Submitted by HAMILTON HILL
General Secretary of the National Union of Public Workers, Dennis Clarke, addressing Barbados Community College staff after Minister of Labour Dr Esther Byer Suckoo agreed to hear their grievances. At left is Walter Maloney, president of the union. (Picture by Lennox Devonish.)
Dennis Clarke, addressing Barbados Community College – picture by Lennox Devonish

On this a brisk and dreary first of November morning on Long Island the obvious change in the temperature dictates a change in the way one spends a day off from work in say July, August or even September. Too cold and surely much too windy to rake leaves, I  have a built in excuse for the mistress as to why perusing social media has taken precedence over the chores called yard work, for me more appropriately labelled as punishment. After checking email my first stop is always BU but through the need to see an obituary of someone for whom my appreciation knew no bounds, I headed straight to nationnews.com.

It was there that I saw the headline “Shocker For NUPW.” Captioned beneath the headline was a picture of workers paying rapt attention {and I wondered for the life of me why} to their general secretary Dennis Clarke. As I read the story I was taken aback by the report that this union was at a loss as to why the management and board of the Barbados Community College was being disrespectful towards it. Going downhill it suggested. Again I was taken aback for not only had the door been left ajar for quite sometime but the horse had long bolted and cleared that and a few other hills as well. “It is scandalous” Dennis Clarke was quoted as saying. Right here is where this writer made the connection. Dennis Clarke the general secretary of the NUPW and the character known as Eric Exhaust in the popular Power Master Batteries commercial may well be one and the same. Always blowing hot air. Where was this righteous indignation earlier when the onslaught was unleashed upon those with the least capacity to fend it off?

There was a time when one common bond held together every group that dabbled in trade unionism. That binding tie was fearless defense of the rights of workers in Barbados. In the era of which I speak there would have been some amalgamation of these splintered pieces so that one unifying body would have ensured that even if the promise of no governmental retrenchment was broken, there would have been facilities put in place to properly compensate those displaced. Instead what did we see? One union telling its members that representation of part time employees was not within its ambit, after  shamelessly taking their weekly remunerations. Hapless souls drawing strength and courage from each other so as to make intercession on their own behalf to an uncaring administration that does not give two hoots about the plight of the poor.

There are those who will see as heavy handed the response of the board of the BCC to the attempts of the NUPW to sit around the table of collective bargaining. I do not, for I am firm in my belief that those who lay with dogs get up with fleas. The same sweetheart deal that would have bought your thunderous silence while this train wreck of an administration shoved the greaseless tax pole up the ass of the working man back then, still obtains today so go sit down with Dr Dolittle, the minister of referrals. First stop on the way to “King Silence” and then on to the nonexistent tribunal. Before Eric Exhaust takes his seat in front of ” King Silence” one wishes that he would be gracious enough to tell us this.

If scandalous is the term used to identify the treatment meted out to the NUPW what adjective best describes the representation sold by the very same NUPW?

46 responses to “National Union of Public Workers Blowing HOT Air”

1. Isn’t the BWU the recognized bargaining agent at the BCC?

Is the noise at the BCC about Clarke going out with a bang?

Too much politics.

2. I like the manner the BCC Principal and the Chairman of the Board dealt with this doddering old fool.There was a photograph of the obstreperous and hostile ‘Eric Exhaust’ speaking to or at the Principal and his deputy and one could see the facial contour of a vagabond ready for fistic combat.It is an insult to an intelligent person to adopt this stupid out of date bullying buffoonish behaviour particularly in a school setting.Would you see this jackass carrying on like that at St Winifred?At HC?At QC?St Ursula’s?St Gabriel’s?At Waterford?No way hosay.BCC and its principal officers appear docile and soft but this braying jackass and his insipid followers at BCC got their comeuppance.Bravo Dr Gladstone Best et Aux.
    Let Eric the weasel,loudmouth,boorish swine carry his lowlife tactics among the horses at Paddock Road where they all belong.Barbados is beyond this pale.I say to hell with Clarke and his style of interface with authorised officers in any institution in Barbados. Shut your ass and show respect you vile creature!

3. Here is the statement issued by the BCC a couple days ago.

http://www.bcc.edu.bb/News/LatestNews/Press-Statement.aspx

4. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

You people have misinterpreted Dennis Clarke’s actions which have nothing to do about the welfare of the workers at BCC.

In January this year Clarke announced that he would be retiring at the end October unless there is some crisis. So in order to stay on at NUPW, Dennis created a crisis. Mind you, he has already worked two years beyond his retirement and still he does not want to go.

He is insisting that the College starts the consultations which would most likely end up with workers being made redundant. According to section 31 (6) of the Employment Rights Act, these consultations must commence six weeks before any worker is dismissed. Clearly, BCC was not ready to start the consultations, so why should the union insist that BCC initiate a process to send home workers? The only logical answer is that Dennis wants to continue receiving his salary since he opted out of the NUPW’s pension plan back in the early 1990s.

His actions have nothing to do with the interest of the workers.

5. @Caswell

Who are the NUPW Council members?

