Submitted by A Fair and Balanced Douglas Leopold Phillips
Roy Morris, Editor-in-Chief, Nation Newspaper

I hate to return to this topic; and, although I may want to resist invoking his name, like the late Branford Taitt, these days, I am forced to read the Daily Nation (and the Sunday Sun) with a red-ink pen in one hand. I often tell my friends that the Barbados Advocate, especially the Sunday Advocate, is a far better newspaper – good stories, well researched articles and earnest commentaries

Now to the matter at hand. I saw this story in today’s online Daily Nation:

Shock as brothers die 2 days apart

by Lisa King, Nation News

AS THE JONES FAMILY plan a double funeral for two brothers who died suddenly in the space of two days, they are left with more questions than answers.

The Durant’s Road, Christ Church family are trying to muster enough strength to make funeral preparations for Shurland “Jonesy” Jones, 47, who died on December 2, and his older brother Henderson “Buck” Jones, 50, who passed away two days later.

Their sister Marlyne Jones, who spoke to the DAILY NATION yesterday, said the family was not expecting either death. In fact, she said both men were thought to be in good health and the family was therefore anxious for the autopsy reports to learn the causes. (LK)

Family is a collective noun, which carries a singular verb. So, in one instance it cannot have a plural verb and then a singular verb in the same story – see the highlights in red. Most of us know that collective nouns, like class, crew, band, crowd, gang, pack, board, bunch, group, etc. all carry a singular verb; but, not the Nation.

I guess some publications are more concerned with maximising circulation and profits, than being journalese-correct, factual, ethical and responsible.

Bad grammar, particularly where the subject doesn’t agree with the verb, is very pervasive in the local media.  Their seeming inability to use correct English is mind-boggling. For example, recently, the Nation and the Sunday Sun (following their overseas counterparts) were reporting things like: “Barbados are batting in their second innings”, “he said the Barbados Water Authority are dealing with the situation”, and “the Chairman assured the public that the Board are aware of the matter and are addressing it”.

Lots of reasons for me to again fall off my favourite chair with laughter. Where are the proof-readers? Poor fellows, they really don’t know better anyhow. Gladstone Holder and Jeanette Layne-Clarke must be turning over and over again in their graves.

But hey, the constant absence of subject and verb agreement is not the only common error being ‘perfected’ by them. They still wallow in poor syntax and gobbledegook as they continue their crusade to undermine this administration by daily highlighting shortcomings and so-called matters of national import, as well as outright trivia and partisan copy. Case in point: two Sundays ago, there was a news item pertaining to the NUPW’s Akanni McDowell receiving payment for the month of November despite having been asked to revert to his substantive post in October. The Sunday Sun’s ‘story’ while purporting to be a genuine news item was actually a blatant case of the reporter editorialising with subjective comment and personal opinion, and a few expected Ws thrown in to give it a semblance of authenticity and credibility. So RIDICULOUS! All the basic tenets of journalism went thrown out the window.

One only has to read their lead stories everyday.They give prominence to the “bad roads and potholes”, the “reduced Transport Board fleet, late buses, and people stranded in the bus terminals for hours on end”, “poorly maintained government buildings, sporting facilities and playing fields”, “leaking sewerage along the south coast”, “visitors turned-off by sewage overflow in St. Lawrence”, “continuous industrial action at both ports of entry”, “persistent water woes” (like we never experienced these situations before) and “threats by one Rosalind (‘shut-down-de-country’) Smith”, “the Hyatt Hotel issue and Town Planning permission”, “BUT and BSTU militancy”, and “environmental problems at Combermere and other schools”. Talk about a partisan, politician organ!!! The NATION, tip your hat, take a bow!

But, they won’t publicize: the thousands of tourists who arrive here daily; the 6 Condor, 6 Thomas Cook, 2 Virgin Atlantic, one BA,  and 2 Jet Blue flights that were on the tarmac yesterday afternoon at GAIA.  We are in for another record year for tourist arrivals. And, while we are at it,  what about the $M7 and other resources that were invested in our 50th anniversary of Independence celebrations that have redounded to our collective benefit in a BIG WAY. Many persons realized employment as the multiplier and trickle-down effects kicked-in.

