Cornelius_RalphThorneAs Madam Justice Jacqueline Cornelius accompanied by and photographed with her BLP-candidate husband Mr Ralph Thorne, garners credit for her stance on sexual abuse and harassment and calls for legislation to address same, she appears not to know, and certainly fails to mention, that this issue has been comprehensively addressed by Madam Justice Kaye Goodridge (now Justice of Appeal Goodridge) in 2013 in the case of Margaret Wharton vs the Bank of Nova Scotia. See: http://www.barbadoslawcourts.gov.bb/wp-content/uploads/2014/09/Margaret-Wharton-v.-Bank-of-Nova-Scotia.pdf .

The Goodridge decision is now law and binds the Barbados courts. As such, therefore, in the scope of the Goodridge decision, since it is already law, there is little need for legislation in respect of this scope. Cornelius J., in her bid to โ€œchampionโ€ the cause of persons sexually harassed in the workplace, omits to give Goodridge J. credit where credit is due. Why?

While we are most willing to admit that a further codification is likely desirable and the plight of all sexually harassed persons and those the victims of abuse needs to be more comprehensively addressed, to be constantly monitored, to be constantly upgraded and, most importantly, to be rigorously enforced, we are bothered by the sight of a high court judge appearing, as the run-up to a general election is in โ€œpre-productionโ€, accompanied and photographed with an opposition candidate (irrespective of whether it is her husband or not) and making speeches that, by omission, are less than frank and accurate. Far better that Cornelius J. should, like Goodridge JA., use her office to write new law and clarify existing law by way of precedent, than give the appearance of political bias by lack of frankness as to the true state of the law. A judge is allowed in decisions to provide “obiter dicta” and we recommend this to Cornelius J. as a means of publicizing her views on what areas of the existing legislation need to be looked at, rather than relying on a quasi-political platform and trite generalizations suggesting what the opposition, if in power, MIGHT do – a sort of implied manifesto and binds, even if it were an official manifesto, no one, as we all, unfortunately, know.

Cornelius J. might feel impelled to claim, based on this article, that she didnโ€™t know of the Goodridge decision. However, we point out that the case of Wharton vs BNS was reported by both Barbados Today (http://www.barbadostoday.bb/2013/07/01/youre-wrong-2/ ) and by the same Nation that has been so diligent in regaling the public with reports on the speeches of Cornelius J., (see: http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/31892/bank-pay ) along with photos of her and her BLP candidate husband, Mr Thorne. There are inferences to be made here and we can leave that to our readers., some of whom may think, โ€œWomenโ€™s vote for Mr Thorne/BLP?โ€ or โ€œIf Marston goes, who will replace him?โ€ Or even both โ€“ kill two birds with one stone, maybe?

We also need to ask if Cornelius J. has simply failed to register the Goodridge J. decision from almost three years ago, because she is so busy working on her reserved judgements and supporting her politician/QC husband and has no time to concentrate on reading the judgements of her colleagues (now seniors) that bind the courts.

BTW, Madam Justice, how many reserved judgements do you have yet to deliver and how long have litigants been waiting for your decisions on each of them? If the principal of โ€œJustice may neither be sold nor delayedโ€ is not being met by you, is this not an abuse of litigants and their families and equally akin to the abuse that arises from sexual harassment and abuse? Are you familiar with the rules of equity that mandate that one must come before the court with clean hands?

We would also point out that sexual harassment and abuse is not solely attributable to men and that men can be victims too and that women can be the perpetrators โ€“ indeed, sexual abuse and harassment is not solely between men and women, but can be between those of the same sex. For clarification and confirmation, Madam Justice Cornelius, you can seek advice from any of your husbandโ€™s BLP colleagues, from MAM and Kerry down. After all, it is surmised and resoundingly mooted that we lack integrity legislation and FoI because MPโ€™s dare not have it legislated and codified. We are perplexed as to why you, Cornelius J./Ralph Thorne, apparently imagines that further legislation dealing specifically with harassment and abuse would not suffer a similar fate.

