More Cahill Leaks –Traditional Media a No Show
BU continue its pursuit of truth!
The Cahill fiasco continues to be another transaction which exposes the shortcomings in our system of governance. […] During the Barbados Labour Party government it was 3S Barbados Limited and Hardwood. This administration finds itself dealing with Cahill Barbados Limited.
The following Cahill leaks give further insight into how governments and cohorts interact with investors.

Welcome to the Violet C Beckles Club of crook , liars and scumbags. DBLP WHAT,?
LikeLike
This woman is a complete nutcase. I can’t believe anyone took her seriously. Also, the company website is as hollow as her brain.
LikeLike
She certainly does not sound like a stable person. Where did these morons find her to make deals? Speaks to their judgement.
LikeLike
Has anyone been following this comedy as well as what’s been happening on the ground and can provide us with an assessment of where the Cahill Project now stands with the Government.
Were these tapes made before the town hall meetings?
Have any Investors come down here so far?
What has happened with the Cahill Project between the latest audio leak and now?
Is the project realistically either salvageable or dead?
The Government seems to be sending mixed messages to Claire Cowan as compared with the implications of the remarks dropped to Bajans through the MInisters’ sparse statements to their party faithful. Cowan appears to have got the same silent treatment that the Government gives its populace here except that here there is a hint to us bajan brass bowls that the project will not start before the PM says so. Yet the leaked documents suggests that the PM and the 4 Ministers signed and sealed their acceptance of the project since 2013. Two completely different versions of the “truth”?
Why is the Government apparently not taking action to quickly declare the agreements null and void before Cowan can sell the agreements to a third party because of non performance of the Cahill team but seems to be trying to at least conform to the agreement to provide the Vaucluse land to Cahill through the back door. Is the PM telling us one thing and doing something completely opposite or does he really believe he is being transparent?
Is the appearance of these leaked documents and audio tapes a sign that C, Cowan has at last accepted that the project is dead and is leaking on herself and others out of spite for all the people mentioned in the leaks, Bdos public and private sector people as well as her lawyers and associates? Was Cowan aware that her conversations were being taped and correspondance copied?
Can we expect many more leaks with more substantive information re. the contacts between the cahill people and the Ministers and the Private sector people involved in the project?
Who is Kevin? is he RastaR or one of the other posters or an agent for one of them who specifically posts on the Cahill matter exclusively?
The leaks appear to be genuine but I can’t fathom who is doing it and why. If it is C Cowan, she seems to be of a totally different personality to the one who was talking to Cindy the Medium? But who else would have access to such data and recordings?
Just meandering through this forest of unbelievable events and wondering when the coup de grace will come.
In any event the picture that is being painted by the leaks of a seemingly vacillating and inept government is not very flattering or palatable. Will someone on that side do the honourable thing and stop this madness?
David; It seems that CC is in the habit of dealing with some weird characters and that she has a number of tricks up her sleeve. She is definitely not as dumb as the leaks seem to suggest. BU needs to be careful that it is not being played to further some nefarious end game.
LikeLiked by 1 person
Prime Minister Stuart you are really a low blow to the democratic process in Barbados. You are no leader you are a complete imbecile. I have no respect for you or your government after the way you have treated Barbadians. You have made us the laughing stock and brought our island home into disrepute. The only wish I have for you and your administration is all bad. You should resign and leave the country.
LikeLike
Sooooo, Philip Tempro, Bjerkham AND Bizzy have been nose deep in this mess that has been on a slow stew and boil for over 6 months. Too many greedy crooks involved cooking this Cahill broth, and laying in weight in the shadows, salivating to get their hands on 700M, while Bajans pay through their noses for another 2 generations.
Who the hell is Kevin and Jacobs and Tyler and Liz and David Mcgregor out of Emera and Don and Michael Yee and Wang Yang and Chris and Nick and Mia, hope Mia is not the local consulting attorney for Cahill, in secret…….? Lowe is pissed his bribe was not close enough and that was earlier in the year. Cow-an obviously don’t understand that lawyers have very little credibility in Barbados seeing the real time bad experiences the people on the island are always subjected to, she herself obviously did not do her homework.
Fruendel and his ministers better watch out for one of Cow-an’s carpet bombs, my bad, these leaked tapes are carpet bombs..lol…Cow-an registered the company Cahill for the sole purpose of selling her contract with GOB, why the hell is Fruendel still holding on to the contract, are they all just dense, just waiting for a Chinese company to buy Cow-an’s contract. This taping of conversations has been going on for months, since May, 2015 even when Cow-an has been in Barbados. Cowan was well aware that Chris and Lowe are not favorites because of their attitudes, she worked on the weakest links Chris and Lowe, hence the bouquet of investors from Cow-an that never materialized.