Also, let’s remember the overwhelming  success of Jimmy Cornell’s Sailing and Yachting Events, including the return of the much sought after, annual Trans Atlantic Yacht Race. Scores of sailing vessels have been docking here in the Barbados Odyssey 50 since mid-year, and by next month close to100  would have called. Don’t forget the temporary partnership with the private waste haulers to clean up the “piles of garbage across the country” that the Nation was highlighting. The place is now free of the “pile-ups”. To date, that arrangement has been a resounding success. The de-bushing campaign to clean our highways and by-ways is now under way; and, by the way, Combermere is being made ready for the start of the next school term. Work is continuing there apace. Can’t the Nation at least mention these FACTS. Anyhow, enough said!

I usually try to desist from criticising my ‘friends’ in the media, but I get incensed sometimes at their ‘foul-ups, bleeps and blunders‘, as they persist with their non-stories and solecisms, on the one hand, while their editors, lead writers and columnists  adopt a holier-than-thou attitude and a partisan, political posture on the other. So, I can be forgiven for again jumping on my hobbyhorse.

131 responses to “The Daily Nation’s Continuous Poor Grammar”

1. Why thank you Carl, your comment added value to the discussion all to the tale part (should be tail?) hmmmm.

2. If someone wants to attack the Nation for the quality of their journalism, that is one thing but they really should not try to attach it to grammar, when they are are clearly very misinformed about linguistics. As someone with an MA in Applied Linguistics, there are a number of points I would liike to make. First of all, the understanding of grammar has long since moved on from the days of so-called prescriptive rules for what speakers are or are not allowed to do with language. No-one gave linguists, or anyone else for that matter, the power to tell speakers how they can or cannot use language. Therefore, grammar changes according to the changing patterns of people’s use of language. Let us take the pronoun ‘they’ which historically was used to refer to plural people or things. Today this pronoun is commonly used as a gender neutral singular pronoun as in “…if someone fails to follow instructions, they will be responsible for any damage done…”. In any event, the collective nouns mentioned in the article can all take plural verbs in standard English http://blog.oxforddictionaries.com/2011/09/agreement-over-collective-nouns/. When was the last time you heard someone say, “…the police is looking for the criminal”? On one last point, as Bajans we need to start valuing our own language and its grammar. We don’t need to follow what people do elsewhere. We have our own ways of expressing ourselves that have come out of our country’s history.

3. Hants December 21, 2016 at 10:34 AM #
    PROBLEM!!!
    Sewage or sewerage with escherichia coli bacterium overflowing into Graeme Hall swamp and bubbling up on the street in worthing.
    SOLUTION??? Use spell check, grammar check.

… and then there is the sleuth gate as used by Barbados Today in an article dealing with the sluice gate!!

No wonder the GOB never fixed the sluice gate ….. it was looking for the sleuth gate and got itself confused!!

You see the problem, it is quite possible to send people on a wild goose chase by using incorrect English

English matters because we progress by being able to communicate and if one st of words are being used by one set of people and another by another it is easy to appreciate that collaboration is not possible

In war, the enemy USES or USE codes and cryptography to defeat

I peace, the need for standards is kind of easy to grasp.

4. I should be in!!!

Spell check won’t get that one !!

5. Spell check makes (or make) dumb people appear dumber.

6. @Teen white

Bull shite

Not expecting the nation to do better as that paper falls under the category of “Tabloid journalism”.however journalist are goverened by rules that specifcally speaks of standards which include rules of engagement
    So don’t come here with those flim flam excuses about societal and culture choices and changes which will give the Nation newspaper a passing grade when the article points out that the nation is a habitual abuser of grammatical errors which has been ongoing for many years

7. If you are able to stick to standards you likely have an element of discipline within you that is more valuable than any education or learning.

You figured out why you got sent to school and others who did the figuring recognize you and realise they can work with you and you with them!!

You did not just go for the milk and the biscuits.

It is like a code or password, it gets you past go when everybody else who went to school and did not figure it out complain about elites and discrimination!!

When that discipline is lacking people talk at one another without listening because all they are putting out and getting back is (or are) useless words.

There is no working together for a common goal.

No one reads (or read) the papers any more … lots of people buy (or buys) them, scan (or scans) them and throw (or throws) them away!!

Newspapers come in especially useful when the dog has pups!!

8. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

“Create a designate hitter who gives an interview the next day and points out that Doville is an integral part of the problem (the party in power).”

Problem with that being Mia and Donville are close bosom buddies, the electorate will once again be the losers in that fraudulently, pretentious charade of games slimy politicians play with each other, it’s just theatre for their empty headed yardfowl class.

Instead of coining stupid phrases to elevate themselves, denigrate their own people and impress idiots, cause the 5% never were nor will they ever be impressed with a bunch of gullible, greed slaves in parliament who would sell out their own fpr a bribe, any bribe….the ministers should have focused on taking care of the broken down infrastructure of the island caused by theur own neglect…they had 8 years.

That stupid label of ministers being of a “political class”, got Walter Blackman cant even push out his head..lol only someone as anal and arrogant as Fruendel would come up with something as empty to describe politicians…could not get the fool idea out of their big heads and ended up not doing their jobs…

9. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Dont know why the ACs would be interested in grammar when it’s of no use to them…lol

10. Formally trained…thanks.The lesson is do not hit the send button before reading through.

11. Some words are considered singular, some plural and some both …. depending on their use….. but the author has given a specific use, he has not left it general.

Would you be satisfied for your child to come home from HC or QC and say what was written in the paper?

12. How many Newspapers are there in Barbados?

How many Journalists are there in Barbados and what are their qualifications?

13. AS THE JONES FAMILY plan a double funeral for two brothers who died suddenly in the space of two days, they are left with more questions than answers.

If family had been considered singular, I think it would add to the tragedy of the story.

The word they makes everything seem impersonal and the writer indifferent to the sadness.

Here is the difference.

“AS THE JONES FAMILY plans a double funeral for two brothers who died suddenly in the space of two days, it is left with more questions than answers.”

Indifferent use of English may convey the facts that a bunch of people need answers and yes they are all related in something called a family whereas Family, singular, puts the focus beyond a bunch of people and on something special, a family in its bereavement.

Family is used disrespectfully in my view in the plural in this instance.

It may be correct usage, but I think it is disrespectful … but that is only me.

If I employed that reporter I would move him/her to more simple stories where only facts matter,

If all that is required is to convey a fact then the use is ok.

That works for simple stories.

If the writer wanted to say more without a whole lot of extra words, then singular would have done the trick and if I wanted to distinguish my paper I would go with that writer.

All I would be doing is setting horses for courses.

… and then having started with Family as plural the writer switches to singular it makes me think that the writer does not even have a clue about the special construct of a family in its bereavement but just knows the nuts and bolts of the use of the word and not much about the meaning.

Use of English, pass,

…. scoring points with the editor for showing empathy and for getting future better assignments … fail!!

Me and he/she would have a parting of our ways sometime in the future!!

14. Any way, back to more technical issues for me … factual issues

I like facts

15. There very idea of confinding one’s self-expression to a set of antiquated grammatical rules, is the psychological equivalent of a theist confinding his/her self to a limited religious dogma, in an effort to understand everything there is to know about the existence of God in my judgment.

16. How do we measure intelligence? Do we measure intelligence by the manner in which one conjugated the verbs? Or do we consider someone intelligent, who is proficient in abstract and linear algebra, but lacks the proper grammaticality? It seems as though some here have the tendency, to dismiss the opinion of those persons who haven’t grasped the fundamental of grammar, as though that person is lacking in other areas of academics.

17. Lets penalise the BWA employees ,both at the pumping stations and the sewerage plant by sending them to English Grammar classes,then we will get sterling service from them. Lets penalise the Transport Board employees by sending them to english grammar class, then buses will not break down and will run on time. The same goes for the SSA, and all of the other inefficient Government entities .
    Even the damn British, English, especially who taught us the english language, are not as fanatical about english grammar, as some of the squakwers we have on BU and in Barbados.
    How damn insensitive can one be, reading a tragic case of a family loosing two of its members within hours, and all the reader can think of is getting his red pen out and playing headmaster.

18. Dumps

In this day and age communication between parties is essential,so in order to understand each other they agree on a language,now languages have many nuances that have to be learnt and understood by both parties,failing which many misunderstandings can occur,that could even start wars,like your pal trumpy may do with the wrong translator talking to the chinese.

19. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/91651/restriction-importation-poultry-poultry-products

Wonder what Dumbville is saying now,…and how would bajans know when it’s being imported in secrecy,

20. A senior journalist who recently returned from an all-expenses=paid trip to Israel, no doubt shown around and provided with lots of information by the information ministry, has now returned to tell us about the wonders of water, the greatness of Israeli science.
    This may well be true, what is more worrying is the soft influence, the price we pay for having our journalists going on free trips.
    This kind of propaganda goes under the radar because not many people are aware of it.
    Can we believe what we are told, or is this propaganda the price we pay for our press?
    Who is going to China to return and tell us about Chinese democracy? Or who is going to the US to return and tell us of the wonders of US institutions.
    We now have a Confucian society at the UWI, Chinese doctors at the hospital, so we will be getting acupuncture and shark soup to cure our ils, we are getting Chinese military assistance, remember Tiananmen Square, we have Chinese builders, remembers the buildings that collapse in Chinese; we now have a visa waiving system, remember that Chinese are not allowed to move as they like, to like in Beijin they must get government permission.
    Are our journalists for sale?

21. Miles Davis “Sketches of Spain”.

Dim the lights; turn up the volume and listen to this peerless genius.
    I am tired reading about and discussing the mediocrity called Barbados.

22. ” China’s African Gold Rush
    101 East travels into Ghana’s tropical rainforest where 30,000 Chinese miners hunt for gold.”

http://www.aljazeera.com/programmes/101east/2016/12/china-african-gold-rush-161213120529920.html

23. Haynes boy, the Eskimo has a hundred different words in their language for snow brother, so try to deduce some understanding from the Eskimo language. And added to that piece of information, Mr. Haynes, I wonder if you ever heard about a concept called the linguistic relativity hypothesis?

24. @ Exclaimer,

I have been here listening to peerless geniuses all afternoon. Sparrow,Gabby, Lord Blakie.

25. Interesting…

Barbados gets near $6 million in military aid from China

BY: Loop News

04:30, December 21, 2016

<?XML:NAMESPACE PREFIX = "[default] http://www.w3.org/2000/svg&quot; NS = "http://www.w3.org/2000/svg&quot; />

Barbados and China are deepening their relations

Minister of Foreign Affairs and Foreign Trade, Senator Maxine McClean, and Ambassador of the People’s Republic of China to Barbados, Wang Ke, on Monday, signed a protocol between the Barbados Defence Force and the People’s Liberation Army of China.

During the signing, which took place in the Ministry’s conference room, Senator McClean explained that the initialisation of the document followed the signing of an agreement between the Barbados Defence Force and China on March 15.  Under this agreement, China will provide Barbados with military aid gratis, valued at almost six million Barbados dollars.

“The protocol signed today serves to detail the specific equipment which the People’s Liberation Army has agreed to provide to the Barbados Defence Force.     

"It should be noted that although the Chinese Government has donated military equipment to Barbados on previous occasions – military equipment which has been a tremendous benefit to the Barbados Defence Force in the execution of its duties; this is the largest such donation to date,” Senator McClean said.

The Minister also stressed that the agreement would continue the strong tradition of nation building, a major tenet of which is the security of Barbados and its people.

“The aid is therefore of paramount importance, not only as an opportunity to assist our military, but to secure our gains over the past 50 years,” she added.

Ambassador Wang Ke expressed her delight at the agreement between the two countries.  She explained that the equipment to be purchased included a patrol boat.

“I believe that the protocol is a demonstration of the friendship between the People’s Republic of China and Barbados and will play a pivotal role in capacity building, especially for the Coast Guard and in disaster mitigation,” she noted.

Adding that in 2017 both countries would celebrate the 40th anniversary of the establishment of diplomatic relations, the Ambassador opined that the protocol, along with other recent collaborations, had “kicked off” activities to mark the celebrations.   “More is expected and we will organise a series of joint celebrations in the first half of 2017,” she said. 

Related story:Barbados and China celebrating 40 years of diplomacy

26. Straying a bit off topic. It’s 3 days til Christmas, any tenants move into the grotto high rise apartments yet?

27. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@Hal Austin December 21, 2016 at 5:08 PM …you have been particularly troubled re the issue of the perceived quid pro quo re “… journalist who recently returned from an all-expenses=paid trip…”

I know you certainly are not suggesting that this did not take place with indecent regularity when you were still in the profession so considering the awesome proliferation of info sources today as compared to your heyday what is the big problem!

