The following communication was brought to the attention of the BU blogmaster by the Administrator of Facebook page Social Education and Accountability in Barbados.

–NB: This was going to [be] posted last Monday. However there was so much noise on the topic that the concern was that it would be lost in the fog.–

Our aim is to attain accurate information with minimal political rhetoric, preferably from source to reduce concerning levels of misinformation being propagated as fact.

We need to accurately identify those responsible for the failings of Sewerage System and hold them accountable in adherence to the Group’s principles of good governance, participation, transparency, accountability and prediction. There will be a time for accountability. Currently we require participation and transparency.

During a meeting with the BHTA on Friday January 26 2018, I commended the GM Mr Keithroy Halliday for taking the lead, providing key information about the problem and quelling much of the misinformation being spread locally and now internationally.

I reminded him of Principle 10 of the Rio Accord of which Barbados is party. This primarily states that the community/citizenry must be included and be participatory to any discussion on matters relating to the Environment. Accordingly I reiterated that the 285,000 of us are part of his team. We are not adversaries to the BWA. We are not interested in blame or what has gone on in the past. There will be a time for that. We are interested in the current situation and how can we help! What are the issues? How long will we have to endure?

I found Mr. Halliday to be genuine and forthright. He earned my utmost respect.

As a consequence please note the following messages from the GM of the BWA and one from the acting Chief Medical Officer Dr Anton Best

COMMENTS BY Mr Keithroy Halliday GM of BWA

โ€œI hope that by being as transparent and as open as we can be, however cautiously at times, that we can get that Trust.

โ€œI rarely comment openly on fb on these matters but loose speculation without facts and the propagation of misinformation will forever be our damnation. Chlorination increase in the treatment of water supplies to the south coast was done out of an abundance of caution when the sewerage overflows increased and the discovery of breaches in the system was suspected. This is in the most unlikely event that we have a burst pipe/main that results in the influx/draw of water other than treated water into the mains. There is nothing in the least suspicious or hidden about that. Under my watch, there has not and will be no deliberate deflection of information. We have been presenting the facts as clearly and as honestly as understood but in fairness, we are now using the offices of GIS to ensure better dissemination of the information that the BWA been sharing for the past while. For several of the residences tested, they actually have independent mains supply and none are the recipient of potable water from the mains supplying or are even located in the direct catchment area of the south coast where the breaches and fractures are evident. The bacteria could not be determined because neither the BWA or EPD or MOH who have such lab facilities or access to such lab facilities were involved in the process sufficiently early and the [US] Embassy testing only provided very non-specific details but the BWA records demonstrate that our potable water testing in the areas where the embassy tested the water at those US Embassy residences, even as recently as this week is SAFE.

The information from our health officials , ministry of foreign affairs and the BWA through myself has been accurate. Discussion is healthy and should keep those in Authority rightfully on our toes but we must be doubly responsible about our remarks when our health and economy is at stake. In repeating, statements made before and during several discussions, the BWA conducts tests on fifty samples weekly. This was particularly augmented by over 100 tests since December 2017 in addition to near shore water testing. Our tests are rigid and rejected if the protocol has strictly not been observed and fresh samples always immediately redone if there is a failure in result or suspected protocol breach. Based on advices the BWA has never had a failure rate on retesting. We have had fluctuation in levels from time to time but these are never cause of concern, being within satisfactory levels. When visiting properties, testing can never be done in isolation, the point of source or even entry must be tested and compared to tests done on properties and particularly those with water storage capacities or properties that have not been fully occupied for a while or even properties that plumbing was done on. In the latter cases, sometime pseudomonas species is discovered to be a typical bacteria of note as they can grow in stagnant and tank waters. I go further..for clarification we have agreed with the embassy to a regime where simultaneous samples will be take. For all of their 68 properties in addition to the ones already tested.. test at source and on property. Once must test BWA potable water at well sources and on properties, and throughout the distribution system then we can draw conclusions. The Embassy Health Alert to its employees was more detailed that that to the public and in that context as indicated by them was done under the clear direction of their Washington office out of an abundance of caution as would obtain for any other jurisdiction for the slightest of risk.

They only tested 5 for which 4 showed elevated levels of bacteria. All properties have tanks and are not in the area of concern and neither are they connected to the same shared mains.

The announcement/advisory was done at 6 pm on Thursday night. It would be foolhardy to jump and denounce without checks being done; firstly did the BWA have any compromised results recently? Secondly were we (BWA/other affected agencies) a part of the process? Thirdly who were the impacted ministries besides the public that needed to weigh in and give their findings (testing is also done by epd and MOH), fourthly: were we all using the same protocols, same labs, both testing on property and at source? Fifthly – when were the tests done and did ours confirm, sixthly it is our responsibility to ensure that the nature of the results were understood as in the unlikely event pathogens were confirmed to be present we needed to immediately treat from a Public health standpoint and then deal with the fallout seventhly, we responded the very next day as given the above we wanted to back our denouncement by facts and evidence based analysis, eighthly whether someone follows diplomatic protocols to the extent we may like or perceive, there was an agreement to meet and gather more details at the meeting with the embassy officials the next day at ten am before speaking aloud and this had to be respected. The discussion coming out of that meeting rightly informed the way forward. A press release was crafted and a press conference held at 2 pm to firmly address. If you saw the video of the same conference I was at and understanding the nature of all diplomatic relations you would not suggest rash responses but respect the process that was followed and you would have also seen very clear pronouncements made about our water quality. The Minister was also clear about not engaging in tit for tat behaviours.

I am weary of entering any particular space that could be adjudged to be political. As a BWA employee, I support strongly the positions taken by the joint ministries and our responses. Where BWA is concerned, I think the public is aware of our water quality and trust our statements to be true. The south coast challenges are a test of our organizational abilities and that of the supporting ministries but being intimately close to activities on the ground gives me a sense of confidence that all is being done to arrest the situation.

