Bussa
Bussa

When General Bussa, in 1816, declared war on Barbados he was not so much interested in a little bit of freedom. His position at Bayley’s Plantation gave him the space to plot such a revolution. He already had this little bit of freedom. However, he was destined to overthrow the apparatus of the pernicious government of Barbados to achieve the rights all people desire. He wanted a revolution. A revolution not unlike the Haitian revolution as inspired by His Excellency. He knew of the Haitian Revolution of the 1790’s to 1803. General Bussa also knew that by taking on the merchant-planter elites he was also taking on a global apparatus of oppression. That apparatus represented a violent, terrorist structure based on chattel slavery as the global political-economy model. Indeed, the original sins of capitalism and slavery underlie the current rebellion catching the United States on fire. Bussa might have lost his war for independence but the fight for justice continues with Ferguson, Saint Louis, MO, as its epicenter. This global struggle will always find tinder amongst the descendant of Bussa around the world. For His descendant have struggled for another 200 years since and have not managed to shake off the vestiges of institutionalized slavery and racism, a struggle in which he gave his life. Such sacred martyrdom elevates Him beyond petty notions of nationalism.

Closer to ‘ground zero’ we find other Bussas and their major rebellions. Denmark Vessey (1822); Gabrial Prosser (1800), Nat Turner (1831); the New York City Rebellion (1712); Stono Rebellion (1739) Louisiana Revolt (1811); the Black Seminole Rebellion (1835-38)*. In nearly all cases we had the participation of predominately African-Americans, maroons and American-Indians but also a small number of Whites with African-Americans dying in their hundreds, at times, for freedom from chattel slavery.

The dynamics which gave rise to the Rebellion in Ferguson are not much different. At its center we have a claim by a White police officer to the right to kill an African-American, as if chattel, with the expectation that in the exercise of such a right there were to be no consequences as ordained in the Dred Scott, Supreme Court Decision 1857. The counter narrative by the rebellious African-Americans is that such a right is not and can no longer be recognized. This is the juncture at which a protest turns to a riot, a riot turns to a rebellion and a rebellion turns to a revolution. A Bussa Revolution of 2014 at the centre of global arrogance!

A critical analysis of the constellation of forces paraded will find more similarities than differences to previous rebellions. Firstly, we have an African-American leadership more interested in their own position as protectors of the status quo than the liberation theology they often preach. Secondly, we have a mass media committed to that same slavery, post-slavery ‘normalcy’ than providing critical information from the real activists on the ground who are largely unknown but whose selfless efforts sustain the rebellion and continue to demand revolution. Thirdly, we have political leaders, at all levels, whose only real intent is to restore than very ‘normalcy’ at any cost. Especially in the Presidency, where the current placeholder, a slippery character, will betray the forces of resistance with a nod, while infiltration these very progressive forces with all manner of government agents aimed at destroying them from within. Cointelpro redux! Fourthly, we have White people whose very economic survival is contingent on the existence of crypto-racism. To them justice means economic transformation for African-Americans and this will not be allowed to happen, in their minds, any time soon. For the uplift of Blacks may translate to the impoverishment of more Whites. All these forces of oppression are indeed enabled by official systems of oppression. Whether its the court systems, the education systems, the social systems, the economic system, the political systems and yes the police and military industrial systems. They all work to maintain the oppression of the African-American people today.

And yes we went back as far as 200 years but there are more recent rebellions within the United Statesย  aimed at transforming the condition of the African-American. A series of rebellions ending in the so-called civil rights movement of the late 1950’s to the early 1970’s. An accomodationalist devise which maintains the underlying system of racism but with a pretence that African-Americans were to enjoy increased social and political freedoms as consistent with certain earlier amendments to the Constitution. Especially the 13th, 14th, and 15th amendments. Not so! This attempt could be no longer be presented as a genuine attempt at equalizing the rights of all people in the USA. The reverse being true situate Africa-Americans in a currently worse position than they have been especially when compared with a short-lived period of Reconstruction, or before the very Civil Rights period. What a sleight of hand. So we have currently 1000’s of Fergusons constituting the powder kegs for rebellion and revolution within the American empire.

