Another reaction to the controversial remarks made by the Reverend Lucille Baird posted in today’s Barbados Advocate reposted for the reading pleasure the BU family.
Reverend  Lucille Baird
Reverend Lucille Baird

For a variety of reasons, the strictures leveled at the so-called local “block culture” by female cleric, the reverend Dr Lucille Baird, are not likely to meet with universal agreement locally. Indeed, we observe that most of the related comments to her discourse on social media have been generally unfavourable and condemnatory.

According to a report in Monday’s edition of the Barbados Advocate, Dr Baird, without reference to any study or other source, agreed with the assertion that many blocks in Barbados are hotbeds of crime. She proceeded further to argue that these congregations should be outlawed, presumably in order to forestall the likelihood of future criminal activity.

She also called on their members to play a critical role in our economic development- “We are importing food and they are on the blocks sitting down all day long? They can work! Plant potatoes, cassava, yam and eddoes…”

For one, her recommendation of prohibition is contrary to our constitutional ethos of freedom of assembly and freedom of association, both guaranteed rights readily endorsed and availed of by other segments of society including the members of Dr Baird’s church.

Second, the link between the block and crime is largely anecdotal and an easy one to make especially by a disgruntled victim looking to ascribe culpability on another person for the loss of their property.

Third, the inherent national penchant for the underdog, what might be termed a “cuddear” (God’s dear) philosophy, is more likely to provoke sympathy than moral obloquy for these mainly poor, inevitably black, and mostly young individuals that constitute the social subset of the Barbadian block.

Nor did Dr Baird’s appeal to theocracy assist her case. She related that many young persons, including those on the block presumably, “did not know God, the Ten Commandments the Lord’s Prayer, Psalm 23 and what the Bible looks like. In a jurisdiction that guarantees freedom of conscience and of religious belief, this might readily be perceived as offensive although, we hasten to add, it appears squarely within the remit of a Christian pastor.

The nascent “bashment culture” also felt her wrath as being “not our culture” and she echoed the sentiments once voiced by a local Minister of Education that “spirits are real” and that their acceptance might be the causa sine qua non of so much crime in Barbados. For her, this phenomenon exists “because we endorse the bashment and wuk-up spirit and (thereby) open the door to other spirits”.

For all the likely unpopularity of her homily, it is nevertheless difficult to defend the propagation of the block culture as offering anything of creative or other value to Barbados. This is not to say that there may not have been once on the block some who have gone on to contribute significantly to the island’s development, but it may also be argued that while these individuals were “on the block”, they were not “of the block”.

We advance the view that these youthful assemblies may indeed be reformed to contribute in a creative way to the nation. They are not all populated by unintelligent ne’er do wells and, with proper effective guidance, they may be directed towards such pursuits as art, sculpture and drama to the benefit of their communities and themselves. It is time that the block be called upon to play its part in national development and to no longer see itself as a victim of our social progress that has left behind and ostracized.

175 responses to “Building Blocks of Crime?”

1. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

http://ow.ly/mYev305dP3W

You create positives in the life of your own people, if ya intelligent enough to care about them and not just trying to get money out of their already empty pockets.

2. “David October 16, 2016 at 4:45 AM #

This article seems to suggest that Barbados luminaries who serve have tossed Baird under the bus. ”

There is no right or wrong in the issue and because the so called luminaries have expressed a different opinion does not make them right or Pastor Baird’s opinion wrong. The views of persons like Mr Broome or Mr Griffith does not offer much comfort in any way forward given the criticisms of their own disreputable conduct in positions of authority over the years.

3. The attempted by the Church to address the unproductive behaviour of the kids on the block it a bare joke. Fristly, in order to address antisocial behaviour of the youths on the block, the Church must first engage the attention of the youths, and being that the Church has any real moral standing in today society, it will deem an impossible task.

4. Thanks AC well said…

5. Well Well

Former Assistent Commissioner of Police Alvin Griffith and former head of Mounted Branch, has blue eyes though he is brown skin.

6. Most people are focusing on the messenger but at the heart of her message there is a potent question which most rather ignore
    Is the block culture a breeding ground for crime? it seems that either we are or rather not willing to answer the question but rather give cryptic messages in the preparedness to destroy the reputation of the messenger while the messages goes unanswered
    There seems to be plenty intellectual dishonesty being displayed one which endangers and enables and mostly likely in conflict with society morals and values

7. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Ah know Dompey…I was wondering if Vincent is sure he lives in the same Barbados, I see blacks with blue, green gray amber eyes all over the island and have for years, they are right throughout the Caribbean.

