image-thumb.pngWe have accepted the suggestion from a BU family member to facilitate discussion on medical matters which is a topic area that should interest us all. Based on exchanges with and between BU family members posted over time, many of you work in the medical field or possess information on various medical issues acquired based on personal circumstance or otherwise. Medical Corner seeks to encourage ANYONE to submit views on medical experiences, new developments in the industry or any related matter which readers feel can serve to educate the BU family.

New Page Added

348 responses to “Medical Corner”

1. A Guy¡¯s View: Red meat causes cancer

By R.E. Guyson Mayers

¡°There are those who would misteach us that to stick in a rut is consistency, and a virtue, and that to climb out of the rut is inconsistency, and a vice.¡± Mark Twain
    The International Agency for Research on Cancer in Lyon, France, an agency of the World Health Organisation, recently produced a report which links red meat to cancer. Of grave concern to me is that this is not headline news in Barbados.
    Not surprisingly, before the report had been formally released, the meat industry in America was quick to try to denounce it. Their spokesperson was so confident that her criticism of the report was to simply say, with a smile, that red meat does not cause cancer.
    The findings of this report were not casually compiled. Twenty two scientists looked at over 800 studies and came to the conclusion that processed meat and red meat are linked to cancer. The meat link to cancer is so strong that the scientists place meat products in the same category as smoking and asbestos as causes of cancer.

2. Thanks David.

Hope Dr. Georgie Porgie will offer his opinion.

3. Serious business Hants.

4. [caption id="attachment_50027" align="aligncenter" width="610"]Stones_Cover Click image to follow presentation on Renal Stones[/caption]

5. [caption id="attachment_50343" align="aligncenter" width="539"]Drugs Click to view presentation about drugs – Credit to Dr. GP[/caption]

6. An important link for the men. How to clean the penis.

http://www.gq-magazine.co.uk/article/penis-health-size-shape-advice

7. @Hants

Is there something you want to confide in the gang?

You are a grandfather or something?

8. @ David,

I posted the article because Barbados has a serious Diabetes problem.

Maybe Dr. Georgie Porgie can offer his opinion as to the credibility of the results of the study.

9. Not sure if there is merit in the message. At least it is good for a laugh.

Smelling Farts Could Work Wonders For Your Health, Says Science

By: Jason Nawara 05.03.16 •  4 Comments

fart-smelling-is-good

Shutterstock

It turns out you were doing your friend a favor when you cupped your hand to your butt, farted, then swiped it into their face. Same with all those times you crop dusted (the act of farting and walking at the same time thus spreading the scent over an expansive area) an unsuspecting crowd at the supermarket. According to a study, the smell of farts, or hydrogen sulfide, can have some incredible health benefits.

The study emanating from Devon, England, states that not only does farting help the farter live longer, but the smell of the farts can quell dementia. In addition to helping people remember your farting around them when they were younger, smelling farts could help with heart disease, diabetes, and even arthritis. The stinkier the better. The scientists say the risk of  cancer, heart attacks, and strokes can be reduced by simply farting.

This is thanks to the ecosystem in our bowels. When you fart, you’re helping yourself out:

“When cells become stressed by disease, they draw in enzymes to generate minute quantities of hydrogen sulfide.

This keeps the mitochondria ticking over and allows cells to live. If this doesn’t happen, the cells die and lose the ability to regulate survival and control inflammation.

Researcher Dr. Mark Wood gives the key quote for you to repeat to anyone in the vicinity of your gas passing (if they have a problem with it ((they shouldn’t if they keep up on their #Science)):

“Although hydrogen sulfide is well known as a pungent, foul-smelling gas in rotten eggs and flatulence, it is naturally produced in the body and could in fact be a healthcare hero with significant implications for future therapies for a variety of diseases.”

This stuff should be bottled.

10. “Government may be turning to offshore medical schools on the island to remedy the problem of providing internships for the large number of medical students graduating from the University of the West Indies (UWI).

Minister of Health John Boyce has disclosed that talks would be held tomorrow with the Barbados Medical Council and other key organizations on the possible training of interns at medical schools.”

http://www.barbadostoday.bb/2016/06/19/offshore-solution-for-medical-internship/

11. @Hants

This is bound to piss off Dr. GP.

