The decision by the Jamaica Cricket Association (JCA) to withdraw support for Joel Garner and back countryman Dave Cameron confirms the crisis West Indies cricket finds itself. Cameron has presided over the West Indies Cricket Board (WICB) at a time when a West Indies team had to abandon a recent tour of India speaks volumes. The end result of the failed tour to India is that the WICB has been in grovel mode to resolve the issue with the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) who is understandably upset at an out of pocket position of USD42 million.

It must be evident to even the most ardent West Indian cricket supporter that the leadership of West Indies cricket over the last 20 years has failed. The inability of the WICB structure to metamorphosize to ensure it remains relevant by producing  competitive teams has been a sorry tale. The horse trading that occurs to select Board members is not based on ability but rather who are better at playing the politics of West Indies cricket to derive a result shaped by narrow and parochial interest.

The question the solution oriented will ask is how do we change it. The management of West Indies in its current form makes it difficult for public opinion to be a difference-maker.  The WICB is comprised of  the little exclusive fiefdoms of the individual territories Leewards and Windwards included.

There is resistance against the politicians getting involved although there is a sub Caricom committee responsible for cricket matters. Logic says if the West Indies governments are expected to bail the WICB financially – we can cite the CWC2007 as an example – then it must be allowed to participate in the process of managing cricket. The danger in selecting this approach is that regional governments have been unable to show by performance of managing the affairs of state this would lead to a good result.

Around and around the mulberry bush we go and the time approaches when Bangladesh, Ireland, ZIMBAWEE will ease pass West Indies in the ICC rankings. What have we seen since the aborted India tour fiasco? The incumbent WICB president Dave Cameron is the front runner in the next WICB presidential election and Wavell Hinds retained as head of the West Indies Players Association (WIPA).  What has changed is the removal of a few players considered ‘rebels’. There is a moral to the saga playing out which we have witnessed all too frequently in West Indies cricket.

West Indian supporters who want change are left to wish the unthinkable  – allow the West Indies team to be relegated to playing with the ICC group. Such shame maybe the only way the region is jolted into a position that we have to change or die.

118 responses to “West Indies Cricket Continues to Slide”

1. @DeeWord

Many of those names have no place sitting in a WICB Board room?

Deighton Smith … you must be joking.

2. LOL. Oh lawd. Why you dis Smith like that?

I have no brief for him but he is a widely experienced businessman (banker in technology; senior manager) and was a successfully sportsman and sports leader in his day.

He is as qualified to be there as any other I would suggest.

Why the dis?

3. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Georgie Porgie February 18, 2015 at 6:12 PM

GP, I think you are being a bit too hard on the current crop of W I cricketers.
    Why do you seek to compare the talents and performances of the W I cricketers of today with those of yesteryear especially those outliers of the captains Worrell and Lloyd glory years of excellence?
    Why are we expecting such small cricketing playing populations in these ex-English speaking colonies to consistently produce world class performers and achievers?

Don’t you expect by the very laws of averages other countries with English colonial backgrounds with much, much larger populations like India and Australia would consistently produce “more and better” cricketers than the instant coffee mentality of the culturally vulnerable ‘small-island mentality’ countries making up the West Indies cricketing archipelago?

You should thank your God for the little mercies and blessings HE gave to those great cricketing lads of yesteryear. There is a season for everything under the Sun. Long live Jamaican athletics! Let Barbados follow suit.

4. @Miller

To poke a large hole in the logic of your last comment: why does Jamaica keep producing world class athletes given its relative size?

5. Also what can be pushed through that hole is that despite the small 6 mil islands population we continued to produce world class players like Chris Gayle. Shiv Chanderpaul and Marlon Samuels other than the recognized stars.

Whether their stats (Gayle, Samuels) fully validate the belief in everyone’s minds there can be little debate that they possessed tremendous talent and skill.

As has been suggested it’s a lack of guidance and motivation which has stymied the discussion of these two players in particular as part of the pantheon of WI greats.

No one who saw Gayle take apart the Aussie attack with destructive force in one match and in the other bat with patience and concentration to blunt them, should question Gayle’s skill and ability.

So in my view its not about producing the skilled players but all about the lack of motivation which has been mentioned throughout these posts.

We had and still have enough very skilled/potentially great players and a solid contingent of talented athletic players to be an excellent team.

We lacked the other ingredients to reach that goal, however, and still do.

6. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ David February 18, 2015 at 7:34 PM

You should see that accident of fate in the same light you used to bask in when Barbados was the No.1 cricketing nation.
    There is a season for every thing. The Jamaican dollar was once one of the strongest currencies in the World with mighty Great Britain indebted to that arrogantly uppity nation called Sweet Jamaica.

BTW, China wants to get into ‘World Cricket’. Now that would create some real competition. Imagine all the cricket equipment and paraphernalia marked made in China instead of Pakistan or India? Oh, for the love of cheap labour!
    Pity Barbados never got into the act of capitalizing on its great cricketing name. Can you imagine a niche market for cricketing goods and accessories fabricated or assembled in Barbados and autographed by the West Indian greats of yesteryear?

Think road or paddle tennis my friend. When it comes to business or marketing black Bajans need foreigners to shine the light for them to see .

7. @DeeWord

One gets the impression Smith is a creature of Garner. To be seriously considered he should do a Riley and challenge Garner. Be his own man.

8. RE Why are we expecting such small cricketing playing populations in these ex-English speaking colonies to consistently produce world class performers and achievers?

ASK THE SAME QUESTION IN THE SMALL ISLAND NATION OF CEYLON AKA SRI LANKA

9. Michael WIlliams Avatar

It is again with great interest that I note the usual parochial Barbadian diatribe, the Jamaica Cricket Board withdrew its support for Joel garner and is supporting Dave Cameron. OMG, Sorry Barbados drum roll , the Jamaican response is “yawn” and?.
    The appointment of Mr. Cameron as President of the WIBC was not a source of national pride , nor have the latest debacles sparked great national debate. The fact that initially the JCB proposed to support Mr. Garner caused barely a murmur and the decision to switch support to Mr. Cameron also went largely unnoticed. I’m a Jamaican and the President is a Jamaican and I can assure you that like 99.9% of Jamaicans I don’t give a fk.
    In Jamaica Cricket is increasingly seen as an archaic game that is losing its audience and is only followed by an older to middle aged crowd who can remember the dominant West Indies teams of the 70s , 80s and 90s .
    My measure of the state of cricket is not which territory the President is from but the fact that as I drive around my country every where there is an open lot youngsters are kicking footballs, shooting hoops, playing netball, I rarely if ever see a pick up game of cricket.
    The regional competitions do not really generate the levels of interest, I don’t even know what franchise represents Jamaica. Most of us couldn’t tell you who is on the West indies team much less who is the president of the Countries Cricket board or the West Indies Cricket Board, nor do we care know. To be honest we have been subjected to massive mediocrity by both the teams and the administrations.
    If you lot can ever get your inflated heads out of your flag waving a
    es and start thinking outside of your narrow parochial interest maybe somewhere people will give a flying f .

10. What we have seen with Barbados and West Indies culture, politics and cricket is simple mean reversion. Cricket in the WI has found its mean or average level and unfortunately our ‘average’ is mediocre when compared to the outside world. Our all-conquering teams of the past were simply statistical outliers. What’s more, the coalescence of the multiple events and circumstances leading to the emergence of so many world class cricketers in such a relatively short time span will never NEVER happen again. So much so that many were fooled into believing that ‘fast bowlers grow on trees’ and ‘there will always be another Haynes or Greenidge’. Wrong!

Excellence is always the result of deliberate action which is why the WICB and West Indies cricket as we know it is as good as dead.

11. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Georgie Porgie February 18, 2015 at 8:29 PM
    “THE SMALL ISLAND NATION OF CEYLON AKA SRI LANKA”

Yeah right, GP.
    Sri Lanka of over 25,000 sq miles (over 65,000 sq Km) with over 20 million people. Really small indeed in comparison to the cricketing nations of the Caribbean.

Why not see it as Sri Lanka’s time to shine as her star caresses the cricketing horizon. Pity we have not seen her crescent moon on the track and field skyline.

Without discipline, there is no success! Tell that to your West Indian band of cricketing swashbucklers prospecting for easy money.

12. Michael WIlliams February 18, 2015 at 8:34 PM #

“If you lot can ever get your inflated heads out of your flag waving a es and start thinking outside of your narrow parochial interest maybe somewhere people will give a flying f .”