What rare what, only in Vincent’s mind…lol

8. Apostle Baird is a DLP operative. Cast your minds back to pre-2008 and her Barbados Advocate columns. She, like many other “preachers”, was promoting the DLP weekly in her sermons and that column; and was appointed to a state board soon after the DLP won. Where has her many ‘concerns’ disappeared to since 2008? This anti-block argument is her attempt to shift blame from the government to the boys on the block. It fits perfectly with the government’s strategy of shifting the responsibility of our current problems to civil servants, the weather, town planning, Opposition, private sector, media and everyone else but the DLP government.

9. Lucille Baird thoughts are in the right place the police may not have resources to obliterate every block overflowing with menaces to the community but they can keep them off balance.

Raids on blocks should be an almost every day occurrence don’t allow the pests to get comfortable. Don’t allow them to relax in the broken down wrought iron chairs they favour under the little shanty.

Folks know of blocks in Brittons Hill, Vauxhall, Red Sea , Red Zone, Vietnam, Fernihust, Deacons Farm, Valery, Crab Hill, St.Lucy et al. Like the police ordinary people know the location of all the blocks even ones hidden in the Pine, Bay land at the back of Gas Clarke pasture in Carrington Village, the Hollywood shed in Fairfield/Grazettes , Scare Dem crew in Black Rock, the list is long.

Bring the trainees at the training school to help in the raids give them real life experience in dealing with pests who frighten law abiding communities daily. Dont give block boys and girls and drug lords, time and room to plan crime.

They may remain on the blocks but can expect a visit from the police at a time when the police choose. Keep the blocks residents guessing. Lucille Baird is bang on when she asserts loads of crime comes from the blocks. Each block has a stash of firearms, drugs and contraband of that there can be no doubt. Harass the blocks Commissioner the same way they harass law abiding citizens and tourists. You have the overwhelming support of the people of this country.

10. Passing thru aka waiting aka fan aka DLP yardfowl JA.

Even on a blog the dishonesty shines. The comment supports enuff.

11. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

It angers me that Baird is well aware that these young men cannot see livable wages in their futures because of the collusion between government and the 5%…they have families to feed, children they cannot support, going to prison because they cannot support children, and Baird has no solutions to bring to the table….after the blocks are closed

Where is MESA in all of this to tell the government, they are responsible for providing solutions for the blocks they created.

12. David where is your conscious after reading a roadmap leading to unfiltered and unfettered death and crime in barbados your response is to attack the truth. How low can you go

#passing thru

13. Anonymouse - TheGazer Avatar
    Anonymouse – TheGazer

Example: the Church is attempting to address the Block phenomenon without much success of course
    The shootings, robberies and rapes, explains the Church’s concerned regarding the Boys on the Block phenomena.

Folks on BU, please forgive me if I am incorrect. But in the examples cited by Dompey, since he is just referring to Boys on the Block it should be phenomenon.

A silly argument by me, but I want to these grammarians to hesitate before they deposit nonsense on BU.

one uh wunna, please gimmuh sum help

14. Enuff and David are carrying a heavy political axe and seems willing and ready enough to throw barbados under the bus at every opportunity . What happen to the good ole days of patriotism

COUNTRY FIRST

15. AC this cretin David is the mother of all jackasses a minion of Bizzy Williams and his kind. David hates anyone who takes an independent position or a stand where you are not a pimp or running dog for opponents of the government. Truth and facts are not part of David’s agenda.

16. Another truth

passing thru

17. @ TheGazer & Dompey

I misspoke and while i meant the plural noun, my pronoun was not adjusted to “these” (i had listed several dynamics in my example and was thinking of several more which I did not write) and the verb might subsequently have lacked verb subject agreement.

It is quite interesting to see that Dompey seems to have returned a little sager in his english and grammar and it is my sincerest prayer that such extends to (i) his assimilation and subsequent comprehension of the subject, (ii) keeping his focus Barbados centric by that i mean while one can be selective rather eclectic, we cannot be so adoptive of the American model that we talk bout “whu de law is in America” to the exclusion of what the law is in Barbados and (iii) forgive the over-enthusiasm of former teachers who would have brutalized students because (i) those teachers did not not know about ADD nor dyslexia and (ii) were not trained to deal with it

18. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Maybe if we can convince both governments in Barbados to outlaw religion, criminalize it, instead of trying to help the 5% reinstitute slavery for their own personal financial gain……half the battle would have been won….problem with that is, we would also have to convince the ministers that extorting bribes is not part of their job description and we should not have to bribe them into eradicating the centuries old disease that has been religion…they should see it as performing a public service to free their people’s minds…

19. @ The Honourable Blogmaster

You have the benefit of “remembrance” euphemism for electronic archives which shows the nature of who and what we are and how our overzealous support and allegiance soon congeals into acolyte, neophyte and finally sycophant.

