The video was sent by Ras Jahaziel of https://rastafarivisions.com/. He is a long time contributor to Barbados Underground. The more middleclass and upwardly mobile we become as a Black people we seem to be receptive to allowing our history to fade by retreating to a eurocentric form of existence – David, BU blogmaster

170 responses to “Testimony of a Runaway Slave”

1. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

The WEAK black mind is a DANGER to everyone.

the more delusionally, pretend ” middle class upward in mobility” ya become with NO PROOF OF PROGRESS….the more SLAVEMINDED ya are….in case anyone has missed that reality in the last half century….

2. Magnificent a.k.a Magno – Yu Heard Formula: C₂₁H₃₀O₂ IUPAC ID: (−)-(6aR,10aR)-6,6,9-trimethyl- 3-pentyl-6a,7,8,10a-tetrahydro- 6H-benzo[c]chromen-1-ol Avatar
    Magnificent a.k.a Magno – Yu Heard Formula: C₂₁H₃₀O₂ IUPAC ID: (−)-(6aR,10aR)-6,6,9-trimethyl- 3-pentyl-6a,7,8,10a-tetrahydro- 6H-benzo[c]chromen-1-ol

The 555 angel number meaning is that significant change is imminent. Change is a part of life, and when we see the number 555, something is telling you that a transition is in play in your life and all around you. Every change brings stress; it’s part of being human.

555 Dub Street

555 Crown Street

3. Augustus Pablo Meets Aggrovators and King Tubby

4. I Man A Rasta / Warrior

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dqeK1CyMwLQ

5. Verona Michael Avatar

Hmmm, I wonder what the black runaways enslaved and killed by Idi Amin of Uganda would say about this report

6. Vincent Codrington Avatar

Our history started in 1627. If you mean the History of West Africa from which the majority of the slaves were shipped ,please say so. But Africa’s histories are not Barbadian History. Eurocentric? The author can only speak for himself. There is no “we” in this.

7. RE I wonder what the black runaways enslaved and killed by Idi Amin of Uganda would say about this report
    THATS AN EASY QUESTION
    THEY WOULD SAY POPPYCOCK OR BALDERDASH OR BULL SHIT………AS IT REALLY IS

RE Our history started in 1627. If you mean the History of West Africa from which the majority of the slaves were shipped ,please say so. But Africa’s histories are not Barbadian History. Eurocentric? The author can only speak for himself. There is no “we” in this.
    I AGREE WITH YOU 100% VINCENT

8. There is a WE Vincent because intelligent beings have the opportunity to observe and garner feedback to inform an opinion.

9. @Verona Michael

If you next door neighbour commits a dastardly act does it mean the whole neighborhood should be condemned?

10. “Our history started in 1627.”

Barbados was first occupied by the British in 1627
    and remained a British colony until internal autonomy was granted in 1961
    The Island gained full independence in 1966
    and cut ties to the Britain monarch in 2021

It is still a member of the Commonwealth.

surely your history only started in 2021

11. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

” But Africa’s histories are not Barbadian History. ”

and this is why BU is being labeled Barbados Misleading Underground…

Barbados’ history is ONLY ONE OF SLAVERY, a trading post for Slaves, as intended….post the original inhabitants being chased off the island, post indentureship servitude of the irish, scottish, etc, the targets of ethnic cleansing for 5-7 year periods back then… …..now it’s a trading post for the SLAVE MINDED…

…..the only true history pre the TRANSATLANTIC trading in HUMANS…..is Afrikan history, none other counts….and if yall had known anything about it, ya won’t be spewing that shite….everyone knows about your history EXCEPT YOU…

..Barbados is A SLAVE COLONY and always will be……..yall keep going around in circles with SLAVE MINDS…and can never disconnect from it……..that’s the problem..

12. Steuspe

13. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ David Bu at10:10 AM

I used observation and feed back to form my opinion and I conclude that the author and you may be included but not most Barbadians What do you understand/mean by Eurocentric?

14. @Vincent

Many will agree that the culture we promote in Barbados is disproportionately weighted to Euro. It is why there is an 11th hour push to forge a closer relationship with African countries.

15. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ David Bu at 10 :12 AM

Yes . It should if this is a cultural characteristic of the neighbourhood. David please deal with the information before you and not what you hope it is.

16. Vincent there is nothing wrong with agreeing to disagree. Continue to share your views as will the blogmaster.

17. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ David Bu at 10 :21 AM

Is that your perception of the activities? Who authorized it? Barbados like other countries only has international economic interests. Do not read into activities more than they can deliver. Secondly is your perceived motivations a Barbadian consensus? And when did we arrive at it?

18. RE If you next door neighbour commits a dastardly act does it mean the whole neighborhood should be condemned?
    YOU ARE CONTRADICTING YOUR SELF

IN THE SAME WAY THAT THERE IS NO “WE” IN YOUR SCENARIO…..THERE IS NO “WE” IN THE OTHER

THERE MIGHT ONLY BE WEE WEE OR PEE PEE

EUROCENTRIC MAY BE ACKEE AND SALTFISH OR EGGPLANT AND SALT FISH
    EDDOE SOUP WITH DUMPLINGS
    CRAP OVER
    CALYPSO
    COU COU
    SHARK AND BAKE OR SALT FISH AND BAKE
    OR PUDDING AND SOUSE
    LIMING IN THE BUS STAND AS IN DAYS OF OLD OR PUN BROAD STREET
    IF YA GET MY DRIFT

GRAFT, GREED, LUST FOR AND ABUSE OF POWER , AND MATERIALISM IS NOT EUROCENTRIC OR ALBINO CENTRIC , IT IS UNIVERSALLY MANKIND CENTRIC
    IT HAS ALWAYS BEEN AROUND FROM ADAMS DAY AND IS DESCRIBED AS A SYSTEM TO BE AVOIDED AS IS CLEARLY TAUGHT IN I JOHN 2: 15-16 PARTICULARLY

15 Love not the world, neither the things that are in the world. If any man love the world, the love of the Father is not in him.

16 For all that is in the world, the lust of the flesh, and the lust of the eyes, and the pride of life, is not of the Father, but is of the world.

17 And the world passeth away, and the lust thereof: but he that doeth the will of God abideth for ever.

18 Little children, it is the last time: and as ye have heard that antichrist shall come, even now are there many antichrists; whereby we know that it is the last time.

19. @Vincent

Because it is not a Barbados consensus to use your reference, does it mean a nurturing of relationship with the Mother country shouldn’t be pursued?

20. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ David Bu.

Thanks. I will continue to share my views here and elsewhere.

21. Ras Jahaziel Tafari is a Caribbean artist responding to a historical obligation to use his talents for the purpose of African Liberation …

#rastafari
    Spirituality, Discipline, and Healthy Lifestyle : Rastafari Teachings | Ras Stimulant

Spiritual Change – The Journey to Rasta | Kai Davis | TEDxAntigua

22. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

William…..now you see why i put out quarterly magazines specifically for young minds to form their own opinions and do their own research….so they are not led/misled into the same traps for another 3-4 generations…because some people are so comfortable with the current condition and don’t seem to see that it DISADVANTAGES YOUNG MINDS…and .to be that compliant, agreeable, accepting is not fair to our futre/the youth, it’s self-degrading, and nonobjective…….etc…..as opposed to seeing factual realness…

having to post the same things all the time, when it will never penetrate minds condemned to terminal delusions….is too exhausting……many have downloaded, still are, and re-acquainting themselves with their REAL AFRIKAN HISTORY….across continents.

23. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

And ya have to FOREVER keep reminding them that Afrika has 55 mostly GINORMOUS countries, the sizes would frighten them, what happens in one, does not necessarly happen in another…..but the brainwash is SO TOTAL…nothing makes it through that now SELF- imposed barrier….

24. RE Many will agree that the culture we promote in Barbados is disproportionately weighted to Euro. It is why there is an 11th hour push to forge a closer relationship with African countries.
    BOVINE EXCREMENT
    WHY GO TO AFRICA NOW IF YOU DONT WANNA BE EUROCENTRIC AND ALBINO CENTRIC?

