Submitted by Daneicia Cockrell

Oh, we gatherin’ now, that’s what they say, 
Come back home, share your dreams and pray, 
From London to New York, come back on the scene, 
Bring your skills, you know what I mean. 
But I watch how we treat those who return, 
Often cold shoulders, why we gotta learn? 
Barbadian hearts should be open wide, 
Yet sometimes it feels like we push ’em aside.

We gathering, we gathering, come and join the crew, 
But tell me, are we really honoring you? 
Let’s lift up our own, give the grassroots a stage, 
Authenticity’s the key, let’s turn the page! 

I see the business class, oh, they strut and preen, 
Actin’ like royalty, while the local scene’s unseen, 
Why scorn the ones who dared to explore? 
They tackled the world, now they knockin’ at our door. 
“New Nigga,” they say, what a hurtful game, 
But it’s the journey that brings us to claim our name. 
Folk got tales of struggle, of wisdom and pain, 
But all we do, sometimes we just complain.

We gathering, we gathering, but who’s getting the love? 
The locals just workin’ like the angels above. 
Let’s cherish the bond, let’s celebrate the best, 
‘Cause the heart of Barbados, it beats in our chest.

Oh, by 2030, we need drastic change, 
We can’t raise our heads if we keep playin’ strange. 
Authenticity’s the glue, it’s how we draw the line, 
From community roots, our tourism will shine! 

So I’m calling on the leaders to open their eyes, 
The collaboration’s key, that much is no surprise. 
Engage with returning folk, hear their sweet refrain, 
Together we can build, and break this old chain. 
Why not set the stage, let our stories unfold? 
Highlight the locals, let their wisdom be gold. 
‘Cause if we honor each other, firsthand from our core, 
We’ll design Barbados for the world to adore!

We gathering, we gathering, let our spirits entwine, 
With authenticity shining, our futures align. 
So raise up your voice, let the rhythm be true, 
In this beautiful island, let’s honor me and you!

Oh, we gatherin’, oh yes, that’s a start, 
But the real journey begins when we open our heart. 
Let’s come together, it’s time for a change, 
In Barbados united, let’s rearrange!

30 responses to “‘#Wegatherin’ – Let’s come together”

1. NorthernObserver Avatar

For some years now, I have noted the GoB has steadfastly refused to issue the Annual Reports required by law, for numerous entities under their control.

Apart from this illegal lack of accountability, my deeper fear was this may spread to the private sector. In Bajan parlance, ‘effin you ent reporting, why should we? or more precisely ‘eff you could brek de law, why can’t we?’

After the Donville affair, I did follow the ICBL reports, recall it was ICBL who paid the bribe that got the former Minister convicted, but once the other two accused by the DOJ were off the ICBL payroll, I ceased. Until the other day, when it was announced the majority owner of ICBL, was the purchaser (intended?) of the Holetown property.

Lo and behold, I noted the last ICBL report was Q3 of 2023. So I went to the BSE website, and they concurred. Even though it seems some dividends were issued in early 2024.

Contagion has occurred. The private sector is now flaunting the laws too.

I guess given the second largest ICBL shareholder was the NIS, now NISSS, we shouldn’t be totally surprised. For they haven’t reported, despite the PM’s admission Reports had been completed for 2010-16, in donkey’s years.

As I have wondered, maybe Reporting is Colonial, and as one blogger calls for a reset from Colonial ways, maybe this lack of reporting, is part of that reset.

Compliance with the island’s laws, seems to be selective at best.

Just protect yuhself. Don’t buy a GoB Bond, TBill or other financial instrument UNTIL this GoB begins fulfilling its required Reporting regimen..

2. @ NO

You not easy.

3. The only reason that makes sense for not following the LAW and issuing financial and Management reports AS MANDATED, can be that there is something to hide…

IT CANNOT be for lack of professional staff – unless the nepotism is so rampant that unqualified family and friends have displaced competence.

IT CANNOT be for lack of systems – given the number of technological staff paraded in the different agencies..

It CANNOT be due to COVID … NOR to the Ash FALL. … NOR to BERYL..
    Sooo..
    Either government is HIDING a lotta shiite from the public,
    …OR they think that Bajans are Brass BOWLS…
    …or BOTH!!!!
    LOL..

No wonder they CANNOT deal with street crime….
    Its hard to be hard on crime – when you KNOW that you yourself are a hardened law breaker too.

