How come there is silence about the dust up between Roslyn Smith and Akani Mc Dowell both of the NUPW? Oh to be a fly on the wall during meetings of the NUPW leadership”.

Sargeant

Hogging the newsfeed this weekend is the news General Secretary of the NUPW Roslyn Smith is threatening to sue President of the NUPW Akanni McDowall. As the popular saying goes, you cant make this stuff up!

At a time workers in Barbados are most vulnerable the largest National Union of Public Workers is embroiled in a public disagreement between its two most visible and senior officers. A union with almost 100% membership from the public sector.

Public sector workers are most vulnerable with government’s BERT program about to take full effect, it seems a dereliction of NUPW’s mandate that it has allowed itself to become embroiled in a public disagreement between two senior officers.

It will be interesting to observe if the Executive Council will take action. To observers a sensible action to take would be to vote to suspend the two officers until the matter is resolved. It represents a distraction to the important job the union has ahead.

The blogmaster recommends that members of the NUPW resign from the NUPW and join Unity Workers Union headed by Senator Caswell Franklyn – email address if they want their rights to be properly represented.

146 responses to “NUPW Members Should Join Caswell Franklyn’s Unity Workers Union”

1. Leadership Bajan style.

2. We are mirroring leadership Brexit style.

3. @ David BU

Precisely. A statement that says everything about your lack of intelligence. You are not clever enough to mirror anything. You genuflect, that is why you do not see anything wrong with these two poodles being arrogant and stubborn…

4. “We are mirroring leadership Brexit style.”

Started my day with a smile.
    You drove the next guy crazy.
    Now tell him “You May hAve the last word”

5. Oh how true PM Stuart words come to bear fruit and keep ringing in my ears
    Lambs laying down with Lions would be mauled
    The President of NUPW and the BWU thought that there political efforts would have been a blessing
    Not only were they not so but both parties have been hoodwinked bigley and left to float out to sea without a liferaft
    The membership is all but been abandoned
    No more talk about disrespect from the NUPW
    No more midday marches
    No more holding hands with the private sector
    Btw i am loving ever moment of this blow by blow
    However it is costing me money having to refill my bowl of popcorn
    These are two goodfuh nuttin unions who sold their membership out for pennies

6. @David

What did you do to HA that riles him up so frequently? We all have our disagreements but to call someone on whose blog he gets to air his ideas unintelligent is taking things a tad too far. At least you seem to have weathered the art of letting insults go the way of water on a duck’s back

7. @Sargeant

God knows 🙂

BTW, it is our blog.

8. Wuh dam David has never been shy on calling those with whom he disagrees worse
    Unintelligent is mild mannered when compared to being called a jac.a.ss by David on numerous occasions

9. unions in Bim served a noble and necessary purpose- representation of the workers. however leaders of these unions could turned down a reasonable pay increase from the DLP Govt sticking out for an incredible 23 % and not backing down.

they marched with the opposition party and the employers of some of the workers they represent against the standing govt and then within 5 minutes of negotiations accept 5% from the new govt (the old opposition) saying that they knew they would not get 23%.

then accepted severe cuts in the civil and public sector and agreed or proposed the LIFO nonsense for retrenchment

under such circumstances if MAM decides to band unions i think the present union leaders would persuade its members to support such a measure

at any rate the unions and their leaders are in for a rough ride over the next 3 years. they may never recover to previous heights

10. That shot across the bow was almost Trumpian… and we know how that turned out.

11. ” A union whose membership comprises almost 100% of public workers.” Maybe if these public workers would spend less time being angry at and victimizing their fellow Barbadians when on the job, then they would be able to focus on what is in their best interest. Could it be that as the public works is made up largely of women they are reluctant to join forces with Caskwell Franklyn’s Unity party. After all, long gone are the days when bajan women aligned themselves with men with intelligence and a spine.. Any rat ass dumb schmuck, no education, no skill or ambition is what they gravitate toward. While I’m sure they would want to associate with men like Mr. Franklyn and WhiteHill, they know we aren’t pussies or puppets for their strings. Thus, they suffer in silence.

12. Let them maul each other
    Mcdowell anf Smith are goodcfuh nuttin anyway

13. At some point in the near future you may be able to wrap you brain around the fact that the leaders are selected/voted for by the membership. Who to blame?

We are not hopeful.

14. @ TheOGazerts

All the fancy talk, living in the UK and pretending to be high and mighty, Hal Austin is nothing more than a bully from the Ivy.

He is a weak man, who because of that weakness, tries to intimidate people and bully them into agreeing with him.

Any man who believes everyone on BU lacks intelligence and he’s the smartest guy in the room, yet he constantly tries to prove it by being arrogant and disrespectful, lacks self confidence.

15. I just don’t know what this Hal Austin has done to you lot, had he been writing shit like Lexicon while living abroad he’d be ok in all of your books. You lot are just intimidated by Mr. Austin, I know what I’m talking about. I live in Barbados now, see this shit all too often.

