Submitted by William Parker
Successive governments including the incumbent have teased Barbadians about transitioning to a republic. Now that we have witnessed the decommissioning of Nelson statue the question being asked is- are we there yet?
David, blogmaster
Page 1 Page 2
Republic yes! Only if it comes with a warranty that the slavish and colonial minds of the vast majority of Bajans are also disabused.
Otherwise it can have no meaning except for the engagement in the only industrial practice Bajan elites and minions so love – adding the title of “President” to the lexicon of repectability.
Steupse a long drawn out rabbit hole
Right now govt only concern should be placing barbados on a path of economic sustainability
wink wink talk about republic when as independent nation the whole country going to down hill faster than fast
Yellow blue and black needs a good dress rehearsal and not one wrapped in the word Republic
That’s how nasty, petty and small minded DBLP are, spouting about republic for decades when in office and can create all kinds of scams to rob the treasury and pension fund, but once in opposition, the crab mentality sets in and they care even less about the bests interests of the Black population, everything becomes a pappyshow, while they play with the people’s minds and tje only goal is to tell enuff lies to be elected…
…this dirty crowd still stinking up the haunted house gotta go, they rob the people, loose racists and thieves on them, they will create total havoc when they no longer have anyone to pass the blame to..when they commit their numerous crimes, they will see themselves now as the real slave masters….and go full blown criminal on the black populaion……Mia gotta go..
Pacha ya right, the people on the island must rid themselves of the slave mentality and colonial bullshit that the more intelligent know is a fabrication of the same system that brutally enslaved their ancestors, , they’re the only ones who can emancipate themselves from mental slavery and free their own minds, but while transitioning, they will first they have to do something about the present sellout human rights violating government and their evil sidekicks in the tiefing social partnership….it’s now all in the people’s hands, they can SHUT all the minority businesses down PERMANENTLY, simply by not shopping with them for the next 5 years, by then they will get the message and all be gone, it’s beyond ugly how they robbed these people of their benefits…..with government’s collusion, cause government robbed the employees too…..viciously.
“Right now govt only concern should be placing barbados on a path of economic sustainability”
Oh Rasshole, I dump my rum and water all over my sweater.
@ Northern.
Satan lecturing sin pun being bad! 😂
@ chancellor David
“My feeling is that money could be better spent building a polytechnic and community college in the north of the Island”.
I concur…
De former US Naval Facility 1957-1979/Temporary Prison
Republic..
A form of government in which the people or their elected representatives possess the supreme power
a political or national unit possessing such a form of government
a constitutional form in which the head of state is an elected or nominated president
any community or group that resembles a political republic in that its members or elements exhibit a general equality, shared interests, etcthe republic of letters.
Are we ready $ ?????
Before talking long winded nothingness about republic
Mia better find an AG cause the murder rate keeps climbing and he is no where to be found near close to fifty deaths
People bodies found in wells and gullies
Republic where and when
The difference between a republic versus a democracy?
The main difference between a democracy and a republic is the extent to which the people control the process of making laws under each form of government. A voting majority has almost unlimited power to make laws.
Are we ready ???
The republic idea sounded real possible if they could get their STICKY FINGERS on 50 billion dollars of reparations money on the spirits of our brutalized ancestors…….ah guess it don’t sound so possible anymore……..🤣🤣😂😂🤣🤣
they must think our ancestors went somewhere..
When people withhold spending power, they break companies. Black Friday sales in US was a bust today, totally unheard of, but Black Americans are buying Black , so they are screwed anyway , a good position to take if yall want to get rid of the minority parasites in Barbados and their nasty ways, shut them down.,
It is going to interesting to ‘see’ if the current administration- which has unilaterally announced its intention (without referendum) to go the republic route, banana or otherwise- will be awarding any knighthoods and dame-hoods for this year’s Independence celebrations.
Why award a monarchical sounding title this year which would only make the person parading like a monkey in the uniform of a new banana republic look like a genuine small-island assho**le still expecting to be addressed as Lord Sir Jack Elliot and Lady Madam Jenny Miller?
Under the new republic will the senior officers in the RBPF and the BDF be ditching in the Constitution river their royal pips and monarchical medallions which currently bedecked their uniforms?
Why no re-label the ‘dying’ Queen Elizabeth hospital the Nita Barrow Memorial Medical Care Centre or rename it in republic style recognition of the ‘sterling’ contribution of some other outstanding Bajan medical practitioner, be it nurse or doctor.
