Hilton Hotel be fully investigated and all actions taken to avoid any recurrence.

It is appalling that a non-national for whom this country has extended its gratitude can come here and seek to insult our workers. We will have none it, in fact if we have to get violent to show our disgust at this kind of behaviour, we will.

A word to the wise is sufficient. The level of tolerance amongst Barbadians is not as in former years. We will not tolerate this. I hope the press will do their work and inform the country of their findings.

34. If I am wondering is this person not an Argentinian? Wasn’t there any bajan who could have filled this post?

The Nation needs to do their job instead of spreading the NASTY rumours which were posted on numerous occassions!

That man should be sent home!

Where are the qualified bajans! this is so typical of us Bajans.

35. mash up & buy back Avatar
    mash up & buy back

David/BU

I apologise in advance for this long cut and paste from Propoganda Press.

I have deleted one profanity which I have found,hopefully that is the only one.

For what is worth I think reading this might give us some insight into the jagdeo administration and why Guyana is as it is.

Some of the charges I have heard before many times,others should give us food for thought.

Let’s see if norman faria -or Reddy – or Marx- or Bajan born – can counter this with facts and not propoganda.

Guyanaโ€™s most dangerous criminals – PPP Crime Family Inc. & friends
    with 9 comments

the altar at which they bow & worship is drenched with blood
    the list that keeps on growingโ€ฆ

POLITICIANS & FAMILY

Bhar.rat โ€˜big bucktuhโ€™ Jagdeo – the elected dictator. CEO of all rackets taking place in Guyana from cocaine to guns to international pan handling & beyond
    an, the frontal lobe of the CEO.
    Clement โ€˜douglaโ€™ Rohee, Minister of Home Affairs – supporter of torture, self-hating Afro-Guyanese
    Ronald โ€˜hitmanโ€˜ โ€˜phantomโ€™ Gajraj, former Minister of Home Affairs, leader of Murder Inc. responsible for killing hundreds of Afro-Guyanese. Currently running rackets in India as Guyanaโ€™s Ambassador
    Donald Gajraj, REO Region 9 and brother of you know who – stealing billions with a series of front companies who get most of the road, infrastructure works and other perks in Region 9
    Donald Ramotar – CEO, PPP Crime Family Inc.
    Manniram โ€˜the narcissistโ€™ Prashad – Minister of Tourism, Industry & Commerce
    Navin Prashad – son of Manniram and murderer of Rajendra Jailall.
    Robeson โ€˜pussโ€™ Benn, Minister of Transport & Hydraulics – lifelong negro thug.
    Bherri โ€˜the rapistโ€™ Ramsarran, Minister within the Ministry of Health – rapist.
    Priya โ€˜the maniacโ€™ Manickchand, lately of go to hell whiteman fame.
    Leslie โ€˜cocaine in my veinsโ€™ Ramsammy, Minister of Health and cocaine facilitator of Roger Khanโ€™s activities.
    Kellawan โ€™shoot em upโ€™ Lall, Minister of Local Government – gunman, fights with women and prime suspect number one in the murder of his very own wife.
    Doodnauth Singh – former Attorney General & Minister of Legal Affairs & a manifest failure.
    Juan Edghill – negroe frontman & homosexual maniac head of Ethnic Relations Commission & CEO of Guyana Post Office Corporation.
    Kwame McCoy – negroe front wooh!man, homo.sexual & sexual predator, Guyanaโ€™s on.again off.again first lady, presidential spokes wooh!man & mouth.piece and an incompetent jackass.
    Gail Teixeira, another mouthpiece & defender of the CEO & former & failed Minister of Home Affairs.
    Geeta Knight-Singh – the Clico Guyana bandit also running rackets at GUYSUCO.
    Navin Chandrapaul – responsible for training the PPP terrorists who killed the policeman at the Berbice Toll Gate and the shooting of PNC activist Sydney Sukhu, who defected from the PPP.
    Harripersaud Nokta – responsible for planting the dynamite on the Son Chapman, and he was subsequently given the name Tarzan, which is his nickname now.
    Shaym Nokta, son of Harripersaud – Adviser to the resident dictator and Chairman of the National Climate Committee. gettign rich on the climate change band wagon.
    Reepu Daman Persaud, so called man of God, i.e a bandit pandit
    Zulfikar Mustapha, Region 6 Chairman
    Clinton Collymore, just another useless negroe frontman runnng rackets.
    Moses Nagamootoo, double agent on the outside looking in.
    James Singh – Commissioner of Forests – the key industry for the cocaine two.bit hustlers
    Ashni Singh – Minister of Finance and magical economics
    Geetanjali Singh, wife of Asni and Audit Director, Audit Office of Guyana [aka Auditor Generals Office]
    Winston Brassington – money collector for Jagdeo & facillitator of shady businessmen buying up what was once public properties. also the man responsible for blackouts in Guyana.
    Lionel Wordsworth, Executive Officer of the National Drainage & Irrigation Authority – draining the treasury of Guyana and the blood of Guyanese daily.
    LAW ENFORCEMENT & MILITARY

