106 responses to “Bus Terminal Dispute – The Next Generation”

1. Pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar
    Pieceuhderockyeahright

Immediate expulsion for the wrong doers who cannot respect the school uniform

2. @ Pieceuhderock
    The problem is MUCH bigger than that now….
    The system is broken….
    …and we have not ANYWHERE seen the kind of thinking that will be required to repair the situation…
    We will NEVER solve our problems by applying the same level of thinking that created the problems in the first place.

As Hamilton Hill says, whichever way we go…we are screwed…..

3. Remember some years ago, when the DLP, under Thompson, campaign slogan for a general election was Law and Order, and the government of the day via CBC made laugh and sport at Thompsonand the DLP?. We are reaping the results of not pursuing a programme to instill law and order on the populace,and the blatant disrespect for law and order in this country is being played out before our very eyes, 24/7, and not a soul seem to be interested in doing anything about it.
    Yes I second that, God help us.

4. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926TO 2014 MASSIVE FRAUD LANDTAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS, BARBADOS DLP/BLP MASSIVE PONZI FRAUD Avatar
    PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926TO 2014 MASSIVE FRAUD LANDTAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS, BARBADOS DLP/BLP MASSIVE PONZI FRAUD

Pressure then the pain , of the DLP and BLP and the parents will be next at home , When done with school no where to go, Like the United Negro College Fund , A Mind is a terrible thing to waste,

5. oh ye generation of vipers….listen up

6. Barbados seem to be becoming just as violent as the USA and other countries. In my humble opinion when people seem to focus more on the different parties in power more than themselves. They will always be problems. Looking to the Government to resolve anything at this point in time is a crock of shit. People have to take matters in their own hands. Not through VIOLENCE. But to be able to sit among themselves and find solutions. But for many years the Barbados Government seemed to lack any real interest in the people until it’s election time. So until the same people decide that the old way isn’t holding things together in making a better quality of life for all. It’s only going to become WORSE.

The younger generations seems to have quite a lot of ANGER in them. VIOLENCE SOLVES NOTHING, but causes DEATH to others,or serious injuries.
    The folks in power are only interested in a pay check, but NOT THE PEOPLE.
    Having this on You Tube only make the people of Barbados seem to be going backwards.

7. Deploy defence force to bus stands each day. Ensure the students vacate by 9.00am then again between 2.30-5.00pm. Sad but this is now our reality. If we do not becareful, we will also need the BDF attached to each secondary school as well.

8. When the minibus culture started to take root many Barbadians raised a red flag and were summarily ignored by the politicians and authorities. Several years later we are where we are now, an entrenched sub culture. What is manifesting today is a continuation of the process of avoidance. It is what it is.

9. Hire unemployed NFL running backs to drive the buses.

10. Mr, C

It upset me greatly when adults men and women sit back and blame the young people who are only learning by the examples being set by the adults. We the adults ought to bearing the responsibility for the actions of the young people because we’re the ones instilling the values in them, whether it be in the home, school, church, or the society in general. As adults we have to take responsibility for the failures of our young people and stop shifting the responsibility elsewhere.

11. Mr.C, the young people weren’t born with guns in their hands and militancy in their minds, their had to have learned it from somewhere. I think as parents in this present generation, we have failed to instill the core principles of parenting in the young people of today: Respect, Responsibility, Results and Rewards, is what is lacking these days.

12. Pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar
    Pieceuhderockyeahright

I think that Mr C in commenting spoke not to the issue of adults being the cause of the problem Dompey but to adults taking a more proactive stance and becoming part of the solution MINUS THE INTERVENTION of inept governments which, of late has become the fall back position of many a blogger.

He said and I quote “People have to take matters in their own hands. Not through VIOLENCE. But to be able to sit among themselves and find solutions”

Just an observation based on experience. If they are not allowed to enjoy their youth and are “fast laned” into becoming men and women, a euphemism based on their mistaking their getting doggie and pokey at 11 and -2 mekking dem men and women, and therefore entitled to beat, stab and carry on a royal ruckus whenever and wherever they like

Expelling those that are obviously outside of the ones that are salvageable has it place as a deterrent for the borderline ones and having a proactive engagement where those few of us who give a shi@ about the collective wellbeing of our society do something other than talk pretty MAY stave off the innevitable

13. @PODRYR

Agree with your interpretation. Many of us rush to pontificate and get on a soap box without trying to understand the positions of others first. There is a problem and as adults the buck stops with us to fix it, not the politicians, not the teachers, ALL of us.