Miller
Republic would not necessarily mean the end of the demand and awarding of colonial socalled honours.
There will be no Barbados without them.
Ah haven’t heard anything about republic since the reparations BUST…lol
Miller….we shall see, am still waiting to hear Prof. Shillary..
@JohnA
had to put the sweater in the wash lol….that aside, I like the sport, it is an unknown level of hypocrisy.
@HA will tell ya I don’t like her politics. But its too sweet. And she provides a few gems occasionally.
?
“Why no re-label the ‘dying’ Queen Elizabeth hospital the Nita Barrow Memorial Medical Care Centre or rename it in republic style recognition of the ‘sterling’ contribution of some other outstanding Bajan medical practitioner, be it nurse or doctor”.
The name:
Queen Elizabeth Hospital will be something of forgotteness
Our National Hospital will be: Ernest Deighton Mottley Medical University Hospital.
On the date of selection???
no offence but… 280,000 on 431 km² becoming independent is no big deal
Any man who drinks rum and.water cannot be a logical or critical thinker
A real man either goes on the rocks or a mixture of coke
But rum and water lol i just fell.off my chair dying wid laughter
“Any man who drinks rum and.water cannot be a logical or critical thinker. A real man either goes on the rocks or a mixture of coke.”
@ NorthernObserver
Whenever I ask Mariposa anything, it seems not only to upset her, but other people as well. So, to avoid any conflict, I decided to take up this issue with you instead.
When people say they want a rum, scotch, gin, vodka etc, ‘on the rocks,’ it usually means they want the beverage served with ice ONLY.
I’m trying to understand something here. Lets assume, as Mariposa suggested, you decided to sip shot of Old Brigand ‘on the rocks,’ which, I’m sure you’ll agree, is essentially rum and frozen water.
When the ice melts, even if you decide to add more ice or not, doesn’t your drink become rum and water?
At this stage, do you lose your status of being a “real man” and ability to “be a logical or critical thinker?”
@Artax
ac can provide a few gems. This last one, is one of those gems. Too, too sweet. You simply cannot make this stuff up.
A good initiative to attempt to get into the heads of the young ones.
https://www.instagram.com/p/CIGJvwjFodH/
https://barbadostoday.bb/2020/11/28/university-professor-says-accountability-lacking-in-caribbean/
“Professor Alleyne said while the Barbados Labour Party administration recently made an attempt to pass integrity legislation, it was unfortunate it was foiled.
He predicted that legislation would be brought up at the next election.
“It was a bold attempt to implement legislation, because every time corruption comes up it is when there is an election. A year or so after, nobody is interested in the corruption anymore so it becomes a political tool,” Professor Alleyne said.
“As life would have it, in August 2020 it was defeated. I guess it will probably come back up around election time.”
The game and it’s outcome are known, but it will still be played. 2023, 2028, …
Good reading….
https://barbadostoday.bb/2020/11/28/diplomat-chastised-for-suggesting-leaner-cabinet-and-reduction-in-statutory-bodies/
Has John Beale statednanything new we have not aired in this space?
I love Mottley long winded speeches not only do they provide comedic relief but they also tickle my funny bone
Hee hee
Now on to the business of leadership
Mottley has been a member of Parliament ever since Eve was a gal
She knows all the ins and outs of govt
Yet for the life of me i am yet to see her leadership directed by moral persuasion
The Nelson Statue comes to mind for within the removal was pomp and festivity no chastising of Nelsons wrong doings on slavery
BLM comes to mind her words indicative to represent that the issue did not called for retribution
The workers severance pay comes to mind
Toni Moore being placed as a govt minister when her purpose as Union Head would have been better served absent of full-fledged govt intrusion
Allowing COVID to enter barbados shores as an alternative to building the economy
Homosexual Unions
Tax waivers for the wealthy
John Beale is an honorary diplomat, interfering with the internal affairs of Barbados. He should be called in by the foreign minister and given a good talking to or, preferably, the government of Belize should be asked to withdraw his honorary position. Bet you nothing will happen.
He is not the first; we had that Guyanese guy, I think his name was Faria, who got involved in all kinds of things. We are incompetent, the state has failed and it will all end in tears.
How do you know the details of the protocol guiding the accreditation of Beale?
