NIS Town Hall – The Golden Chip

Today is the scheduled NIS Town Hall for a concerned public to share feedback to the revelation our National Insurance Fund (NIF) needs another lifeline. In recent days the buzz is a concern the eligibility age for NIS pension will be extended to 72 years old.

The blogmaster is willing to bet Prime Minister Mottley being the political animal she is anticipated that NIS reform currently being contemplated will significantly deflate her popularity, she needs the time to implement reform and win back favour BEFORE the next general election, the perfect political gamble. Especially if she is serious about demitting office at that time. Therefore one of the reasons for an early general election call.

Follow the NIS town hall at Combermere School, Waterford at 6PM.

413 thoughts on “NIS Town Hall – The Golden Chip

1. “All we need to fo is accept it as a culture that has been allowed to flourish. There is no accountability within the political halls of power.
    Now we are supposed to accept that a policy decision which caused the NIS to lose one billion dollars is no big thing. ”

straight up, that’s the bottomline, they want everyone to ACCEPT THIS CRIMINALITY…..these LYING THIEVES……so they can continue pretending they are experts in neocolonial politics…WHILE THE PEOPLE SUFFER because of those THEFTS….

do they even know or care WHY a World Food Program truck would be on the island….i only saw photo of one, there could very well be more………according to what was posted yesterday……the sleight of hand, if accurate…they can no longer IMPORT EXPENSIVE GARBAGE…these trucks are seen in countries that CANNOT FEED THEIR PEOPLE…

did i not tell yall something scummier, skeezier is afoot, and they are using a useless town hall meeting to cover it up…

wuh if ya tief BILLIONS of dollars over MANY DECADES………and no one can say where any of the money is……wuh YUH CAHN FEED DE PEOPLE because you and ya fella TIEVES holding the money…but ya feeding ya tiefing greedy corrupt selves though….and this is what the BU brigade seem to admire……..go figure.

2. @ David

To me the refinancing of the fund is the most important thing we need to do. More important that fixing roads or planning fetes. If the fund ever collapsed it could well mean the collapse of the Barbadian economy as well. Think of not only the social fall out but the economic fall out we would be facing. Most pensioners spend every cent of their pension money back in the economy. If this was to faulter what do you think would happen to our economy? I dont think alot of us have stopped to see the bigger picture here. Many are saying ” dat is a old people problem” not realising their supermarket job is also at stake here.

• @John A

Sadly you may be correct about the contagion effect. It would define exert enormous pressure on private pension funds.

3. @ David

Her other option is to borrow $82 million a year for the next 12 years then!

Point is you wrote it off and now you need it so it must be found one way or another.

• @John A

Yes they can do that however the concern will be to address the threats and weaknesses in order to avoid an encore 10 to 15 down the line. Given the current state the NIS model is not sustainable it seems .

4. A question that must be asked:
    What would have driven the Minister of Finance to have made a decision
    that would have such deleterious effects on the NIS to the tune of one billion dollars.
    Remember we saw the catastrophe caused by the former minister’s obsession with printing money and over usage of NIS funds.
    How then could his successor come and further damage the fund and apparently is not being hall over the coals for such a decision.
    And where are all the voices of condemnation who were once so protective of the fund.
    Oh well, the civil servants did it.
    The archives of BU make interesting reading.

5. Put up your hand
    when you see your enemy
    sing a song because them no ready

Them people never like my Psalms 21
    You have to come with Revelation 3
    The people never like Revelation 1
    You have to sing a song of Psalms 21
    It’s a hard road to travel
    and a mighty long way to go
    I know that the strength of the Father
    will guide me along the way
    Yes I know

They just a watch just a watch we
    They just a fight just fight fight we

Jump up on one called E20
    Jump in a van to run the country
    Jah Jah knows he guide me you see

E20

Three Times A Lady Thanks for the times that you’ve given me, The memories are… Under Mi Sleng Teng Way in my brain, is way in my brain Is way…

6. The above is a brief snapshot of when computers were introduced to the Barbados Gov’t 53 years ago and I am flummoxed at the suggestion that from that small beginning time there has been a failure by the Gov’t “to computerize and bring modern technology”

XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX

LET ME ADDRESS THIS AS I LET THIS TALK ABOUT COMPUTERS/IT PASSED YESTERDAY.

I PREVIOUSLY SUPPLIED AROUND BD$400,000 OF DELL BRAND NEW COMPUTERS AT THE TIME UNDER A LEASE AROUND 3 YEARS TO THE NIS WHEN IAN CARRINGTON WAS IN CHARGE.

THE NIS HAD ALL THE RELEVANT SOFTWARE NEEDED TO FUNCTION EFFECIENTLY AND EFFECTIVELY HOWEVER IF YOU HAVE ‘SMART’ INDIVIDUALS WHO KNOW HOW TO WORK THE SYSTEMS AND BENEFIT FINANCIALLY BECAUSE OF NO PHYSICAL OVERSIGHT BY MANAGEMENT WHO MAY OR MAY NOT BE COMPLICIT IN SCAMS.

ASO SUPPLIED WITH EITHER IBM OR DELL ON THE 2 X 3 ISLAND:

CORPORATE AFFAIRS
    COMMUNITY COLLEGE
    URBAN AFFAIRS
    HIV COMMISSION
    MINISTRY OF EDUCATION
    CENTRAL PURCHASING
    DATA PROCESSING

WILL STOP THERE THE PROBLEM IS NOT THE TECHNOLOGY BUT THE INDIVIDUAL WORKING IN THE DEPARTMENTS WITH NO OVERSIGHT OR COMPLICIT WITH OTHERS TO FLEECE THE SYSTEM FOR FINANCIAL GAIN ETC.

7. ONE LAST INPUT ON THIS TOPIC:

I WAS ONCE APPROACHED BY AN ACCOUNTANT IN THE MINISTRY OF TRANSPORTATION WHO ALSO FREELANCED IN OTHER MINISTRIES DEPARTMENTS MOVING AROUND.

I WAS ASKED TO PROVIDE A SOLUTION SO THAT AS THEY PROCESSED CHECKS THEY COULD HAVE THEM INPUTED IN A COMPUTERISED SYSTEM WHICH WOULD ALLOW THEM TO STORE AND RETRIEVE AT WILL UNDER SPECIFIC SEARCH CATEGORIES.

I RECOMMENDED A PARTICULAR MICR CHECK VERIFIER AND GOT ONE OF MY TECHNICAL GUYS TO WRITE A SHORT CUSTOMISED PROGRAM TO DO WHAT THEY WANTED.

BEFORE I SENT IN A QUOTATION I TOLD THE ACCOUNTANT IT WOULD COST AROUND BD$6000 HE SAID SEND IT IN FOR BD$18,000 SO HE COULD GET A CUT.

HE THEN SAID AS HE MOVED AROUND MOST OF THE GOVERNMENT DEPARTMENTS HE COULD GET A SIMILAR SOLUTION AS THEY ALL HAD THE SAME ISSUES AND THAT EACH WOULD BE BILLED FOR THE SAME BD$18,000 IM MORE THAN 12 DEPARTMENT IN OTHER MINISTRIES.

THIS WILL GIVE A SNAPSHOT OF HOW THINGS ARE DONE ON THE 2 X 3 ISLAND.

8. tief not, want not,,,

now they are in PERMANENT, IRREVERSIBLE debt….

the people are the ones to suffer with children for generations to come…..because of their scams and heists…

told yall YEARS AGO….leave these scum with their billion dollar debt,,,it’s theirs and their criminal partners, it does NOT BELONG TO THE PEOPLE….

9. @ Sargeant
    SargeantOctober 4, 2014 10:46 AM

No Sargeant todays lingo in IBM mainframes is as400.
    ++++++++++
    “I was making light of the technology that existed in 1969 that was available to the Gov’t and linking it to today’s problems. Incidentally the technology in those early computers is less than what exists in my IPad or phone today.” (Sargeant)

That’s the exact point I tried to make. Technology is not stagnant, it changes by the hour. Hence to talk about Barnes and Company (@DPD) and some computer given to the Data processing unit in 1969 (Sarge) all of that history bears no relevance to today’s reality.