This American empire has long lost its way, at home and abroad. Having lost its way we can expect a similar trajectory of decline which we have seen before. Indeed, the Ferguson Rebellion may ignite the fires of revolution shouldering within empire at a time when Washington is less and less able to respond with a state apparatus to subvert growing demands for justice. When leaderless movements are not as easily decapitated like happened many times before. When large swaths of people are unwilling to follow the official narratives and distrust officialdom more and more. When it is clear that the centre cannot hold and that racist systems can no longer guide human behaviors. When African-Americans, poor Whites, White from the former middle classes, Indian-Americans, Hispanics and others are loosing confidence in the establishment. The Ferguson Rebellion may indeed be that straw which breaks the back of empire, at home, and leads to the better world we seek. That better world may be given birth in protest but must end with a real revolution.

118 responses to “The Ferguson Rebellion – When a Protest Turns to a Riot, a Riot to a Rebellion and a Rebellion to a Revolution”

1. […] The Ferguson Rebellion โ€“ When a Protest Turns to a Riot, a Riot to a Rebellion and a Rebellion to … […]

2. BOY YOU ALL COULD WRITE SOME NONSENSE! racism in barbados? THOUSANDS EN ROUTE TO PROTEST AT WORK!

Dallas could soon be on fire! Thousands of Dallas citizens protested the shooting and death of an unarmed white man (aka cracka) this week with numerous protests across the Metroplex. Andy Gaynier, 26, was tragically shot by Dallas police when he aggressively rushed a Dallas officer after being told to stay where he was. The shooting mirrors the Michael Brown shooting in St Louis, only this one wonโ€™t make the news. Gaynier is the wrong color and Democrats have quit trying to win back white voters.

The shooting of the unarmed white man has the entire Dallas white community enraged. To protest, thousands of Texans got up early and went to work today. Some of the more angry protesters made a point of being a few minutes late to the office.

Local secretary Laurie Johnson said:

โ€œNo overtime, no peace! Hey hey, ho ho, itโ€™s 5 oโ€™clock and I have to goโ€ฆto pick up the kids from soccer practice.โ€

When asked about the shooting of the unarmed white man, Johnson said:

โ€œWell, he shouldnโ€™t have rushed the police! What was he thinking? But Iโ€™m sure he was a goot boy who ainโ€™t never done nuffinโ€™ wrong.โ€

Motorists all over the Metroplex could be seen driving down Central Expressway, the North Dallas Tollway, and 35 in a light rain and not turning on their headlights (as is the law!) in an open show of dangerous protest against the shooting. Such reckless behavior has never seen before from white people.

Local Quik Trip convenience store management in Richardson was nervous of the volatile situation growing throughout the morning drive. Especially after a Quik Trip store was looted and burned to the ground last week in St Louis over the police shooting of black teen Michael Brown. In Dallas, several white protesters were seen topping off their tanks with gasoline and letting a few extra drops splash to the ground, creating a tremendous environmental disaster that could last decades. Others spilled some of their Original Colombian coffee on the counter, creating extra work for the QT staff!

One man was visibly upset when the QT ran out of 32 ounce Styrofoam cups for his Diet Coke. He was overheard saying to store management:

โ€œWhat do I want? A 32 ounce cup! When do I want it? Now! If that wouldnโ€™t be too much of a problem.โ€

Michaels and Hobby Lobby took extra precaution where burning of stores was a distinct possibility in Plano. Protesting housewives with their children in tow went up and down aisles looking for scented candles in delicious scents like Papaya Punch, Candy Apple Orchard, and Fresh Summer Lemon Scent. Dallas Police had warned home stores about protesting trophy wives in McKinney buying ingredients for Molotov Votive candles.

Hobby Lobby protester Morgan Johnson said:

โ€œThis injustice will not stand! I left yoga class early and skipped Starbucks entirely with my tennis girlfriends to buy those cute little Papaya Punch candles for our pool party this weekend only to find they were sold out! Iโ€™m so enraged because Iโ€™m going to have cancel my mani/pedi to drive all the way to Frisco to find them! Maybe I can get Governor Perry to open an investigation on this oppression!โ€

The protests are scheduled to continue tomorrow where a group of women are planning on taking over the Whole Foods coffee area to trade recipes they saw on Pinterest and discuss social injustice.