14. @ Pieceuhderock
    …the problem there is HOW MANY you would need to expel using that yardstick…… We passed the critical mass back when Wood was MoE…..

15. We have witnessed the response to Farleys’s attempt to impose discipline, members of the BU household have witnessed principals from other schools who have undermined Farley. We recently had the doctor from QC giving a flowery speech but what is he doing about the marginal smoking air heads? We don’t hold parents to account, we observe how useless the PTAS are but we do nothing. On and on we can go…

16. @ David
    …you mean the principal who is now a CBE or some such shiite?
    ….at least he was not on the CLICO Board….
    You understand that the whole place is screwed? ….

Spare the rod and you will end up with spoilt children.
    Like it or lump it……THAT IS THE REALITY…the DESIGN.

It is a simple choice….
    Apply the rod of correction when they are young
    – that may leave a mark or a scar…..
    or wait until they are 14
    and let the damn police and soldiers have to shoot them….

Wunna mind the stupid jackasses that are currently dictating policy in this screwed-up world…..

17. Any QC students there? If so, remind me to cancel my Old Girls’ Membership.

18. Bushie you can’t beat good behaviour into children. Children learn what they see from adults.

19. Code Name Octopussy Avatar
    Code Name Octopussy

The authorities are treating the symptoms and not the causes.
    Black politicians sell their souls , refuse to provide moral leadership and set bad examples. They claim to care about people but its all about them and how much material possessions they can accumulate in 5 years.

The result is that what needs to be done is not being done because too, if we really enforce the rules of society, too many of the status quo would be touched and you cant have that in this Banana Republic.

Barbados needs a good dose of correction. Maybe ISIS through their local agents can introduce Sharia Law and make Barbados a shining example of a true Muslim state . Can you imagine ISIS operating in Barbados/ Quickly the place would be subdued. Maybe it will happen , not tomorrow but a Big tree grows from a little seed. Has that seed been planted in Barbados ? And is the development at Clermont the fertile ground from which the seed will germinate and grow, from a small plant to a big able tree covering the whole of Barbados.

Treat the symptoms now . This society is degenerating and the Muslims live here . What does it take a small group to do to overthrow the authorities. We saw what happen in Trinidad–in 1990
    Take Warning !

ANYHOW WE CANT JUDGE FROM THE VIDEO BECAUSE THE RECORDING IS NOT PROFESSIONALLY DONE AND MAKES IT LOOK WORST THAN IT REALLY IS

20. Now we have the stupidity of parents sending children to school with backpacks that bear imagery of pimps, girls, marijanna leaves etc. Who to blame?

21. Code Name Octopussy Avatar
    Code Name Octopussy

Colonel Buggy | September 18, 2014 at 8:51 PM |

Remember some years ago, when the DLP, under Thompson, campaign slogan for a general election was Law and Order, and the government of the day via CBC made laugh and sport at Thompsonand the DLP?. We are reaping the results of not pursuing a programme to instill law and order on the populace,and the blatant disrespect for law and order in this country is being played out before our very eyes, 24/7, and not a soul seem to be interested in doing anything about it.
    Yes I second that, God help us.

————————————

Must everything be painted with a partisan political polarizing brush ?
    And the thing was Crime and Violence
    Not Law and Order.
    The record shows that crime increases under the DLP because under the advice of beanie bad looking stringy with a lean and hungry look that makes him so mean -Frank Alleyne , the DLP pursues the wrong economic policies that reverse all the gains and puts the country in deep despair–Happens everytime with the DLP in power and Frank Alleyne advising.

Replace Frank Alleyne with Owen Arthur

22. Parents in our present generation ought to listen more closely to the philosophical words of the old R and B song which said: I believe the children are our future. Teach them well and let them lead the way. Show them all the beauty their possessed inside; given them a sense of pride.

23. @ Dompey
    Do you have ANY original thoughts?

@ Islandgal
    Of course children learn by what they see.
    That is the reason why parents nowadays CAN’T correct their children……the children are doing the SAME SHIITE as their parents.