Here is a guy who, in one breath, can state authoritatively: “The fact that initially the JCB proposed to support Mr. Garner caused barely a murmur and the decision to switch support to Mr. Cameron also went largely unnoticed”, which clearly implies he has been keeping himself abreast with the “happenings” in West Indies cricket.
    This is also evidenced by the fact he has been actually following cricket in Jamaica as well, re: “In Jamaica Cricket is increasingly seen as an archaic game that is losing its audience and is only followed by an older to middle aged crowd who can remember the dominant West Indies teams of the 70s , 80s and 90s.”

Yet, in another breath he has stated: “Most of us couldn’t tell you who is on the West Indies team much less who is the president of the Countries Cricket board or the West Indies Cricket Board, nor do we care know.”

A typical Jamaican!!!!

13. @Michael Williams

“Narrow parochial interest” I guess that’s why Jamaica doesn’t support CCJ

14. Michael WIlliams Avatar

Sorry to deflate you buddy, I come from a family that has been very involved in cricket as: players coaches, managers and umpires and I have watched interest in the game in my territory decline, and if you follow my post you may guess that I am one of the dinosaurs that actually remember when the West Indies was actually competitive and a source of pride.
    Let me restate I don’t know who represents the West Indies or the franchise in Jamaica , I am aware of who the head of the JCB is and the WIBC, but through of their involvement in the financial sector, I would not vouch for their credentials or abilities as sports administrators. How would I rate them from the string of debacles in the news meeeh, and I would say that about all the administrations and teams over the last 15 years.
    It is irritating to see the crisis in the sport in the region and to hear people spouting petty parochial nonsense which will get us nowhere. By the way while I have been avidly following the NFL and NBA and would not miss the Super bowl I doubt I will be watching the Cricket World Cup.
    If you lot can ever get your inflated heads out of your flag waving a** es and start thinking outside of your narrow parochial interest maybe somewhere people will give a flying F. But keep fiddling while fill in the blanks.

With regard to the CCJ that is political we are extremely polarized as a society the PNP favors it automatically the JLP opposes what does it mean for the man in the street “meeeh”.

15. ARTAXERXES & SARGEANT
    REALLY? WHY WOULD YOU WANT TO RESPOND TO THIS SEMI ILLITERATE MORON?
    WHEN I STUDIED IN JAMAICA I THANKED GOD DAILY THAT I AM NOT A JAMAICAN

16. Another talking point we have not discussed is the report ordered by the WICB after the India tour fiasco. The opinion of the commission was that all parties were to share blame for the abandonment of the tour. Players have been affected like Pollard, Bravo yet Hinds was reelected to WIPA and the WICB seems to be unaffected if support for Cameron is anything to judge.

17. Sorry Georgie
    The problem is we’re screwed we’ve been in a decline for the last fifteen years and as long as brilliant minds like your can’t rise above the parochial West Indies Cricket RIP.
    PS Georgie you should have stayed in Barbados and let me extend an invitation to you and any of you country men in Jamaica to return home immediately.
    Your highness

18. Michael WIlliams February 18, 2015 at 9:54 PM #

“By the way while I have been avidly following the NFL and NBA and would not miss the Super bowl I doubt I will be watching the Cricket World Cup.”

So what if you “come from a family that has been very involved in cricket as: players, coaches, managers and umpires”? “Maybe somewhere people will give a flying F”, I certainly don’t.

Yes, presently, West Indies cricket may not be reflective of the so called “glory days” the older folk always allude to. However, I’m a proud Barbadian and one who prefers to leave my “inflated head in my flag waving ass and think inside to box, rather than “see the crisis in the sport in the region and to hear people proudly proclaim “I have been avidly following the NFL and NBA and would not miss the Super bowl I doubt I will be watching the Cricket World Cup”, while waving my ass in the American flag. “Spouting such petty parochial nonsense [will obviously] get us nowhere.”

Clearly, you have no interest in cricket, therefore, why come to BU to display your condescending attitude, while spewing pejorative diatribe, in an effort to insult Barbadians? Perhaps you would do much better on a NFL or NBA blog.

19. David, the only person whose remarks consistently condemn the Board and who referred to that report and articulated the point you made is Mike Holding. Maybe others have been on the war path as well but he is the only one I am aware of you.

Holding said: “The WICB’s own task force found it guilty of being part of the problem that caused the abandonment of the tour. What has happened? What have the repercussions been? So far nothing.”