Local officials are concerned with the never before seen levels of anger being seen from white people over the shooting of the unarmed white man. They hope the enraged crackas will soon return to their daily lives and quit spilling coffee at the Quik Trip! The city appears to be at the breaking point!

Through a source, AWD has learned that Dallas Police is considering loading their guns with rubber earplugs to restore order. Iโ€™ll try to stay alive and safe to continue reporting the violent protests from the front lines at Bobโ€™s Chop House. Itโ€™s getting real, people!

Read more at http://angrywhitedude.com/2014/08/dallas-police-shoot-unarmed-white-man-white-texans-protest-going-work/#B8zbWRdCmQYeja9E.99

3. white slaves were the first to protest slavery in barbados.
    general what ? bussa .you gone mad den?
    the English army could have killed all.instead they left you all to your own stupidity. what about William Wilberforce?
    man .come back down to earth space man.ya mecking me fall laughing you nonsense.good luck with all that !

4. Pachamama

You have given a fair account of African American History, which was obviously taken from the white man’s history because you have given little or no voice to the Nat Turner as well as the John Brown revolts amount others which were crucial in the struggle against slavery. In contemporary African American History, you have made little or no reference to the Black Pather as well as the Black Liberation Organizations, which prosecuted a murderous campaigne against the police establishment throughout America in the 1970’s. Angela Davis, was an active member of the Black Liberation Organization during the 1970’s, do your research brother.

5. Bussa is a figment of imagination.

Nobody can say how or when he died or where he came from and the image is an artist’s impression.

Is this the best you can do?

6. Pachamama

The Black Liberation Oraganization was labeled a terrorist group in the 1970’s because of its recorded killings of white police men throughout America. Are you aware of this fact?

7. I have taken West Indian, African and European history during the 1980’s and I have never heard any mention made of Bussa, at anytime. It would be interesting to know why this wasn’t taught in the 1980’s, in Secondary School in Barbados.

8. Why do we continue to refer to Bussa as General Bussa, this ludricrous handle gives people like Barbadostrueadvisor and John the cause to laugh and treat this bit of our history as a joke,which our twistorians, like the Crop Over big lie ,have started. A General is usually in charge of a Division consisting of 10,000 troops ,at least.

9. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926TO 2014 MASSIVE FRAUD LANDTAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS, BARBADOS DLP/BLP MASSIVE PONZI FRAUD Avatar
    PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926TO 2014 MASSIVE FRAUD LANDTAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS, BARBADOS DLP/BLP MASSIVE PONZI FRAUD

Barbados history is packed with many lies , to make you feel worthless and stupid, Thanks to your pimp title holders and MIA / Owen . National Trust writing books of lies,
    Yes We have the time and the Books , So stop writing them to make your white asses look better Fraud ass Sir Henry , Fraud master of rebate at UWI Sir Fraud master Beckles, PM /AG PM of Bulling Bados .
    What will Bajans do when they find out what We know? Why you think they move it Library , When things move things disappear as in the old high court to the new high court on WHITEPARK ROAD,

10. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926TO 2014 MASSIVE FRAUD LANDTAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS, BARBADOS DLP/BLP MASSIVE PONZI FRAUD Avatar
    PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926TO 2014 MASSIVE FRAUD LANDTAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS, BARBADOS DLP/BLP MASSIVE PONZI FRAUD

How America law See you black and non white ass ,
    Infor being email to DAVID at BU,
    This is there law and the meanings , let get back to English and Grammar and now street talking and feelings,
    Let see if the BU Bajans even have the Books we have , Remove from America for We are not to know, and then talk in circles .

