GBrathwaite_portrait
Submitted by George Brathwaite, PhD Candidate (International Politics)/On The Map

There are several questions being raised in the current climate as it relates to the future of CARICOM and the future of Caribbean regional integration. In some quarters it is felt that the momentum for regionalism is being swept aside. This is due to embedded insularities and the repeated failures by governments to implement agreed policies, and for regional agencies and institutions to demonstrate the requisite convergences. Prejudices and ignorance are assuming pivotal positions once held by a bond of resilience to oppression and exploitation

Moreover, it appears as though the legacies of colonialism remain riveted in the psyche of Caribbean people together with several fears and a pronounced lack of confidence in each other. These are the saddest and currently exhibited aspects that frustrate our post-colonial development. How do we as Caribbean peoples weave together the various pieces of the Caribbean fabric that traditionally have been kept separate and fragmented? In this article, I contend that political symbols are sufficient to reengage the imagination of Caribbean people so that the consequence of such an engagement culminates in the re-building of a spirit of CARICOM unity and solidarity.

Political symbols are emblems of group life. The potency of symbols rests not simply in their ability to represent, but in their ability to instigate action (Rebecca E. Klatch 1988). The Caribbean, and in particular CARICOM as an institution, needs symbols because these are collective representations of group life. Symbols can represent the common aspects of our social and political membership as a community of sovereign states. Symbols also evoke strong feelings of identification and belonging. Therefore, symbols may act as forces of integration, creating solidarity by binding individuals together into a unified whole for which we understand to be the upkeep of CARICOM.

With the subtle discontent that appears to be manifesting itself in the everyday discourses across the Caribbean, and specifically on the issue of migration and free movement of community nationals, it becomes more pressing that the social pillars of CARICOM be raised to levels that take into consideration moral and ethical signatures. These serve to alleviate the restrictive adherence to strict legal measures whilst at the same time giving pre-eminence to the struggles of the ordinary people of the region.

A main claim that I make elsewhere argues that the process of securitisation on the free movement of community nationals creates barriers to deepening Caribbean regional integration. Rather than a desecuritisation of the issue of intra-CARICOM migration and movement of people that is more likely to lead to a deepening of Caribbean regional integration, there is the process of securitisation that creates barriers to deepening regional integration.

By security, I am speaking of the โ€˜intersubjective and socially constructedโ€™ move that โ€˜takes politics beyond the established rulesโ€™ thereby framing for example the free movement of community nationals and intra-regional migration as a โ€˜special kind of politics or as above politicsโ€™. It is the creation of โ€˜unease into a more general existential domainโ€™ in which individual political communities such as Barbados asserts that its functional integrity as a sovereign entity is under threat.

For example, The Prime Minister of Barbados labels the โ€˜influxโ€™ of CARICOM immigrants and illegal migration a “crisis,” connoting a threat or emergency. This act stirs up or draws upon people’s fears, thereby creating the basis for acceptance of particular governmental actions โ€“ namely the introduction of a new amnesty policy directed at undocumented immigrants originating from within CARICOM.

Cast in these securitised terms, the intensified policy for enforcement in response to irregular migration creates a flashpoint for anxieties about CARICOM outsiders. The sentiment is that Guyanese, Jamaicans, and other neighbours from within the Caribbean Community are encroaching upon a vulnerable inside where the legitimacy of the state as a basis for sovereign expression and rule is at stake.

Irregular migration, by its very definition, is a reminder of the centrality of the state to prevailing notions of belonging. When state authorities act to punish and deter irregular migrants they reinforce a territorial account of belonging that confirms the sovereign status of the state and its citizens against unwanted external intrusions. This practice appears to be happening in Barbados notwithstanding Barbadosโ€™ treaty commitments and its often repeated ambitions for regional integration. On the one hand, there is an enunciation of a spirit of CARICOM through proclivity to support and facilitate the movement towards a single CARICOM market and economy. On the other hand, there are actions that come across as being far too selective and referred only at times of convenience.

Against seeming discriminatory practices, we continue therefore to walk a tight rope in relation to Articles 7, 8, and 9 of the Revised Treaty of Chaguaramas, not to mention Articles 32, 33, 34, 45, and 46. This argument is rooted in the distinctions made by certain Barbadian publics as it relates to Guyanese, for example, when seeking to close doors on intra-regional migration based on subtle discontentment. Yet the same publics allow a strengthening of passage for persons from third states that sit beyond the thresholds of CARICOM.

Is it not correct that the objectives of the Caribbean Community hinge upon premises of deepening regional economic integration, instilling functional co-operation, and redefining โ€˜functional relationships so as to enhance the participationโ€™ for โ€˜improving the standard of livingโ€™ of the Caribbean peoples? My disgruntlement is not against Barbados or any other CARICOM member state, but it is against the ignorance that is allowed to perpetuate unchecked by the key political actors in the region.

If the declared ambitions as agreed upon in the Preamble to the Revised Treaty of Chaguaramas form the fundamental structure of CARICOM, then why are we bypassing the political symbols that can translate messages of harmony? Political symbols that are consistent with the spirit of the regionโ€™s peoples are building blocks for progress. Combined with expressed ambitions of the people, political symbols support the โ€˜demands for the intra-regional movement of peopleโ€™ within the member states of CARICOM.

I end this article therefore by citing the Right Excellent and former Prime Minister Barrow of Barbados. In 1986 the National Hero of Barbados told a brief but fascinating story:

If we have sometimes failed to comprehend the essence of the regional integration movement, the truth is that thousands of ordinary Caribbean people do in fact, live that reality every day. In Barbados, our families are no longer exclusively Barbadian by island origin. We have Barbadian children of Jamaican mothers, Barbadian children of Antiguan and St. Lucian fathers. And there is no need to mention Trinidad which has always been tied to us not only by the inestimable bonds of consanguinity, but by the burgeoning cross-fertilization of cultural art forms. We are a family of islands nestling closely under the shelter of the great Cooperative Republic of Guyana. And this fact of regional togetherness is lived every day by ordinary West Indian men and women in their comings and goings.

1. Here is the other submission from George which deals with his view on the tone being set by the Barbados government on the contentious immigration issue.

2. @David
    …man why you don’t let sleeping bushes lie nuh?!?! ..you know how the BU family reacts to pompous language which seems couched in terms that are designed to impress the gullible – but really says nothing.

This piece is all premised on the ‘sanctity’ of the Revised Treaty of Chaguaramas and on the Dipper’s position on regional integration.

Even gearbox would know that back in Dipper’s day, regional integration would have been a positive step – THAT is what the Federation was all about….

HOWEVER…
    In 2009 we live in a new radically new world with completely different realities….