Henry Greene, Commissioner of Police – known to sexually assault women. He preys on them at Latino Bar. Banned from travelling to US, Canada or UK by the respective embassies. Henry also has a filthy lust for very young girls and has sexually assaulted un.told numbers.
    Gary Best, Chief of Staff, Guyana Defence Force – wife beater who used Fineman ransom money on himself.
    Steve Merai – Deputy Commissioner of Police & enforcer for Guyana East Indian Cocaine Association.
    James G Singh – Customs Anti Narcotics Unit, co-ordinates all cocaine operations for all of Guyana.
    Major Omar Khan – torturer in the Guyana Defence Force
    Captain Sukhul – friend and partner in Crime of Major Omar Khan.
    HINDUVTA INC, TALIBAN & NEGROE CHURCHMEN

Fazeel Ferouz – often seen accompanying the dictator to the Middle East soliciting terror funding from dictators and terroristic organisations. Owner of Twins
    Ronald Hudson – wanna be mayor of Georgetown and frontman for the Ethnic Relations Commission. miracle of all miracles – recently arrested, locked up and charged for fraud. yet his ads are still running on the Guyana Chronicle.
    SHADY SO.CALLED BUSINESSMEN

Alim Samad, shady Talibanic figure. Well known for his terror tactics and friends of Rohee and Henry Greene.
    Brahmanand Nandalall – cocaine exporter & owner of the department store & laundromat known as Keishars of I got kidnapped by the Buxton gunmen fame. Also the brother-in-law of Clay Hutson (the man who killed Leon Fraser)
    Clayton โ€˜Clayโ€™ Hutson – former? guyana police officer, cocaine smuggler, gun smuggler, killer, businessman! & brother-in-law of the cocaine owner of Keishars (the people who sponsor many sporting events in Guyana! and give away free pencils in Sopiha)]
    Roger โ€˜Shaheedโ€™ Khan – former two.bit hustler turned Guyana cocaine vice council. doing time inna white man country.
    Peter Morgan – friend of Roger Khan and Sam โ€˜I amโ€™ Hinds (as seen here) Presently cooling his heels in a Federal Prison in New York after admitting to cocaine smuggling like his friend Roger โ€˜Shaheedโ€™ Khan
    Sabrina Budhram – sister of Peter, convicted in New York of money laundering for Roger โ€˜Shaheedโ€™ Khan among others with her husband Arnold.
    Arnold Budhram – husband of Sabrina
    James Morgan – father of Peter and Sabrina, father.in.law of Arnold, doing time in England for cocaine smuggling.
    Glen Lall, from sweetie vendor to owner of Kaieteur News. no cocaine here baby! also brother of child molester and shady businessman Reaz Khan. (Glen changed his name from Khan to Lall reportedly to be less affiliated with Guyana Taliban and to be more in.line with Guyana Hinduvta Inc.]
    Bheena – wife of Glen, owner of shoe.store on Regents Street and designer of Ganesh Ramlallโ€™s cocaine mall.
    Ganesh Ramlall , friend of Glen & Bheena Lall – from Stabroek Market stall to owner of Regents Street Mall & proud owner of stolen US$30,000 GPL transformer (installed in his new mall) [his friend also also moved from market vendor to newspaper magnate we’re told]
    Terrence Sugrim also know as Terrence Emmanuel Sugrim, Lugard Thompson, Lugard Winter Thompson and Raoul Lucas – cocaine hustler deported from the USA. wanted in the USA for smuggling cocaine to the USA after being deported to Guyana. very very very goog good friend of Justice Janarayan Singh.