Bizzy has been in on this scam from the get go, pretending he was late and lost out on the bid and where there is Bizzy, there is Cow right behind. These beasts are detrimental to any progress the people are to achieve on the island. Let’s see what the awaited Chinese bring to Cow-an’s contract with GOB. Obviously, that’s what they are all waiting on, while Kevin stands in a corner with a knife waiting to cut some throats. The population on the island are just pawns in this dirty, greedy game. I bet none of the GOB ministers are chess players with the skill set to match that gang.
LikeLike
I want Claire to provide her exchanges with the ministers if she recorded them. I want these bitches gone.
LikeLike
Cow-an is throwing around names, I don’t see Michael Lee-Chin, currently chancellor at Wilfred Laurier university in Waterloo, Ontario, Jamaican/Canadian billionaire and philanthropist of the Portland Holdings Group, getting involved with Cow-an.
I believe that’s the Michael (Yee?) she alluded to on her tapes, he is too shrewd a businessman and as someone born in the Caribbean, would not need Cow-an to introduce him to Barbados, he would have invested in the island decades ago, if he was interested.
The scam was simple, though not brilliant and could only have fooled simple minded government officials. First, go fishing and sign a contract with any island government dumb enough to bite. Second, look for an investor, any investor gullible enough to buy the contract, but savvy enough to control said government officials dumb enogh to agree to sell and not tear up, a year old contract signed with a con artist, a contract that will basically end up going nowhere…..Fruendel and his government ministers deserve not to be able to sleep one good night for the next 2 years, come elections they should be so sleep deprived that they are unable to bribe voters.
Mia’s involvement in this could be worrisome, if she is one of Cahill’s secret local consulting attorneys, it would explain why she did not apply any pressure on GOB and only started muttering about Cahill, when she recognized there were no consulting fees to be had from Cahill, like with the 4 seasons scam. These beasts……..
LikeLiked by 1 person
@David, your calls to the traditional media are understandable but lost in big city expectations of media freedom. This is little Barbados and these tapes are not as much an insight into government business as they are possibly the tipping point to an investigation and prosecution of government officials in Barbados for the first time in our existence.
So do you really expect our local media to act on these with anything other than the utmost care.
As anyone following these releases understands the big concern is: what other recordings did Cowan make?
The Watergate tapes are definitely still the most awesome example of journalists working with a righteous whistle-blowing well-intentioned insider to expose government misdeeds.
Now consider the troubling irony that in this case the whistle-blower is Cahill’s Cowan or her badly-intentioned insider agent. Certainly not someone who has the best interests of the country at heart.
That would give me reason to pause and plan MY mind-map very carefully if I were a journalist.
So do continue to lead the media – they will come, eventually- and most importantly also continue to plan wisely and thread carefully….this is a vortex of impending doom.
LikeLike
This whole episode is becoming painful. I am a proud Barbadian and it is really hurtful to see that the people who we elect to lead us are such complete morons. Barbados does not deserve this.
LikeLike
Our ministers clearly lack the requisite negotiating skills to deal with international investors, both the legitimate and fraudulent ones. Imagine CCowan can paint a picture of our Cabinet ministers as being lazy, incompetent, disunited, disorganised etc etc. Yet one of the same ministers wanted us to believe he had struck a billion dollar agreement with the Arabs. Thank the Gods that didn’t materialise. We also now see why Sinckler could not close Four Seasons–incompetence!
LikeLike
#Enuff, your post @ 7:36 AM could be considered naive but based on your other savvy posts over time one can only wonder at your real intent.
—1 No legitimate country to company contract is negotiated simultaneously by FOUR separate Cabinet Ministers/Secretaries or whatever. Tenders or contracts once issued are thrashed out by the professionals in and out of gov’t.
—-2 This palaver about disunity and disorganization is deliberate double-speak, Again, any properly and legitimately intended negotiation would have one person or team of professional persons as the Project lead from Gov’t.
—3 Even with treaties or foreign policy country to country negotiation the Minister is more likely to be the titular head being informed and guided by professional ‘negotiators’ than he or she is likely to be the ‘chief negotiator’. Absolutely, he or she can still wreck the negotiations but that is more often due to some personal folly or petty disagreement than basic lack of skills.
This project was organized this way for the simple reason that the gov’t parties involved WANTED it this way. So please do not attempt to apply practical rules of management or negotiations to it or even extrapolate those features to anything done by corrupt government officials.
LikeLike
They just don’t possess the required negotiating skills, that is why it’s so important to introduce the game of chess to all schools in Barbados, too many people lack critical thinking skills and the leaders have to be able to negotiate with predatory business people both local and foreign.
Having a degree or 3 with just as many titles mean squat. Some foreign business people and local never made it past grade school, these are the real predators. The real educated business people like Michael Lee-Chin will not find themselves embroiled in such a business deal, they value their reputations way too much.
LikeLiked by 1 person
And de Igrunt is also correct, it also swings the other way, no reputable, honest and well meaning government with integrity would ever embroil themselves, their people and country into such a one sided contract, unless they care nothing about their own and their country’s reputation. That is really the bottom line.
LikeLike
Steupss
Dee ingrunt Word talking shiite again…..