20. mICHAEL
    WHEN I WENT TO MONA TO STUDY MEDICINE IT WAS BECAUSE WE HAD NO MEDICAL SCHOOL THEN

I LEFT AS SOON AS I COULD AND FINISHED AT HOME
    I HAVE LIVED IN SEVERAL WEST INDIES ISLANDS
    THERE IS NONE WITH TE POVERTY AND SQUALOR AND SHIT HOUNDS AS THERE ARE IN JAMAICA
    YOU HAVE SINCE THE LATE 70’S EXPORTED SCUM LIKE YOURSELF THROUGHOUT THE ISLANDS WITH YOUR DRUGS AND GENERAL EXCREMENT & POLLUTION

WHY DONT YOU RETURN TO YOUR PERCH AT HALF WAY TREE? OR IN THE BUSH SOMEWHERE

21. Hey Georgie if you are an example of what the UWI produces then it explains why the West indies is so screwed up. By the way i was recruited to work to your Island came in psissed on it and went home.

God help the caribbean medical profession if you are an example

22. SORRY
    But the point that I am trying to drive home is that there is a trend developing declining participation in the sport, eyeballs (mine included) drifting towards other sports. I am not an outlier with regard to interest in American sports. When I meet with my peers (most of whom grew up playing the game) the topic of discussion is increasingly football , track and field , the NFL and NBA interest in cricket is declining.
    I don’t need you to give a flying f about anything but I have witnessed a decline in club cricket, sugar estate competitions participations at the school and community level Regional matches are playing to empty stands. I no longer follow a game that I used play and have a keen interest in and sorry not the only one

23. THIS WILLIAMS MORON IS BEGINNING TO SOUND DOMPEY-ESQUE

RE i was recruited to work to your Island came in psissed on it and went home.

i understand sir- they were no trees for you to perch in or no cardboard huts like you know where
    YOU WENT BACK TO SELLING DOPE? OR SELLING FRUIT LANG SIDE DE ROAD DEY

24. Sorry Sir visited your little paradise and was not impressed with the housing stock or the facilities , With regard to perching in trees or cardboard huts you were obviously frequenting the environments you are used to in your homeland, As to selling dope or fruit i guess i express myself well for a dope dealer I wonder which medical school you got into, you pompous little turd

25. WILLY MA BWOY

I WENT UWI AS AN ISLAND SCHOLAR SIR ………. YOU CALL IT UC

WHERE YOU WENT? LANG SIDE THE GORGE AT BOG WALK?

AND THEN I TAUGHT MED STUDENTS IN SEVERAL PARTS OF THE WORLD INCLUDING MEXICO COOK ISLANDS AND EVEN JAMAICA

YOU NEVER SEE THE CARD BOARD HUTS CLOSE TO MONA AND ELSE WHERE LIKE IN BLACK RIVER ?

SALESMEN DO EXPRESS THEMSELVES WELL……YOU CAME TO BIM TO IMPORT DRUGS RIGHT?
    YES YOU VISITED ALL RIGHT BUT THEY DEPORTED YOU
    MY PASSPORT IS STAMPED THAT I CAN LIVE AND WORK IN JAMAICA INDEFINITELY…..BUT I LEFT SOON AFTER I GOT THAT “hell evation” lawd MA BELLY

I HERE IN FL WATCHING ZIMMERMAN’S PROGRAM ON JAMAICA AND SEEING ALL THE BACK A YARD OLD TIN HOUSE ENVIRONMENT

OH RE REAL ESTATE IN BIM I OWN APARTMENT BUILDINGS LOL

United Arab Emirates 285/7 (50.0 ov)
    Zimbabwe 215/5 (39.2 ov)

26. It was a game between two low ranked teams but thoroughly entertaining.

27. Georgie Peorgie take off the caps it spoils your argument with the Jamaican. Its tough on the eyes man.

The situation with West Indies cricket is sad having been around for the glory days to witness where we have fallen is distressing. The 3Ws, Sobers, Nurse up to the Malcolm Marshal, Lloyd, Gordon Greenidge , Richards eras played the game with skill and passion to win. You could feel and see their pride in how they performed. This modern crop gives the impression they are in it for the money, bling and fast chicks. Nothing wrong with that but its the basis of the embarrassing slide and defeats WI suffer. A place in WI team is a ticket to fast money and wealth. Look at mediocrities like Pollard, Bravo, Russell, Sammy these chaps are multi millionaires yet cant get beat Ireland.

Fast money completely turned WI cricket on its head it will be very difficult to return it to the glory days when despite money being important there was the nobler cause of winning that drove success.