Understandably it was of immense concern to all of the stakeholder ministries which is why we responded immediately. The one thing we have always been proud of is our water quality. We recognise the risks and guard against them and this should not be confused with instances of brown water which I will will tackle this week

It was a collaborative effort by joint ministries to responsibly address the issue with great haste and caution. Centrally, it was and will continue to be made clear that our water is safe. This is an inescapable FACT! Our weekly rigid test sampling of at least 50 per week proves that. Secondly EPD and MOH who performs independent test do not hesitate to rap the BWA if they have the slightest bit of concern regarding health risks. To that end we knew that if near shore testing or any causal link to the recent Viral GI from the south coast was made, business and beaches would have been closed! Thirdly, though a blow as a second advisory of sorts, it was a highly cautionary alert by the US citizens under their care. We understand why we can be circumspect about other motives as individuals but as a Government, and based on enquiry and the meeting held with the US Embassy Officials, the protocols followed and the explanation offered by the US Embassy was officially accepted. Fourthly, what is missing is our data that would have addressed/rebutted concerns about our water quality for source testing and Fifthly the US water test results were based on results ON property only and we simply do not know what protocols were followed.โ€

I think it sparks a healthy debate but if folks are not listening or reading or analyzing, they are in danger of inflicting real harm to our country. All matters of discourse must be properly contextualised. Yes, We owe ourselves a duty of care to give constructive criticism, but I think fairly not to be active participant of the spread of paranoia or fear-mongering.

The meeting with the US embassy officials served to inform the press meeting approach and content. The relationships are cordial and from the US perspective, they had to follow the standard protocols set in place by their Washington office. We obviously do not like the end result, but we have made it clear concerning the quality of our water supply.

They were only able to confirm a very non-specific elevated total bacteria count. This did not include any of the three kinds that would normally raise alarms. The bacteria could be harmless or it could have potential negative effects, but this can only be analyse with further tests [BU emphasis].

Itโ€™s a concern for us, particularly if instances of bacteria elevation are pointed to the BWA, where unfounded and therefore we will assist with the PSAs.

COMMENTS from Dr Anton Best Acting Chief Medical Officer:

Just to reiterate of the 4 types of tests done at the 5 selected residences, the one that was positive was the heterotrophic plate count. The other 3 tests for pathogenic bugs were negative.

The HPC is a very nonspecific test that when positive warrants further investigation to confirm the type of bacteria, then localize the source. If the residences had water tanks on them, it is likely that there was stagnation, declining chlorine levels then lead to a proliferation of pseudomonas. This is speculative! This would not be due to contamination from the BWA, the BWA would however help remedy. To implement a remedial action having not done additional tests is irrational and careless on the part of those responsible for the testing or the management of the problem.

The alert was unwarranted and misleading.

350 responses to “USA Embassy Unfairly Issues PUBLIC Health Advisory on Barbados”

1. de pedantic Dribbler February 8, 2018 at 5:43 PM #

John, there was a time in life that I thought all Harrisonians were basically bright and the all Bajan scholars were absolutely truly smart and brightโ€ฆ.
    WHAT AN ASS!

JACKASS …..I HAVE NEVER MET A BAJAN SCHOLAR THAT WAS NOT absolutely truly smart and brightโ€ฆ.THE ONES I MET AT KOLIJ AND LATER ON SIZZLE

THERE IS NO PLACE IN THE BU RUM SHOP OR ON THE DAILY DRIVEL FOR absolutely truly smart and bright PEOPLE. wHEN WUNNA COME HERE TRYING TO SOUND SMART AND BRIGHT, YOU THINK THAT IS SOMETHING?

WHAT SERIOUS PROBLEMS HAVE YOU SOLVED ANYWHERE AT ANY TIME.

WHY SHOULD I NOT COME HERE AND TALK SHITE LIKE ALL OF WUNNA?IT TAKES NO EFFORT TO TALK SHITE ON BU.

JOHN AND I ARE HERE RUNNING YOU FELLAS RAGGED WITH OUT ANY EFFORT
    NOTE WE USE SIMPLE LANGUAGE

WE DO NOT HAVE TO IMPRESS ANY ONE HERE ON BU, BECAUSE THERE IS NO ONE HERE TO IMPRESS

WE HAVE IMPRESSED THE IMPORTANT FOLK THAT WE HAD TO IMPRESS

THE INTOLERANCE AND HATE THAT YOU GUYS DISPLAY REVEALS THE LEVEL OF YOUR POOR STOCK

I COME HERE TO MOCK AND ENJOY MYSELF

BUT WHEN I SPEAK IN MY WHEELHOUSE, I CAN NOT BE REFUTED! THOUGH A FEW JACKASSES HERE HAVE TRIED

AND I SAY AGAIN SHIT BAMA THE BULLER WAS A FAILURE AND TRUMP IS PLAYING HIS FOES LIKE A FIDDLE!

BARE MOCK SPORT IN DE RUM SHOP

2. John February 8, 2018 at 6:14 PM #
    What evidence exists to show Trump or his campaign colludes with the Russians?

Zero

If you know of any please let Mueller know otherwise he will turn to investigate the real source of collusion!!

This requires no brain, wit or intelligence!!

AS FANNY SAID SO LONG AGO IN 1965

IF IT IS THERE……..IT WILL REACT

IF IT AINT THERE……IT CANT REACT

IT WOULD HAVE BEEN A JOY TO HEAR FANNY TELL MULLING MUELLER THAT

3. NorthernObserver Avatar

@dPD
    ‘more honest’ alone, maybe the best straw to grab at?

4. NorthernObserver Avatar

Unsure, but was Darcy Boyce a Barbados Scholar? I think he was a Rhodes Scholar?
    Read this…https://www.barbadostoday.bb/2018/02/07/nis-yields-little-from-private-sector-investments-boyce-says/
    As PLT points out, in the comments, a private sector Bond cannot be higher rated than the Sovereign in which they are domiciled.
    Boyce continues “Do we have bonds issued by major private sector companies that may be rated grade A? No.” And are the Barbadian Government bonds rated A? No. So suddenly credit ratings are an issue, BEYOND borrowing.
    “with no private sector bonds”…reasonably sure Sagicor floated Bonds and at a significantly higher rate than the GoB bonds.
    And he is a former Deputy Gov CB. Seems that politics ruins the most fertile of well educated minds?

