inauguration2009_topimg4

“Free at last!  Free at last!  Thank God Almighty, we are free at last!” – Martin Luther King

BU joined many media sources during the last months to write extensively on Obama’s journey to the White House.  We will therefore not rehash views. We again extend our heartiest congratulations to the first African American President who will take the oath of office later to day. May his coming help the world to chart a new path.

1. Barnabus Collins,

Well said, yah vampiah. (suck,suck)

2. Barnabas Collins Avatar
    Barnabas Collins

@BP

Thanks…..I think

3. When I read all of the disparate and disparaging comments from presumably all hues, I am reminded of what the late, great Malcolm X said;- “There can be no black-white unity until there’s some black-black unity FIRST!” (emphasis mine) So true, is this not what Obama seeks too?

Like it or not, he’s there and he has an ENORMOUS task ahead of him, with or without us, the world, and/or USA.

See above link in my name for my take on the Inauguration…

4. There can only be black and white unity when we are no longer living under that great veil of LIES and DECEPTION. The same one that BaRat represents and is about to further perpetrate on a massive scale.

5. Still trying to wrap our heads around what might have been, McCain/Palin or Obama/Biden 🙂

6. There are 4 Blacks in Obama’s cabinet of 28 persons:
    Eric “Baje” Holder – Attorney General
    Lisa Jackson – Admin. of the Environ….
    Susan “Sweet pea” Rice – UN Ambassa.
    Ron “Real Black Person” Kirk -US Trad.

Now, this is “change”

7. Hopi,
    You sound like someone pushing Black nationalism.

Allow me to rephrase your sentance: There can only be Black/White unity when Blacks learn to unite and love themselves – first.

8. Find It Strange
    Are you playing your part in the unity & love you mentioned in your post?

9. @Georgie Porgie:

There is one thing stopping Christ from returning and that is ‘the whole world has not yet heard the gospel or better yet – there are still some people in this world who have never heard about Christ or His way of life. I believe that even tho’ all the other requirements for His return is in place, that one has yet to be established.

10. 199
    According to my “green back”, a sermon is any type of discourse delivered in publicUSUALLY with a scripture base

11. Ian Bourne
    Well said, Blacks biggest enemy are Blacks. If we would learn to unite, the world would have to recognise and respect us better. To me that is the message President Obama is sending. It’s now up to us blacks to bind together and be mentors to the other races to follow our example. Hard task but possible and it must start somewhere, let it be NOW.

12. @Find it strange…………Pleeze, don’t you dare try to speak for me. I don’t believe in Black nationalism. One of my greatest needs is for Melanin people to know themselves. And once they know themselves and love themselves they don’t have to worry about uniting with white people.The problem with us is that we are constantly fed on other peoples’ diet, that’s why we are so damn sick (literally and metaphorically). Just remove that VEIL of LIES AND DECEPTION in which re-LIE-gion is so interwoven.

13. Negro Man,
    Acutally, yes, I am.
    But to be honest, our actions sometimes makes it very difficult. You know, the “crabs-in-a-barrel syndrome”

14. Hopi,
    What is “knowing yourself?” How can we as a race “know ourselves”

Other races are “constantly fed on other people’s diet” yet they seem to thrive economically.

What is it that we as a people lack?

15. I also FIND It Strange that we as a people seem to be conditioned to waiting for a helping hand to kick start our own self- improvement.

It ain’t ever going to happen ( unless you’re given a weedwacker just prior to elections ).

The greatest incentive our government could offer the general electorate, in this time of economic collapse, is easy access to cheap credit, an easing of employment regulations and the same same tax holidays we so readily give to the tourism big boys..

At the moment, we do not seek self employment because it removes a perceived safety net.

If we set the entrepreneurs among us free, we might even surprise ourselves and be able to stand on our own two feet!

This may be too simple a remedy, and be sidelined as a threat to the same status quo who have engineered the crisis we are about to face.

If we cannot develop our own self-confidence then who will consider us worth their investment?

16. @Find it strange……We Black people are Spiritual beings trapped in this materialistic, delusional world/body. The day we realise this that’s when we’ll break the shackles of this illusion of power i.e. becoming the President of a stinking, filthy, corrupt whorehouse aka USA.

17. @Find It Strange……Obama ain’t fronting for the Kennedys. He’s the shill of the same forces that murdered Kennedy.