I am not one who will rise to disparage anyone for the sake of disparagement I do so because in my state of righteous indignation and “holier than thou mentality”, I tend to hold these saints wash in the “holy blood” (purposely de-capitalized) to a higher standard that de rest of us philistines and Sanhedrin folk.

let me give you an example of this “word servant” mentality that she and others of the fold conduct so sanctimoniously but, because of the monetary benefits that accrue to them, they turn a blind eye to.

many of their congregants are known pederasts and pedophiles, in fact many of their laity are pedophiles and they know it to be true BUT, because of the favour they show, like the amount of the tithe, or the seeming service, they permit it to continue, SILENT and supportive of the scum.

“Up, sanctify the people, and say, Sanctify yourselves against to morrow: for thus saith the Lord God of Israel, There is an accursed thing in the midst of thee, O Israel: thou canst not stand before thine enemies, until ye take away the accursed thing from among you…” Joshua 7:13

I, least among those who love my Lord and struggle daily to be among those written in the Book of Life, have this sanctimonious attitude that is quite simple, come ye out from among them and do that which is right, because, whereas fellers like me was not called to the clergy to serve the spiritual needs of the sinners, and I am not among the chest thumpers, i do have this warped? sense of what is right and just and what they as soldiers of Christ should be doing.

But they are lukewarm and their reward is sure.

David, if tomorrow, the Commissioner of Police OR the Attorney General was to place the names of those individuals that are known to be the druglords in Barbados in the hands of these Holy Hands Crew for a “Name and Shame” exercise or, in the case of the Church “calling out the druglords” and calling down the Power of the Lord on them” de ole man can bet you that NOT ONE OF THEM BADWORD REALLY BADWORDS would even open the file far less ask for intercession against the scourge!!!

Of course David, let my granddaughter or grandson be a lesbian or a buller and that Dr. Baird and Durant and Joseph gine call down de name of the Most High on them “because they are among the insignificant of this earth” and are “beffiting of being called out and shamed”

As man, I like Owen Seymour Arthur.

But remember when he had the baby with Julie while married to Beverley? not a feller of the cloth had the balls to say anything because they feared the Caesar more than they feared my Lord.

Yet David here is the passage that they would quote from with their sanctimonious positions and abdications of the True and Living GOD.

“And David’s anger was greatly kindled against the man; and he said to Nathan, As the LORD liveth, the man that hath done this thing shall surely die: 6And he shall restore the lamb fourfold, because he did this thing, and because he had no pity.”

7And Nathan said to David, Thou art the man. “

20. @PUDRYR

Why not include Caswell’s reference to the two teachers who engaged in inappropriate conduct at two our leading secondary schools? If the schools were say the rebranded Grantley Adams or St.Lucy Secondary probably no such luck!

#hypocrisy

21. 2 Timothy 3New International Version (NIV)

3 But mark this: There will be terrible times in the last days. 2 People will be lovers of themselves, lovers of money, boastful, proud, abusive, disobedient to their parents, ungrateful, unholy, 3 without love, unforgiving, slanderous, without self-control, brutal, not lovers of the good, 4 treacherous, rash, conceited, lovers of pleasure rather than lovers of God— 5 having a form of godliness but denying its power. Have nothing to do with such people.

6 They are the kind who worm their way into homes and gain control over gullible women, who are loaded down with sins and are swayed by all kinds of evil desires, 7 always learning but never able to come to a knowledge of the truth. 8 Just as Jannes and Jambres opposed Moses, so also these teachers oppose the truth. They are men of depraved minds, who, as far as the faith is concerned, are rejected. 9 But they will not get very far because, as in the case of those men, their folly will be clear to everyone.

A Final Charge to Timothy

10 You, however, know all about my teaching, my way of life, my purpose, faith, patience, love, endurance, 11 persecutions, sufferings—what kinds of things happened to me in Antioch, Iconium and Lystra, the persecutions I endured. Yet the Lord rescued me from all of them. 12 In fact, everyone who wants to live a godly life in Christ Jesus will be persecuted, 13 while evildoers and impostors will go from bad to worse, deceiving and being deceived. 14 But as for you, continue in what you have learned and have become convinced of, because you know those from whom you learned it, 15 and how from infancy you have known the Holy Scriptures, which are able to make you wise for salvation through faith in Christ Jesus. 16 All Scripture is God-breathed and is useful for teaching, rebuking, correcting and training in righteousness, 17 so that the servant of God[a] may be thoroughly equipped for every good work.

Right on Bairdie fortify yourself in the words of Timothy and do not cower in fear and allow yourself to be side tracked by the naysayers into telling it as it is. Nothing good can come out of the block culture other than negativity to add to the already ills facing our already troubled society.

22. Mr Skeete

As usual you join the fray without any concept of the innards of the subject mostly because you and Bairdy are friends and we always must rise in defence of our friends.

The outcomes of some of the block culture is bad, I have no beef with that.

