stpn-i-weir-blp
Indar Weir, Minister of Agriculture and Food Security

The Ministry of Agriculture under the leadership of David Estwick in the former government became an invisible ministry. While we accept that a lack of resources would have impacted how government carried out its business, a nation that relegates food security to the back burner should expect to be haunted by the decision in a volatile global sphere.

How difficult is it to cultivate linkages between locally produced agriculture, tourism, government (Barbados School Meals, Queen Elizabeth Hospital) and the wider community to guarantee sufficient demand? What is the scorecard of the Barbados Agriculture Society (BAS)? The output from the agriculture sector based on the central bank reports tracking GDP by Sector and Acticity has not shown any appreciable increase in the last decade.

A few weeks ago BU family member Bentley Norville shared the following document to poke those currently responsible to prioritized matters pertaining to agriculture. We hope current minister of agriculture and FOOD SECURITY Indar Weir takes heed.

278 responses to “Is Agriculture and Food Security Important?”

1. I am also in my 7th decade. I have a sprained ankle the swelling of which refuses to subsist. However, I have to eat and cant keep it elevated 24/7. I went to the garden this morning and did two hours work. I weeded, transplanted my callaloo, dug a few garlics, guided my pole beans up the sticks and watered. Tomorrow, I will remove the temporary green house over the okras and weed them. My gai lan will be ready to eat in two weeks as well as the lower leaves of the broccoli. My sweet potatoes are already running and the pumpkins as well with one flowering. Friday I will go for another physio session on the foot. Life is good.

2. Georgie Porgie Avatar

BAJANS
    dID YOU REMEMBER TO PUT THE FOOT IN A BASIN WITH EPSOM SALTS AND THEN STRAP IT WITH THE SAME EPSOM SALTS
    STILL ONE OF THE BEST TREATMENTS IMHO FROM THE PAST

3. There is no way to put the hunger of a starving child into โ€œproper perspectiveโ€.

Stay away from Socialism and its two offspring, communism and fascism.

4. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@Are-We, again under confidential cover that’s the way of the world right now…praise or get cuss real bad.๐Ÿ˜‚

In fairness to the Piece-bro he rarely beats a blogger upside the head and is quite decorous even when shares his lashes.

In context of discourse of praise or ridicule I saw a news item that said over 70% of Americans (92% of Republicans) actually believe that serious media houses deliberately put out stories they know to be inaccurate…..

That is freighting because it is so wrong and those numbers are driven by the ridiculous comments of ‘enemy of the state’ and so on by this Pres. Now of course and to be fair these numbers were low since back in early 2000s but with the proliferation of bad news sites this getting out of control.

So the media needs to praise the Pres more and get some improved polls results. ๐Ÿ˜

5. Yams and cassava growing good.

If you haven’t tried it already, try a couple of the yams with a 5 foot stick to climb!!

See what happens when you dig next year (or earlier) compared with the others!

If you get what I reckon you will get I will explain why!!

6. Georgie Porgie Avatar

@ John June 27, 2018 8:10 PM

John are you suggesting that the plant will run up the 5 ft stick…….and get better exposure to light…….and thus more photosynthesis……..and more conversion of water and CO2 to make more carbohydrates and thus bigger yams?

JOhn to do that would be “freighting”!

It might certainly cause freighting problems. ah lie

7. What does an engineer know about photosynthesis and โ€ฆ. “freighting”, an even weirder concept???

There is an old timer who tells me “yams never grow so” in Barbados but I think I am winning him around!!

.. and yes, I expect both bigger and earlier yams!!

โ€ฆ and, even better, the space between plants is available for other plants!!

Getting more from limited resources and quicker, that’s what motivates the engineer in me!!

Even though I know little about photosynthesis, what little I do know tells me it is worth a try.

Anyway SS, try it and see what happens!!

8. Georgie Porgie Avatar

JOhn
    โ€œfreightingโ€,IS NOT an even weirder concept
    IT IS A WORD COINED BY DPD………….I THINK HE WAS TRYING TO SAY FRIGHTENING

I think you are right about the yams
    I just posited the biology/biochemistry

9. @John June 27, 2018 8:10 PM “If you havenโ€™t tried it already, try a couple of the yams with a 5 foot stick to climb!!”

Will try this. I have a few old broomsticks on hand.