    Salim Azeez – Director, New Line Aqua Farm – a front company & laundromat used for shipping and receiving cocaine. Bhar.rat Jagdeo is a regular visitor to New Line Aqua. Azeez is also famously known as embassy for his back.tracking prowess and was once caught with over 100 hundred stolen Guyana passports. Nothing happened!
    Joshua Safeek, member of the CIOG Taliban outfit for the Polar Beer scam and the Guyflag scam. Was never charged. [submitted by Bharrat]
    Mool Persaud Manniram – owner of a logging concession in Crabwood Creek thanks to the Guyana government and the builder of the biggest airport ever built on that same concession for shipping cocaine. he is supposedly wanted by the Guyana Police Farce.
    Roshan Khan – owner RK Security and hater of all things Black. Refused to foot the funeral bill of one of his employees Simone Coleridge killed while working for Uncle Roshan. her family couldnโ€™t foot the bill due to poverty even Simone Coleridge was working putting dollars in the pockets of Roshan Khan. uncle roshan is also known for his strong arm tactics of intimidating, taking money away from and firing employees.
    Nayeem Nasir, Bakewell owner, from cocaine peddler and mini baker to Baker of the PPP nation. busy reinvesting his cocaine proceeds into things like Rituals Coffee. Also a member of the Guyana Taliban Confederacy.
    Lennox John – owner of Splashmins, City Mall & Ashmins. banned from the USA and falling on hard times as the cocaine circle tightens. City Mall & Splashmins are up for sale with no takers in sight.
    BM Soat – importer of automobiles and other things and seller of multiple vehicles with the same license plates and registration among other things.
    Harrychand Tulsi – pumping Guyana wet with his expensive water pumps and drainage shit.stems
    LAWYERS, JUDGES, MAGISTRATES & ETC

Vic Puran, Lawyer – lifelong member of the Guyana East Indian Cocaine Apologist Council.
    Glen Hannoman, Lawyer & partner in crime of Vic Puran – another lifelong member of Guyana East Indian Cocaine Apologist Council.
    Shalimar Ali-Hack, this Taliban DPP who charged Balwant Persaud wrongfully but free her fellow worshipper at the CIOG, Alim Samad, the real crook. She also refused to charge fellow Muslim Taliban, Joshua Safeek, for the Polar beer scam and Guyflag scam. [submitted by Bharrat]
    Anil Nandlall, lawyer, idiot, political hack and economic neophyte at large.
    Justice Jainarayan Singh – of releasing cocaine shipper Barry Dataram three times fame, a PPP Crime Family trusted member of the judiciary. (supposedly retired from the bench)
    Nigel Hughes – a negroe who couldnโ€™t resist the lure of cocaine dollars. Defends Roger Khanโ€™s baby mamma Blondie for example who is now free to kill again thanks to negroe Nigel.
    Acting Chief Magistrate, Melissa Robertson-Ogle [sometimes also listed as Ogle-Robertson] – who left her husband and living with a known and convicted drug dealer- Raphael Douglas. [when the acting chief magistrate is **** a two.bit drug pusher you can understand why Guyana has never prosecuted a drug lord]
    Carl Singh – chancellor of the judiciary i.e. the top rackets man in the court system of Guyana

36. mash up & buy back Avatar
    mash up & buy back

David & BU Family

Please alert the Thompson adminstration to the names of these persons,because some of them might turn up at our shores pretending to be business men and women.