So too is some of the outcome of the Rum Shop culture, the Guiness LIMEs, Q in the Community and as incredible as it might seem to you, the wuflessness of the church which forces its congregants to tithe and seeks copies of their salary slip.

And the ole man ent saying that because i hear it from someone.

They are a wufless godless set of vipers many of whom WILL TASTE OF THE SECOND DEATH.

Here is what I am talking about to people like you WHO SIMPLY DO NOT HAVE A CLUE ABOUT THE WAY TO FIGHT PEOPLE ON THE BLOCK and just come here and sprout a whole set of shyt##e cause you is one uh dem same sycophants that are not part of the solution but are a serious part of the problem.

http://www.bbc.com/news/uk-politics-37626728

“David Cameron has revealed his first new role after quitting political life will be to lead an expansion of the National Citizen Service for teenagers.

The ex-PM said the scheme, which he set up during his time in office, was “the Big Society in action”.

The NCS aims to prepare teenagers for work through team-building activities and community projects.

Mr Cameron will be chairman of NCS Patrons, aiming to make the course “a normal part of growing up”. See http://www.ncsyes.co.uk/

I does laugh at Baird and de rest uh wunna cause, as a real life practitioner, who jes doan talk de talk but has walked de effing walk, my ass does laugh cause wunna is theorists who effing wunna had to run any real ral intervention wid de fellers pun de block, UM WOULD FAIL LIKE SHYT##EE cause you ent got a clue and Lucille Ball sorry Baird ent got a clue bout de fellers pun de block.

I doan pull no effing punches!!

Wunna is full of gobbledy shyt##e

Another excerpt of the article which i copy purely for instructional purposes follows to give a summary of the programme

“Available to 15 to 17-year-olds, Takes place outside term time, Teenagers complete a residential course before working on a project in their communities, Costs a maximum of £50”

I will also copy another line to give some real reference to what the talkie Dr. Baird and these other effers are sadly out to sea with.

David Cameron said “his new role would involve “bringing together a senior cross-party and cross-sector group of patrons and ambassadors who can help NCS to reach more youngsters”.

“By bringing together expertise from every part of society we can embed NCS in our national fabric,” he said, adding that he hoped to “make it a reality for generations to come”.

Wunna does get heah and blow air up the pooches of people who never have done one day of community intervention in their lives but dem asses does be the first pun TV wid an effing plastic bag to clean up garbage pun Accra beach so that the nation and Barbados today can tek dem effing picture.

Talk to my Effing Hand Skeete, cause de effing tings dat I does write I live while wunna does pretend play act dat wunna at MESA and de Rotaries and de Lions and all de udder shyte love to get kudos in de news media and at national heroes day and at Illaro Court where wunn jes goes to such people doggie.

Dis is why my prayers are that the same boys pun de block leave de effing block and come tuh wunna houses and like WeJonesing encourages “crack a few skullls and kill a few uh wunna” scvunts.

DEN WUNNA GINE GET SERIOUS and all this shytee talk gine dun and wunna going run to Pinelands and de few real real community groups seeking dem help but then it going be too effing late!!!

23. @PUDRYR

You are shooting!

For example, should the Church not have led the effort to deliver water to the thirsty in the North? Would it not have given wings to the message? Recover a semblance of trust by staying true to a core value? It was left to a group of regular folk. What is Baird doing to deliver the mission of the Bible/Church. How the held does she expect the government to deliver her impractical suggestion of dispersing individuals who are given protection under the Constitution to do so?

#JAs-squared

24. simple question re It was left to a group of regular folk.

IS THE CHURCH NOT COMPOSED OF REGULAR FOLK?

simple question re What is Baird doing to deliver the mission of the Bible/Church
    CAN ANYONE HERE TELL ME WHAT THE MISSION OF THE CHURCH IS?

DEFINE CHURCH
    WHAT REALLY IS THE CHURCH AND ITS ROLE

PIECE WITH ALL DUE RESPECT YOU ARE TALKING SHITE HERE………Dis is why my prayers are that the same boys pun de block leave de effing block and come tuh wunna houses and like WeJonesing encourages “crack a few skullls and kill a few uh wunna” scvunts.

charles skeete October 16, 2016 at 11:50 AM #
    SURELY THIS PROPHESY IS BEING FULFILLED TODAY

25. CAN I HAVE SOME FUN LAFFING HERE

CAN THE BIBLE EXPERTS REVEAL THE ORIGIN OF THE CHURCH
    THE PERSONEL OF THE CHURCH
    THE PRACTICE OF THE CHURCH
    THE DEFINITION OF THE CHURCH
    THE ROLE OF THE CHURCH

AND IT CAME TO PASS ON THE DAY OF PENTECOST WHEN THE CHURCH WAS FOUNDED, THAT THEY CAME MEN AND WOMEN WHO WERE NORMAL FOLK WHO TRAVERSED THE LAND WITH BIG BOTTLE OF WATER

AND THE LORD SAID ENTER INTO MY KINGDOM CAUSE YOU HAVE CARRIED THAT WATER WITH APLOMB
    AND THE WATER CARRIERS BECAME DEACON AND ELDERS AND RECIEVED BISHOPRICKS

ALL OF WUNNAH DOES MOCK THE “CHURCH” AND “CHURCH MEN” DAILY
    NOW WUNNA WANT THE CHURCH TO BE WATER BOYS

BARE MOCK SPORT IN THE BU RUM SHOP

26. @ Honourable Blogmaster

You are sooooo spot-on correct, where is the “church” today?