What the hell is naive about what Enuff said at 7:36 AM??
YOU talking about naive…?
Looka naivety….
“No legitimate country to company contract is negotiated simultaneously by FOUR separate Cabinet Ministers/Secretaries or whatever.”
Who the hell is talking about a “legitimate country”???? THAT is the issue Word.
Looka again…
“…any properly and legitimately intended negotiation would have one person or team of professional persons as the Project lead from Gov’t.”
Lotta shiite …. Where is the proper and legitimate intended negotiation??? ..in your mind?
Look Dee word, if you don’t know what to say just carry your skvnt over to the BHL blog where you were making some sense…sometimes…
LikeLiked by 1 person
@de Ingrunt
True, but we too often dwell on the ideal as opposed to the reality, which is that ministers in our set up are the lead negotiators and final decision makers; hence need that competence given that a key aspect of negotiating is the ability to influence the final agreement in your favour–personally (kickback and political mileage) and nationally. For example, Sinckler and company were unable to influence investors to invest in Four Seasons. However, they got Butch and mad ass Cowan to agree but clearly had no influence on the final decisions. Lol. What do you think the often heard “lack of confidence” stems from if not the inability of Freundel and company to persuade, build trust and communicate truthfully with the public?
LikeLike
@Enuff
Based on your strong leaning to process gleaned from your contributions to BU over the years, what is the BURNSIDE documents posted to BU suggesting to you.
LikeLike
@Enuff, and therein is the problem when you say, “…if not the inability of Freundel and company to persuade, build trust and communicate truthfully with the public”.
I came across a note recently where back in ’92 the then CJ sued and won based on a remark coming out of the civil servant suit over the mandatory salary cut-backs. The suit stemmed from a quote in the Advocate after the ruling from the CJ that said high officials in Barbados were biased – or words to that effect.
My point is as you said, that the average Bajan does not trust government to be truthful or in fact the elite of society.
So did the hotel deal with Four Seasons fall through from lack of negotiation skills or to another interpretation of your other suggestion that the kickbacks did not align properly.
Remember that investors know that ministers come and ministers go…they too are focused on some immediate results but with projects involving real estate like a hotel the focus has to be on long term viability.
Thus a hotel project fail in my view is more about failed kickbacks rather than inability to resolve the negotiations on taxes, subsidies and the like!
Just saying.
LikeLike
DLP and BLP wanted for treason against Bajans.. Death by hanging is the penalty and the return of stolen assets to treasury.
Chris Sinckler, not sleeping well and his health is suffering.
Desperately looking for distractions to take the heat off Denis and himself.
LikeLike
Mia is the biggest clown for a political hopeful. I remember she cussing the blogs when she was AG..
Everybody in the office reads BU and the only thing they can do is block it but we still can use our phones. The pressure is working BU , keep it on.
Mr Sinckler,is a disappointment as former head of CPDC but a birdie said he was suspect in how he was spending funds thus politics saved his ass. Ask Peter Wickham about how shady Chris became.
@David, can you highlight some of the BLP scams also
LikeLike
@MOF Employee
Check out BU’s Archives pre 2007.
On 8 November 2015 at 13:51, Barbados Underground wrote:
LikeLike
Extracted from BLP Facebook page.
LikeLike
@ Alvin Cummins & ac
Have you read the report headlined “BL&P wary of green energy projects on page 5A of the Sunday Sun November 08,2015? The VP of Emera Inc. Canada based parent of BL& P is quoted as saying, among other things that they had “in the past tried to get more technical details on the project in order to understand its role in supporting the grid but noted the project had not yet completed Town & Country Planning approval or Electric Light & Power Act Licensing process.
He went on to say “Government has not yet spoken to us about a PPA (power purchase agreement) for either of those plants” in referring to Andrew’s Sugar Factory & Cahill . Isn’t this a direct contradiction of what Dr. the Honourable Minister Dennis Lowe said in Parliament recently about Government having several meetings with BL&P and BL& P being totally appraised of the situation ?
The Emera VP went on to say that the 44 cents per kilowatt hour proposed for one of the plants (and we know this is Cahill) was too expensive as the fuel cost is now a little over 20 cents. “If it is 44 cents we would have trouble signing a PPA for that; that is too much”
“He said such a move would defeat the purpose of having a renewable energy sector as its primary purpose was to deliver cleaner cheaper energy more efficiently”.
LikeLike
@ DIW
You have absolutely no idea how government works and specifically how the GoB of Barbados works
As incredulous as the simplistic construction posited by Enuff is that is the deal and as Bush Tea said leave this one alone or if you must comment speak to Martin Cox now retired who has the legacy of being the only Permanent Secretary in Barbados to tell a Prime Minister no to the exact infelicitious processes that Enuff has outlined above
@ Are we there yet
To answer your question “Is the project realistically either salvageable or dead?” Yes it is salvageable and if the DLP were bright could funnily enough be used to bring them credibility and kudos.