This Brathwaite man is lucky that his UWI Phd assessors are probably just as backward as he is, otherwise he would likely remain a candidate indefinitely…

3. Owen Arthur in several articles during his tenure as CSME lead, reference the history of the colonial caribbean which if honestly reflected on would lead one to conclude that the Caribbean was at it’s most integrated during that time. The interpretation of the Colonial period by Mr. Arthur to my mind is at odds with the following comments.

[quote]Moreover, it appears as though the legacies of colonialism remain riveted in the psyche of Caribbean people together with several fears and a pronounced lack of confidence in each other. These are the saddest and currently exhibited aspects that frustrate our post-colonial development.[/quote]

To suggest that the Prime Minister’s recent pronouncements (2009) which i wish to emphasize is lawfull,…will stir up or draw on people’s fear, is an attempt to deny that the same people have been voicing their concern about this situation since 2000, and can be argued has led in part to the removal of the Owen Arthur government.

Serious debate and insight is lacking in this article in fact I can easily label it as political.

4. Checkmate-123 Avatar

Bush Tea — “To This Brathwaite man is lucky that his UWI Phd assessors are probably just as backward as he is, otherwise he would likely remain a candidate indefinitelyโ€ฆ”
    ————————————————–
    It is sad that you are blinded by envy and prejudice. From what I understand and have later found to be fact, the man is not a student at UWI, but he is enrolled at a UK university. I also hear that even at the undergraduate level he excelled outside of the influence of UWI. This man is obviously ruffling feathers. What he is saying, is it so far fetched? Remove the scales from your eyes Bush Tea.

5. We must tell Brathwaite that the BU household is a little peeved that he would have submitted his papers to all and sundry to publish and only submitted to BU as an after thought :-). Why are these academics afraid to enter BU? BT, Adrian and the other members of the BU family don’t bite, or do they?

Agree that decisions have to be made based on the exigencies of the times.

BTW Brathwaite is being assessed by Newcastle University in the UK

Adrian we have long ago detected a political element to the BLP’s position on integration because the success of it determines the legacy of the party in the decades to come. It explains why the BLP as a group support the integration position at all cost even when prominent, distinguish and ORDINARY peoplehave been asking for a revisit/reshaping of the vision

6. @Checkmate
    Bush Tea is prejudiced against all kinds of foolishness. …and you should have been able to deduce that I could care less where he is being assessed really – (…my position of the misdirected talents at UWI is well documented…so I always try to juck in one here and there LOL)

The substantial point is the nonsense that CSME is in 2009.
    Ordinary folk, using street sense can see this.
    Complex logic using advanced science demonstrates this fact…. and yet we have these academics seeking to foist this 1960’s science on to Bajans in 2009?!?!

…you’re right that Bush Tea is prejudiced….

…and Checkmate, you should note that as a Bushman, my analysis bears no relationship to academic brilliance – since it is my experience that the worst kind of idiots are often outstanding academic geniuses….. they just ain’t got no commonsense!!!

…wisdom is a funny thing (…and not funny ‘ha ha’)

7. I don’t know if its only in my social circles but out of the 12 or so Guyanese i know personally 10 of them don’t contribute nothing positive to society but cheap labor and the 3 i know from St. Vincent are very skilled carpenters and i also know two really really nice Jamaican women.

More should be done to target QUALITY emigrants because the ones that come looking to do cheap labor and work for less than minimum wage are usually filled with bad attitudes and habits. Not the type of influences i want in my country, have enough bad ones.

Maybe that is why Barbados forget the BLP, i never thought about it but it seams like it has some merit.

The chap has something going about symbols, a CSME flag, CSME pasport, CSME drivers license, would go a long ways.

8. Symbols! Symbols! Symbols!
    Symbols that can be used for CARICOM can be used for any other group looking to build on common interest. So what specifically are these symbols and emblems you ‘re are speaking of?

“Several fears.” What are these fears rooted in and are they justified?

Is there a specific clause within this treaty which say that any and all members of this body MUST be allowed to pick up their stakes from their respective lands and resettle in any other state ‘without let or hindrance?’

Is there any clause permitting the usurpation of sovereignty or has sovereignty of the ONE been disbanded for the WHOLE?

What ‘subtle discontent?’. The people are screaming about the encroachment and you can’t hear them?

Does Art.13 of the UN’s ICCPR protect ‘illegal or irregular’ aliens/immigrants in Barbados?

Do you too further acknowledge that Barbados is at a disadvantage because of its size and vulnerable economy?

Why should restrictive adherence to strict legal measures be alleviated to accommodate lawbreakers whose ‘failed’ economy was not of the doings of Bajans?

“Prejudices and ignorance are assuming pivotal positions once held by a bond of resilience to oppression and exploitation.” Need clarification on this ‘loaded’ statement.

Why should a piece of land 166 sq miles be over run by outsiders esp. those with large land mass and natural resources? Does being a Phd candidate throw reason and commonsense out the window?

When the people of the region develop ONE identity/bond then there will be unification so until then stratification will be the name of the game. Call it ignorance or insularity but there are too many external forces at play here. Maybe they will ‘unite’ under the American Union.

9. David, do u an Sir Brathwaite, really expec people to read all dah?!! U mus be joking!! Looka, if a man caan mek e point in jus d firse few lines den he should guh back tuh school, as far as I concern!! I red all on d front page hay an, up to now, I still doan know what symbolism he taling bout!! Wha symbolism he mene?? I in got nuh time tuh waise, bo!! and, when he asserts:

“Prejudices and ignorance are assuming pivotal positions once held by a bond of resilience to oppression and exploitation.”

Well, after waising suh much uh my time aready, d shortest answer I can give he is dat: “one man’s prejudices and ignorance is another man’s ‘life-or-death’ issue!! so please start talking sense!!

As for symbols, I fly a Barbadian flag on my car and have a Jamaican tea-cosy but, they don’t make any difference to anything!! Talking sense is the first priority!!

10. Why are these academics afraid to enter BU?

Because they know they will meet me, an intellectual goliath!!

11. Why do we need a csme anyways? we got internet!!!

12. Why is it that all Political & Economic majors do not look at the reality of policy or ‘common sense’ as Hopi mentioned ?

CSME is definitely such a policy that has been guided by optimism only with no realistic expectations as to how it could negatively impact each island state.

Can NO one see the Lunacy in how some people tactfully promote ILLEGAL immigration through the buzzwords/guise of CSME & Integration.CSME in its current form is for SKILLED LEGAL CARICOM NATIONALS ONLY,what part of this doesn’t Mr. ‘Brat-wit’ understand.I’m guessing this is also another strategy by the ‘regionalists’ to ensure that Free-movement of ALL nationals[unskilled] happens by the end of 2009 as was originally agreed by some former leaders.

Barbados has done MORE than its fair share of welcoming our fellow Caribbean nationals if they can be an asset to our nation but it appears quite clearly to me that our generosity is being taken advantage of as a sovereign & welcoming independent island state with the biggest culprits being the countries of Guyana & St. Vincent.