12. Georgie Porgie Avatar

RE Government may be turning to offshore medical schools on the island to remedy the problem of providing internships for the large number of medical students graduating from the University of the West Indies (UWI).
    IS JOHN BOYCE JUST A CLOWN, OR IS HE A WHOLE CIRCUS? UNLESS HE MEANS THAT THE OFFSHORE SCHOOLS WILL PAY THE SALARIES OF THE INTERNS WHO CAN NOT GET A JOB, BECAUSE OUR INCOMPETNT GOVERNMENT IS INVOLVED IN TRAINING MORE MEDICAL STUDENTS THAN THERE ARE PLACES FOR THM TO DO THEIR INTERNSHIP ON GRAUATION.
    CERTAINLY HE KNOWS THAT MOST BOGUS OFFSHORE SCHOOLS CAN NOT NOW FIND PLACES FOR THEIR STUDENTS TO EVEN DO THEIR CLINICAL ROTATIONS, AND THEY WILL FIND INTERNSHIPS “for the large number of medical students graduating from the University of the West Indies (UWI).
    DID JOHN BOYCE WIPE HIS MOUTH AFTER TALKING THE SHIT THAT HE DID?
    Minister of Health John Boyce has disclosed that talks would be held tomorrow with the Barbados Medical Council and other key organizations on the possible training of interns at medical schools.
    THE COUNCIL WILL MOST LIKELY TEACH THIS NUISANCE THAT INTERNS ARE NOT TRAINED AT MEDICAL SCHOLS. INTERNS RECEIVE THEIR INTERNSHIP TRAINING AT TEACHING HOSPITALS.
    “One of the challenges recently confronting the Ministry of Health is an increasing demand that outstrips the placements for new interns.
    THIS IS NOT RECENT MR JACKASS, THIS HAS BEEN A PROBLEM FOR AGES
    “We’ve had unfortunately to leave interns out over the last couple of years out of the persons who have graduated with their MBBS [Bachelors in medicine or surgery], and this is an unfortunate circumstance, which I know as a Government and I believe as a Minister we must correct.
    AGAIN ………THIS IS NOT RECENT MR JACKASS, THIS HAS BEEN A PROBLEM FOR AGES
    “It is our aim to work with these stakeholders, come Monday morning, and try to correct this situation.
    ONCE MORE……..THIS IS NOT RECENT MR JACKASS, THIS HAS BEEN A PROBLEM FOR AGES

However, he was hopeful that a solution was in sight, revealing that Barbados had been approached by at least five offshore medical schools seeking to locate and develop training for undergraduates in the field of medicine over the last five years.
    JACK ASS JOHN DO YOU KNOW THAT MOST OFFSHORE MEDICAL SCHOOLS CANNOT FIND SPOTS FOR THEIR STUDENTS TO DO THEIR CLINICAL ROTATIONS.
    JACK ASS JOHN DO YOU KNOW THAT AFTER GRADUATION THAT THEIR STUDENTS HAVE TO SEEK RESIDENCIES ON THEIR OWN, AND ARE FINDING INCREASING DIFFICULTIS IN DOING SO.
    JACK ASS JOHN DID THE FIVE OFFSHORE SCHOOLS TELL YOU THAT THY WILL BUILD AND STAFF TEACHING HOSPITALS TO FIND SPACE FOR OUR INTERNS? AFTER ALL THEY CANT FIND SPOTS FOR CLINICAL ROTATIONS FOR THEIR STUDENTS AND DO NOT CARE NOR CAN THEY CONTROL HOW/IF THEIR STUDENTS CAN MATCH FOR A RESIDENCY?I
    Boyce assured that any action taken would be in the best interest of the students and the country.
    JOHN WE ARE VERY SURE THAT YOU HOPE TO LINE YOUR POCKETS BY THIS ACTION, AND THAT IT WILL NOT BENEFIT OUR STUDENTS OR OUR COUNTRY
    “Any system developed must be based on collaboration with the Ministry of Education, respect for our national laws and allow both nationals and non- nationals alike the opportunity to fulfill their internships”.
    THIS IS ANOTHER EXAMPLE OF WHAT WE CALL LONG TALK JOHN
    THIS IS ANOTHER LOAD OF BOVINE EXCREMENT

13. @ David it is my job to be an unpaid agent provocateur on BU. lol

14. Georgie Porgie Avatar

DONT JUST BE A PROVOCATEUR TRY ALSO TO UNDERSTAND THE ISSUES

OF COURSE THE BU ILLUMINATI DONT SEE THIS AS IMPORTANT

15. @GP

Let us see how the Minister Boyce and PS Springer are advised by the Council and other technocrats tomorrow.