Dont know whether Beale should have kept mouth shut or opened but this i know Commisiong opened his mouth and said this
Xxxcccc
Regarding Beale’s belief that Mottley should reduce her 24-member Cabinet, Comissiong added: “The test of whether a Government minister is justified is whether that minister is giving value for money. If that minister is producing and delivering something of value to the nation that justifies the expenditure on the minister. That should be the test you apply, not simply a question of numbers
Commissiong words are appropriate to say the least which fits Commissiong like a glove
In the two years of which Commisiong has been part of govt he has collected a salary for doing nothing
https://barbadostoday.bb/2020/11/28/legal-changes-to-govern-lawyers/
(The truth is… First, I want back my money/property and then you can penalize the lawyer. I don’t want him/her resting up in jail planning how to spend my money when released. Claw back ill gotten gains)
BT
“There are, however, some challenges that we have to address and the Chief Justice has opened up discussions with me about bringing some much needed amendments to the Legal Professions Act so that we could more swiftly and more effectively deal with lawyers who run afoul of the code of conduct and in particular those who use their client’s monies,” Marshall said.
“I expect that we will be giving some priority to making the necessary amendments to the Legal Professions Act, which, truth be told, is in serious need of being modernized and being made more responsive to the needs, not just of the lawyers but to the needs of clients and the community that they serve.”
@ Hal
John Beale should be dismissed/removed immediately. And then you have Mottley’s chief defender , Ambassador David Commissiong stepping in critiquing John Beale;two ambassadors expressing disagreement in public. This is who we are. Pure nonsense.
Peace
@William
Out of curiosity, who is the sending state?
Who should dismiss Beale?
@David : ” A good initiative to attempt to get into the heads of the young ones.” Good , yes. Initiative(new/start) maybe not.
The Hindsbury Primary School recently installed 32 prefects.
From an enrolment of 366 at the all-girls school, this group of young leaders, along with their teachers, will be promoting high standards and discipline at the school.
After receiving their badges, the new prefects pledged before their principal, teachers, parents and well-wishers to “honour and uphold the school rules” and assist teachers in developing and maintaining discipline amongst the pupils.
Corporate communications administrator with the Barbados Light & Power Company, Jackie Marshall-Clarke, was the keynote speaker and encouraged the children to strive every day to be at their best.
With the theme Pushing The Boundaries Of Excellence, Marshall-Clarke said good habits and a positive attitude were major drivers in achieving excellence.
“Actions become habits and excellence emerges as a result of your actions performed well and consistently over time,” she said.
Principal of the school Nola Cummings-Lewis congratulated the parents first of all on the achievement of their children.
“The good work and good habits being recognised today must have started at home.
“We support this and ask that parents continue to work with their children to develop habits that will shape their future,” she said.
Included in the young leadership team, were head girl, Makayla Carrington and deputy head girl, Kianna Mason.
Along with the other prefects, their responsibilities will include assisting with lunch-time supervision and becoming a “big sister” to other students. (PR)
Nation Newspaper October 24th,2014
@Artax
I was once told if rum was made for children it would have in sweet drinks. So, rum and anything is for children. Real men go straight up !
Peace
@WS
Very Good…
🙂 But highly offensive to a man who believes the God rested on the seventh day with a rum and coke.
Now I may have offended GP
🙂
@ William
We do not even understand the common rules, In fact, the Barbados government should not even have to demand he be removed, that should automatically be done by the Belize government.
It comes back to competence and failure. Beale could not have done that in any developed country unless he had his bag packed.
In fact, I cannot understand how a former Barbados diplomat could turn up as an honorary diplomat for another country.
Tomorrow is independence day, after 54 years we know even less than we did all those years ago. @William, ignore the apologists. Stupidity knows no bounds. Plse remind me: is Beale a black man? Don’t answer. I know.
You are clawing back now that Mia should dismiss Beale?
How dishonest.
@ David #2 A good initiative to attempt to get into the heads of the young ones.” Good , yes. Initiative(new/start) maybe not.
Prefects get leadership training
Article by
nationnews
Prefects get leadership training
THIS YEAR, the students were in control of the annual prefects’ seminar.
President of the Barbados Association of Principals of Public Secondary Schools, Vere Parris, said the decision had been taken for the prefects to have key roles this time around to give them added life experience as young leaders.
“This year the format is somewhat different as it is being led by the prefects and not the prefect masters. We believe there is a lot to be gained from young leaders of Barbados coming together to exchange ideas, network and learn from others who can inspire them,” he said.