18. @Hopi: “He’s the shill of the same forces that murdered Kennedy.

Please present your evidence.

*OR*, is this *your* *opinion*?

(Sigh…)

19. @Chris Halsall……The same zionist bloodsucking banking mafia whose jugular he wanted to cut by getting rid of their fiat money and shutting down their federal reserves.
    (You can come up for air now) .

20. @Hopi: “(You can come up for air now) .

Thank you kind sir.

…you sound like what I imagine a US solder applying the “water board” treatment to (what was it?) enemy combatants might say…

Let me please take a few deep breaths… In. Out. In. Out…

Before I’m once again held under water, and being prevented from breathing (and speaking), let me please say…

I would note an error in your immediately above… In the written language, the period should generally be within the closing bracket.

As in, to your above, it should be written “(You can come up for air now.)

@All… Wink….

21. Straight talk // January 22, 2009 at 1:31 pm

I also FIND It Strange that we as a people seem to be conditioned to waiting for a helping hand to kick start our own self- improvement.

It ain’t ever going to happen ( unless you’re given a weedwacker just prior to elections ).

The greatest incentive our government could offer the general electorate, in this time of economic collapse, is easy access to cheap credit, an easing of employment regulations and the same same tax holidays we so readily give to the tourism big boys..

At the moment, we do not seek self employment because it removes a perceived safety net.

If we set the entrepreneurs among us free, we might even surprise ourselves and be able to stand on our own two feet!

This may be too simple a remedy, and be sidelined as a threat to the same status quo who have engineered the crisis we are about to face.

If we cannot develop our own self-confidence then who will consider us worth their investment?
    ———————————————–

I am humbled by your truth! lol

You couldn’t have had a better name!

22. Find It Strange
    It seems that you know all the answers.Tell mewhat is keeping us back.

It seems that everyone knows that Black peopele are the biggest enemies of black people,but ask those same critics what are some of the solutions,no one comes up with suitable answers.
    We must stop being so cynical with one another and recognise that the African race is the GREATEST RACE ON EARTH.All the other ethnic groups find their roots in the African race.With out Africa there will be no mankind.

23. GP

I notice that u disappear. Guys, time out here with GP.

I have a different take on that. Check Mark 1: 15; “And saying, The time is fulfilled, and the kingdom of God is at hand: repent ye, and believe the gospel.”

“The time is fulfilled” means that Christ has come and fulfilled the scriptures. He brought in a new period and a new teaching.

He warns: Believe in the Gospel; “repent”. Up until this time, the idea of a sinner repenting and entering into heaven was not the teaching. Christ brought this teaching, giving new hope to sinners.

In my estimation this is a warning to be ready because upon death, there will not be another chance. Hence, the Kingdom of God is at hand, repent, believe in the Gospel. It could happen any time.

This is differentiated from the second coming, since there were many more prophecies to be fulfilled, as we see 2000 years later and therefore cannot mean that the second coming is at hand.

This, therefore, refers not to the judgement day for the world but the judgement day of each and every individual, which happens upon the death of each individual. The Kingdom of God is at hand.

24. @Chris HasAll…..This neophyte is ready for punctuation 101.
    Since the bracket is part of the original sentence which I actually meant to include in that initial para, I think it should go outside, d’accord?

I too note an error in your ‘immediately above.’ N’est pas?

By the way, these hands are too precious to be involved in something so abhorrent

25. @Hopi

It is n’est-ce pas; not so?

26. Chris

SOS! call please.

27. @ROK: It is so amusing what some will call SOS over, isn’t it? [Wink]

28. @Hopi… It is obvious to me that you have never faced a serious human editor… Or a programmatic compiler of computer languages… Where anything except precision is rejected with prejudice…

So, accepting this, perhaps you might answer my question I directed to you on this very blog datestamped 2009.01.22@1528.

Please let me know if you’d like a fully qualified URL. To jog your memory, my message contained the following language:

“Please present your evidence. *OR*, is this *your* *opinion*?

29. Negroman,
    Firstly, you state that “the African race is the greatest race on earth”
    I will not debate this as you may have an edge on me in being privy to such esteemed persons (By the way, I’m Black like you)

There are a number of things that hamper us. To itemise each point is beyond the scope of this limited discussion. However, I will say this..we won’t go too far in espousing invective and hatred (ask Dr.,
    Sir Hilary Beckles).