11. New world order Avatar

I don’t know where to begin. The white views expressed by two here is yet another example of white folks simply not getting it or having any desire to get it. In their minds we blacks in barbados are lucky to be free so what is the big fuss. They enjoy life in barbados while looking down on blacks as a bunch of jackasses. If they could put us back in chains and in the cane fields they would do it tomorrow. Our lives are worth nothing. The raping of the Caribbean during slavery and after was a good thing in their minds …

Right guys …

12. Rick Perry finally gets his..

http://www.nydailynews.com/news/politics/gov-rick-perry-turn-tuesday-public-corruption-charges-report-article-1.1909092

GP….do you see why i told you and i know you know, one has to be very careful with the rednecks, they are liars and killers.

http://www.nydailynews.com/news/national/kansas-city-review-posting-fake-michael-brown-pic-facebook-report-article-1.1909021

13. Despite what some will say racial tension exist in the US, racial tension exist in Barbados. There is always a tipping point demonstrated in MO. In Barbados the dominant race tolerates the racism but there is always the potential for it to rise to the fore. It is something we have to discuss and eradicate as a process.

14. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926TO 2014 MASSIVE FRAUD LANDTAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS, BARBADOS DLP/BLP MASSIVE PONZI FRAUD Avatar

A lot of learning was done in Barbados but no education,
    Lets hope David post some words meanings by law , To let you all see how you are judged and seen in the US of A, Yet there is still street meaning that most go by , for they know no better and books written is full of white glory and not facts of true history,
    By the time we all go to the gave its about the time we find the truth and to late to act on the new information .
    Well Well , America is no joke and yet people look for VISA to go get shot and to go to jail, which feed many whites who lock you up,. No need to to go broke getting to the states when you can get all the same in BIM with out freezing to death under the hands of white-rule ,

15. Revolution is not a romantic sentiment but a process of struggle with reasoning and planning at its core.

Barbados and Barbadians should not entertain a response of armed struggle.Even the Haitian revolution ultimately failed because of these two core tenets were lacking.The chief military strategist was killed and the organizational strategist was tricked into being lured away to the land of his oppressors to die.

I am for a an armed struggle if the people are physically oppressed by a foreign invasive militant power.Barbados has not and heaven forbid that it reaches that stage.

This is a beautiful time and opportunity for Barbados not to add another chapter in other people’s books of error but be proactive in showing what a true successful revolution is and can be.

16. Case in point before I forget.The solid waste tax.

The people reasoned and came to a general consensus plan of action that they will not pay.The government was forced to backtrack.No big rocks , no shots , no cracked heads.I was elated that finally we were waking up.Then lo and behold we lost that momentum to talk about Owen Arthur.I could not believe the traction was gone like that in a flash.

That is our core problem.We dont reason and carry through a plan of action then presume that the solution must come from the influence of others.It is my belief and not fact had we been not distracted so easily the solid waste tax would have been scrapped and victory for the people.Evolutionary changes then a revolutionary change.

17. @ barbadostrueadviser.
    Firstly, how long are you on this planet.

@ David [BU]

Plantocracy vs Plutocracy ?

The term โ€œoligarchsโ€ is gaining currency in Barbados. Already defined as โ€œa small number of very wealthy families who spend huge amounts of money supporting candidates who protect their interests.โ€ If David and the BU mean to differentiate this โ€œsmall numberโ€ from the larger world of the rich and superrich, the plutocrats, who โ€“ as a class โ€“ have long exercised considerable influence on the Bajan political system and legal system.

Who are these oligarchs and how do they different from todayโ€™s Barbadian plutocrats? And how does this generation of oligarchs differ from previous generations of the superrich who, over the last 50 years or so, have dominated Bajan politics? Could David [BU] really be changing the way Bajan’s think?
    Or does he expect respect after wave after wave of “spin” from the BU and there sense of acceptance?
    Perhaps this “free” websites credentials and “purpose” is worth a further look….?

18. Frustrated Businessman Avatar
    Frustrated Businessman

History is written by the victors i.e the racial majority.

http://www.amren.com/news/2010/07/white_slaves_1/

19. General or no general ……. facts are facts …… and a lack of facts is a lack of facts!!!!

I have heard Hilary Beckles with the term “General Bussa”.

Same rubbish with Sarah Ann Gill …… now the slave registers are available on line it turns out anyone can have access to the evidence that not only did she own slaves from the first registration in 1817 she also bought and sold slaves as well.

The researchers also have her marrying at 14 to a 60 year old man!!

When these two national heroes were researched for the Government to name its national heroes and stories about their lives invented we got a poor job

……….. so what’s new!!

20. New world order | August 20, 2014 at 6:43 AM |

I donโ€™t know where to begin. The white views expressed by two here is yet another example of white folks simply not getting it or having any desire to get it.