5. […] is an article entitled โ€œUSA Embassy Unfairly Issues Public Health Advisory on Barbadosโ€ appearing in the โ€œBarbados Underground.โ€ Mention was made by various officials including the […]

6. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

Do any of the trumpanzees know how investigations actually work, I think not..

There need to be a study done on why some scholars regress to complete idiots devoid of rational thought or analyses after age 40.

7. NorthernObserver February 8, 2018 at 7:07 PM #
    Unsure, but was Darcy Boyce a Barbados Scholar? I think he was a Rhodes Scholar?

I AM NOT SURE

RE Seems that politics ruins the most fertile of well educated minds? PERHAPS IN HIS CASE
    THE OTHER BOYCE WHO ALSO CAM,E TO KOLIJ IN 1963 WAS NEVER BRIGHT THOUGH OR NICE

8. The history book of the early Hebrews recorded a concocted story of a Ham and how he and his seed were cursed and condemned for evermore to be hewers of wood and drawers of water,translated and interpreted to mean black man must be forever subservient to white man since the thiefing representatives of one James1 arrived at the hole and claimed Barbados as theirs’.It turns out however that the first modern Brits were black people.How shocking!!At least that is the scientific findings of a group which examined the DNA of a 10,000 year old human specimen found in SW England a century ago.The story is told in the following article found in the Guardian

https://www.theguardian.com/science/2018/feb/07/first-modern-britons-dark-black-skin-cheddar-man-dna-analysis-reveals

9. Dr. Simple Simon Avatar

@Are-we-there-yet February 8, 2018 at 9:22 AM “Have you looked at the counter-intuitive beliefs that seem to be evidenced by entities that one would never have expected from an analysis of current atypical responses by various entities to demonstrably counterintuitive actions by various heads of states?”

What does this mean in English?

10. Dr. Simple Simon Avatar

@Gabriel February 8, 2018 at 10:01 PM “The history book of the early Hebrews recorded a concocted story of a Ham and how he and his seed were cursed…”

All human beings came out of Africa. ALL of us.The Hebrew Eve is a descendant of Mother Africa.

11. Dr. Simple Simon Avatar

@Sargeant February 8, 2018 at 10:11 AM “we know that โ€œbullersโ€ are part of the โ€œleft behindโ€.

Leviticus 19:19 says, โ€œDo not plant your field with two kinds of seed. Do not wear clothing woven of two kinds of material.โ€

Not only bullers, but all ‘o wunna who wear polyester/cotton, terylene/wool and other mixed fabrics.

And me, who has disobeyed the Levitical law and planted my field with yam, cassava, sweet potato, okras, cucumber, bananas, spinach, pawpaw.

But it made for a lovely soup today.

12. Gabriel

All you have to do is to look at the spread of civilization/agriculture after the flood to understand where Brits originated, and for that matter, Africans too!!

The DNA of Pharaoh’s of Ancient Egypt is yielding up its secrets.

“Both types of genomic material showed that ancient Egyptians shared little DNA with modern sub-Saharan Africans. Instead, their closest relatives were people living during the Neolithic and Bronze ages in an area known as the Levant. Strikingly, the mummies were more closely related to ancient Europeans and Anatolians than to modern Egyptians.”

https://www.nature.com/news/mummy-dna-unravels-ancient-egyptians-ancestry-1.22069

13. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

John, collusion as an offense criminal or civil is not proven by anyone. So you are correct to ask
    “What evidence exists to show Trump or his campaign colludes with the Russians?”

However your intellectual capacity and honesty can be questioned when you refuse to also readily accept that we have also not properly dispelled the evidence of why the Russian interference in the elections favored candidate T; we have not shown why the Russians targeted the DNC and published their data and did not publish any RNC datal; we have not shown why Russian operatives wanted to give candidate T oppo dirt; we have not shown why several of candidate T’s personnel met or attempted to liaise with Russian operatives; and we certainly have not shown why canditate T campaign modified the convention resolugion to so meekly appease Russian action in Ukraine.

Collusion is described as a “secret or illegal cooperation or conspiracy, especially in order to cheat or deceive others”.

So this investigation that we can agree has shown zero evidence of direct illegal cooperation with Russian thus far has yet already given us 100% evidence of perjury by two of candidate T’s operatives; one dismissively refered to as an errand boy but the other an errant senior top advisor.

You sir are not discussing algorithms or formulae where your scholarship can bamboozle…As much as I would be at sea in your scientific world clearly your intellectual limitations in this arena are plain for all to see…you are definitely at sea here.

I am sure Mr Mueller will tell us all the evidence he has…whether it proves a secret connection I don’t know…. but I know that the Trump team have lied, misled and threatened many people to subvert an investigation tbat you proudly note has zero thus far.

It “requires no brain, wit or intelligence” to understand that no one behaves in that manner when they have nothing to hide.

14. Dr. Simple Simon Avatar

@Georgie Porgie February 8, 2018 at 10:35 AM “SOON IN BIM WE WILL HAVE LEGALISED WICKING…”

Wicking, female-female sex has NEVER NEVER been unlawful in Barbados.

Wunna men does get too tie up in ya sexuality.

The women know how to enjoy themselves.

15. you refuse to also readily accept that we have also not properly dispelled the evidence of why the Russian interference in the elections favored candidate T

We aren’t trying to dispel or prove anything … Mueller is!!

If you know of any evidence please tell Mueller because he can’t find it!!

If you can’t, just accept that there is none!!

16. Are-we-there-yet Avatar
    Are-we-there-yet

Dr. Simple;

Thanks! You are right. I did not read over the post before pressing “send”. I apologize for caffufling you and most likely many other readers.