Nor does using a “rod of correction” mean running around beating up children……what it REALLY means is taking a solid and UNWAVERING COMMITMENT to disciplinary standards…EVEN IF PHYSICAL ENFORCEMENT BECOMES NEEDED.
    …think children are brass bowls?
    Wuh if some shiite parent says UP FRONT “I will never beat my child” …..what the hell will stop that child from yielding to STRONG temptations?

Old parents said “If you EVER let this family down, your ass will be ours….” – providing VERY POWERFUL incentive for people like Bushie to behave respectfully in public, to resist various temptations, and generally to preserve life and limb…. 🙂

Um is just like the idiot OBAMA starting a fight with ISIS and announcing up front…that he will NEVER send soldiers back to Iraq….
    …BB…
    …now the enemy knows exactly what their limits are….look for them to get on BADDDD…

24. Listen! Everyone is searching for a Hero, children need someone to lookup to…. as the song further states. So, if their parents are looking up to the drug-dealers etc…. you obviously can’t fault impressionable minds for doing likewise.

25. Now what de ass politicians got to do wid dis?? Dem rats want home training. They want suspending and some licks too. Bus stand fights ain’t nut ten new. But stopping licks is.

26. There was a time those fighting could easily be ‘parted’. Nowadays adults stand on the sideline and may provoke the dispute.

27. There was a time when children were afraid of the consequences of bad behavior.

They respected their parents,teachers and adults.

Wha happen?

28. Only political pimps and misguided a..sholes would try to place blame on politicians,when it is obvious that these children is severly deficient in parental discipline …some of these parents as well might be lacking and in no position to administer .which brings to memory the stink which some of these parents threw when matthew farley tried to implement a decorum of decency by way of school attire in the school

29. We are all responsible for raising our children, we are all stakeholders in the process. This is where we have lagged as a small country. The concept that it takes a village to raise a child has been replaced by a foreign lifestyle. We, ALL who live on the little rock have to change it. We put too much faith in politicians who are ordinary men and women.

30. ac | September 19, 2014 at 9:29 AM |

1) Only political pimps and misguided a..sholes would try to place blame on politicians, when it is obvious that these children is severly deficient in parental discipline …
    2) which brings to memory the stink which some of these parents threw when matthew farley tried to implement a decorum of decency by way of school attire in the school

I know that Bushie told me to ignore AC, and “overseasbajanyankee” will ask me to leave AC alone. But as I told Hants, I like to respond to shiite.

Nationnews.com: Wed, April 30, 2014 – 6:56 PM:
    THE BAN on cell phones in schools could soon be lifted.
    Minister of Education Ronald Jones hinted at such today during his feature address at the opening of a six-week workshop for primary school teachers titled Science Teacher Readiness for 21st Century Classrooms at Erdiston Teachers’ Training College.
    Jones said the cell phone was an “admirable” and “superior” learning tool and since every child had one, a lot of work could be done using the tool.

Nationnews.com: Sunday August 10, 2014:
    Jones said he wanted to see students conform to the dress code, but added: “I don’t support principals taking an inch tape or a ruler and measuring [to see] if [the uniform] is six inches above the knee. . . . Once the young lady looks nice in her attire, the uniform conforms, you don’t have to go to these excesses. You don’t have to be measuring anybody.”
    Farley, who made headlines for enforcing uniform regulations at Graydon Sealy, said Jones’ comment undermined the effectiveness of the efforts of the schools to deliver effective education.

I agree that parents must take responsibility for disciplining their children. But Here we have a politician, Ronal Jones, who also happens to be the Minister of Education, being accused of undermining school principals and sending mixed signals to both pupils and parents.

As far back as December 3, 2008, while addressing an audience during the Garrison Secondary School Speech Day, in the Mannie Bowen Auditorium of the school, Matthey Farley responded to Jones’ comments relative to principals enforcing the school dress codes.

So, AC should rephrase her statement to read: “which brings to memory the stink which some of these parents and POLITICIAN/MINISTER OF EDUCATION RONALD JONES threw when Matthew Farley tried to implement a decorum of decency by way of school attire in the school.”

This is one of the reasons why I’m not a blind supporter of a political party.

31. @ Dompey..
    Sir you took off full speed ahead over my comments, without carefully reading what I said. But if we as grown folks stop criticizing and do more than talking shit. Things MIGHT CHANGE.
    Our parents should be our role models. If we spend more time being more responsible for our neighbors, by looking out for each other. THIS SIR WILL CREATE CHANGE.