10. BAJE….standard operating procedures (SOP)……..for the last half century from these FRAUDS…

started by the politicians who would order medicines from florida or whereever for the QEH and bill the taxpayers 3 and 4 times the amount because they must have their cut….still happening…

same thing recently with the port scammers….costing a few thousand when we googled them and embarrassed THE LIAR……..but someone the politician’s mathematics concluded that they cost multi-MILLIONS…. same with the garbage trucks that cost so much less from manufacturers……..all for their cut…

11. Back to the matter in hand
    We are living in a serious times
    “The Golden Chip” in the title is an Enigma

What does it mean?!
    Is it a token Chip for gambling in a Casino? /
    Is it a Chip on the Shoulder of the people? /
    Is it the Microchip for a Hi-Tex Computer? /

This is about the story that has never been told
    Let me tell you all about the African Gold
    UK Government won’t admit liability for torturing Mau Mau which they settled out of Court
    UK Government won’t admit liability for slavery and the tricks they played on me
    GoB won’t admit liability for spunking the NIS Pension Pot and Unemployment Benefits

Anyway beloveds /
    Back to lessons /
    Dancehall 101 /

Tenor Saw – Golden Hen
    Tic a tic a toc, tic a tic a toc
    My golden hen, my golden hen
    Tic a tic a toc, my golden hen

She layin’ eggs for the gentlemen
    Sometime nine and sometime ten, oh
    And whenever she lay, she make an alarm
    Cotcotcotcot me lay out, lay out, whoa
    Lay out, whoa, whoa

Searching from morning for my golden hen, hey
    Got a little girl at my home
    She wake up this morning, she didn’t eat no breakfast, no
    She wake up this morning, she no eat no breakfast
    She leave at my home and she faint in the cab
    She gives my neighbourhood a lots of remarks
    Lots of remarks, she gives him lots of remarks
    Lots of remarks, it was not my fault
    When she faint in the cab (Lord God know)
    Hey little girl don’t be like a rolling calf, oh
    Before the wind you gonna be like a chaff
    If you live like a rolling calf, no oh
    Don’t live like a rolling calf, no

Sometime nine and sometime ten, whoa-oh
    Whenever she lay, Lord, she make an alarm
    Cotcotcotcot me lay out, lay out, lay out
    Lay out, whoa, lay out, whoa

But I’ve been searching from morning
    For my golden hen, whoa
    Well, I’ve been searching from morning, morning
    For my golden hen
    Because she’s my best friend
    Searching from morning, morning
    Because she’s my best friend, whoa-oh, whoa

Come on back, come on back
    Come on back, Lord, come on back
    Whoa-oh, I beg you please come on back, girl, so

And whenever she lay, she make an alarm
    Cotcotcotcot me lay out, me lay out
    Lay out whoah, lay out, whoa

Girl, you know that I love you badly
    I wouldn’t like to end up sadly
    Girl, you know that I love you badly
    I wouldn’t like to end up sadly
    Girl, come on, girl come on
    Don’t be a run around, don’t be a run around
    Please come home

(..)

Whenever she lay, she make an alarm, whoa-oh..

12. William…there have been warnings FOR YEARS….while these are hot and sweaty to introduce some crypto scam on the people….apparently now they will BE RESTRICTED from that heist..

the one scam they have worked overtime on BUT COULD NEVER GET OFF THE GROUND….

“UN Agency Urges Authorities to Curb Cryptocurrency Expansion in Developing Countries

A United Nations trade body has recommended a set of policy actions to “curb the expansion of cryptocurrencies in developing countries.” The intergovernmental group stressed that if cryptocurrencies become a widespread means of payment, it could jeopardize the monetary sovereignty of countries.”

UNCTAD is a permanent intergovernmental body established by the United Nations General Assembly in 1964. It is part of the U.N. Secretariat. The group reports to the U.N. General Assembly and the Economic and Social Council. UNCTAD has 195 member states and 204 projects in 70 countries, its website shows.

“Global use of cryptocurrencies has increased exponentially during the Covid-19 pandemic, including in developing countries,” the group noted. “While these private digital currencies have rewarded some, and facilitate remittances, they are an unstable financial asset that can also bring social risks and costs.”

13. @William, for all practical purposes I would clarify that for me corruption is not ONLY inbred in all Bajans but in my TnT family (where the term ‘bobol’ was made famous) and all others across the globe.

There is absolutely no differentiation with your duopoly hypothesis and that presented by others about the endemic corruption ‘gene’ … you simply want to hang your ‘hat’ on that political peg as, I can only presume, it better aligns with your philosophical outlook! So be it.

However, for you to opine that “… in my opinion they [the two political parties] have allowed, encouraged and engaged in widespread corruption” is amazingly tortuous psychologically and philosophically.

WHERE did that intent, desire and interest in being corrupt originate @William? Where?

Does it automatically appear as soon as a Bajan is elected; or does it come about when they decide to run!

Who started the political parties, brother. Did Adams have a proclivity for corruption, or did Barrow or Tom or Bree!

Did Thommo develop his in 6th form at Waterford, in George St. or back in England at birth!

And what about his dear spouse did she grow that part of her persona after she met him or at the feet of her deeply political parents!

Tell me bro, as a simple example, are any and all of dem Bajan men who disgustingly abuse their girl children corrupt of mind and soul or not ! …. and did they learn and develop THAT form of corrupted gene from the bad politicians!

Or where did any of the Bajans who stole money from their employer or parents or their friend learn their corruption !

Your argument simply does NOT make logical sense: psychological aberrations CANNOT be conveniently removed from the society in which it is found and blamed on some singular segment of that same society UNLESS there are UNIQUE characteristics infused into that same segment that are NOT originally found in the overall society.

Can you please tell the blog what unique elements were so infused to our politicians that made them more prone to corruption than their fellow citizens!

Thanks brother.

14. @William I saw this late so excuse this additional post.

Looka, there are some things I post for clarity; some I take FOR GRANTED the smart folks here OVERstand without nah lotta long talk and then some I would not say out loud (like @Mr Baje) … so for clarity sake.

SERIOUSLY you said dat @William re: “That’s the exact point I tried to make. Technology is not stagnant, it changes by the hour. Hence to talk about Barnes and Company (@DPD) and some computer given to the Data processing unit in 1969 (Sarge) all of that history bears no relevance to today’s reality.

Brother, you are really off your game here!

The POINT made by citing BBM and the local IBM office’s (and many others) sales efforts back then was to HIGHLIGHT the simple fact that our government had access to VIABLE TECHNOLOGY TOOLS for many years and that BASIC operational stuff SHOULD NOT be discussed as being insurmountable and definitely not the reason for being unable to cross reference deaths between depts!

@William any and all of us here MUST be familiar with Moore’s law even if not by name: Absolutely computer tech improves rapidly as microchips get better, faster and smaller every few years.

So again. I say … seriously you misconstrued my reference and @Sargeants as you did. SMH!

And all I would say re @Baje’s remark is again we see how so many people are complicit in the corruption malaise…

Edutech has been cited by many as one of the most corrupted public affairs programs in Barbados … the blogger just further opened the lid beyond that on the pervasive nature of business life on the island.

I had the pleasure (and displeasure in some cases) like him of operating here, regionally and beyond so all I would say is that what he described is ABSOLUTELY NOT specific to Bim!

I gone, gone again ..

15. @ DPD
    It will be difficult to find a response so eloquent that bears no reality to what I have said.
    I have never opined that the only group in Barbados that is corrupt is the politicians. However, I cannot accept that we are all corrupt.
    My major thesis is about the two major parties encouraging a culture of corruption and doing precious little to impede it.
    I cannot answer whether people become corrupt when they became politicians neither can I say that they were corrupt before they became politicians. However the same applies to the civil servant or the bank worker.
    All I am saying is that once corruption is promoted and endorsed by those who lead, it would spread.
    What you and others are trying to establish is that everybody born corrupt. That’s not what I am dealing with.
    So, if we are all corrupt or born corrupt let’s just try to be the baddest in the pond .That is the only conclusion I can come to at this point.
    I have never seen so convincing a defense of political corruption on BU until the last twenty four or so hours.
    It shows that whenever all is said and done even a corrupt political order would have some extremely fluent defenders.
    Yes , my dear Brother, I have determined that a culture of political corruption has been engineered by the the two political parties that were supposed to uphold the highest office of governance and integrity in public life. They made a very conscious decision not to do so.