What I intended to convey was simply:

Have you looked at the current strange reactions by the public to actions by leaders that would formerly have been roundly condemned?

17. Are-we-there-yet Avatar
    Are-we-there-yet

John;

How do you and other Trump apologists know for sure, before the final report is written, that Mueller has no evidence of collusion? That tired discussion point is one that is overused and can have no factual basis unless Mueller himself says so. The media cannot make that determination, nor can Trump apologists nor can even the Democrats.

18. An aside, have been watching the opening ceremonies of the Winter Olympics and saw the Jamaican team which got me wondering where is the Bajan team? We have had politicians skating on thin ice for eons.

19. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

LOL @Are-We, re your 8:33 it was understood. In this world our ability to decipher gooblegook is now supreme.

Whether in Bim, UK or US this Sen Paul quote fits the incumbent parties: “When the Democrats are in power, Republicans appear to be the conservative party, but when Republicans are in power, it seems there is no conservative party. The hypocrisy hangs in the air and chokes anyone with a sense of decency or intellectual honesty.”

Strip away a political elected status and we see that intellectual dishonesty here on BU daily from just regular citizens….but of course we elect people who we like and who basically are like us so no surprises there.

20. Are-we-there-yet February 9, 2018 at 8:44 AM #
    John;

How do you and other Trump apologists know for sure, before the final report is written, that Mueller has no evidence of collusion? That tired discussion point is one that is overused and can have no factual basis unless Mueller himself says so. The media cannot make that determination, nor can Trump apologists nor can even the Democrats.

TELL ME SIR……… IS MUELLER GOD?…….OR IS HE THE MIGHTY SPARROW?

THESE ARE THE ONLY TWO THAT I KNOW OF WHO ARE SUPPOSED TO SAY…..”IF I SAY SO..IS SO” ah lie?

the MULLING MULLER WILL FIND EXACTLY AS THE LEGENDARY FANNIE FIELDS TAUGHT

if it is there it WILL react………..or be found!
    if it aint there, it CANT react …….or be found! ah lie?

WHAT IS TRUE, AND WHAT HAS INDEED BEEN FOUND IS THAT HILARY AND SHITBAMA, THE BULLER, DID COLLUDE AND REACTED WITH THE RUSSIANS.

THOUGH NOT REPORTED BY THE FAKE NEWS MEDIA THERE IS ABUNDANT EVIDENCE EMANATING FROM VERY GOOD INVESTIGATIVE JOURNALISTS ON THIS MATTER. ah lie?

HILARY AND SHITBAMA, THE BULLER AND THEIR SERVANTS IN THE FBI & THE DOJ THOUGHT THEY HAD THINGS ALL “COVERED” BUT THE ALL SEEING AND OMNISCIENT GOD ABOVE, WHO WORKS IN MYSTERIOUS WAYS INTERVENED ah lie?

21. RE John February 9, 2018 at 12:44 AM #
    you refuse to also readily accept that we have also not properly dispelled the evidence of why the Russian interference in the elections favored candidate T

We arenโ€™t trying to dispel or prove anything โ€ฆ Mueller is!!

If you know of any evidence please tell Mueller because he canโ€™t find it!!

If you canโ€™t, just accept that there is none!!

JOHN I LIKE THE SIMPLE WAY THAT YOU DISPEL TO THE PERIPHERY THE BOVINE EXCREMENT PITCHED UP BY THE PERENNIALLY, PERPETUALLY AND PERPLEXINGLY IGNORANT WANNABEE DE PEDANTIC BRIMBLER!

THIS WAN WHO SEEKS TO TAKE DOWN BARBADOS SCHOLARS PERSISTENTLY INDICATES THAT HE MAKES THE LOWEST OF THE EQUINOIDS LOOK LIKE ISLAND SCHOLARS.

IT IS INDEED THAT NO ONE HERE IS ” trying to dispel or prove anything โ€ฆ Mueller is!!”

LIKE THE LITTLE BOY IN FANNY’S CHEMISTRY LAB SO LONG AGO, MULLING MULLER IS USING A “BUCKET” WHEN “A FEW DROPS WILL DO.”

IF IT WAS “THERE” IT WOULD HAVE REACTED OR BEEN FOUND, JUST LIKE ALL THE INFORMATION HAS BEEN REVEALED BY “THE FEW DROPS” USED BY PROPER INVESTIGATIVE JOURNALISTS THAT CLEARLY DEMONSTRATES THAT HILARY, BULLING SHITBAMA, AND THEIR COHORTS IN THE FBI& DOJ ACTUALLY COLLUDED AND OBSTRUCTED JUSTICE.

IF GOD HAD NOT INTERVENED AND RAISED UP TRUMP, ALL OF THEIR COLLUSIONS WOULD HAVE BEEN COVERED UP.ah lie?

22. John;

Here is the comedy!!

Even if Mueller had evidence collusion is not a crime and Trump will never be prosecuted for it!!

https://www.washingtonpost.com/world/national-security/collusion-is-not-a-crime-by-itself-here-are-the-charges-mueller-could-be-exploring/2017/10/31/eb2b516e-be59-11e7-959c-fe2b598d8c00_story.html?utm_term=.55f4b2cfbd2d

Mueller does not even know what he is after Trump for, it has not been specified!!

The press has to come up with different angles, unless you can supply the evidence and an angle!!

Trump is loving it because the more ridiculous it gets, the stronger he becomes!!

Americans love an underdog!!

… and it isn’t as if Trump isn’t telling everybody the facts of life!!

http://www.independent.co.uk/news/world/americas/us-politics/donald-trump-russia-collusion-deny-election-campaign-robert-mueller-crime-a8133431.html

He has consistently maintained there was no collusion and even if there was collusion is not a crime!!

Hilary was quite in order to collude with the Russians and produce a fake dossier to detract from her opponent in the polls.

Politics is a nasty game!!