All under the ‘regionalists’ banner promote nothing but propaganda concerning inclusion through integration,but all I am hearing is,”Barbados should NOT deport ILLEGAL Caribbean immigrants because our fellow nationals are giving our [insert country here] vital remittances because we as failed leaders in [insert country here] fail to deliver basic services & an economy for our people.It would also offset any responsibility on our part to do something,so keep them in Barbados.”

When I look at all current economic unions I realize they mainly do it for economic purposes alone when times are GOOD not BAD.This is the same with the EU[27 countries],NAFTA[US,Canada,Mexico] & the Trans-tasman agreement[Australia & New Zealand].Now that times aren’t really that good many countries are tightening up their own borders & reverting back to a more sovereign role when it comes to having there own borders enforced & giving their nationals priority in employment.The US just instituted a mandatory passport rule as of June 1st of this year between Canada & the US while also having buy America goods first in the stimulus package,UK unions are chastising P.M. Gordon Brown about the British jobs for British workers when Italians workers were brought in for cheaper rates while Far-right anti-immigrant MPs are being elected in EU elections.These are but some of the scenarios currently happening around the world.

In short,Globalization as we know it has not only come full stop but it is actually regressing.Caricom’s efforts at creating Globalization- lite through CSME at this time imo is foolhardy.As the respectful P.M Golding mentioned,”I don’t know how a bunch of poor states trading amongst each other will become rich”.

13. We should not forget that that it is the intellectual who has destroyed the global economy in these times. They, the intellectuals and academics, some people insist on the distinction, have supported a model built on consumption at the expense of sustainability.

In the Caribbean context let us look at cricket. It is the only institution which has had the most support and because of petty politics and asinine leadership we have seen its continued dismantlement. We have a CCJ which is supported by two countries. A regional airline LIAT which does not have the full support of all the Caricom members. The T&T and Jamaica owned airlines continue to compete against themselves to the detriment of the region. We have some members who recognize Taiwan other China. Some signed the Petrocaribe others what?

There was a time we had strong non-political leaders to challenge the politicians whether from the Church like Dean Harold Crichlow or the late William Demas. Now the politicians have been given a blank check to experiment at the expense of ALL.

14. A poster wrote “but out of the 12 or so Guyanese i know personally 10 of them donโ€™t contribute nothing positive to society but cheap labor” !!!

well I see things differently. “Cheap labor” is plenty contribution. A lot more than PHd’s in history, law, economics, management, education, sociology etc etc from UWI or any other university of your choice. The major problem in Barbados is that too many people don’t want to contribute labor of any form, cheap or otherwise, but want to live like me…Poor Great.

15. I forgot to add the following article as to why the Barbados Government should continue the managed migration policy.I’m also interested in this belief that Caricom can manage Barbados’ internal sovereign affairs ?Let there be no ‘managed deportations’ .

————————————–
    http://www.caribbeannetnews.com/news-17052–6-6–.html

“The common thread that links Haiti, Guyana, and St Vincent and the Grenadines

Three countries of the Caribbean: Guyana, Haiti and St Vincent and the Grenadines share a common social thread of desperation that binds them together. Their citizens are leaving en masse to find better pastures abroad and their governments are blaming everybody and their fathers for this but themselves. Yet the root cause of the mass migration lies in the lack of hospitality at home. It is in the nature of the human soul to seek to ameliorate oneโ€™s fate as soon as the setting seems hostile.

Jean H Charles MSW, JD is Executive Director of AINDOH Inc a non profit organization dedicated to building a kinder and gentle Caribbean zone for all. He can be reached at: jeanhcharles@aol.
    There has lately been constant chatting in the news concerning the new policy of the government of Barbados seeking to deport most of the illegal Guyanese and St Vincentians. The president of Guyana, Bharrat Jagdeo, and the prime minister of St Vincent and the Grenadines, Ralph Gonsalves, have expressed their opposition to these deportations, not only in public, but also in private CARICOM meetings. They consider these actions by the government of Barbados as actions of another brother country flouting the policy of free flow of labour and service throughout the region.

In fact, this unwelcome mat in Barbados has been spread for years against the citizens of Haiti, not only in Barbados, but also in the northern part of the Caribbean, for example, the Dominican Republican and the Bahamas. Recent reports from advocates on the field in Turks and Caicos indicate some Haitians are hiding in the trees to avoid being picked up by the immigration officers bent on getting rid of the illegal immigrants.

Jโ€™accuse the governments of Haiti, Guyana and St Vincent and the Grenadines of subjecting their citizens to the most gross of humiliating conditions at home and abroad. Those countries have the natural resources to be as prosperous as any other nations of the region. In the case of Guyana, I have been chastised by East Indian Guyanese of not minding my own business; in fact, that everything is alright in Guyana. The truth of the matter is that mass migration has now also reached their ranks. The deteriorating condition has infected the whole population whether black or Indian. It will maintain my position as long as these governments do not take steps โ€“ macro and micro policy — to make life more bearable for the average citizen.

The government of St Vincent and the Grenadines, according to a learned observer, Lavern George, is all promises and promises, new roads, new prison, new stadium yet in the end the country is heading towards a failed state status. The culprit, according to the prime minister, is the western countries who failed to deliver on reparations for genocide and slavery!

Haiti has been suffering a political, social and economic trauma that now lasted fifty years. I was only seven years old, (I am now 62) the last time, I saw a minimum of good governance in Haiti. Two generations of people have waited outside and dreamt inside the country for the overdue arrival of an era of hospitable governance that would attract them home from the Diaspora and as well, keep inside the country, the millions of Haitians eager to build up their own country as they do for others — including that of Barbados — outside.

Yet my position in pointing the finger at the president of Haiti, the president of Guyana and the prime minister of St Vincent and the Grenadines does not absolve the prime minister and the government of Barbados for their hostility against fellow Caribbean peoples. Indeed, Barbados has the reputation of a brand name jewel in the Caribbean, the small London that has attracted, as London did, people from all over the world. The truth is cities like Carthage, Rome, Phoenicia in ancient times as well as New York, London and Toronto in our time have flourished because of their liberal immigration policies. The mixture of cultural assets of people from several nations produces wealth and excitement for all.

The chasing of Guyanese and Vincentians from Barbados indicates, in my opinion, the beginning of the decline of the prosperity of the island of Barbados. Uganda did just that under Idi Amin. It took that country 50 years to recover from that ill-conceived policy of deporting its East Indian population. Facilitating the integration of immigrants is a sure path to economic dominance and sustainability. The nurses of the Queens hospitals of New York were mostly idle until the big influx of Mexicans in the metropolitan area. This injection of new blood is today, the harbinger in the US, of the prosperous America of tomorrow.