Most of this younger generation’s parents are young people who has became parents not having a clue about being responsible in the first place. Most of them are the children friends. They smoke and party together. Some of them allow their children to have company stay over.

As a young man in Barbados growing up, that kind of shit was unheard of. I respected my parents to the fullest. RESPECT BEGINS AT HOME;
    If you aren’t respecting the ones at home, for dam sure others don’t matter.
    You can’t even restrict what they watch on TV either, because they can got on their phones and watch anything they want to.
    So the long and short of this is, when we think that we are improving by creating all these modern gadgets, they are doing more harm than good.

Young folks seem to have very little physical activities as we had growing up.

The blame is on all of us who walk by and instead of speaking to the children in a mannerly fashion. Most of the time the statement is filled with cuss words.. You cannot plan corn and get peppers. STAND up and be parents to your children. Teach them to RESPECT THEMSELVES. Give them values and not valuables.
    Some will fall through the cracks, but more will make it if more attention is given to them as CHILDREN, and not making them adults before they enjoy being CHILDREN.
    If you as the parents are doing your jobs, for dam sure you’re making a big mistake if you think a teacher can do anything with them.

Some of these young people just go to school because it’s expected of them, and to get out of the house. But truth be told they are SHOWING UP,BUT NOT GROWING UP. And many adults has the same problem by not knowing the difference in having SELF RESPECT. Material things don’t make you a man or a woman. But RESPECT for SELF and OTHERS does.

Now you can tear this apart all you want to Sir,it’s your protective to do so.
    Have a good day Sir.

32. David wrote “We are all responsible for raising our children, we are all stakeholders in the process.”

David those of us who are over 50 years old must remember the days when most of us had to respect our Parents and Teachers and adults in general.

A lot of us would have become thugs and vagabonds if not for the discipline instilled in us.

33. Put the psychological analytical people to work the bus stand with their doofus philosophies on corporal punishment and overly befriending children.

34. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

Ain’t a darn thing wrong this scenario. The only difference between this and the politicians fighting is that Mia does wauna bite out your throat and Kerry does put bare blows in he wife crutch in secret. Also the bad language the video taper using reminds me of William “did little” Duguid who tell the porn star to cah he muddah skunt. So condemners don’t criticize what you see in the open because its just an extension of what goes on in the “closed.”. Ladies and gentleman and all the pretenders on here…TAKE A GOOD LOOK AT WHERE ALL THE YEARS OF OUR FREE EDUCATION HAS BROUGHT US!!!!! Social development at is best.

35. overseasbajanyankee Avatar
    overseasbajanyankee

Mr C

I agree with you, but want to say that the fundamental values on which we have been socialized is to fractured that anything goes as a value.

as a young person growing up , as a rule we had to respect our elders, else we would get a good cut ass from them, and subsequently from mostly the head of the household who was invariably a female.

the was the extended family to assist in the socialization process, and by the way, as a rule, by age five children are normally socialized and are armed with their value system, that is their parents are cuss birds and they witness such behavior, rest assured that they will repeat that behavior, For example, I have a great nephew who is two years and he has been taught to say thank you when he is offered anything, if he forgets what is being offered is held and then he quickly remembers that he must say thank you

it would appear that any goes as a value, look at the disgusting way black men are dressing showing , in some instances their nasty looking undergarments, the females in my family have been told not to invite anyone dressing like that to my premises, I am quite cognizant of the need to embrace change as society is dynamic, but, we must ensure that we embrace that which is good.

by the time a child reaches school he is socialized to certain behaviours, what the school can do is try to correct aberrant behavious, in some instance it might succeed, but it is fighting a war to correct such behavior,

36. Another dimension to the role of politicians in the process is the plan by government to make school children pay bus fare after 9AM. How does this reconcile with the MoF’s revelation that there was a serious national security consideration which influenced the decision to implement free bus fare.

37. Dompey | September 19, 2014 at 6:05 AM |
    Mr, C

It upset me greatly when adults men and women sit back and blame the young people who are only learning by the examples being set by the adults.
    ………………………………………………………………………………………….
    But, Bro the adults that our young people are learning from, are not mostly Barbadians, but the mostly adult American shit that they watch on TV and videos.