Where she is in trouble is she got the FBI to use it, possibly through Obama …. now that is interference in my book.

She lost the election fair and square …. losers get the shaft.

Unfortunately, there are a whole set of people in jeopardy, including Obama.

Had she won there would have been on mention of the FISA warrant … or the fake dossier.

23. Trump has his foot on their neck.

He could fire Mueller so HRC, Obama and the rest of people in jeopardy could sleep easy.

But where would be the fun in that!!

Plus, he would get stick, so enjoy the fun!!

24. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Dr. Simple Simon February 8, 2018 at 11:02 PM

You see how โ€˜simplyโ€™ hypocritical you can be?

Always condemning laws and customs that discriminate against women but have the two-mouthed gall to uphold โ€œwickingโ€ as a morally acceptable and not an illegal โ€˜physicalโ€™ act of intercourse while, on the other side of your twisted face, would rail incessantly against any move to put men (both he and she) in the same legal bed as wo(e)men.

No wonder the young people donโ€™t pay you and your ilk any mind with your confusingly contradictory mixed-up messages of morality.

On the one hand you want them to have babies to ensure the future of the NIS while on the other hand you tell them NOT to have sex without a condom and only with one lifelong partner even if he or she is barren as the Kalahari desert.

Same thing applies to the use of marijuana compared to alcohol and tobacco.

You, the fake Dr. SS, PhD., the ardent church attendee, ought to be familiar with the following admonitions from your book of moral guidance:

โ€œDo not judge, and you will not be judged. Do not condemn, and you will not be condemned. Forgive, and you will be forgiven.

Give, and it will be given to you. A good measure, pressed down, shaken together and running over, will be poured into your lap. For with the measure you use, it will be measured to you.

โ€œCan the blind lead the blind? Will they not both fall into a pit?โ€

25. The Democrats have screwed themselves …. with some assistance from Trump.

Remember his prediction, we will be working with the Democrats in 2018!!

26. REJohn February 9, 2018 at 9:52 AM #
    The Democrats have screwed themselves โ€ฆ. with some assistance from Trump.

Remember his prediction, we will be working with the Democrats in 2018!!

THE KEY WORD THERE IS “WORKING” IN SEVERAL WAYS INCLUDING THE WAY WE USE IT IN IN BIM C.F I GWINE WUK WID YOU

BTW ARE YOU STILL LEADING THE “HERE AND THERE” WALK ON THE SUNDAY MORNING WALKS?
    I WENT ON THE “STOP & STARE” WALKS FROM 1994-1997 AND THEN STUPIDLY STOPPED.
    ENJOYED EVERY MOMENT OF THEM AND ALL THE INFO THE DEAR DEPARTED COLIN SHARED ABOUT OUR ISLAND HOME’S HISTORY, GEOLOGY ETC

27. Are-we-there-yet Avatar

GP; re. your 9:09 post.

Yuh did lie!

Even if not intentionally.

28. Are-we-there-yet February 9, 2018 at 10:11 AM #
    GP; re. your 9:09 post.

Yuh did lie! Even if not intentionally.

HOW SO SIR? PLEASE KINDLY ILLUMINATE AND ILLUCIDATE PELUCIDLY IN AN ERUDITE EXPOSITION.

(I am in this line mimmicking and simultaneosusly mocking the pedantic bull shitter, the wannabee! lol murdah….bare mock sport in de rum shop!)

29. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ John February 8, 2018 at 11:01 PM #
    โ€œAll you have to do is to look at the spread of civilization/agriculture after the flood to understand where Brits originated, and for that matter, Africans too!!
    The DNA of Pharaohโ€™s of Ancient Egypt is yielding up its secrets.
    โ€œBoth types of genomic material showed that ancient Egyptians shared little DNA with modern sub-Saharan Africans. Instead, their closest relatives were people living during the Neolithic and Bronze ages in an area known as the Levant. Strikingly, the mummies were more closely related to ancient Europeans and Anatolians than to modern Egyptians.โ€โ€

Oh, how intellectually hypocritical you can be when its suits your racist ends!

Here you are singing the praises of the โ€˜scienceโ€™ of DNA in proving that early Egyptians were not the โ€˜migratory negroesโ€™ like the slaves from Israel but on the other side of the scientific coin would wish to promote the story of the planet Earth being 10,000 years old in true ZOE cum Dr. GP Judeo-Christian story style as told in their book of lies legends and myth.

Are you, John, prepared to accept the scientific fact the planet is millions of solar years old and that your โ€˜British Isles ancestors were the descendants of โ€˜black-skinnedโ€™ African people and that prototype man called Adam as written in the story of creation in your book of โ€˜whiteโ€™ lies and convincing myths plagiarized by religious conmen from earlier cultures like the Sumerians from the same Levant (rising Sun) and sold as a book of obedience to stupid black people from sub-Saharan Africa?

30. Are-we-there-yet Avatar

John;

I see you have imbibed the poisonous nectar in the real fake news provided by the Trump apologists.

Because the Champion liar-in-chief consistently says “there has been no collusion” you accept that is the truth even though he has been caught out in over 2000 lies in one year. As a scientist of sorts you should at least consider that there is a higher probability that he is lying than that he is telling the truth.

Going by the info unearthed by the believeable media with longstanding track records, most, if not all, of the assertions against Trump in the Dossier have so far been corroborated by the FBI. Put on the hat that you use when analysing info related to water and barbadiana outside of the Quaker mishmash and try to be objective. A little learning is a dangerous thing, drink deep!

31. re Are-we-there-yet February 9, 2018 at 10:38 AM #
    John;

PERMIT ME TO ASK A FEW QUESTIONS SIR.

RE I see you have imbibed the poisonous nectar in the real fake news provided by the Trump apologists.

WHY IS THE news provided by the Trump apologists……poisonous nectar SIR?
    CAN YOU SUPPORT YOUR VIEW BY RELEVANT EVIDENCE?