10. Weird concepts are the order of the day on BU!!

SS now has two new concepts, one to fertilize eggs using a rooster who can do the rooster dance, and one to increase her yam yield.

Both I suggest will work โ€ฆ even if they sound weird!!

11. Found this video helps me understand a bit more about photosynthesis, last time I learnt anything about it was in 2nd form at HC โ€ฆ 50 years ago!!

12. Weed security ?

“The Barbados Labour Party (BLP) Government is pressing ahead with plans to get its share of the globally evolving medicinal marijuana industry.

Minister of Agriculture and Food Security Indar Weir today revealed that the recently elected administration intended to develop an industry here from the growing of ganja and other plants.”

13. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right Avatar

@ Are We There Yet…

You do me a great dishonour by ascribing de ole man this fawning style.

Many here, and even Dr. GP will attest that, before my Damascene moment, long before that moment, de ole man was indeed a terror in the night, enviable alone by the Night of the Long Knives.

But here is the thing though that you in your relative youth do not and cannot understand.

When I first encountered the Doctor I was to say the least, challenged by his use of CAPITALS for everything that he wrote.

BUT LOOKA de ole man! @ today!

I have grafted some of his style as would anyone who UNDERSTANDS the object lesson.

But back to Damascene moments.

De ole man loveth to do these virtual psycho-analyses based on what you write and how you write. AND I will fool myself that I got a feller downpack and then they do a googalee and Whaplax.

One days as he was conversing and He Let Slip Who His Master was and is and I sat back.

Cause in the middle of what seemed to be a disdain for the BU corridor here was a pronouncement that took me for a loop AND I SAID HOLD ON A SEC…and I asked My INSIDER THE SOURCE OF ALL THINGS to give me an understanding, not of the words Dr. GP was writing, but what he was saying.

And the answer came back to me.

He is a very intelligent man, HE does NOT suffer fools gladly, IRRESPECTIVE OF THE CLIME THAT HE IS IN, many of us here write dribble and CANNOT OPERATE AT THE LEVEL REQUIRED TO GALVANIZE THIS COUNTRY TO ACTION and when you bright, or too bright for your own good, you have an impatience with fools that you CANNOT CONTROL.

You cannot throw pearls before swine AWTY.

After a while, trying to discuss what INRI means, or to share with you the Tetragrammaton and its high science meanings, is an unbearable curse word, so you know what you do? you use another process which is to see if goading IGNORAMUSES will cause them to rise above themselves.

I do not write to impress anyone AWTY, such has never been nor will ever be my objective.

I write this way because it permits me to express my thoughts best, IN FACT I THINK THAT WRITING AND SPEECH are the worst media of communication which must confuse you because these are the only two that you and many like you know.

Yet if you dreamt as some of us do, or had the visions that some of us have, you would understand older, wiser men who have seen the best that mankind has to offer and consider it like the bitter bile of the pancreas (I hope that is the correct organ)

You look at Dr. GP’s comments through a glass darkly.

You look at Mariposa’s writings through a glass darkly

You look at John of the Quakers ‘ writing s through a glass darkly and you arrive at the same bias and dislike EVERY SINGLE TIME because you number among those who “have eyes BUT SEE NOT and ears BUT HEAR NOT…”

As yourself this question What is Barbados Underground?

What is its role?

What is its purpose? RUM SHOP or Vital Social Advocacy Meeting place and oasis for the countless fools that abound?

What MUST it do?

And what is your part in that scheme?

You may have the last word.

14. Are-we-there-yet Avatar
    Are-we-there-yet

PUDRYR

I wrote the piece that ascribed a fawning role to you, essentially as a taunt to GP to see how he would handle it. You were merely mentioned somewhat as a collateral prop. For that I beg your pardon. But I saw how GP responded to your posts, and i realized that even slight compliments could make a difference in his reactions.

I can see the intelligence emanating from GP’s posts. He is human, despite what he bellows in his posts. But I think I can already see a slight change, even at this late stage, in the man’s attitude and I think my rope-a-dope style might have had a little bit to do with it but your faint praises would have been the major fulcrum for any incipient changes.

You said “You look at Dr. GPโ€™s comments through a glass darkly; You look at Mariposaโ€™s writings through a glass darkly; You look at John of the Quakers โ€˜ writing s through a glass darkly and you arrive at the same bias and dislike EVERY SINGLE TIME because you number among those who โ€œhave eyes BUT SEE NOT and ears BUT HEAR NOTโ€ฆโ€”

I have eyes and I see at least as far as you can. I have ears but I can hear much less than most, so I must depend on my eyes.