Education has and continues to help, but skewed and misdirected learning will get us nowhere.
    We must use every opportunity we have to improve ourselves economically and spiritually.

30. Hopi,
    Stupse,
    stupse,
    And more stupse
    Stupseeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee

31. Find It Strange
    I suspect you are an anti-black black or token black who do not see much worth in black people.

Brother,please have pride in your race if indeed you are black.All the races on the earth have people who have done all type of injustice to other people.The murderous Europeans went all over the world and are still going all over the world and killing fellow human beings so as to steal the resources those people have.Example the Irag & Afganistan wars.The killing Europeans do not belittle and ridicule other Europeans for the carnage & destruction that wretch of a race has done on this earth.As a matter of fact those criminals try to justify their actions.
    Pol pot & the Khmer Rhouge in Cambodia slaughtered about 6 million people that part of the world & the Indians,Pakistanis & Sri Lankans are killing each other daily.I do not hear people like you commenting on those injustices.

If there are any negative occurrences in the Black race and some blacks get involve in nonsense people like you jump on the band wagon and ridicule and pull down blacks.

The African race never try to conquer another races and forced foreign practises on them like the killing Europeans.

32. @ROK…..oui monsieur! oui monsieur!

@CH……See “Final Judgement” by Michael Piper, “And The Truth Shall Set You Free” by David Icke pgs 254-274. Then you can youtube Eustace Mullins on the Federal Reserve. He’s labeled as anti-semitic for speaking the TRUTH just like the Palestinians who want their homeland back.

33. Negrman,
    I am not a token -black and I certainly have pride in my race. I unlike you, don’t believe being ladened with bags of hatred is the way to go.

There are no free lunches or handouts. No one owes us a living. We must use opportunities to improve our social lot. If that is your definition of being token-Black, you win.

Yes, the murderous Europeans went around enslaving Blacks. But did they do it on their own? We always omit that they got help from our own brothers.

And by the way, I am not pulling down our race, I am only relaying what is already known.
    Have I become your enemy because I tell you the truth?

Negroman, instead of stiring up cauldrons of malice, you would do a better job for your race if you can identify opportunities where we can invest and set up small businesses. This would be especially helpful in these times, since the prospect of future employment looks grim.

But then again, judging from your ranting and raving and apparently contricted IQ, I’m not sure if you would know where to start.

34. @Bonny Peppa…….At your age you should go easy on the stupsing ’cause you can quite easily suck dem two upper and lower diagonal k9s down ya craw. Might still be too young to be baring ya gums in de buff.

35. ROK
    You need to depart from “your take” on the Scripture, and learn to “rightly divide the word of truth” as stated in 2 Tim 2:15. You need to understand that no Scripture is of any private interpretation, but rather that Scripture interprets scripture.

Where in Scripture is it taught that there is a judgement day of each and every individual, which happens upon the death of each individual ? Where in Scripture is it taught that such a judgement day is connected to the concept of “The Kingdom of God is at hand?.”

John 5:28-29 clearly reveals that the judgement of individuals does NOT occur at death. We read
    Marvel not at this: for the hour is coming, in the which all that are in the graves shall hear his voice, And shall come forth; they that have done good, unto the resurrection of life; and they that have done evil, unto the resurrection of damnation.

Clearly Jesus taught that there are two general resurrections associated with two different outcomes, and occurring at two different times.

The two “Judgements” which will occur when the dead arise are:-
    A] for those who have done good [ by believing on God the Father who sent Jesus, after hearing Jesus’ word vs 24] there is the resurrection of [ or TO ] life
    B] for those who have done evil [ have not done the above] there is the resurrection of damnation to appear at the Great White Throne judgement to be sentenced to the lake of fire.

Whereas at death, there is no opportunity to again determine the resurrection and judgement at which one will appear, it is clear that judgement does not occur at death and has nothing at all to do with the concept of “The Kingdom of God is at hand.” In fact in John 5:24 teaches Verily, verily, I say unto you, He that heareth my word, and believeth on him that sent me, hath everlasting life, and shall not come into condemnation; but is passed from death unto life.

It is to be noted that in the Greek that a special pass tense is used for the verb “passed” indicating that this transaction is irreversible. So too note that the verb “hath” is in the present indicative-John’s favorite tense.