You don’t mean me by any chance?

I am descended from Bajan slaves and can trace my slave ancestry back to 1816 in the case of my maternal grandmother and 1721 in the case of my maternal grandfather.

Both of those early descendants were given their freedom before emancipation arrived.

21. SuckaBubby | August 20, 2014 at 7:59 AM |

Revolution is not a romantic sentiment but a process of struggle with reasoning and planning at its core.

…. kind of like the Russian Revolution.

It had a foremost philosopher of the time, Karl Marx, produce the thinking which underpinned it.

Boy, was that revolution successful!!

22. John | August 19, 2014 at 9:51 PM |
    Bussa is a figment of imagination
    ………………………………………………………………………………………………………
    I agree 100% with your statement. Every slave that came to Barbados had a name and not one history book prior to the creation of a National Heroes day mentioned the country of his birth, his surname, not even his aka name. The only name that was constantly mentioned was Washington Franklin. As a matter of fact, he was the most popular slave that was hung for the uprising on the lawn area of the home below Purity Bakeries. If we hear something constantly, we start to believe it. Will the real BUSSA be known?

23. Easy Squeeze (Make No Riot) Avatar
    Easy Squeeze (Make No Riot)

Babylon’s Shit Stinks

Baffling Smoke Signals

http://youtu.be/taape_mwtiA

24. Easy Squeeze (Make No Riot) Avatar

Sons Of Brave-Fighting For Survival

http://youtu.be/w2AgJqb7Afk

25. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

The Modus Operandi is am made to understand is the signature of a criminal mind that so demarcates them that investigators are able to see a pattern in their operations that single them out.

If, like the dead bolt man, Nicolas **, you found a good way to burglarize a house with specific locksmith tools, it would not make sense the next time you are committing a crime to come with a new array of medical scalpels.

I am going to assume that “Easy Squeeze” is, by virtue of the repetitive postings of 7 minute videos all over the blog, none other than Kiki.

You know, I have admitted as recently as this past Sunday at Church, that I am a “legal drug addict”

My reasoning is as follows.

As soon as I gets de 12 oclock shot uh insulin, like a druggie/paro pun a blackie I does get these insights (others of my detractors would say that really that is a euphemism fuh piece uh shite) inspirations where one does see clearly between de lines of tings dat peoples does be writing heah and can respond fluently.

NOw de madam know dat i is a druggie and she does wait 15 to 20 minutes aftah she gi’ me de injection(s) and does find someting tuh gi’ de ole fogey to do.

She does get a peculiar pleasure outta stick de ole man wid dem needles, bless she soul. De onliest consolation I does get outta dem sticks dat she does me giving me is dat she doing me back whu I did used to do she years ago when “tings did wukking”

Oh en judging from de little sly comments dat she does be saying recently, I tink dat she find out my alter ego heah pun BU.

She been talk bout “woe unto those dat does say bad tings bout de servants uh dem “washed in de Blood” en tings like dat.

Plussing she get de granson tuh change de password tuh de modem en I did lock out fuh a while. I even call LIME en tell dem dat de cuntputer din wukking an dem allows me to know dat “de ADSL wukking properly and dat it mus be a cuntputer problem, en to get a young body tuh look at it”

Imagine dat low remark dat dem tell de ole man jes’ becausing dem tell me tuh find de Mac number en I say dat de numbers too small fuh de ole man tuh see!!

But I had was to tell de fellow dat “whu yuh ent meet, ent pass yuh yet, unlessing you get knock off de road (uh life) befo’ you gets deah”

He axe me whu dat mean, so when i realise whu i did dealing wif, i had was to tell he de madam calling me and I gots to go fuh me medication….

26. Easy Squeeze (Make No Riot) Avatar

Memories

http://youtu.be/UAdAYerlRFY

27. John | August 19, 2014 at 9:51 PM |
    Bussa is a figment of imagination.

Nobody can say how or when he died or where he came from and the image is an artistโ€™s impression.