The event included remarks from Parris, the feature address by managing director of the Freemind Institute Errol Griffith and a series of group sessions. (CA)
Nation newspaper October 15th 2014
PS I know some guys who are into coffee makers. They are always buying the latest with the newest gadgets attached. They always say they have the newest with the latest “bells and whistles”. I never heard them talk about if the quality of the coffee had improved. Becareful with bells and whistles my Dearest David , concentrate on the quality of the product. Students need environmentally healthy schools and the poorest still need tablets. But right now MPs handing out prefect badges is really about the latest bells and whistles.
Peace
You are so dumb. I believe that English is a foreign language to you. Mia cannot sack Beale because she does not employ him. He is an honorary Belizean diplomat; and the foreign minister can request that he be withdrawn by the Belize Government, or remove him from the country, not sack him.
Alternatively they can call him in and give him a rollicking. This is clarity for the blog, not for the chairman who would not understand in a month of Sundays.
Kiss to you.
Lots of love.
#onbehalfofthebuhousehold
Remove John Beale from the country?
@WS
Very good.
You are shiwingt great form early in the day.
Typo looks like an insult.
“You are showing great form today “
RE Remove John Beale from the country?
WHY? IS HE NOT A BAJAN? IS THIS STATEMENT AND THOUGHT NOT RANK RACISM
HOW IS HE DIFFERENT TO THE SLIME AND SCUM THAT LEADS THE COUNTRY. AND SOME HERE THAT THINK THEY ARE IMPORTANT?
MUST WE ALL SAY WHAT YOU THINK?
IS HE NOT ENTITLED TO AN OPINION JUST BECAUSE HE IS WHITE?
YOU THINK JOHN BEALE CARES ABOUT WUNNAH?
WHAT HE SAID WAS TRUE
There you go, John Beale is an old Lodge boy.
I KNOW THAT………. SO WHAT ? “EVEN” LODGE BOYS ARE BAJANS (L0L).
PK CHELTENHAM WENT TO LODGE TOO
I HAVE A BROTHER WHO WENT TO LODGE
See this comment posted earlier by the man from the Covid 19 infested country across the pond.
@ Hal
No need to combat the Blogmaster. He’s a really nice guy, not dumb at all, he just loves his country more than anybody else.
@ TheOGazerts
We need to discuss our major export product more. Rum . Its the only thing we , who think for ourselves , have in common with some on BU. We drinkit , they drink it. @ Austin promotes gin ! oh well…….or were you referring to the bells and whistles on the coffee maker ?
Peace
Rum production and distribution in the main is not controlled by Barbados concerns.
More smoke.
https://barbadostoday.bb/2020/11/28/legal-changes-to-govern-lawyers/
So at what is usually one of the proudest moments of a young person’s life they are told don’t tief or else.
https://barbadostoday.bb/2020/11/28/lawyers-who-break-bond-of-trust-will-get-no-sympathy/
Apologies to the BU for straying out of the lane but I have strong feeling about the issue of Client funds.
@ David BU
Normally I would recuse my self from commenting on this posting; but pray tell:
What do Mr. Beale’s nationality,colour of skin, and alma mater have to do with his expression of views in a democratic country such as Barbados?
@Vincent
Colour – nothing. It was brought up by people who are always shouting that Barbados is racist.
Alma mater – it was injected to support the point he was schooled in BIM and how would Mia be able to toss a bona fide Bajan out of the country.
@ David Bu
Thanks on two counts. Wuh Loss!!
FWIW I agree with Beale, as “David” wrote he hasn’t said anything that hasn’t been said multiple times on this blog, he is a Bajan and entitled to his opinion like everyone else. I don’t know anyone who can support the large number of cabinet ministers with a straight face. One of the first acts of the PM amounted to a betrayal of the electorate who were supposed to fall for the “many hands make light work” tripe from a PM who when in opposition was very critical of the governing party for its number of ministers.
“How in God’s name can you have CARICOM that changes management every six months?” Beale queried.”
Beale must be drinking too much, why would he want any of these small minded PMs sitting between the Caricom chair and the Bureau for more than increments of six months to corrupt it..
notice the new CJ is not telling the older lawyers not to tief, they play that game everytime there is a new batch of lawyers…yet the older ones are exposed right through the year for tiefing client funds or sabotaging their cases.
In the current ” bloated ” cabinet some ministers are just over paid ineffective de facto civil servants obstructing competent Permanent secretaries from doing their jobs.