16. whitehill,

i dont know who you are but i change my accent back to bajan from the time i land. i had the experience of bajans trying to rip me off becos i sounded British. i experienced Bajans telling me “guh bak weh yuh cum frum” when i pointed out how things can be done differently in the nicest of manner.

from all those experiences i have learnt to say nothing and let it all work out as it should.

Hal has v good ideas most of them informed of his living in the UK. bajans dont like people from overseas telling or trying to tell them what to do, so leave them be please.

i think that is the best way- let it all play out.

re David- he talks a lot but actually says nothing. this seems to be a website ran by HC old boys. they seem to know each other. they do talk a lot of tripe…meaningless tripe- some of it informative and enjoyable but the US politics and bible comments are a bit too much

17. I must point out that bloggers often compliment Hal on hi contributions.
    Whilst what you say may be true, let’s put Hal in a separate category.
    The man is good but he can be a real pain at times.
    He is one of the few BU bloggers that you can praise at one moment and cuss at the next.

18. Theo,
    now that made me laugh

19. @Green, so you know the deal! lol Been there and have the mental scars to prove it. But hell no, I’ll never speak like an ex-slave again. I’ve come across too many people whose native tongue wasn’t English speaking it better than fools who have so much of their GDP spent on education and their native language is English.

20. William Skinner Avatar

There are very few people on this blog , who have been disrespected for their views like Hal Austin. Contrary to what others may believe, I do not agree with his positions on many issues but his contributions are of a very good standard. For example, I still am of the belief that Barbados is not a failed state but that is his opinion. I don’t think that badly managed means failed state.
    In recent weeks, I have noted a more civil approach on BU. Slowly but surely those who dominated the blog before elections, are fading because they can no longer cuss Stuart and Sinckler, this has forced them to retreat. That is why I Iaugh when they go after Mariposa because all that Mariposa is doing is exactly, what the others engaged in. The same stick that beat Bob now beating Bobby.
    As for the NUPW, its decline was obvious because the current president displayed a level of political partisanship which was no different from his predecessor. (Only different parties) it is a charge, from which he may never escape. This is also true of the current president of BSTU, who made it a point of dressing in a particular party’s colors!
    In recent times the leader of BWU seemed to have lost her way and is now attempting to rectify some serious blunders. These unions, were so focused on getting rid of the DLP that they forgot the basic goal of a trade union is to defend its members. The BLPDLP has systematically weakened the unions and now the workers believe that they are defenseless.
    I say all that to simply say this: BU needs more people such as Hal Austin and others who are not intimidated by these pathetic party hacks , that are perpetually drugged by the BLPDLP.

21. NorthernObserver Avatar

Union members need to assess what ‘value for their money’ they have received being a loyal union member. They could all get a raise by keeping the dues for themselves, as having formal paid representation has done little of benefit.

22. @Greene

Yet you appear daily to read the drivel?

23. Georgie Porgie Avatar

MR GREENE
    RE and bible comments are a bit too much

AS LONG AS I AM ALIVE AND KING DAVID ALLOWS IT …………THERE WILL BE BIBLE COMMENTS ON BU …….SO LUMP UM IF YOU DONT LIKE UM OK
    FOR THE BIBLE STANDS

24. GEORGIE PORGIE Avatar

MR GREENE SIR!

Lord, Thy Word abideth,
    And our footsteps guideth;
    Who its truth believeth
    Light and joy receiveth.

When our foes are near us,
    Then Thy Word doth cheer us,
    Word of consolation,
    Message of salvation.

When the storms are o’er us,
    And dark clouds before us,
    Then its light directeth,
    And our way protecteth.

Who can tell the pleasure,
    Who recount the treasure,
    By Thy Word imparted
    To the simple hearted?

Word of mercy, giving
    Succor to the living;
    Word of life, supplying
    Comfort to the dying!

O that we, discerning,
    Its most holy learning,
    Lord, may love and fear Thee,
    Evermore be near Thee!

25. David,

quite correct. in between the tripe are some nuggets. it really depends on the posters and the topics.

overall the blog serves its purpose. it’s just that it may not be as meaningful as you think it is.

that is not to say it should be done away with- i enjoy it overall

26. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@TheOGazerts March 9, 2019 7:18 AM

You is bare trouble den. Lolll!!!

Throwing gasoline pun de fire.

Killin’ muh!

27. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@Mariposa March 9, 2019 7:46 AM “being called a jac.a.ss by David on numerous occasions.”

But you ARE a jac.a.ss.

So what is wrong with David speaking the truth on his own blog?

28. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@Greene March 9, 20197:56 AM “under such circumstances if MAM decides to band unions.”

Mia CANNOT ban unions.

People may say many things about her, but she is no fool

29. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@whiteHill March 9, 2019 9:42 AM

‘morning whitehill.

Howdy do?

30. @Greene

Happy reading and commenting.