This is not to dismiss the concern but surely discerning citizens know that they MUST question the bonafides of every journalist when they offer opinion pieces and even when they produce fact based news articles.

One then reads the piece suitably informed of the author’s standing and accepts the data accordingly.

Reading these blogs has surely thought us that and long before this we learned the same thing from reading the ‘slanted’ views of the conservative press as compared to the equally slanted views of the liberal press.

So do you honestly believe that a journalist with integrity (or is that like a unicorn: a myth) cannot accept a trip and yet produce a fair and balanced piece! Though not ideal, it’s doable as you know.

One small example… those ’embedded’ war journos going all the way back to the Vietnam War who though chummy and dependent on the soldiers still eventually excoriated those same soldiers and Gov’t over perceived war crimes.

The modern day embed with trips to China or wherever is done obviously to influence a flattering article and if the journalist sells his/her soul with a simple puff piece then he/she can be easily held to account…as most data is easily check-able today. Which PROFESSIONAL will thrash their career like that.

28. The sign makers at the MTW need to have spell check and grammar check as well. Imagine seeing a sign saying “Cul de suck”! I wonder what the sign writer was thinking about. Merry Christmas Bushie my fart, AC my poop and Alvin my toilet paper ! Merry Christmas to all BU members and voyeurs.

29. Merry Xmas islangal.or better yet Mrs. Scrooge

30. Best wishes Islandgal
    Bushie can still feel the love…
    Yuh still got that 2 X 4….? 🙂

31. After reading Mr Philips’s diatribe I suppose I can safely assume that he has never heard the Minister of education Mr Ronald ‘malaprop’ Jones speak.

32. de pedantic,
    Ethical journalists do not accept all-expenses-paid trips. In fact, the Anti-Bribery legislation now outlaws it.
    At Financial Times Group we had to register every invitation for a pint of beer and I kept a watchful eye on that development. One of my journalists once had a prostitute paid for by a fund manager, it is alleged.
    If a reporter had an expensive lunch at a five-star restaurant with a fund manager, for example, I kept that reporter away from writing about that fund. Reporters self-censor.
    The point is this: corruption is not always overt, it can be sub-conscious.
    If a fund manager is nice to a reporter he or she may find it difficult writing a negative story about that person.
    They are not throwing away money. They are selling hundreds of billions of pounds of retail investment products.
    Why do you think that in London there are 50000 financial press officers, many more than the number of journalists. They are not throwing away money; they are competing for the over £3trn in retail investments. It is mega money.
    So, like this season, a free shopping trip to New York is an insignificant pittance. Don’t believe anything written by a journalist who benefited from a freebie. That is PR, not journalism. If the publication cannot pay its own cost then it is in the wrong business.

33. Charles Skeete

Do you remember the days when Dr. Don Blackman employed a vernacular which was far and beyond the comprehension of the average Barbadian voter? I recall with elation when somewhere back in the early 1980s, Mr. Blackman captivated a crown at a political meeting in Carington Village one with his employment of tautology, malapropism coupled with verbosity.

34. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@Hal Austin at 5:03 AM …re “Ethical journalists do not accept all-expenses-paid trips. In fact, the Anti-Bribery legislation now outlaws it.”

I accept your remarks and appreciate that your seminars and lectures are excellent experiences for attendees.

I do hope however that all the stringent regulation which keeps a tight rein on reporters is discussed in the context of the incestuous relationship which takes place between journos and their subjects in every sphere…the financial industry is as egregious as any, frankly.

You speak of having to “…register every invitation for a pint of beer”. No different from police officers being forbidden from getting a free coke and hot-dog from the shopkeeper on their beat. Perception of bias.

That stuff happened all the time in ‘olden days’ and law and order was still quite unbiased but the infelicities are too grand today and realistically they are scores of dishonest cops, journalists etc who seek a gratuity, thus the suffocating regs.

But does your paper and the others not sell subscriptions to the pros (pun intended) and surely take ads from their companies too in the industry they cover so ethically?