16. @DpD
    Thanks for the clarification Re: technology. As for @ Baje. I also noted the reference to Edutech. It was indeed a rather shady operation
    Peace

17. wuh i glad enuff the gravy train RAN OUT of gravy….

let them tief the loans signed for in the people’s name….they are not shy about that one either….

…they already made one radical attempt to swipe approx 50 million or more….right under the noses of the IMF……am sure there have been several such attempts since then….

when they can’t repay the alphabet entities…..it’s THEM THEY HAVE TO ANSWER TO….cause they could care less about being accountable to the people…but when they see PRISON STARING BACK AT THEM…then they will know..

18. “What you and others are trying to establish is that everybody born corrupt.”

i would appreciate it if these CLOWNS SPOKE FOR THEMSELVES ONLY…

“it does happen everywhere” has now morphed into “everybody born corrupt”….so what other idiocy and overwhelming IGNORANCE is next..

anything to justify thievery and corruption from stinking politicians….

i never stole anything from the treasury, vat or pension fund and if YOU HAVE AND WERE BORN CORRUPT….speak for yourself only..

19. William Skinner August 17, 2022 7:26 AM #: “If you and others believe that corruption is inbred in every Bajan, that’s your opinion.”

@Mr. Skinner

You’re being disingenuous.

“If others believe that corruption is inbred in EVERY Bajan,” I certainly DID NOT mention ANYTHING to SUGGEST I SHARE a SIMILAR belief.

All I ‘said’ was, similarly to the fact there are corrupt politicians, whether or not you want to believe or accept it, some civil servants are corrupt as well.
    And, I provided the forum with examples to substantiate my claim.

Also, it is NONSENSE for anyone to suggest ‘that ALL politicians are corrupt and civil servants accused of corruption are their followers, party members, family, friends, bed partners.’

However, weren’t you an aspiring politician having ‘ran’ for the NDP?
    If you want us to believe ALL politicians are inherently dishonest and corrupt, does that mean you’re admitting to being corrupt as well?

How about your ‘friend’ Hammie Lah? Do you believe he is corrupt also?
    Didn’t he defend the $11,000 a businessman who charged UDC to cut down an ‘ackee tree’…… under his watch as Minister of Social Transformation?

Also, a Special Audit of the UDC revealed the following:

… 5.64 Investigations revealed that a number of temporary posts at the UDC were not approved by the Ministry of the Civil Service as directed by the Cabinet.

… 5.65 The Minister, under whose responsibility the UDC falls, supported and approved the creation of six temporary posts for the UDC. The approval of the Ministry of the Civil Service was however not sought. The Commission having been informed that the Minister had approved the posts, proceeded to fill the positions.”

Is ‘Comrade Trevor Prescod another corrupt politician?
    Or, is he excluded from that characterisation because he identifies as a Pan Africanist and both you and him share ideological and philosophical similarities?

• @Artax

It is a useful reminder that the auditor general reports is primarily about a review of business done by public servants in the public sector, not to exempt politicians who have policy responsibility.

We can’t have it both ways if we take the AG’s reports seriously. When we talk about corruption – it requires more than one hand to clap.

20. “you are 1000% correct this clique on here comprising Waru, Skinner, Bush Tea and Pacha main aim on here is in my view to pull down this elected government at all cost.”

“The 0, Harold Harry Hal Austin, Bushman, Afrika Dub are big fans [of AC Angela mariposa Cox]”

Perhaps all of these fellows with their male complex
    and excessive testosterone with a deficiency in Estrogen or oestrogen
    love stupid women and are afraid of intelligent women like Mama Mia
    (although I have a theory that even intelligent women are too emotional like these dirty fellows)

Ring The Alarm (Quick)

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xbzXl_UsjCk

estradiol, the predominant form of estrogen, also plays a critical role in male sexual function. Estradiol in men is essential for modulating libido, erectile function, and spermatogenesis.

21. William Skinner August 17, 2022 10:20 AM

RE: “What you and others are trying to establish is that everybody born corrupt.”

In the interest of clarity, please identify those persons and their comments that gave you the impression they’re trying “to establish everybody born corrupt?”

RE: “I have never seen so convincing a defense of political corruption on BU until the last twenty four or so hours.”

Again, in the interest of clarity, please identify where in the comments of those individuals who contributed to the issue so far, gave you the impression they are “defending political corruption?”

All that has happened is after realizing you were advancing a SILLY ARGUMENT, you decided to PURPOSELY MISREPRESENT what persons actually mentioned so as to take control and make yourself appear as being correct…. a form of redirection.

It’s similar to someone setting, answering and matking his own exam questions,……and then, declaring himself to be a genius.

22. “It is a useful reminder that the auditor general reports is primarily about a review of business done by public servants in the public sector, not to exempt politicians who have policy responsibility.”
    ~~~~~~~~~~

I’m aware of the purpose of the Auditor General’s reports.
    I made a similar comment in a previous contribution and was told I was defending politicians.

However, I don’t understand your comments or the basis for them.

• @Artax

The comment is a reminder as stated corruption is not something we can ascribe to one or the other group. A politician needs a complicit public servant to engage in corruption.

23. “…but as we can clearly see, posting has become a pappy show for some to post endless shite that has no substance, bears no resemblance to reality, and is counterproductive to any progress…”
    ~~~~~~~~~~

Agreed…… 100%.

Posting 80% of contributions, some of which are IRRELEVANT, to every thread is definitely “counterproductive to any progress.”

“LESS IS MORE.”

24. Let us have a toast for the solidarity of the middle classes.. I know this is not the 80s when people were entitled to voice strong opinions against racial minorities women and gays.. but I would like to make a stand like a psyops internet troll on the main stream “underground” and sing some lyrics in a computer style sound vibration with the chorus about banning the brassbowelry slavery duopoly by any means necessary

E20 (Dub Version)

25. @ Artax
    My views are opened to critique, and so is everybody else’s.
    As I have pointed out , I don’t know who is was born a genetic crook whether they are politicians or public servants.
    I believe that what I have read here is a deliberate attempt to let politicians off the hook therefore I see it as a defense of their corruption. Others have said that I only want to blame politicians.
    I don’t think that is what I said. I merely said that they have nurtured and nourished the corruption.
    I stand by that.
    I have deduced from what I have read that since the politicians come from amongst us , we have the same inclinations. I can’t buy that.
    Finally , when corruption was raised in this forum before , I don’t think that the spotlight fell on public servants , in as strong terms , as is now the case.
    I rest my case for now.

26. @ David

Okay, now I understand the point you’re trying to make.

However, if you were to read the UDC Special Audit report, for example, staff complained of being intimated by the Chairman and other directors.
    Something we should also take into consideration as well.

UDC’s Response
    5.52 In response to a number of the issues raised, especially those relating to
    unauthorized loans and breaches of Internal control, the UDC management indicated as follows: – The approval and disbursement of the kind of loans highlighted were carried out to the exclusion of authorized staff of the Urban Development Commission During these periods of breaches and break-down in
    internal and other controls, (that is October to December 2002 and May 2003) the Director was not present at the Commission. Every internal procedure established to direct the operations of the Urban Enterprise Loan Scheme was overruled, superseded, by persons other than the management and staff of the Commission. UDC staff SUFFERED HUMILIATION by members of the Board, THREATS to their employment, COERCION to ACT in CAPACITIES BEYOND THEIR REMIT. VERBAL ABUSE and THREATS of physical violence by persons accessing the Commission’s services, commandeering of payment vouchers, applications to incur expenditure and Cheque books by persons other than the accounting officer.

27. @ Artax
    I have never said that all politicians are inherently corrupt. And I actually don’t believe that .
    I simply said that the corruption is driven by the politicians and in many cases encouraged by them and the culture of corruption that they have refused to impede because it may benefit their cause.
    That’s it for me.

Peace

28. @ Mr. Skinner

Last/last

There isn’t anything you can ‘say’ to convince me that persons, by their contributions, ‘said’ people were “born genetic crooks” or that they are “defending politicians.”