DO NOT ALL AFRICAN COUNTRIES HAVE “EUROCENTRIC” LINKS
    EVEN THE ONCE GREAT USA HAS VERY SOLID “EUROCENTRIC” LINKS, AFTER ALL DIDNT THE AMERICANS COME OVER FROM EUROPEAN COUNTRIES?

DID NOT WALTER RODNEY WRITE ABOUT HOW EUROPE UNDER DEVELOPED AFRICA?
    WAS HE WRONG?

WHAT HOUR IS IT?
    OK IT SEEMS AS THOUGH THE NINTH HOUR HAS PASSED.

25. It would be interesting to see what the responses would be if we asked different ethnic groups in Barbados when their “history started”.

A few would answer ‘Adam and Eve’ and some would even mention England, Ireland Scotland, India ….

26. RE .now you see why i put out quarterly magazines specifically for young minds to form their own opinions and do their own research….so they are not led/misled into the same traps for another 3-4 generations

ACTUALLY YOU PUT put out quarterly magazines specifically SEEKING TO CONFORM YOUNG MINDS TO YOUR WAY OF THINKING.

FOR YOU AND A FEW OTHERS HERE EVERYTHING IS BLACK AND ORIGINATED IN AFRICA

THOSE OF YOUR ILK ARE NO DIFFERENT TO AMERICANS WHO SEEM TO BELIEVE THAT THE WORLD EXISTS ONLY BETWEEN ALASKA AND THE FLORIDA KEYS

IS THERE A BALANCE TO BE FOUND ANYWHERE?
    IS BLACK ALL GOOD AND ALL PERFECT
    AND IS WHITE ALL BAD AND ALL IMPERFECT
    DOES BLACK AND WHITE COME INTO HARMONY ONLY ON THE MUSICAL KEYBOARD?

27. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

Up to a few years ago, they were still discriminately and extrajudicially hunting down and brutally murdering Black men in racist Guyana, they are still under investigation for that, not a word from the BU experts, only Pacha kept showing concern and speaking out.,..

in dirty Dominican Republic they still lynch Black men and brutally mistreat Black women, not a word, not a show of concern about Black people being brutalized in the Caribbean…, the BU experts know evating about Afrika but don’t know their own history OR WHY certain things still happen on the continent…..and won’t even put themselves out their to find out…

no ya not as special as ya think…. and ya will not get to see the continent robbed as we know many are hoping and praying so they can remain good Slaves….it’s to be a partnership to help the descents not for thieves to profit…

28. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

I saw at least 6 years ago where this misleading was taking hold, and knew it was our FUTURE/THE YOUTH would suffer the consequence with these fantasies and daydreams of those who CANNOT get a firm grip on reality….

29. FYI David Tubman
    of the Underground
    Your comment is awaiting moderation.
    unapproved=1910890

I cannot recall the name of this song
    why why why why why why why
    woy woy woy woy woy woy woy woy

30. The blogmastwer curious how many watched Ras’s video before commenting.

31. Link is a great link.
    One of my favorite pastimes is googling “what does the bible say about __”
    You will find the Bible has a say on everything, no matter how recent

32. THEO
    I WROTE ABOUT THIS IN MY DMIN THESIS OVER 20 YEARS AGO
    THIS ISSUE IS ADDRESSED NOT ONLY IN HEBREWS 11, BUT ALSO IN ROMANS I, BUT MOST IMPORTANTLY IN 2 PETER 3:7-10 WHERE THE END OF THE WORLD AS WE KNOW IT WILL BE DESTROYED BY CHRIST—NOT MAN– VIA NUCLEAR FISSION , PRIOR TO THE FORMATION OF A NEW HEAVENS AND EARTH WHEREIN DWELLS RIGHTEOUSNESS
    IN FACT I POSTED MY THOUGHTS ON THIS IN ONE OF MY PPTS IN SWEET SUNDAY SERMON SOME TIME AGO

33. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

“ACTUALLY YOU PUT put out quarterly magazines specifically SEEKING TO CONFORM YOUNG MINDS TO YOUR WAY OF THINKING.