@ Mr. Skinner
It may be true ‘real men go straight up.’
This is NOT a reference to you, but I’ve seen several ‘real men….. and women’…. go straight up from the rum bottle and directly into the stomach. And, when those two meet, a battle ensues. It’s not usually a ‘pretty sight.’
Q Beale must be drinking too much, why would he want any of these small minded PMs sitting between the Caricom chair and the Bureau for more than increments of six months to corrupt it..
A HE IS OBVIOUSLY THINKING ABOUT STABILITY……….WOULD YOUR LIFE BE STABLE IF YOU GOT A DIFFERENT MAN EVERY SIX MONTHS?……….WOULD YOU NOT BE CONSIDERED A WHORE AS EXIBITED BY CARICOM that changes management every six months?
BEALE IS NOT STUPID JUST BECAUSE HE WHITE…..IS HE?
Just as true today as it was when figured out..
https://scontent.fbgi3-1.fna.fbcdn.net/v/t1.0-9/p843x403/128051215_10158031055277613_7407180967749827888_n.jpg?_nc_cat=109&ccb=2&_nc_sid=825194&_nc_ohc=HaQ7BNbcmG4AX8v1fUT&_nc_ht=scontent.fbgi3-1.fna&tp=6&oh=9d292739977575bbaea28a3ccde58017&oe=5FE8E617
RE I’ve seen several ‘real men….. and women’…. go straight up from the rum bottle and directly into the stomach. And, when those two meet, a battle ensues. It’s not usually a ‘pretty sight.’
THIS PRACTICE OF THE USE OF ETHANOLIC IMBIBATION FOR GASTRIC LAVAGE IS AN EXCELLENT PRECURSOR FOR PANCREATITIS AND CARCINOMA OF THE PANCREAS
“Apologies to the BU for straying out of the lane but I have strong feeling about the issue of Client funds.”
Apologies not needed.
Thinking that you have put away enough to have a comfortable retirement and then have someone shave off a big percentage would give rise to strong feelings.
We don’t want to hear “don’t steal”, “penalties” and of some fund that don’t have enough to make one victim whole..
Trinidadians call that a pappyshow
There was a time I would have advise a young man to look elsewhere if he is being frustrated. I have changed my advice…
Hang in there, no matter how tough
Get big ass pockets
Make some political connections
Don’t be boastful, loud or obnoxious.
When your time comes, if it is not nailed down put it in your pocket.
Obviously, with a 30-0 win, Mottley had to find ‘some work’ for the majority of her newly elected members of parliament. She knew the public would remind her that, as opposition leader, she often criticised the size of Stuart’s Cabinet and would similarly criticise the size of her Cabinet.
It’s all about political strategy. Recall a few days after the election, she and Marshall appeared before the press, waving about documents and sharing information to suggest the former DLP administration left the social and economic affairs of Barbados in such dire straights that she needed ‘all hands on deck’ to rectify the situation, hoping Barbadians would buy into the narrative.
So, we all know the “many hands make light work” tripe” is only a political gimmick to justify her bloated Cabinet.
@William
You owe me a drink. I do not promote gin; I drink it. But you are right about rum being our only international product. The reason why our governments, tourism officials and professional middle classes do not promote rum is because it is a manufactured product. They prefer services, and not just services, but some services.
They live in a dream world. First, we need a legal definition of Barbadian (Bajan) rum, then we can talk about training staff and setting up distilleries. It does not appeal to the lawyers who think they are on par with others.
@William
There is another myth that if you were born in a country you cannot be deported from that country. Nonsense. International law states a person cannot be deliberately made stateless. There is a difference.
One such case is now going through the high courts in London. Tell that to home secretary Priti Patel.
#amazing
.”WOULD YOUR LIFE BE STABLE IF YOU GOT A DIFFERENT MAN EVERY SIX MONTHS?”
looks like you’re drinking too…none of that works in SLAVE SOCIETIES..
WURA-War-on-UNovember 28, 2020 1:02 PM
ARE YOU STUPID?
CANT YOU UNDERSTAND THAT I AM SAYING THAT YOUR LIFE WOULD NOT BE STABLE IF YOU GOT A DIFFERENT MAN EVERY SIX MONTHS?”
CANT YOU UNDERSTAND THAT MY ANALOGY WAS AN ILLUSTRATION?