Is this the best you can do?
    ……………………………………………………………………………..
    And when this image first appeared,I overheard a woman saying, ” gor blimey!, I wold not like to meet him in a Bridgetown alley one dark night”

28. Easy Squeeze (Make No Riot) Avatar

29. Bussa will sound like a figment because black people do not record events of their own people’s successes and great history enough and do not pass on information to their descendants, i mean they do have an excuse up to the 1950’a, there was still a language barrier that was to the slave’s disadvantage, however, there is no such excuse now and to simply matters there is now a DNA registry that tells everyone where their ancestors came from, start there and back track…..no more excuses.

30. @ Well Well
    We are always happy to find one sentient being in a population of idiots. You are such a being. We have read the police reports, the reports of inquiry into the events of 1816 and other documents. There we have certain knowledge that all of Bussa’s ‘co-conspirators’, including Nanny Grig called Bussa ‘The General’. If there was one thing that was clear about the Bussa Rebellion was that his companions in arms referred to him, always, as ‘General Bussa’. Why are we to refer to some modern numerical circumstance to legitimately call Bussa, General Bussa. Our forefathers were well aware and used the standards as existed at the time. In the American Revolutionary War standards were not dissimilar.

Another critical point brassbowls will like to disregard is the high level of military planning and sophistication, which covered the WHOLE country, that characterized General Bussa’s Rebellion. There were battles all over Barbados, ending in the final and decisive battle at Bayley’s. The decisive factor was the presence of a warship in Carlisle Bay with soldiers. Their presence swung the balance in favour of the merchant-planter class.

The government at the time was very concerned and at lest two sets of investigations were done. As a result there is NO doubt about the historical record. Bussa was a General. period’ and the head of a highly sophisticated military structure aimed at overthrowing the ruling order. These fools would begrudge the only real national hero this country has named according to the established traditions. Everywhere else, most places, one has to die fighting for one’s country to be regarded as a national hero. But amongst the stinking Bajans you could be a lowly politician or run bout behind a cricket ball and be more considered than those who died fighting for freedom. What a country of brassbowls, according to Bushie! Even those 14 or so who died in the 1930’s ‘riots’ are not even remembered far less considered ‘national heroes/heroines.

31. couldn’t agree with you more pachie..how are blacks ever going to find the path of self determination when blacks are always quick to accept the rules and guidelines of the whites,,who up to this day have never given blacks any respect as first class any thing,now expecting for the twistorians of black history to honor any black slave is between slim and none,,,, the man was deserving to be called a General not because ,but because of what he stood for….a freedom fighter,,,,

32. @ac
    Yes, and there always seems to be an assumption that because these events occurred 200 years ago the brains of our ancestors were smaller or that they were less sophisticated, or because there were slaves a complex military operation could not have been planned and executed with poise.

Even General Bussa was no ordinary fellow. The mere fact that he was able to retain his African name should say something. His detractors will not question what our real names were but we walk around with these slave names with pride. So in at least this way Bussa was better than us.

33. Professional historians have shown that the intelligence of the Bussa Rebellion was well aware of the Haitian Revolution. That they had knowledge of the frequent riots and rebellions in the Caribbean and further afield. And had set up a communications network throughout the country. General Bussa was the driver at Bayley’s Plantation a position which gave him mobility. Others have posited that he may have come to the country a capture warrior.

34. but when one reflect on what nerve and intestinal fortitude a slave a person who was denied any form of education who was bound and determined to execute or stand up against a well organized military establishment….one should be quick to acknowledge Bussa as a person without fear or concern of reprisal and one should rejoice in the fact that his commitment and duty to his fellow man was far superior in his fight for their right to freedom and rightfully should placed him among many military greats like Churchill,,,especially knowing that unlike the military giants of these times who had accessed to military and modern sophisticated weaponry Bussa had to foot it alone with a military of several hundred slaves with sure will.. guts and determination….a man of honor a man of pride that is what it takes to be a GENERAL,,,

35. Bussa is a National Hero and we believe the information with regards to General Bussa.
    The teaching of History at Cave Hill has now suffered under the DLP. If Knowledge of history was limited before, such knowledge will be non-existent now
    There is a dangter that Black people will be enslaved again or rather-Black people in the Caribbean will forever be slaves

36. but u know that the twistorians can help but have an agenda,,,,,,blacks as general,,uneducated slaves,,wait it is only a few years ago that whites could not even understand giving a black the right to sit in the front of a bus,, hell no ..no way,,, even that was status,, for whites,,,,then how in gods green earth would one expect a slave to be honoured,,,by the whites,,today or any day,,,,

37. Geez not that long ago all it took to be a general was to buy a commission, Careful you don’t set the bar to high for the guy running the next rebellion, But what are you going to take over ….the govt its black….the navy….its black…..the army its black…..the police …the fire dept…..Lol …trust me a lot of people would hope you take them over so they can escape.