FOR YOU AND A FEW OTHERS HERE EVERYTHING IS BLACK AND ORIGINATED IN AFRICA”

GP…it’s not my way of thinking as opposed to YOUR WAY OF THINKING…..i did not create the ANCIENT DOCUMENTS from 5,000 YEARS AGO, now in circulation OUR ANCESTORS DID….i agree with it, because am connected to them and not some shite book periodically updated with EUROCENTRIC THINKING which you did not write but agree with all the deceptions in it anyway…although it’s real name is the negro slave bible…

and some of us KNOW…that our BLACK ANCESTORS CIVILIZED and built the earth for thousands of years…the structures are still standing…did you not see that in your book of sleight of hand……their WRITINGS are still available….for everyone to find..and if ya had ever read any of my magazines, which i know you did not, ya won’t spew that nonsense…as i have read the negro slave bible and can see the deceptions…all 3/4 worth……….

34. How is it possible not to recognize the CLEAR differences in nationalistic characteristics in such critical areas as wealth building, military investments, military aggressiveness on the one hand, and in extreme spirituality, family and community focus, and lack of interest in accumulating high wealth and possessions on the other as an example?
    Obviously in each society there are outliers at both ends of these extremes, but one would need to be asleep, for example, not to recognize the difference in materialism between even the two main racial groups here in Barbados.
    On the one hand we generally see individuals well past their expiry date, still intensely accumulating more money,
    …and on the other, we have young persons with their whole future ahead, who ‘fire the wuk’ as soon as they accumulate enough to survive for a few weeks… and look for a lime.
    ‘Albino-centric’ or ‘Euro-centric’ simply describes a GENERAL cultural disposition; while ‘Afro-centric’ describes another (different) general disposition.
    …now ‘brass bowlery’… THAT is another matter altogether.

35. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

oh…and GP…the reason why it’s called the Negro Slave bible…is because although they have access to MOST of our ancestor’s writings…they DID NOT put everything in it…cause it’s great fun for them to watch the likes of you argue yourself to death and run around in circles….

36. @Bush Tea

The challenge as William always reminds us is how to educate our people to grow a capacity to prioritize what is relevant. At the moment we define success by things acquired.

37. DavidMarch 16, 2022 10:21 AM

@Vincent

Many will agree that the culture we promote in Barbados is disproportionately weighted to Euro. It is why there is an 11th hour push to forge a closer relationship with African countries.

… but most of Africa aligns itself with Russia and China!!

If you look at the voting in the UN, you will see African countries have shifted their allegiance to communist ideologies.

38. Barbados keeping each foot grounded in either camp!!

39. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@David, a hearty LOL , I didn’t. I read the comments hoping to get a gist. Often, the blog posts are more provoking (and always more entertaining) than the original, so I do beg apologizes in not watching yet.

@Vincent’s 9:59Am caught my attention straight-away as just like @Theo (as I read later) I was taken aback by his assertion that OUR history started in 1627 when he and other learned folks here expound, intertwine, entangle and all such words the Biblical history into ours!

@Vincent: I get it that the Afrocentric side of our ancestry is fraught with numerous “issues” not the least being that for many of our brethren there we are unwanted and ridiculed distant cousins and then even for those who embraced us it was previously hard to maintain links even when something was developed … but for every Bajan like you who accepts the ‘distant cousin ridicule’ there are many others who definitively link our personalities, food choices, nappy hair and all that we are to the history and familial connections to our brothers and sisters from Western Africa!

Yes there are lots of “WE”

Lata, lata.

40. @Dee Word

The blogmaster can chose to be provocative and ask why we have never pointedly addressed land ownership in Barbados. We have large tracts of land owned by a few. On a 21×14 island the concentration of a large acreage should be with few persons.

41. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

Right….