Is it in the “byways and the hedges”?

No sireeeee!!!

Dem lazy badword, really badwords jes coming home from performing fellation pun each other “edifying” and singing sweet songs to one another of amazing grace.

The normal man in the street should be scared of dying my man, we can unnerstan why and when we pun a horspital bed deading dat we doan wants to dead but she and Durant and all uh dem always talking bout to be “dead to the world is to be alive with the Lord”

But the thing is dat when Eleysius Joseph see the amount of the tithe and how much money in he plate at combemere pun a sunday or Jippy see all dem young pullets in he congregation dat he going put “some healing pun” while grabbing dem pokkerts, when all dem pastors getting tax free money and driving Pajero fuh demselves, and one fuh dem wife and de chilrun, all uh dem fraid uh deading!!!

Steupseeeee and dese is de fellers dat Charles Skeete protecting with de word

When de ole man see dem in de trenches fighting fuh de spirits of the block dwellers, when dem scvunt open dem mouth and decry de wutlessness uh dem fellow laity and de Ministers it is then that he can tell me something that i will listen to….

Until then GET THEE BEHIND ME SATANS & NOT TOO CLOSE NEIDER….

http://imgur.com/a/mTMJT

27. LET US HAVE A CHURCH SERVICE ON WATER

FIRST HYMN IS SHALL WE GATHER AT THE RIVER
    IST LESSON EXODUS 16
    NEXT SONG IS

JESUS GAVE HER WATER THAT WAS NOT IN THE WELL
    SHE WENT AWAY SINGING
    AND SHE CAME BACK BRINGING
    OTHERS FOR THE WATER THAT WAS NOT IN THE WELL

28. @PUDRYR

A few Churches take the outreach to communities very serious feeding the homeless on weekends etc. Imagine if some of these new age churches with a large following cancelled Sunday Church and instead asked the congregations to use their offerings to buy waters and head out to the affected parishes. Now that is fellowship, oops sorry, leadership.

29. PIECE
    TELL ME WHERE IT I AID THAT THE CHURCH WAS TO GO INTO the “byways and the hedges” OR CARRYING WATER?
    I WANT SOME TEACHING HEY SUH
    I AINT MEK IT OUT FOR WEEKS

30. There is only one caste – the caste of humanity. There is only one law – the law of cause and effect. There is only one language – the language of the heart; the language of silence – SIVANANDA

31. Dr Georgie Porgie

Let us not dissemble here.

The water mission is no different to the miracle of the loaves and fishes and the proverbial message of “Feed my Sheep”

We are lacking in spiritual food.

Every Easter dem vagabonds does got a Harvest tingy dat dem does get de organ fund and de roof fund and de every ramgeorge fund that you can think of.

Let me ask you if, anywhere in your readings of the Word of Our Lord, have you seen a yam, or a potato inheriting the Kingdom of God!!

You dun know that they are fooling around with the Word of the Lord Dr. GP.

They have made the church a den of thieves and harlots.

Christ did not lead from the rear, He put aside Divinity, Spotless and Blameless and came and died for us all.

Yet, here we have weekend christians who “love the lord” purposely de-capitalized, in their pretend mode, canvassing for TV votes and Governor General Awards.

You of all men here knows that what is at stake here is not tithes and singing the songs in the Hymnals lustily.

THis is Life Everlasting that we are dealing with so I sorry if i offend a few of these pretenders but we gots to say it.

Render unto Caesar the things that are Caesar’s and unto GOD the things that are GOD’s

We have a convenient interpretation of what the church should do to show and replicate the Love of the Father, Son and Holy Spirit whom you and I pretend to serve.

You seem to forget that the Good Lord whom you and I pretend to serve, caused a whole generation of stiff necked people of his chosen people to wander in the desert for 40 years until they all died out.

My point being that even though we think that there is some dispensation that protects us while we do we own ting, The Good Book shows us time and time again that HE ENT AFRAID TO DECIMATE US for harbouring “the accursed thing”

32. A few Churches take the outreach to communities very serious feeding the homeless on weekends etc. IS THIS HOW A NEW TESTAMENT CHURCH IS TO WORK

LET US RETURN TO ACTS

Imagine if some of these new age churches with a large following cancelled Sunday Church and instead asked the congregations to use their offerings to buy waters and head out to the affected parishes. Now that is fellowship, oops sorry, leadership.