BU notes that Mr Thorneโ€™s main claim to fame was his representation of Turks and Caicos Premier Michael Misick, a case in which Thorneโ€™s arguments were decided to be frivolous and vexatious http://www.tciaffairs.net/news/former-tci-premier-michael-misick-lawyer-describes-his-legal-options-as-severely-limited-following-court-ruling/). Another part of this case was lost before the Privy Council (see https://www.jcpc.uk/cases/docs/jcpc-2015-0042-judgment.pdf ). This was an important case that has serious ramifications for Barbados. The genus of the matter was that the lower courts determined that none of its judges could hear a case of corruption and embezzlement against Mr Missick, due to possible conflict of interest and therefore appointed a senior external and highly respected judge from Jamaica. Missick objected, but the Privy Council ruled in a unanimous verdict in 2015 against Missick and upheld the Turks and Caicos courts.

If this PC decision is occasionally adopted in Barbados, it is reasonable to speculate that any cases involving sexual harassment and abuse may well see Cornelius J. having to recuse herself, due to bias and political partisanship, because, God forbid, justice, frankness and transparency should stand in the way of political agendas. Indeed, it may well be successfully argued that Cornelius J. has already rendered herself ineligible to try any cases of this nature that may be placed on her docket and we cite the example of Lord Hofmann in the Pinochet case.

So what have we actually got? We have a high court judge who has flung her hat into the political arena and comprehensively rendered herself ineligible to carry out her office and professional obligations and try cases of a certain nature and has, moreover, failed to recognise existing legislation and precedent in her blind desire to advance the political aspirations of her husband and his political party to grab the womenโ€™s vote. Stupid, as the vast majority of women in Barbados are not only cognitive, but highly intelligent and well able to discern (usually better than men can) when an attempt is being made to pull the political wool over their eyes. In the final analysis, it seems likely that women in Barbados will read with great care and comprehension the judgement of Goodridge J. and reach their own conclusions and not rely on a government headed by Mia, Kerry et al to carry out the implied promises of Mrs Ralph Thorne.

107 responses to “A Conflicted Madam Justice Jacqueline Cornelius”

1. in one breath we want those paid by the public to communicate with the public. In another breath, we want the judicial elites to rule without coming down from their ivory towers. This entire discussion is not about the merits of what the judge spoke about but more about her being married to a BLP politician. We have reached the sorry state where we cannot discuss anything without the political party clap trap. Sad.

2. To be fair to Roy Morris the Barbados Advocate carried her speech as well, obviously a PR job to get the speech to the public. What the motive Madame Justice Cornelius J has decided to come to the people with a message. Although William disapproves we the people reserve the right to question.

3. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

@ Balance

I agree. However, familiarity breeds contempt. She is going to be guilty by association because it will be impossible to separate her husband’s involvement with the Bees without saying that she is not involved with them as well. Not that there is anything wrong with that. But, the atmospheric conditions in Barbados are overcast with suspicions, disdain for lawyers and politicians, were lawyers are seen as liars, and the judiciary as the thunderstorm that showers compromises; tailors its practices to favour particular outcomes; delays its justice to serve personal interests; and establish a separate adjudicating system from the one that penalises all other citizens, to protect lawyers with slap on the wrist fines after performing leeching services on clients where these lawyers knowingly and willfully steal monies, lands and other hard earnings and call the theft by another fandy dandy highfoluted name. With that type of atmosphere, Balance, it is fair to give assumption to the madam justice that her husband’s involvement with the nasty Bees will characterize any position she holds in the negative.

4. Does Ralph Thorne per chance have a position on a sitting Speaker of the House, namely Michael CARRINGTON being supported in said position after stealing funds from his Client’s Account? Didn’t Madame J rule in this matter? How conflicted she must be to listen to her husband’s silence on the matter.

5. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

Oh get off your friggin high horse and come down to reality. What aspect of anything in Barbados of lately will not carry a political spin? You think the mess that Barbados finds itself in was created by Sam Joe, Puke and he Duppy? We are at the crossroads of our development because elected officials, placed in the halls of reign, trusted to do right by the people, and who have been doing more shite after the events of 1966, have perched Barbados precariously on a road of uncertainty. Nothing about their scripts has changed. It’s all for some, and very little for all others. Shite, what you expect to come out of a discussion where assertions made by a Justice would not be subjected to correlation base on the political aspirations of her man. If the politicians were doing right by the people instead of conveying to them all the reasons why most look down on them instead of looking up to them, she could say what she like and would not be subjected to ridicule or adverse commentary. But, the political and judicial situation is a complete cess pool, and the island is paying the ultimate price for the lack of prudence these lots have not shown. How the heck, then, you expect not to have this matter turn into a debate that is political. Stuuuuuupse.

6. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

WWC

Girl, I never understood why after Moses brought the children of Israel out from their thousand year slave burden, that they were desirous to return back to it.

We have imprinted on tourism like how a newborn animal imprints on the first thing it sees. No amount of showing, coercing, revealing or crunching the numbers seems to get through the heads of these people that in order to provide fuel to a strong economic position requires investment for diversity and risk. Take for instance Arthur’s offshore oil exploration attempt. That was a risk of heavy investment; if it had produced we would have weaned ourselves away from tourism and cling hard to the prospects of oil economics. Do I feel bad that it did not produce the desired fruit?HELL NO! It was a good risk to endeavour into. At least, it was not for all the wrong reasons that the Greenland landfill was constructed, failed and the money went south. And it showed an attempt to look for an alternative dependence that is not always tourism, tourism, tourism. When you compare their attempt at agriculture with the prospects of developing a WtE plant for producing a fraction of our energy needs that is a risk that should it fail, Barbados will be reeling under pressures for years to recover. It makes more sense at this stage to manage waste disposal with sensible options and invest the type of money they want to put into the hands of Cahill into agriculture. Now I am not talking about no new sugar factory nonsense. I am talking about control crop production under a sustainable programme. There is money to be earned in the export of fisheries; there are scientific explorations that need to be pursued in the development of food manufacturing in our indigenous fruits like golden apple and gooseberry (if they still got any them trees around). Our greatest export potential lies in black belly meats, sea island cotton and flying fish. Yet, these sectors are ignored for the ever quick making buck of tourism, which they would argue, do not need factories to be produced or equipment to be maintained. Still more millions are spent on tourism then it is given to the upkeep of our important social services. It is a mad mad world in the arena of politics and we certainly got some practicing madmen who can attest to that fact.

7. @ Sunshine Sunny Shine
    Your perspective is commonly known and correct. However, don’t you realise that its is the people who have the power in a democracy? Don’t you realise that in many instances, the people via their blinded loyalty to their political party are complicit in the nefarious actions of the political class? Is it not clear to you that many of the problems in the Caribbean cannot be solved unless the people themselves rise up? Do you really believe that branding every single act in the country as either BLP or DLP will actually solve anything? There is debate and then there is pure nonsense passing for debate and discussion. You cannot have a true democracy without a populace that is willing to sacrifice personal progress for the common cause. Do you really think that the problems confronting the Caribbean started in 2016? I assure you that after we collectively kick out Stuart and company the problems will remain as they have remained since the early 70’s . If anybody thinks that the judicial system became what it is or is not because of the current chief justice, they are in serious need of mental evaluation. Reality also means we examine a problem from all ends not just the narrow confines of our personal political/party ambitions.

8. “Justice Gibson and all the Supreme Court judges need to read Philip Nichollโ€™s book for a glimpse of the destruction that has been caused in the supreme court for decades, because, they do not understand the depth of the decay”

Read Philip Nicholls’ book for what. Is he not guilty of the same sins of omission and commission he now seeks to expose because he felt a man of his pedigree should have been given the proverbial pass. His contemptuous rebuff of the USA visa revoke notwithstanding. From whom did he borrow the two million? From himself or the funds of clients as well?
    I do not have to read Mr Nicholls book to know that the justice system in Barbados stinks. Away with people like Mr Nicholls who because of their connections feed on the system.

9. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Bushman…sad, but true.

SSS…on point analyzes that so many people, foreign, local etc, been screaming at both governments for decades, all ignored in favor of quickly melting tourism dollars, the politicians can never see the 50 year or hundred year vision going into the future, they can never see, with agriculture, exports, factories for manufacturing many different products, the next generation will keep it going and successful and the next generation of people after that will make it even more successful for the generations to follow.