38. @ sunshine sunny shine
    you are some sort of road kill,that need white lime

39. @ Overseasbajanyankee:-
    Thanks so very much for understanding what I’m saying. The old saying was :- “BEND THE TREE WHEN IT’S YOUNG;” That was strictly enforced by my parents. I used to think that they were too strict. But I give thanks UNTO THE MOST HIGH for Blessing me with the two of them.

I’ve done my best to pass on the same teachings, and values to my children, and my grands when I can.

One year I had two grands and two of my children over for Thanksgiving Dinner. My grand children ages 10 & 8 couldn’t eat with knife and fork. When I asked my daughter if she had forgotten what I taught her, she smiled.
    I took the time time to show the two of them.. My grands son said, thanks pop,pop for teaching me, with tears in his eyes.

If we didn’t ask,or said thank you for anything, even a glass of water. We were shit out of luck getting it.
    The simple values and rules of etiquette seem to have become a thing of the pass.
    I NEVER was able to leave home without my clothes press and shoes clean.
    My Dad taught me that you must ALWAYS look PROSPEROUS, because you’ll never know who’s watching you when you’re out. And one day you might have to go before them for a job.

The OLD FASHION WAY is what made me the man that I am today even at age 74. I still address people as Mr or Mrs so and so.
    We weren’t allowed to call people who were older than us by their first name without Sir or Miss in-front of it.

One of my daughter who’s now 36 years old STILL address people as she was taught. She took her car to have some work done on it, and the mechanic told me that she kept calling him Mr. Sachez even though he told her she can call him Santos. She said that wasn’t how she was taught. He called me and told me.
    When we bring our children up the correct way to LOVE & RESPECT themselves, it becomes easy for them to do likewise.

An education is good,but an education without common sense makes you even a bigger fool. And many of us no longer use common sense in resolving things. The answer is cussing out people,or violence.

Barbados was one of the places in the world that had a lot going good when it came to values. Now it seems that’s it’s all about what you have. Having designer clothes even if you aren’t able to afford them.
    Giving children what they say they want without letting them know to get these things you can only get them if you deserving of them through doing the right things in and out of the home.

40. overseasbajanyankee Avatar
    overseasbajanyankee

@mr c

you are very correct. every one of my nieces and nephews call me uncle except one, and sometimes I smile to see that success has not gone to their heads to make them forget the basics.

41. I take that last statement back, with apologies to the Americans. If our young people had entered BU in the last two days,to gain valuable knowledge and guidance from their more fitting adults, they would now be highly qualified in the virtues of Anal Sex , and the art of How to eat Pussy.

42. Colonel if you are having anal sex and eating pussy at the same time….it sounds like the circus has come to town

43. overseasbajanyankee Avatar
    overseasbajanyankee

@Colonel

what’s wrong with oral sex between two consulting adults. Each according to his own. I don’t see the correlation between sex and disruptive behavior exhibited by those children. Perhaps I am not that smart.

44. David | September 19, 2014 at 7:59 AM |
    Now we have the stupidity of parents sending children to school with backpacks that bear imagery of pimps, girls, marijanna leaves etc. Who to blame?.
    …………………………………………………………………………………………….
    And a good many of those parents who, take or, send off children to should may be sporting similar imagery ,tattooed on their bodies.

45. There ain’t nothing wrong with performing cunnilingus on a consenting female, with a little whipcream and a cherry to top it of brother. The American way of course lol….

46. overseasbajanyankee Avatar
    overseasbajanyankee

@piec
    I went to a private school and we were reminded that if we misbehaved in the school’s uniform it would be licks like peas, and believe the public use to call the school to inform the head when children misbehaved on the street. And boy the head use to interrogate until the guilty party was found. It happened to some of us and the description was so accurate that the head started the investigation with some of us, and we got a warning and never ventured into until our last day at school.

47. Overseabajanyankee

I think the case you’re trying to make can apply to every red-blooded Bajan boy and girl who attended school in Barbados during the 60’s,70’s and the 1980’s.

48. Overseabajanyankee

And the reason you conducted yourself with proper social decorum in public, was due in part to the ass beating you would have sustained the next day at school. But gone are those days when parents as well as educators used brutality to instilled as well as to sustained discipline in a child. Brother, children in 2014 have rights according to the United Nations Charter on Human Rights. ( it is called the Children Bill of Rights check it out) And with that being said: children in our modern times have a Voice and aren’t afraid to let the adults know this.