THAT IS NEITHER FELLOWSHIP OR LEADERSHIP IN A NT CHURCH

FELLOWSHIP …GK KOIONIA MEANS TO HAVE SOMETHING IN COMMON

IN THE EARLY CHURCH THE CHURCH SHARED WHAT THEY HAD WITH THEIR MEMBERSHIP………THAT WAS KOIONIA

WHY SHOULD ANY CHURCH CANCEL SUNDAY SERVICES
    WHY SHOULD ANY ONE HEED THE WORDS OF BIBLICAL ILLITERATES FOR A LOCAL CHURCH TO DECIDE WHAT THE CHURCH TITHES AND OFFERINGS SHOULD BE USED FOR HILARIOUS

NEW TESTAMENT TEACHES THAT THE LOCAL CHURCH SHOULD LOOK OUT FOR THEIR MEMBERSHIP
    PLEASE CAN SOME ONE TELL ME WHERE IT TEACHES THAT CHURCH SHOULD CANCEL THE “ASSEMBLING OF THEMSELVES TO GATHER TO CONTINUE IN THE APOSTLE DOCTRINES AND IN PRAYER AND THE BREAKING OF BREAD

33. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right – INRI October 16, 2016 at 1:27 PM #
    The water mission is no different to the miracle of the loaves and fishes NO THE FEEDING OF THE 500O WAS A SIGN TO SHOW THAT JESUS WAS GOD AND THAT HE WAS THE LIFE GIVING MANNA OR THE TRUE BREAD THAT CAME DOWN FROM HEAVEN

no and the proverbial message of “Feed my Sheep” THE MESSAGE OF “Feed my Sheep” TO PETER HAS TO DO WITH TEACHING THE FLOCK. READ 1 PETER IT HAS NOTHING TO DO WITH CLOSING DOWN THE CHURCH AND DISTRIBUTING BOTTLE WATER
    THE GUVMENT COLLECT TAXES TO ENABLE IT TO OFFER PROPER SERVICE
    We are lacking in spiritual food. THAT IS THE POINT
    Every Easter dem vagabonds does got a Harvest tingy dat dem does get de organ fund and de roof fund and de every ramgeorge fund that you can think of.Let me ask you if, anywhere in your readings of the Word of Our Lord, have you seen a yam, or a potato inheriting the Kingdom of God!! You dun know that they are fooling around with the Word of the Lord Dr. GP. I AGREE WITH YOU BUT ARE THEY THE TRUE CHURCH OR ARE THEY THE LAODICEAN APOTATE CHURCH A PREDICTED IN REVELATION CHAPTER 3
    They have made the church a den of thieves and harlots. TRUE
    Christ did not lead from the rear, He put aside Divinity, Spotless and Blameless and came and died for us all.TRUE
    Yet, here we have weekend christians who “love the lord” purposely de-capitalized, in their pretend mode, canvassing for TV votes and Governor General Awards. TRUE
    You of all men here knows that what is at stake here is not tithes and singing the songs in the Hymnals lustily.TRUE
    We have a convenient interpretation of what the church should do to show and replicate the Love of the Father, Son and Holy Spirit whom you and I pretend to serve. WHAT THE CHURCH SHOULD DO IS CLEARLY STATED IN THE NT.
    You seem to forget that the Good Lord whom you and I pretend to serve, caused a whole generation of stiff necked people of his chosen people to wander in the desert for 40 years until they all died out. SO WHAT IS YOUR POINT? THAT THE CONTEMPORARY CHURCH ARE TO BE WATER BOYS IN BARBADOS?
    My point being that even though we think that there is some dispensation that protects us while we do we own ting, The Good Book shows us time and time again that HE ENT AFRAID TO DECIMATE US for harbouring “the accursed thing” SO WHAT IS YOUR POINT? THAT THE CONTEMPORARY CHURCH ARE TO BE WATER BOYS IN BARBADOS?

34. @PUDRYR

Over to you. The BU household is off to feed the homeless as part of our Church outreach program to promote fellowship with Christians and Heathens alike 🙂

35. Dr. GP.

I have to go and cook. so do not think that I am running away.

There are many things that THE CONTEMPORARY CHURCH CAN DO to dispense its duty to the Lost and defenceless

I have a different interpretation to many of the things that I have read in this Bible and other Tomes.

Up to this morning I was researching the the advent of speaking in tongues and what has devolved into a comedy of modern day Glossolalia or Speaking in tongues

But here is a more pertinent component of scripture which guides my current thought

“For the Son of man is come to save that which was lost.

12How think you? if a man has a hundred sheep, and one of them be gone astray, does he not leave the ninety and nine, and go into the mountains, and seek that which is gone astray?