Thankfully they are dufuses so we can be assured that they will fcvk it up
Listen to Enuff, examine what he is saying and you will see what a man who has played this chess off the board, as Well Well remarks, at a high level, is hinting at.
If these clowns knew how to connect the dots and solicited the brains that abounded in Bim they could more than salvage this, anyways Like Bizzy and Cow and de rest uh wunna we doan want dese set uh female rabbits at de helm uh nuffin cause dem is Titanic captains, Dem will sink anything and everything
@ Clare
As left side as your Psychic encounters were you are not a idiot, even though an admirable con woman.
Your problem was that you overestimated the factions that you were dealing with, the private sector players AND more importantly the ingrunt government ministers and it is the latter that brought you here
You should never have brought plasma Gasification into the loop and while I can see why you thought its novelty would have captured the imagination of the backwards natives, which it did, you should have listened to the other Native Kammie Holders and adjusted your offering and all like now you and Dominic would be enjoying the $100 m
Destroy your phones, unless you wish to provide ongoing disinformation via that media, replace your computers and regain control over your communication media.
Utilize VOIP as opposed to land lines and standard telephony.
Change the way you use your computer, standalone to read, and print your PDFs do not save, you have keyloggers embedded in your machine.
You genuinely were only a broker who was fronting for some connected Bajans in a banana republic and got caught between avaricious Bajans, the Bukra Johnies and the dufuses.
This is so comedic Caswell, if you did not laugh it off you would hold your head and weep, we are lead by Scvunts
How many doltish Bajans understand what is happening here in this Cahill deal? and of those how many care?
LikeLike
Listen i have purposely refrained from making noises , comments, and utterance on this issue as it is properly placed in the House of parliament to seek and resolves those questions asked
Rightfully so. Personnaly their is not much that can be added give or take that has not be said in the public domain. Now my sole interest is listening to what all the Ministers on both sides have to say
For what it is worth so far the govt has put forward legislation for a greener economy which involves different energy strategies of which WTE might be a part.
You guys can keep busting your brains and turning page after page but the end game to resolution lies firmly in the hands of those elected to parliament whose job is that of doing right for the people
If the elected officials chose differently they would be told in no uncertain terms at the voting booth
On that note there is where i stand and rest my case . No further comment pertaining to Cahill on my behalf would be forth coming
Peace and out. Like Mia i have other fish to fry
LikeLike
Spoken like a well fed yardfowl.
LikeLike
Ac, you sound like a defeated man. I have often read your post in defense of ignorance. You must be feeling shitty. Lol
LikeLike
Not that simple buddy, Cahill ain’t going away
just yet. As I said this will be end of DLP one
way or other…………..with or without Mia.
Chances are more audio recordings will
surface and as I am a betting man, I am more
than willing to place a wager that Sinckler
and Lowe are caught in the net. They may
even have the holier than thou Stuart, what a
thing that would be.
LikeLike
BL&P concerned about the cost of electricity from the proposed Cachlill waste to energy plant & the biomass plant at Andrews factory .A figure of 44c/ kWh has been rumoured but BL& P officials said this too expensive since fuel cost is now as low as 20c/ kWh.BL& P said if Government forces them to purchase electricity from any source at this rate , it will pass the cost onto the public.
LikeLike
@David,
I am still asking for the portions of the Burnside report that you left out. In order to fully understand the extent of the PROJECT; NOT ONLY THE WTE PLANT, ONE WOULD HAVE TO SEE THE EXTENT OF THE REPORT, AND WHAT IS SAID in the rest of the report. Can we see it please.
LikeLike
Now that the BL&P(EMERA) have spoken, a bit of a contradiction with Lowe’s intervention in the acquisition of land resolution at Vaclause in parliament and also Clare’s confirmation on the leaked tape that there was discussion. Those who have ears let them hear.
LikeLike
Where is Alwin Cummins .
I told you before that waste to energy is not green it is dirty & expensive.
LikeLike
Behold the sensible one among the legion of the antichrist AC!
Blogmaster correct me if I am wrong their IP is different right?
@ Bajan Yankee
Note that in a blog higher up in the page by Well Well and Consequences what is said of Mia why you bite me AND WHY the Leader of the Opposition is very informative, especially how her responses in parliament amount to her being noticeably out of the fray.
Follow the Mottley sorry the money.
@ of passing interest
The voice recordings noticeably BEGIN BEFORE the telephone calls and include a signature? cough by Clare clearing her throat (she used this “marker” before in the psychic convos) then the phone ringing then the convo…
In one of the calls there is a beep signaling the disconnection of a third party to the Dominic/Clare convo when *** leaves
Given that Dominic continued their convo, nonplused, it suggests that he knew that the third party was there, AND was party to the orchestration, PRIOR TO THE CALL!!
What are the date and time stamps for the voice recordings???
LikeLike
The following is a notes document that gives insight to the surreptitious attempt to change the technology from plasma to something else.