You said “Ask yourself this question What is Barbados Underground? What is its role? What is its purpose? RUM SHOP or Vital Social Advocacy Meeting place and oasis for the countless fools that abound? “

I think i see BU as a “virtual rumshop” and my role in at ,as has been my role in many rumshops in my youth, as a partaker of the rum, albiet virtually, and ,essentially, as an onlooker, making mental notes of the conversations and admiring the often awesome contributions of the regulars. I also see the BU rumshop as a meeting place for persons to gain unexpurgated knowledge not available elsewhere in the media and a forum for massaging those messages to provide a true picture of where our democracy and other aspects of our society stands or should stand. I therefore see BU as both a rumshop and a Social Advocacy meeting place for those with such an agenda. I do not see BU as an oasis for the countless fools that abound as I do not see a plethora of fools visiting the BU rumshop. I see instead many people of my age (late 70’s) visiting to keep in touch with the latest news as distilled by people like you and Bushtea and Artax and putting in our 2 cents worth as we deem it necessary. Many of us feel that our experiences are somewhat dated (often without access to or being privy to important data which must inform how current persons in important jobs make their decisions) and cannot fully inform actions that must be taken in an age where technology and attitudes are totally different from those areas in our youth. We can only advise from a dated perspective.

I look at GP’s comments and I see intelligence but also an essentially intolerant selfishness. I look at Mariposa and I see a political operative doing his or her work. I look at John’s comments and I see a marked bias to things of the past when Barbados was great and when the white plantocracy reigned in every respect and I see in him a desire to put the clock back. I do not arrive at any dislike after I read their postings. I see, instead, an internal consistency (or bias, if you will) that makes it almost certain that their postings are 100% predictable. I don’t see a bias on my part either, re assessing any of the posts or posters, but a recognition that all frequent posters have a certain style and worldview that makes any of their posts totally predictable. Even you.

You said “What MUST it do? And what is your part in that scheme?”
    I know where you are going with that. But it’s David’s blog. What it must do is what David wants to do with it. None of us have a voice in that growth path. You may have to start your own blog to point it in the direction that you clearly want it to go.

I will continue to monitor and put in my 2 cents worth if David allows me so to do.

Uh gone!

15. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@Are-We, very clearly stated post in total and you go to the heart of the discourse with : “. I donโ€™t see a bias on my part either, re assessing any of the posts or posters, but a recognition that all frequent posters have a certain style and worldview that makes any of their posts totally predictable. Even you.[being PieceoftheRock]”.

And @ senor Pieces, crafting scripted piece in line with your often thought provoking messages. So to briefly ask re “He is a very intelligent man, HE does NOT suffer fools gladly, IRRESPECTIVE OF THE CLIME THAT HE IS IN, many of us here write dribble and CANNOT OPERATE AT THE LEVEL REQUIRED TO GALVANIZE THIS COUNTRY TO ACTION and when you bright, or too bright for your own good, you have an impatience with fools that you CANNOT CONTROL.”

Let’s be general and take the curmudgeon doctor out of this.

Are they not many very intelligent people whom you have encountered be it at high school (at Waterford or before dst I believed you advised) or over the years of your professional life? Are some not humble and treat fools while many more quite arrogantly dismiss fools or those of lesser mental acuity?

That sir is a daily feature of life.

Is it not that most people dribble on with their personal travails and have absolutely no desire nor more often practical ability to galvanize their nation to successful action? That too is a daily experience.

And with that said is it not the destiny, duty or perhaps the provenance of the visionary and intelligent people like yourself to lead the charge while pulling us annoying dribblers to a better place.

It is ‘infra dig’, absurd and self serving for gifted people who have recognized and harnessed well their gifts to look back and lament how they have to suffer fools and to be crass, disrespectful and down right tone death religiously as they rue a ‘woe to me for my disliked intellect. Sorry bro but that is a cop out.

Go forth and change the world if and when your natural gifts are used well…we, the average , also have an important role to play but for damn sure it’s can’t hold you back if you truly desire to change the world…because then you are nothing more than just average like the rest of us. Not so!

16. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

For what it’s worth I was going to append this…before I hit the wrong key…

“I have lived with the prospect of an early death for the last 49 years. I’m not afraid of death, but I’m in no hurry to die. I have so much I want to do first,”” Dr Stephen Hawking.

With great intelligence comes great expectation if there is the will/desire to do much regardless of grave obstacles…how can a few fools, naysayers, doubting Marys and dribblers truly impede such a person.

17. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

crafting = craftily

18. @ Dr. GP;
    Thanks for the information. Luba, a Russian gardener told me to forget the physio and to do that about four weeks ago, but I did not listen. She said it always worked for her in the home country. I got this sprain on April 13th, the day after I returned from Barbados.

I went to Jamaica for the first time in 1992 and visited some friends up in Moneague. Lo and behold they were growing yams in the back yard and running the vines up on sticks. First time I had seen it but they also do it in parts of Ghana.

19. Georgie Porgie Avatar

Re โ€œI have lived with the prospect of an early death for the last 49 years. Iโ€™m not afraid of death, but Iโ€™m in no hurry to die. I have so much I want to do first,โ€โ€ Dr Stephen Hawking.

HAWKINS HAD A LOT HE WANTED TO DO
    WELL I HAVE DONE A LOT OF WHAT I WANTED TO DO
    RIGHT NOW I JUST WANT TO WATCH CRICKET AND SCIENCE ON TV AND DO SOME MOCKING IN THE RUM SHOP, OK?
    AND ANYTHING YOU SAY WONT CHANGE THAT

ON SUNDAY MORNINGS AT BREAKING OF BREAD, I MIGHT GIVE A WORD.
    A FEW TIMES A YEAR I GET TO GIVE THE MESSAGEโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆBUT I DONโ€™T PUSH MYSELF.

RE With great intelligence comes great expectation if there is the will/desire to do much regardless of grave obstaclesโ€ฆhow can a few fools, naysayers, doubting Marys and dribblers truly impede such a person.

THIS IS BULL SHIT
    I HAVE WATCHED MANY FOLK IMPEDED BY OBSTACLES, FOOLS naysayers, doubting Marys and dribblers IN MY LIFE TIME

I HAVE SEEN MANY A MAN AND WOMAN SCREWED BECAUSE THEY WERE TOO BRIGHT, OR TOO RICH OR TOO BOLD OR TOO OUTSPOKEN โ€ฆWHATEVER.

I HAVE SEEN MANY A MAN AND WOMAN GANGED UP AGAINST BECAUSE THEY WERE JUST DOING THEIR WORK

MY FATHER USED TO SAY DO RIGHT AND FEAR NO MAN. I LIVED TO LEARN THAT THAT IS LARGELY UNTRUE.

DOING RIGHT OR EXCELLING CAN BE VERY HAZARDOUS!

RE Go forth and change the world if and when your natural gifts are used wellโ€ฆ
    SAYS WHO?
    EVERY MAN HAS THE RIGHT TO WILL AND DESIRE WHERE HE WANTS TO BE…OR BETTER TO DO GOD’S WILL

HOW YOU KNOW WHAT I OR OTHERS HAVE DONE, AND WHY AND HOW?

DOES CHANGING THE WORLD MEAN SAYING WHAT YOU OR PUNKS OF YOUR ILK THINK I SHOULD DO OR SAY ON BU?
    IS BU THE WORLD? BU IS A MERE RUM SHOP.
    IT MAY BE YOUR WORLDโ€ฆโ€ฆ..BUT IT IS NOT MINE

MANY HATE TRUMP WHO IS TRYING TO CHANGE THE WORLD AND HIS WORLD USING HIS NATURAL GIFTS

we, the average , also have an important role to play but for damn sure itโ€™s canโ€™t hold you back if you truly desire to change the worldโ€ฆ

AND IF YOU DONโ€™T WANT TO CHANGE THE WORLDโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆOR YOUR WORLDโ€ฆ..OR WHAT YOU THINK THE WORLD IS?

because then you are nothing more than just average like the rest of us. Not so!

BIRD BRAIN, YOU CAN PREACH LIKE PETER OR PRAY LIKE PAUL, BUT YOU WONT CHANGE ME OR INSPIRE ME TO DO ANYTHING.