38. I am not didputing the validity of the Bussa revolt, but my question is: why wasn’t this important part of Caribbean History, taught in the Schools of Barbados during 60’s, 70’s and 1980’s?

39. There is book called the Great Revolts, which was written by a black author and this book chronicles all of the revolts in North America during the evil institution of slavery. I read this book many years ago and can assure you that there were not mention of the Bussa revolt anyway. But on the orher hand, a significant amount of the time was devoted to the Haitian revolt because this is were many revolting slaves in Noth America got their inpiration. So that is why I question the authenicity as well as the validity of this so call Bussa revolt but the historical evidence does not support such claims.

40. “Just to the east of Bridgetown Major Cassidy came across a dense mob of half -armed slaves crowning the summits of the low hills in Christ Church parish,and an advance being ordered ,the Ist WIR stormed the heights ,and at the point of the bayonet drove the rebels from their position. Not a shot was fired by the regiment on this occasion, the Major being anxious to save bloodshed as much as possible.
    It was hardly surprising that the rebels ,who had been led to believe by some of their leaders that troops of their colour and ancestry would not be used against them, were incensed by this and many of them rushed back to offer a furious resistance , closing with and aiming blows at the soldiers with their crude weapons ,and endeavouring to wrench the muskets from their hands.
    With one solder dead and 17 wounded, the order was given to open fire,and a considerable number of the insurgents were thus killed or wounded. The remainder then fled and the regiments part in the suppression of the revolt ended.
    (extract from The Empty Sleeve,The story of the West India Regiments of the British Army)

41. @DOMPEY
    The history of the West Indian Regiment, has recognised the existence of Bussa.
    “” In Barbados where slave conditions in general were worse than in the other island ,snippets of printed material concerning the bill,calling for the compulsory registration of all slave in the British colonies and its fate, were read by a woman called Nanny Greg and relayed to her fellow plantation workers who in turn spoke to other slaves……………….Spurred on by this number of the more authoritative slaves ,drivers and rangers ,began plotting a revolt. The chief ringleader , Bussa…………………..

42. Pachamama | August 20, 2014 at 7:55 PM |

Professional historians have shown that the intelligence of the Bussa Rebellion was well aware of the Haitian Revolution. That they had knowledge of the frequent riots and rebellions in the Caribbean and further afield.

There are simple historical facts you can check on the Net or in a book without having to attend a professional historian. I am relying on memory so feel free to check my facts.

1789 – Commencement of hostilities in the Revolutionary War between Britain and France.

1794 – Capture of Guadeloupe by the British from Barbados. Victor Hughes arrives from France and promptly recaptured the island. Present with the British forces were slaves from Barbados who witnessed the operation of the Guillotine in Place de la Victoire as Victor Hughes got rid of the Royalist members of the Guadeloupe population. Hughes brings a decree from France to the effect that slavery was abolished in its possessions. Martinique remained in British hands after its capture till the 1802 treaty of Amiens. Slavery abolished on Haiti as well.

Barbados solid.

1794 – 1798 The Brigands War, a guerilla war, was prosecuted from Guadeloupe by Victor Hughes against the British possessions in the Caribbean. Slave and Indian populations were deliberately targeted by agents. In St. Vincent the Black Carib population was stirred up. Chatoyer comes from this period. In Jamaica there was constant terror of invasion from Guadeloupe. St. Lucia had problems as did Antigua. Barbados is unaffected.

Barbados solid

1798 Battle of the Nile … 1st August Nelson destroys the French fleet at anchor in Aboukir Bay in Egypt and traps Napoleon in Africa not before Napoleon had defeated the Mamelukes at the Battle of the Pyramides.The destruction of the French fleet in far away Africa means the threat from Victor Hughes is nullified. There is no longer a fleet to support an invasion. Nelson becomes a hero in all the islands of the Caribbean. Slaves and free alike begin the practice of naming their children after Nelson.