16. So what Georgie is saying is that government should put a cap per year on the number of students pursuing to become a doctor. What ever way you go, someone will not be happy.

17. Whatever you think, there is a standard doctor to patient ratio through out the Caribbean. This was established to allow the doctors the opportunity to complete their training.
    This policy was not implemented recently but years ago.

The Universities do not inform the new candidates that there is a possibility that not all successful graduates will secure a job, in the weat indies and beyond. It is just a matter of making money with no cincern for them.

18. @GP

Many are reading from BT.

19. Georgie Porgie Avatar

NO KEVIN. I DID NOT SAY THAT that government should put a cap per year on the number of students pursuing to become a doctor…BUT IF GOVERNMENT ALLOWS THE UWI TO ADMIT 40 BAJANS THEY OUGHT TO BE ABLE TO OFFER AN INTERN SPOT FOR EACH OF THE GRADUATES

WHAT EVER GOVERNMENT DOES IN THIS REGARD IS A MATTER FOR EDUCATION AND HEALTH DEPARTMENTS. IT IS NOT THE BUSINESS OF BOGUS OFFSHORE MEDICAL SCHOOLS

WE HAVE OUR SYSTEM OF TRAINING OUR PEOPLE UP TO MBBS AND PROVIDING INTERNSHIPS FOR THEM. THIS HAS WORKED REASONABLY WELL UNTIL RECENT TIMES WHEN WE TRAIN AN EXCESS OF STUDENTS

THE BOGUS MEDICAL SCHOOLS IN THE ISLANDS BRING STUDENTS TO THE ISLANDS FOR TWO YEARS TO DO THE BASIC SCIENCE PHASE OF THEIR TRAINING

THESE STUDENTS THEN RETURN TO THE USA TO DO TH USMLE STEP 1 EXAM.
    IF THEY PASS THIS EXAM THE STUDENTS ARE ALLOWED TO DO THEIR CLINICAL ROTATIONS IN THE USA IF THEY CAN FIND HOSPITALS THAT WILL ACCEPT THEIR STUDENTS

THE PROBLEM——-WHICH IS ESCALATING- IS THAT THESE BOGUS OFFSHORE MEDICAL SCHOOLS ARE FINDING IT MORE AND MORE DIFFICULT TO FIND CLINICAL SPOTS FOR THEIR STUDENTS. THIS INCLUDES THE BOGUS SCHOOL IN SILVER SANDS

THIS MEAN THAT IT IS MORE DIFFICULT FOR THEIR STUDENTS TO GET THEIR CLINICAL TRAINING AND BECOME DOCTORS.

THIS DOES NOT EVEN TAKE INTO CONSIDERATION THAT THEY ARE UNABLE TO GET A RESIDENCY– THE FINAL STAGE IN THEIR TRAINING

HOW ON EARTH CAN BOGUS OFFSHORE SCHOOLS TRAIN OUR STUDENTS TO BE INTERNS?WHERE WILL THEY DO THIS? BOGUS OFFSHORE SCHOOLS DO NOT OWN HOSPITALS ANY WHERE?

SINCE WE DONT HAVE ROOM FOR OUR INTERNS HOW WILL THEY TRAIN OUR STUDENTS IN OUR HOSPITAL.

THE BEST THEY CAN DO IS PAY THE SALARIES OF OUR INTERNS SO THAT QEH CAN CREATE MORE SPOTS FOR OUR INTERNS.

BUT WE CANT LET THEM GET INVOLVED OR COMPROMISE OUR TRAINING PROGRAMS BECAUSE OUR SYSTEM IS DIFFERENT

20. @ GP
    Boss, as long as someone from overseas …with an accent makes a suggestion …our ministers run to the Press to announce some shiite ‘initiative’ or the other.
    Just recently he was looking to build a brand new hospital…..
    Why would Boyce not first meet with local medical leaders BEFORE shooting off his big-ass mouth?