We are observing a decline of the population in the industrialized nations foreseen as occurring around 2050. The major powers will resort to snatching people from the less developed countries to fill their schools, hospitals, supermarkets, et al. Taiwan has already more universities that it has students for. North and South Dakota need new blood badly to energize their economies.

I am surprised that the Barbadian prime minister, David Thompson, would resort to such a short-term policy, which could only hurt Barbados in the long run.

A nation has a government that it deserves. Coming the year 2011, the people of Guyana, Haiti and St Vincent and the Grenadines will go to the ballot box, each to elect a new government. They have the choice to follow the age-old and failed policy of the more things change more they remain the same, or they can choose leaders who will be committed to creating the conditions where hospitality for all is the rule. Leaving home to seek a better life abroad will be a nightmare of the past.

In the meantime, Barbados, Barbados, Barbados! The paradise that stretches a very long way wonderfully, and with an historic smile as wide as being hospitable can be, still does not deserve to be known as being the social crutch on which lean the broken and desperate of the Caribbean. I am confident the people and the government of Barbados will revise their policy and, as the Lady Liberty, she will continue to welcome the Guyanese and the St Vincentians (for at least in the next three years) as their people take steps to elect the government they merit, one that will make hospitality for all the hallmark of their next opportunity for new governance.”

16. I concur Barbadians don’t like labor work, we prefer entertainment.

Why settle for cheap labor from hooligans when you can get cheap labor from good people.

csme is to promote growth, but do we need growth? their is a point when we will over grow/populate the land. i really don’t want to see Barbados turn into a hustling bustling city that you cant even find a tree growing. What really needs to be done first is to be self sustained. As common cents would dictate.

How can we support a large population of people passing through using resources to their ledger when we cant support our self’s?????????????

17. @199……Boy I got to hand it to you. You are the life of the party!

@Jay………Globalization has always been the norm. It used to be known as COLONIALISM but now they gave us another euphemism to make it seems like we are in on it as well. But the only ones who benefits from this are the same few whose foreparents were the engineers of such isms….. those who never till, spin nor sweat but they get to eat the best bread at our expense. Its high time that these isms are put to a quick torturous death.

Why should someone be impressed with the author of this smoky piece. Again another ‘intellectual/wanna-be’ putting forward the agenda of the globalists who only seeks to enslave us.
    Line up all these so-called “intellectuals” on 42nd/Nelson St and you would be hard pressed to distinguish between them and the ladies of the night. Them, the political pimps and whores, economist, lawyers, doctors and accountants all works for the same globalists who at the end of the day will kick their arses to the curb.

18. The underlying issue (IMHO) is not that we can’t support ourselves is that we will not support ourselves (or don’t know how).

Why grow my own food? Isn’t it easier to run down to the nearest supermarket? Why walk or catch bus when the banks running me down to take out a loan to buy a car (and I already have a 10 year old car in good working order)? Anyway I poor great so leh muh see what pun multi choice.

19. @ Poor Great
    ..that is a good idea – go and watch TV, cause this issue is much more complex than ‘growing your own food…”
    …and it does not help to trivialize it further.

To me, there are a number of major issues that no one seems to want to address.

1 – What is it that we want as a (Bajan) people.

2 – having determined (1), what strategies, price and sacrifices, are we willing to undertake to achieve success.

3 – What alliances and partnerships should we pursue that will facilitate our objectives? etc

As it is now, there is no clear direction. Everyone speaks from a different perspective; everyone do as they please; and we seem to choose alliances based on who has money to invest or spend, who has cheap labour to be exploited etc.

…no wonder we are going nowhere.

It seems to Bush Tea that the closest that we come to a national strategic goal is that “we all want to be rich like the Americans (on TV), with office jobs and lots of leisure time.”

…Is THAT what we want?
    If so; Are we prepared to pay the price for that lifestyle? (as the USA is about to do?)

We also cannot revert to a situation where every family grows their own food. That option has been eliminated by the type of housing developments that we have cultivated over the decades. ..not to mention the fact that our water resources lend themselves to very expensive cost of use.

Vision and leadership has been in very short supply over the past half century or so, in terms of real strategic planning for our country.
    We were led to further complacency by the relative success that we enjoyed over the years….. but day only runs until night catches up….

….

20. mash up & buy back Avatar
    mash up & buy back

I didn’t want to contribute anything on this post to give credence to the imbecilic offerings of the poster,however I will respond on point to David’s post at 12:05.

The caricom prime ministers are being very disingenous on the barbados immigration position and the future of regional integration,since it is gradually coming out that while these leaders are all shouting that barbados’ action will break up CSME, we are not told that Dominica is part of the Bolivian grouping (I think called ALBA),guyana is seeking to join the south american association and deepen its links with brazil,and Note carefully,THEY ARE ALSO MEMBERS of the International Association of Islamic Countries,which their foreign minister Carolyn Rodrigues-Birkett attended the last conference only recently.

St vincent is also part of the Bolivian experiment and is seeking ties with Libya and Iran,such ties being contrary to the rules of caricom.

Then we have this new political union which manning in trinidad is pushing along with some of the OECS states.

Everyone doing their own thing but seeking to wash their mouth on Barbados.

I can only assume one thing – and that is pure jealousy and hatred for Barbados.

I think they recognised a fool and a egomaniac in Owen Arthur and they rode it for all they could.

They understood that he was so desperate to leave some kind of legacy that he was willing to destroy his country and his people in the process – so they thought – well, he is the best person to head the implementation of the CSME.

The laugh is on them though,because Thompson recognises their particular brand of crap,and he isn’t standing for it.

21. @mash up buy back

By commenting you are participating in the discussion with the BU family.

Question:

Why is is that the Brathwaiteโ€™s, Wickhamโ€™s, Singhโ€™s, Davisโ€™s et all all hurry to quote Jagdeo and Gonzales to define the recent action ofย  Barbados on the immigration matter for example? What does Guyana and St. Vincent have in common?

Why donโ€™t they quote former Jamaican Prime Minister P J Patterson who long ago indicated that the CSME model needed a relook because countries like Barbados and Trinidad were carrying a disproportionate burden?

If the CSME were a company which by definition would be operating across several markets its success would be predicated on what the experts call vertical integration. The CARICOM/CSME is doomed to fail in its present configuration because its institutions and processes are not vertically integrated. We donโ€™t even have a sense that technology is being used to deliver trade and services across the CSME markets.

22. Bush Tea

as you would say, trivialize it further what?!

I could write an epistle too but you got the point. To quote you “โ€œwe all want to be rich like the Americans (on TV), with office jobs and lots of leisure time.โ€

23. Let us examine the following report which was published in the Guyana Stabroek newspaper a couple days ago. Remember that Norman Faria is the Consul General to Barbados appointed by Guyana during a period when tensions are frayed. Now is Faria helping by giving some of the fork tongue comments reported in the article? He should be lucky if Tom Adams were alive. Shouldnโ€™t his role be one to calm and placate all concerned to ensure the interest of the Guyanese in Barbados are well served? At the moment all he is doing is pouring oil on the waters.