Remember the bayland six -almost all guyanese indians who were jailed this year for bringing in the largest haul of cocaine into barbados.

A word to the wise is enough.

37. mash up & buy back Avatar
    mash up & buy back

We should be aware that Peter Morgan who is now in jail in the USA after admitting to importing cocaine used to frequent Barbados as part of the guyana rally car team.

Who knows if cocaine was shipped in those rally cars coming to race into barbados at Bushy Park.

38. Wright B.Astard Avatar
    Wright B.Astard

Like Sodom and Gomorrah,isn’t there one righteous person left in Guyana?

39. The information (the list) posted by mash up & buy back needs to be circulated to all caricom heads of government. They need to understand the severity of the situation in guyana and hold the government in that south american country accountable. The way i see it, what is happening there, is no different from apartheid in south africa.

40. The volcano is erupting and the ash will spill all the way over to Barbados. I call on bajans to protect themselves. I AM SCARED.

41. Guyana travel ban Avatar
    Guyana travel ban

Bherri โ€˜the rapistโ€™ Ramsarran, Minister within the Ministry of Health โ€“ rapist.
    ””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””
    Why Ralph Gonzalves in mash & buy back line up of Guyana’a most dangerous criminals? lol.

42. Crystal Clear Avatar

mash up & buy back // July 28, 2009 at 6:58 am

Marston

How do you connect the dots to the way guyanese roxanne gibbs managing editor of the Nation attacked barbados before the caricom conference and carried all of starbroek negative lies and made up stories about this country?

Are Bajans still buying the Nation Newspaper after this occurrence? Are Bajans sleepwalking?

43. mash up & buy back Avatar
    mash up & buy back

Here we have it from the horse’s mouth ;that there was a phantom gang killing out black guyanese men,and that they killed the journalist and black activist ronald waddel with the express support of president jagdeo’s administration,that is,the current minister of health leslie ramsammy,who even the drug kingpin roger khan implicated.

At the time of Waddell’s death – ricky singh never commiserate with the family,never asked questions on behalf of a fellow journalist and a guyanese journalist as well.

The Pan African commission who is tied up with norman faria – never even uttered a word in this pan african black activist death.

I fear for my country,for the operators are already in our midst who are conspiring with our own to keep us silent.

The following is an article from today’s starbroek news:

Roger Khan ordered Waddell killing
    By Stabroek staff | July 29, 2009 in Local News -informant tells Simels trial

An informant for the US government yesterday said confessed drug kingpin Roger Khan ordered the execution of political activist Ronald Waddell.
    And Health Minister Dr. Leslie Ramsammy was again mentioned as having had contact with Khan.

According to Capitol News, giving testimony in a Brooklyn, New York courtroom, where former Khan lawyer Robert Simels is being tried for witness tampering, Selwyn Vaughn, 34, a professed former member of Khanโ€™s โ€œPhantom gang,โ€ stated that after ordering the hit on Waddell, the Guyanese businessman contacted Ramsammy. He also said Ramsammy had been expected to help Khan after he was held by US authorities.

Reached for comment, Ramsammy last night dismissed the allegations against him as โ€œnonsense!โ€. He told Stabroek News that he had been mourning the passing of his father on the same day that Waddell was murdered. In rejecting the claims he said too that โ€œthis is nonsense, it continuesโ€. Ramsammy said further that he has important work to do and would focus on his commitments rather than claims being made in the New York court against him.