I AINT PLAN TO CHANGE THE WORLD

I HAVE DECIDED TO BE AN AVERAGE BU BRIMBLER. OK I HAVE THE CAPACITY TO BE JUST THATโ€ฆโ€ฆAND I WORK HARD AT BEING JUST THAT —— SPEWING DRIVEL DAILY IN THE RUM SHOP TO PASS THE TIME

I AM NOW ESSENTIALLY A NOBODY OK ? A MERE BU BRIMBLER. . LOL LOL LOL

20. Are-we-there-yet Avatar
    Are-we-there-yet

dpD, re. your 9:37 am post.

I am totally in agreement with the portion of your post that appears to be addressed to PUDRYR, and therefore tangentially to GP also. It is only people with a donald trump like mindset who go OUT OF THEIR WAY to disparage, berate and put down fellow travellers and then expects them to join in some grand venture.

21. Georgie Porgie Avatar

RE bajans June 28, 2018 10:09 AM

@ Dr. GP;
    Thanks for the information. Luba, a Russian gardener told me to forget the physio and to do that about four weeks ago, but I did not listen. She said it always worked for her in the home country. I got this sprain on April 13th, the day after I returned from Barbados.

MANY OF THE SIMPLE THINGS THAT WERE DONE IN OUR CHILDHOOD WHEN WE DID NOT HAVE ALL THE MODERN MEDICINES MUST CONTINUE TO BE OBSERVED. MUCH OF THESE THINGS WERE NOT ONLY CORRECT BUT COST EFFECTIVE AND PRACTICAL….AND WITHOUT SIDE EFFECTS.

I REMEMBER AS A STUDENT, AN OLD DR TELLING US AT GALL HILL CLINIC “ITS A WASTE OF TIME TO GIVE THE OLD PEOPLE ALL THE FANCY PAIN KILLERS IF YOU DONT GIVE THEM SOMETHING TO ” CLAP” ON. HE CHANGED ALL OF OUR TREATMENT PLANS AND TOLD US GIVE LIN METH SAL (OIL OF WINTERGREEN), WHICH AS YOU KNOW IS ESSENTIALLY LICQUID ASPIRIN!

SO YOU USE YOUR LIN METH SAL (OIL OF WINTERGREEN), ALONG WITH THE EPSOM SALTS, AND WHEN YOU COME OUT THE GARDEN PUT YOUR FEET UP. JUST MAKE SURE THE WATER IS NOT TOO HOT ESPECIALLY IF YOU ARE TOO SWEET (DIABETIC) LOL

I went to Jamaica for the first time in 1992 and visited some friends up in Moneague. Lo and behold they were growing yams in the back yard and running the vines up on sticks. First time I had seen it but they also do it in parts of Ghana.

I SUSPECT THOSE FOLK IN MONEAGUE WERE CLOSE DESCENDANTS OF THE BLACKS FROM THE COCKPIT COUNTRY WHO WERE ABLE TO KEEP MORE/MOST OF THEIR CUSTOMS FOR A LONGER PERIOD THAN OTHER BLACKS.

I WAS OVER 40 WHEN I WENT ON MY FIRST SUNDAY “STOP & STARE ” WALK, WHEN THE LATE COLIN HUDSON EXPLAINED HOW THE SLAVES HAD TAUGHT OUR PLANTOCRACY THE USE OF THE CANE HOLE, AS A METHOD OF INTER CROPPING AND TO PROTECT SOIL EROSION WHICH WAS RAMPANT VERY EARLY IN OUR DEVELOPMENT

WE MIGHT HAVE TO REVERT TO ALL OF THESE ANCIENT CUSTOMS.

22. Georgie Porgie Avatar

RE It is only people with a donald trump like mindset who go OUT OF THEIR WAY to disparage, berate and put down fellow travellers and then expects them to join in some grand venture.

DONALD TRUMP, DESPITE ALL HIS FLAWS AND FOIBLES and FLAWS IN HIS METHODOLOGIES, HAS DONE MORE IN 500 DAYS THAN THE BLACK MAN WHO WAS SO OVERTLY VERY CORRECT (THOUGH COVERTLY AND INWARDLY SCUM AND SLIME, AND SATANIC) WAS ABLE TO DO IN 8 YEARS. ah lie?

THE BLACK SCUM ACHIEVED NOTHING BEFORE, DURING , OR SINCE HIS DIABOLICAL ACTIVITIES WHILE IN OFFICE ah lie?