John 5.29 implies that there will be two resurrections. The first of these occurs at the rapture as indicated in the two major proof texts for this doctrine. Only the righteous dead will be raised at this time. Paul clearly states in 1 Cor 15:52 that we [believers] SHALL NOT ALL SLEEP though we shall all be changed. He corroborates this in 1 Thes 4:16 where he states that at the rapture the dead saints[the dead in Christ] will rise first and in 1Thes 4:14 he says that those which sleep in Jesus he will bring [away ] with him.

At the end of I Corinthians15 which is rightly called the “ Resurrection chapter ”. Paul partially erases the confusion that arises in many minds and corrects the error that is taught and thought with respect to the two resurrections mentioned by John in Jn5:29. The rest of the puzzle is of course given by John in Rev 20: 6&12 where it is clear that these two resurrections are separated by a period of 1007 years. [The combined period of the tribulation and the millenium ]. Since both of these resurrections occur in the period of the day of our Lord or the era of the second coming , this chapter is pivotal in that the relationship and importance of the resurrection to the second coming of Christ is clearly enunciated.
    Again, let us point out that John 5:24 and 29 teach that there will be two resurrections. These two resurrections will be separated by a period of at least 1007 years. The. wicked or unbelieving dead will be raised after the- millenium. The first resurrection concerns only the believing dead.

Many Bible scholars believe that “The Judgement Seat of Christ”, (The Bema) Rom. 14:10,2 Cor. 5:10) will occur soon after the rapture. The Greek word Bema which is translated Judgement Seat, referred to the place where the olympic judges awarded crowns to the winners. At the Bema, the believers works will be judged and rewards will be given – I Cor. 3:8-15.

The Judgement Seat of Christ must not be confused with the White Throne Judgement described in Rev. 20:11-15. You may compare and contrast these two important events by this simple table

JUDGEMENT SEAT OF CHRIST

– Only BELIEVERS present
    – Occurs immediately after the rapture
    – Determines rewards for Believers’ service

WHITE THRONE JUDGEMENT

Only UNBELIEVERS PRESENT
    Occurs at least 1007 years later, after the Millenium
    Determines amount of unbelievers’ Judgement.

36. Congrats to Bamma man. My man…

37. Find It Strange
    I think you are the one with the contricted IQ.
    If you had read many of my postings you will observe that I offerd suggestions on how we Blacks could improve our lot with out much dependency on the other races.

I have not read 1 positive idea coming from you on how we could progress as a people.

You are a windbag

38. Find it strange Avatar

Negroman,
    I have read some of your posts but not many. The reason being is that I am turned off by racial overtones (on both sides) which, in themselves offer no hope but fan the flames of hatred.

You have however, gronded your foundational point in error. That is, when you state that we can improve our lot without much dependency on other reaces.

If by “other races” you mean the Chinese or Indians, I agree. However, if you are referring to the White man, this is where I believe you have erred.

We need his money. He controls the banks. If you want to really progress, you have to borrow. It is at this juncture that we, as a race face our greatest challenge: The price of borrowing (If you are fortunate to get a loan – for “real money”)

Some other races are fortunate enough to have inherited “egg nests”. For the Black man, this is not usually so. The way forward is through education. This in itself is not enough as you only own your home after that 20 year (you can now go for 30) mortgage expires.

We as Black people MUST ensure that our children are educated – this is mandatory. But, Negroman, WE MUST ALSO BE INVOLVED IN BUSINESSES. This is what the other races have on us. They are the owners of capital.

HAVING A DEGREE IS FINE – BUT IT IS NOT ENOOUGH. WE MUST THINK BIG!

It takes TIME to progress up the Coporate and business ladders. However, there are always opportunites; we have to keep our ears to the ground, read, travel (if possible) and most of all – Let the Almighty have His way.

Yoiur friend, Find it strange

39. Hopi,
    Very funny. Ya mek bonny ‘skin she grins’.
    But how you know me age? You got one a dem computas? Ya lucky devil.

40. Find it strange // January 22, 2009 at 10:15 pm

Negroman,
    Firstly, you state that “the African race is the greatest race on earth”

Negroman, again hearty congratulations!! Not only have you made yourself look silly by your choice of name you’ve confirmed it by the above ridiculous remark!!

Congrats, bro. I think many people would have got a laugh from reading that one!!