Jamaicans double crossing Garner is no surprise the surprise was that they backed him in the first place. The BCA is a joke, have they explained how they hired a convict as CEO paying him hundreds of thousands with free SUV and perks. No one in the Caribbean is taking the BCA seriously after that debacle. Garner is the head of the BCA so he will pay a heavy price. What was the BCA’s position on the aborted Indian tour fiasco again the BCA said nothing took no position. You cant be an organization expecting public respect and don’t respond to challenges that are the core of your existence.

28. “HE PROBLEM WITH WINDIES CRICKET BEGAN IN I981-82 WHEN 18 CRICKETERS (9 OF WHOM WERE BAJANS WERE BANNED FOR LIFE)”

Very insightful and factual comment with which I agree.

but Dr Georgie you need to tone down your vitriol bordering on the insular and delve into your analytical reservoir to deal with Mr Williams in a more humane manner- two wrongs do not make a right

29. Georgie Porgie you should have also reminded that h illiterate yardie Michael Williams that in 2015, the Government of Jamaica has not yet seen it as a priority to REMOVE PIT TOILETS in PRIMARY SCHOOLS and some Government Institutions.
    Also Jamaica has MORE h illiterate Jamaicans ( 300,000 + ) than the WHOLE population of Barbados and shanty towns BIGGER than our biggest town Bridgetown… ALL riddled with PIT TOILETS.

30. Williams accused Bajans of having “narrow parochial interests” we can deduce from that statement that Jamaicans are immune from that malady. The point is the Jamaican Board opted to back Garner but the General body decided to back the individual who presided over the biggest fiasco in the history of WI cricket who just happened to be a native son. I don’t believe Garner is the answer but the history of the English speaking Caribbean is replete with examples of Jamaican “narrow parochial interests” starting with its withdrawal from the WI Federation.

People who live in glass houses should never cast stones.

31. A big part of the problem in the Caribbean is rational analysis of the issues, most if not all of the media practitioners have agendas.

32. COPIED FROM CRICINFO
    Dinanath Ramnarine @dramnarine

Gayle gets Disciplinary letter from Pybus & Richardson during the WC. Well done guys as if being beaten against Ireland was not enough!!
    7:53 PM – 19 Feb 2015
    THIS INTERESTING

33. This NZ team looks good.

34. Michael Williams, take my advice brother: don’t waste your good breath arguing with this man, he is what we would define in Barbados as the educated illiterate. I have never met a sillier man than Georgie Porgie, and the funny thing about it, he thinks that he the most gifted intellectually on the blog. (lol) What a shame, he is so ignorant.

35. Michael Williams, I am Bajan but I got you back brother. Barbadians are jealous of Jamaicans in many respects. Barbadians could only dream of the kind of nationalism and oneness in spirit your people possessed Michael, so let them pedal they insults as they choose. It still doesn’t change the fact that Barbadians are zero on the international scene, when compared to Jamaicans.

36. WI team today should be:

Dwayne Smith, Chris Gayle, Darren Bravo, Marlon Samuels, Jonathan Carter, Lendl Simmons (wk), Jason Holder, Kemar Roach, Jerome Taylor, Sulieman Benn, Sheldon Cottrell .

I am assuming Darren Sammy is still not fully fit to bowl and thus would leave him out. A very long tail but that’s the personnel we have.

Desperate times….

37. DEEWORD
    WE WONT GET BEATEN AS BADLY AS ENGLAND GOT BEATEN LAST KNIGHT UNLESS AFRIDI GETS TOO MANY CHANCES LOL

38. NIGHT SORRY

39. I know its a bit cold and the fellas have on a few extra layers of clothing but Smith looks too ‘puffed-out’ for a professional athlete.

He needs a few more miles on the treadmill.

40. GOOD GAME FELLAS

HAPPY FOR JASON

IT IS TRUE THOUGH THAT PAKISTAN TEND TO PLAY UNPREDICTABLY LIKE THE WINDIES

41. Which part is interesting David?

That Dave Cameron continues to proudly hail himself as the leader of the WI cricket establishment?

That he has continued to stick his foot in his mouth on social media and otherwise?

That he did not submit his resignation via twitter as well, shortly thereafter?

Or maybe it was something else.

Would the Pres of Cricket Australia or Cricket UK still be in their jobs if they had the record of Mr Cameron and had topped it off with such an unprofessional, brain-freeze act?