42. RE GP…it’s not my way of thinking as opposed to YOUR WAY OF THINKING…..i did not create the ANCIENT DOCUMENTS from 5,000 YEARS AGO, now in circulation OUR ANCESTORS DID….i agree with it, because am connected to them
    SO THAT IS YOUR WAY OF THINKING
    IF YOU HAVE MASTERED THOSE DOCUMENTS THAT IS GOOD—-FOR YOU

I AM CONTENT WITH WHAT I HAVE READ AND STUDIED AND LEARNED AND KNOW —–THIS IS WHAT INFORMS AND GUIDES MY WAY OF THINKING, AND I AM QUITE CONTENT, AND SO ARE THE MANY THAT SHARE MY VIEWPOINT—-AND THIS INCLUDES MANY FROM EVERY NATION AND PEOPLE OF EVERY HUE

RE and not some shite book periodically updated with EUROCENTRIC THINKING which you did not write but agree with all the deceptions in it anyway…although it’s real name is the negro slave bible…
    I DID NOT WRITE CHEMISTRY OR BASIC MEDICAL SCIENCE BOOKS EITHER
    I HAVE NOT AND WILL NOT READ YOUR DOCUMENTS EITHER BUT I DONT THINK I WILL BE AS DISRESPECTFUL AS YOU ARE TO CALL THE INFO IN WHICH YOU ARE INDOCTRINATED AND WANT TO SHARE some shite book OR negro slave bible.
    OR book of sleight of hand…

SEEING THAT YOU HAVE READ THE BIBLE I HOPE THAT ONE DAY THAT SATAN , THE GOD OF THIS WORLD WILL RELINQUISH THE HOLD HE HAS ON YOUR MISERABLE GARROULOUS CANTAKEROUS SOUL AND THAT ONE DAY YOU WILL GET TO UNDERSTAND AND EMBRACE THE MESSAGE OF THE GOSPEL WHICH IS THAT CHRIST DIED FOR SINERS AND ROSE FROM THE DEAD

43. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

That is really going to change my opinions….wait for it…

44. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

Just don’t try rapturing anyone that i like…….lol

45. Magnificent a.k.a Magno – Yu Heard Formula: C₂₁H₃₀O₂ IUPAC ID: (−)-(6aR,10aR)-6,6,9-trimethyl- 3-pentyl-6a,7,8,10a-tetrahydro- 6H-benzo[c]chromen-1-ol Avatar
    Magnificent a.k.a Magno – Yu Heard Formula: C₂₁H₃₀O₂ IUPAC ID: (−)-(6aR,10aR)-6,6,9-trimethyl- 3-pentyl-6a,7,8,10a-tetrahydro- 6H-benzo[c]chromen-1-ol

If USA is Eurocentric then it means
    the white man beat the black man
    We got to slow it down for some Texas Shit
    get used to the Texas culture
    watch for them Texas vultures
    Southern hospitality
    Smoking skunk in a groove
    Hey we got soemthing to prove
    we got to slow it down this is Texas bitch
    drinking capuccino
    watching al pacino
    Bangin’ Screw

Magnificent about his cash
    Magno aka McDonalds

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xd6LFMTsRaw

46. BLACK CARIBBEAN PEOPLE ARE THE MOST BRAINWASHED AND IGNORANT PEOPLE IN THE WORLD WHILST THEY WILL ALWAYS BE AT THE BOTTOM OF THE TOTEM POLE AS A GROUP.

PEOPLE RATHER IDENTIFY THEMSELVES AS BAJAN, JAMAICAN, TRINI ETC AND NOT AFRICAN WHERE THEY ARE ORIGINALLY FROM AND DROPPED OFF AT DIFFERENT POINTS ON THE SHIPS JOURNEYS FROM AFRICA.

THE WHITE MAN DID A BRILLIANT JOB IN DIVIDING AND RULING WHEN MANY ARE FAST TO SAY THEY ARE NOT AFRICAN AND FROM SOMEWHERE ELSE.

EDUCATION DOES NOT START FROM THE MIDDLE BUT FROM THE BEGINNING.

47. Bible Rapture is like a sample of sample

Faded Lady

Diamond D – I Went For Mine