Vaughn, who is in protective custody and under special immunity that shields him from later prosecution in the United States, spent the entire day on the witness stand, where he revealed that in addition to Waddell, Khan also ordered the execution of Agricola boxing coach Donald Allison. The allegation in relation to the murder of Allison and an informant Devendra Persaud, had come up during pre-trial proceedings in the drug conspiracy case against Khan.

Ronald Waddell
    Vaughn was the confidential source who helped the US government to implicate Simels and his associate Arienne Irving, who are jointly charged with plotting with Khan to threaten and bribe witnesses to prevent them from testifying in the case against Khan. In a transcript of recorded conversations with Simels, he had also previously named Ramsammy repeatedly. The Ministerโ€™s name was also on a list which included drug accused individuals, dead notorious criminals and present and past members of the Guyana Police Force (GPF) that was to be included in a questionnaire for prospective jurors for Khanโ€™s trial.
    In March, Khan agreed to a guilty plea on charges of cocaine trafficking and witness tampering.

Waddell, 57, was killed in January 2006. According to reports at the time, a dark-coloured car took the gunmen to the scene, where they were apparently watching Waddellโ€™s movements from the seawall. According to reports, as soon as Waddell stepped into his car, two gunmen ran across the road and opened fire on the vehicle. They then ran back across the road, jumped into their car and sped away east along the highway. Police had arrested freed murder accused, Shawn Hinds and two relatives of dead โ€˜hitmanโ€™ Axel Williams, but the men were all released. It was believed that a city-based death squad with links to the underworld carried out the killing.

According to Capitol News, Vaughn yesterday said he was in a Burgundy AT 192 motor car when four other named members of the squad turned up and shot Waddell. He told the court he had been the lookout man who was tracking Waddell and he called Khan on his cell phone that night and reported that the talk show host had left his residence and his car was idling on the roadway. Within minutes, four members of Khanโ€™s squad, all former members of the GPF named by Vaughn, turned up and shot Waddell.

After the shooting Khan and his group, including Vaughn, reportedly gathered at a nightclub, from where Khan called Minister Ramsammy. The former talk show host, Vaughn explained to the court, was criticizing Khan and was connected to a gang of prison escapees based in Buxton, East Coast Demerara.
    Several telephone calls were played in the courtroom detailing separate conversations between Vaughn and Simels in the US as well as others.

Vaughn, who said that he became a Drug Enforcement Agency (DEA) informant after Khan was arrested and taken to the US in 2006, was asked specifically whether he ever met with Ramsammy. He said that he met Ramsammy both at Roger Khanโ€™s Carpet Cleaning office in Bel Air and that he went to the Ministerโ€™s office on behalf of Khan who introduced them.

He also revealed that after Khanโ€™s extradition to the US, it was expected that Ramsammy would help. In 2006, just prior to him fleeing to Suriname, Khan had claimed in newspaper advertisements that he fought alongside law enforcement to defeat criminals in Guyana. Vaughn noted that later, President Bharrat Jagdeo said publicly that Khan must say on whose behalf he was fighting crime. Nevertheless, Vaughn indicated that Khanโ€™s group received help from Ramsammy on behalf of the government and he added that President Jagdeo would not like Khan to talk. He, however, concluded that Khan is not that type of person since he could have talked about his involvement with the Guyana government when he was originally held by US authorities and would have walked right out.

Speaking about the murder of Allison, Vaughn said he was the lookout in that hit as well. Khan, he said, called him to ask for the location of Allison and after receiving the information members of the โ€œPhantom squadโ€ came out and shot Allison dead. Later, in retaliation the daughter of one of the members of the squad was kidnapped. Allison was the uncle of former army officer David Clarke, who was identified to testify against Khan. Khan had vehemently denied having anything to do with Allisonโ€™s murder.