41. It’s now up to us blacks to bind together and be mentors to the other races to follow our example.

Scout, now ur sounding almost, as ridiculous as Negroman!! A veritable, impossible dream, bro!! There’re far too, many reasons for disagreement and disunity for that ever to occur!! A virtual and practical impossiblity!!

The Scout // January 22, 2009 at 8:22 am

According to my “green back”, a sermon is any type of discourse delivered in publicUSUALLY with a scripture base

No doubt, your right on this one, Scout but, this is n’t a church!!

42. 199
    You nerd. I said USUALLY; do you understand englishor can you comprehend?

43. Scout, sorry bro!! Ugh c what yuh mean, now!! My ‘comprehension’ of Bajan ‘english’ is n’t what it used to be!!

Lord!!

44. According to Wikpedia, approximately 70 million people voted for Obama as opposed to the approximate 60 million for McCain

The vote according to race was as follows

Race
    Black 13% of populatio 95%
    Hispanic 9% of population 67%
    White 74% of populatiom 43%
    Asian 2% of population 62%
    Other 3% of population 66%

Clearly the desire for Obama and change was across the board

The feeling at the inauguration of about 2 million people was hard to describe by many who were there.

No one has any illusions as to incredible crisis the previous administration has left each and every american and citizen of the world.

All that has been left is HOPE and a well educated and gracious, youthful President who kept his head high and preached LOVE and respect for every citizen.

God bless him!!!

He has is work cut out for him but has already implemented strict conflict of interest behaviour among his staff and representatives.

He appears to be walking the walk.

45. ‘reality check’ or any other, why do you suppose he would have refused to mention Dr ML King in his Inauguration Speech!! To me, that act alone shows what he really is, which I believe you will all find out, in time, to your great amazement and disappointment, i.e. that he has more or only regard for his white and african ancestry! However, we West Indians like to fool ourselves that people really, like us, more than they do, if at all, they do!!

An UNFORGIVABLE, omission!!

I also, can’t recall seeing the Rev. Jesse Jackson or, Oprah Winfrey at his inauguration – you would think that they’d have front-row seats, would n’t you? Is this significant!! Did they realise, too late, what I’ve just enunciated!!

Some of you will say, “well, he’s married to an afro-american woman”, to which I respond, well, if I wanted to be Primeminister of Barbados and I required to marry a Barbadian, woman in order to become so, I would most certainly, do it, and unhesitatingly!!

As time goes on, he may well prove to have made a fool of many people, principally, afro caribbeans and afro americans! Time alone, will tell!!

46. @reality check…….’he appears to be walking…..’ Can you explain his nomination of Tim Geithner for Treasury Secratary and Bill Lynn for deputy defense secretary? Some real change, uh!

47. Oh my God—the knives are out already!

I don’t think it appropriate to micro manage everything the poor man does from day one. Continuity for some portfolios will be as important as change.

He will make mistakes but given what he has replaced I believe he can only inspire and do good.

Time will tell

48. @rc. ‘continuity is as good as change’ sounds like someone’s making an excuse, like listening to the man instead of the message. Only an Obama sheep could come up with such an excuse. THE ROAD TO HELL IS PAVED WITH GOOD INTENTIONS.

49. Barack Obama gone to Washington and start doing shite ALREADY.

50. Barack Obama gone to Washington and start doing shite ALREADY.

As you may know, our new president has already signed an executive order that will allow $40 million of our tax dollars to go to the UNFPA (U.N. Population Fund) to fund abortions worldwide. Now he and our congress want to also push through a law called FOCA (Freedom of Choice Act) that would allow abortions without parental notification, would make us pay for them with our tax dollars, plus force pro-life doctors and nurses to perform abortions.

If FOCA is passed, legal scholars agree that it would overturn the following current laws and controls on abortion:

38 states’ prohibitions on partial-birth abortion
    44 states’ laws governing parental involvement
    40 states’ laws significantly restricting late-term abortions
    46 states’ laws protecting an individual health care provider’s right to deny an abortion on grounds of conscience
    27 states’ conscience protection laws affecting institutions
    28 states’ laws requiring a mandatory waiting period before providing an abortion
    16 states’ laws mandating ultrasounds before an abortion
    33 states’ laws requiring counseling before an abortion
    All 50 states’ reporting requirements on abortion