13And if so be that he finds it, verily I say unto you, he rejoices more for that sheep, than for the ninety and nine which went not astray.

14Even so it is not the will of your Father who is in heaven, that one of these little ones should perish.”

It would appear to me that what is attending the actions of these “apostles” in a filtering of such application to the “lost” and a selectiveness that is predicated on by what they can bring into the coffers of the church.

I going to do these loaves and fish less de ole man “perisheth”

I shall return anon

36. PIECE
    HAVE YOU EVER READ ROMANS 4:1-5?
    What shall we say then that Abraham our father, as pertaining to the flesh, hath found?
    2 For if Abraham were justified by works, he hath whereof to glory; but not before God.
    3 For what saith the scripture? Abraham believed God, and it was counted unto him for righteousness.
    4 Now to him that worketh is the reward not reckoned of grace, but of debt.
    5 But to him that worketh not, but believeth on him that justifieth the ungodly, his faith is counted for righteousness.

SEE ALSO https://reasonsforhopejesus.com/jesus-said-i-never-knew-you-why/

WHEN A CHURCH DOES NOT GIVE THE WATER OF THE WORD IT HAS TO FEEL GOOD BY WALKING BOUT CARRYING WATER AND CALLING IT HUMANITY

37. I just saw your post David but before i leave I wanted to add this.

I dont know where the stop church on sundays and feel my sheep/water the flock insertion came from.

For my one part every day of one’s life is an appropriate moment to act as a christian and even sundays i am admonished by The Christ that “which of ye having an ass in a pit on the sabbath…..”

Living the Life of a Christian is not an act of convenience, on the contrary.

But de ole man real hungry and i got to go and prepare de food

38. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right – INRI October 16, 2016 at 2:00 PM #
    YOU HAVE GOT THE POINT OF THE ROLE OF THE CHURCH
    For the Son of man is come to save that which was lost.

12How think you? if a man has a hundred sheep, and one of them be gone astray, does he not leave the ninety and nine, and go into the mountains, and seek that which is gone astray?

13And if so be that he finds it, verily I say unto you, he rejoices more for that sheep, than for the ninety and nine which went not astray.

14Even so it is not the will of your Father who is in heaven, that one of these little ones should perish.”

It would appear to me that what is attending the actions of these “apostles” in a filtering of such application to the “lost” and a selectiveness that is predicated on by what they can bring into the coffers of the church.

39. And the truth Shall set you Free , Roman 8 ; 2

For in Christ Jesus the law of the Spirit of life has set you free from the law of sin and death.

40. @PUDRYR

Agree it is a 24/7 mission but there are the demands of the temporal space, a challenge for Christians/religious people everywhere to manage work life balance.

#ratrace

41. @ The Honourable Blogmaster

Without a doubt it has been and continues to be a serious challenge.

Let me just show you how illiterate we are.

I saw an advertisement regarding and October 15th Open day for HMS prison in Station Hill

$50 for adults and $20 for kids.

David, that should be free!!

Furthermore, de ole man would have given that prison to some young bajan movie makers to put together the best prison video and give out awards for that shyt##e.

Something showing all aspects of the prison.

The morbidity of being locked up the state of mind.

Even include a few former long serving prisoners and let them detail its horrors

Now look at this wasted opportunity.

100 bajans going go up there at most and NOTHING COMES FROM THE CHRONICLING OF THE ISSUE!!

Steupseeeee

42. “Georgie Porgie October 16, 2016 at 1:39 PM #

Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right – INRI October 16, 2016 at 1:27 PM #
    The water mission is no different to the miracle of the loaves and fishes NO THE FEEDING OF THE 500O WAS A SIGN TO SHOW THAT JESUS WAS GOD AND THAT HE WAS THE LIFE GIVING MANNA OR THE TRUE BREAD THAT CAME DOWN FROM HEAVEN”

Sorry Dr Georgie nothing so mythical in the example- It was simply about caring and sharing. A call to those who have to share with those who do not have.

43. “Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right – INRI October 16, 2016 at 12:20 PM #

Mr Skeete

As usual you join the fray without any concept of the innards of the subject mostly because you and Bairdy are friends and we always must rise in defence of our friends.”

I join the fray because I speak from experience. It would be a pleasure to be friends with Pastor Baird but unfortunately I have never met the goodly lady.

44. But David [BU] that vision and understanding of the efficacy of leveraging the outreach and the lesson is lost on us.

Look at the cell that winston hall was in, look at the size, the door(s) the darkness.

Anyways let me leave that for a while

Look at the relationship that the GoB has with the UK and tell my ingrunt self why dem ha not reached out to the British High Commission and the ting dat David Cameron is a part of and get some sort of practicuum going on heah??

Someting dat wuh tek de very best of our graduants and put dem pun an exchange programme in Englant.

