Barbadians who live abroad navigate to BU to share experiences, search for news about what is happening on the Rock.

The blogmaster welcomes you!

1,799 responses to “Diaspora Corner”

1. @Hants

Yours @ 10.39 am

I see you are a Jully Black fan 🙂

2. Good morning Commander Hants

From BarbadosToday (BT) – 7/30/2023
    BAEH President Kemar Saffrey in a statement said: “Several of our clients were seriously beaten, with one client’s injuries resulting in memory loss; another [was] stabbed; a female client was slapped in the face and several other clients received burst heads and [injuries] to their bodies.” He added that the victims were between 30 and 82 years old.

82?

You have touched on a topic that always pique my interest. I am a strong believer that we can measure how civilize or advance a society is by how it treat its weaker and less fortunate members.

I can remember an incident that had me thinking that if I returned home that I needed a gun. This was when youngsters would slap elders around their heads and run away laughing. It was my determination to end this practice as quickly as possible if I was subjected to it. It appears that this disrespectful and silly behavior is no longer a part of our landscape.

But have we improved? There are still instances of elders abuse, but this will be the case in any society.

Now we learn that when some are at the very weakest – not having the luxury or comfort of a home, they dare not close their eyes in whatever hole or surface that they can find as someone will take it upon themselves to harm them.

I could go on and talk about youths and parens; I can wax philosophically as some will; I can talk about social values; I can also tell you that this nonsense happens somewhere in the USA but i will cut to the chase and ask you to consider this…. Is the place inherently evil?

3. @ TheOGazerts,

Unortunately lawlessness and violence seems to be increasing in Barbados.

4. NorthernObserver Avatar

Extra love for our federal parliamentarians. Ensuring they don’t forget 😀

5. Eye candy.

6. Visitors galore for Crop over.

7. Toronto Caribbean carnival parade.

8. Toronto Caribbean carnival

9. Dem girls thick, thick. I hope they have a long parade route.

10. According to CBC

Robbie Robertson of The Band has joined the other musicians in the afterlife

11. Bajan musicians backing the violinist. smooth.

12. NorthernObserver Avatar

I learned yday that former jockey and trainer Ricky Griffith had succumbed to ALS earlier this month.
    Along with younger brother Chris, they were among the earlier Barbadians to ride abroad. After a career in the saddle, Ricky joined the Casse training barn, home to another slew of Bajans, before going out on his own.
    He will always be remembered for Ria Antonia, whom he snagged for $9000 at the sales, and who went on to win the Breeders Cup.
    May he rest in peace.

13. if you like jazz guitar

14. NorthernObserver Avatar

Sunday Aug 20 is Kings Plate, the Cdn version of the Derby.
    Bajan trainer Tedson Holder gets his first Plate runner in KAUKOKAIPUU, who will be ridden by veteran Bajan jockey Rico Walcott,who recently moved his tack to Woodbine.
    Kaukokaipuu is likely to be forwardly placed, along with Patrick Husbands mount Paramount Prince, who won the prep race on the front end.
    The Trinis have the aptly named Philip My Dear, whose 2yo form has not been seen at 3.
    The Oaks winner, Elysian Field looks like she will relish the added Plate distance, trained by Casse whose head Asst in Canada, Adams, is another Bajan.
    Post time is 5.40pm

15. Spare a thought for BC

16. Patrick Husbands BSS

17. Some of Barbados’ best musicians.

18. Hants, I think Ford is looking bad with that greenbelt land fiasco. From what I have been reading, I am not a happy camper.

19. sweet.

20. Lipstick Queens

21. I think this article about mosquitoes being bred to combat dengue may be of interest to some

https://apnews.com/article/dengue-mosquitoes-infectious-diseases-honduras-9ecf4ebc8a67937e9db7feb0901c861e

22. nice cover

23. Barbados fuh de tourisses.

24. Just got up and ate two fish cakes. Feeling awful. I should have waited until later in the morning.

My sister is visiting and made some excellent tasting fish cakes.

Note to parents whose son’s may be studying overseas. Remind them that
    When they hit their 60’s and have that longing for things Bajan, those ‘other islands’ dishes cannot satisfy that urge.

No regrets but ‘hungry’ at times.

25. Talented Bajans.

26. New york flooded

27. cheating on G G

28. heads up. moe rain.

29. holes in the jeans.

30. diversion

31. this is good.

32. Farewell Richard Roundtree

33. EWF tribute band from Russia.

34. Another talented beauty.

35. @Sargeant

Why do you think this decision was made?

36. @David

Their exit strategy ran into strong headwinds and failed and IMO this is a cost saving measure.

37. Thanks Sargeant, cost saving as far as managing two ‘brands’ you mean?

38. Commander Hants
    Your piece on Raquel Brown was a fine piece of music. I really love the voice. Is there a relationship to Barbados?

000 please listen and make notes.

39. She is from Sint Maarten and lives in The Netherlands.

https://vocalisten.nl/raquel-brown-in-the-spotlights-vocalisten-nl/