I cannot convince you otherwise.

If you interpreted my ‘saying’ there are corrupt politicians and civil servants in Barbados to mean everyone is born corrupt and I’m defending politicians…… then, so be it.

I’m not going to waste any more time trying to convince otherwise.

We’re essentially ‘going around in circles.’

‘Let’s agree to disagree.’

29. @ David

Yes. I understand your point.

I forgot the Chairman, board members, management are usually aspiring politicians, friends of the Minister or from his/her constituency…… with one common similarly…… being members of the incumbent political party.

30. @William, I will do like my fellow blogger and say: “last one” on this 🤣😎 … I have always been intrigued by psychology and that’s why I have long gone pass my post limits on this lil side debate!

When you say ” I merely said that they have nurtured and nourished the corruption. I stand by that.” … do you reflect on the area in Developmental Psy of ‘NATURE VS NURTURE’.

You noted that you ‘cannot answer whether people become corrupt when they became politicians neither can [you] say that they were corrupt before they became politicians. However the same applies to the civil servant or the bank worker.” … Or when you say that “I have deduced from what I have read that since the politicians come from amongst us , we have the same inclinations. I can’t buy that.” then what should I sell you then 😎… Afterall, that’s the genesis of any reasonable psychological debate of LIFE, not so!

Are these characteristics inherently “nurtured” which is defined as ‘… the view that people are shaped by the environment around them, which includes people they meet, the culture they grow up in, the knowledge they encounter etc” or is it a natural (biological) occurrence innate to their life!!!

In my view it’s both of course … but the point as it relates to our political leaders is that it STARTS before their political career.

Thus to your point, ALL I (and others) AM saying is that we are all to blame .. there is NO coddling or any attempt WHATEVER to “let pols off the hook”. How can I lambaste myself and Bajans as having been nurtured and naturally inclined to some corrupt behaviors and then let the leaders slide free… NO brother they are the biggest criminals and should pay the harshest penalties but too many of us (never said ALL) facilitate that crooked behavior because as the blogger said above: some too are hoping for their handout!

Anyhow, last, last on this matter of the psychological ‘mascara’ of my fellow Bajans!

Later, bro.

31. By Any Means Necessary (after Malcolm X) – Observe and Interpret

The Title of my Next Book:
    “Under Me Sleng Teng Version Jammy’s Super Power Smashes the Brassbowelry Slavery Duopoly (by any means necessary)*”

(*) By any means necessary is a translation of a phrase used by Martinican intellectual Frantz Fanon in his 1960 Address to the Accra Positive Action Conference …
    ..fight oppression and exploitation. The title of the painting, By Any Means Necessary, is a quote often used by Malcolm in public speeches to challenge his listeners to organize and take action to gain their rights, respect and freedom: “We want freedom by any means necessary”.

32. “challenge his listeners to organize and take action to gain their rights, respect and freedom: “We want freedom by any means necessary”.

and that’s what people are realizing they must do to ESCAPE THE REPEAT…..the replay……

33. @ David

It is important to note that the Chairman, other board members and management of state owned and quasi government organizations……

…… are NOT career civil servants, similarly to those in ‘central government.’

Therein lies the DIFFERENCE.

While the Director/CEO is employed by contractual arrangements…… the Board members are paid a monthly stipend.

And, all of them resign when there is a change of ‘government,’…… or management is subsequently terminated to be replaced by a supporter of the new administration.

And, the cycle continues.

34. People actually realize where all of this is leading because it’s already SET IN MOTION….we got the full outline of the nasty plans…

They also realize although it must proceed WITH SPEED, just not under the glare of social media, saboteurs, spies, or judases…

35. started by the politicians who would order medicines from florida or whereever for the QEH and bill the taxpayers 3 and 4 times the amount because they must have their cut still happening…

same thing recently with the port scammers….costing a few thousand when we googled them and embarrassed THE LIAR……..but someone the politician’s mathematics concluded that they cost multi-MILLIONS…. same with the garbage trucks that cost so much less from manufacturers……..all for their cut…

XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX

DONVILLE INNISS AND HIS BOY FORMER QEH CEO DR DEXTER JAMES WHO I USED TO TEASE ALL THE TIME WHILST SEEING HIM PLAYING GOLF REGULARLY AT BARBADOS GOLF CLUB (BGC) IN DURANTS CHRIST CHURCH THAT I WOULD CALL THE NATION NEWSPAPER AS HE SEEMED NOT TO SPEND HIS TIME AS CEO OF QEH BUT GOLF WAS HIS JOB.

WE WOULD BOTH LAUGH IT OFF ME NOT KNOWING HE WAS INVOLVED IN AN IMPORTING AND DRUGS BILLING RACKET AT THE QEH.

STRANGELY I WAS APPROACHED BY ANOTHER BUSINESS MAN WELL KNOWN IN ANOTHER PROFESSIONAL CAPACITY WHO WAS ALSO A GOLFER TO MEET WITH DONVILLE INNISS AND THE CEO WHO WE BOTH KNEW FROM (BGC) TO SETUP A LOCAL COMPANY TO BRING IN PHARMACETUICAL DRUGS FROM ABROAD INCLUDING INDIA. WE NEVER DID SETUP THE JOINT COMPANY AT CORPORATE AFFAIRS AS I WAS TOO BUSY IN OTHER AREAS.

IN HINDSIGHT IF I KNEW THAT THE KIND OF MONEY DR DEXTER JAMES AND DONVILLE INNISS WERE MAKING FROM IMPORTING SUPPLIES AND DR JAMES BEING AT THE GOLF COURSE VERY VERY REGULARLY I MIGHT HAVE BEEN TEMPTED TO JOIN THEIR TEAM OF BANDITS.

SOMEONE WILL TELL ME THAT DR DEXTER JAMES WAS NOT A KNOWN GOLFER. LOL.

PORT SCANNERS, GARBAGE TRUCKS ETC ARE ALL PART OF THE TYPE OF RAKETS AND MORE GOING ON DAILY ON THE 2 X 3 ISLAND.

36. I make a single prediction, there will be another debt restructuring in the next 5 years.
    The factors which could avoid/delay this, are finding new sources of cheap borrowed funds, a large grant from somewhere, or taking money from citizens and giving them Bonds.
    There remains too wide a gap between revenue and expenses.
    And given the number of Ministers and Consultants, cutting expenses seems off the table, unless, the IMF makes it a condition.

37. Some of the biggest talkers on BU are also some of the biggest con men/women around.🤐

Xxxxxxx

THE SAYING GOES IT TAKES ONE TO KNOW ONE MR/MS BILLION $$$ PROJECT/MARKETING MANAGER.

38. lol…

he should be telling us where de people BILLIONS of dollars in taxes, vat and pension money gone….none ah we int tief it, at least none of the people i discourse with………he should be telling us WHICH CON MEN AND WOMEN DID..

ah birdie tell muh ********…ya will soon see the fallout from that….too..

39. @ N.O.
    “…or taking money from citizens and giving them Bonds.”
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    You know full well that this plot is already well in train….

After seeing how meekly CLICO investors parted with their savings..
    And how Government paper holders took their haircuts like real ‘men’..
    And how the NIS savings have been so quietly “disappeared” into clear waters..

Why do you think that there are so many references in HIGH places, to the ‘folly’ of Bajans having such HUGE savings accounts in the banks at 0,1% interest?
    …when the BOSS promises 5%…?

SURELY the supreme one will be inclined to force BBs to act ‘in their OWN best interest’…..

Not to worry, sheep mostly go quietly to the slaughter…. And the butchers have had ‘Enuff’ practice to pull this one off smoothly…

40. Taking ac off the field was BU’s loss. Instead of refreshing and thought provoking comments we get some bloggers repeating the same thing ad nauseam.

The brilliant HA .. . gone
    Thought provoking a c …. gone
    Remaining.. J2, enuff, Lorenzo …

41. Bushman…the road to destruction is WELL DEFINED…

42. DavidAugust 18, 2022 5:58 AM

Surprised there are only 200 plus downloads of the presentation.

+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

It did not deal with who getting lock up and for how long!!