The star witness named several Guyanese individuals who are involved in the narcotics trade between Guyana and North America and Europe. Their photographs and phone numbers were displayed in court and in some cases telephone conversations were played.
    The involvement of Khan in trying to quell and capture the five February 23 prison escapees was also mentioned in the testimony. The jury learnt that Khan organized various houses to have money placed there to lure the escapees to those targets so they could have been eliminated. The witness in sworn testimony said that he was asked because he was a schoolmate of Rondell โ€œFinemanโ€ Rawlins to infiltrate the Buxton group on behalf of Khan. There were two attempts to send explosives into Buxton to blow up the Gang. Guns were brought in from Brazil though an employee of a timber company that Khan later bought.

According to Vaughnโ€™s testimony, a man targeted for extradition from Guyana was also part of the Khan organization, helping to facilitate the movement of hundreds of kilos of drugs out of Guyana. He told the court that at one stage Khan said just to run the โ€œPhantom squadโ€ and pay all the members he would have to land 500 kilos of cocaine per year into the US and Europe. The witness also said he saw cocaine at Khanโ€™s Bel Air House and he saw Khan give a kilo of cocaine to a man whom he named.

According to a report in the New York Law Journal, the trial, which began on Monday, is being closely followed by New Yorkโ€™s legal community. The courtroom was packed with the overflow watching from the courthouseโ€™s third-floor cafeteria via closed-circuit television.
    Simels, 62, faces up to 10 years in prison.

The report noted that Khan was indicted in the Eastern District of New York in April 2006 and charged with heading the Phantom Squad, a Guyana-based paramilitary drug cartel that smuggled and distributed cocaine to Brooklyn. He hired Simels, a defence attorney known for representing high-profile drug dealers and members of organized crime familiesโ€”including Henry Hill, the mobster played by Ray Liotta in โ€œGoodFellasโ€โ€”to represent him.

According to an affidavit filed by a special agent of the Drug Enforcement Administration, soon thereafter Simels met with a member of the Phantom Squad-Vaughn, a government informant who recorded their conversations, and advised him that Khan would need to โ€œeliminateโ€ or โ€œneutralizeโ€ potential witnesses. In one excerpt from the recordings, the informant allegedly told Simels that one potential witness wanted $10,000 in order to sign a contract agreeing to testify in favour of Khan.

44. Mash Up & Buy Back

Very good work please keep us updated on this trial.

I believe the UN Court that is responsible for bringing charges of human right abuses against leaders & other individuals should seriously monitor this case.The evidence so far suggests that human rights abuses against an ethnic sector of the Guyanese community is and was supported by this present Guyana administration.

Bharat Jagdeo & many members of his administration MUST be charge for human rights crimes in Guyana.

PNC leader Robert Corbin has warned Bharat Jagdeo that he should pay attention to the charges brought against Liberia former president Charles Taylor & other world leaders.I think he is trying to send a message to Jagdeo and the Caribbean & World leaders about the rampant abuse of power by the corrupt Jagdeo administration.

This Caribbean region is being embarrassed by the failed state of Guyana.

Mash Up & Buy Back,I am extremely delighted that you have taken it on yourself to keep us updated on the happenings in Guyana.

45. mash up & buy back Avatar
    mash up & buy back

Thanks Negroman.

I started to pay attention after you and others here and in guyana started pointing out these things.

Other persons are also paying attention.

BU/David keeps asking why the Nation is not highlighting this but as yet no answer from that place.

46. This is a major part of the cancer that is destroying the Caricom movement. Unless or until the leaders in Caricom tell Jagdeo to clean up his act or butt out, theentire region will be pulled down along with Guyana. What we must realise is that many guyanese are coming here, getting Barbados passports, then moving on to U.S.A or Canada. Some of them are giving a lot of problems in these countries and are being labelled as bajans. this will eventually make thing bad for the real bajans. These people are making things bad not only for bajans at home but even for those overseas. The good name that barbados has overseas is now being eroded.