Click to access cahill_advocate_notes.pdf
LikeLike
@ greenmule,
If Government must buy the electricity from Cahill WTE for 45 cents and sell it to BL&P/Emera for 20 cents what is the problem ? We talking sense about cents.
The Taxpayers will pay the extra 25 cents to BL&P. nuh problem in the land of Bushie’s premium brassbowls.
Ok leh we stop talkin shiiite and plant those fields and hills beyond recall to sugar cane with KING grass…….our new growth industry.
LikeLike
The problem with Cachill can be resolved in a simple way. Barbadians from all walks of life need to take their dollars & invest them in renewables , grab the 60 Mw before Cachill takes it . Cash in all those worthless bonds & invest in solar / wind.This would provide plenty of cheap electricity for BL&P leaving Cachill out to sea. Remember, Cachill can’t compete with solar.Barbadians who invest stand to gain thousands of dollars in energy cost & taxes.Flooding the market with cheap electricity from wind & solar would run Cachill out of businesses.
LikeLiked by 1 person
AC….I begin to think that neither you, Alvin nor any of the government ministers read the agreements you signed with Cowan, if you did you would know the contents, I do. The ministers on your side are saying nothing and in case none of you noticed, that is the problem. How do they make decisions on something they themselves did not read and would not understand, how does that work?
LikeLike
Put your money where your mouth is.
Stop all the rum shop talk .
Cash in those bonds.
Use some of the millions sitting in the credit unions .
Money is no use sitting in the Bank waiting to earn 2.5%.
The Government is still giving tax rebates on investments in renewable energy( solar, wind,etc). Make use of it before they close the door.Next budget the Government may stop all tax rebates on renewable energy & start taxing this sector.
LikeLike
@Pieces, with due respect. I have been involved with too many tender and bid presentation here (and beyond) and spoken with enough Gov’t officials and ministers to know EXACTLY how it works in Bim.
You and the Bush Man are on your regular rant jaunts and your group think dismisses even the most simple and practical comments. All good.
I know that gov’t ministers get involved and particularly PMs.. Good lord that’s why cozying up to the ministers guarantees revenue long before a tender is prepared and ‘won’. I know they will be right there in negotiations too and yes the project WILL not succeed unless they say so basically.
But the point remains and is clear that once we are past the front end stage and things progressing as intended the MP will only remain in day-to-day negotiations for very, very special reasons.
Otherwise the nitty-griity is handled by others…whether trusted lieutenant or ministry officials. And if there is a road block either the MP clears it or he is the one who caused the crash n the first place through some demand outside the scope.
I also know first-hand that our ministers are no smarter/more stupid that similarly placed politicians all over the region and beyond. They are cut from the same cloth: some very shrewd and some who act ‘dumb’.
For your own reasons you want to argue with my comments although the author clearly understood and moved past them; and despite their simple accuracy.
You want to play some sort of I am ‘smarter than you’ game along wid Bushie. Please leave me out of that, nah.
I know my little ting based on experiences that threw me into some far flung places and I draw on that… but I already know that you guys too smart for me so leff me in this corner of ‘not knowing’ please.
LikeLike
@greenmule
You suggestion is a good one. If only the government process to acquire and implement was not so bureaucratic and time consuming.
LikeLike
I forgot, I remember someone was asking who is Philip Tempro’s godfather, it’s Keffin Simpson. That is more than likely the Keffin, Cowan alludes to as waiting to cut throats, they are all so dirty, I can smell them all from here.
LikeLike
I am going to cash in my mutual funds & buy some solar panels . I GOING GREEN.
I hope a cabon tax / environmental levy is placed on Cachill .
LikeLike
Solar & Battery Storage Already Cheaper Than Grid Power In Australia
Originally published on RenewEconomy
Australian consumers can already install significant amounts of rooftop solar and battery storage at a cost that is cheaper than electricity from the grid, and the uptake of these two technologies is likely to be “unstoppable.”
This forecast came from Kobad Bhavnagri, the head of Bloomberg New Energy Finance in Australia, while outlining the reasons for the groups bullish forecasts, which predict 33GWh of battery storage and 37GW of solar PV in Australia by 2040.
“Solar and battery storage is simply unstoppable,” Bhavnagri said.
The green revolution has started & it will roll over Cachill.
LikeLiked by 1 person
All of this is well beyond my comprehension.
I think michael Yee is a Toronto based bank employee, not Michael lee chin. Kevin maybe a Stantec employee as MECC authorized two people to enter her storage locker and one was a Kevin from stantec. Ying Yang or similar is one of several Chinese vice presidents.
Tyler is from Jacobs….one of the groups MECC enlisted to help her find “investors”.
It would appear MECC’s still ‘for sale’ condo, has mortgages well beyond its realizable value.
I do not think MECC is that intelligent at all. Dominic (the lawyer at Taylor Wessing) treats her with disdain. not sure where MECC’s initial seed capital came from, she smells like a mouldable plant from the get-go.
LikeLike
@ DIW
Did you read what you wrote at 8.13 a.m.? in response to what Enuff said?
