Prime Minister of Barbados, David Thompson

A member of the BU family attended the recent Remembrance Day parade and was forced to asked the following questions:

• Who was the guy in the dark suit shadowing the Prime Minister at the Remembrance Day Parade ?
  • Why was he shadowing our leader secret service style?
  • Why were they sniper-like lookouts from the clock tower at the parade as seen in today’s nation newspaper?
  • Why was MP2 trailed by an unmarked vehicle when the PM left the parade?
  • Have they been a credible threat again the Prime Minister?
  • Have these enhanced security measures been used for former Prime Ministers?  If no, why now?

We hope that the BU family member is being paronoid and there is nothing which has happened in recent times to have threatened the security of our Prime Minister.

33 responses to “We Hope That All Is Well Mr. Prime Minister…”

1. This PM has always been one for flair. If it is vogue in the US, you could bet it would happen here. After the regime change event in Grenada, Tom Adams created the Barbados Defence Force a move that inspired to write his hit song “Government Boots”. The BDF is been a waste of money for every reason possible. But there will be no move to disband it by either party. These cowardly people that we set up as PM’s fear everything and everyone.

2. David,

I have been living the the USA now for the past 20 years and, and after 9/11 I was layoff and it was my first time back for independence after migrating to the USA. To make a long story short I attended the independence parade in Bay Street across from government head quarters where the MP received the salute, at the time the PM was Rt. Hon. Owen S. Arthur and I was amazed at the secret service type security he had as they were all surrounding him and even in the crowd in plain clothes keeping and eye on MP Arther. I even turned and asked my aunt why all these men in the crowed watching the Prime Minister like that and she turn and told me that they are the police and every where he go and have a crowed they be there.
    So to me it’s nothing new.

I want the BU family to pay very close attention to that so call special team (SSU) unit that was created under the Rt. Hon. Owen S. Arthur administration call the Task Force, I still believe that it was borne to create a police state in Barbados and as a scare tactic at the time of its birth. Such teams SSU should only be call out in to the public or less a special situation arrive where they man power is needed.

3. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

The BDF is a total waste of time and taxpayers money.

I can think of many projects that the money used to prop up the useless BDF could be used for.

What has Barbados gained over the years that it has had a “Defence Force”?

Absolutely nothing.

No wonder the Govt. has such a problem with money, wasting what little we have on a Defence Force.

Defence from what?

4. CCC, you ask defense from what other party, I am still surprise that OSA never used them against the people of Barbados. I once hear a rumour that they have been used on a few night time ventures.

5. There’s absolutely nothing wrong with any political leader in the Caribbean having full access to full security.

Why are we even discussing this?

6. Offa MY Prime-minister fa me.
    Find somebody else to blog ’bout.
    I too luvs he.
    Wunna hear?

How ya like ma?

7. Anon, beats the shit out of money after 9/11 i thought the whole world would have realised that we should be very cautious when dealing with our leaders.

8. JC you dont have to go back to 9/11. Remember Maurice Bishop, the 1990 attempted coup in Trinidad, crazy as Sydney Barlett Alleyne and the list goes on.
    Why would we have maximum security at the airport and seaport but leave our leader exposed to dangers?
    Why would be have protection of our property and our families yet expect that the same level of security is not afforded to a Prime Minister?

Now, it’s a totally different issue if we say that culturally we are not accustomed to such blatant displays of power and security around and about our leaders.
    This is a whole next nother ball game!

From Errol Barrow back down to Owen, there was always security but it was very discrete.

Now if there’s a departure from that type of discretion, then that’s a different discussion.

9. Has there been a change in security arrangements compared to past and if so what has prompted it. Does the public have the right to know?

10. If there is heightened security around the PM why would they let the public in? Wouldnt that defeat the purpose of heightened security?

11. It appears to be obvious anyway if we go by the report. In the USA don’t they tell the public if there is a threat?

12. Dr. Kevin Greenidge, Deputy Director, Research Department of the Central Bank of Barbados, is reported on page 8 of the Barbados Businesss Authority, Monday, November 10, 2008, as having said – at a recent panel discussion sponsored by the Barbados Institute of Banking and Finance Inc. in association with the Central Bank of Barbados, on Turmoil in World Financial Markets: What does It Mean For Barbados? – that Barbados’ strong foreign reserves is an important factor in Barbados having the resilience to survive a world recession at this stage.