RE Because the Champion liar-in-chief consistently says โ€œthere has been no collusionโ€ you accept that is the truth even though he has been caught out in over 2000 lies in one year.

ARE YOU SAYING THAT BECAUSE “he has been caught out in over 2000 lies in one year”, THAT HE DOES NOT EVER TELL THE TRUTH AT ALL,AT ALL,AT ALL?.

RE As a scientist of sorts you should at least consider that there is a higher probability that he is lying than that he is telling the truth.

DOES THIS MEAN THEREFORE BY YOUR ARGUMENT THAT HE DOES NOT EVER TELL THE TRUTH AT ALL,AT ALL,AT ALL? PROBABILITIES ARE NOT SYNONYMOUS WITH FACTS OR THE TRUTH. ah lie?

re Going by the info unearthed by the believeable media with longstanding track records, most, if not all, of the assertions against Trump in the Dossier have so far been corroborated by the FBI.

WHAT IS THE ” believeable media “SIR? WHAT MAKES THE SO CALLED ” believeable media “BELIEVABLE?

DOES HAVING SO CALLED “longstanding track records” NECESSARILY EQUATE WITH EITHER TELLING THE TRUTH, OR NOT BEING BIASED?

PLEASE KINDLY RELATE THE EVIDENCE THAT “most, if not all, of the assertions against Trump in the Dossier have so far been corroborated by the FBI.”

HOW DO YOU KNOW THIS SIR? BY THE PROVEN “FAKE NEWS” OR BY THE ” believeable media “

32. John;
    I see you have imbibed the poisonous nectar in the real fake news provided by the Trump apologists.

The Washington Post is against Trump!!!

… and it doesn’t matter if he colluded or not, Mueller can’t touch him!!

Mueller however could be crawling all over HRC soon, … and Obama!!

33. BTW ARE YOU STILL LEADING THE โ€œHERE AND THEREโ€ WALK ON THE SUNDAY MORNING WALKS?
    I WENT ON THE โ€œSTOP & STAREโ€ WALKS FROM 1994-1997 AND THEN STUPIDLY STOPPED.
    ENJOYED EVERY MOMENT OF THEM AND ALL THE INFO THE DEAR DEPARTED COLIN SHARED ABOUT OUR ISLAND HOMEโ€™S HISTORY, GEOLOGY ETC

I started in 1988, stopped in 2006/7/8.

I went back in February 2015 once and haven’t got back.

Buddies always trying to get me back waling!!

Achilles tendon used to give me trouble when I woke in the morning before I discovered it was all about the shoe I was wearing during the day.

Miss them and enjoyed the experience.

Much of my knowledge on Barbados comes from those walks and the ability to talk with Colin and other heavyweights as I pleased.

Lucky to have rubbed shoulders with the giants of the past.

Fitted right back in 2015 with no undue physical exertions and no problems for years with tendon.

I now wear hiking boots, whether I have on my collar and tie and monkey suit or not!!

I just don’t hike like before!!

“Desiderata — Take kindly the counsel of the years, gracefully surrendering the things of youth.”

34. Are-we-there-yet Avatar

GP;

I really do’nt have the time nor energy to provide the copious references that you request in your above post re. fake news and news from the believable media. But, if you are willing to do your own research do the following.

Go through the www web references re. Trump or Clinton or issues related to Racism that have been posted on BU by John, Chad 5 nines and Lawson over the last year or so. The majority of them are from fake news sites with Fox TV being a borderline source in that regard.

35. RE John February 9, 2018 at 11:07 AM #
    John;

The Washington Post is against Trump!!!

โ€ฆ and it doesnโ€™t matter if he colluded or not, Mueller canโ€™t touch him!!

IT AMAZES AND AMUSES ME HOW SO CALLED RATIONAL FOLK HERE WHO ARE ANTI-TRUMP CANT SEEM TO SIFT THE INFORMATION OR PERCEIVE THE BIAS OF THE FAKE NEWS MEDIA.
    NO ONE—NOT EVEN TRUMP- IS ALWAYS WRONG IN ALL THEY DO OR SAY AS THEY PROJECT.

EVEN THE DEVIL IS NOT ALWAYS TELLING LIES….EVEN THOUGH HE IS THE ORIGINAL AND THE PRINCIPAL LIAR

RE Mueller however could be crawling all over HRC soon, โ€ฆ and Obama!!
    I THINK THIS IS UNLIKELY TO HAPPEN. HILARY AND SHITBAMA ARE HIS BUDDIES.

HIS AIM IS TO GET TRUMP FOR THEM……..NOT TO COME AFTER THEM

36. RE Are-we-there-yet February 9, 2018 at 11:25 AM #
    GP;

I really doโ€™nt have the time nor energy to provide the copious references that you request in your above post re. fake news and news from the believable media. But, if you are willing to do your own research do the following.

LOL I UNDERSTAND SIR. I UNDERSTAND VERY WELL WHAT IS HAPPENING WITH OUT THE REFERENCES YOU CITE.
    I ALSO UNDERSTAND THAT YOU CAN NOT RESPOND LOGICALLY TO MY SIMPLE QUESTIONS

37. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@Are-We, you are diplomatic senor; you ‘sound’ like@Bernard in pseudonym :-).

There is no way to get water from stone. We always assume that most people are rational in their perspectives and are thus shocked from our sensibilities when these levels of rabid hypocrisy are displayed so openly for all too see.

How can we ever expect reason when as you ask about the man who “… has been caught out in over 2000 lies in one year” and suggest that its more likely he is lying as compared to others and hear the retorts offered.

It was beyond amusing when the liar in chief baited James Comey by saying that Comey was lying about their meetings and boldly said that Comey better hope there were tapes of the meetings…. and people actually then scolded Comey as a liar.

Trump is brazen and brash, for that give him credit.

He is again playing an awesome game in saying that he would like to talk directly with Mueller when all his advisers tell him that he likely be caught in a lie…like Clinton was!