What a situation..!

4. @NO

If there is an issue delivering timely financial statements it is on the regulator.

5. If there is an issue delivering timely financial statements it is on the regulator.
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    Do you mean the Regulator of all ‘big works’..?

You CERTAINLY can’t mean jokers such as the CBB, FTC and FSC – who cannot even settle a basic electricity rate application.

6. @Bush Tea

We have to critique the regulator because this is the root of the problem. The FSC and the others must deliver on its mandate.

7. So let Bushie try to follow you here…

Say Trump decides that he will pressure the Caribbean into cutting relations with Cuba, but the actual US regulators think this policy is a lotta shiite… and that it contravenes the US constitution (just like lack of reporting contravenes OUR laws here)..

You are saying that the regularors MUST deliver on their mandate?

Until the NEW regulators are appointed???
    Ya mean like how OUR Dr Senator recently spoke (her LAST) of our Holetown mandate?
    Boss…
    A Mafia dictatorship is NOT a democracy – where consensus and the rule of law applies.

8. And yet somehow, despite the reporting, the colonial masters are even more corrupt! Maybe the corruption is the colonial way we need to abandon! Reports are useless unless we are prepared to act on them.

Suffering from a case of whitemanitis there, I see.

When I say that we must abandon colonial ways, I see it as undoing the psychological damage done by the colonial masters that makes us see ourselves and the world from their perspective. There is a hole in the soul where our ancestors should be We must return to our roots, find out who we really are, go backwards in order to go forward in ways that suit us best.

We suffer from developmental interruptus. We were not allowed to develop organically on our own. Europe did not only underdevelop Africa, as Walter Rodney understood, it also underdeveloped us, our minds remain trapped by unnatural forces!

9. NorthernObserver Avatar

I am very easy. Simply do as required by law, or take the laws off the books.
    As Bushie posits, the intent must be to hide and withhold information.
    Not a soul wishes to challenge.
    Go back and read comments in 2018 when the SD was enacted. Disbelief. There is another way!!!
    Don’t make that mistake twice, is my message.
    Lawlessness is spreading faster than a sour grass fire, with our elected persons leading the parade.

10. NorthernObserver Avatar

I also note the Board of ICBL is two senior employees, the majority owner, one of his buddies from AirBnB days and a local engineer. The latter is part of the Hyatt Vision team, but also the founder of an entity called something like Airline Services. Wasn’t this latter entity the owner of lands in the Hyatt plans, that nobody seemed to know who it was?

11. Birds of a feather flock together. Maloney is probably somewhere in the wings.

12. NorthernObserver Avatar

Wings? On Hyatt he’s been front and center. The Vision spokesperson.
    The real joke is Hamilton Financial, the owner of the majority shares in ICBL is a St.Lucia company, and always has been. As was Radical. And many others. Perfectly legal.
    I understand. Who the heck wants to deal with CAIPO? They are broken. Imagine we seek FDI, get a bite, but as is allowable under Caricom rules, they choose to domicile elsewhere. All the professional services are performed elsewhere.
    Thank goodness we have #allhandsondeck, imagine if we didn’t.

13. NorthernObserver Avatar

And using @JohnA’s soapbox this day, GEL reports significant expenses (losses?) related to their failure to hedge their cocoa business, then creates an Annual Report cover, showing a Chart depicted as upward arrows created from the precise trimming of plants (hedges?) titled ‘Hedging for our Future’.
    Tek dat? Push it in the face of their owners? The Board and Management give shareholders Mirexus, the Miami freight entity they are exiting, and now Euckacko, and not a head rolling anywhere. And they expect bonuses!! More contagion.

14. Minister Lisa Cummins has promised a rebirth of CAIPO under the new entity Business Barbados. We will have to see if there is a departure from the norm.

15. @ NO

It is generally accepted that Goddards under the leadership of Ali and the Herbert Board run a tight ship. All is never perfect.

16. NorthernObserver Avatar

Lol…generally accepted? By what measure…expectations? For performance outside of the merger of the distribution business, and the other group they are part owners of Catering, anything they operate on their own, seems questionable. They even sold WIRR because they couldn’t market rum, but had more supply than was imaginable. Their digital transformation isn’t great.
    Somebody(s) have seemingly complained for the Q1 report promises an independent assessment. I hope it is better than the one which saw Mirexus as a fabulous, top tier opportunity. But didn’t see the principal was Ali’s long time mentor.