Barbados solid.

1801 Napoleon steals back to France from Africa where he is proclaimed Consul. The Revolutionary war which had commenced in 1789 ceases.

Barbados solid

1802 France signs the Treaty of Amiens. Peace removes Nelson from the sea and Napoleon uses the opportunity to send two armies to the Caribbean to reinstate slavery in Guadeloupe and Haiti. His general, Richepanse, succeeds in Guadeloupe. Thousands die as a result. Delgres, a mulatto, leads the opposition in Guadeloupe against Richepanse but is trapped with his followers in his stronghold at Matouba in the mountains of Guadeloupe. Rather than surrender he ignites the gunpowder and blows himself, his followers and the French to kingdom come. In Haiti, Leclerc fails to reinstitute slavery. Hostilities recommence 1803 …. the Napoleonic Wars. Nelson is back at large on the sea and blocades the French at Toulon. No reinforcements can reach Haiti to replace the losses to Yellow Fever and hostilities because of Nelson. The French are beaten in Haiti and surrender. Haiti declares its independence on 1st January 1804. Napoleon’s dream of a French empire in the New World is shattered. France sells Louisiana to the Americans … Louisiana Purchase, Nelson again being instrumental.

Barbados solid.

1805 Battle of Trafalgar – Nelson dies but now both the French and Spanish fleets are destroyed. Britain rules the waves.

Barbados solid

In this period, 1794 – 1805 Barbados is solid like a rock. The Battle of Waterloo ends the Napoleonic war in 1815.

Only then when the threat from the French has been extinguished is there a slave disturbance in Barbados, more than a century after the previous one.

My theory is the Quaker influence stabilized and pacified Barbados from the 1600’s and rendered it impervious to destabilization.

So … what happened in 1816?

I have another theory that explains why the disturbance was limited to St. Philip and Christ Church and what triggered it … but it needs some more work!! So far it fits the facts as far as I can determine them.

43. Although the eyes of the world are on Ferguson and US police shooting of Black people, more generally, the executions are continuing apace. This has to be a deep crisis when they can’t stop the illegal killings for a day. We say engrained racism!

44. Next time we need a lobotamy we will allow a gardener to do the job.

45. John, I love your historical facts and the chronological manner in which you articulated them, but these historical facts still haven’t given us a conspicupous indication as to why some of us have been taught the history of the so called Bussa- revolt throughout the 70’s, 80’s etc. And are you not trusting what has been fed to you from a specific historical point of reference? Have you in anyway shape or form compare the historical testamony of certain individuals, who may have been present at the above mentioned historical events, in order to ascertain the validity/ authenicity of such events? Or have you like many others here, accepted at face- value, what has been fed to you in order to promote certain historical perspective? I am very skeptical of history written from the European perspective and fed to People of Color as though we ignorant of the true facts of history. It is time Black people stand outside the Box and examine with a strict scrutiny, what has been and continues to be fed to them from the European perspective. My statement isn’t meant to be racist but we have sat by for far too long and have allowed others to defind who we are as a people.

46. The following article penned by Dr. Leonard Shorey is instructive:

The earliest of our National Heroes comes from those last few decades before emancipation when the Rt. Excellent Bussa, a slave, served as one of the lieutenants of Warwick Franklyn, a freedman who led a rebellion in 1816. There are those who believe that Bussa was the leader of the rebellion, but according to the research of Mr. Robert โ€œBobbyโ€ Morris, Warwick Franklyn โ€œstands out preeminently as the planner and organiser of the revoltโ€. It was an action that carried with it the usual penalty for failure in such matters โ€“ execution and death. Emancipation, 22 years later, began a period of difficulties, suffering and hardships of a different kind which eventually culminated in the riots of 1937, and from that period comes another of our heroes, the Rt. Excellent Clement Payne whose primary objective was to improve the living conditions of ordinary working men and women in Barbados.

http://www.barbadosadvocate.com/newsitem.asp?more=local&NewsID=3251