Steupsss… supposedly he HAD to give a speech somewhere and had nothing else to say…especially about baloney….
    Bushie knew he was useless when government sat back and allowed King and company to sell Banks Holdings. Beer is the one thing that Boyce knows …and he messed up there… and it is his big brother that understands medicine….

21. There is an obvious reason. We live in a time where it is about retail politics and winning elections.

On Mon, Jun 20, 2016 at 3:04 AM, Barbados Underground wrote:

22. Georgie Porgie Avatar

Actually Boyce failed his brewing exams.
    Ask him who gave the vacation job at Banks
    Ask him who proposed that Banks give him the scholarship to St Augustine
    Ask him if he did not prohibit this same man the use of the Banks van that that man used for years before Boyce came back from Trinidad to do all sorts of good for many poor people.
    When Banks fired him not a single rose in the attempt to ask for his retention.

23. @ GP
    Bushie never said he knew about brewing
    …he knows about beer.

24. Georgie Porgie Avatar

lol you mean drinking it? lol

25. @ GP

Continuing on with how to possibly set up a Seminar corner like that seen using the plugin https://wordpress.org/plugins/wp-webinarsystem/

Again how that part of the BU site would be administered would be for BU Management to decide.

I does not even have to be a BU subdomain but an affiliate site.

I dont know but the thing that BU would have to consider is if it can detract from the BU reputational currency if something goes wacky.

Of course it will mean that we cant cuss the invitees or the ignoramuses that pose ingrunt questions but it is a thing of patience and decorum

As I was saying there earlier all you have to do is purchase, get a Geek set up and then Point the Go Pro Camera, make sure that it is plugged in and turn it on

When you are finished turn it off,

you are not expected to be a Stephen Speilberg so how it looks in sequences is not going to be held against you by most people lololol

Go to Best Buy and get their Geek service set up the camera for you

http://www.bestbuy.com/site/gopro-hero4-silver-action-camera-silver/8374096.p?id=1219329115702&skuId=8374096

Sit down with your powerpoints or notes and talk through each sheet and start them short 5 minutes on 5 minute items

26. HEART AND STROKE CRISIS.

A top pharmacologist warns Barbados faces crisis of heart attacks and strokes.

27. @Hants

Scary eh?

28. What is scary David?
    How many babies are born every day? Steupsss…
    Brass bowls expect to live forever?
    ..if it is not heart attack or stroke it will be cancer or some other shiite.

The point is that this life is a TEMPORARY, FLEETING, opportunity… at finding the keys to real success….
    In this modern age of information and knowledge, if after age 35 or so, (anything else is gravy) ….anyone is as clueless as most of us ADMITTEDLY are, why do we want hang around taking up valuable resources? …Recycle and give someone else a chance do!!! 🙂

Bushie pities all those who seek to hold on to this shiite life – as if it is some prize, …when it is merely a TESTING, difficult, fleeting opportunity for real life…. set in a cauldron of sorrow, pain and suffering … especially with the damn DLP and the blasted BLP…
    …and now the hidden “Solutions”…

Let the people die in peace do….

29. Looking at the video, I’m struck by the number of fat schoolgirls. In my day, nearly everybody was THIN, at least until they hit their thirties.

We have a generation of pigs to deal with. Imagine the number of heart attacks and strokes in 2050.

30. Click to follow presentation by Dr. GP (PDF)

31. Sugar Dangers for Diabetes

Health-Conscious Reader,

If cutting down on sugar wasn’t one of your 2017 resolutions, let me convince you to put it on your list. It’s never too late to recognize that the sweet stuff isn’t sweet at all.

Sickeningly sweet

Diabetes and obesity are dreadful conditions in themselves. But as they so often open the door to so many additional health threats, they’re also warm-up acts for heart disease, stroke, kidney disease, immune system breakdown, neurodegenerative disease, and cancer.

The danger’s not just in the ubiquitous, snowy-white, granulated and powdered stuff we put in coffee, tea, baked goods, breakfast cereal, jellies, jams, marinades, sauces, and condiments like ketchup (which is essentially tomato syrup)…it’s an endless list.