Do you know what this is David?

Hope!!!

You have to give people hope!!!

Show them that one of them can do it and once they see that their peers can do it, it galvanizes them to action.

But that David is the difference between a man who has been there and done that AND empty preachers and posturers who are clueless about how to make an impact into their lives.

Steupseeee

45. @CharlesSkeete totally agree with your intrepretation of the feeding of the ten thousand indeed nothing mythical. Sharing and sacrifice

46. The water mission is no different to the miracle of the loaves and fishes NO THE FEEDING OF THE 500O WAS A SIGN TO SHOW THAT JESUS WAS GOD AND THAT HE WAS THE LIFE GIVING MANNA OR THE TRUE BREAD THAT CAME DOWN FROM HEAVEN”

Sorry Dr Georgie nothing so mythical in the example- It was simply about caring and sharing. A call to those who have to share with those who do not have.

CLEARLY YOU ARE A BIBLE ILLITERATE
    THE SO CALLED MIRACLES IN JOHN’S GOSPEL ARE ALL CALLED SIGNS

WHY?
    JOHN’S GOSPEL WAS ADDRESSED TO THE JEWS WHO WERE TAUGHT IN DEUTERONOMY 18 TO SEEK A SIGN WHEN A PROPHET WOULD TEACH
    WHY THE PURPOSE OF JOHN IN JOHN’S GOSPEL WAS FOR JOHN TO DEMONSTRATE THAT HIS COUSIN JESUS, WAS GOD

IF YOU READ JOHN’S GOSPEL YOU WILL FIND THAT ALL OF THE 8 SIGNS ARE FOLLOWED BY A DISCOURSE BY JESUS THAT DESCRIBE THE SIGN

A BIBLE ILLITERATE LIKE YOU AND THE JEWS WHOM JESUS FED THAT DAY MISSED THE TEACHING OF THE SIGN AND THE REST OF THE TEACHING IN JOHN CHAPTER 6
    READ THE CHAPTER THROUGH AND SEE THAT JESUS EXPLAINS THE PURPOSE OF THE SIGN

IT IS AMAZING THAT SO MANY IGNORANT PEOPLE COME ON BU TO CHALLENGE FOLK WHO TOOK THE TIME TO STUDY IN THEIR AREA OF SPECIALTY

GIVE ME THE SCRIPTURES ABOUT SHARING AND CARING AND CARRYING WATER IN THE NT

47. THE SIGNS IN JOHNS GOSPEL ARE OF SECONDARY IMPORTANCE
    THEY SEEK MAINLY TO POINT TO THE MESSAGE OF THE ONE WHO GAVE THE SIGN
    JOHN 6 MIRRORS EXODUS 16 WITH THE MANNA
    JOHN 7 MIRRORS EXODUS 17 WITH THE WATER

48. let me see if i can explain how my GOD speaks to me and why I know that these people are not listening to GOD and have no relationship with GOD.

Gullies are, barring water and flooding, comparatively, highly hurricane resistant.

My question then to “HE who talks to me” was, what would represent a “gully” in nature upon which one could reasonably model the outcome of a hurricane?

And HE answered mangroves.

So I went to research hurricane effects on mangroves and looked at the effect on (a) the canopy (b) the effect on the roots which, within the US ecosystems, comprised 3 species of mangrove trees – black mangrove (Avicennia germinans), white mangrove (Laguncularia racemosa), and red mangrove (Rhizophora mangle).

What I wanted to see is if there was an occurrence in GOD’s nature that withstood the power of hurricanes and, when such occurred, upon what did it rely.

So de ole man is looking at canopy injury/ resilience and tree mortality as it relates to the roots network’s ability to withstand being uprooted by the winds.

Where am i going with that?

Can I construct buildings that mirror natural occurring canopies with foundations that are so interlaced that they are used to build structures for the next slate of buildings in Haiti that permit Haitians to withstand hurricanes going into the future?

Now please note that there are millions of engineers who have studied these building structures over all the years but here is what GOD or that voice or that disjointed “bicameral” told me.

Bees hives.

The bees hive is the most natural occurring anti hurricane structure which, in conjunction with mangrove-like root structures WILL withstand the power of hurricane force winds. I have seen it and, like Srinivasa Ramanujan, I do not need any proof from any civil engineer as to whether it will work, it is what my GOD has shown me, so it is.

Meanwhile back at the ranch.

The promise that Our Lord gave us was one of commanding all these things in nature to harmoniously coexist with us and the result is that nature does us no harm – the caveat being that we do it no harm.

These Apostles of GOD whom I believe are much closer to the Kingdom of GOD dan de ole man is, should be able to tap into His Omniscience and draw down on His Omnipotence and provide working solutions for what is frustrating these Philistines.

That is of course if they are truly Apostles of GOD.