6. Hamiton Hill

You ought to know me or has heard of me Hill? I am not one to critique anyone attempt to convey his/her ideas, but boy, your little compositional eloquence is interfused with some of the most ostentatious cliches and platitudes, I have heard in quite some time. However, I still applaud your efforts for get the message out; that’s what it is all about.

7. are-we-there-yet Avatar

Caswell; your 9:54 analysis of the BCC situation seems totally logical and uneeringly true, as usual.

8. The point Caswell, to follow the question asked, the Council validates the action of the General Secretary not so?

9. Stop being facetious do David.
    In Barbados, “Boards”, “Councils”, and “Committees” are just collections of the most pliable and accommodating brass bowls that are available to be manipulated.
    shiite man David, Council members are selected based on their pliability…. WHICH BOARD IN BARBADOS HAS ANYONE ON IT WHO ACTUALLY HAS SOMETHING TO CONTRIBUTE?

Remember the CLICO board?
    Remember Alexandria board?
    Does Parkinson have a board?
    Community College?

Which Board Caswell is on?
    Which Board Adrian L is on?
    How about Kammie Holder, Dennis Johnson,

Horses for courses.
    we get Idiots on boards so that the ministers and other powers-that-be can dictate.

BTW….we also select Deputies using that logic..and they become “leaders’” if anyone dies……

10. @Bush Tea

Yes the mention of the NUPW was facetious but the point stands, porakey governance.

11. On another note, is there concern the BWU – our largest trade union – is not part of the social partnership? How can we boast of a relevant social partnership if the current estranged arrangement continues? Should the minister of labour be marked down as long as the situation continues?

12. Don’t Clarke and Maloney not drive German made luxury vehicles? I can get that rashole understand, does anyone?? Trotman had the distinction of having flown on the Concorde more times than any other bajan, why would he have need to fly on the Concorde?

13. @ David
    Should the minister of labour be marked down…
    Definitely NOT….
    How the hell can you mark down someone who has managed to LOSE an election after having been Minister of Labour…..
    ….end up with the same job, and same (or higher) salary…AFTER losing that election…

…and continue to draw that salary (quarter million blendzers per year) for reading speeches and kicking issues upstairs to the bedroom of the sleeper?
    The woman is a BOSS!

….either that …or we are REAL brass…..

14. @ Answer
    Either THOSE fellows are BOSSES….
    …or we are REAL bowls….

15. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

My invitation to become a member of a board is in the mail.

16. @ David
    …..the point stands, porakey governance.
    True.
    Why do you think O$A knew this before anyone else?
    He was the chief architect of the current reality….

Remember the ‘supervisor of insurance’ who was qualified in chicken shit? ….wonder what became of him nuh?
    Remember making ‘Mallet wid teet’ our hardwood economic guru?
    …wonder what became of him bozie…? 🙂

steupssss … we in duck guts….

17. LOL @ Caswell
    Nobody don’t mind you.. you have no one to blame but yourself.

Skippa, even YOU don’t seem to recognize your potential value to this country… You playing the ass with some shiite union when duty calls at a national level….

Ask GP (or Zoe) to tell you about the time when Israel was up shit street just like Barbados is…..and who did they get that was able to turn things around? …a igrunt fella from the country named David (not BU) who used to keep sheep and thing….
    …de man use to fight bears and things who mess with his sheep (just like you always in some fight with some muguffy) …and plus he did like nuff punanny just like you does talk ’bout…. (punanny is goat milk hear..?)

The difference between you and this David is that when the bushman issued the call, he came forward…. while you still bout here playing the ass long after the call to BUP …. 🙂

18. Bushie–i agree with y ou for licking Caswell.
    David- NUPW council is hand picked by dennis and Walter thats why walter can run up bar bills and cell phone bills and refuse isto is them .
    Dennis drives a$235000 car purchase with members funds and he telling the council that he wants to pay $10.000 fo r it.He HAD his lacky Margo Bannister saying to give him it as a birthday present.This same car that he refuse to pay the 10u% car benefits to the C I R. the same car that hehad the nupw pay for parts that were never place on the car, that same a wordcar that he got his friend to reduce that value of the car–you only Ronnie involve in car Scames–Dennis took all his Vocation when he was sick yet he tells the Council he has 4,5months vocation and not word of a question from them but they allowed him to work 2years longer that he should and now bulling BCC for a meeting to hold on.
    he will not get a pension from nupw so he needs to stay on to all the boards he was on as GS to supplement the small pension from N I S

David –how comes according to dennis NUPW dont represent casual staff when it came to drainage but it wants to at BCC

19. @erice

Why don’t you name the members who sit on the Council?

20. HAMILTON A HILL Avatar

@ Caswell……Got a question for you sir. Why can’t some of you leaders come together sit down in the name of Trade Unionism ? Too many workers in Barbados suffering on a daily basis, even in the presence of the congress of labor and the other politically run entity……and that you C my man is 2 SAD.