47. I found this article very interesting.

WE SHOULD LEARN FROM OTHERSโ€™ MISTAKES

Dear Sir,

I read an article in the OBSERVER NEWSPAPER of July 17th 2009 headed โ€œANGELUS RESORT DEMOLISHED DESPITE LEGAL COMPLICATIONSโ€ which set off red lights for me.

The article stated that Prime Minister Denzil Douglas said that his Government was pleased to continue their partnership with St. Kitts Marriott Resort owner Vic De Zen.

I wonder why Mr. DeZen who is Honorary Consul of St Kitts & Nevis in Argentina and Honorary Consul of St. Kitts & Nevis, Woodbridge Ontario, CANADA should be given such privileged treatment in St. Kitts and in such a close relationship with our Government!

It is also alleged that H E Delano Bart former Attorney General and present Ambassador to the US and legal consultant to St. Kitts Nevis Government is also Mr. DeZenโ€™s local solicitor.

The main road in Frigate Bay from the 3rd round about pass Marriott Hotel to the Golf Club has apparently been named after DeZen. โ€œZENWAY BLVDโ€

Yet we know that DeZen has been investigated by the Royal Canadian Mounted Police and the Ontario Securities Commission.

The Globe and mail newspaper Friday, June 20, 2008 stated:

โ€œTORONTO — One of Canada”s longest-running white-collar investigations culminated yesterday in fraud charges against several executives of Royal Group Technologies Ltd., including founder Vic De Zen.

Since it began in 2004, the investigation has probed a luxurious Caribbean resort, triggered the resignation of an Ontario cabinet minister and included a raid on one of the country”s big banks.

In the end, the RCMP laid charges against six individuals, including Mr. De Zen, accusing them of defrauding the firm of a total of $29-million.

The RCMP said at the time that they were investigating ties between building products company Royal Group and the $400-million resort co-owned by Mr. De Zen and whether the company had inappropriately borne any costs on behalf of the St. Kitts project.โ€

Hasnโ€™t the St. Kitts Government learnt from Antiguaโ€™s experience with Allan Stanford?

Furthermore, Mr. Leroy Parris, Executive Chairman, for CLICO Holdings Barbados Ltd is Honorary Consul to Barbados for St. Kitts and Nevis.

We are all aware of the financial trouble of CLICO within the region and the many accusations against Mr. Parris regarding alleged financing of the political campaigns of both PM Manning of Trinidad and PM Thompson in Barbados.

Wouldnโ€™t it be prudent for Prime Minister Douglas to inform the public of his relationship with Mr. Parris?

Instead of laying the blame on Mr. Eugene Hamilton, a Manager of British American, which is owned by CLICO, shouldnโ€™t the Prime Minister ask his Honorary Consul to explain to our citizens why their monies are in jeopardy?

We really need to learn from others mistakes.

Grace Douglas

48. In the courts out of U.S.A, it has been stated that it is alleged that the Guyana government and Ramsammy in particular was involved alongside Khan in the killing of Waddell. The silence of the other Caricom leaders are very silent on this matter that has been talking about for a while. The excuse that they don’t want to interfere with another leader’s internal affairs is just not good enough. This matter is effecting the entire region and we are all going to be dobbed with the same brush. Also we have a significant amount of guyanese nationals living in our country, that can have a ripple effect on what is happening in Guyana.

49. I sincerely trust with latest happenings in and out of guyana, people will really understand why guyanese are not wanted in sister islands of caricom. And heads of government should disband caricom altogether or evict guyana out caricom. Remember, you are known by the company you keep. And islands in the region should consider whether or not they want to be associated with guyana/ragdeo.

50. Scout

Guyanese are going to destroy this sweet lil paradise and when they are finished they will have a good laugh at us and go on to another foolish target if they can find one.

The trouble is Barbadians are the only ones who allow hungry,poor destitute strangers to come in their country and
    tell them how to run their own country.

Check out ricky singh,norman faria,shridath ramphal,and the guyanese dregs who come here and cuss out bajans daily.

Only bout here.