It’s also every syrup, except maple—corn syrup, brown rice syrup, fruit syrup, etc. Maple is an exception because absent tampering, it’s a natural substance with some nutrient content. But even maple must be used sparingly, and only if it’s Grade B and organic. (Sorry, New Englanders, Canadians, and burger lovers.)

Don’t be fooled by fruit juice

Even all those friendly, seemingly healthy fruit and veggie drinks are devils in disguise. Yes, whole fruits and vegetables are an essential part of a healthy diet. Their skin, seeds, and flesh are loaded with vitamins, minerals, antioxidants, healthy fiber, and a zillion other nutrients.

But if you squeeze out the juice and toss the rest, all you get is a great-tasting drink that’s loaded with sugar. Yes, it’s “naturally occurring” sugar. But it’s just as dangerous as refined sugar. Boil that juice down and you’ve got…syrup.

UK researchers found that people who had a daily glass of juice had significantly higher aortic blood pressure than a control group—a condition that can increase the risk of heart attack or angina, and is associated with cardiovascular disease risk and cognitive impairment.

Is there an acceptable amount of daily sugar? WHO says what?

The World Health Organisation (WHO) recognizes the role sugar plays in disease incidence worldwide.

Their recommendation?

Consume no more than six teaspoons of sugar, in any form, daily.

But wait. A single 8-ounce cup of fresh orange juice puts us over the limit, with the equivalent of seven teaspoons of sugar. Add to that all the other omnipresent sugars we consume as we drink and dine from day to night, and there’s nothing but trouble ahead.

Big Food and Big Agri pile on

High-fructose corn syrup (HFC), a mix of of modified chemical components of sugar, was delivered from Big Food labs to our dining tables in the 1970s.

In 1999, annual sales had reached more than 150 pounds of HFC per person.

Funny thing…obesity and diabetes skyrocketed right along with HFC sales.

So why did HFC become such a common part of the American diet?

Because a combination of tariffs on imported sugar and subsidies for US corn producers makes HFC cheaper, and guess what—more profitable—than every other form of sugar.

What about “sugar-free,” “no added sugar,” and sugar substitutes?

Guess who makes aspartame, the disease-causing sugar substitute found in more than 9,000 foods and other products, like toothpaste and makeup?

Our Big Pharma / Big Food nemesis, Monsanto, maker and relentless marketer of deadly pesticides, herbicides, and genetically modified crops, which it coerces our corn farmers to use, along with other “innovations” that wreak havoc.

Do not consume anything that contains aspartame, which is sold as NutraSweet, Spoonful, Equal, and other trade names.

It’s technically a neurotoxin, linked to (so far):
    Cardiovascular disease
    Stroke
    Alzheimer’s disease
    Obesity
    Migraines
    Seizures
    Vision loss
    Lupus
    Parkinson’s disease
    Multiple sclerosis
    And while you’re at it, you’ll want to avoid all of these FDA-approved sweeteners:
    Acesulfame Potassium (Acesulfame K)
    Advantame
    Neotame
    Saccharin
    Sucralose
    How to escape the sugar jungle

The shelves are piled high with sugars.

Your most important escape route is to escape the shelves. Eat only local, fresh, and organic—multiple daily doses of fruits and veggies give you all the natural sugars your body needs. And, of course, you get all the vitamins, minerals, antioxidants, and other essential nutrients that get stripped away between the natural source and the shelves.

When you must resort to “store-bought,” read the labels. Stay away from any ingredient that ends with “-ose”—fructose, glucose, sucrose. Stay away from any ingredients labeled “modified” and any that say “preservative.”

Count the carbs. If the carbs are high, that’s a sure sign of sugar. (If you subtract “dietary fiber” from “total carbohydrates”, you’ll have a good idea of the simple carbohydrates.) Find a different provider of what you want—there might be an enlightened producer who gets the carb count right.

Take your honey out to eat. Pure, raw, organic honey isn’t just delicious. It’s one of nature’s most versatile and potent health givers—so rich in macronutrients, micronutrients, enzymes, probiotics, and prebiotics that we haven’t even figured out exactly how they all work.

We do know it was used by our forebears as both a sweetener and a medicinal ingredient for centuries. There are 8,000-year-old cave paintings in Spain that prove it.

That means today, our bodies are far readier to work with honey than with the chemical shocks delivered by non-natural sweeteners.