I tired and de madam calling me fuh food but go back to your misguided commentary there and to each of Enuff’s clarification and see the specific context in which the remark is made vis a vis your puerile comment about functionaries managing the process of negotiating as opposed to four ministers
This is the Wild Wild West and even Clare is talking to the very process of hands on management by these ministers which is why the PHREAKING mess exists today.
You always seem to get tied up in the personal thing when someone questions you monochrome interpretation of a point and, instead of going back to the issue at discourse, come out all guns blazing because it seems to be directed at you personally.
I think you are a smart guy but when it comes to seeing some things that are not explicitly stated, you get lost and unable to apply your normal Sherlock Holmes-like skills
Let me mek it simple for you, these clowns were are and continue to micromanage this and all of their ministries above and beyond what your customary exposure would think normal so your statement about Enuff being naive and all the rest about minister’s role being titular is crap. It doan wuk so in Barbados and “where is my cut” by Downlowe should confirm that
LikeLike
These recordings are from May 2015.
LikeLike
First recording (whomever is that is doing the discussing, I do not know, someone on a call):
something like ‘when we get that one hundred million dollars, what should we do with Kevin, ha ha’
What the heck is that??? Really? Not someone I would want to be near.
that same person stating ‘it is a creditability issue’ and then (aside from that strange comment noted above) going on to scheme on how to get ‘Jacob’ to sent a letter to someone, from my reading, without raising suspicion. Is that credible?
From my opinion, not someone I would want to be near in any circumstance, neither personal nor business.
LikeLike
DIW
So if one fails to close a deal simply because of kickbacks ain’t that proof that one lacks the skills to influence the outcome? Just asking.
I am sticking to my initial position–a lot of Ministers (Permanent Secretaries too) lack proper negotiating skills–nationally, regionally and internationally. Our minister of labour can’t solve one industrial matter in near eight years; the agriculture minister struggling to get cane farmers on board his new sugar factory plan. Thelse examples are due to a lack of kickbacks? What about the legitimate investors like those courted by Worrell and Sinckler during their marketing blitz? Maloney et al who are all supposed to be in a symbiotic relationship with government are tricking them at the table every deal. Just look at Coverley smfh.
Like I always argue, decisions must be evidence-based. You don’t enter in discussions far less an agreement unless the evidence is there to support the plan/project.
I am skeptical about the quality and relevance simply because I do not believe that the statutory or administrative framework exists in Barbados for dealing with a WTE. What are the conditions to be met for air and noise pollution; is there to be a buffer zone between the plant and housing etc; what materials are to be used in the construction; what is the maintenance and evacuation plan etc etc? Who will monitor the plant to ensure compliance? What are we benchmarking?
LikeLike
@Enuff, I have no disagreement that the Ministers or indeed some of the professional officials may lack negotiation skills that is obvious as you noted. But that is applicable across all groups and different regimes. Definitely some will be better than others.
I was making the point that for all practical purposes they are not fundamentally worst than others across the region.
Well indeed if the deal fell through because of issues with a kickback then the negotiations did fail. Point taken.
But there I was differentiating a legitimate failure and a corruption inspired failure. But you are correct. Failure by any other name is still failure.
LikeLike
Crusoe…..Keffin is causing problems in the scam, Cowan and her attorney don’t like that, it’s dirty small island business as per usual. One group of small island minorities jumping to the front to monopolize and greedily snatch everything by cutting out others, with the help of dumb small island politicians, as per usual. This time though, shit happened..lol
LikeLike
I am trying to post this link to give an idea of what is required for such a plant. If the lnk doesn’t work, cut and paste.
http://buildings.westsussex.gov.uk/ePlanningOPS/tabPage3.jsp?aplId=1613
LikeLike
During a church service for CARICOM Energy Week in the Christ Church Parish Church this morning, Boyce said the plan was to save up to $300 million a year in fuel by 2020 by utilising solar and wind energy.
http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/74261/renewable-energy-thrust-intensify-boyce#sthash.ereeJGnF.dpuf
LikeLike
The Renewable energy bandwagon is rolling.
Solar an Wind.
LikeLike
@enuff
Where on the Sussex website you are pointing to?
LikeLike
@Pieces, I really was not sure if you were being serious @ 2:19 PM or if it was just a rant not requiring a response. Obviously here I am so I presumed you were serious. So let’s see if you will review this with me quickly.
–You say I “seem to get tied up in the personal thing” despite the fact your blog-mate Bush Tea opened his response to my comments with the very impersonal (sarcasm intended) “Dee ingrunt Word talking shiite again”. And you improved on that with “your puerile comment”.
Also despite the fact that blogging is infinitesimally personal, yet I am accused specifically of getting personal in my responses. The ONLY person on this blog who does not get personal is Jeff Cumberbatch. OK.
Maybe you were referring to my attempt to validate my bona-fides by speaking about personal experiences. I thought I was clarifying that my remarks were based on actual real life experience. Obviously that fell flat. Alas.