GIVE ME THE DONALD ANY DAY

23. Georgie Porgie Avatar

PIECE

RE He is a very intelligent man, HE does NOT suffer fools gladly, IRRESPECTIVE OF THE CLIME THAT HE IS IN, many of us here write dribble and CANNOT OPERATE AT THE LEVEL REQUIRED TO GALVANIZE THIS COUNTRY TO ACTION and when you bright, or too bright for your own good, you have an impatience with fools that you CANNOT CONTROL.
    You cannot throw pearls before swine AWTY.

YOU MAD OR WUH?
    YOU CANT SAY THINGS LIKE THIS ABOUT GP ON BU!
    YOU GOT TO FOLLOW FASHION.
    YOU GOT TO CUSS GP LIKE BONNYPEPPA, ISLAND GIRL AND AC USED TO GANG UP TO DO, OR HOW BUSHTEA AND OTHERS DELIGHT IN DOING
    NOW YOU GOT THE PSEUDO PSYCHOLOGISTS AWTY AND DPD JOINING IN

COME ON PIECE JOIN THE GANG THAT WOULD CRUCIFY GP. DONT LET THEM BASH YOU TOO.

24. We are all responsible for how we want to live our lifes.

25. Georgie Porgie Avatar

WE ARE INSTRUCTED IN HEBREWS 12 TO ” RUN WITH PATIENCE THE RACE THAT IS SET BEFORE US!”

SOMETIMES THAT RACE IS HARD AND WE CANT UNDERSTAND WHY WE HAVE BEEN ASSIGNED SUCH A RACE

BUT WE CAN LEARN IN EVERYTHING TO GIVE THANKS AND BE REWARDED WITH THE PEACE THAT PASSETH ALL UNDERSTANDING WHICH FORMS A GARRISON AROUND OUR HEARTS AND MINDS………..in other words it prevents us from getting heart attacks and going mad

26. Georgie Porgie Avatar

SS June 27, 2018 11:00 PM

re @John June 27, 2018 8:10 PM โ€œIf you havenโ€™t tried it already, try a couple of the yams with a 5 foot stick to climb!!โ€ Will try this. I have a few old broomsticks on hand.

SO WHAT WILL YOU FLY AROUND ON NOW IF YOU PUT THE BROOMSTICKS IN THE GROUND
    COULD NOT RESIST PUTTING A LASH PUN DE OLD WOMAN…..lol keep sweet pun all dat sweet food you growing and cooking

27. @John June 27, 2018 11:05 PM “SS now has two new concepts, one to fertilize eggs using a rooster.”

Thanks for the yam thing. I had truly never heard of that before. But my parents, and me, used to keep “broiler chicks” but also yard fowls, and there was always a rooster/a cock or two in our yard. Beautiful birds.

I learned early about the birds and the bees, how fertilization occurs, how reproduction works etc.

28. Are-we-there-yet Avatar
    Are-we-there-yet

BU Family;

Yuh see? GP mellowing!!!!!! Soon the caps will go and he will say something nice about Bushtea.

UH lye?

29. This is especially for Dr. GP. lol!

A nice mango smoothie this morning, free mangoes from two neighbours, even though I also have access to two free family mango trees. A visitor from the great white north with whom I shared the smoothies told me that such mango smoothies cost the equivalent of $10.50 Barbados in that location. Still have 13 mangoes left on the kitchen counter so there may be smoothies at breakfast on Friday, Saturday and Sunday as well.

Creole Canadian saltfish and green banana for lunch. Grew the bananas myself.

To make a mango smoothie, peel two or three mangoes per person, add about 10 ice cubes, put in the food processor and blend for a minute or so.

Agri-CULTURE.

30. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Are We There Yet

I am speechless and humbled and encouraged by your words. You spent the time to clarify all my dribble and I am the wiser for it and will continue to be advised by its content

@ De Ingrunt Word aka DPD

You are similarly “humbling” from a different yet “same” direction. Though that seems impossible I speak to that which is edifying in your words cum admonishments where de ole man merits such. You know de ole man, without my dissembling, and you know that until breath leave this fading form I shall ever be me, never flinching and speaking truth to all men whether they like it or NOT

@ Dr. GP.

It is well with my soul. As it is with yours. Square brackets time [[ Maybe you and I might exchange a pre arranged schedule like the pre arranged script that Mia gave Atherley? that would permit us to cuss each other Tuesdays every 3 weeks? Lolol]]

The fact is that there remains much to be done and that there are a people who relish blocking progress as organically as a baby loves a sweetie.