43. lol…these are still not getting that the PUBLIC…the PEOPLE who were ROBBED….need to SEE that those responsible are HELD ACCOUNTABLE…

apparently some believe that’s only a word used when they can blame the people for not HOLDING THIEVES ACCOUNTABLE and not when the THIEVES SHOULD BE HELD ACCOUNTABLE by everyone…

44. Kudos to Caswell for reminding the public of the ridiculously generous pension arrangements the polutical leaders have voted for themselves.

Thing is, if they did their jobs honestly, faithfully and in the interest of the majority, nobody would even care.

But in times like these for Glyne Clarke to be asking for more is depraved. And worse so when the facts do not support it.

Imagine, at fifty, these people get their pensions while still able to work, normally at professions that afford more than average earnings! Looka Chris Sinckler! He suffering?

And now suggesting that average folk should work until 72 to get their little crumbs?

Disgraceful!

But…..the short-term shortfall seems to fall short of the cost of a haircut!

So…..this is why the expected time of death of the NIS is now estimated at twelve years, worst case scenario.

This is Miss Mottley’s obvious contribution to the premature demise of the scheme.. After she treats to her contribution, then we could discuss how to inject new life into the fund for future generations.

Prescription No.1 would obviously be to refuse access to politicians unschooled in what constitutes a wise investment LIKELY reap dividends for the POLICY HOLDERS.

ONLY professionals in that field should be allowed to manage the portfolio.

Without the interference of successive governments, we would only be looking at manageable reforms to counteract the effects of our changing demographics.

Instead, here they are asking people their opinion on working until they almost drop dead. So then, why should these people be forced to contribute to the scheme rather than handle their own money matters? What happens when the lifeline is withdrawn due to government using their money for questionable projects that would NEVER have been approved by a professional money manager?

What happens when government then decides that it just is not paying back the money they forcibly took from ordinary people’s wages and then forcibly took again out of the fund?

This is different from people who of THEIR OWN FREE WILL invested in government bonds, knowing the risks, however slight they were anticipated to be due to past experience.

This money was FORCIBLY TAKEN FROM THE WAGES OF WORKERS,

And therein lies the big difference!

P.S. On another note, I don’t see any challenge to Bush Tea’s suggestion that if David wanted cover for the BLP, he could simply shut down the blog.

It wasn’t so well-received when Lil Donna suggested the same weeks ago. Instead he allows ALMOST EVERYBODY to come here and tear his position and the governments to shreds for the perusal of all and sundry! If I were Mia, I would fire him!

Some of you are totally without logic especially when under the influence of EMOTION.

FIRST /LAST.

45. Those who survey the socio political landscape at this time, note the frustration and disappointment of both those who support the Barbados Labour Party and those who support the Democratic Labour Party.
    The Bees are disappointed that their party seems incapable of delivering the promises made ;
    The Dees are disappointed because after two successive comprehensive defeats, recovery appears very slow.
    So, to both of them the following quote should jolt them into reality:
    “ You can fool all the people some of the time and some of the people of the people all the time , but you cannot fool
    all the people all the time.”

46. Chickens home and roosting…

…i don’t think they understand the significance….

they are the ones who believe they are well paid prizes and don’t do shit to earn their keep…,,and have NOTHING TO SHOW where they injected progress, wealth or a better quality of life into the lives of the majority population in 56 YEARS….

47. generational wealth or a better quality of life into the lives of ……..

48. Once faith and trust is lost it is very hard to regain.

The restructuring was done very easily and so was faith in government paper lost the same way as the last issue of bonds showed.

Righting off $1 billion dollars in value of the Nis fund also occured by the stroke of a pen, now you want the public to support thr NIS and offer suggestions as well. Here is mine then. Inject the billion dollars back into the fund that was written off in cold hard cash and the 2034 problem is solved as its simple maths.

Deficit by 2034 = 980 M
    Refund of 1 B. = 1000 M

SURPLUS AT 2034 = 20

Basic 11 plus maths.

49. Finally let me make it clear here to ALL POLITICIANS B AND D that you have no right making any decision to right off any money from any plan that is owned by 270,000 local shareholders. It is not state money (which still aint wunna one) but the peoples money which they put there. Every month the employer and employee both contributed to that $billion dollars. At no time did the state match the imput of the employer and employee either, hence they had no right to touch the money. Were wunna in the USA and tried this stunt the shareholders would of long filed a suit against you for dem money in the court. Then you want to talk about having faith in the fund and supporting it going forward! For what so wunna could do the same dam thing down the road again? Stupes.

Good I done talk bout dat too!

50. @ John A
    This is the 500 Gorilla in the room. A simple question that nobody seems prepared to ask:
    How can a Minister of Finance cause the Fund to lose one billion dollars just so and nobody seems to give a damn.

51. @ William

That too is my question. But i will go further and ask is any minister legally within their rights to confiscate $1 billion dollars from shareholders in a pension fund when no part of the monthly contribution was made up by government? In other words all the money contributed was made by employer and employee only. Now before a fowl fly up and say well government is an employer too, that is irrelevant as the government was simply paying the employers share to the fund. So if you think that gives them the right, then Massy when cash tight should be able to go in and demand what they paid in too.

This is nonesence of the highest order and has now crippled the fund as a result. What this has shown us is the board of the NIS is no more than a rubber stamp for the MOF and that it is really incapable of protecting the peoples money in terms of investments as it claims to do. This whole thing between Sinkyuhs printing and Mia’s wiping away has truly left me disgusted with both parties, or as you say William the duopoly.

52. “Were wunna in the USA and tried this stunt the shareholders would of long filed a suit against you for dem money in the court. Then you want to talk about having faith in the fund and supporting it going forward! For what so wunna could do the same dam thing down the road again? Stupes.”

the people on the island SHOULD FILE A LAWSUIT…that was OUTRIGHT THEFT and should not be accepted without MASSIVE EXPOSURE…..

“How can a Minister of Finance cause the Fund to lose one billion dollars just so and nobody seems to give a damn.”

TIEFING….both FRAUD governments…

53. now yuh know why the world stage runner could not make any more recent whirlwind …..trips this COLOSSAL mess of one BILLION??? wunna sure dah is all…….other people int so sure yuh!! dem say iz even MORE …. was about to DROP DOWN ON TOP OF THEM..

54. btw…Douglas Trotman knew all about this…..and so much more.

55. William…..this is ONE TIME if theypeople don’t STAND UP, SPEAK OUT and hold these CROOKS ACCOUNTABLE…..and file that lawsuit, they will deserve whatever evil these generational THIEVES got cooking up for them and their families next….and we all know it’s something oppressive, suppressive and disenfranchising because THAT’S WHO THEY ARE…

56. @ John A
    This shows why we can’t go forward. Once your party does it , it’s okay. That’s why I remain steadfast that the lack of accountability, transparency and corruption, is the problem and these two parties have been the engineers.
    In other words , the current thinking seems to be that every body is corrupt, nobody is transparent and nobody is accountable.
    This is a direct policy decision that cost the NIS one billion dollars.. The nation needs to be told why this decision was made and why the decision was made knowing full well that one billion dollars would literally disappear.
    Until that is answered the apologists and party hacks can continue with their charade.
    They ain’t fooling nobody with their fancy deflections and pseudo intellectual BS.
    Sinckler was a poor/ failure as minister of finance and we went after him as he deserved.
    Mottley as minister of finance should not be given a pass.
    The question remains: Why initiate a policy knowing full well it would have cost the NIS one billion dollars.
    After the nation is given a full detail of why this was done, we can then move forward. Until then all the palaver is an embarrassing waste of time normally practiced in Banana republics.
    As Harry Russell recently stated in his Nation column, if such behaviour is justified , we can’t be angry if we are called a banana republic.
    Not a failed state yet but………………

57. “In other words , the current thinking seems to be that every body is corrupt, nobody is transparent and nobody is accountable.”

them and their bullshit…. “it does happen everywhere”….so it’s ok for it to happen in slave society shitshow…….no matter how much social and financial damage it causes, young people committing suicide, killing each other…but the dumb don’t see a thing wrong with that….and that it can be DIRECTLY ATTRIBUTED TO THE BILLIONS STOLEN IN VAT, FROM THE TREASURY AND PENSION FUND that has reduced the island to poverty and the peopel to PAUPERS…

now ya hearing “everybody born corrupt” in justification…

…maligning those who have nothing to do with corruption and TIEFING BILLIONS OF DOLLARS from the people ……i would like to know who appointed these cretins who could barely string an intelligent sentence together, psychoanalysts..