— You ask me to revisit Enuff’s remarks and my ‘monochrome interpretations’. An interpretation which concluded quite clearly : “This project was organized this way [because] the gov’t parties involved WANTED it this way. So please do not attempt to apply practical rules of management or negotiations to it or even extrapolate those features to anything done by corrupt government officials.”
I resolutely made the point that any proper working system would not work like this while affirming that the Bajan ministers were operating in this manner to suit their corrupt needs.
Yet you obviously reused to read ALL the comments in context and thus with nary a ‘shame’ write in response: “…when it comes to seeing some things that are not explicitly stated, you get lost and unable to apply your normal Sherlock Holmes-like skills”.
Ok. Sounds about right to me. As I said at top Pieces, I really wasn’t sure you were being serious.
But let me repeat. I know how it works in BIM. I know that gov’t ministers get involved. I know they will be right there in negotiations and right there at the presentations. I know that they will find a way to accept an invitation to a ‘conference’ or other related ‘business activity’ even as ministry officials caution you of rules preventing any gifts or direct ‘contact’ that can be misconstrued and even when the US Foreign Cor Practices Act and the Canadian equivalent must be adhered too.
That is the real Bajan world. Keeping close daily tabs on key (most) projects and Injecting their opinion has been the way of local Ministers forever. Even regular contact with the money man/woman on a project this large is expected.
This goes way beyond that type of ‘micromanaging’ and was the point from start. .
So I suggest you re-read with your ‘my rant view only matters’ blinkers OFF. I’ll accept an apology. LOLLL
LikeLike
@Dee Word
A good example of micro management is the MoF inserting himself in the BRA/Customs matter although he had no ”standing” at the table. When challenged by Caswell his roll was changed.
On 8 November 2015 at 22:06, Barbados Underground wrote:
LikeLike
@David,
I wrote my last blog before I listened to the taped conversations. I have always been brought up to respect others,their privacy and expect them as individuals.I listened to these taped conversations. I have reservations about what I heard, but what sickened me about them, was the realization of the extent to which certain of the government’s opponents would go to ensure that the government would be brought down. I have heard about dirty politics, but here is a perfect example. The illegal taping and publishing of telephone conversations, to make a political point is low,low.
Many will find it salacious and infer much from them, but I look at it in a completely different light. This is what I mean by innuendo, rumour, and false information. Snippets of information etc give the wrong impression. This is why I have to intervene, and put in my two cents worth, in the interest of fairness and clarity.
LikeLike
Rooftop solar to overtake coal capacity in Australia by 2030
By Giles Parkinson on 18 June 2015
The capacity of rooftop solar on Australian homes and businesses is expected to overtake that of coal fired generation within the next decade – underlying the dramatic change of power in the energy sector, and the massive investment by consumers in their own electricity needs.
The forecast comes from the Australian Energy market Operator, which predicts that rooftop solar – currently standing at around 4.2GW – will continue to grow to as much as 25GW by 2034.
At some point in the next decade, this means, the installed capacity of rooftop solar will overtake that of coal-fired generation, which is currently at around 27GW but will decrease dramatically in coming years as plants such as Playford, Northern, Liddell and others are closed down and phased out.
Imagine if homeowners in Barbados were to do the same . The Cachill project could be buried before the plant becomes operational.
LikeLiked by 1 person
The ACs seem to approach this problem from tangent. Sad to say, their tangent completely misses the circle. To talk of illegal taping and publishing and to completely ignore the subject matter is tantamount to burying one’s head in the sand,
LikeLike
@TheObserver
It is what yardfowls do.
LikeLike
Normally, I just scroll pass Alvin’s comments but I took time to read his last and I conclude that you can’t get any yardfowler than this.
Back to scrolling pass.
LikeLike
@ Caswell & David
Why wunna don’t stop insulting yardfowls nuh?
That man is simply an idiot….
Yardfowls sell their souls to a party in exchange for some crumbs from the table…. fair enough…. wunna think AC don’t collect…? 🙂
An idiot is just clueless….. knowing not that (s)he knows not….
LikeLike
http://www.westsussex.gov.uk
Planning
Find a planning application
Search the planning portal
Application number: WSCC/096/13/F
LikeLike
Thanks Enuff, transparency at work.
LikeLike
Last I heard Alvin, nothing that any government does is private, not when it affects the taxpayers, which is the public, what private what…lol
LikeLike
Follow the money…..Kyffin along with Bizzy,Geoffrey Cave and Bernie Weatherhood lost a few million in the ’80s with their input in a local airline named Carib Express.Bizzy forgot his losses and resurfaced bigtime in Redjet.Lost a few miliion more,I think he himself said 8 million.Bernie took over Trans Island and couldn’t maintain it.