It is in their nature. Sons and daughters of the one who de ole man will not mention his name…lest it gives power to his flight in the air…

31. Are-we-there-yet Avatar
    Are-we-there-yet

SS

Staking yams (and even sweet potatoes) seems to be a widespread practice in most of the Caribbean Islands and appears to have been an offshoot of a widespread West African tradition. It does not seem to have taken hold in Barbados however and perhaps John the Quaker might be able to research and come up with the reasons for this. I suspect that the slaves tried it and found that conditions here were not as suitable for it as was the home grown method they would have designed to optimally grow yams here. In any case, I seem to recall that sometime in the 70’s or it might even have been the 60’s, the Ministry of Agriculture had a few trials on staking of yams at Bullens Agricultural Station, and perhaps elsewhere and the results showed no significant improvement over our traditional method of growing them flat on the ground. Such a result would have been unexpected as practically everything suggests that there should have been better yields under staking.

It would seem that, in consonance with the theme of this blog, now would be an opportune time for the Researchers at the Ministry of Agriculture to do that series of experiments all over again, using not only our Lisbon yam varieties but also the Cush Cush yam varieties from Jamaica and the other varieties that are popular in our neighbouring Islands. Indeed, the Ministry should perhaps develop some tech packs on growing yams in Barbados adapted to small farms and backyard gardens to be available when the initial effects of the austerity measures might be taking effect. Those tech packs might or might not include staking of specific varieties.

Remember, it was the rapid expansion of food cropslike Yams and Sweet Potatoes in the early 1940’s that established food self sufficiency in this island in the face of blockades by the German U-boats.

32. Are-we-there-yet Avatar
    Are-we-there-yet

SS, re your 1:10 pm post;

Nice!

Yuh know, it might be very useful if you could post a “Food Security Menu of the Day” to a dedicated blog. It could be the most useful thing this blog would have spawned. You could even include some cooking instructions.

33. Are-we-there-yet Avatar
    Are-we-there-yet

Following on on my suggestion above. Perhaps GP could contribute some nutritional aspects on the ingredients and PUDRYR some business plans to ensure wider distribution and that you recover some money from the endeavour.

34. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ the one called AkenatenI

Four splendid posts!

The one from Burkina Faso warmed de ole man’s soul to see The “Black Vanadiam ” that a female writer here referenced when she wrote about The Black Panther picture a few months ago.

Here is black “indigenous thought leadership” auto generating from My God and being manifest in Africa.

Then a continent away you have a permaculture that takes mess, much like ole time bajans used to take dry cow down and use it as fuel, but at a quantum leap forward in the technology used

Then closer home the black Jamaican woman with her energy self sufficient chicken farm

And then the hydroponics complex

You know AkenatenI, when you do R&D for a nation it is this type of achievable easily replicable output that said nation needs.

Most of what you showed us, in fact all of it, is germane to our country’s growth at today.

And it did not take no cuntsultant from anywhere to do this focused search for alternatives for no ingrunt set of money like what White Oaks going get paid.

Each of these initiatives symbiotically feed into job creation, import substitutions, renewable energy or food security processes.

Look at the innovation in the egg incubation submission?

What if there was such an initiative established on all that land UWI get in St Thomas where all four initiatives would be setup?

OR the feeder mechanisms for some of them?

An excellent submission …de ole man doffs his hat to you

35. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ the Honourable Blogmaster your assistance please with a few items thank you

36. Creole saltfish & green banana: Soak 1/2 pound of saltfish overnight. Discard that water, add fresh water and bring to boil. Let boil for a minute or two. Discard the hot water. Add cold water to the pot. Remove and discard skin and bone from fish, and break fish into bite sized pieces. peel and chop tomatoes, onions, sweet pepper, and chives, add a little mustard, cooking oil, and tomato paste, juice, or sauce. Bring to boil, reduce heat and boil for 5 minutes or so, add the fish, and bring to boil again. Cook green bananas n the skin, cool, peel and slice onto serving plates. Ladle some of the creole saltfish over the bananas. To boost the nutrition cook and add a yellow [pumpkin, carrot etc.] and or green vegetable [home grown spinach is fresh and free] to the plate.