..but the overwhelming, APPALLING IGNORANCE will leave EVERYONE IN POVERTY….including the IGNORANT….who live on the island…..and believe once lying politicians steal from them, it’s ok….and legal.

“Not a failed state yet but………………”

ya have gone way past that stage…if only you know what is OUT THERE ON THEM…

58. Looking at the two active posts.
    None of the comment goes to the hall of fame.
    Bring out the porters for the hall of shame.
    Major yawn.

59. Theo…that’s the best ya will get, after years and years, it’s time to wrap this up. Let those who care about their future, their destiny and families, deal with this, it’s that time..

those of us who were ringing this bell for years and years got only abuse in thanks…no one is interested in hearing the crap from the usual suspects anymore…we don’t owe them anything..

The more intelligent know what must be done and am sure are on it…self preservation and survival are powerful incentives.

60. John A August 18, 2022 2:12 PM #: “That too is my question. But i will go further and ask is any minister legally within their rights to confiscate $1 billion dollars from shareholders in a pension fund when no part of the monthly contribution was made up by government?”

@ John A

Could you please explain your above comments?

61. @ Artax

My point is the money placed in the fund is made up of contributions from the employer and employee. There is no contribution made as a result by government on the PAYE form.

For any government to therefore feel that it has the right to write off $1 billion dollars of the contributions of employers and employees begs the question, do they really have a legal right to do so based on how the money was sourced? In other words whose money really was it that got written off here and did government really have a right to do this?

So if i had money say in a bank and the bank decided to right off a portion of the money on deposit what would the depositors rights be? Is this then no diiiferent than the Clico or Trade Confirmers scenario except at a state level? They are many questions that need answers here yet all that we are hearing is a deafening silence.

62. John A August 18, 2022 9:34 PM #: “There is no contribution made as a result by government on the PAYE form.:

@ John A

You’ve gone from NIS contributions to mentioning something about a “PAYE form.”
    So, I’m not sure what point you’re trying to make.

I know “money placed in the fund is made up of contributions from the employer and employee.”

In the private sector – EE = 11.10%; ER = 12.75%

For permanent government employees:
    EE = 9.80%; ER = 10.95%
    Temporary government employees:
    EE = 11.10%; ER = 12.25%
    State owned enterprises:
    EE = 11.10%; ER = 12.75%

NIS contributions are deducted from the salaries and wages of government employees and are supposed to be remitted to NIS, along with the employer’s contributions.

But, before the usual suspects PURPOSELY MISINTERPRET my comments…… please note I’m NOT SUGGESTING because government, as an employer, pays into the NIS, it “GIVES THEM THE RIGHT” to WITHDRAW from the fund to finance public and private sector projects.

You, NorthernObserver and I have been ‘talking’ about the unavailability of NIS financial statements for a very long time.
    Yet, successive BLP and DLP administrations have been making business decisions in the ABSENCE of AUDITED financial statements, which can only be described as ‘reckless.’

Among the only reasonable alternatives ‘government’ have is to audit the investments to determine ROI; value any assets; reconcile receivables and ‘go after’ those businesses and persons indebted to the scheme; replenish the fund in the amount lost as a result of the debt restructuring.

63. @ Artax

Yes reading back what i said was a but confusing.

What i.meant was like the PAYE the NIS is a deduction made by the employee based on earnings. Difference of course being unlike the PAYE the NIS contributions are made by the employee and employer towards the pesion of said employee paid into a pension plan. At no time as a result can these funds ever be seen as belonging to anyone other than the employee. It is therefore from day 1 the money of the employee simply placed in trust with the NIS until that employee reaches pension age.

Based on that I welcome anyone trying to explain to me how the state has any right to wipe a blind cent of these funds off the NIS books. The money clearly was not theirs to begin with.

64. I’m sure the ‘T’ guy is fully aware that some people should be very careful how they use words such as ‘intelligent.’

I’ll give you a recent example.

A few days ago a particular individual posted information relative to Harlequin Boutique Hotel Limited, in Bankruptcy.
    That person proceeded to make certain comments on the issue, which were inaccurate and would’ve only served to mislead the forum.

It clearly indicated the person DID NOT read the letter from the Trustee to the Claimants THOROUGHLY, nor did they understood bankruptcy proceedings as it relates to ‘secured, unsecured or preferred claims.’

Unfortunately, this is not an isolated ‘incident.’

‘Less is more.’

65. Tudor insists NIS not in crisis

Director of the National Insurance Department, Kim Tudor, is reiterating that even though the amounts being paid in benefits exceed contributions, the National Insurance Scheme (NIS) is not in crisis.
    She also assured Barbadians the state entity was committed to improving its efficiency and will do so “over the next couple of years”.
    Tudor was speaking on Wednesday night at Alexandra School in St Peter at the second NIS town hall meeting where discussions focused on the topi How Can We Revitalise The National Insurance Scheme – For Us, Our Children And Grandchildren? as well as its latest actuarial report.
    Structure ‘obsolete’
    The first in the series took place Monday evening at Combermere School in Waterford, St Michael.
    The director told the audience, some of whom had questions about pensions and reforming that aspect of the NIS, that the present structure was “obsolete”.
    “We’re paying out a lot more in benefits than we are taking in in contributions. Actually, this year we will pay out $300 000 more in benefits than we are taking in contributions and that is the system that we are dealing with. It is obsolete.
    “We, however, can shape the future that we want together. Something that is sustainable, affordable and equipped for all Barbadians across generations. We are not in crisis. We have been paying all our benefits. As I said Monday night, we are in the process of paying pensions up to September 28th, September 29th, because we process a month in advance . . . and they should be out shortly. So, we’re not in crisis,” said Tudor.
    She said that, as stated previously, it will be about 12 to 19 years before there is a crisis and assured those in attendance that “we are acting responsibly” and bringing the situation to the public as the desire is to design the NIS system “that would take us into the future”.
    Apart from Tudor, the meeting was attended by NIS chairman Leslie Haynes QC, his deputy Rawdon Adams and actuary Derek Osborne.
    Concerns voiced by the audience included pensions and the impact of increased contributions on the average person.
    Stephen Strickland, a former NIS employee, was critical of the board of the National Insurance Department, grounding his argument in the decision to increase non-contributory pensions in 2018, which later led to an increase in contributory pensions.
    Stating he has given lectures about the NIS, Strickland said he told people before that the pensionable age would not move past 67, but that it now would.
    “In 2004, I think I was told that if nothing is done in 2004, in 2020 or 2022 it (the fund) would almost be depleted. I’m in 2022 and I’m being told that [it’s] 13 years down the road. And in 13 years down the road the question is, the board and those that make decisions, what will happen?
    Pension increases
    “The decision in respect of the increase in pensions. There was a statutory increase as was stated just now since 2006. Every year they went up so there was no need in my opinion to give the pensioners that increase in 2018 because they were getting a statutory increase when other persons in Barbados were not getting in salary. And therefore, I think that something has to be done with the governance of the National Insurance funds in respect of the board,” he contended.
    Karen Jordan spoke about the impact of increasing contribution rates on someone earning $5 000 a month, for example, asking what he/ she would take home after requisite statutory taxes and contributions were deducted from their salary.
    “How are they going to survive? They have a family. They have bills and we know everything is going up . . . but nobody is talking about these people on the threshold and how hard it will be for them to pay an increased contribution rate.
    “You’re just telling me, ‘Oh, you’ve got to pay the rate because we want the fund to survive. I want the fund to survive too, but you can’t have it surviving at the expense of people living today,” she said to a smattering of applause.
    (GBM)

66. more shite talk,….always seeing something they want to contradict so they can turn it into SHIT…….copy it and agree with it later…frauds…

67. My problem is, anyone who can argue that a man is the parliamentary representative of a constituency BASED SOLELY on the fact he had a billboard bearing his photograph next to his constituency office and then continue to argue people in the constituency told the man is the representative…… is far from ‘intelligent.’