Still…moderation, my friends. A little goes a long way.

Stick with Stevia, a plant originally grown in Brazil and Paraguay, where it’s been used as a sweetener for centuries. The Stevia extract we can buy is 200–300 times sweeter than white table sugar. Like honey, a little goes a long way, which is how you should use it—in moderation.

By the way, some weight loss programs recommend Stevia because it has no calories, but it’s not the way to lose weight. There’s emerging science that your pancreas’ insulin reaction is triggered by the taste of sweetness, not just spiking blood sugar. Repeatedly triggering that false alarm is one possible road to reduced insulin sensitivity, which is the step before Type II diabetes.

Megabucks and misery are at stake

The US Centers for Disease Control (CDC) estimate that diabetes and obesity alone cost the US economy a billion dollars a day.

A billion dollars.

A day.

Banishing sugar from our diets is not just about protecting our personal health, and not just about helping millions of our fellow Americans banish the heartbreak and misery of devilish diseases, caused by devilish, unnatural interventions.

If just those two preventable diseases—diabetes and obesity—cost the US $365 billion a year, without counting the costs of heart disease, cancer, and other heavy hitters, I see it as almost my patriotic and community duty to fight back.

So let’s start with ourselves

Let’s not kid ourselves that banishing sugar and toxic sugar wannabes and imposters will be easy. It’s everywhere, in various disguises, often barely recognizable.

Just remember that when you eat lots of fresh fruits and veggies—an essential part of every diet—you get all the natural sugar you need, and loads of essential other nutrients.

So, start with baby steps. Maybe go for some fruit instead of dessert after dinner. Instead of sugar, or worse, fake sugar in your morning tea or coffee, add just a drop or two of honey or grade B organic maple syrup.

Be vigilant, be committed, be careful, and the term “sugar-free” can someday apply to a healthier you.

32. Click on the link to view presentation in PDF format

33. David

Thanks for the pharmacogenetic link as it shows beyond a shadow of a doubt that ones melanin content cannot be used as the sole arbiter of ones genetic construct.

34. You should thank Dr.GP Vincent.

35. David

Stand corrected

Thanks

36. The huge numbers that continue to participate in the cancer awareness walks in Barbados has nothing to do with the kindness of Bajans per se but the fact that cancer suffering is so prevalent. Everyone has been touched by thethe cancer scourge.

37. David

Too true…..prostate diagnosis takes about a year……which is why I would love to see our medical system catering to this area with greater urgency.

What is UWI research doing in this area?

38. @ Vincent Haynes,

if you can afford a computer you can pay Jerry Emptage to stick a finger up yuh backside and let you know if you are at risk.

http://www.barbadosurology.com/

39. Vincent
    Why should prostate diagnosis take a year?
    It does not take a year for a doctor to do a rectal exam.
    It should not take that long to get the results for the PSA TEST from any of the medical labs in Bim.
    BU has uploaded detailed ppts on prostate disease – perhaps before you joined.
    Perhaps David will put up the links here.
    What research should UWI do here?

Many men over 80 have prostate cancer in a very low grade form. They are more likely to die from exposure to a sexy chick.

Before Sabin & Salk and the discovery of vaccines many died from the then common child hood illnesses.

If you survived these, the older you get the more likely you will get cancer

40. @ Georgie Porgie who wrote “It does not take a year for a doctor to do a rectal exam.

It should not take that long to get the results for the PSA TEST from any of the medical labs in Bim.

Maybe it takes Vincent a year to muster the courage to go to the Doctor. lol

I read your ppts on this blog. There are still here for reference.

41. GP&Hants

The following true scenario in Bim:

1) Cancer society does PSA&Rectal examination March 2017……PSA at 9.7….rectal nothing
    2)Sent to QEH for a camera into your whatsits…..earliest date June 2017 to see Emtage.
    3)Sunday prior to QEH appointment on the monday in June told it was rescheduled for Sept. 2017
    4)Doctor seen not Emtage for 2 minutes in Sept 2017……… camera scheduled for November 2017
    5)Doctor schedules next appointment for Feb 2017.

Tell me how the above makes sense.

42. It does not Vincent.
    It ought not to be so
    I bet if you go straight to Emtage office it wont take so long though