37. Georgie Porgie June 28, 2018 12:54 PM “SO WHAT WILL YOU FLY AROUND ON NOW IF YOU PUT THE BROOMSTICKS IN THE GROUND COULD NOT RESIST PUTTING A LASH PUN DE OLD WOMAN.”

Lolll!!

I often wear a pair of old comfortable black pants while working the land. I keep cats. I knew that it wouldn’t be long before somebody mistook me for a witch. Lolll!!!

38. When I lived in another place, the state supported day nurseries handed out recipes to the parents. My recollection was that this was a cooperative thing between the Ministries of Health, Agriculture etc. and the recipes were developed by the food experts in those Ministries, and freely distributed. How to eat healthy, local, cheap, quick and sweet.

Can be scaled up to elementary and secondary schools, and colleges and universities and delivered not only to the parents, but to the kids via their phones. Give the kids some healthy ideas.

The recipes have to be local to support local farmers, and cheap because often parents who are raising children don’t have much money, and if possible they must be simple and quick as parents are busy with young children and don’t have much time. Ideally less than an hour from start to finish, although “weekend” recipes might be longer.

No restaurant/hotel style recipes with 40 ingredients and hours of preparation time.

39. Georgie Porgie Avatar

re Simple Simon June 28, 2018 2:19 PM
    didnt i tell you to stop dat!
    I like your version of “Hoil dung” doh
    there is nothing like saltfish with a lil oil and green fig, as my Dominican mother calls it.

40. Georgie Porgie Avatar

re Simple Simon June 28, 2018 2:34 PM
    The Nutrition Dept run by the late Dr ???? (can remember he name now) used to produce information like that many years ago. Used to hand them out to mothers in the Public Health Clinics

41. @Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right June 28, 2018 1:15 AM “the bitter bile of the pancreas (I hope that is the correct organ)”

Gall bladder which hangs out somewhere near to the liver, or Dr. GP can issue a correction.

42. Georgie Porgie Avatar

@AWTY re June 28, 2018 1:02 PM

BU Family; Yuh see? GP mellowing!!!!!! Soon the caps will go and he will say something nice about Bushtea.
    YOU CLEARLY HAVE DELUSIONS OF GRANDEUR
    YOU THINK THAT THE SHIT YOU AND DPD WRITE THIS MORNING HAS AN EFFECT ON ME? MELLOW SHIT. I NOT SS COU COU

I SINCERELY THINK THAT BUSHTEA IS LIKE HIS FATHER THE DEVIL. HE IS A FOLLOWER OF ARIUS, AND A DEVIL NOT A PROVACATEUR

43. Georgie Porgie Avatar

Simple Simon June 28, 2018 2:43 PM
    YOU ARE 100% COORECT
    BUT IF YOU DONT STOP TALKING BOUT DAT FOOD YOU COOKING YOU WILL CAUSE BILE TO COME FROM MY PANCREAS TOO ….MURDER

44. @Georgie Porgie June 28, 2018 2:38 PM “The Nutrition Dept run by the late Dr ???? (can remember he name now) used to produce information like that many years ago. Used to hand them out to mothers in the Public Health Clinic

Maybe we need restart. The English have reintroduced, or plan to reintroduce cooking classes in all of their schools. Some of their young parents have forgotten or have not been taught how to prepare good meals from all the wonderful crops produced by the English farmers.The idea is that every English child before leaving school should know how to prepare 20 dishes using local ingredients. The English, like we are, are worried about the rising rate of obesity; and how much it will cost their National Health Service.

45. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Simple Simon

You have given the basis of a Bluetooth cookware/cooking app for illiterate men globally AND AMERICAN women who can’t cook

The Simple Simon Cookware set would have

Recipes for Barbados and/Or any place in the world in video and digital voice

2.One part of the cookware unit eill reside on a tablet and will detail the steps visually

3.The cookware will have a temperature sensor and linked timing mechanism that will link to the app so the ingrunt menses that we are will be prompted by the SS unit like having our personal Chef Edey

A variant of this idea is the virtual Griot which would record things like the Barbados Land Ship and convert it to Electronically Archived material with rendered Animations to record the traditions of an institution that is dying.

We can do a similar thing for All the folklore and stories by Paul Keens Douglas or Frank Collymore a la Alfred Pragnell and Tony Thompson.

This is what the face of Bajan Culture can try to achieve IF WE HAD THOUGHT LEADERS.

But we don’t do we?

46. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

Your help please…with a response to SS