Anyone who would ‘stoop so low’ as to ADMITTING to ‘lying and making up things just to make things interesting,’ is a lowlife liar and FRAUD.

There ISN’T ANY PROOF to SUBSTANTIATE anyone EVER having ‘copied anything and agreed with it later.’ RUBBISH.
    Just another EXAMPLE of ‘MAKING UP THINGS just to make things interesting.’

BUT, there is enough evidence in this forum that would clearly indicate what some people say is EASY to CONTRADICT, because more OFTEN than not, they DON’T KNOW what they’re ‘talking’ about.

68. LOL… yuh gotta like Kim…

..One BILLION dollars gone with the wind.
    ..Outflows exceed inflows by 300,000 per year
    ..Public confidence blown
    ..60% of the Assets are KNOWN to be worthless
    ..Scheduled to die in 10 years

But there is NO NIS crisis.
    This is business as usual….. ONLY bout hey!

• @Bush Tea

They have to incorporate PR in the message. They need to buy time. It will be a rough ride.

69. @ David

AFTER making business decisions in the ABSENCE of AUDITED financial statements, they CANNOT AFFORD “to buy time.”

• @Artax

The Director in her spiel was careful to say that the statements are completed, all that is outstanding is a coming together of the minds between the AG and Board in cash vs accrual matters.

70. “They have to incorporate PR in the message. They need to buy time. It will be a rough…”

As Duopoly Willy would say Government are skilled propagandists..
    releasing bad news will only be a hot topic issue for one weeks news cycle and then it is forgotten.

71. @ David

That is a load of crock. The accounting principles are clear on how such things are dealt with.

Also if she is basing her asset value on say building cost of places like the grotto she is grossly overstating her asset value. What ever figures they end up providing need to be taken with a pinch of salt unless they have been ordered to have their real estate holdings booked at market value as oppossed to building cost. Also one must ask are the rents for all these buildings up to date? Are the receivables these financials will show collectable or has a bad debt allocation been made and will that be shown in the accompanying notes to the financials?

In other words if these audited financials are ever made public kindly publish the notes as well seeing that the auditors concerns will be in there.

• @John A

The bottomline is if 1 billion was burnt from investment holdings it is coming from the same pocket – government; taxpayers. Where do we go from here? This is why many are saying the obvious solution is cash injection from government. Bottomline, we all have to pay.

72. The goverment did not JUST write off 1 billion from NIS
    Goverment did a debt restucture the give gave All (persons / entities) Holding giverment debt a hair Cut

B. When NIS purchased the giverment Bonds they became an ASSET for the 270k ( contributor and non-contributors)
    C. Since the goverment was responsable for paying the value of the Bonds + interest at maturity then it became a LIABILITY / DEBT for the goverment / tax payers
    D. When the 1b ASSET came off the books of NIS – The 1b LIABILITY / DEBT came off the books of goverment / tax payers

Gloom and doom , gloom and doom.
    Note ti self : Let me throw a hit a sinckler to make them Think i am a neutral 😀

Now gov bailed Out the clico pensioners
    They bauled the former hotel workers
    That assisted the the liar workers

Now who would Think the if today NIS had problems paying the pensions that gov would not jump In?

Another question – before 2018 how much money did NIS make from goverment Bonds?
    Was it legal for goverment to invest NIS money in goverment Bonds which seen as the safest. Investornyhed in the Island before 2018?

Where would and injection of 1b or the paying of 1b ti honors the bonds come from beside the public purse ?

Gloom and doom, gloom and doom and bare twisted BS

• @John2

Save the PR BS. What we are discussing takes us forward from the mechanics of the debt restructure. We don’t need your abc explanation.

73. It is absolutely amazing how these paid operatives with fancy titles are out front trying to put lipstick on a pig. It reminds of those , I suspect non paid operatives , in both traditional and non traditional media, are coming up with all kinds of excuses that bear no reality to the dire straits we are in.
    We have a NIS fund that was ripped of one billion dollars just so and there’s no crisis.
    But a few years ago the entire country was told spending money on the fiftieth anniversary of independence was unwise and that money should be spent on the poor. Now the same people lick up one billion.
    The Duopoly is merciless but some come here with extreme bouts of amnesia.
    All of these town hall meetings and the question has not been asked: how can a minister of finance jeopardize the country’s pension and state fund , to the tune of one billion dollars just so.
    But we always have the option of getting into semantics.

• @Artax

Good question. If the blogmaster were to guess the answer is yes. Former Chairs Robinson and Marshall had indicated the preparation of the financials were at some state of being completed. The blogmaster notes a former partner of the accounting house responsible for auditing NIS now sits on the Board of NIS. Let us hope his involvement will speed the matter along. It has been too long.

As you know audited financials is a strong signal to the market the financial health of the entity.

74. John2 August 19, 2022 8:34 AM #: “D. When the 1b ASSET came off the books of NIS – The 1b LIABILITY / DEBT came off the books of goverment / tax payers.”

@ John 2

Surely you jest.

The simple point being is that National Insurance funds is MANAGED by the state, but OWNED by current and future Barbadian pensioners.

‘Government’ shouldn’t have made a reckless decision to restructure the debt, which resulted in the fund being deprived of $1B, thereby jeopardizing the entire scheme in the process.

Then, to add ‘insult to injury,’ ‘government’ is holding ‘town hall meetings’ through which they are seeking to solicit ideas from the same current and future pensioners, in an effort to rectify a reckless decision that was made.

Can’t be “doom and gloom.”

75. Junior Soul
    Black reggae musicians work with an original song to make an instrumental riddim.
    Then a singer will come in and sing vocals over it.
    Then a chanting DJ will cut a version excursion for Rastafari brethren to jump up and dance making their dreadlocks fly.

I have got proof..:

Original soul song
    Give Me Your Love (Love Song)

Reggae Song
    Give Me Your Love

76. Keep Your Dread
    DJ version

the same principle or working and reworking a tune or riddim applies to systems of politics and narratives in a black man land (and black woman land)

77. @ David
    Good point. Rather than admit it was wreckless and I’ll conceived to put the fund in further jeopardy, after accusing your predecessor of such, you then come and act just as irresponsibly.
    All that non partisan persons are saying, is , it was a major blunder of the minister of finance.
    But those with nothing but partisanship to offer can’t bring themselves to be as vehement in the condemnation of Mottley as we were of Sinckler , in relation to what is obviously a serious mismanagement of the fund by both ministers.
    But more to your point: in the end we the taxpayers will have to save the fund in one way or the other.
    At the end of the day , Sinckler is up in Washington with Mottley’s blessing and Mottley , has a large family law practice to return to and a pension guaranteed by the same taxpayers that are now missing one billion and the rest that Sinckler caused the fund . A similar pension awaits Sinckler.
    And we have to save the fund not Mottley and Sinckler.
    Let the partisans from both sides dwell on this reality.
    Shameful pack of Kool aid drinkers. All of them , Bees and Dees.

78. “Mottley , has a large family law practice to return to ”

Family Law specialises in Divorce and Children matters
    which is different to a family of lawyers

Family Dub

79. So what came first
    the dub riddim or the vocal version
    it is another chicken and egg conundrum

Operation Radication

Wackies Act 3 – 09 Dubmatic (Operation Radication riddim)

80. Artax

Are you saying that gov should not have restructured All the debt ?
    If You do then we are not In agreement
    ………………
    John A is alway pushing for gov to Cut it expenses un order ti balance the budget
    Now with the covid hit how much would have NIS lost if giv had sent Home workers and did not support the keep on of the hotel / tourism workers ?
    ……….

Near term solution to close the 300k gap is to g’et some of the 50m owed by business to start coming in

81. @ David
    Yes you are correct the only solution is a billion dollar cash injection. Good news is it does not have to be in a lump sum, but can be $81M a year for roughly 12 years.

This should also not be paid by the insured either as they did not decide to burn $1billion of the NIS FUND. To therefore increase contributions from the working public to fill a gap caused by a political decision, would be at the very least an immoral act and a case of double dipping.

82. @Dee Word

Note the paragraph highlighted.