Did you read the one about his deposition back in 06 or thereabouts when in a similar legal situation he had to admit under oath that he had LIED 30 times! What’s a lie or two between friends or between a president and his adoring fans

We have never seen anything like this before in the WH but having sycophants sing praises right up to the day of conviction of their idol is absolutely nothing new.

38. HIS AIM IS TO GET TRUMP FOR THEMโ€ฆโ€ฆ..NOT TO COME AFTER THEM

Maybe, but his problem is his pristine reputation.

He was given a job to do and all sorts of money put behind him.

If he ends up with evidence to go after others I think he will, if only to say “I did my duty”!!

39. Once again I draw to the attention of the significant contributors of BU.Disregard John and GP,two diseducated semi-buffoons whose sole purpose is to divert attention away from the thread,any thread; the former, to live in the past and exalt all that the caucasoid people achieved at the expense of the negroid people and pass it on as the example to follow in our everyday living,and the latter to portray a history of the hebrews as a sure resource to quote with the authority of long dead hebrews and who hold the key to the world tomorrow.A world that is as wicked as it always was and always will be because we are dealing with Homo sapiens whether he be mongoloid,caucasoid or negroid.They tremble when they hear the word BLACK.The young blacks are rebelling and will not accept double standards.Let Stuart hear that.

40. re de pedantic Dribbler February 9, 2018 at 11:52 AM #
    @Are-We, you are diplomatic senor

REALLY? BULL SHIT IS BULL SHIT. BIAS IS BIAS LOL

RE There is no way to get water from stone. We always assume that most people are rational in their perspectives and are thus shocked from our sensibilities when these levels of rabid hypocrisy are displayed so openly for all too see.

YOU ARE AN EXPERT PERVEYOR OF THE ABOVE
    WHAT YOU AND THOSE OF YOUR ILK ARE SAYING IS WHENEVER ANYONE DOES NOT AGREE WITH OUR VIEWS OR SUSPICIONS THEY ARE IRRATIONAL AND EVINCE”rabid hypocrisy ……… so openly for all too see.

RE How can we ever expect reason when as you ask about the man who โ€œโ€ฆ has been caught out in over 2000 lies in one yearโ€ and suggest that its more likely he is lying as compared to others and hear the retorts offered.

BECAUSE REASON DICTATES MR WANNABEE JACKASS ALL LIARS MUST TELL THE TRUTH EVEN SOMETIMES TO BE GOOD CONVINCING LIARS ah lie?

ALL REALLY SUCCESSFULL LEG SPINNERS HAVE A GOOGLY OR “WRONG UN” ah lie?

RE It was beyond amusing when the liar in chief baited James Comey by saying that Comey was lying about their meetings and boldly said that Comey better hope there were tapes of the meetingsโ€ฆ. and people actually then scolded Comey as a liar.

ACTUALLY THAT PLOY CAUSED COMEY TO EXPOSE HIMSELF AS A LIAR AND A LEAKER AND PROVE WHAT MANY ALREADY KNEW ABOUT HIM THAT HE, COMEY, IS REALLY CORRUPT…….AND DEFINITELY NOT A SAINT AS PREVIOUSLY TOUTED.

RE Trump is brazen and brash, for that give him credit. AND HE USES THAT TO PLAY PUNKS LIKE YOU AND OTHERS OF YOUR ILK AND LITTLE INTELLIGENCE LIKE A FIDDLE!
    WHILE WUNNAH HATING HATING AND WHINING AND COMPLAINING AND PILLING ON DAILY…….HE IS WINNING. HE IS ACCOMPLISHING MUCH AGAINST THE ODDS…..EVEN THOUGH THE MAINSTREAM FAKE MEDIA NEVER REPORTS IT!ah lie?

RE Did you read the one about his deposition back in 06 or thereabouts when in a similar legal situation he had to admit under oath that he had LIED 30 times! Whatโ€™s a lie or two between friends or between a president and his adoring fans

HOW MANY TIMES DID THE CLINTONS AND SHITBAMA LIE? DID NOT THEIR ADORING FANS IN THE MAINSTREAM FAKE MEDIA SUPPORT THEM TO THE VERY END?

BILL CLINTON AND SHITBAMA BECAME PRESIDENTS DESPITE THEIR LIES ah lie? What WAS a lie or two between friends or between a president and his adoring fans THEN?

IF GOD ALMIGHTY DID NOT INTERVENE HILARY WOULD HAVE BECOME PRESIDENT TOO! ah lie?

SEEMS TO ME THAT LOTS OF PEOPLE LYING………..MAYBE THEY ARE JUST LIE-ONS! ah lie?

IT IS GREAT FUN TO DEBUNK A PUNK . i AINT LIE

41. RE Gabriel February 9, 2018 at 12:20 PM #
    Once again I draw to the attention of the significant contributors of BU

PRAY TELL ME KIND SIR…. WHO ARE THESE “significant contributors of BU”?
    WOULD YOU SAY THAT YOUR BOVINE EXCREMENT IS A SIGNIFICANT CONTRIBUTION? IF SO, HOW SO? LOL

42. NorthernObserver Avatar

Hmmmm
    “Lost in the hyper-politicized hullabaloo surrounding the Nunes Memorandum and the Steele Dossier was the striking statement by Secretary of Defense James Mattis that the U.S. has โ€œno evidenceโ€ that the Syrian government used the banned nerve agent Sarin against its own people.”

43. I would caution all you folks who are being carried away with predictions a la Mueller to take a deep breath. Mueller has played his cards close to his chest and has handed down four (4) indictments. Of the four no one knew that Papadopolous was under the radar and the Repubs are trying to downplay Papadopolousโ€™ ties to Trump but Trump introduced him as his energy expert in the early days. At least two of those who have been indicted Michael Flynn ( lock her up) and George Papadopolous are cooperating with Mueller and singing like canaries. Trump is sending out mixed signals that he will/will not talk to Mueller, his lawyers are advising him not to, but Trump thinks he is smarter than anyone and he doesnโ€™t know what Mueller knows but Trumpโ€™s tendency is to lie at all times. He will face perjury or obstruction of justice charges or both.