31. Georgie Porgie Avatar

HAL AUSTIN is the only one I have ever heard who thinks that THE BRAIN IS COMPOSED OF MUSCLE AND STOUTLY DEFENDS THAT VIEW

HE HAS A UK APHASIA………a type of aphasia discovered by none other than THE PEDANTIC BRIMBLER HE IS MUCH LIKE THE PEDANTIC BRIMBLER WHO ARGUES FOR EMERGENCY POST MORTEMS

32. @SS, howdy my @ss, when yuh coming fuh de ting I have fuh yuh?

33. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@whiteHill March 9, 2019 8:22 AM. “While I’m sure they would want to associate with men like… WhiteHill.”

Bigging up yaself seriously this morning!!!

Ya got muh cryin’

34. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@Greene March 9, 2019 10:16 AM “bajans dont like people from overseas telling or trying to tell them what to do.”

Most people, most nations don’t like to be told what to do. It is not a Bajan ting. it is a human ting. For example I told a sibling in the U.K. NOT to vote Brexit…and what did sibling do? Voted Brexit. Yes indeedy. I still love sibling, although said sibling is one of the people who now have Theresa’a panties in a gordian knot.

But ya know what? I still love sibling real, real bad.

35. Even worse that they were elected by the members but abandoned them in return for nothing

36. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

What is reverse culture shock?

https://www.investopedia.com/terms/r/reverse-culture-shock.asp
    “Reverse culture shock is the emotional and psychological distress suffered by some people when they return home after a number of years overseas. This can result in unexpected difficulty in readjusting to the culture and values of the home country, now that the previously familiar has become unfamiliar.”

37. Then the members should vote them out? Instead they do what?

38. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

Most people before they return “home” and it does not matter whether “home” is Barbados, China, the United States or the high Arctic, will experience reverse culture shock. But the thing is that most people have never heard of reverse culture shock, and so they don’t understand what is happening to them, and they don’t understand why they are feeling so badly, especially as they were so looking forward to coming “home.”

The thing is that cultures are not static, while you were adapting to the culture to which you migrated, adapting in order that you could survive, your “home” culture was also changing, both for better and for worse. And these adaptions on both sides are NEVER even, so coming “home” can be as rough as sandpaper, and it does not matter if “home” is Barbados, China, the United States or the high Arctic.

In truth some people, can never make the adaption.

Most do adapt, but will likely for the rest of their lives find some aspects of their “home” culture irritating. It is NOT a Bajan ting. It is a human ting.

A Simple Simon who was studying sociology, and psychology and such like “fluff” when the “boys of BU” were studying “sensible” “hard” stiff like finance and engineering and medicine and so forth.

39. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

That said, and to get back to the subject at hand, i feel bad about “the dust up between Roslyn Smith and Akani Mc Dowell both of the NUPW.”

I doubt that putting lawyers in the mix will help.

Law is by design adversarial.

Mediators, who are not lawyers may help.

40. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@whiteHill March 9, 2019 11:51 AM ” when yuh coming fuh de ting I have fuh yuh?”

As soon as I get permission from the chief.

41. Simple Simon i left a message fir Uou but i think David BU did not have the guts to post it
    But thisci say to you jack.a.ss you can kiss my where the sun does not shine

42. The Unions are powerless to cut teet against this govt
    The played the role of obstructionism in favour of present govt
    Now they have been discarded and made to look like chickens with heads cut off

43. I like dah uppercut David catspraddled Hal know-it-all Austin with. Always bad talking Barbados, but the UK in a state of flux with a government and Opposition in total disarray and incompetent Cabinet ministers. Remember the UK is the land of Oxbridge, Russell and Red brick, and not learning by rote. lmbao🤣🤣🤣

44. enuff,

has it ever dawned on you that Hal from his UK experience maybe seeing where Bim is heading and is warning us?

45. Greene
    No! In MY opinion it is condescending. Why others with UK experience think differently? We can be so melodramatic.😏

46. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

Sorry for going offtrack again, but the Barbados Embassies, High Commissions, and Consulates abroad. if they do not already do so, should hold cultural re-orientations for Bajans who plan to return to live in Barbados.

Once a quarter or so invite in those who are contemplating returning and spend 3 or 4 hours with a psychologist and with some Bajans (present by Skype or other technology) who have successfully reintegrated and help to smooth the transition.

47. Enuff

so for you it style and not substance?

but enuff of that, shall we return to the topic?

i dont know whether union members would be represented better by Caswell and his union. what i do know is that they dont appear to be represented well at this juncture by their present leaders

48. SS,

coming back to Bim often enuff prior to moving back finally would bring you up to reality quickly

49. @Greene

If you know the NUPW is not representing its members what is the harm in advising them to go with Senator Caswells Unity Workers Union?

50. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife
    I have had no trouble with my transition to life back in Barbados… but that might be because I suffered from “reverse culture shock” even before I left in 1975, so everything just carried on as normal when I came back 42 years later. 😉