Limited intellect = politicians not seeing themselves getting any millions out of that, because by the time these structured and disciplined plans are starting to reap the benefits for future generations, DBLP idiots see themselves too old to enjoy the big house, mercedes rides, 10 men, 10 women pleasures…..they have not reached the level of selfless maturity where they understand that their jobs are supposed to create the foundations to benefit and cement financial independence for future generations of people, yet to be born….not for the politicians immediate self gratification.

The existing politicians are minute men amd women, no substance involved.

No vision…..people perish.

10. @William Skinner

What do you think will mobilize the ‘spring’? In some parts guns are used, in our part of the world it is vibrant citizen discussion. Yes the people have to advocate and participate in government but all you have done is to state the problem as well. The challenge is where we are now. The constant bombardment of those who are elected and neglect to service represent the low hanging fruit. Have we heard so much talk before about a third party, and citizens and judicial officers so openly critical of the Courts than now? It is a process.

@blance

Whistleblowers come in all forms, we have to accept them for what they offer to help with change. You really need to start playing the ball and forget the man.

11. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Balance…before Nicholls’ outed the mockery that is Barbados’ justice system…EVERYONE, including you, as you just admitted, knew of the nastiness, the discriminatory and unfair practices toward people seeking justice, the thefts, the use of the court by Peter Harris, David Simmons and a slew of other lawyers to deprive injured people of compensation, while in the process of committing insurance fraud, decade after decade, yet you and others sat and said NOTHING…by your silence and witness to these travesties, ALLOWED it to flourish…that can be seen as condoning and enabling these crimes.

How many other lawyers besides Nicholls exposed themselves to what they have been doing to clients for decades….most are quiet wishing it would disappear. He paid to learn the error of his ways.

I know of one attorney who was confronted by his client when a conflict of interest was exposed….that attorney removed himself from the case, because he was using the case to work against his client, if not for Nicholls’ book, the client would not be aware, only suspected, how closely aligned the attorney is with the other side. This happened only this week.

What are you doing to remedy the nastiness, that you know about, in the judiciary thst affects too many lives, negatively.

12. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

I can sense that you are no fool. So I will not stoop to the bitch in me to merit any discourse you write as ‘foolie’. Let us proceed intelligently with the debate.

The cause of any perceived malevolence starts with a single belief that one is more important than the next. Out of that are establish mechanisms that ensure those beliefs are carefully propagated and psychologically reinforced by various means.

The history of Barbados’ nastiness was a well-covered secret that had its root base in the ignorance of the people who lack knowledge, and who were fed a diet of subjugative psychology, all reinforced with a study flow of intimidation in the form of job loss, victimization and no prospects of being supported by the state if your name was placed in the Lambs book of political lashes for daring to go against the grain. So it is customary to hear persons in Barbados casually speak about political thievery as an accepted practice of everyday politics as long they are doing something for we, it is basically expected to occur.

Couple with the fact that the powers that be know that Barbados’ social structure is comprise of a large percentage of struggling people, no better way than to achieve their loyalties then by offering gifts, jobs, and shiny appliances.

What results is the past down effect of what good either party did for a family resulting in the mind manipulation that will keep that family and their offsprings’ offspring loyal until their dying days. These loyalists are not interested in what is obvious about the bad things that their representative savior is doing in terms of state policy because for them that representative was a present help in the time of their need.

If the govern are subjugated and made docile by fears of repercussions by the govern, and the govern have basically controlled the democracy of the masses to execute their democratic might towards changing bad governance by skillful manipulation and brainwash, how are they expected to show their power in a democracy that has them psychologically blind at the evils each of the parties they support, do?

No amount of exposure will change the minds of those who remain faithful to each party because there is the ‘doing-for-me factor that keeps them pristine, peaceful and polite to the party they believe in and support. So when you talk about the power of a democracy are in the people you need to understand that it all depends on the nature of the people, if not the power of a democracy is something that can be easily controlled and influence like it has been in Barbados from time in memorial.

So what is needed? Obviously, an effort from those who have seen the light and the technology needed to finally expose it. As you can see William Skinner, many Barbadians, though under anonymity, are executing their democratic right to expose the evil that politicians do and the arrangements that they keep in place to ensure their protections hold fast. The root of the suppressive forces of those who govern is slowly being chopped away as their policies, projects and programs are subjected to more scrutiny by those who are more informed, more educated and becoming more bolder. As rightfully said, to kick out Stuart will not change what has always been, because to put in Mottley will just be a continuation of the same even if it is delivered differently under false prosperity. But kick them out we will, and I can assure you there is a different wind blowing that is causing Barbadians to take a stance like they have never done before. Because Mr. Skinner rather you believe that makes no sense pointing fingers at the Ds or Bs personal progress with respect to the populace is still largely influenced by the politics of the Bs and Ds.

13. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

SSS….there is a book by an author called Burell, that’s his last name, cant recall the first, the book is titled Brainwash….each and every black male, female and child should read the book, it should part of school curricula in all schools.

The politicians should read thorough and pay special attention to each chapter of that book, because they know not that they know not…..

14. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

I just checked, the name of the author is Tom Burrell. ..the book is titled Brainwashed.

15. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

WWC

So true girl. Barbados measures their success on sporadic achievement. Pride is exhibited when a man can cut the ribbon to a new building and beam. Overall development is base on how well tourism performs to help construct more buildings. Skewed focuses that focuses on a few aspects of development while neglecting important others. So skewed are the focuses of those who govern that they have forgotten the four basic pillars important for holding a society together: Good governance, Good business acumen, the institution of family and the mechanisms needed to keep it strong and last, religion- vital as a cornerstone for the establishment of moral values. Take a look at ours and you will see why we are in this predicament.

16. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

WWC

His name is Tom Burrell. He wrote a book on challenging the myth of black inferiority. Oh trust me, girl, I already got that in my collection along with a few others. However, pelt out every single book I had in my collection by that fraud, but brilliant neurosurgeon, Ben Carson. Just goes to show that you might be bright in one thing, but dumb in a whole lot of other things.

17. “Sunshine Sunny Shine March 31, 2016 at 8:48 AM #

WWC

His name is Tom Burrell. He wrote a book on challenging the myth of black inferiority. Oh trust me, girl, I already got that in my collection along with a few others. However, pelt out every single book I had in my collection by that fraud, but brilliant neurosurgeon, Ben Carson. Just goes to show that you might be bright in one thing, but dumb in a whole lot of other things”

Yes some of us are bright in some things but dumb in other instance like not “streetwise” for example. However, what makes Ben Carson a fraud and dumb in your opinion?

18. “What are you doing to remedy the nastiness, that you know about, in the judiciary that affects too many lives, negatively”
    Fighting my own battles.

19. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@ Sunshine Sunny Shine March 31, 2016 at 8:04 AM…LOLLL..OMG…absolutely mind-blowing…

When you “stoop to the bitch in [you]” you write in looonng paragraphs sorta like… well being bitchy and difficult to ‘read’l.

But when you “… proceed intelligently with the debate” you write in well organized paragraphs that makes the ‘reading’ literally and figuratively much easier to comprehend.

Nothing to do with your intelligence (that was never in doubt) or use-of-English and vocab (always very apropos) but amazing how you seemingly transform your entire being- based on your temperament- as you sit before that keyboard .

Absolutely impressively (and scary) amazing!…LOL.

20. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ WW&C

You and “my girlfriend” kicking ass and tekking names.

@ SSS

Girl, uh, uh, uh you got me “liking” you too much.

You and your pally george WW&C meking this a tag team of Invader # 1 and Invader # 2 licks like peas.

But you done know that i got a serious bias lol.

Your toe might have been hurt but your brain and mouth wukking, I was making up a balm to send to you for it but you are already well healed I see

21. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

@ de pedantic Dribbler

Ahh you lost me. I do not pay attention to grammar, punctuation or nothing. So if it right it right. Not interested but thanks for the compliments anyway.

@My sweet Piece

You too sweet. My toe has healed. I am not yet back to work because my boss, one the sweetest in the world, said continue to work from home for another week because I have literally finished every assignment and project without too much interference from her, So she loves it. As to George, I do not know who the heck is that. You ain’t calling WWC a man I hope? And what has you so impress, I write when I feel like it. Nothing impressive by your standards. So stop the flattery it won’t get you know with me.

22. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

Balance

Ben Carson in his inspiring book, ” Gifted Hands,” was not truthful concerning his childhood. He made fictitious characters concerning the incident involving his near stabbing of another boy, and is so called violent bouts towards others. so that made him a fraud.