Dr. Greendige is reported as having said: “Barbados today is in a different position than it was in 1991. All recessions are NOT created equal ….. In 1991 when Barbados into recession it was generated from within. We had a high fiscal position…… We almost had no foreign treserves in the Central Bank of Barbados…….Government budget is in the oppopsite direction (compard to 1991). It has been under 3 per cent for a long time which means you can well accomodate a more expansionary position to weather the storm…. We have the resources and resilience, I believe. Even if we were to slip into 2008/09 into negative territory, we’d be in a position to come out very quickly once the economy picks up”.

What a stink of a cocktail of fact and fiction coming from one who has such a senior position at the Central Bank of Barbados. And, do NOT talk about the stench that he must have left at that panel discussion through his use of ordinary pedestrain conservative thinking concerning our very disgusting so-called economic state of affairs.

Anyhow, here are some considerations for Dr. Greenidge: –

1) The fact is that Barbados is already in recession. No two doubts about it. Yes, we will survive this recession just as we did in 1991/2 and 2001/2. But the fact is that no amount of economic and financial statistics used by Dr. Greenidge or even us – the PDC – to support our arguments about how the so-called economy is performing will be enough to ease the pain and stress that the vast majority of the masses and middle classes are presently going through at this time of severe recession;

2) The fact is that for the three quarters so far for this year the rate of so-called economic growth put out by the Central Bank is 1.7 % rate, whereas for the corresponding three quarters last year, it was reported by the same Central Bank of Barbados to have been 3.5%. A very staggering decline, indeed, even when our foreign reserves continue to remain relatively high!! These statistics help to show that we are in recession. And dont talk about the fact that today in many local supermakets, stores, bars and restaurants, streets, etc, you can actually see the recession in action, Dr. Greenidge!!;

3) In 1990/1, the fiscal deficit was BDS $ 248 million. In 1991/2, it was BDS $ 54 million. In 2006/7, it was a staggering BDS $ 307 million. If one talks about Government’s off-budget deficit, at the moment, Dr. Greendige, it will be far worse when you consider financing for the many government capital projects like the new Halls of Justice, the ABC expansion project;

4) The fact is that government borrowing has so tremendously increased over the last 15 years or so, that no doubt the more efficient private sector is being prevented by government from accessing and using greater bank and credit union funding for many of its own projects, and therefore from being able to help drive the so-called economy more and more. In 1991, Government of Barbados Treasury Bills were held by institutional holders to a tune of BDS $ 497 million. At 2007, Government Treasury Bills were held by institutional holders to a tune of BDS $ 690 million. Where Government Debentures are concerned, in 1991 institutional holders held BDS $ 37 million, and in 2007, the amount was BDS $ 101 million;

5) In the regard of currency held by the public as a percentage of the money supply, in 1991, it was 32.5 %, whereas in May, 2008, it has dropped significantly to 12.9. This money is what helps to turn over business activity in the country; and,

6) In 1991, retained imports for consumer, intermediate and capital goods were BDS $ 1.2 billion, in 2007, almost BDS $ 3 billion. In 1992, the current account of the Balance of Payments was a BDS $ 286 million surplus, in 2006, it had deteriorated to a deficit of BDS $ 664 million. So where is the foreign currency inflow value being derived from, given these tremendous leakages?? Have it been adversely affected with the current global recession??

So, Dr. Greenidge, the fact is that in some regards we are worst off now than in 1991/2, even though we are better off now in some other regards than then. And, the fact is that many of us in Barbados must no longer use foreign reserves as a basis for measuring the level of business and commercial activity in the country, and any movements down or up within that context.

N.B. Statistics taken from the August 2008 Economic and Financial Statistics of the Central Bank of Barbados, and from the 2007 Annual Statistical Digest of the Central Bank of Barbados.

13. Be very careful how these thing are advocated. 9/11 happened 7 yrs ago and our P.M’s before and after have been walking around this country with security but not that visible. Is this another Hartley Henry ploy? Stop playing games with bajan culture. Soon all M.P’s and in particular ministers and their families will ask for greater protection, then this would hamper potential candidates from coming forward. Can this country afford such publicity and expense?

14. How you all get 9/11 in this discussion I was just using 9/11 to get to my point and how I end up visiting Barbados for Independence, so please take your time and read and stop running off at the mouth before thinking.

Yes we all love our PM including me. Now can I have some discussion about this SSU team the Task Force.

15. A Bajan in N.Y.
    You know I’m from a third world country and therefore not as inteelgent as you N.Yers, therefore forgive me. If you had read my post, I was indicating that because the USA beefed up their security, we didn’t have to copy. Our P.M political adviser is in some way involved in the USA compaign but he doesn’t have to import the american standard here wholesale. Maybe you can read but not comprehend or you don’t know of bajan politics.