Police to help recover pensions

Government has called in the Barbados Police Service to help recover the $3.9 million that was paid to 34 dead pensioners.
    This was revealed in the Ministry of Finance’s report to Parliament in response to concerns raised in the Auditor General’s Report for 2021.
    The response, submitted by Director of Finance and Economic Affairs Ian Carrington, said that so far the Treasury Department has recovered more than $1/2 million of the money, some of which was paid out for more than ten years.
    However, with some members of the public involved being uncooperative, lawmen were contacted to help.
    “As at August 11, 2022, the sum of $651 778.97 has been collected from 20 accounts. The Treasury has contacted the Barbados Police Service to further assist in retrieving outstanding funds from account holders who have so far shown no inclination to voluntarily repay,” the Treasury Department said in its updated response.
    “The Death Register was received from the Registration Department in May 2022 and reviewed. The pensioners’ register has been updated, a process that will now continue monthly. To facilitate this, a memo has been sent to the Registrar of the Supreme Court requesting monthly electronic access to the Death Register,” it added.
    Auditor General Leigh Trotman had flagged the overpayment of pensions as an area of concern following an audit of Government’s financial
    statements for 2021.
    “A review of the pension payroll revealed that payments totalling $3.9 million were being made in the names of deceased persons. In some instances these payments were being made for over ten years. These payments were in respect of 34 former pensioners,” he said.
    ‘Review controls’ “Information from the Registration Department confirmed that these former pensioners were deceased. The controls for the payment of pensions need to be reviewed and a stop order should be placed on any additional payments. Efforts should be made to recover the outstanding amounts.”
    The Accountant General had explained in his initial response published in the Auditor General’s Report that the payment of pensions to dead people was being investigated, and that “the accounts of those former pensioners have been inactivated in the system in order to stop any further payments to them”.
    “Stop payment orders have also been issued to the commercial banks for payments that were in transit in relation to the former pensioners. Efforts are being made to recover the amounts deposited to the relevant accounts subsequent to the death of those former pensioners,” the official added.
    The Accountant General had also explained that the Treasury Department’s inability to access Death Register information was part of the problem.
    “Over the years, the Treasury Department was unable to access the Death Register information. After discovering that the information from the Death Register was recently made available to the Auditor General’s Office, the Registration
    Department was requested to provide the Treasury Department with access to information from the Death Register,” the Accountant General said. (SC)

83. Last night I looked at Barbados today and was overwhelmed. Government efforts can be described as a man looking under his sofa cushions for money that fell out of his pockets.

The problem is real.

But I will never understand the GoB. One minute multi-million or billion dollars deals and the , the next minute scrambling to recover pocket change. Harassing the small man and the big sharks go untouched.

Not impressed. Recovering money is a good PR story, but the untouchables may escape the effort.

84. What a bunch of jokers!!
    No wonder there are no annual reports produced… it would be too embarrassing.

So who are the police going to prosecute?

SURELY the incompetent jokers who failed to to the jobs they are paid to do…
    ..and NOT those unemployed, COVID-bashed, dispossessed citizens who ‘miraculously’ received money from the NIS during the worse times of their lives.

When the people in charge are incompetent idiots, there is NO hope for ANYONE.

Even if the wisest people on earth were on the Titanic, and the captain is incompetent, ALL the wise people’s donkeys would STILL be doomed.

85. Two ideas to save money

1) Since we looking under cushions, here is a next $750K that should be easy to recover.

“It is alleged that we forked out approximately US $375,000 (BDS$750,000) for the tag line “Little Island, Big Barbados.”

2) Ask the guy running the National ID scam to give us the cost

3) I forgot what the hell EWSB was doing. Where did they go?

4) Get people out of procuring monkey pox vaccines

5) Keeping people past 67 to 70 may mean some will have their hand in the till for 3 more years.

86. BRASS BOWL!!!!

“Government to set us Audit Department”

This MUST be a mistake David!!

There is NO WAY that, with an annual $8 Billion operation, spread across dozens of loose Ministries, SOEs and other RADICAL arrangements, there could POSSIBLY be NO internal audit operation in place…. No way!! NONE!!

So this ‘announcement’ from the Director of Fine Ants HAS to be a typo…..

IT HAS TO BE…..

…otherwise Bushie will lose ALL hope…

WAIT!!!!
    The bushman lost that two YEARS ago when the whacker get tek way….

• @Bush Tea

Minister Straughn promised in the 2019 Financial Management Act the late submissions of financials would have been a thing of f the past. Enough stated. We are tired of these layers of bureaucracy where the outcomes are already known.

87. Things real bad.

Suddenly we have town halls, zoom meetings and meetings in some constituencies.

When fellows that think you too stupid to know anything start running to you for ideas, when they want to add your hands to ‘many hands’, when they want you to be unpaid cuntsultants and make use of your pea-brain power, then you know that things are real bad.

The big joke is that if they solve this problem they will go back to their old ways and pull out the sad songs again in 2035.
    https://youtu.be/pJMJmop-Gik

• The meetings are not about getting ideas from the public, it is about socializing the issues to prepare for what has already been decided. We have to be more discerning.

88. Would have love too see ‘the little train that could’, the ball buster, the nut cracker, the pit-bull of BU sinking its teeth in these stories.

BU’s loss.
    I know ‘The A guy’ misses her😃

89. @ David
    If you wanted to FULLY grasp the concept of ‘brassbowlery’, you simply would have to reflect on the FACT, (as CLEARLY seen here on BU,) that while OUR OWN ship is sinking rapidly into the Caribbean Sea of debt, unemployment, graft, crime, hopelessness, despair and chaos … we are MUCH more focussed on, concerned about, knowledgeable of, and worried about …. the imminent sinking of the albino-centric ‘Titanic’ that has captured out minds so completely.

It seems to bother us MUCH more, that the USA/Europe is about to sink into catastrophic chaos, than that Barbados is actually preceding them to that destination.

With such chained minds, it is no wonder that we have resigned ourselves to accept such mediocrity, and have convinced ourselves that, if these ‘role models’ can do no better, then woe unto our donkeys…

Called the “Stockholm Syndrome”, this is a well researched phenomenon.
    So here we have the victims of centuries of abuse, so identifying with their abusers, that we are HAPPY to suffer WITH them, the consequences of THEIR abuse….

Here is what the ‘Messenger’ (Luciano) had to say about this phenomenon… check the lyrics…

• @Bush Tea

The old people have a saying a little learning is a dangerous thing. Where it has landed us is that opinions are everywhere, we have become very polarized on many fronts, political, religious etc. Apply a lack of leadership to the mix and it should explain so much.

90. “With such chained minds, it is no wonder that we have resigned ourselves to accept such mediocrity, and have convinced ourselves that, if these ‘role models’ can do no better, then woe unto our donkeys…

Called the “Stockholm Syndrome”, this is a well researched phenomenon.
    So here we have the victims of centuries of abuse, so identifying with their abusers, that we are HAPPY to suffer WITH them, the consequences of THEIR abuse….”

SERVES THEM RIGHT…i have no sympathy, they had too much slave minded lip for us on here…..they are only getting what they deserved and what they sowed..

“When fellows that think you too stupid to know anything start running to you for ideas, when they want to add your hands to ‘many hands’, when they want you to be unpaid cuntsultants and make use of your pea-brain power, then you know that things are real bad.

The big joke is that if they solve this problem they will go back to their old ways and pull out the sad songs again in 2035.”

then TIEF YA IDEAS and SOLUTIONS and run up and down the world stage LYING that it’s theirs and still looking for slave m asters to trap the people in bondage and oppression…..and treating the Afrikan population like they don’t matter…

i won’t give those FRAUDS the time of day…

“There is NO WAY that, with an annual $8 Billion operation, spread across dozens of loose Ministries, SOEs and other RADICAL arrangements, there could POSSIBLY be NO internal audit operation in place…. No way!! NONE!!”

have you not noticed ever so often they jump into the media to say they are FINALLY putting this and that in place after over half century of the same in place in larger jurisdictions AND other islands….these are half century behind in everything, only now TALKING about putting in place workplace sexual harrasment and assault…you have BACKWARD GOVERNMENTS only suitable for CORRUPTION…

Leave a comment, join the discussion.