17. Had the impression Goddards footprint and product/services mix was more diverse. Have to research when time permits. A company driven by aggressive acquisitions with a footprint across geographies will have HR issues.

18. NorthernObserver Avatar

Re CAIPO rebirth. Is that expected before many companies are so fed up, they leave? The issues are not new, that Min Cummins publicly recognised them is minimal consolation. I moved my company last year. My former partner who didn’t is still waiting, I think 10 months now, to have his change of directors stamped, so his bankers may recognize his new directors. Legally, I could still sign cheques for an entity I left months ago, and have no formal association with, outside bank documents.

19. NorthernObserver Avatar

The acquisitions, going back to the M&C deal under former leadership, which was subsequently written down significantly, and/or large investments, excluding that latest in Panama (still too early), or purchases under GCG incl ground services, or the joint distribution group (Chinook), have been ‘less than impressive’. My opinion.
    Word for months now, as Sagicor’s leadership has shifted, is their +/- 12% ownership in GEL is available.
    But with an entry in the Q1 GEL report, titled ‘cash flow hedge’ (+/-30M expense); no scheduled dividend declared, one might conclude GEL cannot (should not?) buy any of this block.
    (Sets the soap box aside 😃)

20. Listen I did here resting my old tail till that fellow Northern bring up CAIPO.

You think 10 months is a wait? I know of people witing 2 years just to get back the blasted stamped form for their $100 annual corporate regsitration fee. Skipper it could be a year just to get confirmation of a registered office changed!

I said already omit all companies with sales of $500,000 or less yearly from all this paper crap. This filling out 7 pages ever year with the samp crap on them with only the date changed is a nuisance for these small companies. All you making them do is pay corporate secretaries to file paper that nobody probaly looks at and is 2 years behind on filing anyhow!

CAIPO has got to be one of the most inefficient entities on this island for sure. Add to this the delays on audited information from all the major state entities and you got to ask the MOF what the 2025 Guestimates actually based on. But dont worry by June you could always come back for subsidiaries no problem!

But dont worry we gathering and going have a few bus rides and ting and that going make it all right.

21. Slowly but surely …

University launches new research platform

The University of the West Indies (UWI) Cave Hill Campus has launched a new digital platform dubbed Cave Hill Impact Research in Action to make its academic research more accessible to the public.

The website was unveiled during a special research forum held at the Sagicor Cave Hill School of Business and Management, where Pro Vice-Chancellor and Principal Professor R. Clive Landis highlighted the university’s commitment to public engagement.

“We’re a public university. This is our first concerted effort to communicate with the public about what we do with our research,” Landis said during the forum. The new platform organises the university’s extensive research portfolio into user-friendly categories such as environmental stewardship and public health, allowing visitors to easily explore the work being conducted at Cave Hill.

The research forum showcased several examples of impactful work emerging from the campus. Among these was the groundbreaking research on converting Sargassum seaweed into biofuel, a project that received international recognition, including coverage by the BBC.

Landis stressed how this project exemplified the university’s approach to developing globally competitive innovations while providing valuable research experience for students.

“We are preparing our students for the world of innovation. We’re bringing Barbados to the point where we can be competitive globally,” he explained, adding that “the only way that this country can really achieve growth must be when we compete with the world”.

The forum also featured presentations from Eden Augustus, a public health doctoral candidate working on the Barbados Diabetes Remission Project, and Dania Hamilton, an entrepreneurial alumna who has successfully applied her academic knowledge in the global marketplace.

“She is thriving in the global knowledge economy and she’s exporting,” Landis noted about Hamilton, who works with a Swiss company teaching English as a second language.

Industry participation was represented by Kent Emile-Smith, associate director of Application Delivery at CIBC Caribbean, who discussed emerging programmes that demonstrate how academia and the corporate sector could collaborate effectively.

The new website represents part of a broader strategy to highlight the university’s extensive research output, which includes nearly 2 000 podcasts on Barbadian history created by faculty and students. Landis said these initiatives align with the National Anthem’s exhortation that Barbadians should “write our name on history’s page”.

The Cave Hill Impact Research website is now available to the public, industry stakeholders and policymakers interested in exploring the university’s contributions to local and global challenges. (DDS)

22. Twenty years too late…

23. Still gathering in St.Peter.

24. Nice one.

SAMMY G – We Gatherin’ (Calypso 2025)

25. My parish.