What about the fact that your publishers and big shot media managers will hob-nob in the Hamptons, NY or right there in Mayfair or Chelsea with the barons their employers report about or lord forbid sip wine and cheese at Buckingham Palace or the White House with them.

No ethical issues there!

We do not disagree that there must be a distinct line controlling journalists and the validity of their articles…but let it be clear that what you described above is but ONE part of the mix.

I read your FT, NYT, WSJ, Wash Post, CNN, Fox, Bloomberg etc. with skepticism as you guys are all biased in some way. Any sensible person must crosscheck …quite facile in today’s world (not a knock on your profession; it’s just what it is as life today).

35. @dee word

Not bias, philosophically bent!

🙂

36. @ De pedantic one
    “That stuff happened all the time in ‘olden days’ and law and order was still quite unbiased”
    Nope! Nope, nope! You cannot prove or defend that statement.

If you are a journalist or is in a position to give freebies to journalist, I pray you, please desist. If you are not, then it is just your opinion.

The stance taken by Hal Austin is the correct one. And as David said, there is a difference between bias and politically bent.

37. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

https://www.barbadostoday.bb/2016/12/22/flood-warning-in-effect-2/

ACs…there is a flood warning, how is the Graeme Hall swamp holding up..lpl

38. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

http://ow.ly/jhcv307nsTP

Is any of this being taught in the schools in Barbados and the Caribbean

39. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

The good doctor also invented the technology that places a target on any place, even in a room, when bombings are being conducted, this is what young black people should know that they are capable of inventing……..not listening to shitty brainless politicians spout useless lies.

40. de pedantic Dribbler December 21, 2016 at 10:39 AM #

You do have a point and language by abuse has also evolved compare Chaucers english with what is in use today.

I was trying to find a reason why many individuals are no longer interested in reasearch and detail…..you can give that some thought.

41. Of interest t BU is the watermark emblazoned on the image. This is an exclusive? Glad former PM OAS is ok. 

Arthur injured in collision with ZR

42. David can check to find out if Mia was driving the ZR?

43. BU understands it was Fruendel who caused the accident because of making a SLOW turn thus impeding a rapidly moving OSA.

44. Lol, David

Perhaps Freundel “the sleeping giant” made a slow turn because he fell asleep at the wheel.

45. @ Fractured BLP December 22, 2016 at 5:36 PM #

lol

46. @ David,

Why is the former Prime Minister not driving a Bimmer, Benz, Lexus or Land Rover ?

47. @Hants

That is a Lexus SUV isn’t it?

48. BarbadosToday reported that it is a suzuki.

49. @ Hants

According to today’s edition of the Guyana Guardian, Arthur was driving a 2016 Suzuki Vitara.

50. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@TheGazer December 22, 2016 at 10:57 AM re ” Nope! Nope, nope! You cannot prove or defend that statement.” Says who!

Let’s not play semantics. My post spoke clearly to the fact that there is an inherent slant to news propagated by the various media houses. I used the word ‘bias’ (a particular tendency, trend, inclination, feeling, or opinion, especially one that is preconceived; says one definition).

David offered the more nuanced “philosophically bent”.

According to Webster; Philosophy: a theory underlying or regarding a sphere of activity or thought. Bent: ‘a strong inclination or interest : bias’ Semantics, Mr Gazer!

That difference you offer -where there is none, really – is often what traps us into the net of corruption. We focus on the sprats and the big fish rush past our nets.

And back to my supposedly indefensible off-hand remark. Not condoning the activity as I noted above. I did not disagree with @Austin. I expanded his scope to the big fish bosses where influence is also strongly exerted on the media.

@Vincent December 22, 2016 at 1:47 PM …. Absolutely language has evolved. As much as I enjoyed reading Chaucer’s merry, ribald ole English in the Miller’s Tale and all that we know we can’t cut it with that now.

As you noted communication is about persons understanding each other so with what is in use today we have to accept and learn the lingo of the day…whether that is strange texting words or bad grammar.

Ironic isn’t it that any gen X’er can write and understand texting shorthand with aplomb. An almost entire ‘language’ they created.

Yet they would look at Chaucer and be totally flummoxed and disinterested when in fact it’s a very similar dynamic at play. They should embrace that kindred language. LOLL.

That research issue is beyond my capacity…ask the Law Dean about that.