His dumbness you can watch here in this youtube video. Listen carefully to his responses

http://www.breitbart.com/video/2016/03/24/whoopi-goldberg-to-ben-carson-why-support-racist-trump-thats-how-hitler-got-in/

23. @ Sunshine Sunny Shine,
    As I said your points are well taken.
    @ David,
    As you are quite aware the Mahogany Coconut Group has been for almost ten years putting forward concrete suggestions. Many of them published in BU. We are doing our part but we do not engage in useless vulgarity or promoting political parties that have long outlived their usefulness.

24. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

Ben Carson lie about going to West Point

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-3307349/Ben-Carson-admits-story-getting-scholarship-West-Point-repeated-three-times-year-key-inspirational-story-crumbles.html

Most of Ben Carson life is base on lie. He did this to himself thinking that no one would have investigated his claims. That makes him an idiot.

Even his own mother said she do not remember any coming after her with a hammer over a pants issue.

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-3312824/Ben-Carson-s-MOTHER-Sonya-Carson-contradicted-claim-attacker-hammer-said-actually-way-round.html
    http://gawker.com/watch-young-ben-carson-attack-his-mom-with-a-hammer-a-1741070701

So that proves he is a fraud.

His idiocy. Just listen to his responses to Whoopi Goldberg

25. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@SSS take a look at your post of @ March 31, 2016 at 8:04 AM. Then glance at some of your other posts here…

…. den tell me dat (in terms of overall style) you don’t see your ‘intelligent genteel’ personality manifested in one instance and den your ‘intelligent bitch’ personality in another…LOLL.

Maybe just the wannabe psychologist in me…but moreso really de fact that I found the 8:04 so much easier to read and follow. It reminded me so clearly that when we are in our snarky modes we may in fact be missing the opportunity to properly get our point over…

general comment SSS , not related directly to you in the slightest…

… but your difference in presentation so jumped out at me that I was totally discombobulated by your genteel v cur style! LOL.

26. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ SSS

DPD is being naughty hahahahahaa.

He is now to the site and has not seen the “cur” in you neither has he seen the other side which, because you have so much time on your hands, being bossless, sort of, allows you to”stand and stare”

“Pally George” is a bajan slang term for a friend or pal that was popular 40 years ago so if i said my pally george Suzanne i would either mean that i was claiming you as my friend (and with that my designs come to the fore) or I was making a derogatory remark like “Fumble and his pally george Leroy Parris”

@ DPD

Time allows some of us, barring the 5 party group whose birthday Artaxerxes confirms is tomorrow, to let down their hair and show you “what their eyes look like close up” lolol who that is for will understand but suffice it to say, it is not for you.

You have to go back much further to see my Sweet Sultry Suzanne. She was hiding because Daddy is *** and other things but she is both beautiful and intelligent and understands how to “play this dissembling game” like you have done quite well.

Identities are such tenuous things that we seek to safeguard but after a while, much like Vernon Smith, and you are on your way out, aided by disease or by irridation or activated nano-inserts, it does not make a difference whether you are known or not.

She is for real and even though Mia or Fumbles knows who she is, she has made up her mind that regardless of how relentless they will be, she will do the right thing

27. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

Hahahaahha @de pedantic Dribbler.

Well if you are implying that I am bi-polar, I certainly am. Kiddddddding!! I do have several personality traits that I exhibit from time to time. Let’s just call it a girl thing (smile). There are times when this blog makes me so sick with the shite some on here write. Everyone wants to sound so intelligent, so grammatically correct and yet when you read their nonsense, the punctuation is impeccable, the sentence structure follows the rules of subject and verb agreement, but the message is nothing but shite, shite shite. I read very few people posts on here. The ones that inspire me is my sweet Piece, Bush Tea, balance (sometimes), Well Well, David, Caswell, Artax, Heather Cole and a few more others whose names are not featuring prominently right now. I also like the submission by William Skinner, Colonel Buggy, Vincent Haynes as well because they bring perspective worth debating. When these people write, you can glean something from their knowledge base. They are not trying to sound impressive or are they trying to show off their writing skills or big words. Yeah, there are times when they are off the mark but they remain true to themselves regardless of what their cause is. I like that, I have a serious problem with boasters, liars, cheats, and pretenders. That is why people like Alvin Cummins fret the shit out of me. You can just see from his writing that he is trying to impress. He is an old man but not one that is too wise. Then there is AC, the one I always refer to as a cunt. She, it, whatever the shite, is just plain dungliar. These two people are just plain disgusting yuuuuuuuuck. With the others, I feel a sense of purpose when I read these contributions hence I come here from time to time when I have time and make a contribution. The truth is I am nasty and a real bitch. I loved to be call whore, dirty, filthy, slut, lesbian whatever you choose. I am not phased because at least I am open and truthful while others are liars and pretensive. Some on here do not like mebecause they say I am vulgar, offensive and disgusting. Well at least I am open with mind, they are pretensive with theres. Hehe. I am just me.