21. David – you shall have them soon my contact working on that

22. david

Cecil Drakes,Lester Lucas,Cedric Murrell,outspoken Dannie Gill,Mannassa King,Margo Bannister,Roy Greenidge(no-balls) these are some

23. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Hamilton

The answer to your question is quite simple: for the most part, trade union leaders in this country care very little about workers. They are more concerned with what’s in it for me. If you look at the state of trade unionism in Barbados, it is clear to see that the movement has been captured by the Democratic Labour Party. As a result, the interests of the DLP take precedence over everything that the unions undertake.

When the DLP is in power the trade union leaders roll over and play dead and eventually they might even get the opportunity to serve the DLP at a higher level.

24. @erice

Shouldn’t Cedric Murrell be expected to bring leadership to the NUPW especially given his role of many hats?

25. HAMILTON A HILL Avatar

Cedric Murrell does wear many hats. Problem is the one that catches his fancy just might not be leadership oriented.

26. DR. THE HONOURABLE Avatar
    DR. THE HONOURABLE

MORE THAN HOT AIR , they blowing bovine excrement all in the air and it is coming back down in their faces–JOKERS !!!

27. DR. THE HONOURABLE Avatar
    DR. THE HONOURABLE

Gabriel ‘s submission is spot on –
    -FOR THE DUMP HEAP. It is nothing short of a bigoted attack. Shame on you Gabriel , you old Colonial .

28. The BCC matter has been referred to the Labour Office for mediation.

General Secretary Dennis Clarke has advised he is on pre-retirement leave and his involvement was invited and duly approved by the Council.

29. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

I heard the segment of the news where Dennis declared that he was on pre-retirement leave. That clearly shows that this man is a clown. His retirement date has passed: he can’t be on pre anything. He should have said that the Council of the union was deceived into believing that he had accumulated 4 months’ leave.

30. caswell you has been kind to Dennis crook Clarke he will lie at every turn and if you close your eyes he will sell you too
    David -please define pre-retirement leave and if there is a thing as post retirement leave define that also .
    if you cannot please ask Walter Maloney the fraud who puts on his facebook that he went to the University of the west Indies us ave Hill Campus,his degree was in cell phone .bar and credit card ,with a masters LIES.

31. @erice

We would have to get sight of Clarke’s terms and conditions of employment but per-retirement leave usually refers to any eligible leave accrued prior to retirement.

32. David –hope the stupid council can read what you wrote

read what y

33. Most employers pay you for any accumulated leave you have at your retirement date, bid you farewell and wish you many happy years of retirement. Sir Roy and Dennis Clarke are making a mockery of the retirement process. Both gentlemen knew they were leaving office for at least a year, so why was the handing over of duties not properly planned?

34. @Bajan in NY

Could it have something to do with a lack of a succession plan?

35. @ David
    Boss…
    when you see people in office finding themselves unable to LEAVE a place long after their welcome is expired, it is usually because they have unburied skeletons laying around the place and they NEED to be hanging around to make sure that the new people don’t go digging in closets.
    Although they usually go to extreme lengths to ensure that their successors are compliant and often indebted to them for getting the post, their conscience does not allow them to go home and relax….so they are forced to hang around for as long as it takes to dispose of the skeletons….

…Arthur should go home. Trotman should go home, Clarke should buzz off….but then again, Stuart should go home too – cause he like he resign and just hanging on too…
    …Bushie is hearing recently that our long-serving sports czars have now changed their rules in order to extend their time in office ….
    No wonder our former football president had to be pried from office.

….only in Barbados (and certainly not in Burkina Faso,)

36. BUSH TEA–Y0u are so right time will show you are correct ,so correct in the NUPW case

37. Is it not disgusting the Employment Tribunal will not functioned as legislated anytime soon? Bear in mind the Prime Minister publicly stated the matter of the NCC would have been referred/heard by the Tribunal in a week. That was back in May.

The dispute at the National Conservation Commission (NCC) has been referred to the Employment Rights Tribunal, which will begin reviewing the matter tomorrow.

Prime Minister Freundel Stuart, who made the announcement this afternoon after meeting with representatives of trade unions and the NCC management at Government Headquarters for close to four hours, said the retrenchment issue would be the tribunal’s top priority at this time since “a number of missteps were made in the process.”

http://www.barbadostoday.bb/2014/05/25/fresh-ncc-talks-underway/

38. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

It occurred to me that this new found militancy by NUPW and BUT is an attempt to grab headlines in order to focus attention away from Government’s mismanagement of every aspect of this country.

39. Come on Caswell…
    where would these unions get that level of planning from….

These unions can be explained by studying the antics of Dompey and ac…..

40. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Not planning Bushie – instructions!

41. LOL @ Caswell
    ac and Dompey too 🙂

42. Codename Octopussy Avatar
    Codename Octopussy

Freundell Stuart does not appear to be one who cares about anybody but himself. When will he marry somebody or is he married to himself, This man should have had a wife and the fact that he is a Prime Minister is obligatory

43. Today is the 7th November 2014. It is understood that tiefing Clarke was in the NUPW office on Monday all day but thank God he has not been seen nor heard from since Wednesday 5th November 2014 am.
    Hope it continues like that. Good riddance to bad rubbish

44. Harold–he plan to be there tomorrow(saturday)12/11/2014,he and Suzette