FYI I DONOT NOW DRINK , NOR DID I EVER START
“The reason why our governments, tourism officials and professional middle classes do not promote rum is because it is a manufactured product. They prefer services, and not just services, but some services.”
Yet we have a whole Food and Rum Festival. SMFH!
GP…keep ya drawers on, wuh happen, things slow at the WH…
HOPE BARBADOS DOESN’T BECOME A BANANA REPUBLIC LIKE NORTH KOREA
xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
Kim Jong-Un is reportedly displaying ‘excessive anger’ over the economic impact of the coronavirus pandemic, ordering the execution of two people
North Korean leader Kim Jong Un is said to be angry about the coronavirus pandemic and its economic impact, South Korea’s spy agency said on Friday.
According to the Associated Press, Kim has ordered the execution of at least two people, locked down the capital of Pyongyang, and implemented other measures to slow the spread of COVID-19.
One of the two people who were executed was a well-known money changer in Pyongyang, who was reportedly blamed for North Korea’s falling exchange rate.
North Korea’s economy has suffered in recent months as the country was forced to seal its border with its biggest trading partner, China, back in January.
According to The Associated Press (AP), Kim is also said to be ordering “irrational measures” to slow the spread of COVID-19, including ordering the execution of at least two people, banning fishing at sea, and locking down the capital, Pyongyang.
The latest information from the Hermit Kingdom comes from South Korean lawmakers, who spoke to reporters on Friday after having a private meeting with the National Intelligence Service (NIS), the country’s chief intelligence agency.
The NIS reportedly informed officials that one of the two executed people was a well-known money changer in Pyongyang, who was reportedly blamed for North Korea’s falling exchange rate.
Kim also implemented a ban on fishing to stop seawater from being infected with the virus, the NIS said.
https://www.yahoo.com/news/kim-jong-un-reportedly-displaying-170526831.html
Kim sounds frustrated, guess North Korea is not on anyone’s travel list..
Commisiong got some real hard knocks against his big egotistical head for criticizing Beale words of truth
Couldnt help but throw a few punches against his big head
The nerve of Commisiong running to the media to defend govt extra large cabinet after two years of him doing nothing whilst holding the title of Caricom Ambassador
As a matter of fact he owes the treasury a refund
@ Hal
I owe you a drink , you don’t promote GIN You just it. My apologies. Name the place and time. Are we doing Roebuck orGeorge Street bar?I have good friends in both places. 😊
@ William
As it is you \I will go down market and slum it. How about Champagne? I leave gin for special occasions.
The blogmaster will join you for a Mauby or lemonade.
Republicanism is an excellent move to cement our Supreme Leader´s reign as first President for life.
@ Hal
Once @ David in de do , it will be fun. Like I tell you he ain’t a bad fellow , he just loves his country more than anyone else. I sticking to white rum and a dash of cranberry. Maybe you two can bury the hatchet hopefully not in each others back.😊 Peace
My soul brother Adrian Greene understands that our culture is what sustains us. Our culture, when nutured, can produce nuff dollars and cents. It is the beginning of prosperity.
The most important event since 1966.
Barbados could become a Republic in less than 6 months from now.
It appears from the little info in public it will be a ceremonial one give the sprint to November.
@ David December 7, 2020 5:40 AM
In 2018 there was a spending spree in the general election campaign and the source of those funds was never made public. The public will remain in the dark even to the true amounts shelled out in the by-election campaign held last month in St George North. Citizens are very conscious that those sources of funding do not come purely from members’ dues or even the staging of special events.
(Unquote).
Blogmaster, how would you rate the above Editorial from this financially compromised member of the struggling fourth Estate which might soon mourn the final passing of that old lady on Fontabelle?
Some of your “radicalized” polish from the Fifth Estate must be rubbing off as the politically constricted members of the remaining Fourth Estate mine the pages of BU in order to up their readership game.
I think it is ‘Excellent’ and goes to the heart of the future governance of the coming republic.
There can be no functional democracy under the new republic unless the people are allowed to know who are those ‘shadows’ paying the piper playing the decision-making political party tune at the Cabinet level.
It would interesting to ‘hear’ your views about the method which ought to be employed to appoint the First President of the Bajan republic.
The PM must have already identified and prepped the ‘puppet man’ to be selected for the sinecure post but without the ceremonial title of KCMG which could be replaced with the Order of Roebuck Street.
@Miller
There is no country persons existing in the shadows will not exist. The challenge is to try to ensure more lighted than dark places exist for cover.