Owen Arthur govโ€™t sought more input about Guyanese โ€“ Faria – by Heppilena Ferguson | June 10, 2009 in Local News

The previous Barbados administration had sought to host more discussions with the Guyana consulate there about the feelings of Guyanese, Honorary Consul Norman Faria has said.

He also acknowledged that even with the new policy it was not compulsory for that government to seek discussion with him on the matter. The recently announced policy which would see all undocumented Caricom nationals living in Barbados for less than eight years prior to 2005 being sent home, has sparked mixed reactions in many circles.

Faria told Stabroek News that during the Owen Arthur Administration, many times the Prime Minister himself called for feedback on the feelings of Guyanese living there. โ€œThere are those who would say that his administration was more regional-integration friendly,โ€ he said. Faria also noted that he had invited current Prime Minister David Thompson to a picnic hosted by the consulate but had received a letter in which Thompson said that he would be off the island but extended best wishes to him.

Many Guyanese residing in Barbados who achieved residence status during the Arthur administration recounted better days and more appreciation for them. โ€œI mean the attitude among them was still present because they are very nationalistic people, but to me they treated us better. The government really influenced the way they treated us then,โ€ one woman said. She was convinced that Barbadians are supporting their governmentโ€™s recently announced policy regarding undocumented persons as many jobs have already been cut and the citizens expect that those available would be just enough for them.

Another woman said it was not that the previous administration was more lenient with Guyanese but that it seemed to be more facilitating. She added that even back then many Guyanese were ill-treated and sent home. โ€œI donโ€™t see any different. During the campaign Thompson had always said he would clean-up Barbados and that is exactly what he is doing and his people support him. Who are we to be upset?โ€ she declared.

A cabinet committee made the recommendations in keeping with the Thompson administration pledge to deal with the contentious migration issue. On May 5 the administration announced that undocumented nationals had up to June 1 to start submitting documentation for consideration. However, undocumented nationals were asked to submit letters from employers, though it remains unclear whether many would take the chance as employers who hired undocumented persons could be charged as this is unlawful.
    Thompson said the conditions for regularisation would include:

โ€ข submission to immigration of an application for immigrant status together with all supporting documentation on the prescribed form before December 1;

โ€ข the applicantโ€™s ability to substantiate the claim that he or she has been residing in Barbados for at least eight years immediately prior to December 31, 2005 โ€“ specifically before January 1, 1998;

โ€ข the applicant must be currently employed and provide evidence of his or her employment status;
    โ€ข the spouse or child of an employed applicant residing in Barbados with the applicant is eligible to apply under this new policy;

โ€ข the applicant must pass through a security background check, and
    โ€ข applicants with three or more dependents will be considered, but will not automatically qualify for status.

The prime minister also reaffirmed his governmentโ€™s commitment to the regional integration process, particularly Article 45 of the Revised Treaty of Chaguaramas which provides for the movement of skilled Caricom nationals within the Caricom Single Market.

24. mash up & buy back Avatar
    mash up & buy back

Have a look at the article in today’s starbrok newspaper which says ‘B’dos P.M. refutes charges of immigration raid’.

You have to click on view all news at the end of the news items listed.

Imagine in that article jagdeo who was interviewed yesterday at the Caricom Secratariat said that he knows’ that many guyanese do not want to live in Barbados for anything’;and that he did not believe those caribbean Countries who were saying their social services were being affected by the large influx of migrants?

I s this man an Idiot or what?

25. @199โ€ฆโ€ฆBoy I got to hand it to you. You are the life of the party!

Hopi, I does try!!

Laaaaaaaddddddddddddddd!!! But, I doan tink dat David approve!!

Sir Braithwaite (pronounced Brafit!!??) Iโ€™ve no idea what ur talking about but, nice shirt doe!! ๐Ÿ™‚

26. …and here am I thinking that the days of envying people who benefited from higher education had all gone.

27. mash up & buy back Avatar
    mash up & buy back

I wonder if right thinking persons realise that the ‘good name’ of Barbados is being sullied every day around the region and even internationally.

Every week Ricky singh sends out his lies and attacks against the Thompson government through newspapers around the caribbean.

The article in Friday’s Nation newspaper is now in today’s Trindad express and will tomorrow Sunday be in Guyana’s Chronicle and perhaps would have been in other regional newspapers.

Then we have guyanese ronald saunders writing in caribbean News Net,in antiguan newspapers and in the nation newspapers writing his attacks on barbados immigration policy.

Add to that the deliberate policy of the nation newspapers,and the members of the Barbados labour party and the UWI so-called academics to present a picture of Barbados and its people as the worst in the world.

I know if any of the vindictive BLP prime minsters were in power ie Tom Adams or Owen Arthur – then neither ricky singh nor gonsalves or jagdeo would dare do what they are now doing.

P.M. Thompson is not seen as being so ruthless.

Maybe it is now time for some of that medcine.

28. What purpose is George satisfying by attaching his PHD candidacy to his comments on Caribbean integration?
    Which came first? George telling us about the inevitability of receiving his paper trophy? Or the BU family commenting on the same?
    …Not me though, I merely saw a set of words constructed in sentences and paragraphs, that conveyed a set of inconsistent and untrue thoughts and opinions and to which I responded.

29. Mash up and by back:

This is nothing new. Having never travel to any of the islands I got my first dose of this dislike for Barbados by other caribbean citizens from attending UWI island night fetes. If that was not enough it became crystal clear on coming to America.

30. A Whet Dream Moment Avatar
    A Whet Dream Moment

There are elements within Barbados who believe that they are liberal-minded about several issues, including, sexual preference, religion and integration. This element draws inspiration from other outside elements that have a certain agenda to push.
    Clearly, this article, for want of a better term, does not represent a departure from the aforesaid.
    Having been to several Caribbean islands, I know first-hand how Barbadians are ridiculed on certain issues. I think a well-known political scientist can shoulder some blame here.
    Faria is out of order! I concur with a poster who noted that if Tom Adams was alive, then heads would roll (ask Gonsalves). Has Faria breached any protocols ? If the answer is yes, then he should be removed.
    One should inquire from David, if the article reeked of sperm, because this was clearly an exercise in academic ejaculation.

31. 199 // June 13, 2009 at 10:35 am

Why are these academics afraid to enter BU?

lol that was bad!

32. Ungratefulness is a curse Avatar
    Ungratefulness is a curse

I too have noticed how as bajans we are ridiculed,envied and even hated by the other caribbean people,yet they can’t seem to keep out of barbados.