Folks also forget that Mueller is a Republican who was appointed FBI Head under GW Bush and was under consideration by Trump for the same position so trying to tie Mueller to Hillary is absolute nonsense by people who worship at the altar of Rush Limbaugh and Faux News. I hope Trump testifies before Mueller because someone is sure to emerge with a โ€œshinerโ€ and it wonโ€™t be Mueller.

44. RE At least two of those who have been indicted Michael Flynn ( lock her up) and George Papadopolous are cooperating with Mueller and singing like canaries.

HOW DO YOU KNOW THIS?
    I DIDNT SEE THIS ON CNN, CBS OR MSNBC OR READ IT IN THE NEW YORK TIES OR WSJ

RE Folks also forget that Mueller is a Republican SO WHAT? AINT COMEY AND MCCAIN AND FLAKE REPUBLICANS TOO?

RE Mueller was under consideration by Trump for the same position WHAT IS TRUER IS THAT HE APPLIED FOR THE POSITION………. NOT THE SAME AS “was under consideration”

45. Papadopolous has entered into a plea bargain with Mueller and you donโ€™t get something for nothing. Flynnโ€™s counsel has stopped cooperating with the WH counsels and he is trying to save his son from prosecution (blood is thicker than water).

How do I know that Flynn is singing like a canary? He said he is cooperating with the special counselโ€™s office. BTW he has already pled guilty to lying to the FBI

46. Are-we-there-yet Avatar
    Are-we-there-yet

NorthernObserver @ 12:58 pm

I had’nt seen the seen the statement by Mattis that you alluded to above but it carries the ring of truth, especially because of its source. Similarly, if one examines the agreed origins of the Nunes Memo and the Steele Dossier and the hullabaloo around each of them it is possible to pick some sense or some likelihood of truth from individual components of each of these documents. But the overall patina of these documents would have been affected by the intended purpose of the eventual product. The Steele dossier was originally an opposition research project intended to find dirt on Trump commissioned by a GOP source. Funding of that opposition research was taken over by a pro-HRC agency after Trump won the GOP presidential nomination. The Nunes memo was born from an attempt to paint the Steele dossier as pure fiction from one fact only – the HRC connection- without referencing the other aspects that suggested that it was a professionally produced document authored by a non-american spy with unimpeachable credentials with no observable axe to grind for Hillary Clinton or the Democrats but with a sense of outrage at what the information presaged if Trump were to win.

The whole thing is somewhat reminiscent of the reports about the tests done on the sewage outflows in the Hastings area. The tests were essentially scientific ones that actually and factually corroborated each other. The facts in the reports were used by the GOB and the US embassy to develop vastly different narratives for their separate publics. It is the interpretation of the facts and the wisdom / training to deconstruct the reports that matter in any discussion of them. I can’t fault either the US embassy or the GOB operatives in how they separately presented the findings of their report.

47. Are-we-there-yet Avatar
    Are-we-there-yet

Sargeant; You said at 1:31 pm;

“Folks also forget that Mueller is a Republican who was appointed FBI Head under GW Bush and was under consideration by Trump for the same position so trying to tie Mueller to Hillary is absolute nonsense by people who worship at the altar of Rush Limbaugh and Faux News. ”

True! but this matter is a very convoluted one. How does one know if some of Trump’s billions and power has not been proffered to sweeten certain allegiances. Note that Trump’s modus operandi seems to be that of demanding allegiance from his top staffers. Might’nt it be possible that many of his top inner circle has experienced such a demand for allegiance?

If so, How could the seemingly overly protective stances by Nunes and Ryan and some others be explained? Comey obviously didn’t have such a stance and Rod Rosenstein. But what about the General who is now under extreme unexpected pressure or even the VP?

48. RE How do I know that Flynn is singing like a canary? He said he is cooperating with the special counselโ€™s office. BTW he has already pled guilty to lying to the FBI
    WHAT A NON SEQUITUR!

49. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

Alas… such poor riposte….

ACTUALLY THAT PLOY CAUSED COMEY TO EXPOSE HIMSELF AS A LIAR AND A LEAKER AND PROVE WHAT MANY ALREADY KNEW ABOUT HIM THAT HE, COMEY, IS REALLY CORRUPTโ€ฆโ€ฆ.AND DEFINITELY NOT A SAINT AS PREVIOUSLY TOUTED.

James Comey started to keep notes of his meetings with the president of the USA because he believed that he could not trust the Pres to be honest and accurate about their discussions.

At one point in testimony before congress he said that Trump asked for his loyalty. Trump said said that was not true.

It was then subsequently CONFIRMED that Trump had similarly asked other senior officials about loyalty. Trump LIED.

Comey is accused of leaking data from his interactions with the Pres. And he did provide non-confidential information to a colleague…again because he believed he could NOT trust the Pres…

The information the FBI director is accused of leaking was of a specific meeting when the Pres asked to be alone with him in the Oval office (an absolute violation of accepted protocol) and used the occasion to ask him to DROP the investigation of Gen Flynn.

The FBI director KNEW this to be illegal and was deeply concerned that it be documented and made public. He prepared a memo which ended in the hands of a colleague.

That memo was of HIS recollections and HIS details ONLY. It contained no secret or confidential data. The term leak is mis-used.

He committed no illegal act with the ‘leak’ of this info.

The President of the US DID request him to stand down on a criminal investigation of a senior official.

James Comey is not a liar re his interactions with the Pres; in fact it has been proven by evidence that the US President has lied in calling him such and has likely committed possible illegal acts with that request.

The FBI director will surely be considered a ‘hero’ when this is all said and done.

50. The US and British Govโ€™ts are advising their citizens to exercise caution in T & T during Carnival as attacks are still possible.

https://www.cnn.com/2018/02/09/politics/trinidad-carnival-terror-attack-thwarted/index.html