28. GOOD NEWS

Help is on the way.

The China University of Political Science and Law (CUPL) and the China Law Society (CLS) have agreed with UWI Cave Hill campus to establish a joint research centre here next year to facilitate scholarly exchanges and participation in conferences in the Caribbean and China to enhance better understanding in the Caribbean of Chinese legal system as well as to develop an understanding of the Caribbean legal systems in China.

That should sort out this conflict of interest stuff and the backlog in the judicial system.

Welcome to Chindos

For more details see:

http://www.barbadostoday.bb/2016/03/31/uwi-can-now-test-in-chinese/

29. Chindos or Chinados. I hope these islanders are careful when dealing with China (government and businessmen)

30. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Gazer…leave them to their Trinbados and Chinbados, they will learn one day.

SSS…Ben Carson should stick to what he is good at and consult re brain surgery, now he’s retired, he is good at nothing else.

Piece the more crap the politicians do, the better we are able to analyze their laziness and slow witted pretense at development.

Balance…we all have to fight our own battles, but every now and then, it’s nice to think of others, pass on an idea or give some useful information, every little bit helps to effect change and make a difference….if that had been done years ago re Barbados’ judiciary, it would not now be a salacious conversation piece or a worry for those who have to traverse the legal system and are aware they can now become victims instead of getting justice.

31. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

WWC

Like I said, I toss his books to the thrash. Even the way he speaks and the expression on his face that accompanies his words irks me to the core. It is hard to comprehend his reasoning.

32. We soon end up with a Bajan Donald Trump or Ted Cruz as Prime Minister. Carry on smartly with the Wonderland agenda and witchhunt. Sue me!

33. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

balance March 31, 2016 at 8:58 AM #
    โ€œWhat are you doing to remedy the nastiness, that you know about, in the judiciary that affects too many lives, negativelyโ€
    Fighting my own battles.

Ahh, Mr. Balance now this and wondering, if this was a question meant for me?

34. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

http://www.barbadostoday.bb/2016/04/01/rogues-and-bullies-have-infiltrated-legal-system/

Interesting that Nicholls would say it’s just a few rotten lawyers in the profession in Barbados….who are rogues and bullies, the number on BUs sliding screen are many more than a few.

Mr. Nicholls, there is no reason to protect the bad lawyers, you were already made the fall guy, you took the fall…. there are approximately 1, 030 practicing attorneys on the island, off the top of my head I can easily call the names of 200 really evil attorneys who wake up every day with the intent of victimizing their clients, misusing and abusing the supreme court and committing all manners of crimes, telling their clients they only handle million dollar cases, that is not a few bad attorneys, a few is 3, that is 200 bad attorneys and those are the ones I know about, ya can guarantee that there are many more, ya can only hope the good attorneys who keep their heads down, still outnumber the evil attorneys.

Please be more open when addressing the issue of bad attorneys, we all know the unwritten but very concrete rule between lawyers, they do not ever go against each other, same for doctors….. in your case a line was drawn and most attorneys went against you to preserve their own standing or just out of pure vengeance and spite, I am sure there were many more than a few who took that stance….reality.

35. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

http://www.nydailynews.com/news/national/king-black-ky-judge-pays-price-speaking-racism-article-1.2585022

Very good example why you should not try to muzzle anyone….not even a judge.

36. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ WW&C

As I read the above and what you have posted about the Kentucky judge and what another person said here that might have been missed, what I am seeing with this matter was that the goodly Justice Cornelius who is no idiot about all of the professional ramifications siad “this is too serious an issue for me, as a woman, to remain quiet”

“Even if this should mean that I have to recuse myself from these specific matters, so be it, but I, notwithstanding who my husband is, I Will Rise and be counted here for this issue is too important for me to be silent.

You know, we have a few people who, like David son of Jesse, and like you David of BU arm yourself with the slingshot of seeming minutiae, which takes out these Goliaths,and bogolords.

“Then Jael Heber’s wife took a nail of the tent, and took an hammer in her hand, and went softly unto him, and smote the nail into his temples, and fastened it into the ground: for he was fast asleep and weary. So he died.”

So it would seem that for Justice Cornelius she has found this to be a Siserian issue and has said that it is here she will put her stake in the earth because this matter is too serious a one to remain quiet.

But then again we only amuse ourselves with these speculations but I do think that given that she is no one’s fool, she would well know the implications of such an action.

To the writer such action makes her ineligible, but on the altar of Women’s Rights she is a champion, n’est-ce pas?

37. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Very good Piece…not everyone will agree with what anyone says, but they do not have any right to attempt take away anyone’s right to say it.

38. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

http://www.barbadostoday.bb/2016/04/02/last-appeal/

This is a very disgusting and evil, but true story about 2 lawyers in Barbados who have absolutely no ethics or scruples and should both be in prison…they are the epitome of evil.

39. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

WWC

There is enough information to believe that this death was a premeditated act. However, you know our police force works for lawyers and are subject to their orders. That poor lady’s death will not be given any further investigation and Vermin Smith will feel settled in his mind that what happen to her (a death that so happen to occur around the time of a dispute over property and other things mentioned) was just mere coincidence. Is Vermin Smith a member of the Masonic Order?

40. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

I have access to the information that the Barbados Today could not print, including an email from Marcelle Smith that spelt out her fears.

41. @Caswell

BU is aware of the case, we find it hard to believe a man who is possibly a millionaire would kill over 80K.

42. Send BU the documents of you can.

43. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

The $80,000 was merely a fraction of what was involved. If it were only that small sum, why would Gollop be still pursuing the matter? I have the correspondence, there is more in the mortar.

44. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

I will send them under separate cover.

45. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

It’s horrible what these masonic lodge lawyers get up to, their evil is absolute, the lodges on the island need to be dismantled…yet another blighted copying from the british nastiness called the establishment…….post slavery.

Not all lawyers are lodge members but the ones who are stand out.

Gollop is always involved in government affairs, sucking from the public purse, who will arrest him, ditto Smith…the family, who are the real beneficiaries should make sure the whole mess is unraveled publicly for the world to see the decomposing stench emanating from some in the legal fraternity…particularly these 2 demons for attorneys.

46. @Caswell

Thanks, docs received.

47. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ David King the Blogmaster.

Three things.

First. I pray GOD for your continued health and well being and longevity

Secondly. You hear me often say, in seeming jest, be careful where you go, or what you eat, and where you, or your wife, or your children eat, for if the cannot get the goat, they will get the kiddie. For me they will not do that because I understand the mechanics of ***

Thirdly. The timeliness of this article and Carl Moore.

You kind sir have upped the game of responsible civic engagement.

Take note of two things. One the AC that of late that is allowed to post and their content.

Two. The direction of the Nation with their faltering sales and where the have decided to go with this article.

Your perseverance alone has brought us here and unlike the other fellows, you did not sell out on out IP addresses.

Live Long and Prosper

48. Gollop is a well read lawyer.Why he doesn’t realize that he is being used by an old cantankerous colleague who does not have the inclination to read and update himself on certain areas of the law,will be his undoing.Already he has allowed his career to be tainted by being seen at court with one of the most despised illbred present day crooks of Barbados.Now he plays second fiddle to a spiteful old fool who should be properly before the committee for time wasting and for converting what is another’s.

49. When Naked Departure broke this story some a wunna dismissed it.

Now Barbados Today is jumping in and BU is in “support mode”.

This is like an Austin “Tom” Clarke novel coming to life.

50. @HAnts

Point to where BU dismissed anything. The difference here is that both BT and BU have deposited court documents in the public domain to support. Get your facts straight.