I won’t be surprised if all this shooting and robberies have a direct link to non national criminals.

I know a lot of them around the region would like to see barbados fall and fail.

These guyanese are all over the place telling everyone who got ears and eyes how they have built up barbados.

Not only is that a BIG lie,but I find it strange that they never mention the skills they learnt here and can now take back and build Guyana.

They came here as labourers and through the opportunities afforded them are now masons,steel benders,plumbers and carpenters.

The maids didnot know a wettex from an old rag,the only thing they knew as a chemical was chlorox ,but now they know how to properly make up a bed,how to prepare different types of meal,how to lay a table,how to clean a house and see how houses are kept.

All these unskilled workers offered was cheap,raw labour.

Now they all have a skill that can take them far,and yet they curse the bajans every single day.

I tell you, ungratefulness is really a curse!

33. I dont know if to be proud or vex at my PM for not getting rid of persons such as Faria and Co. with immidiate effect.

It amazes me that Singh has never mentioned about the affiliations between Roger Khan and the PPP. Or the alleged rape of women by persons pretending to be negroes who turned out to be Indians. And lets not forget Gonsalve’s association withTrinidad and Iran.

Why aren’t we Bajans shouting out about these happenings.

Why has Barbados not cried Fraud at any of these developments? Aren’t these incidences harming the CARICOM and CSME~! Please give us a break!

Every day I realise that Arthur really didn’t care about us bajans and Mia dosen’t as well; We need to acknowledge that fact!

34. Ungratefullness is a curse Avatar
    Ungratefullness is a curse

See this letter written by a Mr walters of Antigua commenting on the amnesty offered by the Antigua government for illegal caricom nationals.

Tell me again ricky singh and owen arthur are antiguans xenophobic too,or just pragmatic and patriotic?

The huge influx of immigrants (Caricom nationals) residing in Antigua and Barbuda is as a result of the previous administration mismanagement on matters pertaining to immigration. They committed Antigua and Barbuda to CSME without a referendum and now they are calling for amnesty for illegal immigrants! In my humble opinion, Antigua and Barbuda has not benefited from CSME apart from an increase in drug trafficking from other Caricom states, lawlessness and other vices that are rapidly plunging Antigua and Barbuda into the abyss equal to Hades ( the dark underworld), courtesy of ALP.

Antigua and Barbuda is a small island in comparison to some of the other Caricom states and the question that I am asking myself is if these individuals are not able to make life in their own homeland, how is it possible for them to make it in ours? My tip on the entire issue surrounding immigration is that the time has come for us to put up the sign saying “no vacancies, this island is full”. Also, Antigua and Barbuda should consider making it compulsory for people to apply for a visa prior to coming to Antigua and Barbuda, Caricom citizens notwithstanding; improve our port of entries i.e. tighter patrols of various ports that small fishing boats and other vessels use to enter Antigua illegally; putting a ban on aircrafts from entering Antigua that are used in trafficking drugs.

Caricom states have a duty to ensure good governance is adhered to, which must include proper vetting of aircrafts prior to departure from their original homeland and not limited to this, but should also determine that individual migrant worker (s) meet(s) the criteria prior to leaving their homeland. The time has come for government and opposition party unite in signalling a clear message to those individuals seeking abode in Antigua and Barbuda that we are no longer prepared to act as a dumping ground for other Caricom citizens to seek refuge in our homeland.

Whilst it may appear an honourable and noble gesture of the opposition party to join forces with the Guyanese honorary consul and the president of the Jamaica in Antigua association in voicing opinion for amnesty, the ALP regime might want to consider voicing an opinion by asking what it means to be an Antiguan today. To conclude, if individual (s) or party/parties do(es) not like our immigration policy, the door is open to leaveโ€ฆ.

35. Ungratefullness is a curse Avatar
    Ungratefullness is a curse

A glimpse of what might have been in store for us here in Barbados had the BLP and Owen Arthur got his way during the last election:

It was bound to happen sooner rather later. The days immediately after the 2009 general election witnessed a nationwide quarrel over the โ€œimmigrant voteโ€.

The Antigu a Labour Party (ALP) side of the media rejoiced over their โ€œbeloved immigrantsโ€ while the United Progressive Party (UPP) side of the media went berserk, accusing the immigrant of causing some of their favourite candidates to lose.

On the face of it, the UPP only lost a mere 600 votes between 2004 and 2009. Assuming that those numbers are correct, it seems that the message of fear had very little effect on those who voted for the UPP in 2004. On the other side of the coin, the ALP was very successful in convincing new voters โ€“ natives and immigrants โ€“ with its message. The party scored more than 3,000 new votes between 2004 and 2009.

Leading up to the 2004 elections, both the ALP and the UPP sought to claim a share of the โ€œimmigrant voteโ€. The ALP proclaimed its โ€œso calledโ€ historical support for immigration. The UPP refined its immigration language referring to immigrants from the Commonwealth Caribbean not as โ€œnon-nationalsโ€ but โ€œour Caricom brothers and sistersโ€. The stage was set for a new era in immigration politics.

Back then, UPP candidates took time to spell out their plans to blunt the ALPโ€™s claim to a lock on the โ€œimmigrant voteโ€. The UPP proposed to evolve the status of temporary residence to a kind of Green Card equivalent. Prime Minister Spencer and his team raised the stakes by offering all immigrants living in Antigua at the start of 2000 citizenship. For the first time, the UPP took a very pro-active part in claiming a share of that part of the electorate. But, the party appeared to โ€œdrop the ballโ€ in 2009.

Sensing that they were being recognised in a positive way for the first time, many immigrants went out and gave unqualified support to the UPP in 2004.

When the votes were counted, the ALP was swept out of office. Obviously, natives and immigrants alike joined forces to turn back the Labour Party. In the 2004 general elections, the UPP was definitely able to outdo the ALP at its own game.

If the UPP thought that the ALP would sit back and watch its biggest propaganda weapon captured without a big fight-back, it was sadly mistaken. The ALP seized on the UPPโ€™s offer of citizenship and exploited the perceived loophole which appeared to give Commonwealth citizens citizenship by an Act of Parliament rather than citizenship under the Constitution. Closer to the 2009 elections, the ALP shifted the partyโ€™s pro-immigrant propaganda machine into high gear.

Word spread that immigration officers were rounding up immigrants indiscriminately and sending them home. The offer of temporary residency was subjected to all kinds of claims and counterclaims. Rumours ran wild that the UPP will prevent any resident who is out of the country before elections from returning to Antigua after elections. Days before the elections, it was said the UPP government passed a law requiring immigrants to live in Antigua for 10 years before they can apply for citizenship.

With the UPP failing to counteract the message of fear, some immigrants were left distressed and confused. Except in the closing weeks of the campaign, UPP officials and their radio activists did little to counteract those claims.