I applaud the members of the JA Cricket Board who had the fortitude to show their clear disillusionment with him with their original vote for Garner.

Maybe now the members who overturned that understand their insular folly.

Amazing.

42. @DeeWord

If we want to get technical a retweet is a propagation and not an endorsement of the original tweet ☺️

43. Absolutely David.

To your point we cannot say that his supportive directors are endorsing his ‘propogation’ of this retweeted petty attack either, can we.

So of course Cameron’s position is likely as solid as ever.

A great bunch we have at WICB HQ! Oh my lawd.

But let’s put it in a weird perspective so that we can retain our sanity.

Imagine the absolutely charged and frenetic social media universe in the midst of the Lloyd. Richards etc heyday. With our current ‘pervasive eyes all around’ social dynamism in place back then the things that we would have seen surely would make this stuff pale by comparison.

This is really so ridiculous to do anything but laugh about.

44. @DeeWord

What we have is an entity unable to make itself relevant to the times, something successful organizations do routinely. Anyway there is hope, Garner released his Manifesto. Jesus take the wheel!

45. Excellent perspective in the cartoon. The fellas got their wishes didn’t they: an unfettered pathway to the preferred work scheme for their retirement plan.

re. WICB elections, I was reading Tony Cozier’s latest piece and became suitably impressed with the 44 year old Dave Cameron and his wonderful career as a business executive, political consigliere and all round ambitious, bright fellow.

Seemingly all the qualities we see in our top-shot leaders like DT, Mia and others: vibrant, fearless risk-takers who appear to have our best interest at heart,

Some of Cozier’s comments were instructive.

“Cameron… His place as a WICB director goes back over a decade… was elected president on March 2013 with the strong endorsement of Jamaica’s prime minister Portia Simpson-Miller, who was “confident that a renewal of West Indies cricket will result under his leadership”

“He was head of the WICB’s marketing committee in 2005, when … Digicel won its bid to take over…It was a messy business and the WICB set up a committee, headed by Trinidad and Tobago judge Anthony Lucky, to investigate… ”

“It reported that Cameron had received … financial backing from Digicel to renovate Kensington Club in Kingston, of which he was president … [and stated] “to engage Digicel to finance the Kensington Cricket Club renovation was ill conceived and has cultivated suspicion with respect to improper inducements”

So this youthful dynamo has a well honed personal best practice corporate governance model grounded in the hard fought battles of survival of the fittest.

He is clearly a disciple of the Art of War’s view that “… the ancients called a clever fighter … one who not only wins, but excels in winning with ease.”

Or as Cameron himself stated in a tweet: “They’ve criticised you. They’ve doubted you. They’ve lied on you. They’ve done all they can do, but one thing they can’t do is stop you.”

Exactly what youthful dynamos like Mia and too the departed DT would say.

Basically they only stop when the Almighty says so.

===Cozier’s article in online of course.

46. Do you believe this jackass is frontrunner to be returned as President of the WICB?

BCCI to get part of WICB’s W Cup pay

Published:

Saturday, February 21, 2015

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) will get part of the West Indies payment for participating in the International Cricket Council (ICC) 2015 World Cup that is currently on in New Zealand and Australia.

T&T Guardian understands, from credible sources, that one of the arrangements for the payback of the US$41.97M due for the aborted tour in 2014, is that part proceeds from the West Indies payout at the World Cup will go to the BCCI.

The WICB incurred this bill after Dwayne Bravo and his men aborted their tour of India in October. They were due to play five limited overs matches but after a pay structure dispute with the West Indies Players Association (WIPA), they came back with one match left to play. The WICB then failed to send a Test team for the proposed three-Test tour that followed, and this made matters worse.

At the point of claiming the damages, the BCCI also said that they were going to suspend all bi-lateral tours with the West Indies. Caricom got involved and then the deadline for payment was reached and when nothing was done, the Indians called on Caricom to give them an answer. The WICB then responded within the given 14-day period and told the BCCI that the courts of India, which they were threatening to go to, had no jurisdiction on the matter

http://www.guardian.co.tt/sport/2015-02-21/bcci-get-part-wicb%E2%80%99s-w-cup-pay

47. David wrote “The WICB then failed to send a Test team for the proposed three-Test tour that followed, and this made matters worse.”

Incompetence.

Instead of trying to salvage the Test series they did nothing.