16. The SSU/Task force is exactly what it says, if there is a special case of violence, disturbance, drug hauls etc, also special events of national security.

17. I agree totally anon

18. A Bajan in New York
    I don’t see what all the fuss is about. The world has changed and there is nothing wrong with the PM having a beefed up security detail. There are many sick people out there. This is 2008 not 1968. You are reading to much into the situation. Correct me if I am wrong but I think the police unit you are referring to is the RRU (Rapid Response Unit). It serves its purpose. You should not be paranoid to think that it was set up to be used against the general populace. It was done so to suppress the criminal element who believe they can put fear in the police and the general population.I believe that if Barbados is to maintain a modicum of stabilty a unit like this must exist.

19. TH, the blasted mock Scout who probably don’t even know where Hazelwood are fail to admit that the beef up PM security detail started with the Rt. Hon. Owen S. Arthur administration and NOT with the Rt. Hon. David Thompson.

20. You Yankee tout, go check McCain. What do you know about us here in B’dos? Yes, ALL P.M’s have security but not the type that the present P.M is having. Maybe you will be better off sticking to your american stupid attitude, that’s why you need so many sharp shooters. With such a dumb “—” like your PALING, no wonder you judge us the same way. You stay away from this little rock for too long.

21. I’m just curious.
    Does anyone read what The People Democratic Congress writes?
    I personally scroll right to the end of his comments

22. I don’t know about Owen having all this security are we talking about OSA who used to be in everybody rumshop and the supermarket doing his own shopping I highly doubt that, this man lived in a simple house in West Terrace not at Illaro didn’t he.

23. I want the BU family to pay very close attention to that so call special team (SSU) unit that was created under the Rt. Hon. Owen S. Arthur administration call the Task Force, I still believe that it was borne to create a police state in Barbados and as a scare tactic at the time of its birth

TRUE ! TRUE ! TRUE !

24. Carson C. Cadogan // November 11, 2008 at 7:29 pm

The BDF is a total waste of time and taxpayers money.

TRUE! TRUE! TRUE !

25. @ WTF

You better read wha PDC say yuh! One day he and David Commissiong goin be running Bim.

He does mek a lotta sense to me.
    Dont dismiss him.

26. WTF,
    I got to agree wid you ’bout the People’s Democratic Congress comments. I scroll down too. And all de other blogs dat 2 miles long. Get to de point man and don’t mek it sa boring.
    Scout,
    I admit publicly on BU of my luvs fa you but you like you don’t like my PM, so I tekkin’ back my luvs from you and giving it to Anonymous. (smooches) Ya had me ‘crackin up’ when ya refer to the person as a Yankee tout. I don’ know when last I hear dat word or ‘wobean’. All is slang fa ‘hoes’ anyway. Keep sweet Scout.
    How ya like ma?

27. I doan know why wunna does have to cuss one another all de time. A Bajan in NY you attacked Scout first. I gine mek sure I on Scout side before he call me a Yankee tout too. Only thing is that I does be on de rock all de time.

28. I never blow nah buildings in Newy York, I think the world know that now and understand why it happened and who actually cause it to happen. But I will tell you that I got my eyes on Lord Nelson Statue so you should put some Special Forces units roun’ he. Allah be Praised!

29. Tony Hall,
    Ya had me ‘crying’. You siding wid Scout so dat he won’t call you a tout too. Dat is a classic.

Osama bon Laden,
    Boy, I luvs dis name. You realllllll funny too. De Special Forces would be all Guyanese, I hope. If ya can’t get rid a dem one way, ya get rid a dem a nudda. Poof! Dem an Nelson…….GONE FA EVVA.
    How ya likes ma?

30. […] Click Here For More on Barbados Underground […]

31. A BAJAN IN FLORIDA Avatar
    A BAJAN IN FLORIDA

Prime Minister David Thompson, said he would welcome ideas from returned Bajans. I was a Bajan who returned and worked at the QEH for couple of months. No one there wanted my ideas. I was told by some Bajans, Guyanese (married to Bajan), etal to go back where I came from, I want to come and change things ’round there, and I took away people jobs.
    For the period being employed there I went above and beyond never did I cheated the Government by taking three hour lunches or arriving at 8:00 a.m to show my face, left and returned at 3:00 p.m., because I of another part-time job.

Neither did I or would I work two jobs for one pay in order to become a full-time employee of the QEH.

32. @ Bajan in Florida

Welcome to Barbados!

33. BU, that is the same programme as was for Sandiford and Arthur.