To make matters worst when immigrants turned to the UPP-supported media for balance and clarification, they often hear an endless barrage of derogatory comments about them. All that only helped to reinforce and give value to what they were hearing over the ALP side of the media.

To add fuel to fire, the arguments for and against immigrants turned into a genuine cuss-out once the results of a very close general elections became clear. I guess we will have to await the next general elections to find out who won that rather public quarrel.

Going forward, both ALP and UPP should accept that immigration politics in Antigua and Barbuda is here to stay.

Like natives, immigrants will vote for the party which they think will do the best for: individual, family, community and country. Assuming that all who voted are legally entitled to vote, the ALP would have โ€œturned the tablesโ€ on the UPP this time by capturing the โ€œlionโ€™s shareโ€ of new votes from natives and immigrants this time around.

The UPP has some serious political work to do if it intends to win next time.

Immigrants are: business partners of natives; employers and employees of natives; spouses of natives; parents and grandparents of natives; spiritual soulmates of natives and even children of natives. It is stupid politics to threaten those bonds.

The party that protects those bonds while finding honest ways of being fair and reasonable to law-abiding natives and immigrants, while protecting the society from criminals will do very well in future elections.

The above opinions are not necessarily those of the publisher, newspaper, its advertisers

36. 20 Less to worry about Avatar
    20 Less to worry about

Heard today that 20 Guyanese were grabbled up by Police/Immigration up by Morgan, St. James (by Greenwich) last night. The house they were in was full of electronic equipment – stereos, TV’s, DVD and video players, all property stolen from Bajans.

37. Ungratefullness is a curse that is a good one.

38. I was reading some comments on SN and I must say these GT people are claiming that persons in Swan Street are being caught and are then deported……. but waittttt these people aint here illegally …….. and why ‘INDIAN’ who reported this to SN don’t go home since he is so pist off with this Government for imposing the laws of the land.

He would never report what ’20 Less to worry about’ has said!!!!!!!!

39. It is even worse than that, Ready-done.

Antiguans from what I’ve been reading in a recent article would only comprise less than 10% of the population soon enough while now more than half of the population consists of non-nationals there.

http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/news/html/20090611T030000-0500_153262_OBS_PM_LAMENTS_BARRIERS_TO_FREE_MOVEMENT_OF_CARICOM_NATIONALS.asp

“Antigua has 70,000 people, 42,000 of whom are not Antiguans, Golding said. He added that the Antiguan prime minister has commented that pretty soon Antiguans will make up less than 10 per cent of the island’s population.

“Barbados is having the same problem,” said Golding.
    “If that is the case let us revisit the treaty,” he argued. ”

If the BLP didn’t get out at the right time this is the same situation we would be seeing in Barbados & why me must keep not only the pressure up on our P.M. but simultaneously take the wind out of any ‘regionalists’ sails with solid facts while being in solidarity with those true Caricom nations whom are doing everything in their power to maintain their sovereignty.

It was the former Prime Minister of Barbados that was/is generally responsible for this mess but also at the same time the electorate of Barbados played a role in that & as such I think we owe not only to ourselves but to the rest of the Caribbean in showcasing how very wrong certain aspect of CSME are.[.e.g.Caripass,Free-movment of all nationals,guaranteed entry & 6 month stay in a member state.]

40. @Ungratefullness is a curse

[quote]They committed Antigua and Barbuda to CSME without a REFERENDUM and now they are calling for amnesty for illegal immigrants![/quote]

I have made this point about the EU, and the use of parliamentary decree, which brings me back to “George-the-PhD-candidateโ€, and his readiness to ridicule the Caribbean people for holding on to โ€œlegacies of colonialism manifested in their psyche together with several fears and a pronounced lack of confidence in each other”. Yet as someone said earlier, “The West Indian Federation was model after a colonial institution”, and CSME models the present day machinations of former colonial masters. Wuh even one definition of Colonialism; which says, it is, “exploitation by a stronger country of a weaker one; and the use of the weaker country’s resources to strengthen and enrich the stronger country”, defines Guyanese unskilled and illegal immigrant workers in Barbados, which George-The-PhD-Candidate, seems to support. It appears as if George “unknowingly” likes and dislikes colonialism, base on the make-up of the practitioner. If such is the case could it be a mere coincident, that it seems to be average people, whom he dislikes as colonialist, and Institutions/governments, he admires and support as colonialist? Conflicted or deliberate? Maybe he is deliberately conflicted

41. “It’s not just in trade,” Golding said at the launch of National Export month held by the JEA at the Knutsford Court hotel in Kingston. “We are also having difficulty in the movement of people.”

โ€œAntigua has 70,000 people, 42,000 of whom are not Antiguans, Golding said. He added that the Antiguan prime minister has commented that pretty soon Antiguans will make up less than 10 per cent of the islandโ€™s population.

โ€œBarbados is having the same problem,โ€ said Golding.
    โ€œIf that is the case let us revisit the treaty,โ€ he argued. โ€

===========================

Little foresight and an abundance of pragmatism to be found in Caribbean.

Five years ago on June 1st I framed the position that monitoring the movement of people was equally as important as monitoring import goods.

http://www.barbadosforum.com/index.php?sho…amp;#entry33571

Employment registry is needed just like we need an Import monitoring scheme.

Concern for an over-abundance of regionally produce goods entering a market space and the harm that level can do to our already hard press manufacturing and agriculture sectors of our economy has prompted the GoB to implement an import monitoring scheme. At the end of the monitoring period it will be determine if protection mechanisms i.e. tariffs and other restrictions will be put on these products as is allowed under the revise treaty of chaguramous.

Concern for an over-abundance of citizens from a specific caricom region country entering Barbados and specifically into the Barbados labour force to the alleged tune of 25-30 thousand and the harm it pose to Industrial relations, race relations, and the stability of Barbados as a law abiding country, has prompted the BWU to call for an Employment registry. I do not know if there is a provision within the revised treaty of Chaguramous to treat to the issue of a severe imbalance in free movement patterns of Caribbean nationals, but I think given what is at stake it ought to be.

Adrian Hinds-Candidate-for-Continual-use-of-his-commonsense.

42. @Adrian

I’m not sure on the trade issue but I know there is no ‘free-movement’ within Caricom per se.Each & every country has implemented a different variation of CSME with St. Kitts’ & Antigua’s implementation being similar to that of Barbados.They all have implemented the Skilled portion of CSME,but not the 6 month guaranteed entry into a member state meaning that if they don’t meet nominal regulations for entry into Barbados they can be turned away.The former BLP government didn’t do that though they basically ordered immigration officers to have a much more laxed protocol concerning some Caricom nationals from what I’ve been able to surmise thus far.