Follow the money…….Wonder boy McConney was placed on the LIAT board by these unlucky DLP guys.(they can’t do anything right)Next thing we hear is that an airline called Seaborne is buying out LIAT. Further that Seaborne looking to set up operations in Barbados. We are standing by to hear who will be the suckers this time around. At least George Hutson the onliest hardworking minister who is alleged to have installed a $25,000.00 shower and bathroom in his office at International Transport,is not in the cabinet to take the blame for failing to get things shipshape in a timely fashion.
Cow-an says Sinclair and Lowe are despised by the locals so they have to deliver something to make them acceptable again.Cow-an got to be kidding.It’s more likely these guys might face the wrath of the people in due course.Its not only Mia and Bizzy stirring the pot.
LikeLike
Alvin Cummins you are becoming a real useless worm. I am going to speak to my peeps and ask them if I can expose a little more of your nastiness. Stay tune Alvin if they say yes, call your lawyer. If they say no, rest assured. You and your government are evil.
LikeLike
This Cahill project is a recipe for a disaster. Take a look at the story below:
“Environmental disaster hits Brazil.
Brazil dam burst: BHP boss to inspect disaster zone with dozens still missing
Shares in the mining multinational continued to fall amid calls for more regulation in the wake of the collapse of two dams at its co-owned iron ore mine”
http://www.theguardian.com/business/2015/nov/09/brazil-dam-burst-bhp-boss-to-inspect-disaster-zone-with-dozens-still-missing
LikeLike
Gabriel….that is indeed the correct spelling…Kyffin, hence the Canadian pronounciation of Kevin.
LikeLike
It is impossible to feel anything but disdain for any of this self-interested. conniving (given to or involved in conspiring to do something immoral, illegal, or harmful), cast of characters; with possible exception of Dominic (Fitzpatrick) who seems like a basically honest guy who has been dragged into this mess and can find no way out, so has to keep on trying to get something done to get TWs fees paid.
BTW, DD does not believe that Kevin is Kyffin.
LikeLike
While off topic, de ole man thought that his was worth of mention since it spoke to political alligators and crocodiles which abound in Barbados
“The head of Indonesia’s anti-drugs agency has proposed building a prison island guarded by crocodiles to house death-row drug convicts.
Budi Waseso said crocodiles often made better guards than humans – because they could not be bribed. He said he would visit different parts of the Indonesian archipelago in order to find the fiercest reptiles.
Indonesia has some of the toughest drug laws in the world and ended a four-year moratorium on executions in 2013. “We will place as many crocodiles as we can there,” Mr Waseso was quoted as saying by local news website Tempo.
“You can’t bribe crocodiles. You can’t convince them to let inmates escape.”
Given Winston Hall’s escape and the most recent issue of wardens wukking up at Jolly Roger cruises with accused parties who are on bail, since the DLP parliamentarians, euphemism for alligators, will soon be looking fuh wuk, they cud all be hired at the Dodds Moat in a similar capacity
http://www.bbc.com/news/world-asia-34772089
LikeLike
Piece…I like that dude Waseso already.
Due Diligence….it would be interesting to hear your take on that…
LikeLiked by 1 person
Waseso for AG
PUDRYR
“DLP parliamentarians, euphemism for alligators, will soon be looking fuh wuk, they cud all be hired at the Dodds Moat in a similar capacity” ?????
Dem should be enjoying the hospitality at Dodds not looking fuh wuk der.
And don’t make Green Monkeys guards – they can be bribed for peanuts.
LikeLiked by 1 person
How many times must a liar lie before you call him a liar? How many times must a crook , crook you before you call him a crook ? How many times do one have to in a bag of scum before you call him a scumbag?
You all dealing with crooks , liars and scumbags, and nothing they can do or say will fix that , but removal from a bought and paid for Election, You all love playing with fire , so now its time to get burnt ,
Same She-it Different Election same DBLP , Bitches,
LikeLike
Sunshine Sunny Shine November 8, 2015 at 2:50 AM #
Prime Minister Stuart you are really a low blow to the democratic process in Barbados. You are no leader you are a complete imbecile. I have no respect for you or your government after the way you have treated Barbadians. You have made us the laughing stock and brought our island home into disrepute. The only wish I have for you and your administration is all bad. You should resign and leave the country.@@@@
Welcome to Our World of thinking, As you look closer you will see more of the same all over the Island dealing with BOTH PARTIES, ,,Money, Greed, Fraud, PONZI driven .
LikeLike
Due Diligence November 9, 2015 at 7:29 PM #
Waseso for AG
PUDRYR
“DLP parliamentarians, euphemism for alligators, will soon be looking fuh wuk, they cud all be hired at the Dodds Moat in a similar capacity” ?????
Dem should be enjoying the hospitality at Dodds not looking fuh wuk der.
And don’t make Green Monkeys guards – they can be bribed for peanuts.@@@
Glad to see you all waking up , sooner or later , remember they just took over from what the BLP was doing for the years and with the VAT money, This is bigger than any one post , Its all of the postings and the faith most had in these Crooks,Liars and Scumbags, Just be careful you are not group with Us by David,
LikeLike