Still,the biggest threat concerning CSME is political since the Barbados constitution allows Commonwealth citizens to vote & most of the Caribbean is considered such.Imagine free movement of Caribbean nationals that can vote in any member state,the consequences of such would profoundly shape Barbados & not likely for the better hence why the BLP are so called ‘inclusive’.

However,I’m glad that the pressure has gotten so good that even the famous Rickey Singh dare not set foot in Barbados.

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/index.pl/article_opinion?id=161490660

“I have stayed away from Barbados because I do not feel welcome there-quite unlike the comfort I enjoy in other Caribbean countries.”

43. JC // June 13, 2009 at 6:54 pm

199 // June 13, 2009 at 10:35 am

Why are these academics afraid to enter BU?

lol that was bad!

JC, but true, nuh!! but true!! ๐Ÿ™‚

44. I like how these people give passing notice to the truth and continue with their drum beat about coming together with people who are all about themselves.

quote 1:
    Who said :
    It seems to me that the principle of free movement throughout the Community that is enshrined in the Revised Treaty is quite unrealistic. None other than Norman Faria

quote2:
    Who said:
    The second group, comprising mainly Indo-Trinidadians, see dilution of their political clout in any move towards further integration. None other than Ricky Singh

These people know the truth, but are willing to ignore it becuase it is of benefit to them and not us.

Norman Faria also said :

“The real problem arises with non-covered categories like occupations in construction, agriculture and tourism when host economies that have been booming enter a period of recession. Some region-wide management system for this is necessary. And it should be comprehensive in the sense of speaking to several issues.. One approach would be to grant temporary work permits for such categories of workers, or a regional guest workers type scheme aimed at filling labour market shortages which may be inherently temporary because of construction โ€˜boomsโ€™. ”

Is this not A REGULARIZE approach to immigration? Pray tell how to do regularize the citizenship status of illegals immigrants without, amnesty, and a real reason for illegals to respond to it?

45. 20 Less to worry about Avatar
    20 Less to worry about

Something that bothers me is, why is no one commenting, or asking questions as to what is being done about Barbadians who are harboring/employing these illegal people (yes, mostly Guyanese, but other nationalities too)? Why are they not being punished/prosecuted? I plan to reveal information, when I get the facts, about a European man in a managerial position at a very popular west coast restaurant, who absolutely HATES black people. He has been fired from a few other restaurants since living in Barbados and he is alleged to have stolen over $350,000 from one restaurant. Was he prosecuted? Of course NOT! The man has an English accent, but is Scandinavian. He is one piece of work, and a great buddy of guess who? Owing See-Thru – who else?!

46. Barbados has been accused of xenophobia and racism as the root cause of its efforts to control its undeniable illegal immigrant problem. Someone in a previous post called the attitude of some Caribbean leaders “disingenuous” but I venture to call it by its proper name, “hypocritical”.

I fully support the Barbados government in its efforts to halt and reverse the damage done by our (it must be said) incompetent Immigration Department over the years. Someone or some people should have been fired over this fiasco, where there is clear evidence that the department was simply not functioning as intended…and I do not know that you can blame that totally on the previous administration….the Civil Service being what it is, the bane of every government.

What needs to be repeated often is that Barbadians do not have a problem with “immigration” per se, but we have a problem, as does every other country, with “ILLEGAL” immigration, and that we insist on our right as a sovereign nation to take measures to control it.

Barbadians have less of a problem with black Guyanese than with Indo-Guyanese, whether they are legal or illegal, since the black Guyanese easily integrate into our society. What hardens our hearts against the Indo-Guyanese is the knowledge that THEY DO NOT INTEGRATE, but remain clannish and aloof, simply using the society they invade for their own advancement, while harbouring a thinly disguised disdain for the hosts, and there is plenty of evidence to support this position.

We have to take measures now to prevent the development of an element which will surely in the long run result in the same level of racial disharmony that exists in Guyana and Trinidad.

But that is vision. I wish for George, in the pursuit of his doctorate, the ability not to confuse a group of trees with a forest.

47. mash up & buy back Avatar
    mash up & buy back

20 less to worry about

Check out the stores in swan street,roebuck street and tudor street.

Check out the racing pools,the cleaning companies and the strip clubs.

Check out the garrison savannah at nights.

Are you telling me that the immigration and the police don’t know about these places and about the tons of jamaicans and guyanese illegal women that are working there?

They better get serious about this deportation thing.

Bajans also need to pay attention to theft of these electronics items which these guyanese may wish to ship back to guyana when they leave.

48. So how does this European interact with Bajan blacks that leads you to this conclusion? I he doesn’t like blacks and is a friend of Owen, then Owen can’t be a lil black boy from rose hill in St. Peter

Wunnuh remember Philip Pile?

He is no longer with us i believe

But Wuh dis got tuh do with George-B-Candidated-fuh-uh=PhD???

49. mash up & buy back Avatar
    mash up & buy back

See wuh I tell wunna?

Here in today’s Sunday Sun you have Mia mottley again pushing this line that the DLP adminstration immigration policy is giving Barbados a bad name overseas.

I never,never,never,ever beleive that that BLP party could be so disloyal and wicked towrds their own country,and I wish nothing but the worse for all of them.

I hope David Thompson send all of them to jail like shite for the tiefing dat dey do.

Then again in the trinidad express you have ricky singh with the same shit as Mia.

So together these anti-bajans political and opportunistic whores and tiefs intend to sink barbados through promoting to the international world which we depend on for our tourists arrivals and to our caribbean partners – that Barbados is anti visitors.

This is very,very, serious and I hope thompson and those in the government sitting up and paying attention.

In yesterday’s Starbrok newspaper you had Jagdeo giving a veiled threat to Thompson saying that while barbados is alleging that they deporting these guyanese because of a drain on their social servies (which he disputes),then Barbados should also remember that they export to other caribbean countries (meaning Guyana).

So,in other words you send back my illegal people and I will stop buying your goods.

Now doesn’t that sound familiar?

Where did we hear this before?

Why where else but from the ‘honourable’ leader of the Opposition BLP – Mia Mottley.

Remember the day after Thompson announced the policy,Mottley did an interview with the media where she said that ‘Barbdos exports more to the region than we import and this immigration policy will affect our exports”.

Are these people – ricky singh,ralph gonsalves ,basdeo jagdeo,mia mottley,owen arthur working together?

You connect the dots,it is all there to see.

Why then is no one complaining about Antigua deporting the said guyanese and Jamicans by the hundreds?

Why is no one complaining about Jamaicans deporting the poor and destitute Haitians from Jamaica?

What about deportation from Grenada,Trinidad,St Lucia?

There is an ‘unholy alliance’ out there seeking to destabalise and destroy Barbados piece by piece,and say to say prominent bajan politicians are head and center in that move.

We have reached a nasty juncture in our history,where the citizens now have to boldly proclaim to the government:”Captain,there are traitors on board – examine their horns – and throw them overboard.”